Support group - Miscarriages

Hi the wife,
Congrats too....just read thru again and realised you are Pregnant too...

Hi doggy(mar_bride)
thank u. can i ask when u went for your first scan. Like wat volf20 said, good to check progesterone level. is that any symtom if its low?
I have to see gynae later but scared prog low.
btw how many weeks are u?

hi thewife,

yes, biggest symptom is swollen breast lor and painful nipples. really pain one hor. nausea dun have, but have a very full feeling in tummy, always burping. backache slightly only. Tired, extremely...

I dun think i 5 weeks, think prob just 4 weeks nia leh, if i really conceive on my O date.

I am taking hormone pills that produces progesterone. you try asking gynae if u need or not, then see what he say.

hey doggy, u went for jab har? i thinking if i should go jab or not. Your spotting is like how???

Hi Ryes & thewife,
yes, i went for the jab! scared another history....

actually me thot of visiting gynae only this week, i.e., beginning of my 8 week but due to spotting on last wed @ week 6, i quickly went to see him. My spotting is brown discharge just like last time i had and next morning spotting did not stop, so, better go see gynae.

Now, I'm in beginning of wk 8 and need to see him every week since I have m/c before. Dun hestitate, go and see your gynae if you feel unwell or have spotting

Hi doggy (mar_bride)
how come schedule to see 8weeks, is that a bit late? i stick to my 6.5 week appt first. in fact, im still engaging in activities such as table soccer game in my office, play eveyday :p

Charis,
hmm...i went back to see gynae a week after my DC. Then he ask me to go back 3 weeks later....but cos me going holiday next week so i push the appt to end of the 2nd week, almost to 3 week....dunno if he will take hcg level leh.

thewife,
me going hokkaido for holiday.

so now we have charis, thewife and ryes on the preggie list liao wor!! Good!!.....hope everything will be fine. i pray for u gals!!

by week 6-7 should be able to see heartbeat liao ba....week 4-5 a sac.....think can see gynae early...just to confirm if the sac is at the right position. then if everything goes well, go back see gynae at week 8 to see heartbeat? well, if the gynae advise otherwise then justt follow his instruction la.

ryes,
how come u on hormone pills now?? u go see gynae liao meh?

Hi ladies. I am new here.
I had a very early miscarriage in June.
The day I miscarried was also the day I found out I was pregnant.
Sadly, after spending hefty sum of gynae fees and going through jabs, medicine, scans, blood tests, our baby still din pull through.
I was even put on high risk of ectopic pregnancy when my HCG level went up by a bit.
Now, I was told to stop Duphaston and wait for menses to come. Yesterday I had a little bleeding, maybe it's menses ba.
May I know, normally, the first month after miscarriage, will I ovulate?
And, should I take cordycep capsules, DOM, etc?
Is it the more heaty the things I take now, the better?
I'd appreciate all advice.

Hi Mrs Seet,
Sorry to hear that....I guess its not easy to come with term to it but pls take it easy.

I think most of us here have a mini confinement after D&C, think its best to build up your health and most confinement food are in fact all heaty stuff. My mum did make me drink DOM at that time.

Normally you will have your menses after 4-7weeks after D&C and once you have your menses, i suppose you will ovulate. Don't think of all these now just concerntrate in building your health first

Hi Mrs Seet

I had my miscarriage early last week and am now on a 'mini' confinement. Mini meaning that the time is shorter that then usual 1 month. Its very important to build up your strength and health during the confinement period. So that your next pregnancy will be smooth.

hi charis

hi the wife

you're right about cherishing my son more and being thankful that i have him. now i find that even when he's real naughty, i sometimes don't have the heart to punish him.

can't help but feel this way... ;P

Hi Mrs Seet..

I'm sorry for what u have been thru..n yr loss.

My previous pregnancy i also went thru tests, n a lot of medication..hormone pills, bedrest..but I still miscarried..So i'm no fan of hormone pills or jabs..I dont trust them at all..Most of the time, we dont know the cause of the m/c. But I guess for me, I grieved, accepted n move on..I hope the same for u..But we all know its not easy..But hang on. Take care.

Did u do a D&C? The bleeding could be yr menses..has it been around 4 weeks or more after the miscarriage? Usually 2nd cycle then ovulation starts..seldom at 1st cycle. A mini-confinement of about 2 weeks should be ok if u can do it.

Ya ryes..I have to see gynae every week too..Well..but like I said before, even if something is not good, there's not much the gynae can do..but this is my opinion lah..others are entitled to theirs. So I'm jus going by my faith in GOD.

I had spotting n cramps at 5 weeks..but has stopped ever since. I still have occasional cramps, which my gynae says its normal..

Ryes..I think u're ok now right..cos I think yours was implantation bleeding..anyway, any more spotting u should see yr gynae I guess.

Hi charis,

thanks for that assururance that dreadful Tuesday night when I got so upset over the spotting. It stopped thank god.

Wrote an email to you, saying that this morning I am starting to have a build up feeling in the chest area, feels as if I'm drunk feeling and wanna puke but cant type of feeling. Hard to describe. Wondering if it's the first sign of MS or just being bloated and full of gas.

Hi, congrats to ryes and thewife!
Mrs Seet, do take care...after my m/c i also took DOM

Ladies, I have a question... I tested positive on my OPK this morning, but my HB is on night shift tonight... If we BD tomorrow night, would that be too late?

Hi ryes..Oh I havent checked my mail yet..Anyway, not too sure..cos diff ppl hav diff expce in MS. If u feel like puking then it should be MS..How about nausea? Usually MS comes with nausea..light headedness, tummy queasiness..

Hey athlete,
thanks..

Your OPK both line dark dark?
If you and hb cannot make it tonight, then try morning time leh, when he back from work? Must try catch the eggie...

nausea is what type of feeling? I have headache nia..dizziness.

Nausea..is u feel like puking..usually comes for tummy to chest n up at the same time yr head feels queasy too..it comes from nowhere sometimes..suddenly the feeling is at yr throat n feels like u going to puke. Bad feeling..MS can be very terrible..it stops u in yr tracks..I have to sit down n rest if Im outside..So sometimes its better not to have it..although some ppl say MS means good pregnancy..but some women dont have at all..n still go on to have successful pregnancies..

Doggy u had bad MS right?

Hi Charis & Ryes,
i felt nauseous and dizzy when tested the strip. AFter a week, it kind of subsided a bit. It only comes back once in a while at night. I feel worse at night. sometimes also worry why it subsided.

Hi thewife..

Some days I dont have MS too..

But mine seem to come afternoon n night time..So i no mood for ML..haha.

Hi volf,

ah, didnt see ur posting here and I replied to your email liao...

Hey charis and thewife,
I had lunch at 1130 and I am hungry at 230 liao. No biscuit so had to get fr colleagues. Must rem to keep some in office. When I feel hungry, the puking feeling wanna start, so I have to grab something to munch on.

BTW, do you girls have outbreak not har? wah liao, I dont have so serious outbreak before one leh, then now like pimples popping out. Dont dare put pimple cream.

And also stretch marks cream, did you all get to stand by?:

Ryes..ya I can get this hunger pangs..then I have to munch something..its one of the things that cause my MS. U can stock up on plain biscuits..u know the meiji plain ones..buy from supermarket or watsons..if u not drinking milk u can eat the plain crackers with cheese..nicer..

I have pimples too at the forehead..those tea tree oil ones should be fine..

Hmm..stretch marks cream from mothercare etc dont work at all..u want the really good ones..u have to find the expensive kinds from Loreal, Lancome, Elizabeth Arden. But I heard Vit. E or jus normal body moisture cream or lotion can help prevent and later fade out the stretch marks..try QV or an organic kind of brand..but I dont know from where..

Hi Volf20,
is your LH level a bit high? mine is, thats why i always see faint line in OPK kit, and I can never guess when I ovulate as I've irreg mense.
Hey Charis
How many weeks are you? initally when i couldnt stay too hungry, if not I'll feel giddy and weak, so must quickly eat. After eaten, I'll feel nauseous, and esp. when I drink water keep burbing. now not so already. i dun think I will get stretchmark cream until end 1st trim lor.

Hi doggy,ling,charis,athlete, thanks for your reply.
Actually, charis, gynae din ask me to do d&c.
i actually miscarried the day i found out i was pregnant and the bean shaped clot came out the next day. during scan, gynae din say anything about d&c oso. i was about 4 weeks. is it a must to do d&c?

hey charis,

i was reading on mother& baby and they recommended this medela brand of stretchmark cream. I did read that can use the lipbalm from loccatine, it is made from sheer butter i think. Maybe i try that.

meji biscuit? no leh, didnt see. dad bought 1 big gong of khong guan biscuit leh, but then I dun like...

hi mrs seet, I was adviced to do D&C by my gynae when he scanned my womb and the little sac was gone. He said this is to ensure there is no leftover tissues in the womb. Ask ur gynae if you need a D&C o rnot.

hi mrs seet,
i was also advise by my gynae to do D&C to ensure no left over tissue in womb, which if its there n not remove, can cause complication n infection.

ryes
i heard normal body moisturise will do te trick. but read that stretch mark is genetic so even if apply the cream, if ur mom or grandma has it, the chances of u getting it is higher.....but i think no harm applying the cream also la.

i also like the meii plain cracker......it looks like "so da bing" ....but i think not so oily leh...i always keep a box in my office drawer.

seems like u gals here start to get the MS liao wor.

hi Ryes

Medela is gd. My gf swears by it. For me, I used the anti-stretch mark cream fr Mothercare. Only $9 during discount, and I dont hv any stretchmarks
It's gd and not greasy. Do use it day and night starting now.. no pt starting later cos that's when your skin is stretched.. then no use leow ...

Pimples - some ladies will get them, some dont. I was lucky as my complexion improved, and I really looked radiant then! Hair also became more glossy... damn swee..hahah.

Ya - the meiji biscuit is gd. Non oily!

thewife- dunno abt my LH level level. But I look at my CM .. think not fertile yet...

hey ryes,thewife,charis
wow..seems like this thread has turn into a sharing for those preggie symptoms....hw i wish i can join u gals....
having crampy feeling at my abdomen since yesterdae....todae is my CD22
gals, hope tat u haf a smooth 9mths pregnancy...

mrs seet,
i'm so sori to hear tat.....do take care of urself..i m sure tat u will graduate like the rest of the gals here..

Hey volf and d_woof,

so so sorry, okay for the sake of others, we shall stop talking abt preggie liao okay. So sorry...You two sure can join us one....

hey ryes,
well no nid to feel sori lah....well we can learn fm u gals mah....so by the time when we "graduate", we will haf all the information liao..no worries onli.....i like tat sharing...

as wat volf said, we will catch up wif u gals......

Hi Mrs Seet,
you should only take those blood nourishing herbs after the bleeding stop totally. e.g. Danggui, DOM.
It's important that your womb cleans out totally before you take those... if not the bleeding will last longer....

as for the length of the confinement, it really depends on individual health... will be better if you try to do it for 1 mth (food wise)... if feel too heaty, then cut down accordingly.....

Take good care....

This is what I posted a while back... for your information if you need...

Confinement Suggestion:

If you can go to Chinese sinseh and ask for "Sheng1 Hua4 Tang1"... it's to be drank after giving birth to remove all the "dirty blood".

Please abstain from any cooling / cold stuffs from now for the next 1 mth. also no prawns, sotong, crab... no liang and cold stuffs....cabbage, kang kong, etc.....
Just take more tonic and more ginger. Dun drink water. Drink red date, "Gou Qi Zi", Dried black Longan, "Dang3 Shen1", "Bei3 Qi3" and some ginger. Boil for 30-40 mins and drink as water.
It will help to get rid of the bloatedness, "Bu Qi", "Bu Xue", and "Ming2 Mu" - good for eyes....
it's very impt for you to take all the nutritional stuffs and also to get rid of the "wind" in the body. That way you will be able to nourish your body well.

1) Everyday drink the red date tea mentioned above like water. Dun drink water.
2) Morning drink a bottle of chicken essence on empty stomach. After 10-15 mins take your normal breakfast
3) Lunch/Dinner, mee sua with soup or tonic soup with rice and veg. and remember use lots of ginger.
4) drink DOM before you sleep every night.
Your body is in a very good state to absorb the most now. So, dun let it pass.... take as much as you can.

E.g of tonic soup.
1) "Dang Shen", "Bei Qi", "Huai Shan", Gou Qi Zi, black dates, add half/whole black chicken with 1 bowl of water and 1/2 cup of martel.
You can chose to fry some ginger slice with sesame oil and then add normal chicken followed with martel before pouring into slow cooker with the herbs to boil.
2) Fry ginger with sesame oil and fry some chicken/meat. Can add mushroom is you wan. add water boil and add some salt, pepper and soya sauce... after water boil add mee sua.
3) "Pao shen with Chong Chao" and gou qi zhi , black date with black chicken.
However, I have chosen to mill "Pao shen and chong cao" into powder. Can take 2-4 everyday during this period.
Remember to ask for "Lao Pao shen". It must be warm in nature. Not those cooling Pao shen
4) Fry ginger slices with sesame oil, add chicken dice, add mushroom... stir fry... add some seasoning, add 2 tablespoon of DOM and fry... then add a little of the mushroom water used to soak the mushroom. This also quite nice. Very sweet.
5) After your blood clear Totally, can drink "Dang gui bu xue Tang", "Ba Zhen" and "Bai Feng Wan" with black chicken
6) Liver soup - add water with ginger after boil, add mince meat balls, when almost cook, add liver (dun boil too long). add some soya sauce and some salt and pepper for taste. Can add mee sua to be taken as a meal

After blood clear totally, can add danggui. E.g
1) Chicken /Fish soup with black fungus, ginger slices, danggui, red date, add mee sua. Add some chinese red wine or XO/martell just before you off the heat.
For the red date tea, after your blood clears, you can add danggui instead of dangshen and bei qi as mentioned above.

my sinseh adviced me to take for 30 days then can stop liao....after that drink the prescribe herbal soup once a week... :p

If start to feel heaty, then can start cutting down...

Use the herbs to shower, cos I felt it make a difference.

Depending on each person's constitution.. some are stronger, so can recover better. must just be safe then sorry lor.
Hope this is useful.

hey d-woof,
a few more days you can start testing liao! join us quick...
like what Ryes said, feel a bit paiseh, maybe we are a bit gancheong and worried at this very early stage, so discuss a bit too much.
But it was great having someone to share my worries, thanks!

Mrs Seet

I don't think its necessary to always (choy choy)do a D&C. For my first m/c my gynae said there was no need for it as 'everything' had come out naturally. But for my second m/c she did a d&c for me.

Hi all, thanks for the advice.
i am just curious about one thing.
i took duphaston during the week when i was suspected of early miscarriage.
then when my HCG level dropped, gynae said more or less it's confirmed. she asked me to stop the duphaston and menses should come in a day or two. but now oreadi three days liao and menses still not here.
is there something wrong? or could i still be in danger of ectopic or remains of pregnancy still inside not yet out?
i'll be testing with a urine kit tml as advised by gynae. if negative, then all's well. if not, she said to go for HCG blood test again.
haiz.

mrs seet,
after u m/c, did the gynae do a scan for u?
how come u r still on Duphaston after m/c?? sorry i get a bit confuse.

however, if u m/c in early jun, then dun think mens will come so early ba.

after my d/c, gynae told me mens normally will come in 4-6 weeks time...but there r cases where for some ladies, their mens come even later.

volf/dwoof,
me also envy the preggie here......wish my cycle will get back on track fast.....then can plan for the next pregnancy liao.

ryes/thewife/charis
u gals can still discuss here la....we can join in also ma.....we all learn n share diff experience frm each other here.

How is everyone? Yday night met my gf for dinner, and one of them was pregnant in April after delivering her first son in Jan. Then we were expecting to see a fair bit of tummy when we met up, then who knows she said she miscarriage. Felt so upset deep down. Coz I went through it and know how she must have felt. She said her bb didnt grow at week 10 when she went for checkup and there wasnt any heartbeat anymore and had to perform a D&C the next day.

Was still thinking next year we can have kids of the same age if mine is smooth...haiz..

Hi Ryes,
my frien had premature contraction, bleeded a bit, to deliver in Sep and was so worried when her tummy felt so hard. She was telling me motherhood is really not easy. And her fren's 3rd baby girl (1st one was M/C) is 2 months old and just found out that there is a hole in her heart, may go anytime...its really depressing.
So i pray that all of us will have VERY HEALTHY pregnancies.
BTW i decided to see my gynae for blood test - about 3000+, early 5 weeks, she gave me a scan and its a tiny bean lor. next 2 weeks will be very crucial. she said recurrence for most is only 5%, but I have PCOS, so chances is higher. sigh...

hey cheezel,
wish u luck....for me my cycle was longer than before...last time it was 28-30 daes but den itz fm 34-38...anyway i heard of pple having normal cycle back fm the 2nd AF onwards..so dun worry ok if not it will affect the hormones too..

ryes,
wah, aft reading i felt sad too.....actually my SIL gave birth in Jan n now she is carrying another one in her tummy...if i m nt wrong, she is abt 3-4mths bah....she oso ever went thur a few miscarriages...this Jan bb is her 2nd n actually she wanted to "close factory" liao, who knows....strike again...i guess itz fated....

thewife,
nv give up ok....we'll pray for u....btw, which gynae r u seeing? izzit the same one as previous one?

thewife,
dun worry too much....just take things as per normal. I'm sure all of us here will have a smooth pregnancy after the 1st m/c.

ryes,
think cos we went thru the same thing....so when this happen to others,our heart just went out to them. i never felt like this b4 i get preggie.....

dwoof,
ya lo....now i can only wait for AF to come. Btw, after d/c, our hcg level will drop to nil right? so if i test myeslf with a test kit, it should show negative liao ??

Hi d-woof
yes seeing the same gynae. she's like more gan cheong than me.
HI Cheezel,
you're right, after we went thru this, i realise that other people wont be able to understand what we went thru, unless they went thru it before.
and ya your test kit should show negative by now...

Hi mrs seet..

Actually D & C is not neccessary in some cases..or most cases actually..so dont worry. Since yr gynae didnt suggest it..confirm u dont need it. As long as all has been dispelled u wouldnt need a D & C. I didnt have a D&C either..had a natural m/c at home.

Hi ladies..

Sorry..i really try not to talk about preggie or baby stuff here..really understand some are still going thru a time of grief and adjustment after their m/c..jus that sometimes got questions/problems to answer..cos I dont see mrs wong n ryes at the Feb MTM which I sometimes go to..

Anyway, hope to hear good news from the rest one day..All the best!