Support group - Miscarriages

Ling,

I don't think that way, some girls can be carrier and go on to have a first child and later on have problems when trying to having their second baby. (this was what my gynae told me and she has a patient whose case is like this and is also a carrier of genetic chromosome abnormality).

and also as a carrier, you have a higher chance of having a baby with your same genetic make up as well and still be a healthy baby.

but usually gynae will suggest for karotyping after you've MC-ed at LEAST twice, or your gynae feels odd like how come you will MC so many times (as was with my case, I'm 25 and MC-ed 3 times.)

I think its sort of just all based on luck. sigh.

btw Ling, have you found out if you have problems that's why keep losing the baby? =[

Nico,
ask TCM doc? I did mine all differently, depending on the weather. like when I was doing it with rainy weather, wasn't allowed to bath with normal water, had to bathe with herbs and cannot wash hair. and when the weather was hotter, was allowed to bath normally just not allowed to wash hair.

and ate tonic soup, drink red date longan tea only and confinement dishes for like 14days in total..

hope that helps!

Hi Nico,

I did not really do a mini-confinement. Just eat balance diet, avoid cold drinks, cooling food. Bath & wash hair as per normal just that got to dry hair with hair dryer.

My body is the heaty type cannot drink red date longan tea every day. I drank a few cups yesterday already feel gums a bit pain. I also cannot eat too bu. Will get too heaty. It really depends on individual body.

Even my actually confinement after my son also bath everyday with herbs. Wash hair every week.

Hi Reineluv,

When I visited TCM dr with MIL the last time, dr already told MIL that if BB has problem, no matter how we an tai, stay in bed, also no use. MIL just don understand. Hack care lah. Let her do what she want as long as she don come & bother me.

Sometime really difficult not to announce abt preg when gynae want us to rest for a long period of time. In my case, I'm on hospitalisation leave for almost 2 mths, how not to tell colleages?

Hi Lynn and Athen,

Thank you for replied..

I just did Evac of Uterus yesterday. Dunno what is the different with D&C??

Gynae cant see bb during the scan even i was 10 weeks preganncy, just seen egg and sac.

yesterday nurse ask me do not take oily foods or alcohol during 24 hours after operations.

So i didnt cook confinement foods, just drink the red dates longan, then ate rice with soup only...

today cooked those rice wine chicken, but just 1 day I already sick of it...hiazzzz

i planning to do mini confinement for 1 weeks , maybe another week just try to avoid cold drinks and cooling foods..

as for bath, i adjust the water heater to very high temperature, then bath with super hot water..try not to wash my hairs daily..guess really cant follow 100% the confinement way.

at least follow a bit wont feel so guilty ..

Hi Nico,

Evac of Uterus is another name for D&C. The nurse only told me to avoid alcohol & chinese herbs. But she did not say for how long. I guess is for the duration when I'm on antibiotic & painkiller.

I presume you r given antibiotic also. If cooking rice wine chicken, make sure you boil the wine b4 consuming the chicken.

Athen,

Nurse didnt ask me avoid chinese herbs...

i didnt take the painkiller at all as the cramp still bearable. I just on antibiotic...

ya, i boiled the wine and dom + chicken pretty long..so should be oki ba..

Hi Lynn,

This Karyotyping is actually not a recommended procedure from the gynae I went at SGH and my own private gynae but I insisted to do and found nothing wrong with it as well. Both gynae conclude is bad egg/ sperm and I also guessing is late ovulation which I have.

Nico, Think your pregnancy is what they call a blighted ovum. Throughout the pregnancy up to10 weeks was there any bleeding?

So sorry you have to go through this path with us =(

Ling,
Oh. but at least you have a piece of mine now that its not chromosomes abnormality.
yeah. I think could be bad or sperm. guess now can only try and improve the quality of it and hope for the best..

Though my gynae also said that it is not necessary to test for chromosome problem on the basis that we have a healthy boy, we will still be testing as we want a peace of mind. Most importantly we want to find what is exactly the reason behind all these MCs. Just too many that MIL is thinking I'm working too hard with this work stress, late nights & not resting enough after the last few D & C. She forgot that her son sleeps later than me & her son also contribute sperm. She implied that I'm to blame for all this mess. We are covering all the test no matter how expensive it is. We just want to find out why. Hopefully, something shows up in the test. If not, really don know what to do. Meanwhile just got to wait.

Hi Nico,

It seems to be very common these days that we get spotting & bleeding during the 1st trimester. According to my gynae, if there is any spotting & bleeding, 50% chance of sucessful preg. So we really have to rest. I also had spotting throughout the 1st trimester when I was expecting my boy. In fact, I had spotting for almost all my MC. We really need to take care if this happens. Meanwhile, just rest well & let your body recover. We are here to support each other.

Athen,

We hurt with you.. coz I also mc 3 times and get so tired of it. I think the test is about 900. If I am in your shoes I will not divulge the pregnancy news until after 1st trim to MIL. Precisely the reason why my in laws dont know abt my mcs at all because my hubby know the mum too well said to tell them only after 1st trim. Too bad it wasnt meant to be.

Nico, normally the body will expel blighted ovum thus all the spotting. I have blighted ovum in my last 2 pregnacies and 1 started bleeding at 4 weeks the other started spotting at 7th week.

Hi Ling,

We also did not want to tell MIL. But how to when I'm supposed to stay in bed & in hospital. I usually visit MIL every weekend with my hubby & son. If I did not turn up for a few weeks, she will start asking right? Furthermore, she likes to cook cooling food that preg women cannot eat during 1st trimester. So we have no choice but to tell.

sigh my MIL went to tell my SILs about my preg when i was 5 wks too. I din like tat not cos' I pantang but cos i did not want the pressure. somehow i felt pressurised after they all knew. I dunno if this is a normal reaction. And now that bb is gone, i feel sadder in front of them since they know! sigh.. my SIL still asked me if I was sad or disappointed...

Athen,

What cooling food cannot eat in 1st trimester?

I always feel very guilty when I MC, even though my MIL only found out the last two times after I lost the bb
then got to trouble her to cook the confinement food for me and prepare the herbs bath water. sigh

Hi Lynn,

1st trimester usually unstable esp for us high risk players. So better to avoid cooling food such as water crest soup, water chestnut, bitter gourde(not sure if I got the spelling correct), pineapple, water melon, white cabbage (the type that is used to make kim chi), etc.

When I'm having menses, I also avoid these food as it seems to cause the menses heavier.

Hi Ling,

You mentioned that the body will expel and start spotting if you have blighted ovum? I didn't. In fact all the way till my D&C day, nothing happened to me, and that was almost the 9th week. I kinda regretted not seeking a 2nd opinion now. Cos I understand that some foetus can take longer to grow. But cos I saw my gynar at 6th week, 7th Week and 8th week, and we saw the sac growing without any yolk, she suggested at the 7th week to go through D&C. I didnt do any blood test at all as well cos she mentioned that the HCG levels will still be high as my body thinks I'm pregnant.

She was introduced by my friend and a lot of our friends go to her, everyone says she's good, but now that this has happened, I'm wondering if I should still go back to her? I can't helped but feel what if I waited till 10th or 11th week, My baby will still be around now.
But my gynae had this concern that if it's not healthy, I cant have it in my body for too long.

SIGH!

Hi Reineluv,

Give it time the body will start to expel the sac as the body recognize it as foreign object. However if I am in your position I would give it time. Do you have an inverted uterus? However having said that when I had my 1st pregnancy, My twins heartbeat stopped at 10 weeks but I also have no bleeding throughout and only discover the news on the 12 weeks scan. I didnt bleed/ spot at all as well. I guess body took sometime to register the non viable pregnancy. Sigh

Did you do a v scan? If it is a V scan I think should be pretty accurate. It is over and we cant do anything about it.. the longer the empty sac in us also risk infection etc. Must have faith in your gynae. However if you are no longer confident with her do go to a new gynae so you wont have this negativity associated with the old gynae.

Hi Reineluv,

Some people may find this gynae is good, some may not. It really depends how comfortable you are with your gynae. If you are not comfortable, then go ahead to change gyane. You will be with her for 9 mths.

In my case, my sac is growing but the bb is not. Gynae did a v scan, cannot see heart beat. He sent me to TMC to do a viablibity scan just in case. Each time costs $107. It turn out that there is heart beat but heart beat is weak ie bb is unhealthy. Till the last scan, TMC can't find the heart beat then I went for D & C at 10 weeks.

A 8 weeks old bb should measure 3.5cm. Any ultra sound machine (scan from tummy) can see. If cannot see by normal scan, the bb may not be healthy. I'm speaking from experience & understanding from my gynae. When I was expecting my son, gynae never did v scan & he is able to see the heart beat & measure CRL of the bb. Those MC, he need to do v scan. All did not turn up well.

Any idea when should we stop bleeding after the D&C? Tomorrow is 2 weeks after my D&C, but, till today, I'm still having light bleeding/ discharge... Although, there's no foul smell.. But, the smell is abit weird.. As in not the normal blood smell.. But, yet, I dun tink is classified under foul... So, dunno whether is infection or not...

I went back for checkup last week (post-op 1 week), and Gynae say tat D&C was done nicely, clean in the womb..

Wondering and worried whether should go for another checkup...

Hi Ling & Athen,

She did a V Scan for both 3 weeks and couldn't see anything. I kinda trusted her at that point of time, just that I kept seeing some of the girls here doing blood test and stuffs to confirm, so I was wondering if I should.

My gynae did mention that the sac is growing for the past few weeks but still no sign of the baby. No heartbeat, no nothing. I guess that's a strong sign right.

Hi Piglet,

Is it like spotting? I don't think it's infection, cos if so, you would be down with cramps and fever. I stopped bleeding after a few days. Maybe you can call the nurse and check?

Reinlux,

For my 2nd and 3rd mc both also only saw the sac and no fetal pole inside at 7 weeks. However for my 1st pregnancy.. I saw the fetal pole at 5 week scanning. As such when the gynae searching for the fetal pole I ald know it is not positive. You probably confirm a blighted ovum.. anyhow have faith eat well we will get there someday.

Piglet, As long no fever I think you are well.. If at all not feeling good must go see gynae hor. I have had spotting close to a month after the D and C.. is ridiculous and I have all these fear but really it was nothing.

Hi Reinluv,

The bleeding/spotting for my 3rd D & C lasted almost a month. For my current, I just pass 1 week. Still have slight bleeding. Like what Ling said, as long as no cramp or fever or sudden heavy bleeding, should be ok. If not comfortable, go back to your gynae. Maybe avoid cooling food or cold drinks for a month may help?

Hi Athen,

Are you better already? Just want to check with you did you have history of late ovulation? I actually have rested 3 months after last miscarriage egging to try again but the fear! My goodness overwhelms me. To a certain extend we are on protection now. As I am seeing I am having late O so trying to establish the link if it might contribute to the mc.

Hi Ling,

I'm better & back at work. Thanks. I don have history of late ovulation. Menses & ovulation period seems very regular (touch wood). In theory, you should be able to try again. The "what if" & "whether it will happen again" fear right? I know how it feels like to try again. I also scared.

Did your gynae do any blood test on you other than the karotyping you mentioned in your earlier post? MC could be caused by a no of reason such as blood clotting issue, immunity problem, illness such as lupus, etc?

Hi Athen,

Glad to hear you are good =) I know I know so tempted to try but the fear oh so great! =(

Yes I went the whole 9 yards.. all test shows everything in good order. That is why it is so taxing to want to try again. Would you be trying?

Piglet,

It could be just hormones haywire, nothing much to worry about unless you're losing alot of blood.
For Me, the bleeding all stopped within 1 or 2 days with tonics given by my TCM doctor.

Ling & Athen,
*hugs* one day we will all have a healthy baby in our arms.
Don't give up yet!

Ling & Athen,

I find that after D&C, my ovulation seems to be later on CD21. I'm monitoring it for 1 more month to confirm. I used to ovulate on the CD14 though.

Quite busy lately and long time no log in . Hope everyone is fine. I have late ovulation too. I have PCOS. I only have menses 3-4 times a year. Me too, so so scare to try again. Anyway, visiting fertility clinic in KK later. Also no idea what i want to do and ask, just book go and see what they say.

Athen,
good to hear that you are better now. Hugs.

Bibi, are you the one who join me to buy the Royal Jelly? Have you been taking it? They probably think you need to take your time. I went to SGH and total turn off! The SGH gynae told me to try again since can get preggers. Piangz!

Lynn, Sometimes after we say someday I really wonder if it would come leh...

Reineluv, My ovulation is also ridiculous now.. I am not keen on clomid at all so seeking alternative help. I am looking at trying Vitex now.. apparently it can help to regulate period.

same here. not sure if i m having the same "problem" but since my D&C, my menses is still MIA.

wanna try also cannot... cos no cycle at all. not sure will it affect subsequent chances of preg. dunno why i so anxious to try, probably cos i think this is the only way to get over the loss.

i noe it's hard, but if you can try again, go ahead ok? JIA U! Have faith.. never try never noe.

Thanks for all ur input & advises.

Just abit worried.. Coz thought tat the bleeding will stop more or less aft 1 week... Went back to c my gynae last Sat, and confirm tat no infection.

Haiz.. Dunno wat's wrong with my body also.

Anyway, glad tat everyone is doing rather well now. Rest well and we can try when our body gets stronger.

Wondering whether should go to TCM to diao my body. Any recommendations?

Hi Ling, Lynn,

I'm not sure if I should try again. After 4 MCs, I really don know. Maybe will have to wait for the results for the blood test. I'm see my gynae on Fri to do the blood test. BTW, how much did you spent on the blood test? Heard it will be expensive.

Lynn,

Which TCM dr did you see? I used to visit EYS Women's Specialist Clinc at Paragon to "bu" after my last MC in Feb 10. Spent quite a sum there. The medicine powder smells like the normal "ba zhen" soup leh. I don feel any different after taking the medicine leh.

I'm not sure if I'm allergy to chinese herbs. When I was admitted to TMC for heavy bleeding, after drinking herbal soup served during lunch & dinner, the bleeding got worse.

When I'm at home bleeding also got worse after drinking herbal soup my mum prepared.

Yesterday, I thought bleeding should stop soon, so drank black chicken herbal soup for lunch. Ended up with more bleeding in the evening. Not sure if these incidents are just pure coincident or I'm just not suitable to drink herbal soup now. Anyone has this problem?

Hi Cosybaby,

My fren recommend that I should take EYS Bak Foong Pills to regulate menses. But I have regular menses leh. Maybe you can give it a try.

cosybabylove,

The period should come.. if 3 months later still not here than have to go to the gynae. Just for assurance is not asherman's syndrome.

Piglet,

I am going to Dr zou at AMK. Somehow more confident under her hand because previously went to another 1 and she just keep focusing on trying to sell me some MLM products which I wasnt keen.

Athen,

Go for the blood test first and see what is the result in this case. For my karotyping and miscarriage profile test I spent 900+ if I remember correctly.

Spotting or bleeding.. if really not comfortable maybe hold off drinking herbal soup first just to monitor the situation.

Hi Ling, Athen
Thanks for the advices. Ling, thanks for telling me about asherman's syndrome... 1st time i heard of this. ok will monitor till next month. If nt i will go back to the gynae.

Athen
not too sure about allergic to chinese herbal soup but I think some bodies react to things like Dang Gui (if I rem correctly) so may bleed more. But to play safe, mabbe avoid these food for now.. nothing too heaty or cooling.

Hi cosybaby,

Talking about Dang Gui, I understand that this herbs has the ability of regulating menes period, enriches blood, promote blood circulation, contracting womb & is heaty. I also read somewhere (cannot remember which article) that preg womoen should avoid this herb as it contracts womb & may induce bleeding (promote blood circulation).

I guess I'll have to stay clear of chinese herbs as advice by TMC nurse till bleeding / spotting stops.

Hi Athens,
I'm seeing a neighbourhood TCM.

First 2-3days after D&C, she gives me tonic soup to help clear the womb and stop the bleeding. after which then tonic soup to bu.

maybe you should only start taking after the bleeding stops?

Hi Ling,

Yes, i am the one who meet you at the Borders to collect the royal jelly. I have started taking it. What do you mean by you went to SGH and being turn off?

Hi Athen,
After my D&C this round, i stay clear of all danghui, hebal soup due to the spotting. i don't know what can take and what not, so just don't eat.

Athen, what kind of blood test you are doing? I went to KK hospital yesterday(referral from polyclinic, haha, cheaper). I asked for the blood test on chromosome, being turn off. Was asked to do another kind of blood test on 2nd Day of menses and 21 day. Anyone did this test before?

Piglet,
I have spotting till 1 month of D&C, spotting after my induce menses. My gynae say due to hormone hay wired. I checked with TCM doctor too, also say nothing about it. So, i think should be ok. If you feel uncomfortable, then, schedule another check with gynae.

Cosy,

I didnt know as well but my dowager went missing for 3 months after D and C so I start reading why than found out abt ashermans' but in SG rarely have such things lah.

Bibi,

Must be consistent in taking in. I feel more refreshed after taking it to be frank. No more "yawning all the time". hopefully the royal jelly help us to some point to get good eggs.

I meant the SGH gynae not very good when I went there with referral. Not even concern and worse still didnt even ask me to do the ovulation test like what KKH asking you to do.

Test day 2 is to test for FSH if I am not wrong. See your ovarian reserve = how many eggs and also see your lining and stuff. Day 22 is to test to see your progesterone level. See if it is low if yes than might result in mc. I thinking of going private gynae do the test. My regular gynae dont want me to take. Sigh!! Really fan!!!

Hi bibi,

Not sure what blood test I'll be doing. Gynae briefly mentioned to test if I have any rare problems such as chromosome, blood clotting, thyroid, etc.

How much did your blood test at KK cost?

Hi Ling,

Which regular gynae are you seeing now? From which one of the govt hospital?

Athen,

I think yours is miscarriage profile test + Karyotyping. Different from Bibi..

I go to a private gynae, Dr Heng. I am thinking of going to a Dr Geraldine Tan though... been thinking for the longest time if I should go and take more test.. Sigh...

A woman’s health usually suffers after a miscarriage. The damage done to her body is much worse as compared to a normal childbirth. Women tend to neglect their health when they miscarriage due to their overwhelming sadness to accept the cruel fact. However, during this period of healing, women need to take more confinement food to slowly nurse their health in order to be able to try to conceive again.

At Baby Dust Shop, we aim to help women to recover their health with some recommendations of confinement food which are not readily available.

Do check out our confinement food for orders at our blog. We have 3 types of dishes for orders. Home Made Traditional Pig Trotters Vinegar (传统家酿猪脚醋)
Home Cooked Dang Gui Herbal Duck (家酿当归药材鸭)
Sesame Oil Chicken Wings with DOM (麻油法国廊酒鸡翅膀)

Visit us for more details.
http://babydustshop.blogspot.com/2010/08/confinement-food.html

cosy,

I thought sure die kenna the ashermans' syndrome where the womb close up so went to see gynae on the 12 weeks.. and my gynae said it looks going to discharge the uterine lining in a couple of days and attribute to hormones imbalanced.

she gave me some duphaston to take and miraculously after the 3rd tablet or something along that line my dowager came! That was a major relief. If it doesnt come go to the gynae and they will know what to do.

I see.

Thanks Ling.

Actually I spotted in early Aug. I asked TCM doc, she said that is considered menses even though it's spotting. So she asked me to observe for early Sep.

So yah I will monitor again... if no news I will see gynae.

Thanks Ling. You have been a great help.

cosy,

spotting actually is not menses.. Reason for spotting is hormones imbalance according to my gynae and TCM. First AF should be quite a bit one.

Hi Ling,

Saw my gyane this morning for follow up. He spotted a bit of blood clot in the womb. He gave me some medication to expel the clot. Will be doing blood test next week after the clot is expelled.

He mentioned that Choromosome test cost $400+ per person & miscarriage blood test cost $400+. Total costs $1,200 - $1,300 (for myself & hubby). Test result for Choromosome test usually takes 2 weeks to be out & miscarriage blood test takes 3 weeks. Got to wait again. Sigh...

I usually take duphaston to stablise pregnancy. How come you were given that to induce menses?

Dr Geraldine Tan & my gynae are under Thomson Women's clinc. Just that both of them runs 2 different clinic. You probably can see her with your test result & see if you need to take further test. I understand that sometimes, really cannot find a reason for MC. Just luck I guess.

Cosy,

Agree with Ling, spotting is not menses. Spotting is hormone been messed up. Before marriage, I had spotting in between menses. Went to polyclinic & was referred to NUH. Gyane at NUH gave me contracetive pills for 2 - 3 mths to regulate hormones. After finishing the pills, menses became very regular.

Better see your gynae if menses don't come.

Athen,

I don't know the cost yet as haven't taken the test. Need to wait for my next menses.

Lynn,
Prior MC, are you having regular/irregular period.
Maybe you want to check with your gynae again? I think it is always good to regulate the period regardless if you want to try for baby now or later. I do believe we need a healthy hormone to have a healthy pregnancy. I have my baby boy after about 6 months of medication to regulate period and few months (without medication) of normal cycles.

Ling,

Thanks for the royal jelly. It taste good. Anyway, hope it really will improve the egg quality and regulate the menses.
Actually, I don't like the doctor that i see in KKH is also. I think she is quite new. I think i ask for the test as i told her I have PCOS and having spotting still after MC and menses. I asked for chromosome test, she rejected and say let's do this test first...

Bibi,
I have PCOS as well. but according to gynae its not very serious and I have it under control. taking TCM to bu currently. and besides I've already checked out that the problem with mine is caused by chorosome translocation. I'm a carrier. with this also increase my risk of MC liao.