Support group - Miscarriages

cookie's gal,
alrite...awaiting to hear good news fm u....

icy,
thanx for ur feedback..will try my best! *catch ur bb dust*

sorry went MIA for a while, think I miss out a lot.
Hey Ryes,
do u have regular mense in the past? My 1st AF was induced, took clomid 100mg & added metformin to regulate my AF. it's CD 30 still have yet to ovulate. Guess its the same as my previous cycle which I O at CD35 - before the M/C.
Charis & cookie's gal
I put on 3 kg after the 'mini confinement' too and all ended up at my arms and tummy! I deliberately eat more so tat its good for pregnancy. Im petite and once there is a little tummy there, it looks like Im preggie, cannot stand it, maybe should start exercising soon

hey thewife,

wah, u mia so long xia..
I didnt have regular menses in the past. may miss out once or twice. Today is CD51 liao, I tested again and it is negative, so I am not pregnant. Now like that, I dont even know when I'm ovulating.

Clomid 100 mg is it this red colour pill? I think I did take before in Sec sch days, but cannot rem.

Anyone has been diagnosed with cervical incompetence? What are the symptoms & what are the test you have gone through? My gynae is going to test me with a balloon filled with saline to see if really cervical incompetence. He thinks unlikely, but just wants to double check. Saw him last evening and he found my cervix open ie. patulous. Anyone with the same problem? It's been 3mths since my m/c, and I just had my 1st AF.

Damn scared now...if really cervical incompetent, it means I killed my baby cos I couldnt support him!!!

Hi Ryes,
..sometimes feel like giving up the waiting game, frustrated so didnt write. Normal pple has 12 chance a year, I dun know mine. I believe your cycle is quite normal just that you missed out once or twice? This round it could be due to the m/c, thats why a bit long. If you feel like trying soon, ask gynae to give you provera to induce.

Clomid is white, not red. Maybe the one you took in Sec schools are birth control pills which help to regulate too.

hi thewife,

dun be frustrated and bottle it up lah. can always come in here, post abit, vent ur anger etc one mah. we are here to lend support too...

yes, i also think like u, pp have 12 chances in a year, why we cant. the more i think when to predict my ovulation, the more i get upset too. oh well, sometimes feel like giving up and hell with the opk and bbt thing. hahahah, but i told hb i want to strike near ovulation to get a boy so that i no need feel pressure when 2nd kid comes along.

do you take clomid daily or what? once taken, the menses will come?

Hi Ryes,
sigh..same here. very morning bbt at 8am, over 30 days already, very demoralising.
provera is to induce to AF to come - take 10 days, then AF will come within 3 days. Once AF comes, take clomid on the 2-6 days to induce ovulation.
ya i also hope for boy for the first one, cos my hubby loves to pass on his toys and teach him how to play x-box games. haha. Then after that girl to go shopping with me...haha dreaming again.

hi thewife,

wait har, i abit new on this clomid thing. First you take Provera for 10 days. Then AF report 3 days later, ie day 13. Then once AF finish, take clomid to induce ovulation is it?

Then must go back to scan to see if egg is ripe or not is it? I read some thread the girls do go back to scan to see their eggs...

Very rare hubby want boys leh, like ur hubby. Mine want a girl, so does his sister. I dont mind girl too, coz age gap not big, have lots of things to share and go shopping too, just like what u think!

Hi cookies gal n thewife..

Yup..I know wat u mean..U gals can do it..I lost some weight already..hehe. I was a bit plumper during my school days..then I lost a lot of weight..but too much after a while..so now Im at ideal weight BUT still kind of flabby at the tummy..u know wat i mena..My tummy was showing a bit already too..cos I was almost 3 months pregnant when I m/c. Trying to lose that flab now lah..haha.

Hi volf..

Hey dont blame yourself..u didnt know..and its quite difficult to detect..can happen suddenly..I heard it can be fixed by actually stitching the cervix when u are pregnant to prevent the cervix from opening up..

DId the gynae say reason for yr condition? Sometimes its due to infection from surgery like D & C. It should heal.

Keep us updated. Take care.

Hi Ryes,
I take provera for 10 days, AF will come within 3 days, let say Day 13 it comes, Day 13 = first day of your AF, also known as CD1. On Day 14 (CD2) I start taking clomid for 5 days. Clomid will help to stimulate more eggs and bring on ovulation.
Ya I went back to scan last Mon, saw 10mm egg plus some small ones on each ovary. Gynae said should ovulated last weekend but no leh. Very sian, considering to scan again, but consultation plus scan sure end up $70-$80, so ex!
Hey Charis,
If i lose weight, pple will say I under-nourished. If I put on weight, ends up on arms and waist. difficult! anyway my hubby said I'm putting on for a purpose, so sacrifice lor hehe.

Hi thewife...

So u still on the meds to regulate yr menses? U had yr 2nd AF already? My gynae said usually 1st cycle after m/c women dont ovulate..although there may be follicular activity in the ovaries...but it follicles does not burst n release as eggs..until 2nd or 3rd cycle. Its due to 'hormone inbalance' after m/c.

Hi Charis,
My first AF was induced-after no mense for 6weeks. then started taking clomid and metformin to regulate AF. I just did blood test last Mon as well, 'diagnosed' as imbalance hormone - LH 2 times higher than FSH. ya Im just afraid that the eggs stop growing or does not burst, so maybe see my gynae later, if not growing, then I can stop waiting and start a new cycle.

Hmm..talking abt boy or girl...Im praying for twins..one boy, one girl..Well that would be a blessing..haha. My hubby quite concerned if GOD answers my prayers...He's thinking how we to manage if we have twins.

But anyway jus for our info..I've read..when to TTC if u want boy or girl..before ovulation for girl..near ovulation for boy. Cos X chromosome the girl sperms are larger n slower moving faster, and supposedly stronger to get to the egg. But Y- boy sperms are more agile n swim faster so they are good when egg has been released or almost released. But dont know how true..n how high the chances are if u stick to this. BUT I'm happy with any GOD given child..boy or girl. To difficult to stick to this kind of practice..too much planning..haha.

Hi thewife..

Haha..ya I have a housewife girlfriend who has twin boys who are now 2 plus..Yup..they are not easy..very active..But she has help with a maid n her own mum and MIL..and she also has a 8 month old boy!

What's FSH..jus were saying earlier?

Hi Charis
FSH is the hormone that matures our eggs. When the egg is mature, LH will surge to release the egg. Anyway came back from scan and eggs dun seem to be growing. Now Im thinking whether to increase my clomid pills or to try chinese med. I dun want to mix.

hi thewife,

thanks for our information leh. I think I still hoping for my af to come naturally....keeping fingers crossed.

tested OPK, BFN....sob sob

hi thewife,

depending on the timing of yr blood test, if LH is much higher than FSH, it could mean u have PCOS (which is hormone imblance), perhaps that's why gynae prescibe clomid and metformin together.

since you are doing ovulation scanning, when yr eggs reach 18mm or 20mm, you can ask yr gynae about the HCG jab to help release the eggs.

you can go up to maximum 4 tabs of clomid (200mg). Clomid helps to ovulate, and metfomin help clomid to work better.

volf20,
it's never yr fault that a m/c happens. so dun say that you killed yr baby. cervical incompetence usually cannot be diagnosed until it happens.

cookie's gal,
just wondering, are you the same gal in the wellington thread under singaporebrides?

charis,
how are you doing? it has been a while since i last posted here. it has been 3 weeks since the ectopic pregnancy.

i saw one of yr posts some time ago saying that ectopic pregnancy is hard to detect. actually any gynae who follows the whole cycle from ovualtion monitoring to IUI to post follow up with hcg blood tests every other day should be able to detect an non uterine pregnancy by week 5.

i consulted 2 gynaes, 2 lawyers and 2 MPs but none was able to help me sue the gynae for negligence due to the cost factor. average cost to sue a doctor in sg is about 160k. think that the money can be better used for IVF treatments and moving on.

I just had a miscarriage last thurs, went for an abortion the next day. The reason my gynae gave me was my baby has no heartbeat. I wondered if it had got to do with my abortions when I was younger.

Initially, I was not upset, cos it wasn't my first pregnancy, then the sadness overcomes me, becos I wanted tis baby and yet it did not develop well....I think life is really a joke, when u dun want the BB, it grows really well and when u are ready to have one, somehow things screw up... it is really upsetting.

How long more do I have to wait to try again?

Hi sunshinemilo,

sorry to hear that.

Normally it is recommended to wait for 3- 6 months before trying again. Meanwhile, build up your health first

d woof,
Thanks. Will definitely update you once I have good news.

babymaking,
Yup, I'm at the wellington circle thread too. Why? Do you happen to stay in that area too?

hey cookie's gal,

sorry to hear about your loss, i'm staying 2 floors below you :p

not sure if we met in the void deck or lifts before...i'm horrible at recognising faces.

Hi babymaking,

You are not Gracelynn right? Gracelynn is another lady at SingaporeBrides who stays on the 7th floor of our block. She lives directly below my unit. So how are you feeling now? Have you recovered from your d&c?

BTW, was your first gynae Dr Lawrence Ang?

cookie's gal,

yeah, none other. what a coincidence, it didn't strike me till much later that you could be the same cookie's gal from the other forum!

how are you doing? i'm still on hospital leave till this friday. had a bad experience with the my previous gyane(not Lawrence Ang), and wanted to sue him but it went no where.

yeah, my first gynae was Lawrence Ang, did you see him as well? my case is kinda complicated, and he doesn't have the time to deal with complicated stuff. however he has been helpful all along.

what's yr experience with him?

babymaking,

What a really small world!

My gynae is Lawrence Ang as well. I wouldn't say that my case was complicated though. No outward signs that there was anything wrong with my pregnancy between my check-ups with him (I had one at wk 6 and another at wk 9 which was when we found out that the baby's heartbeat had stopped, so I went in for a d&c after that appointment). I have found him to be approachable at all times.

I'm a bit confused - was Dr Ang the one who advised against a d&c coz it was too near your earlier one or it was your 2nd gynae?

both LA and 2nd gynae.

but in the end, the kkh gynae had to do a d & c cause he had to remove the cyst (pseudo sac).

LA saw me in early part of week 5 as an emergency case as my gynae was on leave. as he was not the one following up my case and it was still very early, i dont blame him for not detecting the ectopic pregnancy.

actually at all times, he's very approachable and even though i'm not his patient, he did go down to TMC in the late evening to attend to me.

The downside is that his clinic is too cramp and the waiting time is super long.

we should really meet up one of these days.

oic...

I don't mind the size of his clinic - usually we'll go there to submit our card and then pop out again to window-shop for a while before going back in. I like the convenience and the fact that he sees patients in the evenings. But then again, who knows. I might change still change gynae the next time I get pregnant.

Yah, good idea to meet up. Heh...but better let hubby and myself recover from our flu first. Don't wish to infect you.

Dear Charis & Babymaking - tks for all yr kind words. Am trying to be positive. It's very hard this mth as my bb's EDD is supposed to be 25 Jun. Do you gals feel more strongly when u near your EDD? Am feeling more sad, and emotional becos I was supposed to hv delivered my bb this mth. Did any of you do anything special on yr bb's EDD? I really miss him....what shd I do to pass this mth?

It didnt help that my hubby's SIL just gave birth and his Mom wanted us to be the gal's godparents. I was really upset and didn't want cos they did not even consult me or us, and just told us we were her godparents. I feel I wld be constantly reminded of my own bb if I were to be her godma. Am I being irrational?MIl thot it wld help me get on with life. But I dun nd that. I want to remember my child as himself...and not see the gal and be reminded of my own.

I feel I shd not sacrifice

Hi babymaking...

Glad to hear from here. Yup..I guess u are right about the money..Better spent somewhere else..All the stress n trauma from the episode n if u are going to sue its going to be another round of stress for u n hubby. I guess most important u recover physically n emotionally.

I'm doing alright. Had my 3rd cycle in early may. I'm TTC now..hope have something positive soon.

Hi volf..

Hey..my heart goes out to u..its not easy I know. I still feel upset when I see one of my friend who's 5 months pregnant..I feel really sad when I see her growing tummy. Its jus a feeling I cant control..its jus there..cos its made worse cos she announced her pregnancy jus after my miscarriage..n she talks about her pregnancy quite often.

I guess u can write a journal about how u feel on his EDD. I wrote a journal during my pregnancy n also wrote about the miscarriage..it really helped me deal with the grief.

U dont have to do anything u dont feel comfortable doing..U can jus be honest n say why..that u still in a process of healing from the loss.

Hi volf..

U know jus sharing another side of my opinion..It jus may help u move on..Why i think so..its cos sometimes holding another person's baby can be really therapuitic..When i wasa recovering from my m/c, a friend in church took the initiative to spend time with me..n she has a 6 month old baby..n she knows I love kids..So she got me to spend time with her kids, she also has 2 year olds twin boys..n it really helped me..

No one can take the memory of yr baby..no other baby can replace him too. But, u know if u reject yr sis in law, she may be quite disappointed..she may jus be asking u cos she also thinks it may help u overcome..But nobody can force u to do it. Jus know that its yr decision..u dont need to be faulted by it. Its yr life n yr time of grief.

HI babymaking,
my eggs kinda of stop growing at 11mm after Mon's scan, same size as last Mon's, which means that I've to increase dosage to 150mg. Met & Clomid didnt seem to work on me

Hi Volf,
i understand its difficult. I'd been invited to a few babyshowers this month which im trying to avoid.

Hi Charis - Thanks. I've politely declined their kind intentions. Maybe it's harder for me cos I lost my bb at 5.5mths...I don't know. Pls pray for strength for me to go through this mth. Feeling teary even now as I write this at work. Thanks for understanding.

Thanks thewife too! I know how you feel abt babyshowers. U know I even gritted my teeth to go see my SIL & bb at KKH when she delivered 1 mth after my m/c. Din want to do it cos I felt v upset ... and decided to do so at last min cos its a nice thing to do so. And so was controlling my tears in the rm... until we left and went to the carpark whr I cried buckets

volf20,

yes, it's quite natural to feel even more acutely the loss nearing the EDD, a good way would be to occupy yrself with stuff to take your mind away from it.

i had my first miscarriage the same time as my best friend announced her pregnancy of her second baby.

she delivered a couple of weeks back just after i lost my second baby.

seeing her baby reminds me of my double loss and it's very hard but what doesn't break you will make you stronger.

all of us here who faced losses are brave people, you will do what is right by yrself, if you do not want to be the god parents, just tell them nicely, try to make them understand.

i visited my friend when she was at the hospital, and a couple of days later, picked her up upon her discharge. but she knows that i will not be attending her baby's first mth celebrations, simply because i know i cannot deal with mutual friends and relatives asking me about our baby plans.

do what u think is best for yrself.

cookie's gal
hope u recover soon. email me at [email protected], we could do coffee or something.

thewife,
i am sorry to hear that, but do not lose hope.

i took clomid at 100mg (2tabs) for 2 cycles before realising that it didn't work.

the 3rd cycle, i took 4 tabs and got preggy via IUI but subsequently lost the baby due to low progestrone support.

after 5mths or so break, i resume with 3 tabs and clomid, and got pregnant again, but had an ectopic this time round. ironically, the baby this time was growing very well, just that it's in the wrong place.

so don;t lose faith, keep trying. just a reminder, that if you are taking high doses of clomid, please visit the gynae for ovualtion monitoring, so that the gyane can track the growth of the follicles.

charis,
good luck on TTC.

Ryes..
If u worried, think u should see gynae..maybe can give u some med to induce the menses. But CD57 is considered about a month late right..still not too unusual. BUT if 2 months late..then maybe a bit weird. Any preggie symptoms? Test not positive is it? No faint line even?

Hey Ryes,
how about taking Ba Zhen Tang? heard it can help mense to come. passed by a chinese medical hall today. The lady said if i drink too much cold water, sometimes ovaries will be too weak to work, so she recommended PaoSheng and Dong Chong Cao - i think most chinese doc use that to help improve mense.

Hi Charis,

Yeah, i think consider just 1 month late so not unusual. Tested liao lor, twice somemore, negative. not symptoms leh.

Hi thewife, I very very very stubborn one. I dare not take chinese medicine, cannot stand all the smell. You know whenever I walk past those medical shop, I will cover my nose, coz I cannot stand the smell...

Haiz, bo bian lor, so now is wait and wait. I hope to share good news when my AF reports.

Hi ryes..

Yup..u can jus wait first..may come anytime soon.

I tested also..so kiasu..not even 1 day late haha..Menses due today..But negative lah..I think I wait another few more days to test again..Have some symptoms..tender breasts, slight nauseous feeling, cramping..But then maybe it could be menses coming. Sigh. I use one test kit already..left one more. I may need to buy from u..haha.

Hey ladies - read the wife's post abt cold water. Do you drink cold water? I used to drink quite a bit even when preggy ... then I stopped... Now, am back to cold water. Does it really affect our womb and ovaries? Am a sucker for iced water / drinks ....sigh

Hi charis,

you know, I nearly nearly wanted to test my 3rd HPT yday! Then I ren leh. coz I tell myself where got so zhun one...must psycho myself.

Yday I experience painful nipples, so I guess maybe my menses coming liao. xian half lor.

Hey hey, tender breast? You jump up and down on the spot, pain or not? if pain, maybe leh. Do you burp alot? that was what I experience last time...maybe good new then u no need buy HPT liao!

Hi volf20, I was told by my gf not to drink too much cold water, not good for our body leh. Even when preg too..

Hi ryes..

Haha..u ask me to do jumping jacks! I jogged around the house for my exercise (cos rainy these 2 days) my dog thinks im crazy..she followed me, baking loudly thinks I want to play with her! So I dont think I'll jump around. Not so sure leh..Symptoms not so strong leh..Last time I had very tender breasts about few days after my AF was due..I tested first day of AF due, it was negative..5 days later then got positive result. I think too early to really see symptoms..wait another few more days. I read that HCG increases by a lot every 2 days. I'll test on Tues..that's my CD33. My AF is due between CD 28-31.

Hi ladies..
Anyway, I dont really believe this cold water thing..But my MIL does..so we dont have cold water in the house..SO i dont drink unless secretly sometimes..cos i have asthma too. Too much tea is no good for the womb too..that's what the physician say..But I dont like physicians..they also say u are weak, blah, blah. One of them told me that..and jus after my m/c so I was quite upset that time..My MIL believe him n kept on telling me that. I was upset n sort of told her off..if u tell me im weak then it seems that the m/c is my fault..But I have been exercising all my life n have a healthy appetite all the while! Even the weakest of women have successful pregnancies. I have a friend who eats junk food, doesnt exercise, didnt bother to take her hormone n folic pills, and she carried twins all the way! So its not about being weak.

Sorry..kind of cranky today..Either its PMS or preggie symptoms..haha.

Oh ya..she even drinks her daily coffee (not decaff) n eats chocolates..N confirm caffeine is bad for preggie women.

Even there's such thing as weak womb.. weak wombs can also conceive n deliver babies..my MIL supposedly had weak womb but she has 3 kids. I only believe the womb is 'weak' after menses n after m/c, delivery..my gynae calls it swollen n tender..lining can be weak..not cos its weak by itself..cos there is a reason..like a thin lining after a D & C. Chinese physicians believe that something is weak by itself..which is not really medical science..usually there's a cause n effect reason for health problems. Then again, I dont really trust medical science..So difficult for ppl like me..both i dont believe. SO I jus be healthy, eat well, sleep well..also live soberly(as what bible says in Titus)..as in lead a holy life.

haha charis...

coz that time hor, when i sat the companybus, it went up the hump very jerkly, my boobies very painful mah and that's when i tested positive.

now I keep seeing, got swollen not, got pain not. ahahah, getting paranoid.

Ryes,
relax relax, You seem to be very stress hahaha. :p

charis,
yah I agree. sometimes it just happened to be lucky and unlucky.. but then better cut down on caffeine, even tea gives me tummy cramps now.