Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Ypmk,
You are waiting for your first mense? I am very confuse? I read your earlier posting and noted you hv bleed after your hcg drop right. That is not consider as 1st AF?? For me immediately after my hcg drop, I had my mense immediately and it was heavy and the first few days was extremely heavy and last for total 8 days. To me that was my 1st AF?? My doctor take it as my 1st AF as well?
Did your gynae say got to wait for your 1st af? Ya, I just hate the feelings of waiting... Just take it easy hor, i know it's tough.

I am seeing marine parade sinseh at park way parade. What about you?
Concerning your spotting, I also experience that after my 2nd mense. It was at day 15-19, had some spotting which I never had that before? Coincidently I had check with my sinseh how to know if our lining are not good. He did mention if we have spotting after mense, this is an indication. But I do not know how true was that? I remember my gynae was still commenting my lining are quite alright except for the polyps. Maybe u should check with your sinseh or gynae.

Hi Bellsbells,
Have you seen any tcm before? For me I go back one week after my d&c. He will give me herbs to brew to strengthened our womb as we have bleeded a lot. This is to nourish our body.

Hi Jolene
I am also confused whether the bleeding as a result of M/C is called the first menses. The ladies in the forum (read earlier postings) said that does not count as first menses but rather it is a miscarriage bleeding. However, my gynae refers that as my menses.

In my case, I had the bleeding about 4 days after my HCG dropped. It was not as heavy as my normal menses. Just lasted 3 days with 2 days of spotting. I did have a very big clot out. Went back to have a scan with the gynae and was told everything was ok.

However, I started having spotting on Thursday, 1 week after the last bleeding/spotting and still continues. Emailed my gynae yesterday and was told that it is probably due to drop in hormone prior to ovulation and this sometimes result in spotting as some of the lining was shed. However, when I went in for my scan/check-up just 2 days before the spotting, I only had a very small follicle and my lining was very very thin. Also, I am extremely dry at present. So, I don't think it is due to the coming ovulation. This morning, I began to have mild cramp on my tummy.... I don't know what is going on... am very concerned. My gynae thinks I am too "kan Cheong"... so I decided to wait until Monday to see if this continues. Any experience in this?

Bellsbells - I just M/C and hence need to "bu".

ypmk,
I am so sorry... so you in confinement now ? I am about to finish my confinement, about 10days more. Mine is different... after dc first 2 days at hospital a lot of blood when I came home.. already very very little blood... but my SIL told me to take two types of chinese pills for 1 week to force out any other blood clot.

Anyway I only take those liver ,kidney, chicken with martel or dom.. than my grandma say have to take those "gou le" hokkien

anyway I also don't know what to take... my malay massage lady told me to take more protein...

I began to bleed again... in dark brown colour...with severe cramps.... is this normal? Gynae is not around. What should I do?

ypmk, i think you should go and see another gynae if your usual gynae is not around. Is your AF reporting? If not, then it is not normal. However, my AF reported 3 weeks after my D&C and i discharge dark brown blood for the first day as well then subsequently, it became fresh red. i had bad cramps as well. Do take care

Thanks for the postings. I managed to speak to my gynae on the phone. He said it is probably early menses. Well, I don't know if I should trust him.... I only had my natural M/C 10 days ago before the spotting. I just had a scan before the spotting and was told everything was cleared and in fact has some follices in the ovary... should be ovulating this month. I can't have another AF so soon.

The cramps have come down but the bleeding still continues. I will ask my gynae for a scan tomorrow. I am really worried.

Hi ypmk..

Its usually unusual for menses to come so early. Most of us here have at least 3 or 4 weeks before 1st menses come.

The miscarriage bleeding is not counted as 1st cycle.

But is is true when HCG drops to 0, your menses will come. But it usually takes a couple of weeks after a miscarriage or D & C for HCG to drop to 0. Unless its really early menses..that should mean yr HCG has already gone to 0. But only blood test can show..n a thorough scan..jus in case there is retained tissue that is causing yr bleeding. DO ask for a scan..be on safe side ok. Take care. Keep us updated.

Hi ypmk..I re-read yr situation..U may have an incomplete miscarriage, or at least some retained tissue..Or mayb u havent really miscarried yet..jus spotting..the heavy bleeding n cramps should increase, then taper down all within 5-7 weeks. Can u in detail describe yr spotting/mc from Day 1? How many weeks pregnant were u when u m/c? Did u go to the website i gave in my previuos posts, its quite good. www.pregnancyloss.info

Anyway, yr gynae may have missed out something in the scan..since u have a natural miscarriage..u have to be more sure of what's happening..if not better to check with gynae. But I'm just guessing based on experience, n my own knowledge..a gynae would still know better lah. If u dont feel comfortable with yr gynae's diagnosis..mayb u should go to another gynae.

I can recommend 2 gynaes..Dr. SC Chew at Mt. ELizabeth and Dr Fong Chuan Wee, at Gleneagles..both very skilled with their scan machines, most sophiscated equipment from what I notice(Dr. Fong), as for DR Chew, my friend's long time gynae, both very experienced.

I'm back! Sob sob, my menses did not come during my HM and I'm not having my menses for the month of May. sob sob sob

Thanks for all your replies and concerns.

Charis, I will list down again what happened to me since day 1 of M/C:
Day 1 happened on Monday 15/5, a few days after I told my BHCG had dropped. I assumed my BHCG was already near zero then. Had bleeding for 3 days followed by 2 days of spotting. The bleeding was red in colour with a terrible half an hour cramp on day 1 when I had a big clot out but otherwise no clots, not even small ones. Not much cramps other than the D1 cramps. Volume also not that much.

Had a scan on D9 and was told no retained tissues and ovaries had some follicles with the largest measuring 11mm which was a good size for D9. Went to sinseh on D10 and was told everything seemed clear and took his herbs to strengthen the womb the same day.

Spotting started on D11...and bleeding & cramping started on D13 and continues to today i.e. D15. The second bleeding contains dark brown colour blood, with clots and very crampy. Volume is not much either.

I will be seeing my gynae this afternoon and hopes he can tell me what is going on. Am thinking of getting a second opinion too. Thanks for the suggestions.

Hi ryes..

Hey u're back..How come didnt get menses? Now wat CD(cycle day)? Suppose to be 3rd cycle is it? Maybe u preggie?? Hehe. But good also wat..so at least can enjoy yr holiday..without all the cramps n bleeding. Europe nice?

Hi ypmk..

Seems weird yr condition..unless really early menses. But still unusual. Keep us updated..get 2nd opinion ok..jus in case yr gynae really miss out something.

Hi ypmk..

Seen yr gynae? 2nd opinion gynae?

U were very early in yr pregnancy is it? Less than 6 weeks? If very early then mayb its possible to have much less bleeding cos the placenta etc have not grown very much. For mine I was around 10 weeks..my m/c was very heavy bleeding that lasted a few hours with severe cramps.

Hey gals,
Me back! My menses (2nd AF) was back to normal, it came exactly on the 28th day since my last....

Hi Ryes,
Hows your trip? Did you enjoy yoursleves to the fullest?

How's everyone? As for the "newcomers", dun give up and keep trying...

Charis
I miscarried on 6W2D...still early in the pregnancy journey.

Seen my gynae. He confirmed that it is early menses. He said it is unusual but he had other patients who experienced this before. The large follicle that I had last week disappeared and instead I had smaller follicles coming up. Also noticed my temperature has come down... ya I posted previously asking why my temp was still high despite I already miscarried.

I hope this cycle is going to be all normal... no more scares etc and next AF will come at a reasonable interval. I will ask for a second opinion in a week's time, after my AF cleared up.

This time round, my gynae asked me not to TTC for 2-3 months... guess he thinks my body would not be ready if she is so disrupted.

Really appreciate all the support.

Hi doggy...

Good for u..2nd AF here n on time. Enjoyed yr trip?

Hi ypmk..

Glad to be of some help. Ya..no harm to get 2nd opinion.

hey doggy,

so good and happy for you, ur 2nd AF normal. Today is my CD47 leh and my 2nd af is still not here!!!!!!!

Hey charis,
Europe nice and enjoyable. Thinkingmaybe this holiday affected my cycle. Is my 2nd cycle that I'm waiting leh. I tested the test kit when I came back on Sunday it was negative, so cannot be pregnant one. BTW, I have cheap test kits, so if you girls want, can contact me k.

Sob sob, I am so upset now lah, want to have bb, also duno how to plan!!!

Hi Charis/Ryes,
Actually i did try after my 1st menses but failed. So, will be trying again and hopefully can succeed!!! U gals should not stop trying either

Hi Ryes,
Dun stress on the AF so much, relax and it will come....it takes a while for it to regulate and i'm just lucky it comes exactly on 28th day
did you go to Spain? its good to have a break....but lot of backlog to clear after i'm back

Hi ryes.

Good to hear from u. So Europe's lovely huh..so good can take a break right? Im missing Tasmania..told my hubby i want to go back..the weather's so cool n nice, so relax lifestyle. BUT, S'pore's our home..wat to do! Not the fortunate kind of ppl that can jus migrate or choose to work/study overseas..after all we want to start a family n so on..maybe a couple of years down the road. For family sake, sometimes dreams get sacrificed.

Ryes..hmm..CD 47 but pregnancy result negative so ya most likely not..but u can always try the test again see if it turns out positive?..But if not..dont worry..probably menses still regulating..n most likely the travel etc, jus delayed the menses.

I started TTC after my 3rd cycle now..dont know if succeed this time. Will have to wait another 2 weeks to see results.

Hi ryes..dont get so upset ok..cos some women after m/c menses come once in 2 months..cycles jus get haywire..so u jus continue TTC n enjoy yrself too dont stress.

Hi doggy & charis

yeah, went to spain & portugal for a good whole 17 days. nice weather and plus the shopping too. came back with lots of branded bags. mauahahaha.Must buy now if not back in singapore hb wont even let me buy.

I think I read that there are some girls 2nd AF came like 6 weeks later only? So I might be one of them. sob sob....

Hi doggy,

is cheaper by about say S$200-300 like that for a bag for LV and loewe. I yet to check out the singapore price in the boutiques, but gf confirm sure cheaper lor. LIke the LV bag we both got, selling ard 1200 in Sin, whereas I got it about 900 like that.

I like gucci, but didnt get it in the end, coz was thinking the material is fabric and i very chor lor one, wait pen stain lah, drink spill lah, etc. So invested in hard fabric.

Hi Bellsbell,

We take chinese herbs. It was said to nourish the womb, replenish the loss blood and thicken the lining. I hope it's working for me. It's my 2nd week after d/c, hope I do not need to wait for 2 months to resume my af.

wow so many posts for these few daes.......

ryes,
hw nice to go europe......glad tat u enjoy it....
i haf the same problem wif u......2nd AF came onli on CD37....den worst of all my 3rd AF came on the Cd39....seems like my cycle is getting longer n longer.....used to haf very regular cycle (28-30D) but den now all i hope is tat the cycle will be back to normal.....i m not those lucky ones which the cycle resume back to normal on the 2nd AF........so rite now, even wan to TTC oso haf to juz try..cant really tell when is the ovulation dae....

my last AF is on the 12th of tis mth n coming mon i m gng on a hol....so i hope the timing is gd....

doggy,
so glad tat ur mindset is so +ve.....i m sure ur result will be +ve soon

Hi dwoof..

Same here..my 3rd AF was 12 may too..somewhere there..n these 3 cycles seems to be on average 32 days..Not too sure when is my ovulation..cos im not disciplined enough to use the predictor everyday..I cant really tell from the cervical mucus too..So i jus TTC from CD8.

hey charis,
ya.....actually cervical mucus(CM) very difficult to identify.......unless u r the experts if not we can juz make guesses....
aniway...hope tat u will haf +ve result...we muz haf like doggy like tat, haf +ve mindset..

Hi elmo, it's been a long time since I visit. How have you been? Still travelling alot? I've quit my job and been resting at home for the past 1+months. Wonder how's everybody like hamasaki and lyn...

To all the ladies here, please jia you! Baby dust to all!

hi d_woof

but at least urs was like 30 + days leh. Today is CD48 liao. xian xian xian.

I cannot tell from CM one. Hb said after my D&C I like not as lubricate as before...so upset.

Just wanna tell u all dun give up. :D I actually had d & c on last nov 05. Then I rest for 6 mths, eat folic acid, and I tried just once this mth based on my Ovulation cycle and I just have a + on the test kit, hopefully everything will be fine. I am in bkk and havent see a gynae yet.. a bit phobia but all of us must jia you.

hello ryes,
i almost hit 40daes too.....btw, r u stressed up or not? coz i tink stress oso a culprit of delaying the AF.......so take it easy....if a few daes later it doesnt appear, mayb u will haf +ve result?hehe

icy,
wow....glad to hear tat u haf +ve result....congrats!!!so hw many mths liao? do take care....

kim ng & woof,
thanks, I haven't see gynae, I really dunno yet. There is this slight stinging fear factor inside me.

I have a problem becos I follow my hb to overseas rotation and we will be moving a lot.. which means I also have to change gynae a lot. At this stage, at most 4-5wk only.

I recommend www.cyclespage.com to record ur ovulation. I used that to record my cycle and rely on it for TTC.

ypmk,
dun worry, my gynae actually also asked me to rest for 3-4 mths, i think it is good to restore our health and strengthen the womb.

Congrats Icy....hopefully i can write teh same msg in 3 weeks' time
I can understand your fear but i'm sure it will be a smooth pregancy for you this time...jia you

Hi ryes..

I think same here..My CM seems lesser after the m/c..But I more determined..hehe..u know what I mean. I jus want to enjoy TTC..and pray for the best.

Hi icy..

Congrats..Hope it will a smooth n successful pregnancy for u.

Hey icy,

congrats to you!

Hi d_woof, you also still waiting har? xian one right?

I also hope that next few weeks, it will be a + sign. I dont have stress leh. Now trying to observe if I have any symptoms or not.

But then har, I quite determined to wait for my 2nd AF to come then officially start BD, but hb been live firing, but then I would squeeze all out. Understand some might still be retained inside right?

Hi icy,
Congrats to you!
Don't get stressed up ok?

Think my cycles after my m/c still haven't settle down yet. Now having my 3rd AF after my m/c, this cycle is 34 days compared with 30 days for my 2nd cycle.
kao_confused.gif
. Anyway, will continue to monitor as I am not going to TTC yet.

hello icy,
oh yes...i do use the website.....in ur pt of view, itz accurate izzit? aniway, haf a smooth pregnancy....

hi charis,
well according to sinseh (as i m currently seeing one), she said after 6mths is beta..but according to gynae, he said after 2nd cycle..
me too...haf a lot of feelings....afraid tat wun strike lah or history will repeat..but den keep telling myself...itz fated lor...if itz urs, no matter how u hide oso no use..so i come to a conclusion...on my part i will try n the rest leave it to fate...moreover, my cycle so messy now....difficult to identify my o dae...

ryes,
well, finished my 3rd cycle oreadi...so the nx cycle will be ard nx mid mth...when i was waiting for my 3rd one, very sian lor coz itz longer than the 2nd one...but den finally on vesak day it came...hehe...
i hope tat u will get a + sign too....gd luck!

cookie's gal,
how haf u been? yeah lor.....we r so called the unlucky ones.....the cycle seems to get longer n longer as each mth passed by...very difficult to determine the o daes....so when r u gng to TTC? after 6mths?

Hi d woof,

Most probably will TTC end of this year. I'm looking for a new job now lah so I don't dare to TTC also. Now just concentrating on building up mine and hubby's health - we started to drink essence of chicken with cordyceps more regularly and I boil more tonic soups too.

ryes,
yah dun stress, things will come naturally. :D

cookie gal,
Thanks, how have u been doing? Have u been eating folic acid? My cycle was like 35 days but then also not regular anymore. I check my records, after my Af was like 41 days, 39 days, 38 days and then 35 days.. which means only 4th cycle then back to normal and that mth i decide to be more onz on folic acid.

woof,
Yah to me is quite okie. I mean I just kind of alert myself and look for physical change. Don't worry okie. U look at my cycle.. also not accurate. baby dust to u. I still waiting to see gynae.. *sigh*

Hi icy,

Ok...except that I put on weight after my mini-confinement. Haiz. I very naughty girl, still never take my folic acid. Think I better be more guai.

hey d_woof,

haha, urs came on vesak day, my first came on good friday. *wink*

Oh well, icy, I will try not to be stress, just that very eager to have it come faster lor. Today already day 49 or 50 liao, I even lost track. cham lor.

Hey cookie's girl, must must rem take folic acid lah. talking abt it, I gotta take mine too.

Hi cookies gal..

I too put on weight when I was pregnant..put on about 4 kg. Still trying to lose the weight..I put on another 1 kg after mini-confinement too cos I needed the extra nourishment after the m/c..its ok to put on..jus not too much right. Now have since lost 2 kg..but not back to my normal pre-pregnancy state..was quite skinny before..now more curvy lah..Actually my MIL thinks I was too skinny..low weight..so mayb that's why I had the m/c. I think im at a better weight now to TTC.

Im taking Usana's multi vit..but not folic..the multi vit already has folic..I scared to take folic itself cos may overdose.

Hi Coral,
How have you been? tried to pm you, but you dun accept leh.
how many months r u now? how you getting on?
saw that you quit your job! hee.. so shiok.. so how did you pass your time everyday?

Hi Ryes,

Will do as you advise... hehe, took my folic acid this morning.

Hi Charis,
I put on about 5kg too and haven't lost any yet.
However, this weight gain is not healthy for me because this pushes my BMI past 25. I was never slim to begin with so I would prefer to lose some weight.