Support group - Miscarriages

Wat im sharing has medical research which i know most ladies here want to know...rgd religion it jus so happen its my expce..w/o sharing my personal expce, i cant prove to them that my expce is real right.

Lyn,

well, I also say sorry to you if I hv hurt you wif my words if there's any,
I didint know my reminder will affect you.
Well, jiayou n God will bless you a helathy baby

Hi coral..

Thanks for advice rgd exercise..I hope to recover & get back to exercise soon, like u said light exercise..But for me i can only think of walking..is that ok? How abt weight lifting? Sounds to much right?

Err Charis,
I think you over emphasie on God liao,
well we all know God is in control of everything la,Amen

Glad to knw ur faith is v strong

Hi jasmine...

Thanks for understanding..actually i didnt intend to, cos i dont feel comfortable sharing abt my faith actually..Some non-believers may feel awkward, if u notice i never really purposedly did, its jus applicable to my expce..cos i went thru 3 difficult gynaes..i had no docs when i m/c, it was jus me, & well GOD..ppl conclude abt me, i jus happen to share what is real..I mean like i said in forums, we jus respond to what ppl want to know also, u know abt why m/c happens etc..U know, sorry i know i dont want this to turn to religious forum also...haha!

Jas, not a problem.. yah, if u get it at hospital, it will be so much cheaper than getting it at a GP...

continue to take it everyday...

charis, i tik shld nt do weight lifting. too stressing after a m/c.

hi valerie, thanks 4 sharing so much info abt wat u know n wat may b the cause of our misfortunates..tks for typing them all down. doc din tell me the reason, guess its becos there is no definite reason to tis. so i just cross my fingers V HARD & hope my next preg will be a healthy one!
Same to u!!

No val..

I never did..I jus share wat ppl want to know. I dont go ard saying that my faith its very strong..Its some of u who say that. I only share to specific ppl who NEED to KNOW my experience. My miscarriage experience...which jus so happens in this multi racial multi religious forum, is an experience with GOD. BUT i dont share that u must believe in GOD. If u dont want ppl to share their personal & true expce then i dont share..simple. If u look carefully at all my posts, i dont purposedly share abt my faith...i only respond to what ppl want to know abt me..& also if ppl need advice on anything, how can u give advice if u didnt expce something yrself?? Like u cant expect someone who never had an m/c b4 & then give advice or give support right?

Hi jas..yah..i guess so too. BUt all the muscles not toned alrd! Hehe..I put on 4kg (lost 1-2 fter m/c)during preggie,only 1st tri some more. Feel quite sad when i think abt it actually..Cos did it all for the baby..BUT he's gone..seems was in vain u know..i guess we jus feel helpless..

Btw jas & hama, talking abt folic acid. Is yours 5mg per tablet too? Im going to start back soon. Guardian pharmacy only charges $2plus for abt 1-2months worth. My gynae charged like $15..
Next time i tell gynae no need to give alrd.

How abt multi-vit? Did yr gynaes say must take too? My gynae said that time, no need for early tri, is it true? Someone was sharing abt B12..Multi vit shld cover B12 right?

GNC gt pre natal multi vits , can chk it out

Jas, I didint type one leh, is cut n paste from previous posting from Bestwishes,
ya we dun knw what is the exact cause of m/c like mine, dunno why gt this cord accident, only God knows lor
Well, my Janelle is in heaven anyway

Thewife,
do update us abt ur opinion n decision.

aiyo, recently so many ladies here gt D N C,
so sad nw m/c is so common,hiaz....
but all of us will be bless to be proud mummies one day

Hi Jasmine,
thanks, just went to see chinese doc to let me tiao first. he wanted to give me medicine to just let 'it' pop out, but i told him no lah, i scared. as for 2nd opinion, im thinking where to go. i have seen another gynae before my pregnancy, near my place, but my current gynae's machine seems more advanced.

I belive we are wat we eat too,maybe those after m/c recover frm confinement can go organic?

maybe common m/c reason behind is the lifestyle n the food we eat, environment toxic etc....
so do a detox is good too

hee...so ask again any of you taking organic apple cider vinegar?
I took after my confinment

HI Charis, walking is fine, but also not for too long or too fast. I do carry some weights, but mine was 1kg per side, and I carry them while sitting, just to flex my arms. Was told by the massage lady as a rule of thumb for the next 6mths, best 1yr, not to carry anything that you feel you have to exert strength. Charis, I put on about 12kg, then after I lost bb I still had abt 5kg. No regrets. I took about 3 mths to slowly lose those weight. I swim, do sit-ups, stretches, and use the 1kg weights to tone arms. But my hips is 1" wider even after I lost the wegith, think my hip bone has expanded when I delivered bb. Well, this is part of the process to be a mum. We'll always be beautiful to our hb, so don't be too sad abt figure. Take time.

Hi thewife..

I recommend Dr Fong CW, Fong Clinic for women at Gleneagles, or Dr SC Chew..both with very gd & latest equipment..& proper stirrups for vaginal scans, Dr Fong has a sort of camera to goes up to the cervix..can see on screen..weird expce for me, but good i guess. He can see if cervix is open..& or bleeding, signs of a m/c or a threatened one.

Hi coral..

Thanks..

Scary to gain so much weight leh..haha. My next pregnancy, I think i will watch my weight, i try not to gain so much too early.

I think organic is a good idea..

One probable cause for miscarriages (from medical research) is food, for eg, foods with mercury content, pestisides, etc..even unfiltered water.

So i guess we can be extra careful in washing our vegetables, not taking ginseng, during my pregnancy. No harm right to be careful..but sometimes cant be too careful cos become so stressed & rigid...everything is jus a precaution, not really a solution.

hi charis, yes.. the folic acid is in yellow colour 5mg... take only once in a morning..

I took Pre-natal pills from Nature Farm.. Its abt the same as multi-vits.. but this pre-natal pills is safe to consume it during TTc and pregnancy period.. take 1 or 2 tablets everyday.. Lots of important vits that we need..

My gynae that time told me its okie to take or not to take the pre-natal pills, but i still take it faithfully since i have been eating it for quite a long time already..

Thanks hama for the tip. I stopped the folic when i m/c..jus didnt want to take anything related to the pregnancy.

Thanks val for the tip..BUT I heard G&C is a bit ex?

the pre-natal pills cost somewhere $26 plus a bottle.. ( i throw away the bottle so rougly estimate the price)

The brand name is TwinLab Pre-natal Care.. Multi Vit Caps which delivers 22 nutrients for optimal health..

Valerie, i din check out any website.. I went directly to the Nature Farm store to ask them and take their brochures..
The pills are always out of stock so I always have to order from them a few bottles at one go, cos my friends also wants them...

after d&c, did anyone opt for a test on the 'materials' to find out what exactly went wrong? how much is that?

elmo, just to share, 3 months after we lost bb, hb was out on business trip and when he came back, he accidentally reveal to me that he actually still went to look at bb things when he was overseas. That time I was both touched and upset. Like you, I felt I had let him down and blame myself. But I think we're silly to do that. Don't think our hbs will ever think of it this way. Just liek we'll never blame them and say it's your sperm that's lousy and cause m/c. So I hpe you'll not feel bad about yourself. See, you know such alot about bu, until today many of us still using yoru recipes. So I think you've been doing a great job in caring for your health, you'll be a Mum to healthy bbs in your own time. Don't feel pressureized. All my hbs colleagues got children, and mostly quite old liao some in primary school already. Now, even 3 of his staff are also father liao. At times I do feel anxious to be Mummy soon but then I think there's a time for everything for each of us, so I try not to compare.

hi Jas,
I think $0.05 per tablet a bit expensive for Folic ACid, cos that adds up to $5.00. I buy mine from NTUC (Unity) Pharmacy - $2.52 for 100 tablets, the same brand that Guardian sells & GPs give (Drug House of Australia 5mg folic acid). No harm checking it out... then can save the money for something else, e.g. mutli-vits.

hi thewife,
I almost wanted to do a chromosonal test to find out what's wrong after my D&C, but gynae advised that it would be a waste of money because it's only "academic" information i.e. you cannot do anything about it. This is because chromosonal problems happen randomly and so chances is it will not happen again. I was told the test ranges from $600-$800. And my gynae said there is a only a very slim chance that there will be incompatibilty between wife and husband's DNA, so really no point in wasting the money. We only did the usual test to send the stuff to the lab to make sure that the stuff contains "products of conception" i.e. my womb is properly emptied out.

hi charis, fyi i also gained abt 4-5 kg during my first trim. i had v good appetite and can eat alot!! now stil trying to lose abit of weight.

Halow sophie, thanks for highlighting. i thot kkh is areadi v cheap.will get it from unity next time. aiyo but i have 6mths worth of folic acid. ;P
i tik its really v exp to do the chrom test. my gynae din even check whether my womb is emptied. maybe its becos my AF is quite normal now.

hi coral, thanks! I will be alright.....
I guess sometimes it's just myself hu si luan xiang... :p

Hi puppy, please rest as much as you can... you are supposed to treat it like any normal confinement.... so need to rest much.....

hi puipui, I kudo you for the attempts you make.... I'm sure you will get your wish soon.
Jia you! Dun let anyone affect you!

Sophie, wow, thanks for the much information Yah I noticed that walking causes bleeding/spottingbut dont walk, no lunch the nearest coffee shop is about 10 mins walk sob I hate people packed lunch for me as they anyhow packed so I do slow walk lor luckily, my boss understands

Thanks elmo, I considered lucky enuff to rest well these few nights I was turning round n round the last week juz cldnt get my eye closed as the images of my deformed fetus appeared Saddened me really badly I dont deny that Yah, still resting as much as I can if possible My eye still red not from crying now but tiredness

Anyone of you working in the Eastmaybe can meet up one of these days for lunch

Thanks for all your support and information I find myself more attached to this forum; though we did not meet face-to-face but I felt that special bonding.

Glad that my boss is understanding, she even asked whether I had planned to go for a short break to distress

BTW, also like to check whether any of u takes EPO after D&C? I used to take EPO but when I know about my pregnancy, then stopped Now not sure when can I take EPO again cos I find after I took EPO, my eczema gets better and skin also gets betterI kept forgetting to ask my gynae about taking EPO even when Im preg till now, I still forget Anybody out there can advice.

Hi thewife..

Dr Fong Chuan Wee's clinic no. is 64686522. Make appt asap..his clinic usually packed esp on Saturdays. Gleneagles Unit no.05-18.

Hi thewife..

Dr Fong Chuan Wee's clinic no. is 64686522. Make appt asap..his clinic usually packed esp on Saturdays. Gleneagles Unit no.05-18.

hello everyone,
haf been bz lately...n realised tat this thread is moving fast.......
after D&C, my AF came after 3wks+...but den it lasted till 8th or 9thdae (brown discharge or spotting after 5th day)....izzit normal? seems like it is not totally clean yet.....my TCM sinseh said tat by rite, mense should onli last for 5days...shld be clear after 5daes of flow......
any advise?

hi woofy,
My AF after m/c also lasts longer than last time. In the past, it ranges from 5 to 7 days; now it lasts up to 9 days and from 6th day onwards it's just spotting. I read somewhere previously from one of the gals in this forum that the spotting means the womb still weak?

My sinseh says must "tiao" the body until no more bad menses cramps and clots, then that'll be optimal for the next pregnancy. Next Wed when I see him again, I'll ask him about the spotting.

hi elmo,
Don't feel bad or blame yourself. I like what coral said - that we never blame our hubbies for bad quality sperm which may have caused the m/c and vice-versa, they wouldn't blame us at all. It's the love between us that counts.

And your tonics and recipes are very useful to me
I bookmark them and still refer to them often. So with your proper "bu" and tonics, I'm sure our turns to be mummies will come soon!

sophie,
really har......if spotting or mild brown discharge (which cover onli 10% of ur panty liner) means the womb is still weak? now after u telling me this, i m a bit worried liao...have been on TCM for 2wks liao....actually when i c my sinseh, she did mentioned that it is not totally clean yet when there's discharge so she gave me two tablets juz to cleanse my womb.....but den still haf residue...haiz.....hopefully it will clear by tml......today is my 9th dae liao.....

hi val
Hw's ur vits? Do share with us

hi sophie
Thanks for your kind information. I shall heed ur advice.

Hi woofy
My AF already ended 2days again, last 6 days. I haven't seen a gynae yet, very busy recently, will probably "MIA" until next week

hi woof and sophie, my first AF lasted abt 5-6days in total. then abit spotting at the last 2days. tik shld be quite normal. ..eee..i hope so.

i asked gynae, she said first AF is like tat.

hi sophie,
Glad you find it useful....my favourite is the mee sua. :p I'm just sharing what I know... kkekekekeke....

Puppy, it's normal for eyes to feel a bit tired as well...try to take more "Gou Qi Zi"... it will help... I took quite a lot during the confinement...
most impt (sorrie I a bit lor sor.. :p) is rest rest and more rest....

hi thewife, normally will not do the test unless it's repeated m/c...cos most of the time there is nothing wrong... so dun waste the money....

Hi Charis, I also believe that external factors play a part with so much contamination in our environment... but I did read that by pumping up on our nutrients, it can help our body to detox itself naturally... so it's good to take multi-vit or take more nourishing and nutritional food....

Hi Qwer, ya lor... so now I try not to get affected... :p No point right? sometimes I still do, but I get over it pretty quick liao.

hi ladies - I just miscarried my baby on 27 Feb 06. I was 5.5mths pregnant....is it common to miscarry in such a late stage? AM still very sad.

hi volf20,
Im very sorry to hear about your miscarriage... but gal, it's normal to feel sad... take your time to grieve and when you are ready, pick yourself up.... if you need any support or just need someone to talk to , just come into this web site....
I cant tell you whether it's common, cos it depends on individual and anything can happen during the pregnancy......did doc say what could have caused it?
I can only say that everything happens for a reason... and you have to stay positive and dun hu si luan siang... now most impt is to take care of your health.....do a confinement... if you need any receipes or what to do, just let us know... we can share what we know....
*HUGS* to you...

Volf20,
I am so sorry and hate to hear this, hiaz...another mid term pregnancy lose....I lost my baby gal at 6.5 mths due to cord accident, so prehaprs you want to chk what cause the reason of ur miscarriage?

Yes, PLEASE do a proper confinement for 1 MONTH dear...

Elmo buddy, can you kindly cut and paste ur confinement food here for our dear Volf20?
sorry to trouble you :p

My water bag started leaking and the fluid level was very low... then infection started to set in. Doc put me on full bedrest with all the drips and antibiotics for 3 wks but it didnt help. I delivered Zachary naturally. Even carried him... cld see his features etc...sob...

Thanks ladies for yr support. Miscarriage at such a late stage is just like delivering a baby. Am going through confinement now cos body is real weak.

How long do we bleed after m/c? Am still spotting....

hi volf20,

i oso lost my 3 babies at 23 weeks..like wat val says, have a proper confinement..i didnt do a proper 1 and sometimes wonder if will have consequences..its better to find a reason coz at least u know wat to do to prevent it from happening again..for me, now i know i have a weak cervix so will have to do an op at 14 weeks if i pregnant again..so at least u can get preventive treatment.

dear val- sorri i idnt know u lost ur baby due to cord accident..i really feel so much for u..i know the kind of pain that u went thru..but as u said earlier, our babies are in heaven playing happily now..

yesterday, did u gals see the pink of health program? it was very inspiring, a lady had 2 children oredi and was pregnant a 3rd time..she suddenly had a ruptured water bag and had to deliver her baby boy..she said her baby was so small, jus the size of her palm and was too small to be incubated..it happened a few years back but u could still see her sadness..she said, many pple cannot identify the kind of bond a woman has with a child growing inside of u and to lose tat bond is very sad...which is so true..but on bright saide she went on to have another child at 42 yrs old..so jus something to share, it really inspiried me and hope it will for the rest of us as well.

Confinement Suggestion:

If you can go to Chinese sinseh and ask for "Sheng1 Hua4 Tang1"... it's to be drank after giving birth to remove all the "dirty blood".

Please abstain from any cooling / cold stuffs from now for the next 1 mth. also no prawns, sotong, crab... no liang and cold stuffs....cabbage, kang kong, etc.....
Just take more tonic and more ginger. Dun drink water. Drink red date, "Gou Qi Zi", Dried black Longan, "Dang3 Shen1", "Bei3 Qi3" and some ginger. Boil for 30-40 mins and drink as water.
It will help to get rid of the bloatedness, "Bu Qi", "Bu Xue", and "Ming2 Mu" - good for eyes....
it's very impt for you to take all the nutritional stuffs and also to get rid of the "wind" in the body. That way you will be able to nourish your body well.

1) Everyday drink the red date tea mentioned above like water. Dun drink water.
2) Morning drink a bottle of chicken essence on empty stomach. After 10-15 mins take your normal breakfast
3) Lunch/Dinner, mee sua with soup or tonic soup with rice and veg. and remember use lots of ginger.
4) drink DOM before you sleep every night.
Your body is in a very good state to absorb the most now. So, dun let it pass.... take as much as you can.

E.g of tonic soup.
1) "Dang Shen", "Bei Qi", "Huai Shan", Gou Qi Zi, black dates, add half/whole black chicken with 1 bowl of water and 1/2 cup of martel.
You can chose to fry some ginger slice with sesame oil and then add normal chicken followed with martel before pouring into slow cooker with the herbs to boil.
2) Fry ginger with sesame oil and fry some chicken/meat. Can add mushroom is you wan. add water boil and add some salt, pepper and soya sauce... after water boil add mee sua.
3) "Pao shen with Chong Chao" and gou qi zhi , black date with black chicken.
However, I have chosen to mill "Pao shen and chong cao" into powder. Can take 2-4 everyday during this period.
Remember to ask for "Lao Pao shen". It must be warm in nature. Not those cooling Pao shen
4) Fry ginger slices with sesame oil, add chicken dice, add mushroom... stir fry... add some seasoning, add 2 tablespoon of DOM and fry... then add a little of the mushroom water used to soak the mushroom. This also quite nice. Very sweet.
5) After your blood clear Totally, can drink "Dang gui bu xue Tang", "Ba Zhen" and "Bai Feng Wan" with black chicken
6) Liver soup - add water with ginger after boil, add mince meat balls, when almost cook, add liver (dun boil too long). add some soya sauce and some salt and pepper for taste. Can add mee sua to be taken as a meal

After blood clear totally, can add danggui. E.g
1) Chicken /Fish soup with black fungus, ginger slices, danggui, red date, add mee sua. Add some chinese red wine or XO just before you off the heat.
For the red date tea, after your blood clears, you can add danggui instead of dangshen and bei qi as mentioned above.

my sinseh adviced me to take for 30 days then can stop liao....after that drink the prescribe herbal soup once a week... :p

If start to feel heaty, then can start cutting down...

Use the herbs to shower, cos I felt it make a difference.

Depending on each person's constitution.. some are stronger, so can recover better. must just be safe then sorry lor.
Hope this is useful.