Support group - Miscarriages

Lyn,

I can understand and maybe with fear if I got pregnant next time after miscarriage...
knowing friends and meeting up new friends here is to encourage one another n helping to move on....
I am a person that tends to worry easily which I am not suppose too cos will add more stress to my body so I hv been praying to God not to make me worry too much, also reading bible makes me feel better too...
It is not a pinch of salt for me definately as my healthy n active gal who look so much like me when it was borned on 7th dec, my wedding annivesary with lots of dark hair look like sleeping when I carried her in arms but she is not....
She was in my womb for 26th weeks suddenly no movements at all over that faithful sunday 4th Dec..I will never forget it n I just stared blankly my gal without heartbeat on 5th Dec am in my gynae's room....

think the next pregnancy , I will buy a dropper so just to make sure my 2nd baby heartbeat is there everyday....
I am doing my best but is still not withing my control lor...God can only control me.

1 still born I still can take it, but I think I cant imagine how will I handle this if 2nd or 3rd time stillborn happen to me.
But if I am not positive and move on n try for baby again, I guess I will never knows....

I got a colleague had her 1st bb gal and also heartbeat stop at 5mth month, now she has 3 healthy sons.
She told me that her 2nd baby after the miscarriage was with worry for 40 weeks until her son was born.

I hope and pray that I wont be like her to be so worry, I really really want to hold my 2nd n healthy/alive baby in hands n not anymore dead baby in my arms anymore, it really feel very very painful.....
However, when I think Janelle is in heaven wif God now , she is enjoying and in good hands wif God and Jesus.

I want to hv God's deep love an d assurance wif me when I got pregnant next time n feel lovely kicks of my 2nd child again

hiaz..sorry I got to let it out and makes me feel better

thks.....

puipui, ya me too I will be very paranoid if I get any pain in womb and see any weird discharge
BTW, did u get to hold ur 3 babies?

Hama, Lyn, Droopy and Coral. 4 of u are in my prayers

I am praying for all the mummies here to hold ur healthy darlings soon this yr.

Hi jasmine..

Im feeling better..cos i talked to a fren who also had an m/c before..i really let it out with her. She was worse..she cried whenever she saw babies after her m/c. Now she has twins, & a 3month old baby..Carried him in church ytd..he is a real joy & chubby & kept smiling at me..my hubby saw me from the stage & he said I looked really happy & sexy too..haha. I think carrying another person's baby was rather 'therapy' at least for me lah..cos in general i like children..i teach them actually.

Hi val..

I understand how u feel..I felt my heart broken, emptiness, when my gynae said my baby had no heartbeat. It takes a while to heal..But with GOD there's hope..its easier i believe.

hi Val, *hugz*

I know how u feel..yesterday my cousin had full month party for her boy..i didnt go..didnt feel good going so decided not to go..i would have been celebrating ansel's first month birthday next week also..these few days thinking about him so much more..miss him more also..

i think both of us miss our babis so much because they were so active and they remind us very much of their presence when they were around..

My buddy Dest,

ya only 2 of us can understand each other feelings

Charis,
ya thk God His faithfulnes,strength and love makes me move on....but really wants Him to make me more postive to hope for better tomorrow.
Well, maybe I should not TTC nw, do meaniful things for God,
go for overseas mission trips and make His diciples of all nations

hello everyone,
gd morning....

hey bestwishes,
do update me abt ur progress aft seeing a gynae...wow, actually can start TTC liao huh if according to my gynae but den i guess u r not ready yet rite? good luck!

Hi Val., the night before Kaden left us, he was extremely active. He kicked me so hard, seems to be telling me that he's trying to fight for his life. But still he left us. Like you, I was holding him in my arms, thinking he's just asleep.But no, he's left us to be in a more peaceful and happy place. I'm glad he's no longer suffering. It's never easy. Hb and I still miss him, our heart still aches at the tot of him and I still can't control my tears whenever I write about him or think about him. And I can't tell you how paranoid I am this time. I try my best to be calm about it, but it's definitely not easy.But we got to stay strong and believe else our life will remain in misery.
I'm to make a 2wks business trip to Atlanta during my 2nd tri. At first I was very paranoid. And some people arund me also make me feel that it's a very irresponsible decision. After many sleepless night I decide to treat this preg as noramlly as I can. And I think since it's safe for all preggy to travel during 2nd tri, so it's ok for me. I believe my bb is trong, so I am.

hi bestwishes,
Flaxseed Oil is an Essential Fatty Acid (EFA) required for the general and hormone functioning. It's almost similar to taking fish oil for the EFA, although some articles claims fish oil has more benefits such as anti-inflammatory and fish oil prevents blood from clotting inappropriately. I am taking flaxseed instead of fish oil cos I previously do not take much meat, so opted for flaxseed oil instead. I read in a book that from EFAs, we produce beneficial prostaglandins which have hormone-like functions. It says EFA supplementation is also good for men cos semen is rich in prostaglandins which are produced from these fats. So basically, if you want to take EFA, you can choose either flaxseed or fish oil, but do not take fish liver oil, cos "in the sea, fish can accumulate toxins and mercury, which pass through the liver, the organ of detoxification. Oil taken from the liver is therefore likely to give higher quantities of these toxins than oil taken from body of the fish." (This last bit extracted from the book)

For multi-vit, I am currently taking a formula which my husband bought from his recent trip to the US. It should last me about 2 months, so I was wondering what Obimin is. Found it on the net, don't know if this is the one cos it seems very affordable compared to the GNC ones?
http://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?ProdSKU=882800154D&CatID=216
But it doesn't say on the net whether the Vit A is in ready form or in beta-carotene form, that's why I thought of dropping by TTS pharmacy to see if they have it on the shelves there and read for myself. I would prefer it to be in betacarotene form.

Hi Val,
Let me know more details about your Vitamin Research Programme once you have gotten it. Do you buy it at City Hall MRT or Raffles Place MRT?

I think going for mission trip is a very meaningful and fulfilling thing to do... you gonna do it with your hubby? And yep, if you're going to do the mission trip, then better not TTC yet cos you'll probably be in a developing country and may be exposed different kinds of viruses there?

Hi puipui,
Thanks for the info on Yomeishu. I'm taking it as the sinseh says I can only take DOM or Yomeishu now i.e. no other herbs other than his. And I thought Yomeishu is good for general weakness, so it's actually good for me to drink it and build up my body before TTC. So I'll probably just take it during this time that I'm not TTC yet.

hi coral,
It takes a lot to treat a pregnancy after m/c as normal, and I'm glad you are doing it well. Please remind me to do the same when it's my turn next time too!

Hi Sophie, I'm sure you'll do well. And yes, all the ladies here will continue to offer strength and encouragement when anyone of us need it. I'm sure when it's your turn, we'll be here to cheer you on too.

Curious, baby dust to you! You'll see your BFP soon! ;)

Hallo Hama, Lyn, Droopy, Coral,

How are u? I think I seldom post here nowadays...but I'm still keeping track lah... Hope everyone is doing very well! Keep a positive mindset! JIA YOU!!

Hi Charis,
I am happy for you that your womb is empty already
If no more bleeding already, your womb should have recovered
Else gotta watch out for infection. Our body is amazing... It can do self-healing...

HI puipui,
It's like that... Just keep yourself informed and you will not feel so "paranoid" already
Most of us here been through that stage... thinking of this and that... Then when TTC, still thinking whether the m/c has harmed ou health or womb... Try to relax and find out the facts ok?

Hi droopy,
Wah... You got really good appetite... I seldom go for buffets now cos sure "bo hua" for me... cos I dun eat a lot and seafood and too much meat :p. Talking about buffets, I feel like going for a porridge buffet :p

Hi Val,
God be with you and bless you...
It will definitely take some time to recover emotionally. With your faith in God and your willingness to try your best to get over it, your road to recovery will not be as long
. Hiding and holding back the sadness might not help in the recovery process. You are one step ahead in the recovery after you went to your friend's baby's full month
Last time, I went for a friend's baby's full month... Our babies have the same EDD. I wanted to "fly kite" at the last minute, and in the end I chose to be very late... Just went there for a slice of cake, chat with the new parents, and left
But after that, I realised it's a hurdle overcame
When time comes, you will understand what others here have been through and are going through in their future pregnancy
You can certainly choose how and where to get the support. But by throwing temper on others, will that help? Your choice
Thanks a lot for your prayers
Take good care of your health.

Hi Coral,
Try to keep positive and talk to baby
It's not an easy journey, but we gotta give our best ok?
I am sure your baby will feel yours and your hubby's love and grow healthily

Go with your heart feel and make decisions for yourself that you think is best
Be confident again. I also get lots of recommendations and comments around.... but I chose not to follow some
They are certainly out of good will and concern... The most important is to be calm inside and decide for yourself and baby
You can make your own decision and certainly the best for yourself and baby

When you are at Atlanta, do take good care of yourself
We can travel during pregnancy
Believe it or not, I went to Penang by coach two months ago

Hi qwer,
Nice to see you again
Hope everything is ok there? hee... sorry... I cannot type more now.. Gotta prepare to go out already...
Gonna be late liao... Take good care of your health
Drink more water too

Dear Coral,

as you are gonig for the business trip, take good extra care of urself, do visit ur gynae before and after of the trip

Try to stay as cheerful as possible for your baby

Lyn,

of cos it is very easy for you to overcome the hurdle n gng to fren baby 1st month becos u are not like me and Destitinoa n coral as we got to see our full form baby, who were already at least 5 or 6 months where features are form, n morever my gal resemble me so much
she looks so peaceful when I hold her in my arms, you will never understand at all in ur life . Also I think it is not fair of you said I am throwing temper on others which I did not at all.

Lyn, thanks. I'm at peace with myself as i know I'm doing my best for bb. And I also decide not to try to hard as I believe in bb too.

Val. I'm sorry to see you so upset. Please do not be. Our bbs would love to see us live happily and maybe one day bb will come back to us when they are ready. Or they'll bless us with healthy bbs in their place as they have other things to do. Let's cheer up and know that our bbs always have a special place in our hearts. Although Kaden was notalive when i carried him, he gave me lots of strength to move on as I saw ghow beautiful he was. I know I'm capable of bringing beautiful lives to this world. Don't despair. You'll have lots of healthy bbs who you'll love and who'll love you and hb too.

qwer, how have you been? I'm doing fine.

Lyn, I just went for steamboat buffet last night. I only ate vegetables, fruits and prawns. But it was a good meal, first time I never feel like throwing up after food. Friend says it's bb bday gift for me. To let me enjoy a good meal with hb.

bettlebug: i got the contact for my sinseh from the TTC thread as follow:

Dr Jin Da Ming (female)
Guang Zhou Pang Jin Chinese Medicine Hall
@ Fortune Centre, Level 4
Tel: 63370626
Opens from 10am - 6pm (except Sunday: 10am - 2pm)
Closed on Wed & Public Holidays

I agree with Lyn that despite open sharing of experiences here, we should not allow oursleves to indulge in negative thoughts and talks.

Lyn: frankly speaking, i dun think Val was throwing her temper by speaking out.

Hallo Lyn,
Yes, everything ok at my side
Hee hee..lead a simple life, and don't think too much already
Thanks to you, hama and other ladies here...

Btw, is there vegetarian buffet out there? haha....if have, then u can go for it

Coral,
ya I am sad esp over this weekend, hiaz...
so I feel hurt when I was being accused that I am throwing temper here

I really feel so wasted n pity that my beautiful n healthy Janelle is in heaven now, she too give me lot of motivation to move on...

hi coral,
I'm fine...
1.5 yrs ago, I was very pessimistic & depress. Now improving & I'm sure I can make it better

Wah...seems like a few of you had steamboat buffet!! I had it last wk with my frens too! There's a place opp. Bugis Junction. Not sure the road name. There're many stalls selling steamboat buffets...some are quite nice, some not so nice. Perhaps u can go there have a try.

dropy, my ms still here. But I'm getting used to it. So I manage to smile now. No I did not get med from gynae as I know I won't eat them.

Puipui, please do not work too hard you need the rest. Esp no that you're going thru your ivf. Actually ever since the bad expereince, I seem to be extra sensitive to pain. I feel pain in my womb that i had never felt before. In the beginning, gynae explanation was womb shrinking. After that they were worried that my endo is back, then checked nothing wrong. Now also no explanations. I'm just wondering if it's just me being too paranoid and sensitive. Or maybe I'm just too tense and worked up.

Coral,

think you also understand n experince b4 on ur EDD last yr Nov, not easy also hor?
in our mind is all our darling faces when they are like sleeping in our arms....

this month maybe more emotinoal for me as suppose to be my bb born or bb 1st mth
I think after March, I will be better liao

But it's good that I let it out and I feel better
I will continue to be happy for my gal

I've not been here for a while liao....cos work is keeping me real busy..... Hope everyone is doing well...

Remember to keep healthy and think positively.....I'm sure bb will come again very soon.

One more thing....I'm not siding with anyone... but I truly think that it might not be a good idea to discuss your pregnancy so openly here in this thread. Yes, it's a good thing to hear good news and encouraging in one aspect, but for someone who just lost their bb and looking for some support here, she might not feel comfortable about hearing this or can even bring on sad memories... Everyone deal with their hurt differently and some recover faster than others... but it doesn't do harm by being more sensitive....Just my 2 cents worth...

Anyway, hope everyone continues think positively and live healthily.

HI Coral
i totally agree with you that changing our lifestyle helps alot. I am currently making small incremental improvements to my diet (to have more home-cooked foods) and stress level (to be less worrisome).
thanks ^_^

i went for acupucture today to "bu" my womb..not very painful so will continue the sessions till the transfer. coral, i oso had the same thing as u..always unexplained pain and no explaination given..hmmm, maybe u gals r rite, jus being over sensitive abt everything..will be seeing my gyne this friday so will get him to confirm again before i start my stimulation.

valarie, i didnt get to hold my babies..i delivered my 1st baby at 20 weeks and my husband and relatives arranged the cremation themselves cause i was still hospitalised wih my remaining 2 babies..they tried to do an op called cerclage to sew my cervix but 2 weeks later, i had an infection..it was due to the ruptured water bag of my 1st baby. i went into labour and the doctors said i had to deliver them otherwise the infection may make me barren or become life threatening. They said the infection would also make my babies very sick and i just felt so guilty for not being able to do anything.

i only saw them when i picked them up from the mortuary..my heart really broke during the blessing and cremation but i guess since all 3 came into the world, all 3 had to leave together as brothers..i just feel very sad cause they were always so active, kicking me every few mins, even till the last day.. so now i tend to feel very empty..

just hope that i can move on and be brave abt the future..i hope the rest of the gals will too..my cousin lost her twins at 3 mths old due to cant breathe on their own but is now a proud mum of 1 boy so i use her as my inspriration to move on
and tat there will always be a rainbow at the end of this dark road

Im new to this thread. I had a scan last week and showed no embryo in the sac - i was sure its 7weeks tho gynae said should be about 6weeks.

I'll be having another scan this week to confirm. Im more afraid of the D&C now. I need your advice what I should do and after the D&C.

Is it better to have a natural miscarriage thru bleeding or D&C and is it safe to try after the next cycle? I'm quite sure that it has to do with the quality of my egg, should be seeing chinese doc to bu my body.

PuiPui,

sorry to hear that you actually got infection of ur cervix,
do not blame urself as you already do ur best to save ur 3 babies.
I am sure your darlings are living happily in heaven now.

Hee..maybe my gal, Coral's bb n Destitonia's bb n your boy's are playing now

You mention about the vibrating of ur abdomen, I think is still the contracting of the abdomen muscles, do not worry dear

Ya rainbow is a covernant promise from God,
there's hope and He is in all control

hi valarie,

really appreciate ur encouragement..its really hard esp when family members and friends dun really understand wat we going thru..they may be concern abt us but sometimes comes across as being more hurtful..my relatives are always asking why im so quiet now but they just dun understand tat we need time to grieve and not straight away pick up the pieces like tat.

dear thewife- sorry to hear abt ur situation.i didnt go thru any d & c even though my doctors said its advisable for all m/c..i had an exception to skip it since mine was a late m/c and delivered the babies and placenta whole..but the docs did advise tat u can try after a min of 3 to 6 mths. this is to help build up ur lining..any gals can help to confirm on this
will keep all of us in my prayers and tat our angels are safe in heaven

hi thewife,
*big hug*

there's a few opinion on this.
Initially I opted for natural as I was worried about the side effects of D&C (thou very low)...and doc gave me a medicine to help speed up the expulsion of the womb lining...but it was a horrible experience... on top of that as the bleeding continues, I got a bit upset as I felt that I could not close the chapter while still having the bleeding... cos everyday I feel sad.... Also chinese medicine believe that it's not good to drag the miscarriage...cos it will not be good for the womb....
I feel that you should talk to your gynae and make ann informed decision...cos only you know which is better for you... to quickly close the chapter and move on or to let your body do the natural thing....
Take good care... and make sure you nourish your health back after the bleeding clears totally....
It's normally better to start after 1 normal cycle after the miscarriage.... but your gynae will be able to advice depending on your condition...
dont worry too much.

hi puipui,
I'm very sorry to hear about your loss.....
I just hope that you will take good care of yourself and don't let your thots run wild.....
Everything happens for a reason and it's a good thing you are focusing on the good things.... Now just concentrate on getting well.
Best wishes to you.
*hugs*

HI elmo,
I should be opting for the D&C? why is it horrible, thought you'll not be conscious, and by the time you wake up, it's already over? I really hope so.
Besides, I dun wish to stay home for too many days, very bored and rather not think about it.

Hi Val., this must eb a very bad time for you. That time when it was about due date for Kaden, I ran away from Spore and had an unplanned holiday far away. But there was no way to keep my mind off the pain. In fact, I start getting pain in my tummy, not sure if it's bcos my heart was aching so much that I start to feel self induced pain. Then I would start crying in the middle of the street. of course, hb was there to comfort me and he say he was thinking the same thing as me, and soemtimes we just hug and weep as no one know us so we could just grieve as much as we like.
Until now, I'm still ratehr quiet infront of MIL, especially when there're two toerh relatives who have bb born around same time as Kaden, the I cant bring myself top be cheerful in theior presence, so MIL is not very happy with this. But too bad, I just can't pretend. I think we just need more time to move on, especially during special dates.

Thewife, please be optimistic. There's still hope. If the worse really happen, please do not hurry into ttc. Get your health back before you try again. I think that's better for you and your next bb. Just like puipui, mine was a late stage so bb and placenta was delivered, so can't advise on D&C.

elmo, thanks. You take care too. how's your exercise regime? I remeber you wanted to lose some weight before trying again.

hi lyn, if u still have the craving for porridge buffet.., u can try the one at tiong bahru plaza, 2nd floor. its only 5.90 for wkday lunch. lots of variety and the food are v fresh.
i have just gone to see my gynae and she said i can start trying areadi!! i thot i need to wait at least a few more mths. meanwhile, i will be starting to take folic acid.
are u still taking folic acid?

hi laides. i was also on Obimin before. its a multi vit meant for preg. rem must drink more water cos it may cause constipation..

Hi charis,
Good to hear tat ur womb is aradi empty and u can plan for the next pregn. any plans to TTC now??
;) dun tik abt the past anymore areadi. its all over. Jia YOU!!

hi the wife, sorie to hear abt ur loss...be strong oke..thou i know its v difficult. i have also been through this. and good news so as to cheer u up abit too. my gynae said i can TTC areadi. i have only past the 1st cycle.
tat time, i took the d&c. i agree with Elmo. its v stressful n depresssing to see the blood comeing out everyday n not knowing when the torment will end. i prefer to close the chapter n move on.

have u opted for d&c, resting at home now?

HI Jasmine,
Im going for 1 more scan to confirm at 8th week. last scan at 7 weeks, unlikely not to see any embryo, gynae said 80% is not viable. I'm taking this as a blessing in disguise, chinese doc mentioned that if it fails, it's also for the benefit of the next pregnancy, as the fertility organs should be more developed after that.

Coral n Puipui,

ya think we hv to let our family n friends knows abt our feelings, if not they thot we ok liao n continue to be insensitive lor....
well, I move back my hse when my hubby was away for 1 mth in Feb,
I cant stand to be alone in house, so quiet...no baby sound.
THk God my family members are very supportive of me when I move back
Hee....my mum make alot of ai xin bu tang for me,keke :p

BTW Puipui,
u are in IVF now, maybe can make some bu tang after ur ET/ER?

Just curious ladies,
those who seeing TCM nw, beside taking ur sinseh medication,
got make ur own bu tang or nt?
basically bu tang is good for blood circulation

Val., it's good to saty with your family at a time like this. I move in with parents when hb had to travel during the inital stage as I know I'll go crazy and do stupid things if let alone.With the care and lvoe of family, we'll probably stand up sooner.

Hi thewife..

I had a natural m/c..My expce was very difficult too..BUT i chose not to have a D & C. Firstly, i am pro-life, bcos i believe in GOD..My baby didnt hve a heartbeat at 8 weeks..my 1st gynae told me to wait week, but we couldnt wait to find out, we believe gynae may hve missed the heartbeat, so we saw a 2nd gynae..He said no more baby probably been absorbed or scattered in my womb..only sac is visible..Can u imagine my shock?! My baby gone jus like that..But gynae said must do D & C, blah blah, cos may get infection, he dont recommend me to wait for natural m/c..So my hb & I decided on a DNC 2 days later..I wanted to go home & grief my loss..i cried n cried till i fell sick..tt waas GOD's intervention i guess cos if i was sick i couldnt do a D & C. My pastor prayed & really felt either i shld for 3rd opinion or wait for natural m/c..Cos GOD has designed our womb to expel out its jus a matter of time..So with faith & prayer i waited & went to another gynae...Well, this next gynae found my baby..it was still there inside me..there was no heartbeat though..he said its a missed abortion. Asked me to do DNC too..But we told him we opting for natural..surprisingly he said no prob..he said it may take a while. & thats it I had a natural m/c at home a few days later, no docs, no hospital, no calls made to any gynaes, anyway none of the gynaes asked me to go for follow-up.

Natural m/c is possible..in fact many western ladies opt for natural m/c. Cos D & C is a risky procedure...anyway, i dont believe in doing a D & C, until u really sure yr baby's not alive..no heartbeat or no/slow growth doesnt mean he/she is gone, the gynaes may be wrong..I guess only our bodies really know.

Pls go to this website- www.pregnancyloss.info
& u can check out some other forum websites, many women go thru natural m/c..jus type natural miscarriage.

Hi thewife..

Watever it is, u know I share yr anxiety, i truly understand how u feel..I was really stressed going thru 3 gynaes, vaginal scans, feeling if there was a dead baby inside me, seeing the scans hoping for a miracle..BUT it was worth it, I wanted to give my baby a chance, until my body said..its time..& it did later..but at least i was prepared when the m/c came.

Jus sharing my expce..feel free to ask if u need to know anything.

Hi Charis,
thank you. you are very strong to wait for the natural miscarriage. must be a lot of physical and emotional pain. For some, it could be too painful to wait, hence chose for d&c.

Im feeling terrible now, nauseous became worse and threw up. maybe its the hormone pills. and I have very light spotting. i guess its happening. just called my gynae, they asked me to go down now.

Hi jasmine..

Yup gynae seemed optimistic abt my recovery, & hubby too. BUT, womb still shrinking back to size, so no trying i guess til 3 months later..in May..looking forward..As for now, I still think of my baby, anyway, we named him Aaron..I still cry BUT Im healing!

Thing is im not sure if can start exercise, I get sick easily nowadays, i think exercise shld help, relieve stress etc. I stopped exercising when i discovered i was pregnant.

Hi thewife..

I understand. I dont know if u are christian..BUT I pray that GOD's comfort will be with you. That HE will give wisdom & guide the hands of the surgeon/gynae to give u a right, accurate diagnosis.

Thewife..

Pls dont rush for a D & C..do confirm abt the condition of yr baby..Like i said, gynaes can simply miss out..they make mistakes. 6-7weeks the baby is still really really small..sld be abt this size-
Yr symptoms sound like MS, mayb u r jus having a threatened m/c. I do wish the best for u..really.

Hi Charis, I belive after the one month confinement you may start to do some light exercise like swimming, walking or stretching and some light yoga. But I believe it's better to avoid exericse like joggin, or those involving heavy weight. As your womb is still shrinking and your body recovering, it's not good to strain your body. After my 1mth confinement, I swam and did sit-ups and I felt better after I start getting active. Hope you'll be in the pink of health soon.