Support group - Miscarriages

Happy CNY!!!. Been in and out of this thread since my m/c in Dec...and i think i just had another one...
My AF was late so I took a HPT at CD35 and got a faint +. Then 2 days later i started spotting, so i took another HPT and still that same faint +. Then today finally had vvv heavy flow with huge clots! Went to the dr and he said that it was possibly an m/c since i had a + a few days ago...

hello gals,
i guess i haf to be here to share too n learn too....i juz had a m/c and went for D&C todae.....actually into my 6th wk of pregnancy is oreadi not very promising liao...waterbag is not growing...did HCG blood test oso bad...before i got my 2nd blood test result...i oreadi started bleeding.....so so SAD!

Hugss.. d woof

sorry to hear about that. We've been through the same ordeal and become stronger.
Pls take care of ur health and talk to us here for emotional recovery.
We are here to support each other.

hi dwoof N athlete

Hug**.. dun b too sad gers.. act i oso i hv done a D & c on Mid Jan.. i nw i tryin to build my body,, try to drink DOM everynite n first two wks i ate alot of ginger .. n red date drink....
than will start TTC on MAr if possible...Do take care

thanx for ur comfort! any reason wat causes miscarriage?

hey joylee,
thanx.....u mean two mths later den can TTC liao....

athlete & Dwoof.. pls take good care, have more "bu" ok.. *hugs

me been in and out of this thread too.. been very bz with work.. sian and tired..

hope u all enjoy the CNY!

Hugs dwoof and athelete,
ya try to do a mini confinement for nw, at least for 1 or 2 weeks during ur medical leave..
take good care ladies

dwoof,
there's really no definate answer wat cause miscarraige n even stillborn bb....
like me, lost my bb at 26 weeks due to twisted cord, n my gynae cant tell me why the cord is twisted..
but if u in doubt, maybe can do a genetic or anti immunity bloodtest before u ttc again?
just want to make sure everything is alright

hi d woof
like u, im curious at the cause of miscarriage too but i dun hv a definite answer too and the doc could not give me any answer too.

It might be:

1) Chromosomal problems of the unborn child - These usually happen by chance. There is an increased risk associated with the woman's age and where one or both of the parents are carriers of a chromosomal disorder.
undiagnosed condition - If the pregnancy is planned the woman should make sure that any existing condition is under control before she conceives.

Doctors often blame "random chromosomal abnormalities" for the large majority of miscarriages. Depending on whom you ask, specific doctors may chalk up anywhere from 40-75% of miscarriages to random errors in the chromosomes of a zygote or embryo. The baby may have missing sections of vital chromosomes or extra copies of specific chromosomes that either make the baby incompatible with life or cause a woman's body to reject the baby. Since so many miscarriages occur due to chromosomal abnormalities, most doctors don't run tests on women who have just one miscarriage. It makes sense if you think about it. Error happen in cell division, especially when cells are dividing into gametes, and if an egg and sperm combine with the wrong number of chromosomes, it can sometimes just be impossible to build a human being with missing or extra genetic instructions.

When miscarriages happen due to random chromosomal abnormalities, a woman usually has perfectly good odds of having a normal baby in her next pregnancy. To put it shortly, it's just bad luck. The pregnancy happened to occur with the wrong egg and or sperm.

After a first miscarriage, doctors commonly assume the cause was chromosomal anomalies. It's rare that any doctor will offer diagnostic testing after just one miscarriage, and it's most common that they will just tell patients to go home and try again. In many cases, this may be perfectly good advice, since statistics suggest that most women who have one miscarriage face almost no increased risk of having a second one. If chromosomal anomalies were indeed the cause of your loss, then there isn't anything you can do to prevent the miscarriage anyway.

2) Women who are deficient in vitamin B12 may be at risk for infertility or repeat miscarriages, but in many cases they can change their situation with vitamin therapy.

Vitamin B12 plays a key role in the nervous system and the development of new tissue, and is also crucial in ovulation.

Women who are deficient may not ovulate, for instance, or a fertilized egg may not develop, resulting in miscarriage.

But according to the study, 10 of the women conceived after beginning vitamin therapy; six of these women conceived almost immediately. Seven of the women were found to have mutations in a gene involved in metabolism of folate. That, combined with the B12 deficiency, increased their risk of thrombophilia, a condition in which they were at increased risk of clot formation. Six other women were found to have other causes of thrombophilia.

One woman had suffered seven miscarriages before doctors discovered that she was deficient in vitamin B12. The woman went on to have three children once the problem was corrected.

3)Hormone imbalance - Progesterone is a hormone which prepares the lining of the womb for a pregnancy. If the egg is not fertilised the lining is shed in menstruation.
If a pregnancy occurs, progesterone, together with other hormones, continues to maintain the lining and keep the pregnancy secure.
If there are low levels of progesterone in early pregnancy a miscarriage can occur.

4) Illness in the mother - Certain illnesses or disorders have been linked to a greater risk of miscarriage including: endometriosis or infection in the womb; autoimmune conditions such as Systemic Lupus Erythematosis; heart disease or severe kidney disease; uncontrolled diabetes or thyroid disease.

5) Immune disorders - Our immune system forms antibodies to destroy foreign substances such as disease in our bodies. Occasionally in women with a history of recurrent miscarriages her body sees the baby as a foreign substance and attacks it.

6) Abnormalities of the uterus - Uterine abnormalities include: defects present from birth, eg where the uterus is divided into two sections; fibroids, which are non-cancerous growths of uterine muscle tissue; an incompetent cervix, which opens too early in the pregnancy without any signs of labour.

7) Environmental and lifestyle factors - These include: smoking or heavy use of alcohol or chemical substances; exposure to radiation or toxic substances.

Sometimes our womb might be "cold" or "weak", we need to avoid cooling food or drinks.
It will help if we approach a TCM to "tiao" our body before TTC again.

Like Valerie suggest, it will be better if we go for a genetic or anti immunity blood test too.

Hi Joylee,
I've also taken DOM, in fact i drank 2 bottles within 1mth :p
I heard that taking fish essence is good too.
I wish u success in TTC!!

wah Bestwishes!
hee...i like ur detail explaination

ya woof, go for bloodtest n move on wif ur life

tiao n bu well ur body health 1st
there's always hope n miracle frm God

hi D woof

the gyane told me tat after third menses .. after D & c counted first one ...Do take care! =)

VAl..

Sori 2 hear tat...

Hope tins will b fine 4 us next time .... ^_^

hey bestwishes,
wow......ur explaination is beta than gynae leh........like u said my gynae oso explain as the 1st reason when i asked him......will avoid cold drinks even i m not pregnant liao to prevent my womb being "cold"

where can i get a blood test? polyclinic izzit fine?

zhuzhu,
i m beta n trying to recover from the lost...anyway when i dun really think abt it i m ok when someone ask me den i will weep lor.......sounds weak rite? so how abt u? i thot u r TTCing?

Hi dwoof
Me not TTCing yet lar..i still wan to go on holidays...hopefully can made one when I on holidays...

Weep if you feel like...then u feel better..its not weak lar...I also feel dat way also...

hi dwoof,
take care... we can try again. hugs.. remember to do some mini confinement.

athelete,
u take care too. must build up your health.

bestwishes,
i did a lot of "wrong" things during my pregnancy becos i din know i am preggy. I always been thinking that it was becos of what i had done during that critical period. But doc just simply say it was due to bad gene.

hi valerie

tks tks
I just copy and paste from the internet

Battle is half won when we know our enemies well

hi joylee
i've just my 1st menses after my D&C in Dec.
It's quite heavy and I've bad menstrual cramps for 3days.
I feel better after taking fish essence before zzz every night. I guess the womb is not fully healed yet. Sometimes when i do slight stretching, there's slight pain around the pelvis area.
I heard it's good to take "bai feng wan" after menses? especially menses after D&C and good for TTC too?
My frd gave me some from Eu Yan Seng, decided to take that after spotting end.

I also heard that it's better to try after 3 cycles of menses so that the lining of the womb will be thicker to subtain the pregnancy.
What type of herbal soup u taking? Share share with us

I've brought medical herbal packs (bazhen&herbal) from medical halls. It taste especially nice when u add egg with lean meat to it.
(heard it help to regulate menses and to "Pu Qi" ) good for women.
I've also add dom and chicken essense to the brew, my frd say it's good to add "mi jiu" (rice wine) also.

hi d woof
Im like u too, u r not weak. In fact, even now I can't stop my tears from flowing, my heart ache badly whenever i think of my loss. Last night i can't control my tears when i watch
a documentary on pregnancy, especially i saw the fetus development in 8 weeks (I lost mine at 8 weeks).
After watching a scene on natural birth,I felt very emotional when the mother cried and held her newborn saying "mummy have been waiting for u for a long time".

I dun even have the chance to wait for mine. I feel extremely sad at the thought of that.

I will always ponder for more than 1hr (thinking how many weeks will I be now if my bb is still alive). Everytime when stranger ask me "How many children do you have?" My heart will feel a very sharp pain. Worst still, it happened around festive seasons, others were celebrating happily while we have no mood at all.

You are not alone. Those who've been through could understand that kind of tremendous pain and grief. In fact i think all of us here feel the same way as u too.

I think you could take the test from any gynae. Alternatively, you and hb can go to poly for medical checkup and they will give a referral to KK for a thorough checkup @ subsidised rate.

Hi icy,
Some people smoke and drink, carry heavy things, exercise throughout their pregnancy and could have healthy babies.
I dun think it's due to what you have done.
It's just an accident of nature.
The most important thing is we have to take good care of ourselves so that we can hv healthy successful pregnancy next time.

hi zhuzhu

i feel like going on holidays too heehee...

hi valerie

Feel extremely sad to hear that u lost ur little one @ 26 weeks.
I can't imagine the pain that u've been through.
You are a extremely strong lady.

Hi bestwishes
Can start plannin cos NATAS is comin in Mar...
I took EYS bai feng wan to regulate my menses...and it does helps...that how I get pregnant..but too bad I lost it also..

hi zhuzhu

where do u intend to to go? I read that the ladies here took bai feng wan after their D&C and graduate from this thread

i wish u 2 person go on a romantic holiday and 3 person come back!

Hi bestwishes
Me planning to go maldives...paradise for child production...I also wish I 2 person go 3 person come back...
367805.gif

hey zhuzhu,
all the best to u har.....muz try very hard.....

bestwishes,
i can understand the pain tat u suffer too...i guess ur pain is more painful as u r able to c the fetus liao.............me too wan to find out more den when i happen to look at some website i saw the embryo n fetus make me heartache too...

hi zhuzhu

may ur wish come true! Maldives is a very romantic place to go to

hi d woof
The pain that we feel is the same. When i was around 7 weeks, the abdominal scan could not detect the sac and the heartbeat, at the point, i was extremely worried and disappointed.
I can understand how u feel.
Using the pelvis scan, there was a sac but shown only a 5 weeks sac, the no. of weeks doesn't match with my LMP.
I was constantly worried for 3 weeks until the heartbeat stopped.
I m searching the internet for information too but when i saw the pics of 8 weeks fetus, there was a sharp pain in my heart, like needle poking.
Luckily this thread help me to survive through the most difficult times.
It really helps to know that there are people who truely understand what we've gone through and could learn from their experience

Btw have you consider to take TCM?

bestwishes,
ya indeed was a very painful outcome when my gal heartbeat stop
she was so active kicking me everyday n suddenly one day just stop kicking n the next thing I know her heratbeat stopped...

you can read my previous postings under nickname:
auggal

well I am not strong la...is my God that give me the strength to go thru all these wif love and care frm my love ones and church frens , if not I will have sink into depression and cries for months liao

well, I have to move on, cos I believe n faith that my gal is in good hands wif the Lord now in Heaven
and to try for my next pregnancy
Of cos I still feel the heartache and I still miss her everyday and her beautiful look

hello bestwishes,
oh yes....actually i kind of suspected.....when i 1st visit my gynae, he did a scan...den he prescribe some hormones pills for me and ask me to come back to c him one wk later.....so when i reflect back...izzit oreadi something wrong at the pt of time....the 2nd time i c him, he said tat the waterbag is not growing as expected..but den he also added tat it could be due to early pregnancy....a day later haf fever but den he's off duty (on the 2nd day of CNY)..c a GP n gave me some medicine....2 daes later, he was on duty get back to him immediately...did a scan again den oso not very promising liao........i oreadi prepared for the worst...n tat nite itself oreadi haf spotting...haiz...the nx morning c him for blood test n in the afternoon spotting get worst n finally c blood clot like those tat we've seen when we haf menses wit quite severe cramp...i knew tat itz gonna be the end of it liao......

i hope i can get out of this shadow n start all over again safely...

TCM? i dun tink so leh...as long as now "bu" n den eat well den try 3mths later....but i guess i willl haf phobia liao

woof,
maybe u can request ur gynae to do a bloodtest
so when u ttc again, you will be safe n feel at ease

did u do any hep B, rubella blood test before you conceive?

valerie,
i din do any blood test.....izzit beta to get it done bfore i conceive...coz previously i juz tried n got pregnant...quite surprise lor but den now....haiz...

hi val

I can't stop my tears from flowing when i think of the kind of pain that you've been through.
Glad to know that you have strong religion faith and alot of support behind u.
This is what we need most at this moment - faith and support.
Are u planning to TTC now or in another few mth's time?

hi woof
The 1st 2 weeks after my D&C was the most difficult times in my life. After i came back from the D&C, I felt so depressed, gloomy.
Whether i stay at home or go out, i will feel very sad especially when seeing preggy or families with babies.
All I could do is to keep talking it rather than keeping everything to myself. It helps. Hb is a great source of support too. Tell him how u feel and ur fear. U will need his support more than anything else.
This incident helped to bring me and hb closer.
Last week he "counsel" me for more than 3hrs, i feel better after talking to him.
Out of a sudden, he pop a qns, he ask whether want to "try" in Mar? he dun wan to see me so sad always, he say he could notice my gloomy face daily but just he din say out.
i was more determined to take care of my health to prepare for the next TTC. It will boast our confidence as well.
Have you taken "Yu Jing" (fish essence)? It was good for us especially after an operation. Take one daily before u sleep. It help our womb to recover faster.
To prepare our next TTC, see this link

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/tryingforbaby

We might have to consult a doc for ultrasound, pap smear test, blood test and nutrition. I think we will be issue antenatal vitamins as well?

i think some gals get their antenatal vitamins from GNC? Is it true that guys might take folic acid too before TTC?

I brew alot of tonic soups and I "forced" my hb to take too. When he ask me what is it for, i will tell him it's to regulate menses..he cried "chiam lah, later my AF will come also" :p

hello bestwishes,
ya.....i m fine but at times tears juz rolled down....dunno y too....after this incident i feel tat my Hb is even sadder than me...he tok lesser and i guess he is griefing over it......i do ask him y all he says is nothing.......anyway he seldom share his sorrow when he is sad....but i guess time will heal this wound....

after this, i guess will go for a check up before TTC again....dun wan it to happen again.....

hi woof
Take this time to bond closely with ur hb, both of u need support from each other.
My hb doesn't confide to me about his sorrow too, he told me that he don't want me to feel sad or to remind me.
However, I will keep talking to him about how i feel and slowly he open himself too.
He told me how he feel when his colleagues are discussing about their own children, he feel "out of the position", how sad he feel when he see preggy and babies. I see this as a therapy healing/bonding session for us.
I m also more motivated to do better next time.
Btw where are u going for the checkup? We could share good info.

Sad to hear what some of you have gone thru...

I am also still trying to recover from my D&C a month ago. I feel that my emotions are werid...everything that is not going well, I seem to link it to loss.

It's been a month and I have no mens but mens cramps since yesterday (mens suppose to come). Is this normal?

Happy New Year everyone.

Hi bestwishes,
My mother-in-law told me that it is good to take "bai feng wan". I check with Eu Yan Seng that you can start to take the first bottle 3 days after the spotting and the second bottle 10 days later.

By the way, is there anyway to know if I am deficient in vitamin B12?

hi EA

*A big hug to u* sometimes it will be better to let it out instead of keeping everything in ur heart.
Mind sharing with us?
My menses came 5weeks++ later after my last MC.
I think within the next few days, it will come.

Like to check with you is it necessary to take the 2nd bottle 10 days later? Should i take a bottle subsequently every 10 days?

Symptoms
People with vitamin B12-deficiency anaemia have symptoms caused by a low level of oxygen in the body. These include:

breathlessness
tiredness
dizziness
rapid, weak pulse rate
palpitations irregular or strong heartbeats
headaches
pale skin
As well as the symptoms of anaemia, vitamin B12 deficiency may cause neurological symptoms such as inflammation of the nerves (neuritis) which can affect movement and sensation, tinnitus (ringing in the ears), colour blindness, lightheadedness, confusion, depression, poor concentration and forgetfulness. There may also be loss of appetite, diarrhoea and weight loss.

You will be able to find out more if u do a search in the search engine on

symptoms of deficient in vitamin B12

hello bestwishes,
thanx for lending me ur ears..since i m holding a CSC card so i will b gng to polyclinic......when izzit the rite time as i juz did D&C?
oso after my D&C (on thurs) today oreadi sat...i onli haf spotting.....izzit normal? i thot the bleeding will last for abt 10days......when i c spotting...really remind me of the past...haiz...
anyway now hoping to get over it n wait for my menses to come

Hi bestwishes,
Thanks for your detailed explanation. I suspect that I could be kind of deficient in B12.

Sorry a little mistake..it should be 3 days after spotting ends...the person at Eu Yan Seng told me that you don't take it during mens.

Just feeling a little loss at work plus the "personal loss"...it was our first little boy after many years of trying and the heart beat disappeared at 7 weeks. Did a test after D&C but gynae can't find the cause so I am wondering if it could be homo (since mine was low) or radiation (which I was exposed to 2-3 weeks unknowingly) or etc. I seem to be giving myself some pressure to make a decision to try asap especially when I see babies but this conflicts with the nature of my work.
I thot I am fine but the feeling/emotions always re-surface every now and then.

I guess I should take it slowly...

Hi d woof (woof),
Have a good rest. I had the D&C after New Year and spotting last for a week. My spotting was light after the D&C as well...

Try drinking red dates with dried long gan and ginger & bath with Da Feng Chao.

hi woof
we are here to support each other

it's hard not to feel the pain. Every little thing could remind us and we will feel the sharp pain.
I feel very sad too when i see my pics taken during the time when i was pregnant and when i went to the places i used to go during the pregnancy, i feel the pinch too.
Im also holding the csc card so i think it's better for us to go poly 1st then maybe we will get a referral to kk for more detailed checkup.
It's normal to have spotting, it will end around 10days. If persistent spotting (more than 2 weeks), it's better to consult ur gynae.
Did your gynae arrange a follow up for you?
When u r ready to TTC again, you can go for the checkup with ur hb.
meanwhile the most important thing now is to take plenty of rest, alot of nutritious food with ginger and sesame, fish, herbal soups to recover ur health.
We will be successful the next time round!

hi EA
ok thank for your info. I shall take the pills 3 days later

ur situation is similar as mine, mine ended at the 8 weeks. Since urs is 7 weeks, how do u know it's a little boy?
I felt impulsive to TTC too when i see cute babies but I held back because im not too sure about the condition of my health.
Im taking up yoga now. whenever i do stretching, there's pain ard the pelvis area and i have constant backache too.
Some elder aunties suggest not to exercise for 1 yr because our womb is not fully recovered yet.
Im setting a time frame to TTC. Perhaps u should also set a time frame? then shall work towards it, discuss with ur boss about changes of ur job scope?
During this preparation time, take care of ur health, avoid all exposure of radiation, abstain from dangerous activities etc?

Woof,
think ya you better hv a full body chekcup for bloodtest before ttcing again
ya chk wif ur gynae for the full body chkup package in his/her clinic

well, maybe if u go for chk early before ttcing...maybe this miscarriage can be prevented, but do not give up hope and go for preconception chk soon, msybe after your 1st Af come..then go for chk lor

Bestwishes
well my gynae said that I can slowly ttc after my 1st AF, take it naturally lor...hmm, so still waiting for my 1st AF lor...
can exercise la but maybe not intensive one like kick boxing, jogging etc...
think pilate and swimming is the best for me, oso roller bladding,hee...my latest sport interest!
Ya indeed God is faithful and good, He healed me

hi val
i heard among all exercise, jogging will effect TTC as it will cause the womb to "sink"?
You are so good, know how to roller blade..i always ended up falling and dunno roll to where :p so malu
But will swimming increase the chances of getting infection?

Hi Gals, just came back to Singapore...Gong Xi Fa Cai to all!! May the year of the doggie be a good one for all of us here!!

Gotta catch up with the posts later, need to tidy up my place 1st for friends to visit later!

Is jogging bad? I went joggin last wkend..then had a bit of spotting...use to have that in the past..then it stop..now it come back again..

EA,
ya i did drink red dates wif dried longan but den juz shower wif very warm water onli.....can wash hair?

best wishes,
oic....ya lor since we r holding a CSC card the best is to go polyclinic...if not they will charge u pte rate....alrite i will monitor my spotting...anyway will b seeing my gynae tml...ya most prob will go for a checkup after my first AF...

valerie,
ya lor....actually last time b4 i TTC i thot of gng for family planning n do a checkup as my Hb has thalassemia...muz really check up b4 TTC liao...

jogging no gd...den badminton leh..i used to play badminton once a wk....