Support group - Miscarriages

hi blue, yes. i'm flying off super early morning.. so got to sleep early tonight.. thanks for ur wishes.. Will miss u gals leh... (sob sob)

Still wondering if I'm able to knock out that early 2nite.. (hehehehhe)...

Hey all ladies, would like to share some of my Jonas photos here..
Give you gals some *motivation* to try harder.. keke..

2 months plus
287631.jpg

2 months plus
287632.jpg

3 months
287633.jpg

Time really flies... it's just like yesterday I have tested positive.

To all the gals out there,

Thanks for all your words, really feel better after telling about my Jie Yun. This is the place where I can talk about her openly without making people feeling uneasy, although it's mainly because they are afraid that I will be sad when talking about my girl (indeed I do)..

To BabyM,

Ya, I remember reading your story from other thread. It was when we first told that Jie Yun might have TOF, I searched the net and found your story & the story about your friend. Was trying to contact you at that time but you didn't leave any contact.

As I said, there is no right or wrong. In our situations (including all the gals in this thread), it's actually against our will to terminate our babies's life.

Me too, not really keen on trying (although I am already 32+ now), think it's better to wait until we are really ready, both physically and mentally, then we start trying for a new one.

I hope you are coping well, too.

Hallo Gals!

TGIF! & yes GSS, tomorrow gotta see my gynae. Actually I dunno why must go back, it's more than 2 mths already but since she fixed me an appointment just go loh. After the appointment I can shop in Orchard anyway. Hee hee... Lyn, I find some of FCUK stuff quite nice but still kind of ex during sales. Will chk it out tomorrow!

Joyce, Jonas very cute!

TSH, yep I know what you mean, people try to avoid the topic of "babies" altogether when they talk to me, including my mum. She didn't even dare tell me after my sis-in-law did a scan that her bb is a boy. She's afraid I'll start thinking abt my boy again.

Clare, how did yr appointment with the gynae go? Everything ok?

Hamasaki, u shld be asleep now unless u r too excited...hee hee. Enjoy yr trip!

hi gals, I'm at the airport now.. Just a final good bye to u gals...

tata, I'm boarding the plane now.. Halow Taiwan, here I come...

Joyce, Jonas really grows alot hor!!
He looks "mature" in his 3mth pics!!

Hamasaki, hv a great holidays in Taiwan!!!

Hi gals, I am back from the gynae & shopping! Actually nothing much, she just scanned to chk my womb has strunk back & to give me confidence that she will watch me closely through my next pregnancy. Pretty nice hor, my gynae.

Very tired...but didn't buy alot of stuff, just a belt n a sundress.
I ran into an ex-classmate & his wife is pregnant with their 3rd kid! Wow...so productive. Hee hee...

The weather is so hot today...I m going to take a nap b4 I go out again.

hi girls..

i did the amnio-infusion and CVS yesterday. you know, i was so fearful of the procedure that I could not sleep the night before! thank God my hubby was around with me during the procedure.

must say Dr Ann Tan is very steady when she did it! to be honest, it is not easy to do the amnio-infusion on me coz my waterbag was totally dry and there wasn't really any big pocket of water for the doctor to poke the needle without poking the bb. but Dr Ann Tan managed to find a teeny weeny pocket near the bb's limb and she did it! the infusion wasn't very painful, but i must say the CVS is!! coz the guided needle is quite fat, so even with the LA, it was painful. thank God I dun have to go through that again, at least for this pregnancy!.. you know, right after water was infused in, we could see bb relax and stretch herself! poor thing, she must be feeling really uncomfortable previously, no space to move around. and after that, i could feel more pronounced bb movement..

Dr Ann was quite nice, she allowed me to stay in her clinic to rest instead of admitting me, to help me save cost I guess. she's also the only doctor we've seen so far who gave us hope when all other docs told us to terminate.

tummy does feel rounder now. next 2 weeks will be very critical for us and bb. if the water level remains and the chromosome results is normal, then that's good news!...

thanks girls for your great support... last week was traumatic but thank God for you people around who can lend a listening ear. have a great weekend everyone!

BellyButton, glad that everything is now proceeding well for u!
So far so good!!
Happy that ur BB now got space to swim in!
Remember, do have plenty of bedrest to preserve the water and maybe drinks lots of water!
In the meantime, try talking to ur BB more and pray for gd news in another 3wks time!
Jia You!!! Jai You!!! We will all be here for u!

Hi Bellybutton,
I feel very happy for you that it's positive
I will continue to pray hard for you that you will have a healthy baby...
287763.gif

I just had a shower after a full day of shopping shopping
It's so crowded everywhere... Fitting rooms also gotta queue for quite a while. I bought 2 tops and 3 eye shadow... kekeke.... tomolo gonna buy lip gloss and other cosmetics...

Happy shopping... and have a great weekend!

thanks girls for your support! *muaks*!

java, forgot to answer your question earlier. i think the fluid in the amnio-infusion is basically saline, but i suppose it's at body temperature so the bb can adapt. there's a risk of infection everytime they do an invasive procedure (be it amniocentesis, cord blood sampling, amnioinfusion etc) coz the membrane is broken, so the doctor adminstered antibiotics both in the form of injection right after the procedure as well as tablets for me to consume for 1 week thereafter.

Hi BellyButton,

Don't forget to rest well, better bedrest for few days at least, ask for MC or take leave if necessary.

All the best to you & your bb.

BellyButton, I am so glad that now yr bb can swim happily! That is really good news!

Wah Lyn, u shopped the entire day ah. I shopped half day & buay tahan already. Yes very crowded! & U still have the stamina to continue today wor!
287783.gif
I went swimming in the morning, aiyoh, next time shan't go on Sundays. A lot of kids learning how to swim, hee hee. One thing about kids, when they swim they bulldoze their way thro the waters. I m really scared of them as I m not a good swimmer!
287784.gif

Hi Ocean, how r u & cherish? got bring her out shopping?

GoOd morning ladies,

bellybutton,
it's a joy to read ur progress after the wkend. YOu make my day!

hang in there.. all the best for these months of pregnancy...!

lyn, droopy,
i went jb to shop instead. pple come s'pore GSS, i went over. funny hor. but REDs hairdressing salon got Promo! i finally did the highlight streaks i wanted to do so long. Now just need 2 wait 4 HB 2 come back next wk 2 surprise him! yeah.. i can't wait..!!! :p

lyn,
i think u asked me previous previously if his coming back is my ovulation time... nah.. will miss it. in fact, it will be few days b4 my AF. no luck this cycle.

Hi Droppy,
Thanks for remembering me.

Fri was my 2nd scan and baby has grown to 20.4mm, heartbeat normal. = ) Gyne says everything looks alright so no cause for worry. Next apt 1 month later. Funny thing was I asked Gyne why bb heartbeat seems not as loud as 2 weeks before, then realised its because 1st scan was done through vagina so nearer to bb while Fri was tummy scan so seems softer. = P I did also check with her about the discharge. She says it's normal so long as its not very often (eg. daily) and just have rest more n to increase my intake of "gestrenol" (a birth support pill) to 3 instead 2 tablets a day if there's discharge. She didn't give me MC though. But thank God for the past 2 days no discharge. So praying for BB to be strong & healthy. = )

Oh thing for concern is my weight though... hahah... I've gained 1.5 kg in 2 weeks!! My goodness, at this rate I may be bloated in no time! I even dreamt I was staring at a fatty me in a mirror n Andy Lau (dun even know y i dreamt of him) was laughing as he though its a "Ha Ha Fatty" mirror (the kind of mirror that will widen your relection n make u look fatty). But i've come to console myself most important my BB healthy & growing can already. = )

Sorry I didn't update my visit earlier coz whole of weekend I slept SOOOOO much... didn't even turn on the PC at home. Hee hee.... = P

BellyButton,
Real glad that hear you have a great gyne who is supporting you all the way... May GOD continue to bless you & your BB in the weeks to come. Rest well and have faith... as my HB always remind me "HAPPY THOUGHTS = HAPPY BB !!!"

Ladies i heard from my friend there'll be a Baby/Motherhood fair at Expo from 1 to 5 June. Have not seen any news/adverts so far. Any idea if its true?

Hi Bellybutton,
I am so glad the amnio infusion went well. I hope your bb will be fine and you have a healthier pregnancy for the rest of the journey. All the best!

-java

so happy for u belly
take care ok..

btw wan to ask.. y i still got abit brownish discharge huh?? me blur leh..

Wow, Droopy, u very gd, still goes for swim!
287998.gif
Me had not been exercising for very long liao! Hubby was teaching Cherish not to say <font color="ff0000">mummy is like aunty and fat!</font> See my hubby so bad!!

Yes, had been bring Cherish out... and sometimes she been good gal, but sometimes, i really got problem cos she will cry and cry, dun noe for wat.
Oh, just post a pic of her in another thread. This is Cherish at 4mths 8 days. Abit blur cos taken from mobile at night!!

287999.jpg

Couldn't believe just last year, i was going thru M/C then preggie again and then all the fears faced during preggie..... Times flies...

Java... it is sad to read that u had change ur nick to 2-in-heaven!
288000.gif
Hope that u r now doing fine and that u and hubby had been spending quality time together!

As for the rest who r recovering, do give urself sometimes and remember, must take care of ourself.

Hmmm.... wonder how is the rest who r preggie, such as Adora, Tubby, Mao, Odie....

I had 2 miscarriages.

According to my gynae one of them was a "very serious" miscarriage. it was twins pregnancy, terminated at around 23 weeks. I was in and out of hospital for more than 10 times, resigned from job, went for stitch to minimise the risk of miscarriage. I still lost my two little girls.. Second miscarriage was in 2004.
I hope to conceive again but my gynae told me to think twice, if I am pregnant again. I may have to go through what I have gone through during the twins pregnancy.
I need to seek professional advise from another Gynae. Anyone can help?

Hello gals

Oh finally can chat with u gals liao cos i bought a computer n manage to do the connection. Hooray!

Ocean

yo! your gal gal very cute leh.

Bellybutton - glad to hear good news from you. Stay positive yeah!

Amy

So sorry to hear that. Dont be sad. Eat bu to build up your health. Wat is the cause for tis m/c.

hi confused
1st miscarriage, a high risk pregancy n also due to low percenta. 2nd miscarriage unknown. Gynae said it could be because of the complications during the 1st pregnancy. I really dun know..also very lost.

I really hope that I can find a Gynae who can give me some advice.

amy, sorry to hear about what u went through. Did u ask yr gynae what complications? I think u do have the right to know. Yes I think it's better to seek a 2nd opinion like what Belly Button did.

confused, now that u have a computer, u can talk to us from yr home! But dun forget u r suppose to rest alot also hah.

Ocean, swimming helps to calm me down &amp; release my tension loh. I have to exercise or else I will feel very lethargic! Cherish is so adorable!

Mei2, the discharge will be there for a while, mine took almost 3 weeks to clear, then within a week, I spot again, then menses came.

Clare, glad everything went well for u, what a funnee dream you've got!Your idol Andy Lau ah? Hee hee...

Bluebells, wah u went over to JB ah, it has been ages since I last went there. Jean Yip also got promotion, I m contemplating a rebonding again. But my hair quite short, rebonding may not be nice.

Gals, mission failed again...my AF came today. 2 days earlier than I expect. I hv stopped taking BBT, think I will stop counting my CD &amp; really let "nature" takes its course. I have been having unpleasant dreams these days. Think I m still very tense.
Shoo! Shoo! Negative thoughts!

hi amy,
May I know the details of your m/c? first one how many weeks were you when you m/c? How was the bb lost? No heartbeat detected? Or was it an incompetent cervix or premature rupture of membranes or labour? How long did you wait before the second pregnancy?

Droopy eyes - hee! yalor! now can chat at home liao. yeah! very boring at home. (eat n sleep almost everyday - i going to be a pig soon) hope that time flies so that i can go back to work n shopping

oh. Nevemind try again. Jia you. *Baby Dust to You* btw u take Royal jelly? I took Royal jelly n drink DOM (every alter day)

amy - oic.can understand your feeling. But dont be sad n dont give up hope. i agree with droopy eyes. u should ask your gynae abt your situation. i think they shold be able to know leh (base on experience mah). Or u can ask if there's any way to help u solve tis problem.

u want to see my gynae. Mine is at Mt E. Tel 6734 0800 Dr Datuk Chew.

Actually for my case, i oso have phobia n i did tell gynae that if i failed again tis time, i want to give up liao then he say i shouldnt think tis way dont give up. i heard from the nurse he has a patient m/c for 7 time and the 8th pregnancy , she give birth liao. After hearing these it really give me the courage should i failed again tis time. Be strong n bu yourself.

Hooray Bellybutton! I'm soooooo happy for you! God Bless and take care!

Ocean - Cherish is soooooo very cute!

Amy - Yes, u shld seek 2nd opinion. Why not see Dr Ann Tan that Bellybutton is seeing. I heard frm a friend who is nurse in SGH, where Dr Ann used to practise that Dr Ann is very good. Take care and pray for God to help you conceive again and also it to be a healthy pregnancy.

hi droopy, 2inheaven, confused &amp; yasmin

thks for your concern and encouragement.

1st m/c was in 2001. Pregnancy terminated ara 23wks. I started to bleed ara 6-8 wk. I was admitted hospital very often. At 16wks, my gynae advised me to go for an operation to stitch my virgina to minimize e risk of miscarriage. I asked whether would that affect my next pregnancy? He said "NO" as long as it is cut immediately when I was about to deliver.

Not long after e operation, gynae advised me to look for a gynae in a public hospital. He told me that my pregnancy was a very complicated one and chances of having premature bbs are very high and e hospital bills and medical fees can be a huge sum. Immediately after that, I got a gynae in kk. At 20wks, scan report shown that one of the bbs has a cyst in the brain. gynae strongly advise me to go for amniocentesis test. I highlighted to her that I started bleeding since very early stage of pregnancy; will it be ok to have amniocentesis test? She said its ok. I have to make a quick decision as I was reaching 24wks. Two days after the test, water bag busted. I was admitted to kk, the nurse made me lay on bed and my legs were lifted up. I was suffered from pain. Few days later, I was in great pain. Kk gynae came to me few hours later as she needs to service the day clinic. I was very worry as I remembered my 1st gynae told me that the stitch need to be cut when I was about to deliver. Kk Gynae told me that if I give birth at 23wks, the bbs were not survive. I was left in bed alone without any help from anyone. After struggled for many hours in bed, 1st bb came out, looked at the clock it was ara 1am+, pressed the bell, nurse came and took her away. 2nd bb came out few hours later, again, pressed the bell and nurse took her away. Never have a chance to look at them anymore.

The next day, I was in the operation theatre to clean my womb. After that I had very serious womb infection. Ice bags were placed on my forehead and body, shower, tried several types of antibiotics. Finally I was out of kk. I was there for about 2wk+ because of this infection.

A yr later, I went to consult my 1st gynae whether can I try to conceive again. 1st gynae said no problem. I was very happy but hb used condom as precaution as I still cannot forget what had happened to my two little ones. 2nd m/c was last yr. I never expected that I was pregnant. I missed my menses but have brown discharge for about 1wk+. I went to my 1st gynae, scan shown that I was pregnant but fetus dead. This time, he advised me to consider carefully before I conceive again.

Why?? he given me hope and after 2nd m/c he wants me to consider carefully as I may have to go through what I had gone through during my 1st m/c.

I need help.

Thks.

My God! I'm so upset with the way they treated you in KK. Why shld u be left alone. And howcome, cant see babies? My husband's niece was born ard 6mth of pregnancy , though she is deformed physically she is still sound. She even completed her N levels and also got Office Skills cert frm ITE. This gal was born abt 23 yrs back.
Anyway, how can they leave you alone there. Not right, you are paying them what not free service. I really am so angry and upset.

Why dont you seek another gynae's opinion. But remember to get copies of your medical data frm the 2 gynaes and pass to the new gynae you are going to see. Dont go KK then, go SGH maybe or NUH or even TMC.

Hi amy,
I have the same reaction like yasmin. I just wish I can beat up the ppl who treat you like that in KKH. Sorry abit violent! I have a few questions, when you say they discovered the cysts in your bb's brain, was it choroid plexus cysts (CPCs)? Did they advise you that after the amnio, you have to eat some pills to stablise preg and have 3 days bedrest? Perhaps you can go for some blood tests to test for infections such as Toxoplasma and Thrombophilia screening to test for any blood clotting disorder. I'm surprised that your 1st gynae did not send you for such tests and simply conclude that your second m/c is due to infections from your first. Its not easy to try again after a lost or multiple losts, but we just have to be brave and take courage. Same like yasmin, i think you should find a good gynae to follow up on your case.

amy,
sorri abt ur ordeal. i really dun noe wat to say.
But i'm disgusted wif the way u were treated in KKH. I am currently also under KKH, but hearing ur experience, i am really having 2nd tots shd i go back there when i'm pregnant.
U noe who the doc who sees to you?

wat abt trying Dr Datuk (confused's gynae), or Amy (belly's gynae)? Sounds like they are pretty encouraging, and experience gynaes.

Hello gals,
I am back for a while! I have been very busy... "zhao chu wan gui"... Gotta reach school and teach at 8am, then come home about midnite... hehe... in the middle join in the crowd of GSS!

Wah Oceans,
Cherish very cute le...

Hi Amy,
Sorry to hear about your loss. Maybe you can consider Dr Peter Chew from Gleneagles. He's a very pro-family gynae...

Tomolo afternoon, I will be seeing gynae again... haiz... a bit scared again. Feel like cancelling the appointment...

K, gotta get some work done before sleeping... Take care, gals...

yesterday i went to see gynae. i am around 7 weeks now.

doc said it's still not really stable yet. but yesterday, we could see the heartbeat. so amazing.....

sunny...
CONGRATULATIONS!
288406.gif

it's a good news to this thread!

so, did u kinda suspect earlier or just recently?
Must take care wor..

Hi Sunny,

Congrats! All of a sudden it seems like more pple are getting preggie in this thread. So happy for all of you.
I remembered my 1st gynae told me that as long as heartbeat can be detected in 8 weeks, then the pregnancy looks very positive. Is this your first pregnancy?

Hi Amy,

I'm very sorry to hear about your ordeal. My gynae is Dr Peter Chew from Gleneagles. He's in his 60s and is very pro in "baby-making" His clinic no. is 64726828.

Hi Lyn, so u going tomorrow for your gynae visit? How was your menses the last time (the one u mentioned for 1 day only)? Btw, I did not login for a couple of days cos too busy at work. Did you resend me your yahoo id?

Hi gals!

Amy, sorry to hear about your loss. I too lost my son at 23 weeks, almost 2 years ago in Aug 2003. Like you, my waterbag broke prematurely as well. For my case, I also had spotting/bleeding in the 1st tri. However, there was no reason found for why my waterbag broke prematurely. I went on to become preg again and have jus given birth to my daughter in Mar this year. During my preg, my gynae says that it is possible that gestational diabetes that caused me to go into early labour the last time, leading to my waterbag breaking. So for the next preg, I was under strict diabetes control.
I am sorry to hear that you also had a subsequent miscarriage. I guess the reason why your gynae wanted you to think about it again is cos there might be some underlying reasons for recurring m/c and hence wants you to go through some more tests etc first? Don't be disheartened to quickly. Seek advice from perhaps other docs and see if there's any tests which you need to do.

folic

purple{Amy}, sorry
288509.gif
to hear about what u have gone thru...
It was shocking &amp; unbelievable to learn that u r actually left alone without anyone!!
How can they do that?
288510.gif
I do agree that u need a better gynae. Another gynae i can think of is Dr Kowa from Mt E. He is very experience and good too. Jia You!!

<font color="ff6000">Sunny</font>, Congrats!!
288511.gif
Wishing you a smooth pregnancy!!
Do remember, now u must eat healthily and it is an excuse not to do hsework!!

<font color="119911">Starlite</font>, <font color="aa00aa">Lyn</font>, <font color="0000ff">Confused</font>, <font color="ffff00">yasmin</font> and <font color="0077aa">Droopy</font>, thanks for complimenting on Cherish.
Really appreciate what all the gals here did, for lending a helping hands or rather "listening ears" and concern during those darkest moments!
Thks!

hi folic
i started bleeding in the 1st tri due to low placenta and also twin pregnancy, is a high risk pregnancy.

hi ocean
is dr kowa your gynae?

<font color="aa00aa">Amy</font>, Dr Kowa is my two of my SILs gynae. My SIL had in fact introduce him to quite a few of her collegues. Learnt that he is good, but maybe, just abit costly. Heard frm my SIL that one of her friends had signs of "show", and Dr Kowa actually helped her to delay "labour" for quite sometimes. If you are interested, I can go and search for his number.

hi confused
i hope Dr Kowa can give me some advise. I really hope to conceive again but dare not try ...

amy - can understand your feelin. But dont be afraid to try again. i heard story abt doctor telling their patient that they cant have bb but in the end they get pregnant. (My ex colleague n brother's friend)

i know will have phobia. i'm juz like u. i told gynae that i'll give up if this time pregnancy fail again n they say shouldnt think that way. they have patient m/c for 5 - 8 times n still manage to give birth. After hearing tis, it give me hope again.

Try to bu your body n womb n dont be afraid to try again. your read today strait time (mind your body) the singer pastor sun m/c twice n the 3rd pregnancy is successful. so lets jia you together n never give up hope.

Congratulations Sunny!! So happy for you!

Amy dun be scared, just go to a good gynae. I m not introducing mine coz she does not seem as well-known as the ones the gals introduced here. I stick to her coz she makes me feel very comfortable esp immediately aft the m/c.

Lyn, do go for your checkup. Dun cancel ah!

Me going home now, very tired but dunno why very 'lazy' to go home. hee hee..