Support group - Miscarriages

Morning Everyone!!
126542.gif
Very sleepy now.... Quite stressful in office recently! Was thinkin if i strike
toto, i will resign and rest at home!! But i never buy leh!! Kekeke...

<font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, glad to learn that u r recovering well. Your currently gynae sounds good.
If ur lining is still thin, maybe have to wait till after ur 1st AF. Afterall, remember, we r being scrapped clean....

Good day!!!

Hi tian tian... yup I agree... hopefully this thread wiil be dead soon :p

I have been very tied up for the last 2 weeks so not really posting alot. Just reading but glad that everyone is doing well with life getting back to normal.

As for me... the 2ww is going to be over soon. AF is suppose to be due anytime between this Saturday to next Wednesday. Not holding my hopes too high though cos not getting any of the signs that I had for my previous pregnancy even though the days are slipping by.

hi pageup,
ya, i guess it's better not to focus on wat's normal or not for dis cycle... jus let my body recover on her own...
but hor, it means my 1st Af takes 8 weeks after D&amp;C to come leh...

hi miao,
gynae told me dat my 1st AF maybe lighter than normal due to the thin lining... i was like??!! usually my flow is quite light liao.. i'll jus wait &amp; see... in my excitement upon seeing my egg, i forgot to ask her to gimme a pap smear leh.. so i tot go to GP &amp; get it done...
i had yeast infection many yrs back.. was advised to take yogurt to prevent it from recurring..

hi tiantian,
our turn will come for us to join in other threads... but somehow, i will not put in my EDD to the list until after i reached 2nd trimester.. the feeling of 'name being removed from list' is terrible..

hi Odie,
as many others had mentioned, each pregnancy is different.. maybe u strike liao leh!!! i'll wait for ur good news here..

hi Ocean,
my hubby felt quite comfortable wif dis present gynae, but i'm still skeptical lah... we'll see how things go from here... hey! u decided on ur gynae?

<font color="ff6000">Folic</font>, new CAR!!
So nice... My hubby recently jus sold away his car cos he was saying committment to high, mayb wait till 2-3 yrs later than get one when BB is big liao!

<font color="119911">Odie</font>, hmm..
126624.gif
for you!!
As for gynae, i also dun noe leh...
Today, i am officially in my 2nd trimester.
Anyway, let me go for my triple test next Friday first! Quite anxious to see how BB progressing....

<font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, hmm.. sometimes to be skeptical is alright lah! At least ur hubby is comfortable! Hahha..
126625.gif
I still dun noe which gynae to go. Actually quite feel like going to Dr Kowa, but he is quite expensive and his package started only at 5mths...

Hi Tubby,
That is GREAT news!
You are well on the path to recovery and TTC-ing again!
I am still waiting for AF, think it's going to be a l-o-n-g wait...

Hi Miao,
Thanks for the advice about radish/carrots/cai bor. I had no idea at all!

Hi Ocean,
Congrats on going to the second trimester!

Hi Tubby.... *huggies* I know what you mean. Even now I will still peep into the preggie thread now and then just to "update" myself how many weeks I should have been =( I should have been entering the 27th week tomorrow. Anyway trying to keep my spirits high right now. Yes I was trying to tell myself this morning too that every pregnancy is different.

Hi Ocean thanks... you are very sweet. Always keeping everyone here in mind =) Congrats for moving into the next milestone. 2nd tri should be alot more easier than the 1st tri. OOOhhh so exciting... you should be able to feel the movement in a few weeks time ;)

Ocean!!! *CONGRATZ CONGRATZ CONGRATZ*!!!

*BIG HUGZ* Today is a major milestone for u &amp; bb!
U ought to go out &amp; celebrate wif hubby... hehee.. i am really excited for U...
Dr. Kowa is said to be a really patient &amp; nice gynae.. i saw in other threads u asked abt Dr Koh Cheng Huat... not considering him liao??

hi jujube,
it's also quite a looonnngg way for me lah.. dun worry... u'll hv me for company... since i jus saw my egg yesterday, means AF shd be here in 2 more weeks.. i will freak out badly if AF is here sooner... cos means i got luteal phase defect... hopefully NOT!!!

hi Odie,
i tot i am the onie one doing this... i'll peep into dat thread &amp; read all the wonderful experiences the gals shared.. then i got 'suan suan' feelings... &amp; every Sat, i'll still update myself mentally on how many weeks i'll be.. aii..
i hope i'm able to lose track on 'updating' soon.. U r well on ur way to starting a new experience... *hugz*

Ocean, congrats... stepping into the 2nd tri is a big milestone

Tubby, no worries lah... 8 weeks still within normal timeframe.

odie, hope you get through this 2 ww without too much anxiety
Good luck and Baby dust to you!!!The symptoms I got from this preg is totally different from the first one. In fact, if not for the fact that I had measured my temps, I would not have known that I was preg. cos really not much symptoms.

tiatian,
My MS is still manageable. In fact, I am getting a litle worried as to whether my baby is growing properly. I was just telling Java and Joyce that I don't feel that my boobs were heavy or having crampy feeling just like last time. I am counting down to next Wed, so that I can have the u/s and hopefully see the baby and hear the heartbeat.

ok, need to go back to work.. talk again later!

folic

hi tiantian,
Hey I've not abandon you all. I still come in here to read ur postings. Just that I've been feeling really tired recently, so just post in one thread.

hi ocean,
Dr Kowa is a good doc, u will be in good hands. Money spent can always earn back, its impt to be attached to a good gynae. Congrats on completing the first trimester and onto the 2nd. I also hope to reach 2nd trimester soon. Pray for me yah?

hi odie, tubby,
I also experience this. Some of the gals who are still chatting in the other threads their EDDs were around the same time as me. Their babies already 1 yr plus liao, same age as my son if he is around. Sometimes I wanted to chat with them, but didn't have the courage.

Tubby... I'm sure over a period of time you won't be "updating" yourself as often. I used to do it every week... but now only once in a while when I think of it.

Folic... thanks. I really wonder too... cos I thought that if it is a second pregnancy we should be able to "feel it" earlier and more aware of the signs to lookout for... that's why I am of the view that my chances are close to NIL. The first symptom I really had was breast tenderness at an early stage but so far nothing yet. Anyway your case gives me hope then!!! =)

Java... take care. The worse symptom I had was that I couldn't seem to get enough sleep all the time. Rest well.

BTW how early can we feel the pulling effect of the expanding uterus?? I hope I am not too sensitive... cos somehow I noticed that I could feel the same pulling effect at a one particular spot for the last few days. I don't suffer from stomach cramps when I have menses... then again maybe my body could have gone a bit off due to the D&amp;C.

odie, are you temping? That might give you some clues. Some gals claim that they can feel implantation cramps, which is prob around the time you are at now... but I have NO symptoms at all this time round!

folic

Hi Folic... nope I'm not... didn't want to give ourselves stress by trying too hard :p

Anyway what kind of thermometer do you use for temping? Is a digital thermometer sufficient or do I need to use a basal thermometer?

odie, I used the normal thermometer for the first part and then got fed up cos it always show flat temp, then I changed to the basal one
But I think both works just as well.

folic

oh I see... okay if I am still unsuccessful after a few tries... I will consider tracking my temp. Thanks =)

hi odie,
u can try buying the clinical thermometer kind, the non digital kind. I had a hard time finding it at first, but bought it at Guardian Pharmacy at centrepoint. Its very accurate. Last time I saw a chinese physician, she said dun use digital kind. Then put the clinical thermometer in your mouth for 5 mins just after u wake up and before getting out of bed.

Me cooking Alfredo tonight! My last packet of instant macaroni which I bought from Australia.

I am just wondering when its the best time to announce your pregnancy.. I am thinking of annoucing it when my condition is stable( maybe when I am 3 mths pregnate but juz afraid tat me or hubby can't wait)..

Hi Hamasaki,

are you preggie now?
Surprisingly, I was able to keep my urge on telling people about my current pregnancy. I only told my family cos I need to tell my mum about my diet restrictions but other than that, I have not told anyone yet.

folic

Hi Java... is it the type with mercury? If so was just wondering if such thermometer can capture the diff of 0.01. I have always thought that such thermometer cannot reflect anything beyond the decimal point... ok maybe I am suaku kekekek :p

Hi Hamasaki... congrats. Actually after I got preggie I told my boss, close friends and family about it. Not sure how will I react when I get preggie again... but I think I might have problems containing myself :p

Good morning girls!
it's a rough week for me at work. no time to chat in here! Miss u girls.
hamasaki, are u pregnant? congrats if so! i saw my baby yesterday. it was my 1st abdominal scan believe it or not! (so far the others all v-scans)thank God everything's going on well so far. Baby was first asleep, then it stretched! It moved its hands over its head and its legs strectched out. so cute. And remember i mentioned i have a cyst in my right ovary? well it's beginning to subside, so my gynae says no need to remove it surgically. thank God again...to all who have been supporting me in thoughts &amp; prayers, thank u so much. Hubby &amp; I really appreciate it.

Odie, u asking abt thermometers to do temping? i used the one my company gave during the time of SARS! Actually that's when I started taking my temp. (that time was not for ttc) but later it became a habit so i started charting it!

Odie, actually, I read before that it is not necessary to take the 2 decimal places. Sometimes, that actually mess up the pattern a little. I didnt use those mecury thermometer cos I lazy to time myself and I nvr could read the temp on those thermometers. Last time, I remember we used that in Pri school for science lessons, but I never once suceed it finding the mecury point.

Tiny, so happy that everything is going well for you!
I am counting down to my next visit on Wed with great anticipation!

folic

Hi folic and tian tian,

I'm lucky to have mother and mother in law who boil the herbs for me everyday
I would have given up drinking if I have to do the cooking myself. Hee hee

I'm planning to start ttc only after 1 or 2 more cycles. Hope my body is able to take it though

Hi hamasaki,
according to the old wives superstition, we should not announce pregnancy until 2nd trimester when it is more stable, because the evil will take the baby away from us.
I guess to speak in term of logic, this is to avoid all the difficulties explaining to people in case of the unhappy incidents that happen to ladies in this thread.

I think for my next pregnancy, I will try to contain all the excitement till my pregnancy is stablized.
Yesterday, a blur colleague came over to ask me if I'm in my 2nd trimester already, felt so sad when I hear that

Ocean.. 3 cheers for you for entering 2nd trimester. You are on your way to deliver a healthy baby

Hi Tiny and Ocean,

BIG BIG HUGS. So happy to know that your BB is growing well.

Ocean, do update us on the triple test.

Hi Java,

You must rest more ok. Btw, how many weeks are you now??

Hi Hamasaki,

Are you pregnant now?? If yes, congrats.

Hi Everybody!!
127039.gif
It's Friday and hope everybody are getting on fine!

Today is a busy day in office. Been getting quite stressed up with so much deadlines to meet and high expectation on me! There is this talk on next Wed morning tat i dun wanna attend. But boss said i have to.. sigh... Rather be in office to clear my work!

<font color="119911">Hamasaki</font>, r u preggie?
You sounds very positive!
If so, congrats!!
127040.gif
Ok, for me, i let my immediate boss know due to the constant visits to KK for check-up. I also let my immediate family know, cos i know that no matter wat happen, my family will be there to support me!

<font color="ff6000">Tiantian</font>, <font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, <font color="aa00aa">Jujube</font>, <font color="ffff00">Folic</font>, <font color="ff0000">Java</font>, <font color="0000ff">Pageup</font> and <font color="119911">Odie</font>,
127041.gif
for your well wishes. I know that 2nd trimester is another milestone.
But as i had not see BB for abt 2wks liao, that very bad shadows start to creep into my mind again!
127042.gif
So i will only probably celebrate when i see BB next Fri.

Thanks Folic... okay I will rely on my digital thermometer then since I already had one during the SARS period =)

Tiny... it's been a while since you posted. Looks like things are looking up for you too =)

Ocean... fret not... I'm sure your little one is growing well. You are a nice lady I'm sure you will be blessed with a healthy baby this time round ;)

hi Tiny,
glad to hear from U &amp; knowing dat things has been well from ur side...
i think u r oso going on to 2nd trimester veri soon rite? *big hugz*

hi Ocean,
like wat Odie mentioned, u r such a sweetie.. U'll be blessed wif a healthy bb.... make it a big celebration nix Fri ya..

i went for facial today(finally!) &amp; had a 'painful' time there... 3 mths neber go for facial liao.. the beautician says my blackheads veri stubborn... really painful when she starts squeezing... now my face hv patches of red here &amp; there... after facial, i went to 'Ma Kuang' at east point.. wan to 'bu' my womb.. but the practitioner there says must 'bu' my body first.. Chinese medicine dun jus concentrate on 1 area.. he says my body belong to 'cooling' type.. &amp; my stomach is weak.. thus my body cannot absorb nutrients properly... he says my womb dun hv 'strength' to hold the bb properly, when i told him 'thin menstrual lining' &amp; got 'bai dai'... was given 7 days of powder, will see him for review nix Fri again...

<font color="ff6000">Odie</font> and <font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, wow, say me nice?
Kekeke...
Wait i fly high high in the sky!
Both of you are also very nice ladies too! Actually i think everyone here are all very nice and supportive!!
127158.gif
So i believe u two will hit jackport soon!

<font color="ff6000">Odie</font>, u going to take temp? Do you have any systoms? For me, the only very common systom i had was feeling feverish! How?
127159.gif

<font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, looks good. At least now they can trace the problem and u r also working at building up your body! I feel it is a big step that u are stepping out!
127160.gif

hi odie,
Yes its the mercury kind. Very cheap but accurate, around $3.00 only. If u buy the basal kind. I think its around $25. I think I got quite used to using it, have to flick down the thermometer until below 36 deg after using.

Hi Tubby,
Kekeke!We had the same experience! I also went for a facial (mine worse, after five months) and the beautician was appalled at the state of my skin! And I have just finished one week of taking the powder from the Chinese physician!

Hi Hamasaki,
You preggie? Congrats!!!

I am 10wks into my pregnancy and doc says baby stopped growing at 6wks, no heartbeat, doing D&amp;C tomorrow. The gynae described the process as placing a tablet to open the cervix and i will wait abt 3 hr and be placed on GA. Is there any pain in that waiting period b4 I am on GA? if yes, wat kind of pain is it like? I am worried abt the pain.

can we drink plain water after D&amp;C or only drink the red dats n longan water? Can we bath/wash hair, if not, for how long? thanks.
and i keep thinking if there was anything that i could have done to prevent this m/c though gynae said no.

Whitefloral,

sorry about your loss.
There shouldn't be any pain if you are going on GA.It will be like going to sleep and having a dream.
I'm not sure why your gynae said you have to wait for 3 hours. For mine, the GA effect took place almost immediately after administration. The actual procedure took about half an hour and I regained conscious shortly after.

I see no reason why we can't drink water or have a shower. You will most likely experience bleeding after the surgery, so it is better to have shower to avoid any infection or sort.

I guess many of us here have the same frustration as you. I went to another gynae for second opinion before the D&amp;C, both gynae said there is no way to prevent miscarriage. Not only that, they can't even tell the exact reason why it happened. That is why I turn to chinese medicine who explain my weak body constitution is the reason why I can't hold my body, so need to 'bu'.
Well, I'm not sure if chinese medicine work better than the angmoh medicine. But since they the only one who can give me a reason on what happen to me, I might as well give it a try.

Anyway, be strong, close the chapter and move on after the surgery. Just focus on getting well.
Do come to this thread if you need someone to chat with.

hi whitefloral,

I m sorry to hear the news...
Actually, the tablet inserted should not give you any pain, it's just to soften your cervics before the surgery...
after the surgery, however, you might exp some abdominal pain (your gynae would most prob give you some painkillers)
do take note if you bleed to heavily after the procedure... (and you should let your doc know)

i guess different people would have different practices...
as for me, my mom told me not to drink any water (supposedly would cause more wind)
i took red dates water all the way (for about 4 weeks)
neither did i bathe or wash my hair using water...
it's practically like a confinement...
i bathe using those water boiled in herbs
hair-wise, i used dry shampoo (but must say that it doesn't feel very clean)
i washed my hair using the herbal water after about 2 weeks plus

a lot of articles and websites and even my gynae said that most miscarriages cannot be prevented...
it just happen... sometimes it is because the fertilised egg is not healthy
it's defintely not your fault..
do take care and keep negative thoughts out of your mind...
there would be time for grieving later...
right now, concentrate on getting well first...

do come in here if you can...
you will be able to find ample support, understanding and encouragement here...
meanwhile take care...

hi whitefloral,
Be strong, take care of yourself. Talk to us, we are here for you.

Hi Whitefloral.... *huggies* I hope you will recover soon. Your questions have been answered by the other ladies... important thing is to do what will make you feel better and don't blame yourself. Most miscarriages happen by chance and there are no reasons behind it.

Hey Ocean... me just gathering some info on temping for now :p In the event if still unsuccessful after a few cycles I will consider... but on the other hand I don't wanna give myself stress by trying too hard. See how bah ;) Anyway, so far no symptoms at all but AF still not here yet... I'm basing on the longest cycle I ever had - 36 days. So by Wednesday if AF is still missing I will whip out the magic stick on Thursday.... kekekekeke :p

HI whitefloral,

hope your D&amp;C went well today. Take care, come in and chat with us. Hope you feel better soon!

Odie, that looks pretty promising
Good luck. Looks like we are both counting down to Wed. I will be visiting my gynae then

I babysat my 3 year old niece on Sat and Sun and her parents are busy moving house. All I can say is.. I still need lots of practice :D

folic

hi whitefloral,

*big hugz* rest well &amp; if u r given any antibiotics, remember to take them faithfully.. also, avoid eating/drinking cooling stuff...

dis support group has helped me in my darkest moments.. come here &amp; vent out any feelings/tots dat u hv.. all of us here understands wat u're going thru... u can read thru' the archives in dis thread &amp; feel the recovery path of each &amp; every lady dat has posted here... it's been proven therapeutic...

wish u a speedy recovery soon...

Afternoon Everyone!It's a raining day today!
127523.gif
What a nice and comfortable day to sleep
127524.gif
, but too bad, it's <font color="0000ff">Monday</font>!
yawn.gif

<font color="ff6000">Whitefloral</font>, i'm sorry
127525.gif
to learn about your loss!
I knew that much as we would like to accept the fact of the loss, but sometimes, being told by the doc that M/C can just happened without any known reasons put us at a loss. This is because we had no way to prevent it from happen again in future... Please take care after your D&amp;C.

Medically from the scientitic point of view, after D&amp;C, we need to rest well. There is nothing to avoid in terms of eating, drinking and bathing.

But most believed that we are at our weakest after D&amp;C and our body are said to be very cooling. So you wld need to do a 2weeks mini confinement and rest alot.
<u>Food</u>
127526.gif

Eat alots of food cooked in sesame oil and ginger. It helped to reduce the "wind" in our body. Avoid eating cooling stuff such as pineapple, watermelon, etc. If possible, cook black chicken with danggui. Can try taking Essence of Chicken every morning before breakfast.

<u>Water</u>
127527.gif

For my case, during that 2 wks confinement, i did not drink any plain water except when i taking the antibiotics. Only red date, logan boiled with dang sheng everyday.
<u>Bathing</u>
127528.gif

I bathed in the hospital in warm water after D&amp;C. Cannot dun bath lah... cos we are still bleeding. But after that, my mum bought those herbs from the Chinese Medical hall and boiled for me.
As for washing hair, i used warm water to wash my hair but the herbs to bath my body. At times, when i felt very warm, i will just use a hot towel to wipe myself clean.

Hope the above helps and do pop by and talk to us!! But, PLEASE, rest well!
127529.gif

<font color="ff6000">Odie</font>, so u r taking ur longest AF as a guide lor!
127540.gif
Oh dear, so excited for u!!
Please
127541.gif
dont let <font color="ff6000">Odie</font> AF came!! Let the aunty came after 9mths later!!

<font color="119911">Folic</font>, how's ur MS? Better? Hmm.. so ur appt
127542.gif
is this Wed? Mine is this Fri! Very excited and yet nervous!!
127543.gif

<font color="0077aa">Tubby</font>, how's things? You AF should arrived by this week or next week hor!!
Guess that will be the only time we wished to see <font color="ff0000">red</font>! But after that, at least we can be ensure that our body is slowly adjusting to tune back to our normal cycle!

Hi ocean,

good to see you in great spirit
My MS is still going on but not as bad. I still feel nausea but hardly throw up.

odie, actually hor, I find that temping is less stressful than not templing. This is especially if you have long/irregular cycles like me. AT least, with the chart, it puts me at peace that I am o'ing and when I can expect AF more accurately. Don't treat temping as an exercise to determine fertility period lor... I use it as a tool to tell me not to waste HPT as I have a better idea of when to test :D

folic

Folic... let us pray that the next few days will fly by quickly ;)

Ocean... yup that's what I am hoping for at the moment. Never knew that the wait can be this excruciating. Guess that it is always easier to tell others to stay cool and relax... but when it comes to practice... not so easy wor :p

Hi Folic... thanks for you advice. Yup I guess that I can try and look at it that way. Got the thermometer on hand so will be easy when I want to start charting.

Anyway let's hope that I won't need to do temping because it isn't necessary any more ;)

Hahaa... <font color="119911">Odie</font>, u c i cant say that i ever waited to test on HPT.
Cos i just buy and test.
Always got a reson to buy the HPTs and always buy in pair!
Suggest u get the Guardian one cos it is cheaper@ $15.90 for a pair!

Hmmm.... Wednesday.... Let's pray
127569.gif
for you
127570.gif
and <font color="ff6000">Folic</font>!!

<font color="ff6000">Folic</font>, good good! To feel nausea is better than throw-up!!
127571.gif

Just now my ex-colleague sms me to tell me she's pregnant. Seems like abt the same time as me. But I didn't tell her that I'm also pregnant. In fact after I left my ex-company abt 2 weeks ago, nobody knew abt it except a close colleague of mine who has a kid. I feel very reluctant to tell them. Nobody knows why I left that company, and I bluff them say I found another job. So they keep sms me say where I'm working now and such. Feel quite bad bluffing them afterall they are quite close frens.

Just now I was watching a very nice romantic korean drama called Love Letter. So touching until make me cry so many times.

Hi Java,

you are such a korean dama junkie!
Watch some happier stuff lah! Later your bb becomes very melodramatic ah!

If I were you, I would prob tell my ex-colleagues(if they are close frens)after 1st tri, which should be a couple of weeks more for you correct? I am sure they will understand, given what you have gone through previously. Or, if you donwan to share the preg news, then just tell them that actually you are not working now.

folic

hi folic,
Can't help it! Somehow the touching korean dramas, the male actor is soooooo handsome. Call me a masochist, but I like to see the guy's ke lian face when the girl reject his love. hehehehe

See how boyish looking this guy is. *sigh* my heart goes out to him...
127670.jpg

Java, what i do is i replied, "Dun noe, must wait to see doc 1st then can confirmed."
Afterall, we b seeing doc now regularly mah!!

That time, one collegue asked if i pregnant, then i asked why u suddenly inquired abt this? She suddenly looked embarrassed! Think she thot i must have grown fat and she asked the wrong qn and said "sorry" to me!!