Support group - Miscarriages

hey irene....guess this thread here offers most of us if not all of us a certain degree of support & comfort....thru tis 'experience'...I have too come to realise the importance of family & friends whom have helped mi to heal my broken heart....my D&C is scheduled at 7am tomorrow....the formal 'finale' to my darling angel.....=)

Have not been posting for quite some time .... Hope everyone is doing fine.

cher,
I had to make the same decision as you when my waterbag broke at 17 weeks. After a mth of waiting, we finally let go of my Owen at 22wks. Same as you, my bb was also alive and growing well when i was induced. Owen was finally 'delivered' at 9.45pm. I held him close to me and touched his little hands. They were so small but his tiny fingers and nails were already formed. My hubby cried when he saw Owen.

It's been abt 3 mths since Owen was gone but i'm still tearing whenever i think of him. I guess letting go is never easy.

xbliss,
Glad to hear that your boy is doing well now! Btw, if it's ok for u, wld you mind share with me how much did it cost you for your boy's stay at ICU?

hi ladies, had a m/c too in aug 2006 and have been trying since then no news yet. suffer from pcos and possible endo as well. currently on jab to stop menses but feeling down that my dh and I have to temporarily stop trying until april.

Thanks piyobaby... I'm very sorry to hear about your d&c. Do a proper mini confinement k? I didnt do it and hence, my AF was pretty screwed up after the D&C. Really regretted it but am glad Im blessed with another chance right now. Dun give up TTC k? One day we will all be blessed to hold our little ones in our hands...

Bubbleteahut... thanks! We are hanging in there. Now just hoping time will pass faster and everything is alright.

Irene... I am really very sorry to hear about your missed mc... Do not give up. There is a fellow forumer who had 2 or 3 mc and now she is 10 weeks pregnant and baby is very healthy with a strong heartbeat. She said that the tcm she's been taking has helped her alot. If you are keen, I can find out her tcm contact for you. It is really good to start TCM. Initially when my AF was screwed up 4 cycles after d&c, tcm also helped to regulate it....

Thanks for everyone's well wishes. Am very touched to hear everyone's encouragement.
Happy CNY to everyone and may the new year grant our wishes and bless us all with our Rat or Oxe babies!

good news! my hubb's chromosome test came back normal!! gynae say problem is probably with my eggs, they are getting old...

Piyobaby, u are indeed strong... dun give yourself pressure, just take it easier ok?

roxy, are all the tcm the same? i would like to get another contact and widen my options too.. pls help me find out the contact of the tcm? if its not too much of a trouble for u.. thanks..

nisse, hang in there, i also can't try till april this yr and i will have to try under "supervision of my gynae".. sounds weird, right? but first of all i hv to cross the "emotional hurdle of my hubby" !! so good luck to me!

Happy new yr ! everyone!!

hi all mummies to be,

happy new year! may the new year bring us good health and great success in our pregnancies.

piyobaby, welcome here. i also got a lot of encouragement from this thread so i am very attached to it. come up to post as and when i can, not to show off, but to share my struggles and to let u all know it is possible. u can do it, good luck.

roxyz,
hang in there! stay positive and sing lots of love songs to baby isaiah! this is the most enjoyable trimester where he will give u those nudges (in my case, i received karate chops and punches from my super active boy) and squiggles!

bubbletea,
the final bill just came.. it's 50K for 2 mths stay before subsidies. after subsidies we paied $10K or more, mostly through medisave. u have to stay in C class to get subsidies..

irene,
congrats.. one worry down. stay positive and little mickey/minnie will come ur way! yea, supervision of gynea sounds weird! but anything for a baby! good luck to you. come here and talk to us and unwind.

I am new here. I had a MC and done an incomplete d & C ops. had been bleeding for 1 month = by right shd be 2 weeks. still have ocassional cramps and bleeding. Can some one advise me as I have no one to turn to incl my gynea?

hi redis

I m not able to offer any advise pertaining to incomplete dnc, not sure why u can;t turn to your gynae, is it becos of the CNY season?

I would suggest u try KKH A&E dept if there's any need of emergency attention, or risk of infection. if not, u may wana check with yr gyane asap when ur gyane gets back after the festive holidays, cos he/she would probably know your condition best? yea?

meanwhile pls try to take gd care, and perhaps not move around so much till you get better.....

thanks irene. My gynea is vey old around 60yo. To him this is a small matter as he had so many impt things waiting for him. He had another case same as mine but hers is ard 3mths foetus. He told me she ard go italy for tour after the ops. He done a very clean job for her but not for him. I was very angry as we all paid the same fees but mine is not doen properly. He tot that I was very hysterical but in actual fact I worry about my womb if anything happen I can't TTC anymore. I source around singapore but couldn't find a good gynea at all in Singapore. so sad....

Nisse,
Don't despair, take one step at a time and the most impt is to treat the medical conditions first. When ur conditions are resolved, u can start TCC, most impt is there is a cure for the conditions.

Xbliss, (for pegsfur too), I am not the person who asked for info on medical bill, think its for pegsfur. Thanks for your encouragement, really need them. Keep them flowing..

Irene, congrats! Really happy for you. That is a big big step forward for ur little minnie/mickey as xbliss said. Good luck..

Redis, how did you know ur d&c was incomplete? Did the gynae tell u by looking at scan or it is proven due to 1 mth of bleeding? Even after u eventually stopped bleeding, think u must still do a final scan to confirm that all tissues are out. My gynae is pretty gd, did a complete D&C. U can PM me for my gynae's contact to get a 2nd opinion.

happy new year to all....may all be blessed wif a baby real soon...baby dust to all of us....=)

roxy.....d&c done on last tue....abit sad cos so near to cny which is suppose to be a joyous festive season....did not do a good enuff confinement cos im notti to 'run out' on cny eve. not to mention cny period....but im still taking sesame oil food, sum bu pin and DOM....have been on red date tea ever since and i'm a little sick of it now.....

xbliss.....tis thread is veri comforting....i noe im not alone...wun blame myself silly....

redis....the bleeding & spotting stop today and it was veri light all along except for after the surgery....pls do go for another consultation wif another gynae...u are spoilt for choices on gynaes avail......=)

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL! May all be blessed with all their wishes coming true.

redis,

How did the doc define incomplete D&C? the objective of D&C is to make sure there are no residue in the womb. Thus it will be inrresponsible if the doc did an "incomplete" leaving something behind.Thus it will be good to seek 2nd opinions.

I have a D&C done last nov and i was bleeding for a full month . Till now my AF is inrregular. The doc has given me some pill to regulate the AF. Hopefully this month, every thing can go back normally.

hey ladies....can i check usualli after D&C...wen are u advise to visit ur gynae for follow up? cos i was not told on next visit to gynae.....

Hi Piyobaby, for my case, I was asked to go back for review 2 weeks after the D&C procedure. Maybe you would like to check with your gynae as to when does he/she wants you to go back for follow-up.

Hi PiyoBaby

Told to go back for review ard 1week after d D&C.
d next visit as advised by d gynae was after d 1st menses over (after d D&C).

Suggest u check with ur gynae when will b ur next f/u visit.

Time flies, is 3wks after my D&C.. I din do full confinement during that 2 wks, only eat the "ji jiu" occasionally.. now i am worry that my womb din get "bu" n it will affect my next TTC..

1) did u guys really do a full confinement?? I eat only ji jiu n only start taking DOM a wk after D&C..

2) i feel a bit cramp after my bleeding stop.. i dont feel anything b4 that.. is it normal?? did u guys encounter this?? my gynea advise to monitor one more wk, if still cramp need to go back to her.. i scare is bcos it is the effect of i din "bu" my womb..

just to share wf u...I went to c another gynae(for 2nd opinion)...to counter check b4 I start TTC again.

Guess wat the gynae found out?He suspects I've a 15mm polyp in my womb.Now,I've to put my plan on hold until the gynae checks again next week.

This polyp might b the reason of my M/C last Dec.I strongly encourage all of u,to go for thorough check b4 u start TTC again.

Despite I went for a check wf my 1st gynae,he couldn't detect the polyp.

thanks kiwifruit & pinpong....will contact him tomorrow for advise bcos it has been 1 week since my D&C....=)

prawnmee....mi veri norti..went jalan jalan on 2nd day....thou im still on red date tea (totally no plain water)...steal abit of soft drinks over CNY....try to eat sesame chicken / pork once daily....took DOM onli 2 days ago after completing my course of antibiotics but stop tis 2 days for medication to cure my flu....was abit concern too....

after my MC i didnt take any "bu" lei. And i dun haev to go through the D&C also. The gynae say it will be flush out.. So should i make a appt with the gynae and do a scan again?

Prawnmee
1.I did not do a proper confinement after D&C except for drinking essence of chicken and avoiding cold drinks. If u are worried, its never too late to start. Eat well and rest well. Also, try and avoid cold drinks at least for 1 mth becoz I got complacent and drank ice coke once which gave me cramps immediately.
2.Don’t worry too much abt cramps after the bleeding stops becoz I believe its ur uterus trying to shrinking back to original size. I had that too. Wish u a speedy recovery

I also had a MC recently and did a D & C on CNY eve. I am resting at hme now, as my gynae covered me with hospitalisation leave. I am still recovering from the loss and doing a mini confinement to pu the womb.

Are anyone aware when i can start TTC? My gynae advises me at least 2 menstrual cycles or 6 wks after my D & C. Can't help worrying that it may affect my future pregnancy.

hey Jappooh...do u remember mi from d other thread....my advice would be to go for a scan to make sure dat thr's no 'residues' left in the womb which might cause infection....=)

sheryl...sad to hear dat...mine is one day b4 urs...take ur time to recover from the loss and take good care of urself....=) will be going back to see my gynae this week...will ask him for advise on wen we could start to TCC again....

Hi piyobaby,
yes i remember you.. Sorry to hear abt your loss also.. Actually can i go to other gynae to do the scan cos i dun not wan to go back to my gynae.

I might wan to go to Dr Adrian cos his clinic is near my hse.

Hi Sherly,
sorry to heard abt your loss. My gynae told me i can try immed as i do not need a D&C. Mine was a very early preg and everything was flush out like mense. He actually tell me is more on whether i am mentally prepare to try for another one.

jappooh....if I were to be you....most probably will consult another gynae since ur current gynae think D&C is not nec...at least seek a 2nd opinion and to have a scan to have a peace of mind too.....im oso seeing dr adrian @ CCK...

piyobaby,
I went for 2nd opinion bcoz I wanna make sure tat my health is ready TTC again.In addition,my previous gynae just did a brief ultrasound every visit.I can't afford to hv another M/C..thus,just went for another 2nd or even 3rd opinion.

Pinpong,
Actuali,I am oso new to Polyp.I heard abt cyst & fibroid but polyp..is something new to me.But since it grows on the endometrium,which might be the cause of M/C or infertility, I might consider to remove it.

Sheryl,
Yes, u shld wait for at least 2 cycles.I oso suggest tat u shld go for check-up b4 starting TTC.

Hi piyobaby,
Actually i seen 2 gynae 1 from from KKH another is Dr Fong yang. Both of them say dun need D&C. But i am not sure have all been flash out..

I have bad experience with KKH cos i cant get my gynae on the day i bleed and was ask to go 24hrs clinic. But then the doc on duty i think didnt do a good job.

So i went to Dr Fong yang when my bleeding get worst in the afternoon. I find he is good but feel his fee abit steep loh.

Cos i am on clomid given by KKH to regulate my mense and the med is finishing so thinking of getting another gynae near my hse.. Dr Adrian is near cos i stay at CCK. Just walk to the clinic can liao.

Oh u with Dr adrian also.. How u find him?

avocado...pardon my ignorance...but wat do u mean by brief ultrasound....dun think too negatively....u will not have another mc...=)

jappooh...he's alrite basically but he speak veri fast and is veri frank in his opinion which im fine wif it but not all can accept it...overall find him to be okie so will stick to him for further pregnancy too....im seeing him either tomorrow or fri morning for review following D&C....=)

piyobaby,
he just did a quick ultrasound.It was just abt 1min.Whereas this gynae,the current one,did a vaginal scan for me,he took quite some times to examine my womb,ovaries...etc..

Well,sometx,we've no choice but to spend extra $$ for my health.Last time,I used to tak my health for granted...lazy to exercise,lazy to go for medical chk-up.Ever since my M/C, i know this is the time i shld start to pay attn of my health.Despite I've a very healthy diet,i don't reali exercise.But now,I pick up swimming again & avoid tea/coffee(i am a latte & "teh-si" lover)

whatever it is,I wanna to do the best to prepare for my next preggie.FYI,my 1st preggie was perfectly ok,even i was on medication for my thyroid & gastric.Maybe i was younger(28y.o).I regret to wait too long to decide to hv 2nd child.

Biw,hv u considered seeing other gynae other than fr. KKH?

you are absoultely right avocado....we always tend to take things for granted....i have neber ever thought of the numerous uncertainties one pregnancy could be subjected to.....at the same time age is catching up thus making mi more panicky & paranoid after tis experience.....=)

not too sure if ur last question is for mi cos my gynae is not from KKH..dats jappooh....=)

I am reading this book on "Pregnancy after miscarriage.", it is very good...it addresses the emotional turmoil we may go thru after m/c and when we are trying again and when we get pregnant again.It also illustrates alot of examples of how many women in similar situation reacts..it was soo good so it so aptly describes the conflicting process...i thot i was going nuts n now when i read it...then i know i m normal!

It also has a section on how our SO reacts so it also help me to understand better.

Go check it out ladies..there are a few copies for loan at the national library.

Hi Avocado
try not to think too much. With ur intention of taking ur health in control u b able to TTC very soon.

Hi Sheryl
Sorry to hear of ur MC. Take good care of urself & rest well.

For my case, my gynae advise me to start TTC after d 3rd menses after my D&C.

It is unavoidable dat those had MC b4 will worry abt their future pregnancy, think we will hav to keep telling ourself to b strong & positive.

when i see both of the gynae both say dun need to do D&C and will flush out on it own. And say that i can continue to try dun have to wait if i am emontionally ready. But i have irregular mense so hard to try also..

Actaully hope for a rat bb now i think is not easy loh.

Jappooh,
I'm oso hoping for rat bb but tink nt possible liao..If i reali nid to go fr. surgery to remove the polyps,i nid to rest for another 2-3 mths b4 TTC.Well, it is fated...I rather to wait for my health is fully recovered than taking any single risk.

U can try seeing TCM to tiao ur body.I've frd who has cysts for yrs(went for two surgery)but managed to preggie after 5yrs,after taking chinese medicine for a yr.Surprisely,her cyst is gone oso.I don't know how effective but I am willing to try

<font color="0000ff">What makes a Mother</font>

I thought of you and closed my eyes
and prayed to God today.
I asked what makes a mother
and I know I heard him say...

"A mother has a baby."
This we know is true.
But can you be a mother
when your baby's not with you?

"Yes, you can,"
He said with confidence in His voice.
"I give many women babies.
When they leave is not their choice.

Some I send for a lifetime,
and others for a day.
Some I send to fill your womb
but there's no need to stay."

"I just don't understand this, God.
I want my baby here."
He took a breath and cleared His throat
and then I saw a tear.

"I wish that I could show you
what your child is doing today.
If you could see your child smile
with other children and say,

'We go to earth to learn our lessons
of love and life and fear.
My Mommy loved me oh, so much
I got to come straight here.

I feel so lucky to have a Mom
who had so much love for me.
I learned my lesson very quickly.
My Mommy set me free.

I miss my Mommy oh, so much
but I visit her each day.
When she goes to sleep,
on her pillow is where I lay.

I stroke her hair and kiss her cheek
and whisper in her ear,
"Mommy, don't be sad today.
I'm your baby and I'm here."

So, you see, my dear sweet one,
your child is okay.
Your baby is here in my homeand
this is where she'll stay.

She'll wait for you with me
until your lesson is through.
And on the day that you come home,
She'll be at the gates for you.

So, now you see what makes a mother.
It's the feeling in your heart.
It's the love you had so much of
right from the very start.

Though some on earth may not see
you're a mother with a child.
They'll be up here with me one day
and know you've always been one."

avocado, which Eu Yan Sang TCM u went?? Have u went to the Tao PaYoh TCM?? Are they good?? Me thinking to go TCM to "tiao" my body 1st b4 TTC for another one.. thinking of going the Eu Yan Sang TCM at Paragon but scare the fee too expensive.. Any advise??

faith...dats a beautiful poem u have there....=)

prawnmee....im thinking abt going to TCM too but my situation will be a little complicated as I'm having drug allergy sensitive to certain chinese herbs which im uncertain if they are confident....heard dat my neighbour went to one as she has iiregular menses...conceived in 6 mths and the 2nd one came one year later....

Bubbleteahut,

thanks. Can I have your gynea details from you? There are some tissues ie is uterus remains in my womb after D N Ctold by my gynea. That is why not a clean job. He gave me some ovulation tab but I am afraid of side effects that is became very fat....What shall I do....? Could some one help me. Could some1 Advise me what if there is some tissue left after DNC? Have any1 done 2 times of DNC at 1 mc?

redis...im not too certain but there might be a risk of infection....why not consult another gynae early to have beta assurance....=)

Thanks for all the concern. Really appreciate it.
I went to my gynae today to chk my womb and ensure no residue left behind. Everything is clear and my gynae advises hubby and myself to try 6 weeks later, at least after a menstrual cycle.

I am really disappointed to go through a MC, as I never expect it would happen to me. In fact, I was looking forward to my second baby as my boy is already 2.5 yrs old by end feb. Really never expected it to happen to me. Right now, I am trying to recover and taking tonic food to pu my health back. Hope I can try again soon. Gyne advises us to avoid sex at the moment too, hubby was a bit sianz when he heard this. But, he accepted it and said he will wait. Hee!

Btw, why do I need to go for another check up when i start to TTC? Anyone can advise? My gynae only advise me to take folic acid when I am ready to TTC.

redis....dun think any gynae will reject any patient....look ard &amp; find one u are more comfy wif e.g. nearer to home...good reviews from frens etc....dun despair...=)

take care sheryl....did ur gynae mention why to avoid sex for the time being....

redis...im seeing dr adrian woodworth @ CCK cos he's near my place...he has another clinic @ Sengkang.....=)

Hey Redis, I tried to PM my gynae’s contact u but ur settings do not allow u to receive PM. U can post ur email add here so I email u.

I understand better fr ur explanation. If there are some tissues left and they don’t pass out on their own in due time, there might be risks of infection. That is why my best guess is ur gynae wants u to ovulate so ur menses can come and u can then shed off the lining including the left over tissues attached. But u sld really seek 2nd opinion.

Fr my understanding, doing a 2nd D&amp;C if the first was incomplete is another option. In fact, for me, my gynae checked me after two weeks after D&amp;C to ensure it was complete to exclude need for 2nd D&amp;C. He did explain to me before that if any D&amp;C is incomplete, there might be need to do a 2nd one. I did not ask him why D&amp;C can be incomplete but I guess doctors always worry that if they overdo it, they might damage ur lining and cause scarring. But I understanding ur anxiety after knowing ur gynae did not do a clean job when most people to not need another D&amp;C or eat ovulation pills. I would hve felt the same.

Don’t despair, there are solutions available. Check with another gynae and explain ur situation. Hear what other gynae suggests, whether eating medicine to pass out lining or doing another D&amp;C is the best option and which one has lowest risks involved. There might also be other options.

In the meantime, u try stay clear of things like crabs, prawns or chilli to reduce risks of infection and that will give u a sense of being in control. Don’t worry ok, can solve one. Let me know ur email for gynae contact.