Support group - Miscarriages

hi yokoh,
I didnt like bitter taste in the TCM powder too. So I add honey in to make it bearable. I did drink chicken essence, just think of it as soya sauce.

Hi fong,
It never occured to me too abt MC. Maybe people really dont talk about it, so we are pretty ignorant about it, until I came to this site and saw all kind of MC. Quite scary. It was until I MC was quite sad, and already my colleague knew abt it. Only then some reveal that they had MC before too.
Was gald for this thread too, as my hubby dont want to talk about it and forbid me to talk about it with friends.

Pegsfur, baby dust to you!

i mc again (tested postive in 4th week) but the sac din form... end up spotting and now.... coming out naturally by itself...really sad after trying for few months...thot will be successful this time......

Tks for the baby dust but hiaz ..... i tested negative yesterday. Looks like have to try harder next time

Sian ah ......!!!! Heh .... just want to shout out

kit mum,
Sorry to hear of your loss. Hope you take care of your body and talk to us here if you need someone to listen to.

Pingpong,
yes, the test kit which i used is those preggie test kit bot from Watson.

Hey,u shld try to tak care of ur health, i know it is difficult.Try to remind urself, it is just a "job".When i was a FTWM a mth ago,I oso got irritated & angry easily whenever my colleagues gave me probs.Then I kept reminding myself it is merely a job,something which I work in exchange of $$. I know it is difficult,then some of my nice colleagues kept advising & reminding my priorities which r: My family & health; coz i was preggie at that time.

My gynea said sex can be resumed as long as the bleeding is stopped. My bleeding & spotting had stopped completely last wk.Just wondering if it is safe to hv sex....Do i reali hv to wait for a month?

HI Hopefully,
i strongly agree wf u. I nvr bother abt M/C & will nvr expect tat this will ever happen to me.Coz I am very health conscious & my 1st preggie was alright.

After my M/C,then I only realised that this is reali very common.After i talked to my frds/colleagues,then oso found that they've had MC oso.

Hi Fong2,
I can understand how u feel.One of my colleagues oso preggie abt the same time wf me.She shld be 4mth preggie now.Luckily I've resigned,if not,it'll be awkward whereby everyone wonders why my tummy still flat, shows no sign of preggie.

This is oso 3rd week after my D&C(27Dec).I used to ponder abt my M/C, counting down & looking forward for my next A/F,it was miserable.So now,I try to divert my attn somewhere.Luckily,my maid gave me a lot of probs(which I've requested agent to send her back), and right now looking for another maid, so at least i've something to work on & busy wf...

hi Kit_mum,
reali sorry to know abt ur mc.Hv u seen ur gynae?It is beta to see ur gynae just to make sure ur womb is cleared(no tissue left behind).

I had went for gynae visit last Sat and had bad news too. At 6.5 Wks the sac is not growing well only 5.6mm had took the hcg test on Sat and Mon its drop by 20. So gynae say the preg is no good and would like to induce my mense.

Ladies do you think i need to seek another gyane confirmation or wait for another wk to see if i bleed? I do not have spotting or bleeding since tested postive.

Confused and Sad

Hi Kit_mum2b

Hi avocado

I only discovered abt my pregnancy 1 mth+ after i tendered my resignation. So right now, temporary being a HDB tai tai.
Only a few of my close colleagues know abt my pregnancy. At least still not so bad.

2 of my close colleagues and i used to think that it will be nice if 3 of us were to be pregnant at the same time. Then we can go shopping together for pregnancy stuffs. 2 of them r now pregnant. 1 of them even has the same EDD as me. It's a pity that i couldn't "join" them.
Hopefully i'll be able to "catch up" with them.

My gynae advised that we can try again after 3 mths. But he emphasized no sex for 1 mth after D&C. I guess it's to prevent infection and to let the womb heal.

hi kiki koro,

Yah, you may like to have a 2nd opinion to confirm the bad news, i mean, just to be doubly sure in case your current gynae made a mistake.

For my 1st pregnancy, I had 3 sacs at week 5, meaning i could be having triplets. The 2nd scan a week later showed that only 2 sacs had foetus forming, the other 1 sac was empty. But at this stage, my gynae already knew i had little chance of carrying this pregnancy. But she said we could wait for another week to see how the foetus developed.

So at week 7, another scanning was done and true enough, no heartbeat was detected, thus confirming my gynae's prediction and she advised for D&C.

We were hesitating when the gynae told us that if we are unsure, we could get another gynae at the hospital for a 2nd opinion. We agreed and she arranged another gynae to take a look. It was confirmed and I had my D&C the next day.

We were so happy when we thot we cld be having triplets, only to have our dreams dashed

Last year i was preggy again, only to have my waterbag burst and had to go for induced labour
. Little Owen was born when he was only 21weeks in my tummy. Hiaz ..... sometimes, i wonder what bad things had i done to deserve this.

Hi Kiki_Koro

It's better that you go for 2nd opinion. It will assure you that you are not making the wrong decision and later when you think back you may regret not having a 2nd opinion.

For my case, when i first visit the gynae when i was 7 weeks preg, the scanning only showed an empty sac. Blood test shows my HCG level didn't double altho it had increased slightly. Gynae told that it's not a good sign. Most likely a missed abortion case. Recommend that i do a D&C asap. I didn't have any spotting or bleeding then.

We went for 2nd opinion with another gynae. Scanned twice. 1 @ the clinic & 1 detailed scan at the hospital. Both results confirmed no fetus found, only empty sac.

At least with this confirmation, this assured us that we can "safely" go ahead with the D&C the next day.

Hi Pegsfur

Dun blame yourself. It's not your fault.

What's important now is that we need to bu and keep ourselves healthy to prepare for our next pregnancy.

Hi Kit_mum
Sorry to hear dat. u take care.
yeah, better go to d gynae & check for any residue.

Hi Pegsfur
try again.. mayb it will b just next time ;)

Hi avocado
Thanx, HB told me take things easy @ work too.
Some of my gal frenz did remind me dat it is only a Job, me trying to do dat too.. but i failed from time to time... sigh
At time just flared up, without thinking, it is only when i felt d pain den i realised & remind myself dat my health is more imp.

Hi KiKi
Suggest u seek second opinion.
Not doubting d current gynae, just to play thing save. No harm getting another opinion.
At d meantime, take extra care of urself & get as much rest as possible.

Thanks Ladies,

I had made an visited another gyane, did a vscan the sac has no heartbeat and the size seems like only 4wks no choice but to accept the fact now Dr had recomand D&C instead of induced menses.

Check wit you ladies how much does the D&C cost? Tis gyane told me the charges is $800+ and can claim half from medisave. I had brought a medishild from Prudential can could claim 100% for any day surgery performed in hospital do you think i should got to TMC or Mt A to do the D&C?

Need Advice

How many days of medical leave was issued after performing D&C?

My gyane told me only 2 to 3 days for u to rest, so short how to do mini confinement?

I am stil suggestion, to induce menses or D&C confused and pros and cons to measure. I had made appointment on Thursday 2.30pm for D&C but have not really decided.

Kiki_koro & Kit_Mum

I am so sorry that you are here with us, but know that you are not alone. We all feel your pain. I hope this place helps you like it has helped me.

Kiki_koro,
I had my D&C done at KKH at about $1200. The procedure was very quick and painfree (i was given GA). I wasn’t given an option whether to wait to miscarry naturally or not. I was 8weeks pg but measured only 6.2weeks.

I found a link on natural M/C vs D&C that might be useful to you. You can easily google for more information too.
http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art21999.asp

In some other forums, I’ve read that it can be traumatic to pass out the sac & foetus into the toilet bowl and having to flush them. Also, some women experienced heavy bleeding and severe cramping while waiting to miscarry naturally. Also, if they did not pass out all the tissues, they still have to go for D&C.

For D&C, the risks will be similar to the risks associated with any surgeries.

Although I have a similar insurance policy which can pay for the Day Surgery fees, I chose not to claim as the agent is a friend and recently given birth. Somehow, I don’t want more people to know about my M/C. Good thing my company allows me to claim against my medical benefits so not so heartache.

As for medical leave, I was given 8 days. The D&C was done on a Friday so 8 days will cover the actual day and the following week. Try asking your doctor for more days. Tell her you need to recover emotionally too and going back to work so early will not help.

HTH

Hi Pegsfur,

I share your frustration...After my 3rd MC in September last year, I was finally given the green light to TTC last month by my gynae and Chinese physician. However had been having yeast infection on and off for the past few weeks. According to the gynae, it'll be more difficult to conceive with the infection...My AF came today, just have to try again next month...Sigh! So both of us need to jiayou!

Seeing friends who are pregnant makes me feel envious as well as depressed. Wondering when will it be my turn to have a smooth and healthy pregnancy.

Kiki Koro,

Like what Yokoh had mentioned, it can be traumatic and agonising to wait for the tissues to pass out if you opt for natural MC. Remember to do a mini-confinement for at least 2 weeks after that. Avoid cold and cooling stuff, and try to consume red date and longan drink instead of water... Take care.

Yokoh & Kiwi,

Thanks for the advice, i had went home to check on my Prushield Extra Insurance it does not cover miscarriage or preg complication. Gosh i am paying $$ to wash away my bb how painful is that.

BTW if i took so many day MC, my colleague will sure ask me what happen so now i am poundering to have a shorter MC or 8 day like yoKoh any suggestion? Have informed my boss abt my case though.

Hi kiwifruit,
Yes, we both must jia you!

Same here. When i see preggy ladies with very big tummy, I will be secretly thinking if my baby is still with me, my tummy would be as big as hers cos my edd will be in Mar, which is in 2 mths time. I dread the day when March comes cos i know i will be extremely depressed.

kiki koro,
I think most, if not all insurance does not cover any medical complications from pregnancy, which includes D&C. My 1st was done in Raffles Hosp and it cost abt $1000+ but part of it can be claimed thru medisave.

I wasn't given any MC cos i was not working at that time. Anyway, there won't be any pain after the D&C and i was out doing the normal stuff after 2 days. But I had my confinement for 2 weeks. My mum cooked those confinment food for me.

Hi Pegsfur,

I am going for the D&C tmr will have MC for friday and will resume work next Monday. Too many days MC i think will have goldfish eyes as nothing to do keep crying over the lost.

Will take note to keep warm and no cooling stuff

Kiki,
I just did my D&C yesterday - miscarriage at 8 weeks. Missing from work since monday afternoon and people already speculating if I was pregnant unfortunately I had a miscarriage instead...

how to fend off these people when I return office, any advise anyone??

Hi Kiki koro and stileto

I told my boss and some of my colleagues about the pregnancy & subsequent M/C. I had to tell those who will be covering my work as it was a short notice and i want them to understand why i had to take long leave (gain some sympathy maybe?)

When i returned to work, apart from those who knew, no one else said anything to me regarding the long absence. I guess either my boss or my colleagues would have told the rest but we just don't talk about it.

Stileto
sorry to learn about your loss. You could simply tell those people that you had food poisoning or flu? or you have to look after your DH who's sick (touch wood)....just a suggestion only.

Pegsfur & kiki koro
Thanks for the infor on insurance. Now i am glad that i did not call up my agent friend regarding this. phew. I have yet to receive my final bill (it's coming to 3 weeks now) so don't really know how much i have to pay by cash and medisave.

yokoh,
thanks but takingcare of DH not possible cos we have hospitalisation leave....think i just say "woman health problem don't want to discuss"? hope they will back off...

hi stileto,
i miscarried last week at 7 weeks, tho i did it naturally, i took 1 week off from work. when i got back today, just told those who asked that its my personal health issues, nicely of course...

sorry to ask...how to miscarriage naturally? can our body can really pass out all the tissues in womb? what's the experience like? how does the tissues look like? clots?

I did a D&C cos I was afriad of what I'll be seeing...so paid $1100 for D&C, all was reimbursed from Medisave & Medishield...

Hi stileto,
sorry to hear about your loss. If you prefer not to say it, you can always tell them you applied short notice leave due to personal reason. Since it is personal, it can be anything so you dun have to explain. But I would think it would still be good to inform your boss so that you can expect them to be more understanding.

hi stileto, its ok.. actually i was quite worried when the dr say no need to do d&c, cos didn't know what to expect. but the next day i started having v bad menses-like cramps and then the bleeding started. it wasn't so bad, just like super-heavy menses with thick heavy clots. actually, i was quite relieved cos this is my 2nd mc and i did a d&c before and i read that multiple d&c not too good for the body, if you have a choice of course.

hope you're feeling better and resting well at home!

Hi stileto,

I had 10 day hosp leave after D&C in dec at NUH. 2nd mc.. still sad.. still not recvr enough after a mth still feeling stress & not ready to try again.. sigh..

well you can say got a flu or what then after see doc get allergy reaction to the medi got spots or keep shaking end up hospitalise. that's what happen to my colloeague recently. Take care.

Just received my d&c bill from kkh. It's $1092...cheaper than their estimated $1200 but still quite ex hor.

Inclusive of this final bill, I would have spent about 2k on all the antenatal consults/scans/meds already. Sigh...

Hi Kiko_Koko

Guess my reply mayb a bit late, IMO, it is better to opt for D&C den let d sac wash out naturally.
For my case, even though my sac was washed out one day b4 my scheduled D&C, d gynae still go ahead with d D&C. dis is to clear off any residue. Which according to d gynae after d D&C, there were tissue remains which d doc had cleared for me.

Another thing is d pains which come along with d natural miscarriage. Was having cold sweat & bleeding when d sac was washed out.

Hi pegsfur
me too, whenever i saw preggie or pple with newborns, somehow cant stop myself from think if i m still preggie i shuld be ard 11 weeks now. what more, 2 of my gal frenz just break d news dat they r expecting. know dat i shuld b happy for them,& not dat i m upset/angry with them, just dat when they ask when is our turn, i dun want to tell them abt my MC when they r rejoicing & me may start crying all over again.

checked with my company HR, they do not insures issue relating to childbirths.
My hospitalized, operations bill ard $1500K after d deduction of Medisave. dis dont include those f/u checkups bills. Haven rec'd d final billing yet.

Hi stileto,
Hope u r feeling better.
Just to share, when i returned to work, when some of d colleagues asked abt me, i just told them personal reasons. some of my colleagues sort of guess dat i m preggie but not my MC. so i just leave it as it is. If u r not comfy in telling ur colleagues, u can dun do dat.

Had my D&C yesterday done in Dr Chua Yang clinic in Bukit Timah. Think she did a nice job, no bleeding just spotting of old blood. Bill was not too expensive though paid $406 in cash and $400+ claim from medisave think cheaper than Hospital.

Body Feeling okie, took red dates long gan drink & confinement food,dont intend to take too many days MC incase colleague start asking what happend and i dont wish to let 2 preggy women in my office knows that i had a MC.

Anyone know when can i resume exercise like swimming? Bec Dr say i need to loose weight b4 i TTC take tis as a break and make my body fit for preg again.

Hi Kiki_koro

Rest well, refrain from bend down & do not carry heavy things. For d moment, take as much rest as u care, think abt how to answer ur colleague later. ur health is more imp.

not sure when u can resume exercise, u may check with ur gynae.

Hi Kiki Koro

Glad to hear that your procedure went on well...do concentrate on building up your body constitution so that you can TTC again when you are emotionally ready.

Do refrain from vigorous exercise at least for 4 weeks and swimming may expose yourself to the risk of having infection. You may wish to start off with taking a short stroll after 2 weeks. However, it's best to get advice from your gynae.

At the moment, do take as much rest as possible. Take care

Thanks ladies for your concern...

I am feeling some light cramps near lower abdomen 4th day after operation, normal? I was perfectly fine after operation but now the crampy feeling...

BTW, i told office people women health problem and they back off....

Hi Stileto
Happy to hear that your colleagues backed off.

Crampy feeling is expected. I read that it is your cervix closing and your womb returning to normal. However, if it gets painful or heavy flow (fill a pad within 10 mins), you should see a doctor immediately.

As for me, the bleeding took exactly 2 weeks to clear. However, at the start of 4th week, i started to have brown spotting again with big clots/sticky stuff. Feeling crampy at lower abdomen too. It's been 4 days now and getting heavier. Good thing i will be seeing the doctor for the 1st time post-op this wed. Will be asking her. Not sure if this is supposed to be my first AF after MC. It's not red so quite worried.

On the other hand, i am not looking forward to going back to the same clinic and seeing all the other happy preggies. I can already imagine my mood on wed

yokoh,

Same here. I've been to the gynae's clinic twice after my mc and each time I cried while waiting for my turn. It was too much to bear seeing the radiant faces of big-tummy ladies

Last week was a bad week for me. For no reason when i'm walking or taking the train home, i wld just suddenly feel very depressed and teared. I thot i had past that phase already but dunno why i can still cry so easily. Maybe i really miss my baby Owen.

hi Yokoh,
when was ur D&C done? I oso experiencing similiar discharge as yours except now the brown sticky discharge which I had last sunday turned to fresh red blood since yesterday & started to get heavier. I guess it should be 1st AF.I've my D&C done on 27Dec, bleeding stopped on 7Jan.

Hi avocado

i had my d&c 1 day after yours, on 28 Dec Fri. Light bleeding lasted for 2 weeks unil 11 Jan, Fri.

The sticky brown spotting started 1 week later on 18 Jan, again on a Fri (what a coincidence!). It's still not as heavy as AF so i'm still using pantyliners.

Now i'm confused whether it is left over blood from the MC or adnormal AF...sigh

Hi Yokoh,
Mine is confirmed 1st AF liao..but the flow is average..not so heavy.

I oso experienced sticky brown discharge on 8Jan.Initially, I thot it was ovulation but my gynae said it was remaining old blood clearing with some natural discharge.

I guess yours might be normal AF lah...Since u r seeing ur gynae tomorrow,maybe just confirm wf him/her.

I am oso seeing my gynae this friday.But not sure how he's going to chk my cervix(using ultrasound?) since I am having menses.

Feeling very tired...what abt u?I don't hv any crampy feeling..

Hi pegsfur,
I hope u feeling beta
I can understand how u feel...that's why i choose to stay at hme..call me coward, but i hate to c preggie ladies or babies on the street..thou I'm oredi mother of 3y.o son

It is difficult not to miss Owen,why not try to divert ur attn? Tak up new hobbies,go for traveling.

Luckily u r working.For me,I am hsewife....so i am quite "free"..After my 1st AF over,I'll go for swim & bring my son out more often.

avocado,

I'm working part-time and i knock off at 1pm everyday. I'm also running my own online business from home and now with the cny coming, i've been busier. But the empty feeling comes in between these busy moments e.g when i'm bathing, when i go jogging, when i took the train home, when i'm packing my stuff etc. It's like i'm feeling ok one moment, and i could be tearing the next. I've not told my hubby abt this cos most of the time, that feeling comes when i'm alone.

Hubby & I just came back from Hong Kong 2 weeks ago and we went to see the big buddha at Po Lin Monastry.

We wanted to try the vegetarian meals cos we always see it in HK dramas and it looks quite delicious. While waiting for food to come, I asked my hubby casually about his friend, who eats vegetarian food on 1st & 15th of lunar mth. Suddenly I just thot maybe i shld do it too, for the sake of Owen. Maybe by doing so, he cld be borned to a better family. And after saying that, I just cried uncontrollably.

It was not easy for me to take vegetarian meals becos I'm largely a meat eater. My mum was very surprised at my decision too. I dunno what came over me to give me such determination and thots to start doing it regularly. Maybe it's Owen. I know this depressing & empty feeling will go away only if i'm blessed with a child again.

hi pegsfur,
Try to tink positively,read some books or stories which could inspire & help u tink positively.

maybe try to go out more often wf ur frds.At this stage, it is not advisable to be alone.

I like vegetarian food & we tak it on 1st & 15th of lunar mth.I oso will try to temple & pray once my AF over.

avocado,

I'm feeling ok actually ... just that dunno why when i'm alone, I tend to think of Owen more.

Oh, so you take vegetarian meal on 1st & 15th of lunar mth as well! I'm starting by taking it on the 1st only, see how well i can abstain from not eating meat .. hahaha .. if everything goes smoothly, maybe i'll do it on 15th as well. Any good vegetarian stalls/restaurants to recommend?

stileto,

When was your EDD? Mine is 17 march and i really dunno how i can handle when dat day comes. Hiaz ... my friend gave me a little ceramic angel and said i can think of it as Owen. Maybe I'll go buy a cake, light a candle and tell him i miss him on that day

hi pegsfur

i think it is perfectly normal to take time to grieve. Do vent here if you need to. You are well assured that we all understand your pain. You are not alone on this

The idea about the cake is really good. Your friend is very sweet to give you the ceramic angel angel. She's a friend to keep.

Avocado's advice is also very sound. I would add to spend more time with your DH too. Although they don't talk about it, they do feel the loss too.

AFM, well, i survived the visit to the clinic yesterday. The wait was relatively short so did not have much time to brood over the happy preggies around me. Saw a cute gal about three or four years old with her parents. Really made me very determined to ttc asap.

Anyway, the spotting stopped suddenly on Tue. The doc is not sure if that is my 1st AF. Told me to be patient and to TTC only after 1 or 2 normal AF. Guess this is the standard reply given by most doctors.

She did not do any ultrasound on me, just pressed on my lower abdomen and said that my womb is okay. Anyway, did a pap smear too and collected 3 mths worth of folic acid. No need to go back for further appt. I do hope to be pg before the folic acid runs out!

Yokoh,
i visited my gynae today. He mentioned that the consistency of 1st AF is a bit unstable...so u might be expecting menses days later.Mine was oso started with spotting then turned to be heavy menses fr 2-3days.I thot it had stopped today but then spotting came bk again.

haha...guess today is our lucky day.My quene wasn't long oso.I met a few happy preggies but now a bit no feelings liao...maybe I am more worried abt my son,he is having on & off fever & flu...sleepless nights...

my gynae did an ultrasound for me.He said my womb is cleared now,no sign of cyst/fibroid..etc.Can't do pap smear bcoz still having AF. Like that oredi charged me $140..heartpain...

U r right,my gynae oso told me tat i can TTC after 2 cycles.My 2nd AF shld b end of Feb,so mean I can ttc mid Feb.But I am a bit skeptical,mayb try to wait a bit more & ttc in Apr.

hi pegsfur,
I've been taking vegetarian on lunar mths since I married...bcoz my MIL will cook vege food on that days.
When come to food,i am quite chin chai,but no fattening,fried food.I am super health-conscious,so i tak mostly vege,fish & soupy food.
Vege restaurant to recommend?hmm...we dont normally hv vege food at restaurant;we normally ta pao fr. any vege stalls at food court or hawker centre.We only go restaurants for italian food leh.
There is a vege food stall at suntec foodcourt,the fried mee/mee hoon quite tasty.

avocado

aww..sorry to learn that your son is sick. Sending my best wishes over to him!

Good to hear that your cyst/fibroid is cleared. April is such a long wait...happy that you can 'tahan' so long lol.

As this would be my first pg, plus i am not getting any younger, i really hope to be pg by this year. Counting down to 2 AF...I never imagine that i would actually wish for AF to come so desperately!

yokoh,
*touchwood* i nvr had cyst/fibroid before lah..just to check wf my gynae only.

don't mind i ask..how old r u?I am 33..try to hv the 2nd one by 35.After tat,close shop liao.

Hmm..do u wanna try having some cooling food such as "liang chai", "chin chau"(black jelly),to make ur menses come? I drank & ate these food,unintentionally...it was bcoz i've bad sore throat,tat's why my mum made herbal tea & chin chau for me.I've menses immediately after tat...