Support group - Miscarriages

piyobaby - which TCM ur neighbour went?? i just need some tonic to "tiao" my body.. wonder they can tell me abt my body condition by just "ba mai"?? i din really "bu" after the D&C, i waonder has my body recover well??

just went for review wif my gynae after D&C....discover blood clot in the cervix which would be expel wif medication for the womb to contract further....other than dat everythg is fine...=)

prawnmee....did not asked her for details cos heard her mentioning abt 2 years back when she conceive her 1st child....wat i did after my D&C is to go to the shop and asked for wat 'bu' to take letting them i have just done a D&C.....by right it shd b tonic containing dang gui but as i couldnt take dang gui....she recommend the next best option...it comes in a bottle form like chicken essence...just have to heat up & drink....a little yucky taste but still bearable....=)

avocado, can advise why I need to for another check up, if I decided to start TTC in April? I have gone yesterday to my gynae to ensure no residue left over in the womb.

anyone aware whether I need to do a PAP smear when I decide to start TTC?

piyobaby, sorry to hear about your loss too. are u feeling better now? have you went to see yr gynae yet? did he advise when you can start TTC? my gynae told mi to avoid sex currently, as he wents me to recover both physically and emotionally first. If I am not wrong, is to avoid any further infections. I am still passing out old blood and brown stains now. I cant wait for April to come, coz wants to have a baby soon. But, I also fear to receive another MC news. Hope my next preganancy can be a safe and smooth one.

thanks sheryl....kinda get over it...at least can speak abt it w/o tears....=)

as mentioned above...tis morning went to see him for the 1st time but due to blood clot...taking medication to remove it...he's asking mi to see him again next week to ensure dat the clot is gone...will asked him abt TTC advice then.....understand how u feel cos we would like to have a baby soon too....young no longer but yet have the same fear as you.....cheer up & think positive....our next baby will be healthy & we will be able to deliver at full term.....=)

Hi Piyobaby, May I know what's the med's name that your gynea gave to remove the blood clot?
Bubbleteahut, really many thanks for your advices. Do you think I can continue to take essence and yomayshu. will it affect the bleeding and ovulation...?

Thanks a lot, piyobaby. u r reali strong. I thought i was alright, but started crying and thinking abt my MC today again. Did u start work immediately afetr yr D & C or r u on hospitalisation leave now?

Btw, any advice what to take to pu the womb? I am currently taking dang gui, ba zhen, liver, longan tea and lots of ginger. Have also started taking DOM.

hi all...i just underwent evacuation of my uterus yesterday...now resting at home . Very low morale, i did my first D&C just last aug, then last month i was so happy to know i was preggy, but there was no heartbeat...so no choice, i have to undergo this procedure. The 1st was at Aug 07 was because my gynae discovered my baby boy is a down syndrome, so we decided not to keep ...now misfortune striked again...wonder if it is retribution...very sad...

Hi Redis, No prob, just ask more if u unsure. I believe u can still take essence of chicken as it is supposed to replenish ur strength. For yomayshu, maybe u should stop taking until the post D&C bleeding stops because I heard from others that they usually take Yomayshu/DOM after the bleeding stops. (But I am not totally sure). Can here anyone else offer more views on when to take Yomayshu?

Hi Tarynn, I am sorry to hear about ur losses. Its perfectly normal to experience low morale after a mc, be easy on urself hor. Its not a retribution..sometimes just a stroke of luck. Take care and take ur time to recover.

PrawnMee,
I visit EYS at Tiong Bahru Plaza,2weeks medicine is abt $180.I am not sure abt EYS Paragon.I went to Tiong Bahru by chance,firstly,it is nearer to my hme,2ndly,parking is cheaper there compared to EYS Paragon.

Bubbleteahut,
I took DOM after D&C..quite a lot..But my mum told me tat DOM will trigger bleeding.So i stopped after few days & bleeding oso became lesser.

Do u mind to share wf me ur TCM & gynae too?

Redis & Bubbleteahut,
I visited my gynae a mth after D&C.My gynae said my womb is cleared but my 2nd gynae told me tat I've polyp last wk.So I am oso quite confused so planning to c another gynae to counter-confirm.

Piyobaby,
Did ur gynae mention wat cause the blood clot?Could u PM me ur gynae?It is kinda scary tat the blood clot wasn't removed completely.

Sheryl,
I can't reali advise u bcoz this is reali ur choice.For me,I am more of "kiasu" type so I decided to seek more opinion for assurance b4 TTC.I'm still seeking for the right gynae bcoz I found my previous gynae didn't check thoroughly enuff.Whereas,the 2nd gynae,looks young.

To b frank, even top gynae cannot detect certain illness sometimes.My MIL was seeing this top gynae for yrs bcoz he couldn't detect she has ovarian cancer.

Yes,u shld reali avoid sex till ur bleeding stops.Some suggest 6weeks.

Tarynn,
Reali sorry to hear abt ur loss.Hv u ever considered doing a Chromosome test?

For Pap Smear,when were ur last tx u went for the test? I did pap smear becoz I hvn't done the test fr abt a yr plus.And since the gynae told me tat I've polyp,so I just did the test to assurance.

redis...im been given 3 days course of Cytotec at 2 tabs once a day....started to bleed lightly after taking it....=)

sheryl....guess it's perfectly normal to think abt d m/c and grieve over it...take ur time to nurse the wound both emotionally and physically....im still on hospitalisation leave till next mon....as to wat to take to 'bu' the womb...find dat wat u are taking currently shd suffice cos dang gui is supposed to be veri good but juz dat i cant take it....but im trying my luck to take DOM too thou it contain dang gui...tried once which seems alrite but had to stop cos im still on my flu medication.....=)

Hi Taryann....so sorry to hear abt ur loss.....dun keep to urself and try to talk to people around you...you will be surprised how much support you could recd to help get over tis difficult time.....=)

avocado....my gynae is mentioned in my previous posting above...=) he did mention dat for 1st time mum who have not given birth b4....the womb might not contract sufficiently to expel the blood clot thus present at the cervix....anyway the bleeding post D&C was quite light for mi for the 1st day....then on spotting for the next 6 days only.....

redis,

I remember seeing past post where there is a lady who is in similiar case as you. Maybe you tried to see from 2006 on ward. She has an incomplete D&C done as well, there was some residue. The first gynae whom she went, even want to do 2nd D&C for her for free.

She went for 2nd gynae who happen to be mine now. The 2nd gynae did not do another D&C for her. As one D&C is already bad for our health, what she did was , she was prescribe some medicine and wait for the body to heal and expel on her own. Which it did after a few months later.

dear redis, i would suggest u get an opinion from a gynae u feel comfy with. every gal has a different body and reaction, u can only use other's experience as a reference, but it may not be exactly the same as yr own situation, even though the symptoms are similar... if u need another gyane contact, can u pls pm me, and i will send u my gynae contact, his clinic is in Mt E, and he is both mine and my sis's gynae.

faith, thanks for sharing the very nice poem, somehow i burst into tears.. i thought i had gotten over my 2nd mc recently, but apparantly i hv not...

avocado, has sent u an email on the tcm at Toa payoh

sheryl, i was told i can ttc after about 2 cycles of AF. but i waited for 3 months before i started ttc again. main thing is to make sure your cervix heal and there won't be risk of infection.. dun rush k, gd health is important..

Tarynn, our experience are very similar, i had a d/c when i was almost 13 weeks last april also becos my baby was Down's. This Jan i had a missed m/c as there was no heartbeat, there was basically not much growth, jus a sac and a very faint shadow seen on the scan..

initally i also think that its my retribution, as i had an abortion when i was in my early 20s, my then bf did not want to be responsible, he din even have money to pay for the surgery and i had to pay for it myself... and now almost 20yrs later, i have to lose 2 preg in such a short span of time... but i will tell u not to give up... i prefer to think there are external factors such as age, and my overall health causing the current situation. or like Bubblehut says, it may also due to luck, but pls pls do not internalise it and blame it on yrself.

all u need is to take gd care, recover well, seek appropriate medical attention, so that u are well and can ttc again... k?

all the other gals, take care and cheer up, we need to have faith... k..?

Dear all...thanks for all yr kind support.

Avocado, no, i did not consider the Chromosome test because i have a normal 4 yrs old daughter and me and my husband dun have relatives/family members who are DS. Moreover, we did our blood test when i was preggy with 1st child and report shows me and husband are normal.

Irene, yah, our experience is rather similar. I have a daughter and she is turning 4 this year and she is born normal. So it was a rude shock when i learn that the second pregnancy is a DS baby. I aborted when i was in abt 20 weeks and it was really very very traumatic. I am so sorry to hear abt yr issue, ps cheer up too!

My mum asked me to take "Bai Fong Pills", do u all think it is necessary and when should i start taking and for how long should i take?
Can i drink DOM?

Tks all once again!

Hi Tarynn,
Sorry to hear about your loss. Do cheer up and take care. You can always seek support from us here. I was also feeling terrible previously, but am a bit better now and joining this forum does help to make me feel better.

When do I need to do a PAP smear? I was thinking to do one before i start TTC. I did my last PAP smear about 2 years plus ago or maybe more than that. I took my health for granted and did not expect that an MC would happen to me. My boy is already 2.5 years and since he was born till now, I havent did any PAP smear. Just want to be sure... Btw, when do we need to start taking Bai Fong Pills? Is it true that we have to avoid seafood now?

Hi Lades,

Just came back from a routine check yesterday and was told my precious little one didn't make it.... At 8 weeks, he gave up on me... No heartbeat was detected anymore and bb wasn't growing.... I'll be doing a D&C tomorrow...

Now my tears can't seem to stop... I wasn't even crying in my sleep... I mamage to conceive thru IVF and was a tough ride for me as initially I was bleeding and was hospitalized... Was only discharged when bb's heartbeat was seen...

I can't help blaming myself if it was something that I did or eat that caused it.... I feel that I can't hang on there anymore...

Thanks gals for your cares and advices. the advices you all give really helps me alots. I just want to get over this. felt guilty at times for if this thing never happen. I will be in my 3rd month pregnancy....

Sheryl,
U shld do pap smear yearly esp now u try ttc.

Irene,
thanks for sending the TCM address

Redis,Cynthia,
I know how u feel but u shld reali move forward than pondering wat hv happened.Ur priorities r to build up ur health,rest well,and prepare for ttc & preggie.

Hi Tarynn
Sorry to hear ur loss. hang in there & take good care of ur health.

Hi Avocado
thinking of consulting TCM as well after reading d posting here. Care to share how shuld i go abt telling the TCM doc dat me had MC want to build by my womb?

Hi Avocado and ladies here
any one can share how i shuld tell d TCM doc?

Have been more that 7weeks after my D&C, my menses just came yesterday. Feeling cramps & "screwing" pain near d abdominal, but d flow is not dat heavy though.

Hi Cynthia
Dun blame urself & dun think too much. Try 2 b strong & hav plenty of rest. u need to b mentally & physically strong to build ur health.
Cry ur heart out, if it makes u feel better.

me still convincing myself too ... let b strong together with d ladies here.

Hi Cynthia....there isnt any blame u shd put on urself....many factors contribute to a m/c and im sure nobody would like it to happen....give urself time to heal after ur surgery...hope dat all goes well for u....be strong & take care ya...our next baby will be born strong & healthy....=)

Thanks Avocdo, pinpong n piyobaby,

I'm dragging for tomorrow to arrive.... I'm still hoping that bb's heartbeat suddenly comes back tomorrow....

yup cynthia....who noes there might be a miracle...=) are u asked to take medication prior to the surgery which include the need to fast?

HI irene
TCM contact: Ban Choon Wah Medical Hall
Blk 154 Serangoon North Ave 1
#01-434
tel: 6288 7439

Thanks xbliss! Glad to hear baby bryan is doing fine. Baby Isaiah is more mild, he only loves to kick when I'm preparing to sleep and disturbs me.. but so far all are very mild ones... seeing gynae again next few days, hopefully everything is ok...

Sorry to see everyone new here, please don't give up hope and remember to do a mini confinement. For my case, I didnt do it, immediately after d&c I went to air con places, stay up late etc and I believe this is the reason why I took a much longer time than usual to recover.. stay positive and dun give up hope

Redis,

Really sorry, I was reading previous posts ranging from Nov 2006 to 2007 when I was at my initial stage of MC. I can’t really remember which lady wrote it. Let me go thru them again and i will let you know when i have it.

How is it now? Did you go for 2nd opinions?

Faith

I have seen this poem in one of the lady’s blog sometime back. It really touched and make me cry whenever I read this.

Pingpong,

Just tell the doctor exactly what you went thru, such as your sleeping pattern, number of time u wake up in the night to pee, your operation date, your AF date and how long it last, the type of colour etc.

Cynthia,

Please don’t blame yourself; I believe if there are any more things you can do for your baby. I am sure you have done it. Most important is your health and take your time to grieve.

Is it possible for someone to be on pill and able to conceive at the same time?

Pingpong,
I just told the physician abt my M/C,when & how was it happened,also briefly told her my medical history.To b frank,i hv no idea wat chinese medicine she prescribed.According to her,this medicine is to build up my energy bcoz I told her i feel cold & tired easily.

Probably u could share wf the physician abt ur medical history, m/c & ur current health condition.

I've been taking chinese medicine for 2weeks.My 2nd AF(after D&C) suppose to come these few days.Could it be the chinese medicine to "bu" until my menses come late?However,I've some white discharge,is it normal to hv white discharge b4 AF?

Hi avocado,

What about your temperature? Do you notice any differences?
For my case, My 2nd AF after MC was abit weird, although it did come, but it is only a little all the way for 7 days and stop totally. I am taking TCM and Pills now; I notice my temperature become more stable and consistent unlike the first few months after the MC. White discharge, could it be mucus?

Hi Piyobaby

I think it all depend on individual, some of the ladies AF regulate very fast. Some of us waited for a few months for AF to get normal. I observed mine become a longer cycle as compared in the past but still at the abnormal stage.

faith
tks for the beautiful poem.

just like irene, i burst into tears after reading it. my babies will forever be here with me.

roxyz,
wah, isaiah is good boy uh? bryan used to kick my cervix so hard i thought i might go into premature labor. haha. Give him a hearty rub rub for me and tell him to be patient still!!

babydream,
my temperature?Didn't reali tak note but tink abt the same.mucus?can't be,coz my ovulation was oredi over.I oso quite worry coz i could feel tat my body oso goes haywire after D&C.Before tat,my menses were always accurate.

U taking TCM & pill?U mean contraceptive pill?My 1st AF oso weird leh...started wf a day of spotting,then heavy menses for 2days,then stopped totally.

Aiya,i don't bother liao.The more i care abt it,the more I stress.Mayb i started exercise regularly & tak TCM,body nid time to adjust.

piyobaby,
tink our hormone level after D&C went a bit haywire & nid times to regulate.

Hi Babydream
Thanx, think I hardly keep track d no of time I wake up @ night to pee. Will try to recall. Thanx

Hi Avocado
Me feeling cold too , esp my hands & feet. My mama told me it is due to fatigue & lack of “qi”.
Will consult TCM after my menses over. Till today, 4th day liao, still having cramps which previous by d 3rd day cramps stop. D flow was light though as compare to b4 preggie & MC.

Hi Piyobaby
What d gynae told me was, it depends on individual person. D first AF after d D&C will be late & it will take sometime b4 d cycle is normalize, as in it will fall back to a noticeable pattern.

Hi Ladies, I cant wait for my AF to be regular as well. When will my first AF be expected, usually after my D & C, which was done close to 2 wks ago?

thanks pinpong for sharing....=)

sheryl....guess it's subjective...notice dat sum takes abt 1 mth while sum takes longer than dat....pray hard mine will resume soon man.....

Piyobaby,

Me too, I am anxious for my AF to regulate, how I wish I have the green light from the doc to proceed on. I cant believe that I need approval for TTC now.

Avocado,

I don’t know what a good temperature range I should have as this is the first time I am monitoring my temperature. But according the doc, our temperature must be consistent at least for a few days before it changes. So far I have only 2 weeks of constant temperature after monitoring for 3 months. The rest of the temperature is like stock market. Similarly my body seems to goes haywire, kind of frustration.

I am on contraceptive pills now; need to get my AF to regulate first. According to Chinese sinseh, once I am off the pills, my AF should come in full force. The pills supposed to manipulate my AF and hormone. I am going to give myself a pat on the shoulder if my AF comes in full force and good this month!

Yeah, stress will not help much; most important is our health and doing whatever we can to boost our health. I try not to think about it too and taking a step at a time.

Pingpong,

Yup, need to track our peeing time, thus sinseh will then be able to predict how strong our kidney is and how well we sleep too.

Hi Redis,

I was one of the unlucky ones who had some problem with the first D&C. I am not sure of the exact medical term, just know that it is blocked and AF cannot flow out. I suffer from cramps but no AF for half a year. After second operation, AF was ok. I was given medication to improve on the lining as it was scarred (not sure if this is the right term).

Hi Cynthia,

How are u ?

wow...rabbit...ur case does sound realli scary...

babydream...guess my dream of a mousey baby is dashed....dun think can be in time le....

Hi Sherly
Mine was late for more that 6weeks.

Hi Babydream
Dun know abt monitoring pee pee time, till u mentioned. Thanx, will take note.

Yeap me also worry, dun know when can TTC, dun know body up to it anot.

Piyobaby,

Last time, I used to think I can plan my pregnancy. I have been waiting since Pluto year to now Mickey/Minnie year. Now anything is fine with me, as long as I can carry my baby home safe in my arm. But deep inside I am still hoping for Mickey year, my hubby ear look like mouse, how nice if I have a baby this year.

Pingpong

I think after you went to the Chinese doc, they will advise you when is the good time.

dats true babydream....we have taken things for granted thinking how tough it is to have a baby....but tis bad experience proves of the uncertainties we faced....nothing is guaranteed....im still hanging on hopes for mickey/minnie....but a healthy baby will b my ultimate aim.....=)

Hi piyobaby,
Lets not give up hope and pray that our menses will resume and regulate soon. hows your blood clot? has it been fully removed?

I was hoping for a mickey/minnie baby as well, don't think i will be in time and was hoping for a smaller gap between my newborn and my boy, who is already 2.5 yrs old. Nevertheless, we will all pray for gd health here and hope to hear good news from all of us soon.

yuppie sheryl....after consuming the medication...had little bleeding onli thus have to wait for my gynae visit on fri to scan for it....of cos hoping it will be gone for good...crossing my fingers...=)

perhaps u can join us in 2008 TTC thread...lots of info & a bunch of frenly gers there....babydust to all of us.....=D

piyobaby, guess i have to join u gals here...today my blood test resuts shows that hcg level is reducing thus Dr Adrian say it might be a miscarriage already. will be doing D&C on thursday...can i ask u some questions ? we will be put to sleep before the procedure right, so do u feel any pain immediately after that ? how much is the whole bill ? can we claim the other bills from medisave ? thanks.

porky....sorrie to hear of ur loss....trust mi but u will feel beta here after a while...i have been thru it...pls allow urself to cry it out for a few days...dun bottle up ur feelings...

u will be under GA which works real fast....knocked out abt 2 seconds after administrating....for myself dun feel anythg at all post surgery...even went to do sum marketing for CNY after discharge....i did not realli understand the billing but rest assured that majority will be claimed under medisave & medishield...bring along ur receipts from your gynae visits for them to submit the claims....overall I dun have to pay anythg .....hope dat all goes well for ur surgery...**hugz**

msn mi if u need anyone to talk to....=D

piyobaby, thanks for the speedy reply. so in fact there is no pain at all ? no pain from below ? u can walk around immediately after that ? cos Dr Woody gave me 2 weeks of hospital leave, i dunno whether it is necessary anot....

no prob porky...juz trying to offer sum support & help u tide over tis rough patch cos i have been there & noe exactly how u feel....

felt no pain totally....juz a little drowsy while GA wears off....im oso given 2 weeks of hospitalisation leave...if u can be relieved from work for tis period of time....juz nurse urself at home both physically & emotionally...take it as a mini confinement to rest....=D