Support group - Miscarriages

Holidaygal, its ok to take them but of cos the absorbing will be flush out from body most of the time cos currently your intake of fa thru food is more than enough if u take lots of green leafy veggie. But its ok. Just take them its food for your body.

I didnt know that fa and fish oil was good for male till i ask my gynae. But for the sake of having a better chance a healthy baby. Got to eat it everyday. After you largest meal or after breakfast.

I am still drinking dom my mum said its good to build up strong uterus. Why dont u try adding a higher ratio of warm water than dom and drink it? I drank it down without water. I drank 30ml every night.

It is my first time here and I hope someone can shed some light regarding miscarriages.

I went thru IVF and 2 embryos were inserted. I was confirmed pregnant on 22 Dec. However, on 28 Dec, I started to have brown/red discharge. I panicked and went to 24 hr clinic at KKH. They spotted a 4cm cyst and a tiny sac. Then they took a blood test and it was 4000+.

I was asked to come back 2 days later and this time round, my blood test is 2000+. I was told I might be facing a miscarriage. I had slight cramping and brown/red discharge for 5 days.

My appt with gynae is on 8 Jan and it seems impossible to get an earlier date. I am now currently on my 3rd day after the discharge and am feeling fine. I still have breast tenderness and bloatedness.

I understand I am supposed to lose all pregnancy symptoms if i am gonna face a miscarriage. And also, I have no pain or cramping. When am I supposed to be experiencing all these? I am currently at 6w2days and seriously all ready for whatever is coming.

Hi curlysue,

Hope everything will turn out well for you. Hmmm.. During my mc, i did still feel some preggie symptoms. Maybe u should bedrest more.

During my mc, i was having cramps and then the bleeding start. I was having brown discharge for 2 weeks before i realised i mc.

Breast tenderness will not go off until ur hcg going back to zero. That is what my doc says. Stay positive.

If you stopped bleeding and no signs of cramps and still having the symptoms. Be glad. Things should be fine. Rest more. Try not to move around. Drink lots of water. Keep track of you discharge and any sign of changes. Im sure when u feel its not right u can rush over to your gynae immediately aNd your gynae will attend to you.

Take care. All te best. May god bless your and your bb.

Hi Christine,

How many mg FA are you taking? GNC's FA is 800mcg rite? Dr Mahesh advise I should be on 5mg FA 2 x a day. Maybe I'm old liao & high risk. You may want to check if your gynae if the amount you are taking is sufficient.

BTW, I was just wandering why you stay 1 nite in hospital after D&C? Mine was a day surgery. I was admitted at 7.30am & home by noon.

Holidaygal,
Are you on antibiotics? If yes, could your rash be due to drinking Dom & antibiotics at a close interval? Not advisable to drink wine if taking medication woh.

Typically, AF should be here 4 weeks after D&C. However, my cycle was haywire. Old liao.

Lynzi,
How come your confinement so long? I did not even do 40 days confinement after my son woh.

Curlysue,
Where did you had your IVF done? Cramping & brown or red discharge is not a good sign. Can you do a walk in at your gynae's clinic? Did kkh put you on hormone tab or jab? Meanwhile, please rest in bed & min walking around. Take care.

I am on 800mcg of fa now. My doc say 400 is more than enough for me leh.. But i took 800 since my hubby bought prenatal pills and fa. So i took both which add up to 800mcg.

Oh i did my dnc at night. I rushed to my gynae at 5pm. Then he say i must get my dnc done immediztely cos my bb stay in my body for too long and im starting to mc. So he say to clear it up asap. So i got my dnc done at 10 30pm. So stayed over.

I took 800mcg of fa but i seem to flush them out leh.. I have got very bright yellow urine after i take my fa. And thinking i over took but cant really care about it as long as i take it every day

<font color="aa00aa">Hehe..my 40 days of confinement is cos im a malay.
Technically, if after birth our confinement is 44 days.
But i practise both malay n chinese customs as my mil is chinese..thats why she cooked for me herbal chicken, black chicken all.
During my first mc was chemical pregnancy n considered still early so my confinement only 2 weeks.
This second mc, though i didnt do d&amp;c, i was told to do 40 days by my massage lady as i really suffered that time with so much wind in the body n tummy.

Holidaygal,
FA, zinc is good for guys.
Salmon omega must take to aid in better absorption as all our cells surrounded by this layer of oil.
The oil gets lesser as we grow older so must replenish by taking fish oil.

Curlysue,
are u on hormone pills now?
For ivf they will give puregon n must do hormone jab rite?
Decreasing hcg n spotting is not a good sign.
Pls monitor..if possible get some mc n do bedrest at home.
Can make lotus root glutinous rice porridge to stop the spotting.
I really hope your bb is doing fine.

My preggy symptoms like sore boobs, backache didnt even go away on the day i was told i mc.
It only disappeared few days after that.
Hugss

Christine,
im still taking red date longan cos my womb tends to get cold easily..no good for ttc.
Now im prepping my body for the big O next week..hope can strike again n it will stay sticky.</font>

Oh... But its just ur first af.. Dont u want to wait a little longer before trying again? Im still waiting for my af... Which is such a long wait... Can af last for a few hours of bleeding and then stopped? I wonder why did i bleed and cramp the night before.

Hope everything turns out well.ur symptoms during preggie is the same as mine. It didnt go away right after i did my dnc. It went away few days later. I think my sore boobs are the worst symptoms. Hoping my next preggie will not be such a painful one.

it's about 6 days after my D&amp;C and my boobs are really sore and heavy, and my body looks preggie. i think my BHCG is still high and that's why?

Lynzi, i still have a bottle of omega 369, is it ok to take in replacement of the salmon oil u mentioned?

Curlysue, how is ur BHCG now? Do have more bedrest if u r still spotting. God bless your bb! I dint have any spotting/cramp, all went well after my IVF until week 8 where bb stopped growing.

Athen,
no i am not taking any medication/antibotics...i am allergic to alcohol since young, and this small cup of DOM seems really potent (to me!), heh..

Christine,
I'm taking 10mg FA a day now. Have been taking 400 - 800 mcg FA since 5 yrs ago. No bright yellow urine leh. Not rite to have bright yellow urine woh. Are you drinking enough water or have been eating very heaty stuff due to confinement? Try to drink more water.

Holidaygal, I think you better stay away from alcohol since you are allergic to it. Don't play play. Allergic symptoms can be quite serious. DOM has very high alcohol content. If really must drink, boil before drinking?

Holidaygal: i tot there should be antibiotics for the few week of dnc? I got 5 days antibiotics. To avoid infection. U can take other tonic to replace dom. Not everyone is suitable. Ur preggie look can be due to water retention during preggie.it will go off soon. Take it easy.

Athen: hummm i dont know leh.. I am very heaty i guess. No matter how much water i drink i still get bright yellow urine after my fa and prenatal pills leh.. Maybe i need more wAter than usual cos im exercising everyday.. Maybe drain too much water out.

Holidaygal, you can add a little dom while making chicken soup. Just add a little inside when cooking it. One point can evaporate the alcohol and another point u can still get to drink your dom without allegies. Wont waste your dom. My mum did tat too. She even try adding 1/3 of martell with the black chicken to make soup. Its nice and warm. And no more alcohol contain inside.

So dom can do the same thing. Im fortunate cos my mum knows all these knowledge on confinement. So, im more or less recovered now. Just that i still bleed after intercourse. It has been months seen my hubby n i had it. Had been hard on the hubbies i guess.

Well, dont think so much! U are doing good! Cos i also been through those sore breasts and preggie look its damn demoralising. But a week later things got better.

Just that the tummy is showing. Just focus on recovery and try again Soon! Like lynzi! She is all reAdy for another try.. Im waiting for mine in march.. While going on my late honeymoon. Hope can get a little gift back home by then.

Babydust to all... Dusty sticky!

U can give it a try.

Christine, after my D&amp;C the nurse gave me 2 pack of pills ,said take it only if i have tummy cramp (only when necessary). I dun have tummy pain or cramp so i dint take leh. Are those supposed to be antibiotics? hmmm....

i realised my spotting has become diluted red...not the menses red but watery...

oh, u mean there will still be some blood after intercourse ? May i know when is it ok to have sex again after D&amp;C? is it 2 weeks?

Thanks all, think i will add DOM into soup.

Hmmm.. Yeah my doc came to visit me the next morning and told me antibiotics are for infections. They should give you antibiotics to avoid any infections. Yes, there are suppose to be painkillers and antibiotics. So, maybe your doc didnt tell the nurses to give you antibiotics. But i think they should know about this. Well, as long as u dont intercourse for time being, u should not be getting any infections.

Yes, mine also became watery. Very light spotting. That is a good sign! Humm.. My gynae only told me to use condom to avoid preggie so soon. When i visit him after a week of dnc. He didnt tell me when to intercourse again.

I start intercourse on my 3rd week of dnc. There are sure to have some bleeding along with mild cramps. Its fine. Unless u get very extreme cramps and heavy bleeding. Then its better not to do anything until your bleeding stopped.

Usually 2 weeks after dnc can do it le. So its up to you. If you feel that u are not ok, then play safe, dont do it. Wait till your gynae say ok. U can ask your gynae during the next visit.
dont worry about it.

<font color="aa00aa">Holidaygal,
are u still carrying your bb in u?
I carried mine for 2 days before i had my natural mc n everything came out. The waiting was so torturous cos in my mind i know its no longer alive n yet its still in me lor.
Becos i chose to wait it out, my gynae gave me a weeks
worth of antibiotics..said its to prevent infection.
The night before it came out, i cant sleep..tummy was so pain.
I felt mild contractions on n off. In the morning i felt real need to go toilet..saw so much thick red blood on my pad.
When i sat down on the toilet bowl, the whole sac dropped out..can hear the plonk sound.

For first mc, I didnt have intercourse at all until after one cycle of af.
For this, i have not been having intercourse from my O that i striked in oct till now lor.
Can only intercourse after confinement is over..which is 10 jan for me.

Christine,
i cannot keep brooding ah though im still sad at times.
Time is precious n i really want a bb soon.
In fact, i want 3 before i hit 35..haha
Those times that i cried, my boy will come n ask, why mummy cry??
When he asked like that i got more sad..sigh..emo me.</font>

Oh lynzi: u can only have intercourse after ur finish confinement? Its true that time is precious. I want a bb by 23 and second bb at 25. But everything have to be pushed backwards le. I think earlist, i by 24 then can have a bb. So sad... I also hope after my first af, i try for another one but then i dare not take the risk of another mc.

Hi Athen, my IVF is done in KK. I am now taking Duphaston and Folic Acid. Im taking double dosage of Duphaston since I started bleeding last week. I was on progesterone jab for 17 days before they confirmed I was pregnant on 22 Dec.

Hi lynzi, I'm already prepared for the worst but hoping for the best. Thx for the well wishes.

Hi holidaygal, I will only be taking the BHCG blood test this Saturday. Been more than a week since my last BHCG. If it goes up, I'm just hoping its due to Vanishing Twin Syndrome where only one embryo survives. If it declines further, no need to think so much already. Confirmed miscarriage.

Just wanna prepare myself. How soon will KK ask me to go thru D&amp;C once they say it is a miscarriage?

Curlysue: maybe u are right. So if only one embryo survives. The other is slowly disappearing. So dont be dishearted. It can be just due to what you mention. Be brave! Everything should be fine. Dont scare yourself alright? Best of luck! This is a good year. So, you should be lucky. Just bed rest more. And wait for saturday to come!

Christine, i will be seeing mt gynae next thurs for a follow up checkup, hopefully no blood clots and my womb is back to good shape then.

Lynzi, doc had taken out my bb last week. I did a D&amp;C cos he told me natural MC will be very painful and I dont think i can handle it alone emotionally. U mean u can hear the sac drop out? I cant describe how sad i am hearing u say it.

Curlysue, hang in there, u wont face the worst. pray that your BHCG doubles. My BHCG increases every week but dint double and that's when the doctor suspected something is wrong. I was scheduled for D&amp;C the following day once they found that i m/c.

It should be fine. If you dont have any sign of fever, cramp, heavy bleeding u are ok! Dont worry ok. Just wait for your first af!

I should b having a M/C also ... I'm into the 11weeks but still no sign of heartbeat, as the sac is still at the size of 6 weeks. My gynae said to let it come out naturally.

what do your suggest ?

Natural mc will take a longer time to discharge compare to dnc whereby it will be totally removed immediately. My fetus stopped growing at week 9 and i only start bleeding at week 12. And my gynae said i am only slowly mc-ing.

I think your doc will give u a medi for natural mc right? That is what my gynea mentioned. But he chose to do dnc cos im hitting my 2nd trimester. My sac is too big.

If you really want to be safe and dont want to go through this whole mc. You can opt for dnc.

brenda, i'm sorry to hear tat. my bb has no hb at week 8 and doc decided to do d&amp;c the following day. I dun dare to go thro a natural mc.

christine, i was so bored just now, tried to sweep the floor and only for 20 mins, my lower body was so achy and felt breathless. looks like my recovery is slow...

Holidaygal, u are only in your first week. I started exercising during week 2 and i got so tired only after 15mins. You better rest. Try not to do any housework for now. Its not very good for you. Your bottom is currently very weak. Walking for 5mins is more than enough already. Achy body cant avoid de. Get your hubby to help you massage at night before you sleep.

Try to relax.. Your recovery is fine.dont worry ok? Must remember dont rush into things. I also felt the same. Feeling bored, upset want to find something to do. But i realise it will only. Make me feel worse. Relax is the best remedy now.

No problem. All of us are going through the same situation. We are suppose to encourage each other for better future. Yes... Stay cool... Soon we can try again!

<font color="aa00aa">Curlysue,
i sure hope to God that your bb is ok.
Keep talking to bb, stay positive n do bedrest ok.
Will pray that your bhcg will double.

Brenda,
if u want to wait it out n do natural then better ask for antibiotics to prevent infection.
Can also get cytotec from your gynae to help induce it n purge out all the tissues.

Holidaygal,
i not only heard the sound but i felt it came out.
Its like something slippery n round slipped out of me.
Its the same feeling when i gave birth to my son n he came out of me.
Wont wish for any mum to go thru that.

Ehy u just d&amp;c better rest more..dont walk too much..dont do housework.
Your womb still not strong so cannot take strenous work.
Just concentrate on getting your health back ok.
I had terrible aching cos wind entered my body so i did 3 days of massage. After that properly covered myself, drink only red date longan with ginger n dangshen.</font>

lynzi,
oh, i dint really cover myself cos the weather is so warm esp during the day. Jialat, i am not taking care of my body.

i am diligently drinking the red date dangshen tea everyday. may i ask why can i go for massage that is good for our situation? usually people do post natal massage, but is it suitable for miscarriage case?

Holidaygal, my cousin who gave birth to 2 kids said.. To do the massage is good cos to push our uterus up back in place. She also advice me to do but i dont have any one to recommand who is good for this massage. So until now i also didnt hire anyone to help me massage.

My hubby also say ok to it. He dont mind to pay the money to let me do it. He say as long as its good for me he will be fine with it.

Wonder if any of you have got any good massager. How long do we need to go on with the massage before ttc. My cousin didnt tell me how long she did it. So wonder how it is like.

Anyone brief me on that?

Holidaygal, i also didnt wrap myself up. Unless im in an aircon room. I will wear jacket and put on socks. Esp. Sleeping at night.

After drinking and eating all the ginger tea whatever tea and food.. I was sweating even just by sitting down to watch tv.. Ppl say sweat is good shows that you are heaty enough already. I myself is a heaty person. So add on with those food and drink.. Im like a heater already.. Dont stay in air con room jiu ok le. Dont worry de.. As long as u dont feel gassy in tummy. That shows no air went into your body.

Hi OP!

WOW isnt it great! You got a pair of HAO! =) I will not give up.... will persist.. but then again now not on TTC yet until green light. Always nice to hear success story =))

Tub, You went for your appt yesterday? Any progress?? I was thinking of asking for Duphaston to regulate my O date because I always late O and think that could be part of the reason for MCs... Scare he brush me off! Sigh

Christine,
Bright yellow urine can be due to Vit B in the multivit you are taking. I get mine from GNC and the sales person did advise me not to be worried by the yellow colouration

Oh.. Thank birdbrain.. I was worried due to lack of water.. Had been drinking so much water till im going to explode. Thank you so much.

hi ling, u remembered my appointment date! yes i saw dr mahesh and the report shows that i have my old friends, anti-ro &amp; la, but i ALSO have high levels of anti thyroid antibodies and low proten S figures. sigh... now have to deal with many more issues.

can anyone share more about the implications of thyroid antibodies and protein S?

Tub,

Ya remembered =) KPO mah...

How high is your thyroid antibodies? Mine is classic.. the numbers are in thousands! *faint* I really think this thyroid antibodies got to do with our mc leh! =( Hmmmmp! Why cant they find us after our childbearing age! At least the tests yield some results and we arent that clueless anymore you reckon?

So what did Dr Mahesh suggest now?

Hey ladies, did anyone of you experience bloody brown sticky discharge after dnc? Im in my 3rd week after dnc.. Suddenly went to the toilet, when i wipe, this sticky brown transparent discharge came out and its quite alot.

Could i be ovulating? My af isnt here. Its quite scary cos, i didnt experience tis before even during my normal af days.

hi ling,

dr mahesh suggested i meet up with him and sheila vasoo about 1-2 weeks later. can't remember the date... think about 14 jan or 20+ jan.

well, i agree that at least we are not blindly trying and miscarrying anymore.

Tub, think is 24th right.. Only day where they have the clinic together.. I also have appt on that day. Let you know my "conclusion" then...

sometimes can be a very simple thing that will yield positivity hopefully we belong to those cases..

<font color="aa00aa">Ling, tub,
good to know u gerls will get some solutions to your mc.
Soon u will get sticky, sticky bfp..hang in there!

Tomoro is my last day of confinement.
My mummy say wana do some prayers to ask for blessings n good health from God.
After the prayers, i can bd le..so miss bding. Poor dh has been whining away..whuahaha

Christine,
maybe u are going to O.</font>

Lynzi: hmmm.. But i cAnt get preggie so soon leh... So sad.... Hais... I need to wait.....

My hubby had been so down during the days without intercourse... Until i let myself go of it.. So afraid of infections but then since the first time we try it out nothing is happening, we felt good. Haha...

Months without it is bad for hubbies... Unlike we ladies..
all the best lynzi..

Christine, my spotting has spotted, no more bleeding. but for the past 2 days, i had twitching pain on my lower abdomen (ard the ovaries)...did u experience it? not sure if it's normal...

Brenda: you will experience heavy bleeding for few hours or a day then cramps in your abdomen area for a day or two.. Do a mini confinement is good for you.. You have to keep yourself warm as after your op your uterus will be very cold and weak.

Try making red dates with longan and dangshen tea to drink everyday. If dont have dangshen u can just add ginger. Drink it for a about 2 weeks to a month up to you. I did my confinement for 2 weeks.

Avoid spicy food, cold drinks, junk food and seafood. Eat more fish and veggie. Try drinking dom every night before bed. If you are allegy to alcohol add a little dom into your tonic, like chicken soup or something. Or add into your fish when steaming it.

I ate only steam fish and stir fry kai kan everyday and drank rice wine chicken soup everyday and well as the tea i mention. Keep positive. And be alert on heavy bleeding these few days. If you have heavy bleeding or bleed clots do let your doc know. Remember to take antiboitics from the hospital to avoid any infections.

Holidaygal: hmm.. I did have it at times its because they had scarred your uterus wall and its recovering. Just like u have got an ulcer, u will have sharp pain at times. It will be fine soon. Dont worry. Try doing very little massage on the pain area. It can release the muscles and u wont feel that pain that much le.. If the pain is too strong and too long visit your gynae asap.

Play safe than regret later. Do some stretching on bed.
are you in your 2nd week after dnc?

Christine, thanks...i dare not touch the pain area cos worried i might aggrevate the pain. I dun feel the pain this morning, so hopefull it stays tat way. yes, it's my 2nd wk after D&amp;C. btw, i have acnes growing on my complexion, does that mean it's good cos i'm heaty enough?

how did u manage to stay positive? I think my hormones are running high and i kept crying day and night, just like a tap. During my 4-5th week of pregnancy, i weeped alot too and it's very upsetting to cry non stop.

Athen!

Looks like we all going to be there on the afternoon of 24th!!! =) Now I wonder if Avocado and Xiaobibi also going on the 24th! LOL

Hi ladies..

Its been a while since ive posted.. but have still been silently reading..

Brenda - Hugz... i remember just feeling quite tired and week after the op...do make sure ur dh or family is with u.. i think their support is the most impt at a time like this.. diet wise, i think Christine has been quite comprehensive.. the longan red date tea is good.. try not to touch cooling and cold stuff..

Curlysue - how is your blood test?? Will pray for you... hugz..

Ling , tub, Athen,

Me too. Seing Dr Mahesh and Shilla on 24 Jan.
My appointment is 230pm..i think. This is my first appoitment. The last appoinment is cancelled and no one inform me till i am in NUH!!
Somemore, they mix up my name with another patient name. All my records under another person name. So, please double double check you name when do blood test...