Support group - Miscarriages

Avocado, I went to the one in joo chiat 观音庙。ask the temple aunty where is 助生娘娘 is placed cos this temple has alot of gods. I find the map and update here. I normally goes there once a month after my visit to my Sinseh. I also recommended my galfriend there when she was ttcing, guess what she just delivered one week after me.

I did donations like to cancer society, hospice etc etc. And let my baby have the 公德。just donate within yr means. It really feel good to do 善事. I Also donate her cord blood to Singapore cord blood centre. So little here and there means alot already.

Christina, tell me about it man, some more my mil still dares to tell me the condom thry used expired they don't know. But really it is yr mil 因果报应 not yours. So your future pregnancies would be 顺顺利利用one. Be Positive.

Stefie: my mil told my husband, last time government got this law say one family cannot have more than 3 kids. Just nice she pregnant the government release such law. So government give her permission to do abortion under government charges.

But my mil told me she aborted it cause she couldnt handle as her little daughter was studying. So tell me, how to believe what she said. Some more, she still say i smoke i drink. I quit smoking for 2yrs already for the sake of healthy preggie. I dont drink like my hubby. He drinks everyday. While i drink on ocassions but i stopped for months when i ttc. So how can blame me for that. And blame me for doing housework. I did simple housework as a routine exercise during preggie. I did ask my gynae he also say ok.

Sometimes really lor.. Blame themselves for such selfish act rather than blaming us. My baby was doing so fine at week 8, doc still say very healthy. She abort it when her bb was at 2 months plus and i loss my bb gal at week 9 plus. Coincidence? Its quite hair stand. I dont blame the bb my mil aborted for taking away my bb gal cos i know he is a victim too. I cant help but im really angry with my mil.

Hi Girls,

Hope everyone had a good Christmas..

Sunny,

You going to which doctor? I am not sure what tests name because there was a whole list of it and the results came back in stacks! Karyotpying is only 1 vial for sure..

Tub,

you took the blood test right? Maybe they be able to tell you if it might be ovulation spotting.. anyway dont kan cheong... relax =) Wish you have something conclusive for the 6th Jan visit! =)

Hi Christine, I think dont read too much into it. You have done the chao du I think is good enough. What your mil done is last generation.. imagine some of us have multiple miscarriages cant be out parents have so many abortion right? Live and let live...

I had miscarriage twice, once last yr & 1 this yr. This yr the wash up was done perfectly but I felt extremely weak after 5mins walk, like dying.. Like what u all doing, I was suggested to talk to my mil if she ever had miscarriage or abortion before. She kept telling us no, no such thing, aft 15mins phone talk to her before ending the call, she asked y do we want to find out so my dh told her so. Guess what! She finally admit she had miscarriage! I was so furious is because i know she wanted to conceive so much aft her 1st child, and it was like aft so many yrs she finally got 1. I juz cant believe how come she can forget? Or act blur not to tell us that? Took her nearly 20mins to tell us the truth.. sigh... I even brought her to temple to check if we can do the chao du for that unborn baby but the temple say they only do it once a yr (jiu chai pa temple)
Then mil told me she know a lady can do such chao du then i leave it to her, who knw she drag for nearly 2mths never bother to do it and i was so afraid that will affect us again.. for the ying ling sake her family, i thout she will juz go ahead to do something w/o 2nd thot.. sigh..
until a col recommend me the amk feng shui shop then we finally close the case..

Hi Ling,
thanks for sharing. I went to Dr LC Foong, another IVF specialist. I was IVF patient so i thought see another IVF specialist first before deciding if i should also see the doctors at NUH. Before Dr Foong, i was under Dr SF Loh at KKIVF for all my IVFs for the past 3 years.

Dr Foong encouraged me to go ahead with karyotyping and auto immunity tests as he dont see anything gravely wrong with my hormones and hb SA. Even our embryo pictures look ok to him. So when i say maybe something deeper and underlying is wrong, he agreed to get checked out.

Now i very scared i go back to Dr Loh for review next month and ask him to do auto immunity testing as he might not agree or he might not do a comprehensive set so thats why trying to research what are all the tests under auto immunity to make sure he included for me.

Hi Stefie,
Me too very comfortable with Dr Adrian. Can call him anytime if got problem.
Just wandering abt your mil's case. I understand that Catholics are not encourage to use contraception measure & cannot do abortion. They believe that having a bb is god's gift. How come she used condom & did abortion?

My MIL also did abortion b4 as she cannot afford to have another bb. Not sure if it has any relation to my MCs. She is not a believer of any religion so she will not go to chao du her unborn bb. Talking to her abt religion will really make me vomit blood. I guess I'll do my part to chao du all my 4 unborn bbs. I somehow feel that ying ling does exist. When my son was young, he was sick very often. Coincidently, I was always thinking abt the 1st MC during that time. After I told myself to stop thinking abt it & get on with my life, he don get sick so often. Is it the "bro" or "sis" jealous of him thats why he is sick? I understand that if we keep think of the death, they will linger with us. Not sure how true is it. Maybe he is now older & stronger so not sick so often? I don know....

Sunny, there is a long list of test to do for different types of anti-immune. I understand that only NUH do extensive testing on this.

Just called Buddist Lodge. They are doing fa hui to chao du ying ling now. The fa hui will go on for another 2 weeks. I'll drop by the temple today.

Orh thanks Athen. I will just have to list down as many as i can find and understand then. Hopefully can get tested for the right tests.

Sunny,

I've listed down what NUH did for me sometimes back. You can browse through my previous post. Sorry for not able to list down again as it is really too many.

Hi Sunny,

Dr Foong sounds like a patient doctor. The problem is that we have done probably 2-3 blood tests for different things and is really a list. And like Athen say some tests only NUH have the equipment to test it according to the doctors. It is a little weird if you ask me because the place is so much run down compared to SGH.. haha.. anyway personal opinion only.

Karyotyping at least spot certain problems you may have and that is what I done on my 3rd miscarriage. I know from this thread there was a couple of girls with bad karyotyping hence decided to request the test. Pretty expensive that test. If you can get subsidised from KKH to do it will be better.

This Dr Loh seems to be able to instill a certain fears with girls under him huh. I guess no harm to ask him. He might be receptive to it afterall.

Hi, I'm a silent reader. Been following this thread for the past few weeks since I found out my baby's heart stopped at 10weeks.

Re: Chao Du, rituals & miscarriage
In my humble opinion, we just do whatever we can to cleanse the grief and in our own way, bid farewell to the baby we never will hold in our arms. As to the question if angry or vengeful baby spirits caused your miscarriage, it's up to individual interpretation & belief.

I'm a layman buddhist, so this is my understanding. Buddha encouraged active questioning. If you have doubts, question it. Find proof and if you are satisfied, you accept it as a fact (No offense to people of other religious belief). For my own situation, I have spent the past few weeks trying to think of every possible reason why I miscarriage. Too much caffeine? I shouldn't have gone to hospital to visit someone who just gave birth? I did something that older folks advise not to? I just wanted to find something or someone to place the blame of the whole miscarriage on. The worst part is I’ll never be able to find the exact reason for the miscarriage (and I guess this applies to most people) and I can spend endless hours speculating what went wrong.

Eventually, I choose to believe I just unfortunately fall into 20% miscarriage rate category. There's probably something medically wrong and the fetus just didn't manage to survive. I have friends and family members who experienced the same thing or worse, have to give birth and hold an unmoving baby in their arms. They eventually made peace with themselves and life goes on. Many of them went on to have a healthy & successful pregnancy later on

The only thing we can do is to stay healthy, eat healthy, exercise & be positive and prepare ourselves to be in the best condition in order to try again and hopeful really hard that our next pregnancy will proceed well.

Hope all mummies will have a successful & healthy for their next pregnancy=)

Thanks Athen, Ling
Ok i go find!

For karyotyping, the results will probably spot which are the few problematic genes and should only be a few key problematic ones, unlikely all are problematic right? Meaning there is still hope that some months/eggs, we can still have normal healthy babies/embryos right?

Ya, Dr Loh will sometimes shoot down certain requests if he thinks no need. Like i asked for growth hormone, he didnt think i need and he didnt give. But karyotyping he say before ok to test. Auto immunity we have not discussed thats why i dont know if he feels no need also.

Hi Birdbrain,

Sorry to hear about your miscarriage. We will get there someday I reckon. And you are absolutely right... just do the necessary to get over the grief period.

Sunny, Hard to say I assume... if there is even some generic issue with one of the chorosome in us or hubbies it might up the probability of pregnancy miscarrying. However you are right it is by chance at times even a person with faults in karyotyping will go on to have a successful pregnancy.

What is growth hormones? I think you are really brave! IVF is really a tough journey and to coupled this with MCs... Hopefully God have grace and guide us through.

Just to share. I saw something online that kind of comforts me. it's probably very "Ah Q" and just a silly way to comfort myself, but does help me a little.

"The Buddhists say miscarried and still-born babies have already learned all the life lessons they needed to in past lives, and now they only have to touch on this earth long enough to be wanted and loved before they get to go to Nirvana."

Reading through the archives, I read accounts of mothers who braved through multiple miscarriages, stillborn, IVF disapointments, countless of lab tests to find out what's wrong to better chances of next pregnancy. It's just is humbling how much parents are willing to go through for their children

Christina, really just let it go about your MIL. I just hate it when she give me craps about my mcs, when she just abort her baby, giving excuses she had 2 difficult pregnancies (My hubby was breech, and my SIL was blue when she was borned)

Healthy mind=Healthy body. So take it easy, you can still young, can try again. Asked your hubby to quit drinking also to maintain healthy sperms
Jia you

Athen, I will stick to Dr Woody, but he really too busy sometimes, i normally find my answer from goggle. He really don't have time for me. Just look at the no. of queue per day at the clinic enough liao. During my labour, he wear bermudas and T-shirt, ha!! ha!! 1st time see him so rest and relax
He is very nice gynae, even he don't say much. He is really a gem, I call him my Dr Hope after my 2nd M/c
He is like 24/7 on call like that. Poor mine.

I think it is Christians that cannot use condoms and abortion bah. Plus my PILs are half pass 6 catholics, no sunday church for them and my FIL is very into syed ba-ba now. Since my hubby is catholic, besides gong to temple, I also went to Church to pray to Mother Mary for smooth pregnancy and delivery for my Princess. If not my hubby can't ever bother to go to Church at all.

To me, better to keep thinking about future and not the pass, don't be too pang dan really, it will do you no good at all. Things just happen, not cos of what you did or what you eat. Like your boy sick is not cos of his jie jie or gor gor that made him sick. Your 4 angels are in better place now, maybe waiting for their turns to come to this world. Plus your dnc not cos of no reason, just that your pregnancies were not healthy. So just let it go. You will be happier person leh

Birdbrain, it is not silly way of comforting yourself. It is good way as long as it make you feel better. Really just be positive and happy. I was also very worried about my 3rd pregnancy. I just join the MTB group, I dare not give my EDD or join the mommies in FB till after week 30. Joining the groups supporting each other is a good way to be positive and happy, and of course helping each others out.

Remember Happy mommy=healthy baby, this really help me a long way to carry my baby into full terms, of course plus praying, TCM. So jia you

Stefie: you are really a very strong willed lady. I must look up on you. I intend to visit the temple to pray. My mummy say visit goddness of mercy temple every month if i can. Absorb some holy scent. Intend to go to the temple in joo chiat. Cant wait for the new year to come. Feeling so stuffy this year end. No good.

I guess i really have to. Ove on. I think ignoring my mil will be good for now. Seriously dont wish to hear her say her thoughts. They will have 101 reasons to everything i do. Play safe. I keep a distance.

It's interesting reading all the different views about miscarriages. Seriously, I think before we dwell too much into the unknown, we should perhaps focus on finding the scientific reason why we have repeatedly miscarried and attempt to rectify the problem first and foremost. ")

Ling, I hope it is ovulation spotting but I never had that!!! Now don't see anymore red, just light brown. I hope dr mahesh can shed some light next week...

Tub,

I also dont leh... but sometimes I think hormones imbalances will prompt mid cycle spotting...I only read about ovulation spotting in the other threads before.

I still have to wait for another 4 weeks for my next appt loh! SIGH.....

Christina, thanks for the kind words
Since I have being thro 2 M/cs and a healthy pregnancy, I should share with our dear Jiemeis here. There are always hope, so don't give up.

Remember when praying do not give any promise, just pray for heng heng soon soon. The Joo chiat thousand hands Goddness of Mercy has Zhu Sheng Niang Niang, do pray to her at the same time

I also ignore my MIL cos nothing nice will come out from her mouth. So I need to make myself happier, i have to think for myself first. I know I am selfish, but when I am in trouble who really help me? Only Hubby and the Gods I pray. So really not the time to worry too much about what others of me.

Now just do things that make you happy, once TTC successful, healthy pregnancy, then as a mommy has to take care of our baby's needs. More things to come. Now just keep a positive and happy mind. Things will be good. Jia you

Stefie, yeah... I will take note of that. Ya lor, my mil also. During my tough times also my hubby keep me accompany. Only my mum and dad and elder sister really care about me. Not saying those awful things to hurt me even more.

Shortyncute,
thks for the info
I'll make a call tmr.

Stefie,
may i know the name of the temple at Joo Chiat?Is the temple located exactly at Joo Chiat Road?

Christine,
I always feel tat MILs will nvr like their DILs.They'll nvr treat u as their daughters.My MIL oso sound like Stefie's MIL=nothing nice come out fr. her mouth.Instead of showing sympathy on my m/c,she said:"i don't know how to console u,later tok wrongly then u complain to my son n my son blames me for hurting ur feelings"i would rather she don't call,call n tok nonsense.

my MIL is those kinda always like to interfere everything me n my hb do,including how shld we teach our son,i find it ignoring.She always calls my hb,EVERYDAY,even he is at work.She claims she is busy but she has so much time to call my hb.

Keep a "long" distance wf ur MIL if u feel happier.Give excuses,for e.g.u can mention u r busy so don't talk to her.

For my case,i gave tons of excuses to ignore her calls but seem she can't catch my hint *faint*

Hi Stefie,
I agree wf u,whenever i pray at guan yin or any godness,i just wish to hv happiness n health.I told guan yin that i understand everything happens is for a reason.
last time,i oso used to tink what will my MIL thinks if i do this or tat.Nowadays i bo chap.My MIL gives me more trouble than help me.But even we do nt stay together,she can give me trouble too.I find her extremely ignoring coz she likes to call my hb,call him n find out what we're doing.She is kepo.When we ask her for help,she said she's busy.Then she has so much time to call my hb.She is damn thick skinned,call my hb when he is at work,i don't even dare to call.

I always quarrel wf my hb bcoz of my MIL.sianzz..

Regarding MILs, i already decided if i am preggy again, will not tell them already for fear of another MC. As it is now after 2 MCs, though they didnt say anything, they sure feel its us 'DILs' not being competent to carry the pregnancy. Even my own mom say maybe its my womb. They wont recognise that sometimes the guy's genes etc play apart in the MCs. The older generation believes that as long can get pregnant means the guy's sperms are ok and their job is done. Thus if cannot carry the pregnancy full term is the dil's fault.

Ling, growth hormones are given to those who has low ovarian reserve in hope that it can help to grow more eggs. Usually its given during IVF so that it can boost eggs stimulation. I am not brave but just stubborn, refused to believe i cannot get preggy since IVF yielded ok results. But now i am forced to face the hard truth that so what if IVF yield ok results? As long as genetically got problems, i can have the most eggs and best embryos from IVF but i will still fail as even the best embryos can stop development in the womb or MC due to genetic defects.

Athen, i found your auto immune tests list. Thanks. I also went to research on more names from internet. Wow its mind boggling, dont even know what is for what. Dont even know should i really get tested for all these but guess its better than i just throw resources blindly into more IVFs? Is auto immune tests more costly than karyotyping?

<font color="aa00aa">Hihi ladies!!!!

One more day to the new year.
I hope the year 2011 will bring good luck to us, let us have healthy, sticky pregnancies with healthy babies.

Telling myself to think positive and stay healthy so can bfp again.

Tub,
yup agree with u.
Finding the scientific reason is good so at least when we know we can try to deal with it.

My af is finally here yesterday.
So today is CD2.
Flowing so thick coupled with bad cramps.
Its exactly 4 weeks since my mc..is that early?
The last time it took me near to 6 weeks before my af came back.
I counted..just nice when i finish my confinement on 10 jan, i will be going to O so yes im going to start trying again.
I so cant wait!!
Told myself, i wont stop trying but if God decides that its not meant to be mine then i just have to accept the fact no matter how sad i am.
Like the saying..what will be, will be. The future not ours to see.
Can only hope and pray for the best.</font>

Hi Sunny,

Agree about MILs... a bane if you ask me remind us not to be like that when we ever have dils in future LOL.. Anyhow I think it save you a lot of grief by not telling them for sure. For my 3 MCs we didnt even tell his folks we were pregnant because my hubby know his folks too well and hence when I had the MCs it was all quiet and peaceful so we can take time to grief on our own.

Thanks for the explantion on the growth hormones.. It is pretty complicated on how a rheumatologist can help you. I would actually encourage you to go to NUH through the subsidised route otherwise testing is going to be expensive as the tests are pretty extensive. I would think Dr Foong might charge even more as I already think it is pretty expensive even though I am on subsidised rates... I know some of the girls who are going to the recurrent loss clinic are not too keen on the numerous testing but for once I really find they really seems keen to help us accomplish this dream and the tests are prehaps testimonial to that.

They might just have the team to help you would you consider checking them out?

Lynzi, Not too soon lah... 4weeks is good means your body recover really good =)

Avocado: wah... Seems like everyone of us has got mil problems.. I am lucky i stay with my mum. Whenever my mil make noise abt not going back to her side to stay. I got so pissed off, always get my hubby to go back and sleep over instead.

No one can understand our situation. My mum also keep nagging ask me go over. Dont wish to explain too much.will end up more problems. I dont see the reason why we must cater to them when they dont even treat us as their daughters.

Lynzi: congrats. My doc also say my af should be here. I think i will be welcoming new year with a brand new af. Haha. I also hope my af will be here soon. Hope what my doc calculated is true. Lynzi your confinement how long. I only did my confinement about two weeks. I am now back to drinkong warm plain water. I take shower once a day. But i still avoid seafood and spicy food and cold food. But im not taking any confinement food le. Now on diet le... Get back in shape before chinese new year. And then i can try again after chinese new year.

Wish us all good luck in preggie!

Avocado, the temple is quite near to 飞飞云吞noodles shop, it is actually in tembeling road, the temple is call 观音堂. Enterance has one big 弥乐佛, the laughing Buddha. The temple has thousand hands kuan yin. This temple is beside huge carpark. Hope this will help, I still can't find the map to the temple. Will email you once found.

Christina, we are not our pils fresh and blood leh. So why bother, anything just let yr hubby handle.

Avocado, I only start talking to my mil after my week 20, she started to call me to nag at my hubby eating habit and keep stressing me about it, I was so pissed off I told her off. How could a mil want me to nag at my hubby and cause unhappiness to the couple. Really selfish one. She told my hubby I was rude to her. Since then I don't talk to her. She don't even buy anything for me to bu for my pregnancy and my confinement. She said she will hive 1 big Ang bao for our princess 1 month. Really lor, at least should give us earlier the $$$ since confinement needs alot of money. At least my mom gave us 1 Ang bao to buy bu for me. See our mom is the best. Anyway I banned my mil to come cos I would be stress by her words again. She even want to tell me about how one stitch case gone wrong at the vagina when she visit me at hospital. Really lor I don't need that kind of negative stuff leh. Sorry for the rants. Really never ending.

Stress is bad for pregnancy. Avoid people who will stress you. I got so stressed up during my wedding. Not good for body and mind..

Ya lor i shall avoid her all the way. I also got intention no to tell my in laws about my next pregnancy. Play safe than regret.

Hi Ling

Actually i also thought of gg to NUH cuz i worry Dr Loh wont test as thoroughly as NUH afterall he is not as specialised as Dr Mahesh's team in this area. So if go to NUH, best to see which dr, will it be Dr Mahesh? I heard that he is only in limited time a month, oh dear, like that how to catch him if i am going to be referred from polyclinic leh?

Can someone also share with me your costs for auto immune tests? I know karyotyping is almost $500 per person. Is auto immune testing even more expensive? Trying to plan my budget now.

Hi Sunny,

It might or might not work but lets try... You go to a polyclinic and get a referral letter for recurrent miscarriages clinic let them book an appt for you with NUH.

They will call NUH for an appt and since only 1 team is handling recurrent miscarriage they will defintely go to the recurrent miscarriage clinic or to the rheumatologist first. Hence no worries on that... I think there is another 1-2 doctor that is specializing in recurrent mc cases with a rheumatologist. So even if it is not Dr Mahesh is fine.

If really keen I think just take the plunge and further more they have ivf specialists as well. So at least the team to equip with your next pregnancy will be equipped.

On the cost of auto immune tests.. it depends if you are subsidised or otherwise. Also make sure you bring ALL tests you have done before to show the doc so you might save on some tests.

Thank u so much Ling! You have a good point there. If Dr Mahesh cant see me, suppose if i am really such a problemed case, the other doctors might discuss with him. If not subsidised, roughly how much do you know?

Stefie,
Got it,i went to that Joo Chiat temple to pray for my 4th m/c baby.It is the one located among the condo n old shophouses n wf big carpark.My hb n me always went to eat laksa n nyonya food after the praying:p
Ur MIL said such an unsensitive remarks..u just delivered a baby so tired n she said abt vaginal thingie to worry u....my mil oso same same...when she visited me at hospital,she didn't even carry my son,just looked at him n said coldly:"he looks like u".Yet,everyone says my son looks like my hb.something wrong wf her eyes,indeed,she went for operation due to glaucoma few mths later.
I don't understand,why our MILs cannot talk nicely?My MIL likes to tok funny things.One day,she suddenly told me that i'll not abandon u even after u hv given birth.Actuali,i don't mind she abandon me,so long my hb still wanna me,hehe.
that's the thing,i oso hate it when my MIL says something to my hb n cause us quarrel.

Shortyncute,
my hb n me went to pay for the chao du at Kim Yam Road today.We saw some babies milk bottles at the praying...*reali headache*The lady at the temple very nice,she suggested us to pay additional $10 to chao du for anyone whom we might hv offended b4.

Lynzi,
U so fast hv had ur AF.Mine oredi one mth since my natural m/c on Dec6,but af still not reported yet...quite worried.

Christine,
u very cute...ask ur hb sleep over at ur mil side.I used to do the same thing as u when we first got married,coz i cannot stand my MIL constant calling n i hate to go bk to inlaw pl.So I asked my hb go bk n sleep overnight there himself.But after some times,I realise what i did is mistake.Coz it gave chance for my MIL to "stick" wf my hb more n even make it hard for her to let go.I mean I know i shld let my hb spends time wf his parents too,but i find they're too much,overboard.My hb,my son n me oredi hardly hv time for ourselves,then PILs come in to take up our wkend.My hb works 5 n half day per wk,sometx even sunday.My son oredi can't recognise his father.That was the time i know i shld do something.When i pissed off at certain time,i'll tell my hb to go bk n stay wf his parents.
U r absolutely right,i oso feel why shld i cater to her needs whereby she doesn't treat me as her daughter.

Avocado, yes that temple. Ask the temple aunty where is zhu sheng niang niang. I also don't know that temple has until my sis told me. Pray Liao Heng Heng soon soon okay

Just ignore our MILs lah. The more upset we are the more negative vibes, not good for our bodies leh. Must attract more positive vibes
think of good things and thoughts.

Hi sunny,
I paid $1,400+ to Dr Adrian for general MC testing &amp; Karotyping test for myself &amp; my hubby. Another $1,500+ (Pte rate) for 2 consultations with Dr Mahesh &amp; those blood test which I listed down. I feel that his charges is more expensive than Dr Adrian.

This MIL &amp; DIL problem has been around centuries ago. It will never be solved. Me too have problematic MIL. Like some MILs here, nothing good come out of her mouth. She is so "good" that even her son is pissed off with her. Lucky we don stay with her. If not, we'll really go mad. She keep saying TMC &amp; Dr Adrian is not good, his diagnosis is wrong. blar, blar, blar. If I have a choice, I won't tell her if I'm preg again. Then got to think of excuses not to go to her plc for dinner during weekend.

Today is new yr's eve. Hope 2011 will be a very good yr for all of us here. Happy new yr!

Sunny, I PM you....

Athen, Ya I think because he is A/P not just a doctor so hmmm cost also move up with rank. *headache*

Lets hope 2011 will be a good year for all of us!!! =) HAPPY NEW YEAR in advance!

Avocado: ya lor. I ,ake sense there. What if my mil get used it him sleeping over and wants him to do that often. Since before marriage he was home all the time. I guess i am only getting my hb to stay over for that one night. Thankful that our hbs are on our sides. If they also go along with their mothers. We will really end up with no say and no rights.

My af also not here. But i receive cramps last night and a brown patch of old blood discharge and now when i wipe i still get that... Looks scary. Its just like how it was when i found out my mc. This kind of discharge really is not nice. Wonder if its a sign of my af coming.. Hopefully it is... Pray hard for all of us who are waiting for our af... To come..... Asap... Best.. Come tomorrow! Then we will be less worried! And we can prepare for our next try..

Hi Ling,

Hv been following this thread on and off and thought I'd drop you a note here today on the eve of a new year.

Time flies... I remember how it was here in mid 2009. It's my prayer that 2011 will be a good year for all of you here.

Oh, I delivered my girl in early Sep. She's almost 4 months old and I'd be back to work some time in Jan.

Take care, ok? *hugs*

Happy new year to everyone here! May 2011 be a Better year for all of us. Babydust to everyone! May we be blessed with luck and love for a healthy preggie and smooth delivery.

i'm new to the thread as i just my bb a few days ago. BB stopped growing at week 8 and i had my D&amp;C 3 days ago. Am still having spotting, is this normal? This is my first pregnancy (IVF) but bb dint make it. I'm devastated. Anyone experience the similar, any advice what to do next?

Holidaygal: hi welcome. Sorry about your loss. Although mine isnt a ivf bb. But i do go thru the same as you do. My bb stopped growing at week 9 and i also did dnc to clear up. I stopped bleeding the next morning after my dnc. And having on and off spotting for about a week. So dont worry. Its normal. I was worried too that i kept calling my gynae to verify.

Do a mini confinement is what you can do now. Eat lots of fish and veggie. Im still eating lots of fish and lots of veggie esp. Kailan. And drinking martell chicken soup once every 2 weeks and some herbal chicken soup to build up my uterus.

Drank dom every night before bed. Im in my 3rd week after dnc.

Rest alot. Im still having my so called confinement. But i start to drink water and bath. Oh yes avoid cold drinks and food. Fruits as well.. Eat apple only if u can.

That is what my mum instruct me to do. So far i feel good and one week after my dnc, went back for check up my gynae said im all well recovered. Im back to normal. Just waiting for my first af. Which so far no news yet i need to wait for a week more i hope.

Eat anything that is good for your body. Drink ginger tea. Or make red dates plus longan tea. Drink it like water. Its very very good. Keep yourself warm.

Christine, thank you for the advice. i am having 2 weeks confinement food and my body is feeling very warm whole day.
I am having bad backache, with the suan suan feeling, is it bcos i dun lie down often enough? I heard we need to lie flat and not sit?

Holidaygal, hmmm i do get the backache too. U can sit or lie down its all fine. Lie down is to avoid any heavy blood flow. But if you are not bleeding, then its all fine. I was bedridden for a night in the hospital then return home the next morning. By then im already doing fine. For now it should be ok. Try taking folic acid and multi vitamins. To push forward your recovery.

I was taking folic acid and prenatal pills from gnc on the 5th day after my dnc and im still taking it. It seems good. My recovery is good. My gynae advice me to continue taking.

Fish oil also. U can get the folic acid from gnc. About 20bucks for 3 months dosage. Your hubby can take them good. To improve sperm and egg quality.

So by then when you are ready for another ivf, it will be a good one!

The bad ache will disappear in few days time. Dont worry about it, try walking around more. It will aid in your aches and recovery. Think positive. Everything will be back to normal soon.

<font color="aa00aa">Happy New Year ladies!!
May 2011 bring us sticky bfps n healthy babies..HUAT ah!!

Holidaygal,
so sorry to hear about your loss.
I got ivf frens who failed 3 times n they are still trying so dont give up ok.
I also just had my second mc on 30 nov..bb was at wk8 too.
My first tri would have been over now if not for that.
Now u can do some confinement..keep yourself warm.
Drink red date longan with ginger n dang shen..avocado taught me this.
Take confinement food..no cold stuff ok.

Christine,
hi dear! Now its new year so look forward ok.
Im still doing my 40 days confinement.
I got one more week to go..will end next monday..weeee
Now i only drink red date longan n my chicken essence on alternate days.
Thats besides my normal regime of supplements like FA n RJ.
I cant wait to start again.

Ling,
oh 4 weeks is fine..phew
Tot its too fast..hehe
I think when my gynae last scanned me i was going to O liao as that was exactly 2 weeks before my af came.

Avocado,
hope your af will faster come.</font>

Lynzi: wah ur confinement so long ar... My one enough anot leh.. I stop my red dates longan tea le.. I now only stick to dom every night.

I dont know if my af is here leh.. I bleed lastnight and cramp badly. But then it stopped after a while.. Today suppose to be my af day as my gynae mention leh but i dont knowif this bleeding is my af. Its only the 3rd week after my dnc
Leh...i also cant wait.. But i need to wait for my af to be normal. If not cant calculate ovulation period leh....

Christine,
hi, oh so it's ok to take the usual vits (ie Folic) during confinement? I stopped all pills now cos i'm not sure if ok to take during these 2 weeks. I dint know FA is good for hubby too, hehheh. Do you take DOM before bedtime? I took a bit few days ago and is now suffering from alcohol rashes (am allergic to alcohol). Dint know DOM contains such high vol of alcohol. sigh...

Lynzi,
oh, may i ask why is your confinement period so long? I only thinking of doing 2 weeks.

May i know when AF will report after D&amp;C?