Sembawang MTB or SAHM

Hi.. pple..Iam back..
Real stressful..I did something stupid and end up in hospital..I slashed my wrist & take overdose of painkiller..didnt die..but felt terrible..

so now on counselling with psychiatric..Got post partum depression

Currently on medicine tat help mi to sleep..but didnt take @ all, as if I dozed off, nobody will take care of BB..
trying to cope, as I am going to wk after CNY, so had to enaged a maid to care for my BB..really scared MIL MIA..
also went back to my mum's place to stay for a couples of days..felt abit burden to her as she need to for my dad, mi & BB..

During conefinment, still can cope as I am doing the nite.. morning time, my MIL took care, I slept from 7am to 12 noon..4 hrs sleep each day..
suddenly she disappeared.. I cant even bathe, go toliet or go downstair to buy food..A day, had to wait for hubby to be back then I have food to eat, A day only one meal and so mental & physically exhausted...

and when my Vaan Vaan wailed..
Really feel like strangling him or put a pillow over his face or jump with him..
luckly I didnt..
I juz couldnt bear it for the 4th day to care for him all days & nites long and I juz cant take it,I slashed my wrist and took lots of painkillers..
ended up in my hospital..I think his wail juz drive mi up to the wall
Ya.. come to think of it, very rashed..dont know what comes over mi?.. juz wanna to escaped from everythings..

After a good nite sleep, better liao.. but now backed at hubby's place..I feel the tense again..
Not in good term with my MIL anymore..still cold war with her..

Dont know why I become so irritable? The baby & the household chores

juz lose my cool, now one hand feeding him, the other hand typed keyboard..

I also quarrelled with my Hubby regarding his mom and really want to sets up our own roof.

so tired, looking after him myself alone ALL days & nites.. I dont even dared to sleep cos worried he might wailed anytime.. and I didnt eat everything till hubby come back home from work, cos dont want to carry BB to downstair coffee shop and eat, scared he might wail...

I know I am stressed out liao.. cos beside drink coffee everyday, I hardly ate any food & dont feel like eating, realised my hands tremble alots for nothing when left freely..dont know why I become so scared?

I also wished to go out.. but nobody @ home looked after Vaan Vaan..
If I bring him out, I also damn scared he wailed in public..then pple will stared..and give mi a kinda look like I am disturbing their peace..

That day, I brought Vaan to KKWCH alone and with that 5 kg bag, and a carrier..juz wanted to have a bite in Macdonal..chop seat liao leave him there a while, he wailed..and lot of pple staring @ mi..

Then I immediatly carry him & run into the toliet to calm him down.. Dont talk abt eating liao..then went straight home..

I totally crop up @ home..I used ran out everydays, even third trimester, still outside shopping.. now juz felt so pressurized...want to have some time off, also cannot..

I am getting a maid.. cos nobody to take care of BB while I go back & work.. so will be leaving maid and Vaan Vaan in my mum's place...and fetch them backed when we back..

Shuhui, just glance thru the posting. Poor you
If u temporary need some break, bring baby Vaan to me. I can help u to babysit in the day and u just go and take some break, ok? U have my hp no., give me a ring..bring his diapers + FM..the rest I have

Shuhui, getting a maid cannot solve the prob 100%. A new maid need very much training and coaching. This may take some times for them to adapt to our house chores and routine.
The reason I quit my job and become a SAHM bcoz I can't leave my bb and maid at home. Vivi is right, they can't handle any emergency happened. My maid only doing house chores, wash bb clothings and bottles. Only recently she is able to cook my bb's porridge after much coaching and supervision. U got the point? My maid already with me coming to a year..only recently she is more hands-on on my bb.

From my bb borned till 4-5 months, washing bottle, pumps and sterilise are all done by my hb when he comes back fr work. We do not want to risk leaving this chores to maid just in case she never rinse throughly. Well, u can say I'm very KIASI, but I rather be safe than sorry.

I would say your MIL's attitude got some prob, but did u guys communicate with her properly that she has to take care of bb? She may think that u r still on ML, you are at home, so she can MIA or go elsewhere.

Now you can opt to have a part-time maid to clean up the housechores before you hire a stayed-home maid. Try out part-time maid first..if it works well, u can consider getting a stayed-home maid.
Alternatively, I can suggest you get 1 day off weekly. Talk to your hb, during his off-day, maybe Sun, ask him to take care of Vaan and go out do some simple shopping or having coffee with your friend or even visit your mom. Just give yourself a break, 3-5hrs enough? Trust me, you are lucky..you are not tbf. For me, I can't even leave my bb to anybody..she is with me 24x7 coz I tbf and no bottles for her.

Shuhui,
I agree with apple. The maid is not the solution to your problem, though a good one may lessen your burden. Got to work things out with your family, particularly your hubby. Also, everyone need some space and time off for themselves, especially mothers of infants! So negotiate for some time off to go shopping or coffee sessions with friends. Its therapeutic!!! Even maids get their off days, so its only reasonable that mothers get their R&R day too.

Like you, I'm also an outdoor person till my babies arrive. Still adjusting to my home-bound lifestyle too. I welcome gatherings at my place if you need a place to have afternoon coffee/tea without being stared at when our babies cry. Can ask Van and apple along if coming over on weekdays. We can "chio" Vivi if meeting up on weekends. Cheer up and see you soon, okie?

Shuhui - Come on baby, we are behind you! You are not alone.... Remember what I had told you during the phone call... hope it helps

twins - Wow your invitation is very tempting. Hmm my confinement will be over after this week. I am joining your club very soon... wait for me

apple - You are just wanting to give the best gift for your darling so it isn't wrong to be tbf just that only mummies suffer & no one else will understand.....

Van, I understand the benefits of tbf and with my supportive hb, I'm doing fine all along. So I think having a supportive family members always help. At this moment I already see the benefits of tbf
my darling is very strong and she got no prob going thru the stages like teething, jabs and the uncertain weather..even overseas travelling.
You jia-you ya!! Try to bf as long as possible.

twins_mommy, ok..lets set a tea session at your place where we can meet and share experience
Is also helps to make our mind relax with some chit chat going on..keke
I just realised that my gal and your twins gal plus Vaan and Louis are all consider same "age". They are 2006 babies..so future they gonna be in school in the same year

Shuhui, I gone thru real bad time during my confinement too! My mom passed away during that period, and worst,I was not able to attend the wake and funeral(old ppl believe mom doing confinement are dirty and bad for the deceased). After this incident, I told myself, nothing can beat the pain of losing my mom without attending her wake and funeral, but I still accepted the facts and stay tune to adapt with my NB at that moment. Now I take things easy and accept things widely too. So you got to carry on and love your Vaan and cherish your life.

apple - Aiyoh my bm is pretty low as Louis still refuses to latch. He's treating the teat as the main source of milk instead. I will try my very best to pump out then.

Nowadays Louis has got those "pimples like millia seed" popping out at his face area and some do carries some redness too, are there any recommendation to it, tks in advance?

After discussion I will try to look after Louis on my own for a start instead of getting a maid. Hopefully he doesn't screw me up too much... praying...

Since my confinement is over after this week, I'm seriously considering getting the caterer for my lunch. Should I get the confinement meals or the tingkat delivery? Any caterer to recommend, tks in advance?

Van,

Is your latching technique correct? Louis may be in uncomfortable positions that's y he refuse to latch. Do you have breastfeeding pillow? Shd invest one if you keen to bf.
Express your BM according to Louis feeding schedule, this will signal the production of milk.
Drink more fish, milo, soup and green vegetables. Apple helps too but limit to 1 apple a day to avoid Louis gets phlegm.

If your confinement meals are not that comprehensive I suggest to cater another 1 or 2 weeks confinement meal as lunch. Then after that go for normal meal.
I catered mine fr Natal essential. Portion is huge, can eat 2 meals :p

apple - The latching technique shd be okay. Just that the moment after Louis tastes the nipple, he will just push it out via his tongue thereafter and his face will turn very unhappy. Either he will cry or his hands will try to push me away. Can you tell me more about the food fr Natal essential? For example, the varieties and the taste etc etc... I can't seem to find the website though....

Van, is tat right the latching technique ok? cos my fren also her girl refused to latch but after I described to her the correct position to use hor then ok liao can latch lor. but sometimes also quite embarrassed if bb get very used to the nipple when they are older they naive wat so sometimes tot of milk will come grabing the breast lor. if bb really reject the nipple then its not end of the world to let bb drink from bottle lah. as long as bb gets to drink the bm.
Apple you girl will like this or not? grab the breast openly or she still quite young? hee....

I agree with apple that though after confinement should continue to have confinement food and refrain from liang food till 2 more weeks and still eat bu lor older generation used to have confinement for 49 days......

Vivi,
My gal self wean-off fr breasts..keke..so I got no embarrased prob publicly :p
She is now taking EBM and 1 feed of FM via spoon feeding. A bit tedious and need a lot of patient. No choice..she refused to drink fr bottles. My biggest prob of tbf!!

apple, tat is quite a problem if she doesn't like the bottle. wat those feeding cups where she can suck? ya using spoon to feed milk could be tedious esp when bb is fidgiting......hee.... luckily for your u SAHM so got lots of time to feed her.

apple - at least you know how to spoon feed your gal. The problem of prolong tbf is always bottle feeding as the kid will resist it initially. Ultimately it's worth it as the BM is the best gift mummy can give to their loved ones. There are cases where the kid may prefer to drink from the cup instead of milk bottle, of course it varies from individual.

vivi - re: BF, the kid may grab the breast in public or wanting to pull up mummy's top as they have no idea that it is embarassing for their mothers.

Now the only thing I can do is to express the BM into the milk bottle but as all of you are aware so long the baby doesn't latch the supply will run out fast...

Vivi, yes. If I'm not a SAHM, for sure my gal is trained to take bottles from the start

Since now she is take 3 solid meals, milk frequency already reduced. We are fine with just spoon feed her. Well, to be frank, she is just lazy and nottie coz I gave her water in bottle and she drinks! See!! sigh...
I'm going to train her drink from cup soon. Since she likes drinking water fr cup and play with it.

Van,
I have friend who successful TBF by only expressing for 1 year. She got inverted nipples so quite tough for the bb to suckle. Correction kit attached, but the kid also refused to suck. Hmm..she got good supply by taking all the nutri food. She is a working mom. Very hard working lar, express 3x a day in office and 2x at home.
So u jia you lar..demand=supply, if you mentally think that your supply will run out, it will. It you mentally said I must produce more milk for my bb, you will see the results.
You know when I wanted to tbf my bb, I do away all the FM. You don't see any FM sitting on my table until recently

Van, apple is very right demand = supply. u don't express your BM till feeding time only when Louis wants his milk. BM can be stored in freezer for sometime one. U just have to manage first in first out to use up the BM. Can express when you fill full then gradually the body will produce more and more BM. I know of someone from this forum where her BM is so much tat she can give away to other pple and she also express out and store so it can be done one. Dun worry too much just have to make sure you eat right cos wat you eat will be digested and affect the BM and later will pass on to bb when he feeds on it.

Apple, my 2nd son Breyon is the opposite from your girl, he only uses his bottle to drink milk and won't drink other liquid from it and drinks his water from cup, spoon fed. He is very naughty too. I am trying to look for something where I can fill up full with water and when he wants to drink water just suck from it or something cos drink from cup and to feed everytime really quite troublesome if he can suck from some form of water bottle will be much easier. So I might try the straw later.

Vivi,
Breyon shd be able to suck from straw rite? I think he is elder than my gal? Ops I can't remember how many months he is.
I tried Pigeon Mag Mag cup, er..she dunno how to suck fr the straw yet. So I use sprout no. 2, like teat but with bigger holes. And I tried Avent's cup, hmm..whit elephant coz that one need to suckle hard and this nottie plus lazy gal refuse to suck! She only interested to bite..sigh

Vivi,
I also donate my EBM..keke..
The supply=demand concept very good ah! I always keep in mind when I feel tired and sick of expressing BM for my gal. When I'm lazy, my mind will tell me if I don't express this round, my BM supply will dip.
At one time, my freezer is full of EBM. I stored close to 100 packs..wahaha..my friend came to visit, see my EBM stocks wanna faint!

vivi - do try out the straw, it helps for some of the children. Otherwise try praising him when he drinks from the bottle. This take some patience though...

apple - wow didn't know your BM supply is so good! I really takes my hats off you, you can really don't buy any milk bottles and go all the way to tbf must be a tough challenge for both your hubby and yourself. Initially I wanted to be like this too but too bad I've got too many relatives that opposed sianz...

Next week onwards I'll be 1-to-1 with Louis, wondering if I can survive the lights or not, praying....

Van,
I'm sure you can do it! Mommies have strange power and inner strength which we don't realise it until our kids come along. Hee...

All moms & mtbs
I had a word with Dr Lim Wee Kiat (our MP here) at the carnival last Sunday. He wanted to know what new moms in this area are looking for in a childcare centre and what our needs are. Apparantly, MCYS intend to issue more licences to set up childcare centres in this area and Dr Lim is working with them on that. He gave me his personal namecard and I'm thinking of writing to him. What do you all have in mind?

I personally feel that the operating hours should be extended, so that working moms don't have to rush like mad after work to fetch their kids. And since my block (and Van's) is furthest away from all the amenities, I'd really appreciate a childcare centre near my block.

What do you ladies think? Let me have your comments and thought, and perhaps we could jointly email Dr Lim with our requests.

Hi twins_mummy,

Can you write to Dr Lim that there are too little infant care around my area (Admiralty Drive)? By the time I walk there, I melt liao.

Oh. A swimming pool will be nice too.:p

Thanks a mil!

twins - I agree too. By the time the working mothers finish their work, they need to "fly" all the way here just to meet the time to fetch their darlings.

Great minds think alike. I too, wishes there is a childcare centre near my block. I'm sure this move will lighten our burden abit especially we are away from the amentities. A playgroup centre will be a bonus for newly setup families as well.

Opposite my block, MOE is progressively building a primary school and next to my block the HDB is starting to build 4 blocks of 4rms. Hopefully there's plan for children, be it for childcare centre or a place for kids to play...

stressed,
I don't recall any infant care centres in Sembawang area at all. Will highlight that on your behalf.

Van,
Sorry, been talking about visiting you but still didn't make it. I'm guilty to the core now...

I got really busy nowadays. Got to feed babies FM, then cereal, then play time, then nap time, then feed again... blah, blah, blah... And I'm starting to do grocery shopping myself cos babies can sit on stroller now. Will have to go marketing with maid and the babies. Too paiseh to ask my dad to buy/carry grocery all the way from the south to the north (by bus somemore cos he doesn't want to take cab).

All,
Done with your CNY shopping yet? I had my "off day" (actually one afternoon only) last Sat. Went shopping and bought 5 tops in a row for CNY! I realise I can't buy spaghetti strap/tube tops (my favourite) now bcos my girls can literally rip them off when I carry them. Even low neckline is risky. Sigh... So shopping for clothes is a real headache.
kao_frustrated.gif

apple & Vivi
Do you ladies have the same problem when your babies turned 3-4 months old?

shuhui,
Are you feeling better nowadays? Keen to come to my place for afternoon coffee/tea? Or even lunch. Can ask my maid to cook your share.

twins mommy,
All your activities are basically my daily routine with my gal too! Very tiring rite?? Hmm..when they just having milk, really free & easy coz I tbf, go shopping no need to bring bottles + FM.
Now she is taking solid, more complicated..sigh and I started to introduce FM too.

I enjoy my SAHM days..and I think I gotta miss all these days when I step back to the working society when my gal goes to childcare.

Oh ya, wanna ask you try to feed your bb organic brown rice cereal (Healthy Times is the brand, can get from NTUC), when they are older like 7-8 months, can intro Oatmeal and Barley cereal. I find this brand of cereal really good. My gal is still taking now. And I wanna build up her foundation..so I don't mind trouble buying organic supplies.

Sorry to barge in this thread... Btw, I live at Sembawang too

apple,

I read your post regarding the contact for Healthy Times. Just wondering if there is a mimimum order for it. My daughter has been on Healthy Times Brown Rice eversince she started on solids. Would like to try other types too.

sabrina,

No min order qty..infact their office is near Sembawang, so the guy sometimes if have time he will drop to your place for u too.
Or else, u can meet him at Sembawang NTUC on his replenishment day.
How many months your dd now? Oatmeal is a good try, my dd loves it among all other grains.
I gave her brown rice, oatmeal, barley and now more on mixed grains coz she already 11 months.

Hi apple,

Do u mind sharing your Healthy Times contact with me? Left with only 1 box. Need to replenish stocks. Pls PM me. Thanks in advance.

apple,

my daughter is 10 mths old. I believe we have met before for the diaper to pullup pants exchange?
I tried oatmeal already on her.. she prefers the brown rice. Wanting to try the Mixed Cereal though.

Healthy Times Contact:

Damon & Diorne Pte Ltd
Correspondence address:
469A Admiralty Drive #12-103
Singapore 751469
Warehouse address:
23 Tagore Lane #04-05 Tagore 23 Warehouse 23 Singapore 787601
DDI: +65 9689 6060/6Fax: +65 6853 3198
GST Reg. No. 20-0507812-C
Email: [email protected]

sabrina, oh ya! I got short memory after delivery..haha
U can try mixed grains for her..it has more texture.
Sometimes I buy my supply in town like Tanglin Mall Brown Rice Paradize and Vitakidz Vivocity. They both carry good range of organic supplies

twins - it's okay. I'm still adapting Louis's mood swings. Some days he wants to be fed every hourly, some days every 2hrs instead. Terrible moments are when he himself has no idea what he wants hence giving the wrong signals, making me go round & round. Right now we had bought the sarong for him as he simply doesn't want to sleep or he sleeps unsoundly, waking up every 10mins. I'm sure things will improve but I've got to bear with these for now.

apple - Wow didn't know you have so many lobang.... when shd we start the solid food? When that time comes, can ask u for advise? As a first time mum, I'm considered a very blur sotong mummy... till now still don't know what else to lookout for except that Louis is now 5 weeks' old....

Shuhui - It's been a while since I last heard from you. Have you gone back to workforce yet? How's everything now?

apple,
Thanks for sharing on the Healthy Times organic brown rice cereal. Was about to ask you which brand you'd recommend.
I've been giving them Nestle's Rice Cereal and Brown Rice Cereal to try becos I was given samples from NTUC. I'd like to switch to organic ones for long term. My HB also bought organic apple puree from NTUC and the girls love it!

Okie, I'll let them try out the Healthy Times organic brown rice cereal next week.

Van,
Take things one step at a time. Semi-solids can start when baby is 4 months old, which is what I'm doing for my girls now. But I also took the cue from them lor. For the past 2 weeks, they refused to finish their FM for practically every feed in the day time. Furthermore, they started to stare intensely at my food when I eat and when I pretend to offer them, they actually open their mouths big and lean towards my spoon. So that's when I decide its time to let them try semi-solids. Your Louis' time will come very soon. Hee!

Van, we are here to learn together
so just throw your Q to me if u think I already gone thru or have the answer for it..keke
Just to highlight to you, some bb going thru growth spurt during 6wks and 3 months old. BB will crank, cries for nothing, rejecting milk, this is perfectly normal. I experience day and night reversal on my gal. She will sleep soundly during the day and refuse to sleep at night! Drink very lil milk, suckle for 3min then cries..

Twins mommy, you can also try Earth Best puree like apple, pear, pea, carrot and sweet potato for your gals. Can get from Cold Storage. This is another organic brand that highly recommended.
Well, if time permit, do your own fresh organic fruits and vege puree.
I did all fruits and vege puree for my gals..only use bottle puree when we going out. Let me know if u need some demo..keke
But u got to get a blender first. Go buy one Braun blender, with handheld function. Don't go for Philips conventional blender.

apple & twin - Tks for your encouragement. I'm sure I will pull thru this period, just hope for the better.

Finally my hubby bought the automatic sarong motor, at least I will not have to spend the whole day just to rock Louis to sleep. He still drink partial BM mixed with FM. Nowadays he tends to have little amt of shit but it's 99% water & tiny bits of solids, is this normal? I heard that via breast pump will gradually lessen the output of our BM, is this true coz Louis still reject latching?

Van, is not true that via breast pump your bm supply will drop. Get a good pump like Ameda or PIS if u want to maintain a good supply. And also must be hard working. Express every 2hrly.. Always remind yourself demand=supply.
My gal totally wean off from breast since end Nov06 and I'm still expressing via breast pump and feed her. For the start I expressed 6x a day, now I reduced to 3x coz she is taking more solids. And gradually I wanna wean off bf..so start to intro FM for 1 feed too.

apple - Right now I'm using Medela electric single pump and everyday approx. 12oz+ BM. I express every 2-3hrs with the exception of nightime, about 6-7hrs so that I can concentrate on Louis. Every night he's a nightmare to me.

long time no chat. been very bz with work. and cny is round the corner so additonal bz. not heard from shu hui for some time. Is any of you contacting her?

O re. cereal for bb, read somewhere tat there is this barley cereal would like to try. apple is it powder kind? made from barley? breyon doesn't really like cereal, eating as a whole so usually its mixed with his milk for him to suck for the last feed of the night. then now he is either eating porridge or just puree of vege and fruit. but mummies best is mixture of food and not just stick to one kind to have a balanced diet and not too much brown rice too. as read in reports that too much brown rice will hinder the absorbance of other nutrients into the body. so all things should be balanced.

Hi Van

Promised to visit you but real bz. will you be at home tmr afternoon? should be on half day's leave tmr, hopefully able to visit you. let me know, or sms me.

And rest of mummies if you all organising any gatherings at whoever's home please let me know if its saturdays I might be able to join in. thanks.