Sembawang MTB or SAHM

Van, don't mention
just trying to see anything I can help coz we stay near to each other.

twins mommy, I went to Admiralty. So check out the FM at the Medical Hall. The shop is at the end of the shoplot. Enfalac A+ selling at $28 and Enfapro selling at $27.50.

Van: Congratulations to your delivery
Welcome to motherhood. After delivery, our placenta hormone will drop and may cause mom to cry non-stop due to this hormone change. This need to take place so that our brain can send message to our milk factory to start production. So usually the post natal blue will strike within the 1st week of delivery. Just tell yourself this will pass, part of natural process, and you are coping well. I too had post natal blues on the 4rd day due to stressful confinement. Cried non stop esp when the baby has to be re-admitted for jaundice.

Shuhui: There is still hope to revive your milk production. You can try the following ways:
1) Increase nursing schedule which is most effective. Put the baby to suckle for 10-15 mins for both sides (10mins before his scheduled feed then give him bottled milk), for every 2 to 3 hrs. The more the baby suckled, the more the production. Can also used breast pump if you have. Takes 2 days for your body to adjust the milk demand which means you will see an increase in milk only in 2 days time, then must maintain the schedule. Take 1 mth for the milk production to stablise.
2) Take herbal supplements i.e. fenugreek or nettle sold at GNC. Just let them know for breastfeeding.
3) Boil green papaya soup with fish bone everyday.
4) Drink non alcholic beer (malt is known to increase milk production) or hot malt.
5) Prepare hot towel to apply on the breast or massage and drink hot beverage before breastfeeding.
Some moms may or may not respond to (2) and (4) depending on individual body. Due to my blues, my milk production dropped drastically & was feeding my baby with Frisomilk. One mth later, met a mom who advised me on the above. Managed to revive milk production though not enough for exclusive feeding but went on as supplementary breastfeeding for 1 year. And most importantly, a good breast pump helps in sustaining your milk production. I bought Ameda breast pump and was very pleased with it.

Most important, you must be comfortable & confident with breastfeeding. A lot has to do with mental thought.

As on the constipation, hmm better not to give prune juice. Green stools is ok as long as he poos.

Hope the above helps. After my 1st pregnancy, a bit scared with the confinement thingy. So now more prepared to make sure I enjoy my confinement.

tetra - thanks for your blessing. I'm now still coping with my confinment, no longer suffering from post natal blues. I treat my baby boy as my motivation so that I can stand up on my own feets again. By chance, I'm taking your 3) once per week.

RE: BM: Everyday I can pump out about 4-5 oz of BM via Medela pump as the baby totally reject latching due to bottle feeding. I wondered if I continue pumping, will my BM increase in terms of vol?

Now that I understand more about confinement stuffs hence will definitely make sure that I do a better planning for my next one.

By the way, any kind mummy wants my Enfalac-HA? I'll be glad to give it free, pls let me know as I find it's very wasteful to throw it away.

Van: If your baby doesn't want to latch, then must pump every 2.5hrs to 3 hrs for the 1st mth. To increase milk vol, depends on your frequency in pumping the milk. Just maintain the same frequency and duration.

I remembered I took about 1 mth to really bond with my son after I delivered.

My son is not taking Enfalac so you may want to let it go to other mums.

Van,
Sorry, received your SMS but had to attend to babies before I could reply, then totally forgot about it till now. And too late to reply you now cos its close to midnite. :p My gals are taking Enfalac A+ now. I remembered they were given Enfalac HA when they were in the hospital but PD ask me to get A+ upon discharge. I dunno what's the difference, so I'm not sure if its OK for my gals to take now. Let me find out then let you know if I'll take it, can?

Meantime, dun stress yourself out. Leave the "wet" tasks to your HB and try to get more rest. Even for the dry tasks, if you can delay till your HB return home to do it, then just leave it or wait till weekend. Sufficient rest during confinement is very, very important. I fully appreciate it now.

Also, the fish soup bolied with papaya, I drank it almost everyday during confinement and it helped to increase BM supply. I think once a week is not enough. If you can, try to drink more, okie?

apple,
Thanks for the info on the FM. Will check out the medical hall at Admiralty. $28 is a good price!!!

modi,
I think the mama-shop below my flat is not bringing in the Enfa series. No sign of the FM so far.

Dear all mummies - my newborn baby boy's name is Louis Tiang. I have yet to upload the pics as his daddy is still very busy with his new fatherhood role.

tetra - no problem, I'll try my best to pump out the BM. Sometimes do find it tough esp. engorgement & womb pain at the same time
anyway just give a try, better than nothing.

twins - take your time to let me know if you want the FM. Most importantly you can breath in-between the twins' schedules. I know drinking the papaya soup once per week is not enough but neither can I get out of the house anyway. My fingers are already feeling aching so I guess it's fate. I still got to do the wet & dry housework regardless hubby is around or not. I'm simply glad that he has done a fantastic job regarding the baby-care

Shuhui - How's Vaan's progress now? I brought Louis to PD earlier this week. He had gained back the weight loss and so far his jaunice is still at an acceptable level so there's no need to admit him to hospital. I just got to monitor him further.

RE: BM: You can try drinking more red dates water. From the TMC's lactation consultant, it may helps to keep the BM's volume there too hehehe....

Hi Van..
Ur BB jaunice monitor abt 3 times, is still desending trends then dont need to monitor liao.. but dont take too much ginger, ginger can cause BB jaundice..

Hi tetra..
My BB very quick temper and cannot waited one.. so during BF, if nv latched properly or switched breast will wailed till tear my house now..so I rsorted to pumped BM by my medela pump..It lessen the supply.. somemore sore @ nipples..
so I juz cut him off all BM and gave FM.. then the rest is history liao.

I also tried tetra 3, 4 & 5.. but it didnt help much..

Actually dont like the papaya fish soup..so take once, and dont take liao..
somemore think,I am going back to work soon so on FM easier..
Think finding all sort of excuses for myself.conclusion is I too lazy lah.. haha

Hi Van
My BB Vaan so far okay.. 1 mth liao..juz celebrated his 1st mth celebration.. very tiring.. but fun..he gained 1kg plus weight..

The constipation prob also sloved liao..
Thanks for recommendaing Nan 1 ha.. every day got poo poo liao..

I am back again. Been really bz with my work so seldom login till I am really free.
Van how is your confinement since we last sms? hope u r eating well now. don't be too stressed out during confinement not good for health should work towards builing up good health during this period as later u need real good health to take care of bb. O I might be on leave on 15-17 Jan so might have time to visit you so u PM me your add? Twins, maybe I can on the way visit you too. Let u both know when the time is nearer.

I had roughly read through the previous messages and if I dun read wrongly some of you mummies thinking of switching bb's milk powder at later stage. My suggestion is if bb is adapting fine with the milk powder u chose and is suitable for the age dun change unless bb is reacting to milk powder. best is to stick to the series of milk powder as bb grows with the first one you started. I feel it affects bb's digestion if we switch bb's milk powder too often.

Niki - No problem, it's my pleasure that Vaan can finally poo everyday. Gd to hear that he is feeding very well now. There are times when Louis is quick tempered too but I will talk to him so as to calm him down.Do let us know if you have other enquries, we are all mothers now kekeke

apple - sorry I do not have the NTUC knives bonus points.

I'm happy to see that Louis's jaunice had went down these days so the next thing to lookout for is his injection day.

Here's the pics:

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/nichsontiang/album/576460762383430269/photo/294928804147052424/19

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/nichsontiang/album/576460762383501447/photo/294928804148447001/21

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/nichsontiang/album/576460762383501447/photo/294928804148208959/30

Hi Apple

I think I have about 3 bonus points for the knives and think they will stop issuing the points on 10 Jan but extended the redemption till 25 Jan or something. do you wan them? but I will only be back at Sembawang this Thursday.

Wow Van, thanks for showing bb Louis's pic
cute and handsome boy ya!
Oh ya, got your mail. Will reply you on that..take care

Vivi, ok..pls reserved for me. Meet u this Thurs evening at Sun Plaza? PM me your hp no.

Vivi,
I will go with you to Van's place if my babies are well behaved. Hehe...

Van,
Louis is very handsome and his eyes are huge too!

Ok Twins then I shall come and look for your first.

Yup, Van he is surely one handsome boy. and poor him got to go under the UV light. now less yellowish should look more handsome.

twins mommy, u got my mail regarding maid schedule?
How's your new maid? Hope she is able to relief you with all the house chores and you can concentrate in taking care the 2 lil princesses.

hi sembawang mummies,
i also stay @ sembawang and did follow this thread on & off...

congratulation Liu Shuhi & Van to ur delivery....
(Van, i still remember u bought nappy liner from me...thank.)

apple,
I have 1 ntuc point, if u want can reserved for u. (And i did chat through msn with u before)

Mrs. Ho - thanks for your blessing. Yap we had a deal before kekeke... times flies now I'm a mummy too.

apple, vivi, twins - thanks for your blessing too.

No choice Louis has to go thru the phototherapy else he may have to admit to hospital. Lucky thing is this is a history now.

It's a wonderful weather today. The air is great esp now I'm on confinement.

Hi van..
"u really enjoyed Ur confinement.. I damn hated it.. so that why "u can see mi always trying to sneaked out..like I am imprisoned in my own home some more with a prison officer aka my MIL and jail mate aka my son.. haha

Now also all is history liao..times really fly..that time we are all preggie, still can shop together.. now a mother.

Niki - Wow Vaan is so handsome! When he grows up, can play soccer with my boy
I can't get away from home as I need to look after Louis, (my shift is 8am - 8pm), that's why. Seems like I'm doing my own confinement, sianz...

Shuhui, u can buy infant first book from Tiny Love. John Little and Robinsons selling..er.. I think $24.90 before discount. U can tie at the side of the cot like bumper. It has 2-sided, one is black, red and white, another side is colorful for 3M and above.

Shuhui - Wow so fast making plans for Vaan. I'm still enjoying Louis's company
kao_shy.gif
Next time can ask u for advise....

apple,
Thanks! I received your maid's schedule. My maid is doing fine and my HB and I could finally "see" some light in our life! Hee... She takes care of the housework and babies well. In fact, we salute her patience when our gals turned cranky at times. Indeed a blessing to have her around.

Shuhui,
Your Vaan soooooooo cute!

Van,
I may not be able to make it to your place this Sunday but I'll try. My HB signed us up for the HDB welcome party at our 4-block estate this Sunday, so our family will be spending the afternoon there, participating in some contests (sianz...). If I can get away for a while, I will go up to your place. Will SMS you before I do that.

twins - It's alrite. Do enjoy your party out there, I'm sure your family will love it
Wow didn't know that having a maid makes such a difference... Care to email me the costs involve the almighty maid? I may consider getting one.

twins mommy, good to know that your maid is coping well. Having a good maid indeed lighten up our life! For me, if I don't have a maid..I doubt I can be a SAHM..wahahaha..I'm sure I rather return to workforce and put my bb under nanny or infantcare :p

Hi twins..
My boy is a rascal!!
but he is definitly cute..
I would like to get a maid as well.. cos still thinking wanna to quit my nursing job & be astayed @ home mom.., can also email mi the costs as well for requiring a maid, anything to look up for..

Hi Van..
It so stressful looking after BB..
U better than mi.. cos U looked after only 8am -8 pm..then got somebody to do nite shift..
Mi worst..I looked after my Vaan Vaan ALONE & ALL DAY & NITE long..tedious in the beggining, now more or less used to it..cos my MIL MIA from morning till nite... so tired, worst than my nite shifts..

Cant really run back to my mum's place all the time mah.. yesterday, my dad go for operation, and I even had to bring my BB to Day surgey and wait for my Dad.. My mum real scared, she called mi & break down...so I rushed down.. Called my MIA MIL, said she accompany her sis to SGH and see Dr.. from morning see till nite..

Ya feeling depressed for the past few days as my MIL went MIA.. and I was like crying almost everydays.. juz feel so helpless with my BB... now still coping.. it real tired and worst than my nite shifts. Don't how U all able to have another one..I scared liao, I even asked the doc for family planning whether can I have hormonal jabs, contraceptive.. he said I too young (23 this yr) to have the jabs.. worried I cant get pregnant again then prescribed oral pills..

Hi, Van..
think I also cant attended ur BB 1st mth.. cos alot of things happened @ home..Every home had it troubles..

Shuhui - It's alrite my dear.

I'm sure things will improve once again but these take time. I'm having the daytime shift as this is during my confinement. After that, it's like every SAHM, 24by7 beside Louis. It's terrible at a start but I'm sure it's worth it. I'm expecting exhaustion, lack of sleep.... I've yet to know the full picture, wait for me I'm coming soon...

Until now I"m still on-off having the post natal blues but am self-encouraging to myself. It's wasn't easy but still, Shuhui give it a try. Alternatively have a talk with friends, you'll feel much better as it goes...

It's sad to hear that your dad is undergoing the operation. At least he is on the path of recovering. Let your mum handle that area and talk to her whichever possible you can. Nobody wants this but it's unavoidable event.

Re: Family planning. Ultimately you shd discuss with your hubby, be it using condom or contraceptive pills. I will suggest both of you to go for family planning talk if time permits.

Shuhui, u got to be more positive and not pessimistic during maternity. I understand totally the helplessness as u are alone facing the bb all the time without pple helping you. but dun think too much.....I m sure things will surely improve as you go along. and take care of your emotions its natural for mummies who just gave birth to wan to keep crying but hope its not post natal blue. Its a real blessing to be able to have children and lets dun think it as a drag though sometimes when I m too bz I thought so too.....so u should think its a happy thing to have such a cute little boy be with you. isn't it so wanderful that 10mths ago he is still inside your stomach and now he is by your side and sometimes smiling up to you?
if you r frustrated can talk to your close frens or ur hubby or us as we had experienced such emotions......the impt thing is dun keep everything to yourself talk it out and you r ok. the thing for you now is support so sometimes thing like this should not feel shy ask for it and ask for help. take good care and dun think too much.....

Hey shuhui, r u all alone at home during saturdays or hubby not working? u r still on maternity right? if u really bored or need to see someone to loosen up or talk to someone can come over my place to chat. all of the saturdays I will be at home as its really troublesome to bring 2 boys and maid out. or if you need to call someone can always call me for some sos or others. can always PM me if u need anything.

Hi mummies, think some of you ending up with maids.....my opinion is if you really need a maid then able to cope, suggest to get it as a last resort. if not for housework can always get part time non-stayed in maids to do. if it only thinking for the time being to get a maid to tied u over the busy period, then i suggest dun get as 1) short while, leave maid to take care bb, got to monitor very closely as they really got no danger sense and for me cannot leave bb to an outsider who dun know anything to take care without supervision;
2) short period, maid will leave one day wat if bb too attached to maid? can't leave the maid? will it be hurtful for the little one and we as parents created such anxiety for the bb at such young age? so for me I dun let my maid fully take care of my sons, she only do housework, if I not free then she only oversee and I still in the nearby to monitor her. 3) first couple of years is the most impt growing period for bb, they learn lots of things thru seeing, hearing and imitating......if fully leave with the maid, the child will surely ending up learning wat the maid say and do unless the maid is educated like some can really bring the child up properly.
and also some of the frustrations when if luck no good a bad maid and all the troubles, or things need to teach a long time then the maid able to master......like my maid then maybe more stress for you. I only see my maid during weekends and the things she do can drive me crazy, sometimes I really feel so stressful facing her and I had to control my temper and slowly talk to her to improve her work. now I understand why some pple can out of control beat the maids up. So if you really want to consider getting a maid do think thru whether is there a need. cost of getting one, paying for the salary and all the frustration and may impact the life of our little precious one.......of course there are lots of good maids who can really help alot in the house. but my advise is to consider then decide dun just get it cos wat to escape stress of taking care our bb.
sorry know I am naggy but its just some of my experience tat I want to share with you all.

Shuhui - How are you now? Give me a ring if you want someone to talk to. You can call me anytime nevermind if it's very late or in the middle of the night. With Louis around, I will awake on-off anytime so it's fine with me.

Vivi - Tks for your valuable advise. I'll consider carefully before deciding whether to engage the maid's services. It is one's luck to see if they are lucky to get a capable nice maid which is tough to find in these days.

By end of next week my confinement will be finally over. The only thing that I'm more concerned is how to manage my time so as to take care of Louis day & night. Hmm....

Shuhui,
If you need someone to talk to or a place to "rest" your mind on crazy days, you can call me (PMed you my no. already) or come to my place. I hardly go out except when my hubby is off work or I have another pair of hands. Its difficult when you are facing a newborn baby alone. Takes a lot of support, so feel free to share. My house is always open.

Same thing applies to you, Van.