Premature babies support group

kkf
my last day next tuesday. same lah. I be using my savings for myself, my ger and parents. hubby focus on hse. think enuff 6-8mths like dat. then if freelance dun work, have to find other way or back to work.

dm
alamak..hope ur mum still goes. didi gd suggestion, gd luck!

daec,
July 12 is not really the prem awareness day but more of a meeting between prem mums and kk to brainstorm on how to increase public awareness of premature bbs...

if you hv any ideas...feel free to post here or i can email your ideas to them....or u can email doc khoo straightaway...or meet them on that day

didi & daec,
apparently, my mom & sis not v happy w my MIL cos when we had a BBQ @IL's place on ws' 1st yr bday, they claimed tat MIL showed black face throughout the nite. so they wan to hav min contact w her. c how la.. will definitely break the news this weekend..tat's the prob w organizing so many pple's trip.

dm,
I know you are in a difficult position, if my mom were to 'kenan' black face from my mil, she will also don't want to mix/ have anything to do with them
they didn't take care of ws still can black face, too much

Opps disneymickey, par seh, I check the thread only today, and sold that to another mummy liao. Par seh.

Think if for my mum, she also wun want to go with my in laws cause my in laws are too good people. They not used to it. haha. (opposite right?) My in laws are really good people, they will call up my dad to ask him about his legs when they know his legs have problems that kind of thing. My parents are not such people, so they are not quite used to that.

I have valid reson thats why my Principal approves of my no pay immediately. Actually needs to give 1 month notice at least one. But I have valid reason.

Dm, enjoy your bali trip. That was my honeymoon place. haha. Relaxing place, but if you bring ws there, think there will be nothing much for her to see or play leh. It is not a good place for kids cause the weather is damn hot.

daec, you still give your parents allowance ah? Me par seh, me stop giving them from this month liao.
I feel a bit guilty though but I cannot afford leh.

I really regret not saving. I saw my neighbour who is about 30 plus, at most near 40s, their savings are a few millions. I feel so guilty. I dun have much saving, and stil spend and spend.

Hallo mummies

jane & siang is back in singapore! we went KL over the weekend hehe. fun fun fun. siang seem to learn lots of new 'stuff' there. money is well spent :p. looking forward to the next trip liao haha

kkf
now u are SAHM.. think it will be a good move. u can really teach dash yourself

bloom
i see. so you intend to bring your ger for the speech theraphy?

costa
think i cannot go for this Sat event because my lao gong working on saturday ler..

didi
now u know the distance i travel (between my mum and my own house) siong ler :p

kkf,

sad sad.. but nev mind la.. i'm sure u still got lots of stuff 2 sell heehee

i've always wanted to go bali, but no opp. my parents oso gian 2 go. so all go together lor. but my MIL..sigh.. dun wan to talk/think abt it 1st. ytd, juz made me angry again. was feeding ws dinner b4 her other grandson was here. she still sit & play 'happily' w ws. when she saw my BIL's car come, she juz say "gor gor lai leh" & juz walked away to 'welcome' the boy..pls la.. wat do u treat my ws?? spare 'toy' 2 play b4 ur real favourite is here?? bloody hell..

oso, i think 4 ws, as long as got pple she knows/like ard, got place 4 her to run ard, can go gai-gai, she's happy

jane,
glad u enjoyed the trip. glad siang enjoyed 2. so where's ur next destination?

Dm
wah sound difficult. hmm maybe if ur mum dun wan, either tell hubby then dun bring mil also or must org diff one for ur mum

kkf
both my parents not workin. been supporting them since I start working. we staying together. so e money is for food etc. I got save money, fedup coz it keep disappear coz help pay family debts.wan say no cannot naughty me think quit than I less approached for that and e persons forced to managed better :p

costa
oh I c. not sure.. maybe one thing is to give potential parents brocheres on premmie and causes of it or dr to brief them. I know I was taken unaware when got pre-enclampsia. some mummies too, didnt know they in labour till too late.
most parents dun really wanna think abt this thing as dun think it will happen to them..until it happen.
brocheres/some kit to give to parents of premmies when at start of their journey. I felt lost at the begining and dunno who talk to. all the info I received was fragmented and from diff sources. topics include : treatment of premmies,checkups, as parents what to do, what to expect. I read a book which was useful. it summaries potential issues/treatment based on week baby was born.helped me feel better and more aware of the situation, less worried.
be good to have at least 1 compulsory session BM/pumping milk for all new mummies - how to maintain BM and its importance, wat to do if it runing out.it shld be supportive rather than scold mummy if dun pump regularly. I didnt how to sustain my BM. what kind of pump to use. my supply went down coz pump was spoilt and I didnt know it, keep pumping. later learnt (too late) didnt know diff pumps used for diff frequency. my pump spoilt coz overuse more as it meant for 3x a day only. shoulda used double, heavy duty pump. give mummy contact for rental of pumps and recommended pumps.

if the new mummies can meet and support each other - better still. to know not the only one in the situation. hard to meet other mums coz cant talk in the nursery.

hi mums
survey on maternity leave
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/1489064.html?1213460209

me thinks there shld be more support for work from home / flexi hrs

Jane,
How's the trip ? Siang enjoy the flight ? share share leh, so I can know how to handle my 2 rascals

DM

next destination? maybe taiwan next year haha :p. must save money first.

didi
Siang was ok on the flight. but i make a mistake. i let siang drink milk when we were on the way there (on the flight). end up when the plane take off..think due to pressure, siang vomit...... so we clear the mess etc. but he was ok ...

so when we on inboard flight to come back singapore, i give him milk (2 hours before we board the plane) and when the plane take off, i give him sweets/biscuits. and he was ok....

all in all, siang enjoy it a lot, he walk and scream and laugh a lot keke. the last 2 days i still let him take his afternoon nap at the hotels. he still poo poo (i brought my potty).

D&D should be ready when they are about siang age.

i cook porridge but siang refuse to eat. hence end up luckily we found the Yu Ren Sheng (SOUP restaurant) and they serve mince pork porridge... siang had it (3 meals each day) over the weekend. Per serving was RM6 hehe.

KL can bring baby go... ;) quite accessible if you stay at the right hotel. we stay at bolevard hotel (near mid valley). there is this mega mall there. everything is easily available ;)

are you intending to bring D&D for a trip?

Jane,
Actually, hb is the one gung-ho about bringing them out for trips, he suggested Bintan, Perth and Sentosa etc.... I am quite hesitate cause worry about Darryl, he is hyper active, esp now he is walking so I foresee he will stroll all over the aisle in the plane and also about D&D's meals, think should be ok these 2 boys eats anything, .... so I am still toying with the idea.....

didi
was sharing with my sister (the one who bring her two boys) that staying one night at sentosa is equal to a one day overseas trip.

Bintan i heard is suitable for children/toolder too. as they have a lot of program highlights

I stayed amara sentosa resort, think costs around 260 plus with breakfast. quite ok, but only 2 days 1 night.

Look at the time now, and I am still awake. Actually I fall asleep at 8pm, and woke up around 1am, now cannot sleep.

Dash was playing by himself, when me and hubby fall alseep. He so poor thing. He was crying after seeing us sleeping.

Glad u enjoyed yourself, jane! Must be very fun! Next time I will take plane to KL too, better than taking the long journey bus. I thought of going genting, maybe plane to KL, then bus to genting, not sure can or not. hee

daec, my parents not working too. My dad retired long ago. Me felt guilty not giving them allowances, but really cannot for now.

Jane saw your post about siang's iq test. Dun worry, he will continue to do well!

Wow hearing sound of lorries now. think people are starting to wake up. Luckily I am not working liao, so later in the morning can catch some sleep.

Hubby going reservist soon, so sianz. Dash is still having his last week of little skool house. Next week onwards then will start home schooling.

I read from an article, I have 32 percent chance of premature labor for my next one because I have twice premature labor. sianzz...that lefts me with only 68 percent chance of having a normal baby! I dun expect much, I just hope next one can be over 30 weeks at least. sigh.

kkf
hope our parents understand. if they wan us be happy, this wat we gotta do. anyways its not forever rite ? hope they cant rely on us 100% though esp for wants, providing for kids is hard enuff.

68% still gd leh. more than 50%. I am thinking how to 'program' self to think its possible.I dun want to spend my time worrying abt it esp during pregnancy. poor baby inside wont have a nice time inside if I keep worry. how ah

anywayz like what the TCM lady told me - dun worry abt prem baby. at first, hard journey but later the baby will catch up with fullterm. some are even better than full term. some people cannot even have one baby. hmm true ha...

kkf, welcome to the club
Enjoy your time with Dash while u are at home. I guess the time u invested in him now will be much more satisfying than the money u are earning. Very soon, u will find yourself very busy..somehow time is still not enough even though you don't need to work. For me, i find the day passes so quickly. Hardly have time to do my own stuff, like shopping and lazing around now that i'm kind of used to the schedule of staying at home..

Jane, glad u had a great trip. Went to ur blog and saw ur pictures.. it's so great that Siang has cousins (those are his cousins right?) as his playmate... kids grow up faster this way i feel. And more healthy. Hopefully Coco will soon find her own group of playmates soon...

oops.. she is blabbering liao... woke up already.. bye

my last day today.

talking abt travelling - arghh I would love to travel! far places like europe or whichever. even if i work, my hubby worry cannot afford thinking this that this that. if me, just go! now that I dun work, haiz lagi dunno if i can go.
I dun really shop much, my vice is travelling hehe

good morning mummies

didi
hehe if u do go bintan share with me the experience ok...because i really heard lots of frens say bintan is a suitable place for toddler (food and accomodation ok)...

kkf
yes KL can bring dash. no problem at all. must check for airline promotion.. its really a great place to bring toodler
. Genting also ok
. lots of parents bring kids to genting.

re the IQ assessment siang had. He will have to exercise more (ie go for physio theraphy) and he needs to listen more.. otherwise the neonat is of the opinion that he is doing average (ie ok :p). but its true la, he a lazy worm, walk a bit want to squat down liao OMG.... haiz...

hi lili (it been awhile since we chat)
how is pretty coco? yes that 2 boys is siang cousins (My sister boys, 1 is 7 and the other one is 4 years old). siang had FUN FUN FUN chasing them keke...am glad they came along :p otherwise maybe not that fun for siang.

yes kids grow up faster with play mates. the next trip (if i plan) i will ask my sister(s) to go along with their kids. and we can have a Kids super duper party haha

daec
i also like travelling (not so much as to shop). like you, i like to see and look at new environment, observe how pple live and eat hehe

Jane,
Was thinking last nite on bed, should I suggest to hb going to Bintan cause I missed the spa there, but Darryl is still sleeping in the 'yao lan' so might be a concern, and should he can't sleep he will sure 'disturb' Dylan as we will be all in the same room, not like at home where they have their own rooms

hello long time no post,really miss u all.hows everyone?sori i was bz.coz i accompany my mum to kl for her brain surgery juz got back on sunday.tks god everything is gg well.

costa,
u can forward my email so tat i can receive kkh news letters.any1 gg on 12 july?if yes may be we can have gahering there.

hi didi
actually siang still sleep in yao lan (at home) during afternoon nap but at night he sleep on the bed.

i see, they have their own room at home. i think 'yao lan' should not be an issue. once they go overseas, they so tired..they will sleep anywhere :p

hi fairylander
no wonder it been a while since u chat here. am glad your mum surgery went well. how is cath?

hello mummies.

Fairylander, mind if i ask why your mum went to KL for surgery? thought singapore better?

didi, think you have too many concerns. Why not just go! When Darryl is tired, maybe he can sleep anywhere!Hee

I find that all of us have too many concerns, like "wat ifs?" Like wat daec, I worry also about pregnancy, I know if I get pregnant will worry throughout. I even thought "what if I cannot make it on time to hospital", "what if baby very premature again choy!" "what if my poor health cannot take this pregnancy?" sigh...so many "what ifs" in the end, I think if keep thinking, I will go crazy and will never ever get pregnant. I will just go for it! Sometimes, if some thing is destined to happen, no one has the ability to stop it. I can only leave it to fate and to try my best in preventing.

Daec, your TMC said is true. I am one good example right? Actually babies premature never mind, as long as healthy. You know I am very bor liao, I will flip my P1 students' health booklets, and see if i can happen to find any premature babies. But no leh, never see any. I think our children are special! haha. Born small yet go far!

Actually, those students who are slow in my P1 class are actually full term babies with good birth weights. So doesn't mean full term means no problems.

As I have said, I dun aim high, i just aim for my next pregnancy, baby can stay in my womb for at least 30 weeks. Then no need to stay so long in hospital...my hubby said I am very pessismistic, never aim high, but to me, from 23 weeks (first child) to 27 weeks (2nd child) to 30 weeks (3rd child) already a big acheivement for me.

Lili, nice hearing from you! so long liao.

Jane, yah yah, will go genting maybe next year. Will bring dash there...

Jane/didi
me also wondering whether go bintan or Jakarta with my parents as they going for wedding or Medan. hubby sorta worry abt $ ( like normal). Jakarta I worried coz we go with my parents, hubby mite not be happy if we end up always with my parents. if its suitable for Nada coz jakarta is mostly shopping rite ? but then accomodation, transport FOC heheh. stil thinking..

fairylander
wah Cath grow big and eat eating already.

kkf
me too keep worry.wonder if I need to go counselling or something. coz previous have baggage. Need to drop the baggage. think it be better for next pregnancy. Best is we just aim and think of the positive. The negative or maybes or wat-ifs - we try our very best not let it pop in the brain. Read somewhere can only one thot in ur brain at one time. let it be positive then.even if premature, at least we know we can cope better and know the routine.

fairylander
come nov, cath be one year old. so fast hor...

kkf
hehe u must be looking forward to the trip... siang is still small, so genting i think maybe another 1 year or so then i will bring him there...

yes our baby is special..born small yet can outfight so many things... jia you
for them!

daec
i heard jakarta is good place to go too. but i am not familiar there... yeah its really city area over there (learn from geography haha). if budget is an issue..to me, i will pick the cheapest and most easily accessible place to bring siang :p.

kkf,
okie okie, true hor, they will sleep anywhere anytime when they are tired

daec,
Jakarta is good, love the food there esp

hi mummies, a few days no post.. actually i posted a long one once, and then it disappeared cos my internet connection went haywire. after no mood to post liao. hee

wanted to congratulate KKF on her new status as SAHM. I am so envious and happy for u!!! Dash doesnt really need any classes at preschools now! I am sure u will do a good job. *i will pack bryan to ur place for baby lessons as well!* heeee..

KKF Stay positive for that 68% to have a full term baby. I will be giving u full support and even physical support if u need cos we stay quite near. We need to start using the correct term of "full term" as compared to "normal" cos "normal" suggests our premies are "abnormal". Hope we are the ones starting to spread the awareness and change perception!

jane
so good to hear about ur trip!!! ur planning has paid off!!

re: overseas trip
Hubby and i are bringing bryan to tokyo in august. we wanted to bunk in with hubby cos he is on paid working trip and we can save $$ on lodging. goodness knows when we get such an opportunity (usually his company want him to go india....:p) so we are just going!!

I am very very concernd about the flight.. cos 7hrs. scared air pressure, and also dunno wat to expect.. any info any of u can share with me? In aug, i'm hoping he would have started porridge (will be 8 mths corrected) by then and plan to bring the small cooking set and thermal cooker there to cook porridge. Hopefully will work out eh? very very uncomfortable with the idea but yet excited. hubby said wanna bring him to disneyland, but i was thinking a bit wasteful of money. the only thing we can do with him there is prob take pictures?!?!?! and he can do lots of sightseeing lor.

good morning mummies

hello xbliss

wow JAPAN as a first trip for bryan. he is one lucky boy!

actually, re the air pressure. so long during take off, you let him eat something, its ok. siang was ok thru out the flight (thou its only 35mins). for Bryan, at 8 months corrected, milk should be sufficient to keep him full during the 7 hours flight.

oh yes, i bought my slow cooker to KL but it did not came to use because siang refuse to eat it and end up we bring him to the SOUP restaurant (by Yu Ren Sheng) to eat their mince pork porridge.

otherwise, you try to introduce cereal to bryan? it will be easier than to cook...

oh before the trip, re to ask PD/Neonat (if u happen to see her before the trip) for medication for Japan.... (in case - choy choy choy)

Just go go go ...hehe. other things can slowly think of solution! so happy for you *Grin*
. Japan seem like a ok place to bring baby/toodler.

i also think maybe bryan dunno how to appreciate disneyland yet btu sight seeing itself is very nice ah.

whats the weather in Japan in August?? i am so excited for you haha

good morning mommies,

so many posts..beene q bz at work recently..

xbliss,
wow..japan.. so nice.. it's the place where we had ws heehee.. in disneyland hotel

wan to bring ws to japan 2. but i'm waiting 4 her to b bigger, cos 1) the 6.5hr flight scare me 2) dun wan to waste on disneyland since she can't really enjoy yet.. planning to bring ws 2 disney world when she's abt 5yr old

my suggestion is, no need 2 bring the slow cooker. like wat jane suggest, let him take cereals now. then u only need 2 bring cereals. u can always buy bottled food (there are A LOT IN JAPAN!!!) & mix into his regular plain cereals. when ws was 8mths old & we brought her to taipei, i juz went to their supermarket & bought gerber cream spinach & mixed fruits, then mix into her plain rice or brown rice cereals.. there r oso other variants in the jap supermarkets.. & if bryan is eating rice alrdy, u can always feed him white rice, mix w some miso soup. since rice oso v readily avail in japan.

oh, i've a packing check-list 4 bb, in case u need , let me know

but japan in aug is summer.. n it's very very very hot. so rem 2 dress bryan cool

go go go.. i love japan..wow.. macam i'm the 1 gg on the trip heehee

Yah yah, japan japan, so good, me excited as well xbliss.
thanks for giving me your support. hee. yah, will stay positive for the 68%. And guess wat, my hubby has decided to be vegetarian so that he can accumulate some goodness (erm dunnno how to say) for our family and next baby. He has been vegetarian for a two weeks or so liao. I admire his determination. I will die without meat.
But think it is a good deed.

When can I go? hmm...

I think have to wait at least next year.

No no, premature babies are def normal. erm...did i use my words wrongly? I am one normal premature baby mah. hee.

Now so free at home as dash is in school (last week). My in laws will usually bring him back quite late.

Actually I still got stacks of worksheets to mark n bring back school, but sooo lazy...sigh.

disneymicky, kkf

haha xbliss going japan with bryan but majam like we going haha..so excited for her

xbliss
if like what DM say, then you really don't need to bring slow cooker liao. plus the water in Japan is quite clean. you can buy distill water for bryan (if u concern, can just boiled it) to drink... food seem readily available from what DM say.

summer is good for bryan
no worries of cold

xbliss,
Good ! you must join hb to Japan
yup, no need to bring slow cooker so troublesome, like what dm says bring loads of cereals, and yes the bottled water in Japan is the best (that's what I saw in one of the documentary so no worries)

kkf,
my mum is malaysian.she is on long term social visit pass.wen she was admitted in sgh the bill was almost 4k for only 2 nite stay in C ward.so we decided to go kl for the surgery coz gh in kl is the biggest centre for neurosurgery.guess wat the total bill only 167 ringgit hehe.less than 100sgd.

fairylander,
wow, good thing your mom is a Malaysian, the fees is so economical, in Singapore, don't know how many thousands you need to pay

wa.. i feel like i am going to japan for u all! hehehe..i also feel like very lugi if dun bunk in mah.. hehehe.

jane, kkf, didi, dm,
think i shall go ahead without the slow cooker. Before we go, i need to introduce some basic foods and veg to bryan cos i worry if he starts there and get reaction to the foods, then my whole hols is GONE. Just worried i cant understand what the bottles are saying so i dunno what to buy for him when i get there!

dm, appreciate if u can pm me the list?! for first timer, i already feel very lost about what to pack, cos i know got A LOT to pack!

fairylander,
wat happened? hope ur mummy is ok?

Xbliss,
Good idea that you should bring some bottles of baby food that you just warm it up in hot water, true, esp we can't understand Japanese
to play safe

xbliss,
my mum is ok now tks.she had a tumour in her brain luckily its not cancer.so envy u can go japan i never been there b4.hows bryan?

xbliss
JapAN ???? wah so exciting!

didi
ooo food in Indo yummy!

Jane
still thinking... coz think we also need a family get-together. better without my parents like dat as we stay with them.but then got wedding invite so it'll be fun tooo

kkf
yup first day not at work. but then today go KK, forgot that had appt to check the hernia op. yay! discharge for that. one appt to cross out. hubby happily ask me if I had a gd day. happy and also bit preoccupied thinkin gotta have some plans both for freelance and for Nada. sometimes I blur what shld I teach her. first time mum hehe. must do research hehe

daec,
How is SAHM ? can 'goyang kaki' a bit
love the nasi padang, hmm.... btw did you cry on your last day of work, remember many years back when I resign, I cried buckets with my colleagues and my boss also cried and hugged me, aiyoh very emotional ... tsk...tsk....

A question to ask the premature babies' mummies here. My girls have been vomitting milk from mouth and nose recently. The jie jie when lying down will have milk flow out from nose n mouth. During feeding, they can finish a whole bottle but after that milk will gush out from that 2 areas.

Just trying to know are they overfed with the number of ml?Do any of u encounter such things when ur babies are discharge and you started feeding them urself?

didi
so far still not at home jhehe as keep go out. first day went KK. second day that's today - go out to Vivo. My first time there since hubby dun want go as he hates crowded places. my mind is chiming with ideas how to make e home better. comes to mind, I ought to teach nada more but I blur wat to do too.
its nice knowing I can plan my own time more and be flexi abt it. rather then all8hrs work only.

nope I wasnt emotional. think my team was abt me leaving tho. boss keep asking me if I sad to leave. i morethinkin future future how..

mummy yan, think i expert in regurgitation already.. sometimes have to do with burping. MUST burp in between. In our case, sometimes we even try to burp bryan Before feeds. After feeding, i do what didi say, even if he dun burp must hold him straight for min 10min. i usually KS and wont lie him down for 30min unless he really tired.

After feeding, try not to let them move too much too. bryan sometimes too excited, arch himself, etc also will merlion..

Overfeeding may be another reason, but like u say, if they can finish the bottle, prob may not be so. How much they drinking? KKH usually recommends 1ml per 50g.

kkf,

i jus read ur blog.. i think the macaroni the programme used is the half shell kind.. so is just dump the banana ontop of the shell.. hhehe ur stuffing of the macaroni a bit hard uh!? does it taste nice?!?! macaroni and banana sounds weird! like it that u re so adventurous!

Hi xbliss,

My girls weighing about 2.8kg and 2.6kg drinking 65ml now. If burp in between feed, it always took me 45min to 1hour before the whole feeding process is finish. Does yours take so long?

Sometimes when I want to burp them, they keep struggling and move alot until merlion lor. Want keep them still for burping also difficult!

Sometimes I stop them from sucking during 1/2 way feed, they will scream and cry. Then I want make them sit up straight and burp, they start to vomit milk from nose and mouth liao...

Will things get better when they grow older and weight is increasing??

Mummy yan, cannot gives you advises as dash has not been like that before. He usually will just gurge out a bit of milk, not as much as your girls leh. Maybe slowly slowly feed them?

Xbliss, haha, indeed macaroni and banana taste weird together. So do potato with carrot mashed together with colourful sugar strands. Not good taste, yucks. But dash enjoyed doing, so just let him had fun.

daec, same here, I am still thinking what to teach dash. haha. Me worse, got to start home schooling, but dunno what to teach. I had bought some flashcards to flash, and many workbooks to do. But I think I will get lazy at times to do them with dash...hopefully everyday, will keep him meaningfully occupied.

My very ambitious target: to train dash to recognise words and to read on his own. (dunn acheiveable?)

Right now, training hard on his phonics which is an area I myself is very weak in.

Fairylander, glad your mum is ok now. Wow say, so cheap ah? good good, but then think singapore medical standard is higher right?

xbliss,

sorry..bz haven't sent u the packing list yet.

mummy yan,
it's call regurgitation. & it's normal. like wat xbliss suggest, need 2 burp in between. i know it's gg 2 take loooong time 2 finish feeding. but u dun wan to spend more time cleaning up after they vomitted out rt? n not 2 mention wasted the milk? if u dun wan to burp in between, i suggest u sit them upright after feeding & try 2 force a burp out. in case no burp, juz carry/sit them upright for a good 5mins, this is my own theory: so all milk will go into stomach