Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

iso,
yup, the jumperoo was more to keep Baby L entertained and confined for a while. But for Baby L's case, I think it also did help a bit in strengthening her leg muscles. hehs. Now that she's crawling and cruising all over the place, she doesn't want to be in the jumperoo anymore...well, for not more than 5 mins. Sometimes during weekends, I put her in there when I need to say, go check on the fire. She'll be ok. But when she sees that I'm done checking the fire, she'll scream to be taken out of it. hahaha. I think she knows that it's just to hold her for a while...hahaha.

Sleek,
that is so cute!! squat up and down...heehee...exercise up and down, up and down...hehs.

I just confirmed my new maid yesterday. Today going to go down to agency to do some paperwork to get her over. Then have to think of how to send back the current one...I mean, gotta manage the person even as she packs and gets into the car right? hehs...

petrina
oh no!! poor bb!! is he ok today? he sleeps on his tummy at night?

exersaucer/jumperoo
ok thanks ladies
it's really for entertaining purposes and not developmental, but i figure if it can develop while entertaining, all the better! i guess they grow out of these things fast

pet, how old is baby R now?
sleek, wah so cute, macam aerobic exercises, did he just start doing the squats himself??

yup, csi, u need to watch her pack.. best is to help her pack. in case she 3 hands... hehe

iso, 6mths+ now.. outgrow fast yes.. he only sit in leapfrog for safety reasons.. haha..

sleek: haha, sentosa. so nice.. i'm also gg this end sept.. celebrate wedding anni & my bday at the same time.

CSI: Depending on your relationship with her. If it had been a pleasant one, she should automatically pack with you around. Also, there might be some gifts you have for her.
Then again, if they really want to steal, there are ways for them la... like stuffing money into their undergarments... I mean we won't do a body check right... that's really awful...

However, if it was a very bad relationship, I'd prefer to send her to agent 1st, then pack for her... then send stuff over.... in which case, you do not tell her the exact day of leaving... just go out as usual & bring her along, then leave her with agent while you return to pack or someone at home pack up...
This will catch her by surprise (I did for my 2nd maid who stole)... also found more petty items she stole... but at least I will never have doubts in my mind about whether she stole anything else... cos whatever she's not supposed to have, I did not pack into her bag... it should be very clear to her that we are aware she stole them what, no need to confront or anything...

Sleek: Enjoy yourself! The last time I went to Sentosa was on Labour Day, did not know I was expecting then... even went on the luge... shiok... hee hee... then after found out preggy... no mood for Sentosa la... so hot & tiring... hee hee... #1 has been asking to go stay there again...

What's this Jumperoo, exsaucer & leapfrog thingy? I'm considering getting a trampolin for the kids... like very fun le... but dangerous?

pet: wah, and he can stand unassisted already??

EmQ: even though i don't have a maid, i like reading all your advice in case i do have one next time

trampoline? wow! your girls will REALLY be bouncing off the walls
i was asking about the difference between a exersaucer and jumperoo, because i'm now renting an exersaucer and am trying to decide between that an a jumperoo next...

iso: no lah! so fast.. when he's in the leapfrog, he likes to stand.. instead of sitting.. he hold the edges.. wun fall mah. so i noe he is irritated already... he'll stand n sit, repeat afew times.. cause the leapfrog is already too short for him le. so when he stand, his butt is not touching the cushion.. i'm thinking of stuffing pillow on the seat so can prop him higher.. still negotiating my way on how to do it.

trampoline...
with the HDB ceiling height, not advisable... unless u have a garden..

CSI, is ur jumperoo at ur mom's plc in clementi?
i was thinking of doing a switch with u for a wk or so... let ryan have some fun with jumperoo... cause not economical for me to rent a jumperoo.

pet: ah ok, haha.. the leapfrog got only one height? ethan is just nice in the exersaucer we have now, can make it even higher if necessary but he seems ok for now.

iso: the leapfrog has 3 heights.. but maybe it's more for younger babies.. DS's height of 70cm, can stand w/o touching the seat bottom. i nv really measure the exact height.. din noe it's so short though.. yup, the safety 1st exersaucer's height is good. 2mths ago, he was doing well at lvl 1... tip toeing at lvl 2.. we rented it b4 buying leapfrog.

emq.... congratulations!! Very impressed with u leh.. can mangae a career w 2 kids and the 3rd one coming and now thinking of 4th?? hehe.. jia you jia you.. govt need more pp like u :p i one kid already shi jian bu gou.. no time liao.. cant imagine shuttling everywhere over the weekend.. how old is ur 1st and 2nd.. wow.. 3 princessess!! my ger coming to 7 months also dun seem to be crawling.. so should i send her to gymboree if by 9 mnths she does not crawl.. r u refering to the gymboree at vivo??

sleek.. wow family day!! hope u had fun day.. i brought baby G to Sentosa twice.. hehe.. but she too small.. dunno anything.. but i just brought her cycling at east coast on sunday.. she luv it...

actually i never use jumperroo or exersaucer.. i abit bo chup leh.. i only use walker cause they can rome.. dun need to confine to one place.. not easily bored. although i understand walker may impede their learning of walking so i try to limit lor.. hopefully thats not the reason she is not learning how to crawl.

pet.. hope ryan is ok.. at least u noe he is pretty agile!!

welcome jessie

jeannie: I guess we are lucky to have some form of support - maid & PIL staying with us now.

I think babies develop at their own pace, no one can hurry them. However, a friend who just started his teaching course at NIE shared that if parents are concern, we can 'show them the ropes'... he says for e.g. if baby is not rolling over by a certain age, parents can constantly roll baby over during play, baby will get the hint & start rolling on his own...

I guess that might have triggered #1's crawling development back then.. being in a safe environement, us coaxing her on the equipment & watching the other kids. No Vivo City in those days (#1 is 6 & #2 14mths)... we went to the Tanglin Mall one. & she enjoyed herself... after abt a yr or so, we find that she's walking & then she started cc, so we stopped her Gymboree.

For #2, I tried the Vivo City one, cos it was less crowded... was 'forced' to join membership, cos the franchiser was trying so hard to be friendly, claim she knows a friend of mine, etc... talk & talk... then ended up getting membership for kids... but have not been back since Mar! Am trying to put #2 in some regular class...

I guess you can try to create a safe environment for her... we first tried by putting #1 on bed then going to the other end to entice her with toys, etc... eventually, she started to crawl towards us... then we'd purposely put her on the floor in the hall & walk off to the kitchen or dining area... she soon came after us... but at that time, remember MIL making cynical remarks like, 'wah, your mummy, daddy, very fang xin'... we didn't care la... #1 finally crawl, which was a relief for us... hee hee..

I do notice that 'peer pressure' & play do help. #2 can walk on her own, but will never do so without holding on to our hands... however, we notice a 'leap' in her walking ability everytime her cousins come over!

2 weeks ago, my 2yo nephew came over & was kicking a ball, #2 happily kicked along, standing & kicking on her own! It was as if she had forgotten the fear of falling! Or she was immitating her cousin... anyway, HB came back from reservist that week & say, wah, a week away & you are walking on your own!

Then last Sat, my niece (a wk younger than #2) & the nephew came to celebrate Lantern Fest at my place. My neighbour's kids (2-4)came too... Again, the kids were playing & walking/ running in the garden & around the house... yesterday, #2 was running all over the hall on her own!

Amazing lor... you can try Gymboree or any of the other gyms... so long as equipment suitable for babies... do a trial & see how Baby G take to the class... can sign on if she enjoys herself... if not, try another... or just encourage her more at home... consider some 'playgroups' with kids around her age, they imitate each other... but will also pick up bad habits... hee hee..

Sentosa was great fun and as it was still quite early, there was no one else around!!! We didn't go into the sea since it was really high tide and it just looked dirty with all the seaweed and goodness knows what else inside, but we had a splashing good time at a water feature in palawan beach.

Re: squatting up and down, yeah he did it himself without any prompting or help from us and that is how babies build their little leg muscles for standing up
... all the kicking around while still lying on their back, then trying to 'stand' while someone is holding them, then progressing to pulling to stand themselves while holding on to something; babies are amazing and naturally know what to do, it's us adults who hinder their progress by not letting them explore, being worried they get injured or carrying them around all the time. Even falling down while learning to walk is good for them, so they can learn how to 'fall properly', how to catch/ stop themselves, how to control their bodies so they don't fall down, how to get up again and try.

pet: you guys not going to thailand anymore, since you mentioned sentosa end sept?

csi: hope your new maid works out better for you than the 1st one.

jeannie, not crawling at 7mo is still ok, but like EmQ says, you can 'show' her how to crawl by actually getting down and doing it yourself or perhaps you can push her feet from behind when she makes the crawling motion, so she can 'feel' what crawling forward feels like. However be careful what you wish for, hahaha once she starts, you will have a headache keeping her out of trouble
as for sending her to gymboree so she can learn to crawl, personally I wouldnt advise it as I know that the babies who go to these type of class and can't crawl yet, are often crawled or walked over by the other babies who can.

wooo....missed out so many posts...

EmQ,
the relationship is not say very bad, but not that great either. hahaha. HB is also worried if she'll snap or do anything funny along the way if we tell her to pack and we bring her to agent. Maybe he's just thinking too much. hehs.

I guess if I'm the maid, and my employer were to pack for me, I'll be worried, if the employer would take my things and claim to be theirs kinda thing. hahaha. (thinking too much also??) But then again, the mindset of a "hoarder" may be quite different...hmmmmm....

Pet,
the Jumperoo is at my home at Hume. That's why, Baby L's time on the jumperoo is always limited to weekends or weekday nights if she's still awake when we reach home and not too late. Hehs...If put at my mum's place, I can imagine the maid will just put Baby L in there all the time and not really interact with her kinda thing.

Sleek,
yah...hope the new one is better. Hehs, her birthday is only 2 days after mine. So, same zodiac sign. haha. hopefully it works out well.

Jeannie,
agree with sleek. Be careful what you wish for...hehs. Once they start to crawl, gotta watch out for them. And they can be very fast...you put them down, and zoom! Off they go, crawling to wherever. hahaha. Then you'll have to 'run' after them. But that aside, every baby has his / her own pace. Keep showing her how to crawl and she'll pick it up...

EmQ: yah i agree w Jeannie, it's impressive that you're FTWM and have 3 and still considering more! you're my role model, haha :p i'm guessing it gets easier with each kid? and maybe also economies of scale? haha..

Survey by a student

Hi beautiful mummies,

I'm doing a news story for my school (UNISA) assignment. The topic is on modern mums in Singapore. All your information and survey results will be kept confidential. It will not be circulated, not even to my lecturer. Rest assured, this story will not be published publicly, so feel free to voice your opinions.

It's quite urgent, I really appreciate that you revert asap. It's prob take you less than 15 mins to complete the survey. Thank you!! =)

After you're done with the survey, please send it to [email protected]

cheers,
Christina Loh

http://community.livejournal.com/ljmummies/96357.html?style=mine#cutid1

mummies! suddenly my breasts r empty!! no milk to squeeze... i wanted to make cereal for my boy then i realised that when i squeeze, nothing comes out.
cham lor... dunno my boy suck n suck got milk to drink or not... i whole day latch on, not much letdown leh.. based on feeling..

Pet,
not everyone can feel letdowns. So probably ur body is so accustomed to it, it doesn't result in that much sensation anymore...but there is still milk flow. If there's no milk, I think Ryan would have kicked a fuss! hahaha.

csi, usually i can feel... on both sides while he is latching on one side. but today, the towel i used to catch the letdown on the other breast is clean.. means no letdown..

i juz drank a cup of dumex lactation milk.. finally can feel the gush of milk flow... whew...

CSI: I think sometimes it's our fear more than anything... often things are not as bad as we think... hee hee... wishing you all the luck!

Jeannie/Sleek: No worries abt Gymboree... if you are worried baby get 'crawled' over, don't go for the free play (there's usually lots of walkers already) or go at a off peak time... the last time, we practically had the place all to ourselves. And if you are signing up for classes, ask the staff for recommendations. They usually have a few classes for the same group. Ask them which has kids closer to your baby's development. The last time we put #1 in a class with children younger than her cos she wasn't crawling or walking as well as those in her age group...

Iso: I work with colleagues & bosses who have 3 or more kids... also, I grew up in a large family & loved the fun we had... I've always wanted 6 kids of my own... wanted to have my own homeschool... hee hee... of course, must be more practical la... dun have rich husband, cannot materialise... hee hee..

Nonetheless, I enjoy having my kids around me... no matter how tired I am, the tiredness melts away when they smile. And they always do. #1 used to sleep in our bed till she was 2... & every morning, she'll smile when she wakes up & see us. #2 will always smile when we look at her... she'll be running & playing, then peep into my room where I'm doing my work... then when I stop to look at her, she never fails to give me a wide smile or sometimes a cheeky grin... at dinner time, she'll always want to climb onto my lap for awhile until MIL pry her away...

I'm lucky that despite my work, my gals will still stick to me. I don't have any issues about them sticking to maid or their grands... they'll always come to me & hubby & only go to grands/ maid if we are busy.

We are looking forward to Princess #3's birth... as for #4, not sure yet as hubby is concerned about complications from a 4th c-sect.... he's ready to call it quits... yet he's not ready for liagation lor... we are talking to gynae... well, gynae thinks 4 is still ok, but not any more... meanwhile, one step at a time... hee hee..

Pet: Relax, were you unwell or stressed? I understand stress & illness can affect milk flow... or... could you by any chance be expecting? I heard one colleague says her supply stopped when she was expecting #2... which was when she finally weaned #1...

Read the news about baby formula milk in China? Gosh... Now it has extended from Sanlu to Yili and Monmilk. I remember Cold Storage also carries monmilk UHT milk, which claims to have higher protein content. And expensive too! And I thought mongolian cows produce more protein meh? Now I think the higher protein content is due to the added melamine. :p

Thanks for leaving msgs on my blog. It's really been a tough time and I'm still trying to wade through it but hearing from you all really helps. Thanks. Will keep you updated. Anyone know of a good nanny that I might be able to hire instead?

Hi Ondine,

Sorry, I can't help much. I'm pretty much in the same situation as you. I'm only sending my help back only when the new help arrives. Can only hope the new help is better than the current help. Chin up!

chobee: luckily i dun drink those brands.. yeap, i've heard of monmilk.. i thought i saw walls also in the range of problem milk??

Hi Ondine:
I haven't seen your blog... (can someone provide link here?)... I figure from the msg here it's maid problem (?)

Again! D@#$ gals... always giving us trouble... sometimes I dun understand what goes on in their minds.... aren't they here to work, to earn money, to help their families? If all of us can go to work & do our part at work, what's wrong with these gals?

I just scolded my maid this morning... she left the lights in the room on through the night AGAIN! Claim that she fell asleep before my daughter did... hello, you are the adult & have been instructed to switch off the lights le... but think she has never done so for the past mth + since working for us... cos I'm always the one to switch off when I check... I figure when I dun check, it's just left on thru the night lor... Then she did not even place the shower head back on the hook after she showered last night. When I went to take a drink in the middle of the night, heard the water dripping away, then went into her toilet to check & realised the shower head was hanging in mid air, water not turned off properly, pails of wet cloth & her smelly clothes soaked in water in pails! I faint... & she claims she washes the toilet every week! Sigh... how to keep her for 2 yrs?

Really tired of changing... this is my 5th in 16mths...

Hi! Totally swamped by work and home PC crashed (a minute of silence please...)

Think some of you signed up for tomorrow and next Sat's session 2 & 3 of The Happiest Baby. Thank you! I'll see you at tomorrow's session -- I'm working, remember?

Chobee: Is the charity bazaar still on next Mon? I'm clearing time off and can go support...

HI kidz, yes the charity bazaar is on! I'm taking half day today to go buy japanese noodles (somen) and also come home to do marathon sewing. :D

Pls come and support if you have time!

EMQ, Ondine and CSI_fan, guess what . It's my turn to face these B**t**d maid issue!! I can't believe it
My helper just flare up this morning and shouted at me for no reason!! Gosh, and the worse thing is, the agent refused to take her back today, insist that we wait till Monday. Really agree with you that as employers, sometimes we are at the losing end when we get such Sh**ty maids
Upset our mood and plans for the entire weekend and now have to look again for another one

To think that we have never raised our voice at her and even allow her to check emails and give her the privilege to chat half an hour on MSN every Sunday night with her husband who's working in UAE
Sometimes being kind-hearted doesn't pay

wah... so many maid problems... cool down mummies...
change them if u dun like them.. prob u need to be firm right frm the start.

Pet, ya, never thought having a maid can bring about so much headache. Always read maid abuse case in the newspapers and thought as long as we treat our helper well, all these problems can be avoided but apparantly, it's not a '2-way traffic'!!

Ondine, I re-read your post this evening after this morning's episode and every word echo my sentiments (wish I can express myself as well as you do.) We too treated our helper well, provided for her and accorded her more respect, freedom and trust than any average Chinese S'porean family would for we emphatise dearly her plight of leaving home (and kin) to etch a better living for her family here.

Alas, what we get in return for our 'kindness' and 'compassion' were arrogance, pride and a defiant spirit. Above it all, that betrayal towards my baby girl who's grown attached to loving her as a cargiver

Indeed, maybe those who were 'stricter' might have got it right. Should've taken a leaf outta their books...but well, it's a good lesson on humanity for my husband and I.

Thanks for penning such an insightful post. Next few days, new challenges await in the repatriation / maid selection process...as if I don't have enough problems already!

Angel & Ondine: Will pray for good replacement maids for all of us... (those who need)...

I'm also chasing my agent for a replacement FAST!

I guess it's never easy manging maids... I've learnt fast from my first few maids... & after 5, I guess I've more or less managed to strike a balance... just that this one simply does not match up... what to do?

Just yesterday, I was at West Coast mkt & saw the egg truck, so got 30 eggs (20 small ones for soft boil... cos HB & #1 says they miss soft boiled eggs)... since they are fresh, told maid not to keep in fridge & to cook for b'fast today, know what? She went ahead to fry beehoon! cos few weeks ago, she prepared exactly same b'fast for Sat & Sun & I told her she can vary with beehoon since FIL prefer Asian b'fast to our usual Continental weekend.

Well I told maid yesterday to cook soft boil eggs (since I managed to get fresh ones) but this morning, HB told me maid cooked beehoon the moment I got up... imagine my rage... dunno, I just went kitchen & SCREAMed my head off... what on earth am I going to do with 40 eggs now???? (I already had 10 in the fridge but since large family, I always keep 20 & the 20 small ones were meant to be consumed today... sigh)

After that, I regretted it... hate it having to start my day like this! I stormed into the toilet, spat out & started brushing my teeth, cleaning up... what a horrible start... sigh... but I decided I'd rather be happy today...

So when I went out again, the maid meekly apologies, I just told her I don't wish to talk to her... hee hee...

I'd better finish b'fast fast & get ready for church, FIL coming along today, cannot siam... hahaha..

Have a nice Sunday ladies...

EMQ, from your personal experience, Indon maids are better or Filipinas? My agent has a Philippino on hand but no Indons but with the current one's bad attitude, we are hesitant to take another Filippino

Angel,
yessss.....agree with you. We're at the losing end sometimes. And it's not as if we treated her badly. But like you said, we get "repaid" with defiant spirit. My current helper does not "report" to us what happens (with Baby L) during the day. Not even when we ask her. Thank God my grandma, grandma's helper (long distance relative) and my bro are at home. Bro's having exams now... Sometimes they will casually mention the events that take place at home.

e.g. So-and-so's relative came to visit grandma today. And the kids played with Baby L's toys. (this I heard from my brother 1 day after it happened). Nothing wrong with them playing with her toys. Just that I'd appreciate hearing about it even though the toys would have been washed (esp from the maid, since she's the caregiver), so that if there's anything wrong with Baby L subsequently, we can narrow it down to the cause. The maid seems to have this impression that as long as she's rectified the "problem", we don't need to even know of the "problem". Which I think is very wrong, coz whatever the problem is, regardless of how small she may think it is, it may affect my family's well-being. So I think it's only right that we are informed of it, right? But no....now, everyday, I wouldn't even know if Baby L has knocked her head etc...coz she doesn't feedback. Hubby was so angry with her yesterday for not giving us appropriate feedback, that he goreng her...hahaha.

Another display of her defiance: we've asked her to record down Baby L's routine for each day. So we can identify "problem spots" if anything were to happen (like, crankiness due to lack of sleep etc). But she's quietly stopped writing. No discussion as to why she should stop writing. Hubby asked her, why she never write. Her reply: coz I noticed you never read. Hello? I do read, just not at the times u are awake. Hubby tried to rationalise with her and explain nicely with her. Then he asked her if she'll be recording for that day. Her reply: NO. I will not be writing. How defiant is that?

Add the times she's been taking stuff from my parent's home without asking (cosmetics, notepads, shoe fresheners)...I can't wait to be rid of her.

Angel, at the end of the day, I think it boils down to their personal character. Indon maids, there are also those with attitude problems. Likewise, Fili maids, there are also those with good character...now I really understand what they mean by "getting a good maid is purely luck".

hi csi, JTS all these things that you recently mentioned above happens in infant/ child care centers too, just that there, there are no 'eyes' to see and inform you of what has happened, which is even worse of course.

anyway, hope everyone can resolve their maid issues.

sleek,
yah. agreed. It's just as bad. But I think for us, we'll kinda expect that from infant centres/child care centres. Whereas a person whom we've given specific instructions to do so, can tell us No, straight up...I dunno if that's honesty or defiance...hahaha. may be better than anyhow write and u'll think it's all ok.

Angel: I think it all boils down to the individual maid. Basically, Filipinas are more sociable & outspoken... so they will speak up & dare to make requests such as 'writing letters home, making phone calls, permisson to own a phone, day-offs (even if none indicated in their agreed contract)... they also have this constant desire to talk, so they tend to find opportunties to talk to neighbours' maids, etc... most of my previous Fili maids also enjoy talking to me when I'm free...

Indo (I've only got 1 so far) will not ask for anything... she even tells me that it's ok for me to scold or shout at her! (faint... I mean who enjoys scolding).... I told her I don't enjoy shouting at maids and have not done so to any one before her! I told her that I'd still correct her if things are done wrongly, but if she was sincere about working for me, she has to make sure I do NOT need to shout at her.

In a way, Indos are more resilent and have a higher tolerance to be told off...

Then again, from my sense of things, you are a reasonable and nice employer who is fair & will speak nicely to your maids.... in which case, I (still) believe that if we speak to the maids with respect, they should recipocrate... if they don't, then they truly don't deserve to work with us in the first place.

I cannot accept rude or defiant maids... don't even dream of shouting at me (ok, for no good reason la... I mean if I were too much, I can't blame the other party... then again, I doubt I've ever crossed that line)... so if any maids dare try that with me, I'll just have to pack them off... cos firstly, I don't wish to keep someone who cannot accept authority (eventhough I don't boss my maids, I'd expect some form of respect simply because I'm their employer)... also I do not wish to go into shouting matches at home... what values will I be teaching my kids?

In fact, we can't wait to change our current maid cos HB & I feel that there's too much shouting at home (not daily but any shouting is still too much)... also children CAN sense our frustrations with the maid. Even baby (at 14mths) know how to reject maid! On days when maid is scolded for repeatedly making mistakes or forgetting important things, #2 will not let her carry! Amazing right?

Then #1 is worse! Maid pulled #1's hair while drying it after shower, tugging at her earrings which hurt the girl. #1 was so frustrated, she screamed at maid & HIT her! We faint! When I found out what happended, we immediately called #1 into our room & gave her a shelling on why she should never lay her hands on another person, especially an adult. We showed her some newspaper articles on maid abuse & asked her to read them.

We don't know if maid did it purposely or accidentally.... and this isn't the first time we hear such complains. #1 had complained that maid hit her head while shampooing her... but no one witnessed it... we don't want to accuse maid since #1 can be finding fault with her... on the other hand, we also need to protect our kids.

So I called the maid in & questioned her, naturally she denied... but I warned her to be careful in carrying out her work and not to let me hear or witness her trying to harm the kids. Then I asked maid what #1 did to her. Maid said never mind, #1 is only a child. But I told her off, saying, this is not the values I want to teach my children... & if maid values her work, she has to do her part to ensure such things do not happen. I warned both that if such incidents happen again, I'll send both maid & #1 to the police station... sounds serious but we don't want #1 to think she can get away with hitting maids... or that maids are inferior to us and can be hit when they are in the wrong...

At the end of the day, Fili maids are independent & intelligent, they need less coaching & guidance. If you get a religious one with good personal values, there's little issue about her work attitude & pride. Of course, on our part, we must also treat them fairly. However, do be prepared for bargaining for privileges. & We need to stay firm on all matters cos they sometimes try their luck...

Indo maids tend to be more dull, need more coaching, reminders & guidance... & can be very literal in that they do not seem to be able to process information or think on their feet... However, when properly trained (even experienced ones need training!), can be very hard working & obedient.

If you have plenty of time to train, go for Indo... but prepare loads of patience... and good if you or someone at home can understand some simple Malay...

If you prefer maid to 'auto pilot' soon enough, go for Fili, pray for a religious one... usually they are also respectful, love children & want to be part of the family... better still if they share your religion... there is some common ground.

My 1st maid was very hesitant abt handling #2 when she was born... kept saying baby too small, she's afraid of handling baby, etc.... One day, I got fed up and told her, God gave us a small baby. She's healthy, just small. It is our responsibility to take care of her. God entrusted this child to us because He believes we can do it... so, why are you whining? We'll just try our best and baby is in our hands now! That seem to change her attitude totally... and from that day on, she does not 'complain' & we can see she really tries...

So all the best in your search... I've asked for grace to help us all find sutiable maids... ones who meet our needs and are willing to be part of our families.... what we can do is to keep searching! And I'm sure our prayers will be answered! =D

Dear EMQ,

thanks so much for taking time to give me these tips and to share your 'insights'. On Sunday night, agent sent a fresh transfer Filipino maid to our home and I stayed home ytd to try her out. This maid's attitude is good but can't speak a sentence of English and we have communication difficulty (wonder how she passes her Eng test!). So I informed my agent we've to reject this one as we need someone more independent. I requested for new biodatas and agent told us we might have to live without a maid for 1 month if we are to hire fresh ones from Philippines. She doesn't encourage me to hire Indonesians as she says their English Proficiency would be worse!

Just as I was feeling very troubled again, she called to say another transfer maid has arrived and if I was keen to take her. This maid, a Filipino has 10 years SG experience but she commands much higher salary (S$400). Discussed with my hubby and thought if paying $50 more can resolved our headaches, then it might be worthwhile after all it. So our new maid 'Maria' came last night (she claimed she's 38 but her passport states her birth year as 1964! so effectively she's 44). So far, she's quite teachable except that she has 3 big luggages (gosh, why would a maid have so much barang barang and expect employer to have storage space for her!) and we seem to be going back on our own terms on employing a helper - she wants to be able to use Hp at night and wants day off on Sundays to spend time with her niece who's studying here. Well, I guess it a price we've to pay for such experienced helpers. Praying that it'll work well and the "storm" clouds can soon pass.

How about you EMQ and CSI, what's the situation now?

hi angel,
I think the reason for her 3 big luggages...coz she has been here for 10 years (we tend to accumulate things over the years), plus she goes out every sunday lorh. so more clothes.

Did u find out the reason she was transferred? I mean, if you're ok with the reason for her transfer (i.e. not child related) then not too bad. The thing about experienced helpers, is they know their rights and some "tricks". Just supervise her closely and my opinion is, don't compromise yourself nor Baby Dana, over a helper who's only going to be with you for that long. My current one has 4 years experience in SG. End up, also like that. But that said, not all of them are like my current one lah.

If you feel that u are ok with her HP and Sundays off terms, then she may be a good helper.
Pray....

It's not true that Indons have worse command of the language. My father's current Indon one surprisingly can speak English quite well...

As for me, I'm waiting for the agency to open, then i'll call them for updates on my new helper's arrival. Mine is fresh from Philippines, though. and we selected her only last week. Agent told us, will take abt 2 to 3 weeks for her to arrive. My boss is asking us to plan our leave for October...so I need to know when I shd go on leave...hahaha.

angel: Me waiting for agent to get replacement. They have been sourcing for transfer for me since my current maid's day 3! No luck so far.. they've started looking at new bios for me... as for Indo, it's fasting month, so new ones won't come & old ones will try to stay put la... so no transfers available either... me just wait lor... at least MIL is home to monitor & maid is still doing her work... just frustrating... things not cleaned properly, give stupid reasons when confronted with badly done job... sigh..

I agree with CSI, Indo need not have bad Eng. My current maid's Eng is acceptable... it helps that FIL & I speak a little Malay too (I took a module in Uni... for fun la, now useful... then I've also got my old English-Malay dict)

Then my HB's auntie's previous Indo maid was so good, we did not realise she's Indo! We had thought she was Fili all along cos she was also very responsible, cooks well, etc...

I'd feel the pinch at $400/mth... plus exp maids always comes with huge baggages... literally & figuratively... yes, with years here, they hog stuffs... so the additional stuff... then hps & days off... sure thing for them... they are VERY likely to be part-timing too.... so they will ALWAYS insist on Sunday offs... cos that's also most time pp use part-timers (I used to rely on part-timers too)...

If you can accept the hp & days off... manage her expectations & behaviour well... then an exp one can mean easy life for us... gotta give & take la... they'll auto-pilot & if they still give due respect to you, just accept lor...

Pray things will work out...

CSI: Good luck with your new maid...

Wish me luck in my search... hee hee...

EmQ,
Thank you...

Good luck in your search...

I just called the agent, and was informed that my new Phil maid will arrive in SG tomorrow. So likely I can pick her up on Sat. Hope things will go well.

Now I need to plan and execute the logistics bit. If we were to drop Baby L off at my parent's place, then return home without Baby....maid will suspect something. Yet on the other hand, I don't really want Baby L to "witness" the not-so-nice part of returning the maid (hb wants to go through her belongings at agency coz he feels pretty sure that she took our stuff and hid them). Even when I watch her pack at home, Baby L will be there...it's like, it's not anything nice...if you get what I mean....

CSI: Great! Cool.... Good luck in the logistics...

Well, my mum & sisters have the habit of taking my kids out occasionally... so I suppose you can cook up some excuse like grandma wants to take Baby L shopping, or to the zoo, etc...

Hope to get some good bio soon... but may still wait till after Hari Raya la... if not, so poor thing... kanna 'sack' during Hari Raya period...

EmQ,
yah, I told my sis, I may need her to take urgent leave (in case agent calls me to go pick up new maid only on monday kinda thing). Coz my gal is only comfy with my sis! hahaha. most of the time, my gal will stick to me like glue. my mum carry, she'll give my mum the "oooooohhhhhh" look...and frown. Coz my mum is working lah, and hardly at home lorh. So my gal is not used to it. hehs...just that my sister may not know how to carry her properly if she struggles...hahaha.

Mummies, the saga for my maid hunt continues
Last night, I was walking into the kitchen and saw her kicked my dog in the belly!
She was shocked to see me and tried to give an excuse. Then I found some unexplained scratch marks on bb D's arms and legs. Brought bb D down to the garden for a walk and came back saw the maid sms-d on her hp. Bb D cried at 3am wanting to feed but maid slept throughout
Sighz. Hubby and I can't sleep for the whole night as we were extremely troubled. Looks like this maid can't be trusted. Called the agent this morning, wanted to have our 1st helper back while we select a fresh one from the agency's list of biodatas but she claimed someone already interviewed our helper ytd and will be employing her
This maid-issue is really wearing me down. 1st helper loves my baby (as she was with us since she was born) but has bad attitude due to pride. The replacements sent by agent last 2 days are either incompetent in English or full of experience (and yes, tricks). Why? Is it really so difficult to hire a good helper?

Please pray for us. I can't be taking leave everyday, not much left
Help!!! EMQ, do you mind calling me to have a chat? I feel like I'm losing my sanity over this...

Angel,
yes...it is difficult to hire a good helper nowadays. Having been brought up by maids (both parents working and grandparents old), I feel that their quality has certainly dropped. Probably coz as their society has progressed, their expectations have also changed.

That said, I don't see why we should lower our expectations, just so the maid will become a "good" one. Afterall, we have to think of our family's interests first. I look at all these maid issues as a bad match, that's all. (yeah....trying to console myself lah. Otherwise, I think I'll go mad.) One man's meat is another man's poison. Think positively....

I'm stunned, that ur 10-yr experienced maid can kick you dog! Who does she think she is?? (not being rude...) but that is no way to treat any animal (or pet).

Scratch marks: are they small ones? Could it be bb D scratching herself? bb L scratches herself too...and us. I've got 'scars' on my face, thanks to her...despite us cutting her nails short short...they are at the age where they like to grab things and sink their nails into it. they don't really know how to "manage" their strength yet, so they will grab really hard and that may cause scratches...

Sms-ing: Did you lay down your terms and rules regarding SMS-ing, when she arrived? If you did and she violated it, then...she may be a potential problem. My soon to be ex-maid, we told her, after 10pm when baby is asleep. So everyday, on the dot at 10pm, she'll start her sms-ing. and it will go on till 1am!! Then next day, sleepy.....how to look after baby like that?

God bless you in your search for a good helper ("maid" is easier to type...hahaha).

Hugs....

I'm planning to do this when packing my maid away:-

Our consideration is this: we don't want bb L to 'witness' the maid being sent back to agent. To some extent, it's a negative event lah...plus hb wants to go through the maid's belongings while at agency...so, if bb L is with us, she may fuss etc while we're at agency (then we'll be distracted) and well, we don't know how things will pan out there also.

So, one option is to get the grandparents to our place and we bring maid back. But, we dunno how bb L will react when she sees the maid going off. Maid may also say "bye bye. will never see you again" etc...you know, mind games...to bb L. And hb doesn't want that.

Ok, so bring bb L to my mum's place. But usually bb L and maid go to my mum's place together. To leave Clementi without bb L, the maid will surely suspect something. We're not telling maid anything till the day itself.

So I thought of this (but we're not sure if that is right. it kinda feels, not so correct). Morning of that day...bring bb L and maid down to my mum's place. Then hb and I will return home to pack all her stuff. However, as she has locked up her luggage bag, we'll put all her clothes and toiletries nicely in paper / plastic bags. Take cab back to mum's place. Get maid to come down (my parents and sister will look after bb L then), and go straight off to agency.

On one hand, we want to protect our interests, in case she does anything funny. Yet on the other hand, it's like, she doesn't get a chance to pack her own stuff. Some frens have told us, well, she's already been through your (our) stuff (and took stuff), so she doesn't need to be accorded that kind of respect. Some think it's just a one-off thing. so it's ok to do it like that. Other frens who have packed maids back, have experienced that maid pack in front of them, end up still can steal stuff from them on the last day. aiyoh...

What do you all think ah?

Angel: Have prayed for you and will continue to pray... for peace & for a good replacement.

I know how much maid issues can wear us out... PM me your contact... today is packed... but will try my best to call you soon...

No, you CANNOT keep such a maid... no matter how upset we are, how can we kick an animal? If she can kick the dog, God knows what she might do to baby. I'm sorry if I sound bias... but if Baby D has never had a habit of scratching herself, why should she now? Even if maid has done it accidentally, it is NOT right... babies are totally defendless, we have to protect them at all cost! Dogs can still bite back... not our vulnerable babies!

As for 1st helper... sorry, I don't think it's such a good idea to take her back either... cos if we were the ones to pack her off, not sure what she'll do if given chance to come back... remember, they don't think like us... they may not have the generousity of heart to accept our employment again... much worse, she'll know you only need her to tide over... so not a good choice..

My 4th maid was very good... she did express that she may want to return to work for us after awhile... however, I will NOT write or contact her to ask if she wants to come back... NEVER... if she does write us to ask, we'll consider, may even process immediately... but will not do the asking... hee hee.. eventhough she left amiacably on her own accord...

Am praying for her news soon... hee hee...

My sis is also pestering me to check with my agent for a replacement maid for her... last night she told me she's sending hers back next week! OMG... I can still survive without one... cos we've been managing ok... then PILs around to help out... but sis is solo with son cos HB travels all the time...

I thank God I still have MIL at home... ok, no matter how irritating MIL can be... I shall overlook... hee hee...

Angel, keep searching, have faith. I trust the Lord will hear our prayers soon. We will be blessed with good matches soon. I prayed very hard when I had to replace my 3rd maid... we found a good one... however, she maid 4 ask to go home, I was just devastated... maid 4 was good but constant conflict with MIL (who's kind of irritating la)... then didn't think it was fair to force maid to accept MIL lor... decided to let her go... then had a hard time getting gd replacement... HB says never mind, serve his mum right... OMG lor... I also suffer what... hee hee..

My mum felt that I should have spoken to MIL abt 'improving' instead of just putting blame on maid since we all know MIL's kind... but how to lor... her son told her off many times liao... still giving trouble... how? Then not my mum what, if my mum, I put her in place long ago liao... hee hee.. Mum felt that a pity maid 4 ask to go cos she was good... what to do?

Keep searching, there will be good matches for us soon... it's difficult now, cos Indo are fasting... Fili not enough to go round... & like CSI says lor... quality has certainly gone down the drain compared to last time lor...

The mah jies who served my grandparents (looked after my mum & her siblings), were the best of the lots... then the maids who helped out in parents' time we still good... my aunt's maid served them for 10years until she went home to get married! but by our time... quality leaves much to desire...

CSI: Pick whichever works best for you... from experience, the thought is scarier than the deed... so it may turn out better than we expect la.... take care, don't worry too much. Will pray for peace for you... things will turn out well... trust me... I've been through it enough to tell... hee hee... the first was the most harrowing... hahaha... but over time, I've taken things in my stride...

Main things to take care
~ baby is out of harm's way... (put at your mum's, sis help, whatever... worse come to the worst, put at my place if you really need... hee hee)
~ take your time, don't feel pai say or rushed, check thoroughly... cos you have no chance to regret after that... =D
~ no need for pleasantries... just part amiacably... whatever happened, let things rest...
** be firm though... cos dun be surprised she may have the guts to request for things! Be firm & tell her nicely, FAT HOPE... hee hee..

Good luck...

Me going for meeting now... sigh... then marathon work... then tonight HB says someone coming for meeting also... I feel so tired these days... still fluish... sigh