Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

emQ, yeah i was thinking of going for the lego fair today with my friends, but dont know if i can wake up in time, so totally tired now, zoning out.
what about books for the 2yo girl?

pet, then you better remember I am NOT NICE ok!!! :p

iso,
yah yah...Baby L used to do those downward dog poses too! And she used to be on all fours, then suddenly raise up and straighten out the hand and leg of one side (eg. both left leg and left hand). Maciam doing yoga, and definitely better at it than me. hahahaha. L couldn't crawl when she started standing. Her progression is like, jumbled up. haha. Oh well, as long as healthy, can liao. other development, let them take their own time lah...

EmQ
i guess extrovertism (??) is good for kids but not good for parents, haha!!

CSI
wah not bad ah, actually babies seem pretty strong. i can't do half the things he does! guess once you get on your feet you get lazy ;)

CSI: #1's teacher at Gymboree told us that babies MUST learn to crawl as crawling activates other pyschomotor development in the brain. However, good news is that there are many forms of crawling (can't remember what they were)... and often we (adults) do not recognise them as a 'crawl'... so maybe Baby L IS already 'crawling', just that it is not a recognisable crawl to us... hee hee... I remember teacher says my gal's backside movement was considered a crawl.
So, don't worry. I'm sure Baby L has 'crawled' perhaps in a different way... otherwise, couldn't have proceeded to stand & walk.

If anyone going down Lego fair today, can come back & 'report' findings here, please... hee hee... tomorrow I've only got 1.5hrs, then thinking to pop over to the baby seminar & this Lego thingy.. then gotta rush home for mooncake festival.

EmQ,
oh....is it? hmmm...yah...maybe lorh. hehs...maybe she was already crawling, just that it's not recognisable to us. heehee...
yah, agree. Babies must learn to crawl as it is important for the psychomotor development in the brain...

Tmrw bringing her for her 9 mths developmental assessment at the polyclinic. so fast...9 mths liaoz. hehs.

i'm not sure if it helps anyone, but my mum says i didn't crawl,just held things along as i walked until i walked, and i think i turned out ok??? :p heh

but i did read in "What's going on in there?" about the baby's developing brain by a scientist (i.e. very lor sor) that crawling before walking is "better".

re crawling, actually only cross crawling is the 1 that uses both parts of the brain, as the baby needs to co-ordinate left hand/ right leg and vice versa. But of course, all physical activity is good for brain development so, it doesn't really matter!

Iso: I was like you, never crawled much, went straight to walking at 9mo, no wonder I'm so dumb, hahahahaha!!

sleek u good manz... my batt died ard 12noon... so i had to recharge again.. another 2hrs recharge.. i think this time ard can last longer.. haha...

crawling
those who saw my multiply will noe tat my boy doing more yoga pose than actual crawling... creeping like spiderman... haha

he's trying to sit unassisted from the position of lying tummy time, but he scared. so he refuse to release his hands frm the bed.

yeah, dont know why i have juice, napped only 1 hour plus while my mum took j to class. siao liao, but i scared to sleep too, cos night time cant sleep earlier.

pet,
so cute...refuse to release his hands from the bed. heehee...

hmmm...all the babies are so good yah? All do yoga poses. hahaha. they are yoga experts manz, the babies...

Phew... mummies, finally time to go home... logging off the com in off now... after our mooncake festival celebration... now waiting for HB then going back to baby.

EmQ: so late?? my bb already tucked in bed, me enjoying the peace now

sleek: omg, that explains why these days i'm so SLOW. after pregnancy and giving birth, now with sleep deprivation some days i'm a zombie. that's cos i didn't crawl! dang. :D

wah emQ, you go home so late. Also noticed you post quite late in the night too.

Iso: at least you have excuses, I think I was dumb right from the start...

Iso: So lucky! How do you train your baby to sleep so early? I dunno le, mine are like owls, esp #1! Sometimes must threaten to use cane then she'll turn off the lights. She often goes into her room when told to... but much later, when I check at mid-night (sometimes at 1am), she's still playing with maid!
I guess it was cultivated from young... when it was just the 3 of us (before the maid & in-laws), HB & I usually take turns to mind #1, play with her, read the papers, catch up on some office work, etc... all at the same time... & #1 will just stay up. We tot maybe because she's at my mum's place all day & only get to see us at night when we fetch her home, she wanted to spend more time with us... even if it means playing in her cot & watching us... until she gets really tired... as she grew older, her stamina stretches... she's super active at night... but we have a hard time getting her up in the morning... :-(

I guess I also enjoy the peace at night... esp now... with so many people in the house, there seems to be noise always... hee hee..

Then we are so bz with work & stuff... so only time to relax & surf the net is after everything is done for the day & before I retire to bed... =D

Sleek: Actually this is not my usual. I'm usually home by 7+... cos gotta fetch girl from cc before 7pm. Tonight is late cos of the mooncake festival. Thank God it's not often. But I did leave late this morning, so that I could spend some time with #2 before going off. Wanted to bring her to the event but she's still down with runny nose, & we are having our own mooncake fest celebration at home tomorrow... so tot to let her rest, so that she can play with her cousins tomorrow.

EmQ: i think that's his "natural" sleep time, cos he can sleep at that time whether he's had 1hr in naps the whole day or 3hrs! but most days he sleeps 2 or 3 x 30mins, which leaves ME q tired so i'm more than happy to have him sleep at 8!

does #1 nap until quite late? but since you're working i guess it's good that she has a later bedtime then you can spend more time with her?

Iso: Cool... so nice... my 2 go to sleep quite late lor. Both normally turn close to 11pm (#1 can still be awake at 1+!)
#1 won't get up till we dig her out of bed... unless she has an excursion to go to (then she'll be the one to dig us out of bed).
#2 will get up like clock work at 6.45am. But as a toddler, she naps a few times in the day... unless there's lots of excitment that day, she may end up napping only once.
Your boy is like my #2, my HB says lithium battery - quick charge, yet can last for long hours... hee hee... #2 also like that, nap 15-30mins, then up again! She'll sleep for more than an hr only if she has been playing all day & have not napped yet. =D
Ok, chat later... going Suntec now... then function at home tonight... I think this weekend super siong liao... Mon sure tired... hee hee..

EmQ: some people say sleep habits are learned, but no one actually has tips on how to do it.. i tried researching on how to make naps longer but nothing really works, heh.

i hope if i have a #2 he/she will sleep anywhere anytime like my hb

sleek: Agree, it was disappointing. I went on Sat but there was nothing really... more for the bigger kids (7-11) age group.
Me down with flu... sigh, stuffy nose, & there was blood yesterday. Then throat also painful... sigh... so much work to do... then going for DS on Wed, taking half day... dunno how to cope with load... so much back log & physically not up to it to catch up... sigh.

Iso: I think so too... but dun really know how to 'train' them. #1 sleeps anywhere, anytime... as long as she is tired! It was very easy. We can even change her, feed her, whatever. As long as she was tired, she'd just sleep through it all! Of course can only feed if she's not too deeply asleep. However, #2 is like princess lor... change bed also cannot! Soft sounds, also wake up, cranky... etc... Dun even think of changing her while she's asleep... sure cranky then will even throw tamtrum to show her displeasure... sigh...

But I must say, #1 was brought up on our own (with some help from grannies while we are at work), while #2 was brought up with the help of a maid. if we need to work or if we are out, #1 just tag aLONG & sleeps anywhere... ... however, with #2, we've had the luxury of maid & MIL... & MIL is really irritating lor... she'll always insist must close door when baby sleeps, no one make noise, scold #1 to keep quiet... sigh... then now MIL living with us, such habits perpetuated through the day... for 14mths now... what to do...

I do notice that those kids in my extended family who were brought up with the help of maids were a little more difficult to handle ~ more prince & princess like... while those who were brought up without were much easier to handle... I hope #3 bucks that trend... hee hee...
ok, better not get distracted... must focus on my work... headache now... hope it does not progress to a migraine... sigh..
Have a great week ahead mummies!

kidz
i was, i saw that already
but wondering whether anyone had any feedback on them, it'll only be practical for me if i can put it up and put it down easily, not sure if they can do that.

EmQ: so from your experience you think maybe it's conditioning that the 2 are different?
after birth my bb was so easy, sleeping anywhere anytime, and we made it a point not to be too quiet when he was sleeping, but when he turned about 8 weeks, then he suddenly changed! and the first 2 months i was thinking, this motherhood thing is easy peasy :p the moral is not to speak too soon....esp since i need about 8 hours each night, i now have a massive sleep debt..

btw, i always say, don't worry about work because work doesn't worry about you

emQ, take care of yourself! As for sleep training, you can try reading the books, baby whisperer, tracy Hogg and no-cry sleep, elizabeth pantley. I'm sure there are others, but these are the 2 i can think of off-hand.

Iso: personally I dont think bed rails are safe for babies as they dont know fear yet, so they can easily climb or fall over the railing which will result in a further fall to the floor. J used to fall off (no railings/ only pillows & bolsters) till he learnt fear and how to come down from our bed, hahah
And J was same as E till 3mo, then after he would fight sleep each night bedtime, till he himself cut down from 3-2 naptimes then it became slightly easier only a few months ago.

petrina.. will pm u.. i not so hao min leh.. working... can only meet up when i got leave.. u not doing ur agent work?

emq.. wah.. ur 2 kids sound very different..think its really the environment that shapes the character but actually i think all babies have their own personality too. For now.. gwen is still manageable ( cross fingers) hoping she will continue to be like that. BTW, do u spend a lot of time teaching them?? Hows gymboree?? useful? when can we bring the kids there?EMQ.. u having no.3? or did i read wrongly?

csi.. i think ur baby not bad liao.. i agree.. the milk sign not easy..oops i think i taught her wrongly.. i just use my thumb and pt upwards.. aiyah.. nvm la.. hehe.. ur baby how many months? can stand and try to walk?

petrina.. hope ryan is better now...

isobellies...my ger doesnt seem like she is keen to crawl.. really crawling make smarter kids.. then i hope she stats crawling soon,, so fast they coming to 7 mnths liao.

sleek.. very difficult to apply easy leh,.. totally not easy for me..
u tried?

sleek: ya true, i doubt it'll keep a determined crawling baby out. my friend who works A&E gave me a real scare the other day - a 8M baby fell from the bed and landed up with bleeding in the brain, and these were his exact words "she'll be lucky to have half her IQ". OMG!

jeannie: time flies hor!!

Iso: that's why the advise is never to leave a baby unattended on a high surface like a bed or changing table. If you really want to be on the safe side, for the time being leave e on a mattress or mat on the floor instead of on your bed.

jeannie, apply what? sorry ah brain dead from tabulating sprees.

I need a back massage sooo badly after sitting at the pc for ages.

jeannie,
Baby L is now 9 mths plus. Yup, she can stand and cruise while holding onto furniture. She took her first forward step 2 weekends ago (one hand holding onto her jumperoo). Heehee...so fun...

Jeannie: I guess environment can never be identical even within the same family as circumstances changes over time. I've read also that 1st borns have certain character traits, 2nd born, 3rd born, etc... Understand from readings & friends' sharing that 2nd borns are more demanding & assertive. I do find that #2 is more determined than #1. Used to think #1 is very head strong, but #2 is even more so. When she wants something, she goes all out to get it. HB says she's like me... incidentally, I'm 2nd born too... hee hee..
Yes, #3 is due in Jan 09. Which is what worries me a little. Wonder if #2 will develope the middle child syndrom. I don't think I have that cos my younger sis was born 3 yrs after me... then again, I have many younger sisters such that I'm not 'middle' anymore... hee hee... I'm more like 'first few borns' hee hee...
As a FTWM, with a fairly demanding career, I honestly do not have as much time (as I'd like) to spend with the children... which is why I decided to step back in my career to focus on the family a few years back. I had trouble conceiving after #1 & gynae kept telling me to step down... which I eventually did... good thing is, #2 came along within a year of my stepping back & #3 soon after... so we are very happy now with our 3 princesses. Am considering whether #4... is feasible... ;-p
I used to work more than 12 hrs a day & the family never got to enjoy the sunlight together! But ever since I stepped back, we've had a much more balanced life. The children are happy & we spend our entire weekends together... even if it means shuttling kids to enrichment classes... in between & on weeks where there are no lessons, we have other activities... =D Teaching is done more incidentally than purposely. We pick on teachable moments during our daily activites like journey to cc, meal times, play times, etc... no dedicated 'lesson' time for the kids... =D Well, we put #1 in Gymboree as she wasn't crawling at 9mths... she picked up quite quickly with the environment & other kids... for #2, we find that she's very agile... so putting her in Gymboree would be more like a pre-trial on whether she's suitable for gym later in sch... I like Gymboree (or there are many other schs out there) for their equipment which I cannot set up at home. So basically, I love the safe environment where my kids can really crawl & climb safely. The song & activities also help them along with their interaction... I'm currently trying to find time to send #2 for regular lesson... cos #1 has already taken up most of our weekend slots with her art, ballet, cathechism... & she's not willing to let go of any... so we can only find in between slots for #2... and later #3... hee hee...
Going for lunch now... then marathon work till 6.30pm... have a nice day mummies...

Iso: Yes, any fall is dangerous for babies... so always keep a close watch over them...

hi jessie!
welcome!!
i have a 7 month old boy, also staying at clementi.

CSI
ask you ah, i have been renting an exersaucer, now thinking of whether i should get another exersaucer for the next month, or rent a jumperoo. i heard jumperoo is good for them to build up muscles to stand? Baby E is already starting to "climb" everywhere and wants to stand and keeps pulling himself up to stand..

Hi isobellies,
thanks! i am staying at clementi avenue 2. How old will baby be more stable? my boy seems to be kinda of wobblely still

welcome jessie. I'm also staying in clementi with a 14mo boy.

iso, j never had any exersaucer or jumperoo and he is doing fine. Initially he was slow to roll and start crawling but for walking he was really fast; he started pulling to stand around 9-10m, then started cruising around 11mo and walking unaided before he turned 13mo. And for development wise, shouldnt really compare girls to boys, cos generally girls are faster than boys till secondary school.

jessie, your baby is only 3mo, it's perfectly normal for him to be unsteady for now. prolly around 5-6mo, he should be able to sit up on his own.

Hi Jessie,
Welcome! ooh, u're in Ave 2...my parent's place is at Ave 2. I'm there like, every evening...to pick up my gal. hehs.

Iso,
hmmm...I dunno abt the diff between jumperoo and exersaucer. heehee...but jumperoo did sort of help my gal in her bid to stand I guess. Although her time in the jumperoo is always limited to Sat and sometimes Sundays, and not more than 15min per day (coz hb worry abt boring her. hehs...) But from what I see, the jump jump actions etc, it does sort of strengthen the leg muscles. ooh...baby E starting to climb and pull himself up? I think this is the age where they do that ba...so cute right? But also means, must be more careful now....

Jessie,

Congrats! I'm at Ave 5.
I hv a pair of boys; 2yr and 1yr.
Each bb progess different but should be more or less stable by 7-8mth.

sleek, CSI: oh i rent them more to keep him entertained and confined in 1 spot for a while, and the lady from rent-that-toy advised to rent an exersaucer first and then a jumperoo to help strengthen the leg muscles before they walk (because i enquired about both), so just asking around more to decide which to rent next

but yah, now more "troublesome", we've already lowered his cot just in case he attempts a jail break in the middle of the night

sobsob, my DS fell frm bed yesterday... face flat on the marble floor... as sleek noe, double thump... wood then flr...
faintz... he was sleeping, i think he was dreaming cause he rolled over the pillow guard...
sometimes i see that he ends up wif legs over the edge of the bed though i already put a heavy pillow on his butt n legs.
*he slps on tummy*

iso: these jumperoo n exersaucers r no longer useful when they can stand unassisted... now my son already dun like being in there too long. cause he already standing in it momentarily. not sitting. so he finds it constraining.

jessie: 3mths unstable yes.. mine 5-6mths then prop himself up to sit... he's creeping ard now... turning n twisting his way ard.

Pet: Hope baby is ok... do check for any bruises, etc... & monitor for fever, vomiting, etc... otherwise, in most cases, not too serious, except a bad scare for parents...

Hi Sleek, CSI_Fan, Joo, Petrina,

I am staying at Blk 330 and is my first pregnancy so a bit curious. Hehe...my boy love to lift his head up when I carry him over my shoulders as he is so curious with his surroundings

Jessie, most of us also 1st babies la. You can subscribe to babycenter.com to get weekly updates on baby's milestones.

oh there are 2 mummies who stay very near you.

iso: hahah, J used to hold on to a table or box then squat up and down to build up his little leg muscles, very cute to see him do that! If you use the exersaucer/ jumperoo to keep him confined and entertained that's cool, but if you are thinking more of development wise, nothing beats letting him out and about to explore his surroundings

yup, i agree wif sleek.. i like to let my boy go out on the mattress all day... roll n crawl all day unless i need to go away momentarily.. then i'll put him on leapfrog.