Mummies in Pasir Ris

welcome emoments!

Charmaine, hows ur gal? The fever is better? my boy got HFMD last oct. YOu must take care of yourself too, my boy passed it to me. Does she take lotsa of fluids, musnt get dehydrated.

hi emoments!!
your boy will be same bd as me, if he's born on your EDD :p
my boy 22 feb, sekali also same as me.. hehe..

Charmaine,
oic, maybe i'll check with my gynae during my next appt
often have to go PD so need to find one nearby?

oh btw, me deliver mt e.. gynae = dr kowa
just did my pre-admission today

darlie,
veri cute items you have... u muz have bought a lot for your twins :p

i only have auctions site, which i'm afraid moderator might think i'm "selling" so better not post hor?

hihi....
very busy at work so no time to post.

Pinkie,
my ger's PD is at Tampines. quite good coz she will follow up by calling me on the phone to check on my ger's condition when she had enzema.
plus her charges are ard $45 for consultation.

it depends, if you intend to let your bb have all the jab at polyclinic then no need PD lo.

Charmaine,
how's your ger now?
i hope she 55 recover.

Darlie,
i dun have anyting to swap le.
hmmm....let me go dig dig first.

nite nite

Didi,
oh ya, earlier in the thread i saw that u mentioned abt styaing in flora road. sori ah, the posts so long that i get confused who said wat. I think i know where that is.

HI juxta,
thanks for asking. so far it's been 24hrs liao and no sign of fever so thank God! but can see more red rashes on her head (cos she very botak so can see), tummy and back. those r symptoms of HFMD rite? ya, have to keep giving her those heinz juice for bb to drink cos she doesnt like plain water and barley water but at least she got drink somethg lor. I also hope i don't get it man, as it is i'm so tired taking care of her full time i can't afford to get sick myself. sigh! how long did your boy take to recover?

Pinkie,
it's better to have a PD nearby cos of shorter travelling time. initial 1st few months hv to bring bb for jabs & i recommend to get your bb vaccinated for rotavirus & pneumacocal, polyclinics dun hv those vaccines, only private clinics. i very kiasi and kiasu, rather pay more for those jabs than pay for medical bills if bb gets very sick. and also buy medical insurance for your bb. Hb & i didnt get one for bb early so kena pay so much for hospital bill when she got admitted for bronchiolitis.

mbb2,
your ger's PD very good leh, actually makes calls to u to folo up on bb's condition. but i find her charges quite hi leh, most PDs' charges are abt $35-$40. but i guess ok la since she calls to make sure her patients are doing well. Thanks, i oso hope my gal gets well soon. she's so cranky, clingy and whiney now. luckily got my parents & hb to help me out else i faint if she only clings to me.

hmm... i think i'll ask my gynae to recommend, and prob decide later...

it's a sunny day today finally, and i'm going for a dip!

Hi p1nk1e
My 1st boy was born in Mt E - Dr Teoh (same floor as Dr Kowa). This time I'm delivering in TMC cos Dr Teoh is not delivering after end Jan 08.

As for PD, I went to the one in Elias Mall, not bad. Initially I went to the one at Paragon assigned by Dr Teoh - too far. Then for jabs, I went to Polyclinic, but switch to this PD in Elias Mall when I managed to find one. He's pretty good in giving jabs to baby... so far, under him, my boy hardly cry (even if cry, only for a min or so) and no fever after jab, unlike Polyclinic.

emoments,
u mean the PD at elias mall good ah? Dr Sim right? i went to him few times, so far i dun really like the way he talks lor, quite yaya so i only bring my gal to see him for small matters. if big matter like this HFMD i always bring her back to her org PD in T.Payoh. My CIL oso stopped bringing her boy there cos once the way he talked to her made her feel so belittled. But i guess to each his own lor.

pinkie,
yup, i work on weekends too coz i dun work normal office hours. but i do get off days in a stretch lor.
gain some lose some....

for me, i very KS. bb sick, go PD.
but for standard jab, i go to Polyclinic coz it's juz opp my plc.
so far, the nurse did a good job.

you can actually request the PD that service in the hospital you deliver.
i delivered in RH, and i requested a specific PD to check on my ger since birth.

the PD was good but RH is far, so i switch to the PD in Tampines.

Didi,
Dr. Lim Yit Jean.
tel: 67882288.
i read her portfolio in RH website be4. i remembered that she specialize in skin problem.
do check out RH website.

Charmaine,
most PD charges $30 to $40 huh?
how come those tat my fren recommended all charge ard $60.
i still tot i got a good deal

Hi Charmaine
Yep Dr Sim.... actually initially my 1st impression of him wasn't good also, thou quite impressed with the way he jab my son, but the way he toks also turn me off... but my hubby find him ok.... .slowly maybe quite used to his style, find him ok... and also maybe I go to him mostly for jabs, so far so good lor.

One thing for sure for my case is, he's a lot better than the PD assigned to me by gynea... tt one more stuck up and quite rough with my son who was only a week old then... so I didn't go back to him. At least Dr Sim is very gentle to my son.

emoments,
oh, u changing to TMC - if not we might meet in Mt E.. haha

mbb2,
oh, you work p/t hor...
i'm contemplating also, is your the "bring-home-and-work" kind or go into an office? can share?

Hi charmaine, hope ur gal is feeling much better. First few days are really a struggle cos of the fever and the ulcers in the mouth. After that should be better. My boy took close to 2 weeks. Have to be careful not to get it, the fever really feels horrible, the chill to the bone feeling. Then you get it all over your hands and legs, so hard to do housework. Had to put on gloves to wash and cook for the boy, and so worried hb will get it.

HFMD is actually the symptons of a virus. there are 2 strains of such virus that will display such symptons. 1 of my gf's daughter got both!!!

juxta
to add on ur HFMD..... the worst thg is you are not immune to it after getting it the first time.... my kids kana so far 3 rounds of it liao... onli my little princess *touch wood nv..... the younger the person get.... the worst coz cant shallow due to the ulcers..... my pd even told me to give ice cream to cool the ulcers n maintain the kids hydrated.....

charmaine
taje care

sheris, ya lor eat ice cream, my boy got weak lungs, cannot eat too cold and "cooling". but no choice during HFMD, fed him all sorts of stuff just to make sure he's hydrated. After that, got a bout of very very bad flu, dunno is it due to too much cooling things.

juxta
can get those re-hydrating fluids for them too mah .... tt time me got 3 boxes nw still got 2 boxes left unopen haha gd to use when vomitting n diahorrea as well to keep them hydrated... my 2nd gal also got weak lungs but they will tend to outgrow when they older.... at least tt was wat is happening to my gal now``

Brought my gal to PD again today for a folo up and doc said that my gal has normal viral infection & not HFMD as fever already subsided since last Fri and no further signs of HFMD. The ulcers are also clearing up, only thing is that she now has rashes but will go away. However PD said to monitor her as she is still coughing a bit and hopefully the viral infection won't cause bronchiolitis to recur as she had that b4.

Hi mbb2,
so far i've been to 3 PDs, one is my gal's usual PD, one is the Dr Sim at Elias Mall & another one at Hougang. All 3 of them their consultation charges are btwn $35-$40. $60 just for consultation is way too ex unless it includes medicine. Actually the one at Hougang is also good, he loves kids and is patient but the only setback is that he goes by appointments which i dun like cos sometimes the appt time i get can be quite late.

Thanx juxta & sheris,
for sharing about your exp with HFMD.
About the rehydrating fluids, my fren told me that it's good to give bb that when they hv fever but i didn't buy instead i kept giving her those heinz fruit juice as she likes it and will drink more that way. I boiled barley water but she won't drink so instead mix it into her milk. But i'm so relieved now that she's getting much better. Thnx for all your concerns.

emoments,
He does seem gentle when he handled my gal when i brought her there few times but i just can't stand the way he talks. But at least good that he is gentle when giving jabs to your boy. Furthermore i guess he is the nearest PD around our area so convenient lor. But i will still go back to PD in T.payoh cos been there so many times & got my gal's record there.

good morning mummies

can i check if anyone here has a good driving instructor to recommend? auto only (cos am too clumsy to learn manual!) and willing to come to pasir ris for lessons

charmaine
ur pd at toa payoh is it the one at central? the children clinc? female pd? tt one the charges is like wat ah? coz tt time i brought my gal there spent $150 for a tube of cream n less than 10 min consulation... wonder if i kana over charged

Darlie,
me too, want to find a driving instructor too
let me know if you manage to get 1

:) morning didi! actually i used to have one but he was very quiet and serious.... no vibes lah, dun really enjoy my lessons. i stopped after 10 sessions and during the lessons, i just kept driving on the roads only, no circuit runs. aiyoh.....

darlie,
agree - my driving instructor was really fun - he kept talking until forget to ask me turn...
but too bad he retired liao (learnt from him when i was in college and that was donkey years ago)
will help you gals ask around

har har har! he sounds like fun!! i really need to learn to drive so can ferry the 2 terrors ard when hubby not in town (which is most of the time so the car is just collecting dust in the carpark!)
kao_embarrassed.gif

darlie, that my motive too, as I foresee I have to be my 2 bum's chauffer for classes etc

Hi Sheris,
her consultation is $40 but i'm shocked that that tube of cream so ex. But i do agree that she is ex, even do suction to remove phlegm oso ex, end up can come up to $100+ incl medicines.

Darlie,
You're never too old to learn something. I worse still, haven't even take basic theory, have been delaying for 10yrs liao. Shd hv done so b4 i hv my gal. Now no time to do anything for myself.

PInkie
This am I slipped at the mgt office. You know the side door just next to the lift? Some idiot went swimming then wet the place. I walked in, slipped, did a half split, then with front legs forward. Now I can hardly walk properly. Luckily I din fall on my tummy or butt! I think they shold put a mat there, so dangerous!!

Mom2nat,
OH NO!!! you're already due so tummy muz be very big and you slipped???
Are you ok? did you go gynae check check??
Luckily you didn't fall on your tummy... ask Daniel to raise this up in AGM lor

you're right charmaine, no time at all to do anything for ourselves. hubby complaining i shd have gotten a licence before the kids. u need the basic theory book? can pass to you :) i din take any package from the Ubi driving school but went there to take the exam only. more mafan since u need to register everything on your own lor. esp if u dun go there for lessons, must specially make trips there. have tot of going to ubi to take lessons but too lazy to travel.

mom2nat, u okay?? need to check with your gynae just in case?

darlie, the best part is i bought the basic theory book and only read a few pages. haha. i'm queen of delay when it comes to this.

har har! me too, kiasu, bought various advanced theory books, also no time to study. alamak....

oh yah, want to ask, for avocado, what can i mix it with to make it more appetising? it's very hard and quite tasteless leh. wanted to let the babies try different types of fruits and veges. but buy already dun know what to do with it!

darlie & charmaine,
enjoy your driving classes!
i luv to go for my classes last time... altho i hated the advanced and practical test.
need to keep driving if not you'll lose touch

oh ... haha
dun mix ah!
oh btw, i think i heard my fren add honey to it too...
so that it doesn't have too much of the "siap siap" texture (if you know what i mean)...

darlie,
if the avocados are hard & hv siap siap taste then its not ripe. leave them in room temp to ripen them, when the skin becomes black and when u press can feel its soft. if your kids alrdy 1yr old then can put honey or the best is to blend in some gula melaka & milk, very yummy. how old are your kids? anyway, u can also mix the avocado with some tuna and spread on bread to make sandwiches. can also add them in some salad too with salad dressing.

pinkie,
i duno when i wil hv the chance to take my basic
theory....sigh...who ask me to delay last time.....

charmaine,
basic is quite easy so can attempt it first lor

what i hated most was the advanced... somemore gotta pass practical within 2 years - so stressful.
but learning driving (practical) would be fun!

btw, i think it's better to learn around ubi area, which i did - cos my instructor let me practice the test routes

but can be inconvenient to travel down, esp when you have kids lah...

Pinkie
I told the mgt office already, suggested shold put a mat. Aiya, with inconsiderate pple, raise at AGM oso no use. I was walking v slowly liao hor, or else sure fall on my butt.

Charmaine
Yup, I am due liao, now waiting only... heee... Baby moving, and I need to do the fetal count lor. The nurse gave me a sheet to do.

Darlie
Went to see gynae, but my gynae on leave, only back tonight. Well, did CTG, everything ok. JUst need to monitor.

Hmmm... maybe someone in this thread shold compile a list to show which st we live. Hee...

my terrors are 8mo so gotta skip the honey lor. headache ah, must keep thinking of new recipes for them. luckily the gal so tam chiak, everything also she vacumm up. the boy more picky but now better already, at least he's more willing to explore new foods. in the past, he'll cringe and make funny faces when eating sour foods.
very cartoon

hihi....so busy lately and kept falling sick

Darlie,
here's wat i mix with avocado coz my ger dun like it on it's own.
pears,apple,kiwi,papaya,banana and yoghurt.

lucky tat your ger is tam chiak.
my ger HATES food. sign....

Am keen to taking up driving lesson too. Must book for basic theory test first. My brain dunno still can function properly or not after being cooped up SAHM for years. That aside, where to find time for myself with 3?

Mom2nat,

Glad to hear that you and baby are fine. Take care and do update us with pictures once you've delivered. Okie?

Zion,
Meg kena...but she is fine liao.
i am down with flu now.
maybe coming weekend cant meet up. sian.

problem is i dun hv time to sit for the basic theory test. guess have to do it when my gal is bigger & more independant.

oh ya, i didnt think of adding other fruits to the avocado. btw, the avocado with gula melaka & milk is a very nice drink for adults too, can add some ice in it to make a nice cool shake.

mom2nat, relieved to know that u & baby are well. phew!

mbb2, hope u get well soon. u got chicken pox?

Mom2nat,
yah lor.. agm also like that lah
lucky you walk slow...
eh you past due liao hor... did gynae say by when need to deliver?

charmaine,
basic theory test is at night right? maybe you hubby can help "take over" your shift? :p