Mummies in Pasir Ris

gerrykhoo

Hi all mummies in pasir ris, anyone interested to start a thread going again? the previous one seems to have stopped.

my boy is turning 3 in dec. wow! must be tiring to have twins. I only have 1 and already driving me mad sometimes haha.

hi apr05mummy! wow, must be hard on u to take care of a toddler with #2 on the way! so late yet not resting?
kao_sleep.gif

me belong to the old thread but allow me to reintro... hehe me mummy of 4 : 5 yr, coming 3yr, 2 yr + and 8 mo.... 1 pair of boy n 1 pair of gals..... ftwm....

hehe quite true this thread quite slow n inactive .....

juz wondering if anyone sent their kids to berries

hi sheris,

i considered berries but ended up sending him to another 1 at changi-simei CC. My niece is there and they felt is quite good. just started 2 lessons.

hi sheris,

i considered berries but ended up sending him to another 1 at changi-simei CC. My niece is there and they felt is quite good. just started 2 lessons.

hi sheris,

Is call Zhi Ying Language School (67852445) located within Changi-simei CC, 5mins walk from Simei Mrt Station. no more than 8 students per class with 2 teachers.

I heard they do have tie up with the CC. the one i know of is Sengkang but only take in students that are 4yrs and above. Class size for CC is slightly bigger too although is cheaper.

The principal and teachers are all very friendly and there's a personalised touch. you can call and find out, they will let u attend trial lesson and give you an assessment of ur child's proficiency.

Berries i went to check out, is about 13 per class. I was very attracted by their materials, looks very pro haha

juxta

hehe the thg i was attracted to berries was the advertisements... i juz wan my kids to continue hving the interest in chinese.... n since me dun know much abt chinese enrichment classes so got to rely on other's recommendations n comments hehe.......

sheris,

same here, want my son to begin chinese early. My niece started 5-6yrs old, had hard time picking up and she hated the language cos she didnt understand. She attended another chinese school b4 zhi ying and felt that the class was too big and couldnt hold her attention. Ended up playing with other kids and the teacher didnt bother much either. i learnt about berries from the thread here, seems very favourable.

juxta

guess i was lucky coz my kids has a natural prefernce to chinese than eng... so i wan to nurture their interest in chinese... so i wan a centre that is lively n pro-play in term of their teaching of the lang.....

i made a booking at berries tamp mart for next yr's class maybe this week gg down to see see the envt.... n the zhi ying as well

my kids nt tt gd in eng so to get them interested in eng..they are attending i can read at white sands....

Hi there, me from the old Paris thread. I have a 7-mth old boy and #2 is now 11 weeks old in my tummy.

Juxta, yes Paris is indeed a very dead & quiet estate. CNY is so un-CNY. Unlike the old estate of AMK and Toa Payoh where I used to stay.

taitai,

welcome here! yeah i wish is more lively, simply cant feel the festive mood at all, how boring!

Sheris,

what do they teach at I can read? my boy's eng so far is good, chinese hopeless. Can see some improvement after going to childcare, can sing/hum many chinese rhymes. He can understand simple words and sentences but will reply to us in english. Is our fault also, cos we dun speak to him in mandarin much b4.

My niece attending phonics lesson from icreative, is a homebased learning of small grp of 6. They've different teachers in different estate all teaching from their own homes. My sis-in-law ask me to consider sending my boy, they only start taking in from 4yrs old.

hi tai tai...congrats on ur 2nd.....

juxta
i can read uses rhymes to teach blending n sounds for my gal at nursery lvl for my boy i nt very sure but it is also blending of words.... but i do see improvement in eng for my kids.... nw my boy can speak in eng n spell simple words n read simple books...n my gal also can tell me the vowel sounds n consonants

sheris,

i started my boy on this online website when he's ard 8mths old i think. It is a very interesting website that teaches the abcs, phonics, stories and games. Something like flashcard concept but is animated so he's very attracted by it. I just put him on my lap and go thru with him the abcs, pass time also. He knows the sound of the alphabets and can read simple words.

juxta

juz went down to berries w my kids they like nt very keen n i wonder y..... wow frm 8 months u really veri hardworking.... me cant lor one sit the other will come liao

sheries,

they didnt like the environment? i only have 1 mah. Then my boy is hyper, if he can sit down half an hour means i can rest also, hehe

juxta
guess so nah... i dun really feel tt gd w the envt as well.... went to the one at changi simei.... think most prob will be gg there... coz they did the chinese assessment ... n my kids really love the teacher... at first they dun like after the assessment keep asking me when they can start class there haha kids.....

Hello hello, glad to see more postings here! Do any mommies here meet up with each other? So far I have only met 2 but not thru this thread; got to know each other while exchanging items. I stay at PR St 12; anyone nearby?

I have not met up with anyone here. The community in Paris is very small, & the thread is moving ever so slowly as compared to the rest of the "estate's" mummies.

But I just hope it will keep gg at least.

juxta

hehe we live so near each other... by the way u got hear loud vehicle noise in the middle of the nite before... my kids always kana woken in the nite by it leh....

sheris,

is it convenient there? at least on dr. 1, still got a number of buses to take.

btw, u decided on the chinese enrichment? my boy is about 5th lesson there. been crying recently, so miserable, haha. dunno what is wrong. But at least he never say he dun want to go. so see how it goes.

juxta
wat u mean by convenient? ur boy is in which day which class?

mine hv nt started yet most probably start next yr for the new class lor.... then see if my kids wan to be in the same class or nt ......

:) hi PR mommies! are there any good playgroups in PR? not that i'm kiasu but better start looking ard for good ones early and do some research first! playgroups start from 18mo issit? my twins are 6mo now so what classes can they go for and when?

although they have each other to play with, i'd like them to interact with other babies of the same age. anyone here has babies ard that age too?

Hi Darlie

My boy is turning 8 mths on 8/12. I'm expecting #2 now, & hell this pregnancy is giving me so much problem.

I heard there's quite a decent one in Elias Community Club? You can check it out there.

My boy spent 3 months at the Elias CC playgrp call Talentplus beginning this year. I pulled him out cos he kept falling sick. He's about 24mths then.

Is from mon to fri and each lesson is 2hrs, 16 kids, 1 teacher and 1 assistant. Is fairly reasonable, charges $135/month then. Good place to let them start in my opinion cos dun feel heartpain if u dun like or in my case kept falling sick. My boy was absent more than present.

I've look ard for some other playgrps, mostly more ex but teacher:student ratio is smaller. So supposedly get more attention. But depends on what your needs are. We just wanted him to socialise cos he's e only child.

Is quite popular and I was put on the waiting list then. If you are interested, can go to the CC and enquire. Think the CC at drive 6 also has this Talentplus, they're tied up with CCs and RCs.

Taitai,

your in ur 1st tri? experiencing morning sickness?

wow juxta! way to go!!! must be very tiring to look after a bb and being pregnant at the same time huh! most kiddies fall sick very quickly when they start school hor? all my kakis' kiddies fell sick within weeks. think can't help it since they are in close proximity all the time yah.

hey!! finally found an active PR mummies thread... my boy is 1yo this month...

darlie,
u at st 12? my mil stays there... me at st 11... hee... near?

Hi, I am new to this thread and was happy to find one just for PR mummies. Me stay at Dr.6 I have 2 kids - boy coming to 4 yrs and girl 1 yr.

Love to keep in touch with you guyz...

welcome mom of 2angels ....

juxta

i still thinking abt the zhiying leh.... the timing really very hard to fit into my timetable

any other chinese enrichment classes?

so glad we've newcomers!

darlie,
tai tai is the 1 preggie with 2nd one. I cant agree more is very trying to be preg when u've to take care of another. You're cool too, have a pair of twins right? I kowtow to u all.

yeah always sick and sick, 1 thing after another. I'm just waiting to break out of this period. Worst still, he's passing all the germs to me, the most recent "highlight" is HFMD!

Our pd said their immune system will be better when they're 4-5yrs old. If we want to send him to school then have to manage all these. He's down with flu again, today went to clinic, wah half the world there, flu season on again. Doc told us not to bring him to crowded places, not even supermarket if we dun want him to fall sick. Then how to go watch all those cartoons at shopping ctrs!?! He enjoys it so much and there are so many!!

Sheries,

They have weekend lessons? Maybe U can try berries, think they've more classes available. My boy is beginning to recognise those words he learnt, looks like it does work.

aiyoh pai seh, saw wrong nick, har har!! me at st 12, with the 359 bus stop right in front of my block. hi heartbear, think you're the closest staying to me :)