Mummies in Pasir Ris

definately not me... me rejected epi for all 4.... then envy leh... labour all short short.... except for zion 24 hours .... me was 13 hours n even the shortest was 7hr.... sigh... my kids all like to make me suffer.....

woah sheris! all 4 w/o epi and 13hrs max! i really kowtow to u man! i duno if i can tahan if my labour had been longer than 5hrs cos i was so tired by then, almost want to give up pushing & tell the nurse to do watever it takes to bring out my gal. i envy my CIL cos she labour for only 1hr but she had contractions for 1wk. she gave birth 3mths b4 me.

oh boy, all these talk abt labour pains is making me nervous!!! i really shudder to imagine how painful it is. me already psyched up from month 5 that i'll be going under the knife so no worries abt contractions, labour pain, iducement, dilation...

i went for GA and woke up an hour later feeling great, hey, i could finally see my toes while lying on my back!!! har har har!!!

they always pick up the bad things from us. actually from day 1 when i see his skin and doc tell me is eczema, i already know is genetic condition. I'm still battling eczema, maybe i only got it in my teens which supposedly wont outgrow, haha

I had epi cos the gas made me sick. Gynae said better have epi cos i already having sharp contractions for many hours w/o much dilating and water bag wont burst plus overdue. Induction also doesnt guarantee successful labour and might take ages. He was concerned i wont have the energy to push when is time.

I took chicken essence b4 i went hospital, supposedly will help perk up. My mil called me almost everyday to remind me

yeah i also missed those preggie days! i agree with zion, dun worry too much! enjoy your most peaceful moments now, soon u'll have to welcome a very tedious routine.

hmm... when you say "labor for 4hrs", when do you start counting?

juxta,
i had eczema since i can't remember when - very young. as i grow up, it moved to other parts of the body but since 20s, it seems like it's dying off altho occasionally i still scratch/have patches here and there...
juz hope my boy won't kena - poor thing lah

pinkie, I had these ugly patches on my neck, fold of my arms and legs in my teens. It got better as I get older. I still have this itchy left palm. Is often red and dry, was extremely bad during pregnancy. Saw a skin specialist, say can only control so much but cannot guarantee will cure so i stopped seeing and put hand cream.

My boy got very dry skin also, esp the legs, if he wears shorts and go out when he comes back, will have alot of red patches. Have to use a no soap shower cream and moisturise. Lucky is a boy hahah. How many days overdue are u now?

juxta,
i always get my steriod cream from We Care clinic near my place (dr 4) - i find Dr Wong quite ok, maybe you can try

my old scars are still there, but seems to have lightened up.
i gave up on skin specialist long time ago liao :p

i heard QV cream (moisturizer) and cetaphil (washing soap) helps, didn't really work on me but maybe you can try

me edd 22feb - but gynae keeps saying i might pop a week earlier. and worst is he's away for vacation until 19 feb! argh

hi pinkie, thks for the recommendation. my boy's pd told us not to be too dependent on steriod cream cos it'll give a lightening effect on the patch where we apply, so we just use for treatment but not for maintenance.

I also bought cetaphil for my boy, is much better than most other wash for him, but still need moisturiser. He's an expensive kid, plenty of probs for us to spend money on. As for my hands, cos is on my palms, find it hard to keep medicine on, so i just try to moisturise.

I can understand how u feel cos my gynae also went on conference close to my EDD! Dun worry, baby is smart, they know how to wait. haha

juxta,
orh - Dr Wong is for YOU (juz in case)

but i heard Dr Wong used to be a gynae in KK and seems like many parents bring their bb there...

i was an expensive kid too, eczema + sinus + heart murmur... hahahaha

i hope my boy knows how to wait - been "talking" to him everyday now... kekeke

ya i always tell my mom, is retribution. I was expensive too. Lactose intolerant, asthmatic and eczema, landed in hospital a few times.

Yeah babies are too smart for us these days! hahah. You're resting already or still working?

juxta,
hahaha dun like that say lah, we still hope for the better for our next generation mah

me still working, probably till i deliver - if i can

haha yeah of cos, was just kidding. Only when i became a parent, then i really understand the meaning of the chinese saying, 身体发肤,受之父母.

Do u experience any discomfort at this stage?

me always kena bb's kicking - his legs stretched liao never retract :|
den it's the crampish feeling down there...

oh btw, anyone knows what's the diff between a wadded changing mat and those rubber mat?

1205968.jpg

pinkie,
i duno wat is a wadded changing mat. for me, i jus buy the cheapest changing mat cos wil use it only during changing time. the one in the pic looks kindda nice.

juxta,
true true, now i become a parent then i know how difficult a time my mum went thru. being a mum is not easy, that's why they say mothers are great.

charmaine,
someone asked me to get a changing mat (the pic) so i blur blur also dunno for what.
oredi have the cheapo looking rubber mat...

me now preg already can feel the "pain" of being a mom liao... kekeke

re: changing mat
m nv gotten one of those always change w a towel on the bed n 'fight' to dress....

my kids also all ex kids.... first nthg, 2nd kana uti n kidney refluxes had to be under antibiotics for 2 yr plus n some forgot wat scan 3x.... n 3rd got ezcema cant go out one... sure red spot... 4th dun know yet.... but all nid fan n aircon.... very high maintenace.....

sheris,
wah, you have 4, muz be veri siong on your finances...

oh btw, anyone knows how the baby bonus works?
it's paid out by "installment"?

hehe sky high lor... plus enrichment classes(eng) plus art for 1st ballet for 2nd none for 3rd n 4th yet.... then mummy's salary .... house bah bah ...

darlie u getting the cut fruit also ah?

pinkie,
bb bonus is given in installments
4 x $750 = $3000 in total
1st instal: think is 1-2weeks after u submit application form
2nd: bb 6 mths
3rd: bb 12 mths
last: bb 18 mths

p1nk1e

I went for checkup on Thurs too and found my baby engaged. In fact, I suspect he was engaged last week as I suddenly felt him dropping till very low. I was so worried then, cos tt time only week 34. Thursday's checkup confirmed my fear. So gynea said I can be due anytime... asked me to prepare myself - hospital bag, clear my work etc. I have to minimize walking and exercising in order not to give birth too early.

Luckily my cervic is still closed, else not sure whether can tong till this week or not.

I'm surprised tt your gynea said you will be one week earlier when your also engaged now... hmm.... hope it's true as I hope to have a mickey mouse rather than a piggy.

Hi Sheris
Please update my details as:

FTWM with boy 16mths and expecting another boy EDD 21 Feb

Oh can also update my location as at St 72.

emoments,
me 35W1D now...
i dun feel any "dropping" but i kinda feel very sore down there and my inner thighs...
so walk slower now.
erm... cervix close or not - how to check?

me also hope can tong until after CNY so keep talking to my baby... kekekeke

p1nk1e

My right inner thighs also very painful since yesterday.. sometimes I need to support my tummy when walking... feel like baby keep dropping leh....

Cervix check
Gynea checked for me... use her finger to pop in... eee... dun like it..

emoments,
oh no... u dun scare me!
i haven't done my bb's clothes laundry!!

erm... so they say dilate or not - is use finger poke in? yucks!
i tot can see with eyes...
den how we know when we have dilated or not??

we won't know whether we have dilated or not till gynea check....

I have done most of my baby's clothes laundry liow... just haven't pack my hospital bag. Just contacted Stemcord too... suddenly need to rush a lot of things...

all this chat abt labour makes me MISSED my preggy days

Darlie,
hi 5. GA c-section.
pain free

Pinkie,
i got my changing mat from Ikea. cheap and easy to wash. you know lah...sure kena accident de. either wee wee/poo poo.
as long as you dun buy the cloth type it's safe.

Juxta,
i am finally off for a week!!
if you wanna meet up over the weekday, let me know ya.

Zion,
tis weekend gathering with Josephine cancel liao. her ger is sick.

Sheris,
tkz for the chat.
my ger is 13 mths now.

pinkie,
cant see with eyes lah cos if can that means u are gng to give birth liao. i not sure how to know if we hv dilated, for me, gynae use finger to chk & then told me how much i hv dilated that time. and jus to let u know it hurts a bit when gynae use finger to check. i cant remember if i felt painful at the thighs but i know my legs hurt cos they swell up like elephant's legs.

emoments,
remember to do your pre-admission too!
i did mine last week...
hospital bag packed liao, left bb's clothes..
maybe this weekend need to do laundry so i can pack it in liao...

charmaine,
heheh... me never read up much so veri suaku *blush*
i juz did "culture test" yesterday... damn "kao wek"...
i think the finger dig thing also same bah...
how can finger tell leh? *wondering*

no lah pinkie, me jus telling frm my own experience. yeah i oso wonder how gynae can tell how many cm dilated jus by inserting the fingers.

thanks charmaine! my mum mashed it up with bananas the other day liao! she said no taste lah... kekekekeke

now preparing tian ji porridge for tmr. yummy!

changing mat:
yah, use cheap cheap one. i also bought the inflatable one from ikea, very lasting. so tempted to buy mothercare's, so adorable! but ex lah... the rubber one is larger & cheaper, so more practical lor

mbb2, yoohoo!! no pain before but suffer like h*ll after birth! almost wanted to die when the nurse made me get out of bed the next day, har har har! super painful and the blood just dripped all the way to the changing room, yeeeewww! sorry ah, dun mean to gross out the mommies here

any1 keen to take over a pkt of unopened Nepia NB size? my gal outgrow liao..letting go @ $15.. pls pm me if keen..many thanks

collection : East

charmaine,
kekeke, today a fren commented that my tummy still veri high so probably not so fast deliver - feel kinda relieved... i think it's in the mind lah :p

darlie,
how come blood dripping???

Interesting topic on giving birth. Gynae and midwife will insert their finger as a guideline on how many cms cervic is dilated. I'm remembered my gynae requesting me to relax as both my legs are spread out like aeroplane wings. hehehe. I'm can cope better now with the early pap smear check-up. Tell myself, breathe and relax.

Saltue mummies who didn't take up the epidural. I was strongly advised by my sis to take epidural. During the prenatal courses, learnt that there's a survey done on ppl who gone thru with/without epidural and it shown that 30% will have form of backache regardless of what they have chosen.

Also I have strong side effects of epidural, my teeth went chattering all the way even though I don't feel cold at all, I vomitted at least 3 times all over my upper body, have to change gown each time. But felt relieved after the medication is pump in thru tube. I'm glad I choose epidural cos I save my energy for the final long push. Just remember to stay as still as you can when the specialist perform the insertion of needle. You'll be asked to crouch like a letter 'C', with knee bend. I know, that's a stunt for due mummies. hahaha. When midwife check that it's 10cm dilated, will switch off the machine that control quantity to pump the medication thru the tube. You'll need to feel some kind of urge in order to push baby out. Soon, your darling will be in your arms.

hee hee me absolute no exp in epi.... but the part abt no strength is true lor my 3rd one torture me till no more strength then was told by my hb tt i keep on push him out n suck him in then he was a bit turning bluish errrrrrrrrrrrr then really no more strength like i told my gynea cant push liao.... tt gynea also joker tell me dun kid him juz push lah.... kkekeke true enuff after 2 more push out he comes

pinkie
heh heh, lochia lah. pai seh....
din get out of bed for almost 24hrs so the minute i stood up, wah, like waterfall lor..... i wanted very desperately to cry cos the wound pain (mine was almost 20cm long) was unbearable and then all bloody and messy.

Darlie,
aiyooo...sounds bad!

i was very lucky lo. no pain at all. getting out of bed, i felt a little bit la but it's bearable.
actually, the most painful part was the uterus contracting back.
hee heee...

anyone interested in Pigeon bottles?
i have 3 BN to sell away.

mbb2, i think cant meet u up this period, rather busy with spring cleaning and baking.

Yeah, i also hate the part after giving birth and had to wear that super thick pad, plus washing the woundn. I have this phobia that its going to split open! I think the malay lady did a good job in massaging me, although i still have a slight tummy cos i always have haha.

She commented my gynae did a good job in removing the excess blood in the uterus thats why my bleeding was minimal. She shared some stories like some gynae didnt do a good job, after that, a whole chunk dropped down while in the toilet.

I had the epidural mark on my back, according to her was a pool of the drug that didnt disperse, so she massaged it away and really the U shape disppeared.

Juxta,
no prob.
i dun really celebrate CNY. hee heee...so no spring cleaning.
juz need to buy ALOT of junk food nia

Darlie,
hee heee...the malay lady who did massage for me, told me tat i am gone case de.
i was VERY FAT lo.
made me soooooooo sad.
luckyly after dieting, i mananged to slim back.

aiyooooo...i hope history will not repeat itself for my second pregnancy.
haiz, still nothing

wow, i din do any massaging, no wonder the tummy refuse to flatten. some ppl advised me to wait; some said to do after 1 month. confused.... now already 8 months, think too late already hor? but at least it's not so bad now; perhaps look like 3 or 4 mo preggie only. now lesser chance of ppl giving me their seats on the MRT!

mbb2, just a reason to force myself to clean the house and for good luck, haha

i've a big frame, so my pregnancy didnt show much, even at 7-8 mths pregnant, i ccould still get away with ppl thinking i'm fat loh. Hardly anyone gave up seat to me on the MRT!

The massage thing not only helps to flatten tummy, supposedly to push all the organs and intestines back to position as they're squashed up that 10 months

hey gals,
me logged in later than usual cos down with flu and on mc so take the chance to sleep more :p

i told my gynae me KIV for epi, so in his instruction form he put to gimme "pethidine"..
read around and it seems like pethidine is injected at the butt??