MMI @ katong shopping centre

agree with elaine, can try asking chloe's opinion too. I suppose those who are not taking the enrichment class, the teachers will also be doing some other activities during that time.

smallbell
the enrichment class avail at shaws are speech & drama for english & chinese, computer & swimming. i agree, its more convenient to hv it in school provided quality is good.

elaine
no use asking chloe, she everything also want leh
i know wat u mean & feel, if our child express interest in something but we dont let them join in with other kids.
actually i prefer enrichment outside too, so may consider put her 3x full day & the other 2 days half day with enrichment. not sure if its a good idea though

hi jamie,
mmi wanted to have computing and swimming previously but low response. swimming a bit tricky as need to go outside pool. Shaw has its own pool right? speech n drama is included in the class circulum so we don't have to pay additional, they use Helen O Grady Drama school.

smallbell
these enrichment programs is what i found from the parents information pack given to me when i enrolled chloe, not sure if they hv new programs added.
shaws dont hv their own pool, the kids will head down to bishan swimming complex for the lessons.

hi jamie,
i think i saw a pool at Shaw mountbatten, i thought braddell shaw will also have. But you could try out the school enrichment class first and see her interest. As school class you can pull out anytime and no need to pay for registration fees. Most outside enrichment class need to pay deposit or go by per term of few months. And if music class or art, might even need to purchase the items. Will be wasted if she don't like it.

hi smallbell n jamie,

i had recently attended 2 storytelling which is given by HESS teacher at Joo chiat CC n they will be going to have another one on the coming sunday at Big Splash cos there are some charity event going on. if u are free maybe can bring Patrick n chloe there. Patricia maybe u can ask ur hubby to bring patrick. So far i attended 2 storytelling class not bad so i'm considering putting Zh in e enrichment class every sat/sun.
The class will be taught by native teacher(MOE registered) once a wk 2hrs per lesson. cost ard $380 per term 10 lessons. Not sure whether isit worth it.

Jamie,
better dont let chloe join e swimming class 1st since it is held outside e school compound. personally i felt very dangerous to bring kids to e swimming pool moreover e CC teacher will have to bring a few there how to look after fully?? better attend those outside one then u can fully look after yourself.

smallbell
yeah most enrichment class outside need deposit & registration fees too, not cheap.

elaine
u refering to those english enrichment class? actually i'm not very keen in weekend class coz i feel its quite enough of studying in school during weekday liao, so weekend should be for relaxing & playing. but then again its only weekends then got the time for extra cirriculum.

i wont enrol chloe for the swimming class lah. like u, would prefer i take her myself.
this sunday my mum bringing chloe for BBQ gathering, so cant join.

hi elaine,
i know about the joo chiat cc storytelling as my mom is member there.
But have not had the chance to attend. HESS sounds interesting. wouldn't 2 hours be too long for ZH to sit through?

smallbell

i did enquire at lorna whiston abt their english enrichment class. also 2hrs once a week leh. so i assume its the norm ba. i'm sure HESS will include other activities besides storytelling.

talking abt enrichment classes...My gal is learning swimming now and she will be attending Berries end of this yr. As for enrichment in school, she will be attending Music class and also hv asked the principle to let her try out the speech and drama for Chinese and english as they only allow N2 students to join..so if the teacher think that my gal can cope then let her attend...reason why am letting her attend all these in school is bcos she is already in full day CC and nothing much to do in the afternoon....and she has interest also...so let her try out lah ;)

Hb said no enrichment classes during wkends as wkends are the only time she can play and relaz...except swimming class on sat lah...

Am I kiasu? kekekeke

my boy is 2.5yr old and i intend to enrol him in MMI.
anybody's kid in half day program?
Can share the timing and cost?
Can the parent go in with the kid?
Cos it's my boy's 1st time attending school, i think he'll cry big time!
Any other feedbacks?

nuahcouple
all parents are kiasu lah
but i also feel no enrichment class on weekends. since your gal has interest, no harm let her try, if really cant cope then withdraw lor.

ykkk
my gal was previously in MMI half day morning. school fees is $650. i usually sent her there before 9am & will pick her up ard 12.15pm. MMI doesnt encourage parents to stay with the child. i stayed only abt half hr then i left, on the 1st day. my gal didnt cry during the 1st week but started crying on the 2nd week ... delayed reaction. its normal for kids to cry esp 1st time in school. just hv to give them time to adjust to new environment

ykkk
i forgot how many students in the class.
elaine, think u know better, pls advise ...
my gal is in the same class as elaine's boy. i hv since withdraw her as she kept falling sick too often & she didnt look forward to school. so after 3mths i took her out.

hi nuahcouple,
like jamie said, all parents are kiasu. Class during cc hours is ok, let her attend.

hi ykkk,
my child is in full day at mmi katong, cost is $600 per month after subsidy. is ok about the crying part, most kids cry but duration depends. It is better not to stay too long with your child so that easier for him to adapt. Is your child going to enrol in mmi katong or other branch?

Hi Jamie and small bell,

this is wat I think...since in full day CC liao then might as well let her attend enrichment class ;) Yes, she loves going to classes and keep asking me when is her next chinese class in berries after attending the trial class ;) also she loves doing "homework" kekekeke

In her class, she can really pay attention whereas most of the kids just walk ard...she can sit down and finish listening to her teacher when reading story books ;)

Maybe she is the eldest in the class so cna abosrb more..bt also she is used to it liao..every nite b4 zzz she will read lots of books...kekekke

small bell
i'm looking to enrol him in MMI Katong since it's less than 5min drive from my place.
how old's your kid?

jamie
so where have you enrolled your gal now?
how old's your gal?

ykkk
my gal is 3yrs. she's now with shaws @ braddell coz mountbatten branch is full. she's happy there & looks forward to school

hi ykkk,
my boy is in MMI katong (N1) this yr, so far i find e school very clean n neat, the teachers also very friendly and nice. I pay $695 for full day after subsidy. Is a nice school but too bad i need to change my boy CC to somewhere nearer my place cos my workplace is going to shift next wk. Might go back there after my workplace moved back 2yrs later.... I find the standard is better than normal CC therefore now i need to look for enrichment since my boy changing to another CC which i'm still not sureabt their standard.

small bell/elaine
i just brought my boy to MMI this afternoon to have a look at how the class is like, since i'm on leave.
He cried big time for the 1st 30min.
After that still very sticky to me.
He was very grumpy cos he didn't get his nap, which is usually 2-4pm.
Nevertheless, i think i'll still sign him up for flexi program (PG class).

btw MMI registration fee is $180.
is it considered ex?
I thought so cos GUG only charges $50!
how abt other CC?

hi ykkk,
ya i know e registration fees very ex, last year dec was $120 now increasesssss n i think will keep increasingggggg..... e new cc tat i sign my boy is $100.

smallbell,
Zhaohui will finish the whole of this year as hubby's wish so for dec it will be abit troublesome for me to fetch him home all e way from my workplace but lucky most of e time i will be on leave

once sch reopen for 2010 then he will go to e new sch. just now brought him to e new sch again.... meimei is automatic walk into e sch take out shoes n walk into e classroom n sit on e teacher lap :p heeeheee then ZH after seeing this just follow meimei into e class too... hope this will helps Zh in the changing..
So how's baby getting on.....

hi elaine,
glad both of them love the new school but why need to visit the school again? Thanks, baby is latching well now and happy at home.

ykkk
when u starting your boy? how abt going for the mother toddler class on sat for a start to let him familiarise with the teachers & environment? its a 1hr program on every sat morning. i started my gal in this program before putting her on half day.

elaine
wow SZ is the steady one leh

i'm sure ZH will adapt well, esp mei mei is in the same school

registration fees
shaws is the most ex hor, i paid $350!!

jamie
i intend to start him next month.
ya i was interested in their mother tod class.
May called me in Aug to inform class starting Oct, but after Aug i never hear from her again.
And when i called to enquire, the teachers said not forming the class.
I went for mother tod class at GUG and chiltern house instead.
how long you sign up for mother tod class before putting her halfday?

wow! $350 for reg fee!!!
When i commented $180 is alot for reg fee, May said diff location diff fee.
But my niece and nephew attend CC at bukit timah, the reg fee only $100 wor....
this is MMI katong not mountbatten leh...

hi jamie,
my goodness, so ex for registration fees. Does it mean if you quit after trying out a month, no refund of this fees?

hi elaine,
need to check with you on genting. It's been 2 yrs ago since patrick last went and i am bringing him this dec, right after confinement. I will be going with my mom, hubby stay home with baby. They still have the indoor and outdoor theme park. Any other things to do with kids there? for food part, where do you normally eat there? any other things i should take note of?

ykkk
my gal attended the mother tod class for 2mths then start the half day program.

smallbell
yeah shaws reg fees indeed very steep. it includes a WOW shaws bag & our child's portfolio file. the WOW bag will be given to us once a mth which contains all the work chloe has done in school. the child's porfolio will be given to us when chloe graduates.

u planning genting trip without hubby & bb? can your hubby cope alone? i'm also planning a short trip to KL next mth. going to berjaya times sq & their indoor theme park.

jamie
wow... shaws seems so much more happening and fun to be in. always peep in when the bus pass by shaws at mountbatten. there's so many playground there. Noticed that the sch closes very on the dot at 7pm. Usually very dark n quiet inside when pass by at 6.30pm already. But morning looks so busy. Is it the same at Braddell?

ykkk
i do agree with the rest MMI Katong really clean n the teachers r really friendly and good in following up. Too bad they dun hv a outdoor playground n it's an open classroom concept which my hb not keen. They also mentioned they dun encourage parents to stay with the child during the 1st wk.

bbethan
yes, shaws is very happening
they hv excursions once every mth (which i like) & parents are encouraged to tag along. they really close on the dot coz they feel the teachers already work full day & hv their own commitments after school so parents are advised to pick up their child before 7pm.

hi jamie,
once a month return of school work is good as mmi only return after per term of about 3-4 mths. Do parents have to pay when they join in the excursion once a month?

I also don't trust my hubby with baby alone. He is not taking care of baby as she will be send to the full time babysitter to start and hubby will just visit or bring baby home after work to play and then return to the babysitter. If place in hubby's care, most probably i will find a smelly baby who is not bath for a few days and half starve.

Have you booked your KL trip yet? do book early as due to school holidays. The price of room at genting increased due to the holiday season.

smallbell
yes parents hv to pay for the excursion.

actually its good tat u bringing patrick to genting. its definitely bonding time with him esp after the arrival of mei mei

i hv not booked anything yet to KL. will be driving up so only need accommodation. its our 1st drive in trip to malaysia, so its goin to be a slow & easy trip for us. i think genting is going to be crowded tats y decide to just go KL.

hi smallbell,
when are u going?? i will be going on 11-13 dec
staying in 1st world hotel.
e outdoor n indoor theme park is still operating heeheeee... but i never bring e kidsto e outdoor theme park before becos nothing much there. Anyway u can purchase the holiday card on line then go there n collect the card it can be used to pay for the theme park expenses n also most of e F&B there. And purchasing online beforehand can get 15% discount. Food wise there are lots of food there so no problem la... dont worry. If u going around e same timei go there we can go together heeheee

check out this website for the information
http://www.rwgenting.com/en/promotions/2008/holidaycard/default.htm

hi jamie,
must faster book the accomodation, so this time are u going to stay in KL only or both KL n genting??? if going to book genting is full now but everyday u can check again cos sometimes they will out of e blue release a few rooms.

elaine
most likely only going to KL, will go genting probably after the school holidays in jan.

ya its the most ex reg fees among all the schools i visited but really no regrets putting chloe there

hi elaine,
aiyo, miss you by a little bit. I am going 15 Dec and return on 17 Dec, by coach and also staying 1st world. My mom got some free 2 nights stay due to her birthday month so we only pay coach fare of $85 per person. Thanks for the link on the card, will go purchase. I like the outdoor theme park as i love roller coaster but nothing much for kids. How come you go so short trip? can spend more time there.

hi smallbell,
i need to go only on wkend so dont need to take too much leave

actually dont even want to go cos this will be e 3rd time i go this year :p but Zhaohui keep talking abt e 3 bears at e theme park hotel so need to bring him there..... he miss e bears so much.... dont understand him is only 3 bears holding instruments standing at e lobby playing some music but he just loves them tat u can tell us everyday tat he wants to go genting....

hi elaine,
will holiday be an issue with the queue for indoor park rides? wow, 3rd time this year...
Ahhh, i recall the bear, cute one. I went to the haunted house and ripley believe it or not museum. The haunted house is a waste of money, not scary plus just people jumping out to scare you. I like the ripley museum. Have you tried the snow city there?

hi smallbell,
so far i always go only during e sch holidays, not much ppl queuing la... so dont worry

i never tried e haunted hse neither did i try e ripley believe it nor e museum.... after being mother i stop all these things tat kids cant go in... heeheee snow city i never go in also only peek from outside....

elaine
i'm planning to go 17 - 19dec. wow genting sound so much fun leh! think must definitely make a trip there

but we are concern abt the long journey ride, dont know if the kids can take it or not. wat u normally do to entertain the kids in the car? dont think there's any site seeing or shopping mall along the way to kl rite?

hi elaine,
oh that's good, no queue. I know that Patrick will surely sit on the ferris wheel, car ride and horse carousel for at least 10 times each.
So i don't suppose you visit the casino. I only go in with my mom, drink milo or tea then come out.

hi jamie,
not sure if portable dvd player might help in the car? as for coach is easy, it comes with the entertainment tv that children can play with. My only concern is the toilet stop, so got to standby diaper (just in case no stop).

hi smallbell,
i'm always sitting in front of the jackpot once the kids are taking naps!! heehee.... :p

hi jamie,
ya i know jamie tan u know her too?? i know her from here in 2006 cos we are from MTB sept 2006 mummies but in e end Zhaohui came out in Aug n her mal came out in oct
but we always keep in contact in msn.

wow...smallbell n jamie,
so i will go 11-13 then smallbell 15-17 then jamie 17-19......wat a miss..... next time we must plan n go ALTOGETHER

hi elaine,
ahhh...
can i check with you, do you have the genting world card? my mom also likes going jackpot and she gets points to redeem hotel stay. Do you have any idea on how the points are calculated? She don't seems to get many points though she got play on and off on the machines.

Yes, next time must all go together. So close the dates.