MMI @ katong shopping centre

anyway, i stay at old aiport road. what abt u? u on maternity leave now? actually i also gave birth to my #2 this year, my boy is 6mths liao. dont think my mum can cope with 2 kids thats y i'm now a sahm.

i did consider shaws but due to the surrounding construction sites, decide to go for MMI instead.

oh.... i gave birth end may so my #2 is turning 4mths soonnnn....currently i'm on no-pay leave till end dec and will be back to work in jan. my elder boy is being look after by my maid with my MIL at home just to make sure e maid dont go out cos MIL cant help much with my kids...... now with e 2nd one i dont thk my maid can handle 2 so i've decided to put my elder one into full day childcare.

i'm staying in ubi so i have visit a few childcare near my place i.e. little tree house, cherie hearts n ubi development n childcare all of them arent as good as MMI therefore although MMI is abit far from my place but my hubby n myself still like tat place best.

i heard of little tree house & cherie hearts, didnt know they arent good. yeah, actually ubi is abit far for u. but most impt is u & hubby & your son like & feel comfortable. anyway if MMI's new location is no longer ard there, then i may hv to consider other places.

little tree house- e environment arent as good as MMI moreover e PRC teacher who is gOing to be my boy form teacher if i send him there this year cant speak ENGLISH which me n hubby are quite worried cos she will be e one who will spend most of e time with my boy.

Cherie heart near my place here.... e environment also not as gOOd n worst thg is e teacher looks restless while playing with e children. But i can see tat e children there quite happy. I cant stand e restless look of e teacher even while i'm there they can behave like tat i really cant imagine if there are no parents there.....

yeah i agree, the teachers there play a very impt role. so i guess if MMI's new location is not within the current vicinity, u will still put your boy there? i know its difficult to find a good school that we all feel comfortable & happy with the teachers.

ya.... i will still put my boy there cos to find a sch with good environment is not easy, i dont mind to travel abit if e sch is good.

i visited quite a few schools before decided on MMI. if MMI's new location is not ideal for me then maybe i will reconsider Shaws or Brighton Montessori. initially i decided on Brighton but found MMI's fees more reasonable. of coz my #1 choice is still The Odyssey (by learning vision) which my girl really likes the place. but their fees is too steep for our pockets so gotta give it a miss.
the only school which i hv not view but want to view is Seeds D' Learning House at katong mall. but since their building is also already taken over, i'm not sure where's their new location. its really difficult to find a good school with good environment & reasonable fees.

ya i agree with u tat fees is also a consideration cos 2yrs later we have to place our 2nd kid there which means e price will be double.

yeah everything double

i remember previously u did mention tat u have brought ur girl to attend the mother- toddler class for 2 months but decided to withdraw. may i know y?

yeah i took her out fr the class coz both my hubby & myself feel she's not ready yet. she just turned 2yrs last week. her attention lifespan still abit short.

u hv any idea when MMI is moving out? i hv yet to give them a call.

i'm not sure when they are moving out... maybe u can call them n ask.
u mention tat katong mall- seeds D learning house is moving away too??
anyway i thk children attention span are usually quite short, by sending them to class is just for them to learn abit, socialise with other children, n get use to going to school. i'll continue my boy at mother n toddler class till he attend e childcare there so tat he will get familiarise with e place n teacher n hopefully will adapt to e place faster n easier.

ok will call & check. i assume seeds D learning hse is moving coz katong mall also kenna bought over, just like katong shopping centre.
i'm currently putting my girl in jwt kids playgym which i think she enjoys more than in MMI. will definitely put her back to the mother & toddler class when its time to start her Pre-N. coz at MMI, they dont practise mothers accompany their child on their 1st day in school.

oh i didnt know they dont encourage mother to be with their child on first few days anyway i just hope my boy can get use to e teacher n place after attending 3 months of mother-toddler class. my boy have been very very sticky to me since i'm preg with my #2 and also cos i'm always at home with him after preg.... he dont even wants e maid who looks after him since 11/2yrs ago..... headache now...... i shall slowly put him with maid or anybody every now n then.......

same here, my girl also super sticky to me since i'm preg with #2, and even more now since i'm a sahm. she also doesnt really want my mum who has been taking care of her before i'm preg.
think u better start slowly now to put him with maid since u goin back to work next year.

u are right! my girl loves to play & dance. thats y she likes the playgym although at times she also refuse to follow instructions fr the trainers. i just want her to mix around more with other kids around her age.

hai.... just nw i went out n left my elder boy with maid...come back maid told him he cries for almost an hr.... faint~~~ dont understand y he become so so sticky maybe he jealous i brought e baby out with me.... slowly i'll leave baby n him with maid n let him get used to it tooooo(but wont leave both of them with maid for too long....maybe 1/2hr to 1hr...)

aiyo poor boy, must be jealous! coz my girl also like that. no choice lah, u just hv to start somewhere & slowly.

ya lor.... i told my maid every now n then i will only bring one of them out then she will look after e other at home.......

my baby girl also.... only yesterday then she finally surrender to drink milk from bottle cos all e while i've been latching her then recently start trying bottle feeding her express milk but she refuse so yesterday she finally surrender after 5hrs of hunger. hahaahahahaaaa

oh yes, its better to start your girl early for bottle feeding, otherwise its gonna be tough for u when u return to workforce.

u think your boy will hv separation anxiety when he start school in dec?

elaine

hv sent a email to mei asking abt the new premises. she told me cant reveal much to me as they hv not gotten approval fr URA yet, but it will be a few bus stops away from katong. they shd be in the new premises in jan.

so your boy confirm start in dec?

hi jamie,
ya last sat she also told me it will be few bus stop away..... i'll be placing my boy there from 1st dec

so r u still placing ur girl there??

it really depends on the new location. if its not too far off then i will put my girl there.

since your boy is starting 1st dec, u better put him in the mother & toddler class soon to let him familarise the school. easier transition period for both of u.

is there enrichment for the MMI @ this katong branch? can recommend the teacher? wanna check out the class for my gal for the phonics one... thanks.

hi Leereiner,

their enrichment class is call Mother n toddler class, on every sat at 10am( reach at 10am then e child will have a short playing time till e class start at 1030am). If i'm not wrong tat's e only enrichment class they have.... not too sure but u can call n ask them. I've put my boy in e class cos going to start him in their childcare in dec. So far i found e enrichment class quite good, not many children too. the teacher is teacher May and with another teacher Daphne(she is new cos e previous teacher going to give bith soon).

Jamie,
ya lor..... already been for 3 lesson liao... i will continue to bring him there every sat till end nov but once he start childcare then i'll stop e enrichment class.

so far your boy adapting well in class? if their new premises is ideal, i will start my girl in jan. anyway i'm waiting for Mei to revert coz she cant seem to hv my girl's record, though i hv made a booking deposit.

ya myboy is adapting well.... can participate with e activities n also likes e toys there tat's y i always reach at 10am to let him play with e toys..... maybe becos currently he is attending playgrp tat's y there isnt any problem for him to sit still in class or follow teachers instruction.
u have been deposit $120 registration fees isit? so weird tat they cant find ur records....anyway i hope ur girl will attend e same class as my son then we can talk more abt their lessons

i hope when the time comes, my girl can adapt well too. coz currently she still hv separation anxiety

ya, hv paid the $120 reg fees when i register her for the mother & toddler class & waitlisted for the pre N class.

first few days they sure cry one.... my boy cried for 1 whole week when i placed him in playgrp. we really had to leave e place n let e teachers handle cos e more we stay e worst they will become.... tat's y i place him in dec so tat e teacher can give him more attention during e 1st few days....

i guess its natural for them to cry at the inital stage. but it really breaks our hearts hor? but then this is what every parent will go thru lah.

think shd not be any problem for your boy since he already in playgroup. i probably will hv to start my girl for a few mths before her putting her in pre N class.

i intend to start her probably in jan, for a few months before putting her in pre N class. so that she can familiarise with the teacher & environment. but Mei still hv not revert so i'm not sure if we are still on the waiting list.

Mei finally revert, my girl still on their waiting list
, now i just hope their new premises is not too far off.

my hubby is abit concerned abt the new premises, coz a few bustops can be quite far off liao. guess may hv to start looking for other alternatives for back up incase its abit far.

how will ur girl go to e sch n come back?? u sending her or taking sch bus?? cos it wont be easy if u got to bring a baby with u n take bus to fetch her to n from sch....

most probably my hubby will send her to school, then head to work. but i hv to forsee some days whereby my hubby not available so i will be sending her myself, taking bus. my mum is helping me out with my son, coz she just stay next blk so not a problem. actually my house nearby within walking distance, there's a church kindy, hv yet to enquire. this would be so much nearer compare to the rest of the schools.

i've been there for some official stuff early this yr..... e environment n teachers seems friendly but one thg i dont like is i saw a child being scolded for not praying before eating his food...... i'm not a christian but i dont mind to send my child to a church kindergarten cos they seems to be quite good but to see tat a child being punish for not praying quite put me off maybe the teacher didnt do it purposely or she just want e child to know he has to follow rules n follow wat everybody is doing or maybe e child is always e one giving problems by not listening to instruction..... tat's y she has to be firm to him...... i really dont know but overall e place is really not bad and e food e children eat also quite nice...

both hubby & myself also tot church kindy should be quite good. but hv yet to drop by the place even though its the nearest.
i would think the child kenna scolded due to not listening to instruction or follow their rules, if its not the case, i would also be put off by the teachers action. will try to squeeze in sometime to rackie this place