IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

grumpus, aiyoh..mine too... super love junk foods.. smtimes giv her some snacks to bait her...but she only eat tht snack n refused to open mouth once she sees me coming w other foods.....

i no time to watch over the pasta. the one i used previously i just throw into slow cooker. smtimes overcooked but its still ok..just abit soggy... but nice for bbs to handle themselves..

baby, i think my bbs r all milk babies leh...super love their milk....

Haha milk babies...
Yr montly expenses for milk powder sure super high!

Btw, can keep left over avocado? Or after cut must finish all?

Panda,
use a timer! my timer is my lifeline man.
just set like 8mins and u can walk off. when timer goes off, go back and check and if still hard add 5mins. if it turns out right then u know next time just set 13mins.

Panda,
Yup, I use timer on slow cooker too but more like to remind myself to go back n check or stir after half hr or 45mins. Sometimes I see it's almost done but not quite then I just set 15mins n go do other stuff first. without the timer I'm liable to get distracted n forget all abt my food!
Got my digital timer from daiso. Cheap n useful.

Panda bot the kitchen only, after seeing the cute pics of ur gal cooking...heee The rest the review was not too fantastic. Already have the walker. But should have buy a few more toys to bring the shipping cost per toy down. Just discover leapfrog can buy thru amazon too, only downside have to. Wait a few weeks for the toys.

Does ur gal likes dolls?

Gan, yes! U shld hv order more items. K buy their board books too. I bought her a doll, she doesn't seem to fancy it much. End up the gor gors bite the doll.

The leapfrog picnic basket oso v nice. All my bbs love it. They practice their self feeding skills w the food toys. Leapfrog oso has another set of food toys tht I wanted to get, but now I can't remember what it's called.

Grumpus, thks for the tip! Just asked my sil help me buy the timer... Then I can cook pasta everyday..keke..I hv an Ang moh bb gal...mayb she will marry Ang moh next time..likes pasta bread n cheese..

Aiyo the leapfrog pinic basket looks so cute and fun!!

Panda, u ordered from amazon also? Also no need to go thru vpost? Just order online from amazon and can key in our local address?

Hi mummies, lately busy searching a new job. Like rostum sometime I thought it is better to be SAHM and to take care my girl but again knowing it will be tough for my character. This morning wake up and realised she down with flu and feel so sad that can't take care her at home and has to send her to school :<

BB: My girl also wake up very often recently. Almost every 2-3 hrs. Sometime after feed ok and will sleep again. Sometime totally reject milk and need someone to pad her continuing

Grumpus : My girl likes fruit never reject. Btw, is there any limit like one day can't exceed how much?

Gan: Does your bb poo daily now? And thanks for the info for the Amozon link.

Baby I never buy toys from amazon before. I always buy 3 different toys n the boys ones usually bulky .. I normally get from metro or taka when they hv sales.

Panda,
My elder girl went thro this ang mo phase also. Everyday I make patties, fingers or nuggets with fries n she will finish everything :p
Then she got to a noodle phase, everyday noodles.
Now ah, food strike again, dunno wat she want to eat.
My younger girl also on food strike, rather sleep than eat.

Ru,
I dun think there's any limit to amt of fruit per day. Just hv to make sure balance out with lots of water cos too much fibre can also constipate. And also, bb will develop very sweet tooth lor so shd try to hv other tastes too.

Panda I think another food toy from leapfrog is the mixing bowl, I saw that when I went shopping. Didn't think of buying board books as I just ordered all the touch n feel storybooks from Mabel recently. My gal doesn't like dolls too! In fact she signed 'pa pa' by patting her chest when she saw this doll mum's friend gave. She only likes to abuse this monkey soft toy.

Ru my gal still have on off constipation issue leh even after being on friso. So just this week I m slowly changing back to enfapro Coz I think the constipation is not caused by the milk powder but most prob the solids she is taking n maybe her little tummy is getting used to. How about ur gal? She is on mix friso n enfapro right? Ha.. Sometimes i also wish I m q SAHM but I think i maynot function well as a SAHM .... It takes alot of sacrifice to be a SAHM i must say.

gan, ru
just to share re constipation - my boy used to have hard poo and cried badly whenever he poos. lately he seems to be better. thinking back, i didnt change my milk powder, solid feeds remain the same ie porridge, fruit/water intake also about the same. so i think i could be the stomach getting used to it.

baby, pandawife
i read that u r cooking pasta. just wondering if the pasta is too big or hard for baby to swallow coz no teeth to chew yet.
can we give them the adult pasta? tks

Happy
So far i hvt tried giving pasta yet cos first time cooking failed..
But i bot the bellamy baby pasta... Dont thk i will give adult ones for now...

Panda
This morning i gave avocado mix apple puree to smear with toast for their bfast... Both seems to be receptive.. I tasted it myself.. Only can taste the apple but not the avocado..
The rest i scoop and put in zip lock bag and store in freezer.

For my elder lunch... I give pork for the first time.. After steaming.. The minced pork texture like rubber lor... My girl initially not used to it... But in the end also finish...
Plain porridge with carrot, cauliflower, spinach and minced pork... I guess pork and chicken texture wont be like fish so soft... The softest fish i try so far is cod fish...

Happyhippo,
I give my gal adult pasta, just boil longer to get it softer. U can also use regular alphabet pasta, very soft n small pcs. No worries abt chewing, bb can use their gums.
If u wanna wait until bb has teeth to chew then u gotta wait till almost 2yrs old wor, cos tat's when their molars erupt. Before tat, all the teeth tat erupt are also not for chewing.

Happy yup like Grumpus said, baby can chew with their gums. In fact impt to let them learn chewing now as this will develop their jaw muscle n help them in speech development

Gan, i oso just received a batch of books from Mabel. There is this very nice book that I wanna recommend. Elmer by David Mckee. Its not a board book, but very nice illustration and story. i enjoyed the book as much as my boys.. of coz they were also trying to grab it to eat while i read..but their attention was given when i read the story.....

yes, the mixing bowl! wanna buy tht the next sales..haha...

happyhipp, i use adult pasta.. my gal wanna hold n eat herself..bb pasta v small for self feeding..cook it long enuff its soft n soggy..keke..

Grumpus: Noted with thanks. If I put fruit in her porridge she eats. Because I didn't give enough variety so sometime lazy and mix all inside her porridge. She seems doesn't like "Ngo Fish" (don't know how to spell) maybe this weekend try cod fish.

Gan and Hippo: Yes, she still on and off has this problem that is why thought speedy up to change to Firsco. Now that you all mentioned no use, then must think another solution leow. See her cry so bad feel very bad la. Recently she very cranky thought maybe due to constipation problem like adult :>

Everyone so busy ah...

Panda
Are u still giving enfa? How much u buy per tin?
Im buying $38.40... Thinking whether any better price around not... Cos v exp ah... Now that the girls are drinking more per feed.. The powder seems to be flying off the shelves too fast!
Heee...

Baby,
I get enfa stage 2 from luvbabies/kimsang. 37.50 for the small tin. 2 small tins still work out cheaper than one big tin at ntuc.

Baby, I buy in bulk from an online seller too.. $37 per can. Each time I get 12cans...oso bought those sample cans from other mummies online. Recently bought 31 400gm cans at $9.50 per can.

baby, yes.. also enfapro. but in 400gm size. its given out FOC ..but each household is only eligible for 1 can of sample free. PD clinics also give out such samples. i always ask the nurse for a few cans when we are there......

Panda
Ya my pd also give out free enfa small can when we visit her.. But i dont dare to ask for more leh... The staff only give each baby each can.. So if my two girls see dr.. They will give me 2 cans...

Btw u intro egg yolk liao? These few days i aldry give egg yolk to my girls... One yolk in my elder girl porridge..
Today first time give my small girl... Gave her 3/4 yolk inside her rice cereal... She finish all...

My girls poo many times a day recently... Maybe cos i give them lots of fruit puree... Usually two times a day...

baby, i dont ask for more too..but always chit chat w the nurses...so they auto will pack 4-5 cans for me to bring back....

i gave scramble egg yolk, and also the egg custard on bread..cant mix the yolk in any porridge n cereal since they dun wanna eat..haha..

i gav red bell pepper today.. my younger boy loves it.. my gal dun even wanna touch it... just stare n only pick up the pasta to eat..

my gal still bo gay..hard to giv her fruits tht are non puree.... i tried giving her pieces of steam apple n pear.. she doesnt seem very keen..... the boys will eat up the steam pieces very quickly...

Girls when u see something ur mil did to baby n u r not too comfortable with, do u tell ur mil straight or thru ur hubby?

My mil came and was kissing my baby, I was afraid she wld accidentally kiss the lips, so I told her dun kiss the lips and she got real upset n ignore me and baby totally... Even when my gal got cranky n cried real bad, she also ignore and didn't even come in to check what went wrong n why baby crying so bad. Sianz lor....n worst my hub got upset with me for making his mum angry....he actually ignore me when I told him baby is tired, need to sleep and continue to play with her.... Only carry her in when she was screaming and crying coz she is tired.

Gan
Hmm... This is really a sensitive zone..
Usually i will tell my mil straight if i saw something that is inappropriate... In a gentle and nice tone but firm... For example, i dont like my mil to feed adult food.. I told her straight... But i explain the reason behind..

Cos i find if i go thru hubby to tell her... She may feel offensive... Like im making small report abt her... So i rather i tell her myself...

I do learn to be more open heart on some minor things which i can still tolerate... Afterall she is the grandma of my child.. I believe she wont harm my girls in any way...

Did u explain to yr hubby?

Gan, I oso tell my mil straight. This is v touchy issue... I told my Hb tht my pils come n play for 1-2hrs on wkends... I hv to tc of them 24x7! My pils sick oso come n play w them. I was so freaked out!

Gan,
Usually I will complain to hb n let hb find an appropriate time to bring it up.
Sometimes I do mention casually to them.
How often do yr ils see yr gal?
Last time with my elder I was very sensitive abt the way they handle my bb, always play until she's over tired n over stimulated then I hv a hard time after tat. They always carry n refuse to pass back to me until she is really cranky. But after I hv #2 I more kan kai, afterall my ils only see them once a wk. so for tat one day I totally hands off. I eat my lunch in peace, take break to watch tv, shop etc n pretend I never see anything.

Panda
My girls have alot of teeths... Each has 6 teeths but im still giving puree food... I still steam the apple and pear...
For my elder girl i will steam shorter time.. After blending will still have some bits in it...

The red bell peppers u steam and blend? Remove the skin?
U mix it with pasta?

Thanks girls, indeed very touchy n this happened first time in our 8 years marriage. My hub had explained to his mum when he sent my il home that I am very particular when comes to my daughter coz daughter very precious to me. Both of us came to an understanding thT in future, I will go thru him if I m uncomfortable about anything lor.

Grumpus, my ils see my gal once a week. Like baby I m sure they being the grandparents, will love my gal. But think subconsciously, I still bu fang xin coz during my pregnancy even when doc confirm we r expecting a gal, my mil still insist is a boy. After I deliver, she ever made a remark, gal's no need waste money to ask pole choose names...all such incidents made me wary that she may not take good car of my daughter... I had quarrels with my mum but even when my mum is upset and ignore me, she never ignores my daughter when she fuss etc... She will rush to her to check and make sure she is ok even if I am tending to her, but today my gal was crying real bad, I was in and out the room t make milk, change diaper etc, she didn't even ask my hub why our daughter cry, she continued to watch tv....hmmm

Baby, I just cut slices steam n serve. Never remove skin. I was amaze my boy eating it first time knows how to suck the flesh n discard the skin. He eats only broccoli stalk n throws the florets away! V funny ..
No more puree cereals or porridge coz nobody wants to eat! Now all 3 anti spoon. Even my younger boy! He has 2 ful bottom n 2 1/4 upper teeth. My eldest 2 full bottom n 1 1/4top. I noticed tht they r eating w lesser mess.. N able to eat slightly more on their own....

ladies, smtimes i wonder if the rest of u hv a hard time with letting go coz our bbs r hard to come by n going thru ivf makes them even more precious to us??

until now i never let my maid bathe my bbs..and i still do all night feeds myself..i never leave maid w bb unsupervised.. my mum always say i v fussy and particular.... my sil popped recently..during her confinement, her CL took care of bb..she just pump n zzzz.. now confinement over, her maid tc of bb.. she also zzz thru the night.. n til date she has never changed diaper when bb poo... of coz her maid bathes the bb too...... in contrast i m like a paranoid overprotective mummy!

Panda we still bathe our baby, do the night feeds (that's why can post at this hour though tomorrow is a working day!) change the diapers when we r with her, prepare her food...very much like no maid ..

U r not the only paranoid overprotective, fussy mummy =)

Just that u have 3 babies, so much tougher as u only ave 1 pair of hands.

Panda,
I dun think it's ivf or not. Just the kind of mummy u r. Some r very hands on n some r not. But of cos eventually hv to learn to let go a bit ESP when bbs get older or they will become cotton wool bbs :p

Panda,
I made a chicken patty for my younger gal n she loved it.
I steamed some pumpkin and finely chopped green vege. Then I minced chicken fillet and mixed the pumpkin n vege together with the chicken. Added some cheese and form into a patty, brush with some oil n bake.
yummy n my gal wiped it out in record time. It's a good way to hide veges n get them to eat some green leafy vege

Grumpus, do u buy minced chicken or mince at home? I dunno how to handle meats..until now only try drumstick once... Was thinking mayb try chicken fillet.. The patty dun get mashed up?? My bbs always hold the food n squeeze...then all crumble n mashed ..

I think I improvise n make salmon pumpkin balls ...no time mince chicken. Later try giv w the pasta for lunch! Wish me luck!

Panda
I agree with grumpus.. Its just the kind of mummy we are...
Some others are able to leave their bb to maid or mil totally... While some like is are not able to...

Sometimes we just have to learn to let go abit... Esp when bbs are older now.. Not as vulerable like newborn..
Now i aldry let my maid bathe my girls in the evening when my hb is not bk frm work... Morning bath still taken care by my hb...
I still prepare all bb food myself... Feed myself if im around.. Change diaper myself if im around.. But at times when im busy, i will let my maid change my girls diaper..

Not fogetting we have more than one bb.. We need another pair of hands.. So if we are not able to let others help us.. We will be too overwhelmed!

Of cos in our heart we will feel no one can understand our bbs and do a better job than us... But give the person some time and she will improve!
Like my maid, i always let her feed my elder girl milk... She knows my elder girl pattern.. If its time for nap.. She will feed her milk and let her drift off to sleep.... And she will always let her finish the milk... I v fang xin...
Even for night feeds.. I will carry my elder girl to her for milk then go bk to sleep... Aft milk she will carry her in to our rm cos my elder sleep with us... In this way i can get my rest.. If i do everytin myself i will over tire myself and cant do tins properly... This is especially true for multiple mummies like us...

Panda,
I buy chicken fillet n mince myself with the knife. It's the pc of meat under the breast. I dun like to use thigh cos a lot of tendon. Breast itself is quite coarse so fillet the best. Tot my girl couldn't manage but she could

It does break into pcs but aft tat my gal pick the pcs off the plate

Wow... Minced patty sounds yummy mann...
But sounds difficult to prepare also...
I bot minced chicken frm ntuc... Dont know is it minced enough not.. Scare its too hard for my bb to chew..

Bb now can take oil? Spread some oil.. What kind of oil?

baby,
i use olive oil. just use a brush and brush over, otherwise the patty will be very dry.
bb can take abit of oil or butter, no prob.

is actually very easy to prepare. i've been doing this for yrs for my elder girl's food to hide veges etc cos my elder girl dun eat porridge so i can't hide all the 'good stuff' in porridge like wat other mummies do. if u already hv vege puree that is not too watery, just add some into the minced chicken, add cheese, form into patty and bake lor.

i just minced the chicken with my chopper at home. chicken is ok, pork need to grind.