IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Petals,
huh.. for me, i stick to my gynae, Dr Fong Yang at Paragon. He's a fertility expert in private practice. I did not think of switching doc as he has delivered quite a number of twins and even some triplets! I do not know about KKH though... sorry, can give much useful advice on your query.

HI ladies,
I got a BFP this friday.Yaayyy !! I'm with KKIVF and was wondering if anyone could advise me what to expect from the 6week scan - mines on 6/11 ? What are they looking for ?

Also, when did you guys start getting morning sickness? I still feel completely normal, but it's still very early days...

I am walking around quite a bit. Is that alright?
I figured the 2ww is over so i should be able to. Have to go back to work soon too... any advice?

Babydust2

Babydust,
Dr will scan ur tummy (or v-scan) to see how many sacs. You may be also able to see a blinking dot in each sac which is the heart beating. Dr will measure baby's/babies' sizes and also give u a printout.
Will be v exciting! Oh, make sure u tell the nurse u are preggy when u register for ur appmt. Then they will send u for the routine test first (urine, weight, height, BP), so drink something before then.

petals

dun worri abt e babies' weight. i wil b happy if all my three darlings weight of around 2kg or more. but when u add all together, tat wil b 6-7kg!!! more scary, right?

i stick with my own gyn also. he ever deleiver triplets without any complications, so i m quite confident in him.

tmr wil b my 20wks detail scan, wil b able to knw how many boy n how many gal liao....exciting....

weiwei,
So exciting! Detailed scan should be very interesting. Do share with us the details! After this, can decide on ur nursery colour!

btw, i read from earlier threads that some senior sistas eat durian to increase their babies' weights in later pregnancy. But not too much, cos of high sugar content. Not sure if it works.

petals,
i have heard that eating durians will increase the weight of the babies. however, i think should not eat too much if you are having mutiples lei.. if feel like eating, just eat in moderation will do. as long as your babies are within the expected weight range, i think it is all right.

petals,
eating durian will help to increase the weight of the babies but then again, you will have to watch out as you do not want to get gestation diabetes...

37th week is considered full term already but it is just full term... if my boy had stayed inside my tummy for another 3 weeks, then he wpuld have more time to develop before he has to face the chanllenges of the world. However, it is a different scenario for multiples. So, it cannot be compared that way...

Hi Petals,
Glad to hear yr twins are growing soo well. They are both same size now. u r indeed balancing their weight very well..Me still patiently waiting for my 1st scan next mon, hope to share with u all more..

As for eating durians, my fren ate soo much durians that her baby was 4kg when she delivered..luckily she can still hv natural birth..so pls be more careful with this diet

Petals,
Think best to have durian intake if bb's weight is low cos it really can have great impact on weight increase.37th week is considered full-term for multiple, however development of bb is case to case. Got to know from Dr Loh there is still small percentage even hold up to 40wks for singleton can also have problem. So it is really hard to say... My boi came out at wk 34+ and so far so good

Jeni,
When are you back to work? Glad to know your boi sleep well at nite. How to train him? I'm so tired taking care of my boi throughout the nite, his eyes open BIGBIG esp. at nite and sleep in the day. You know man lah! Only helpout during the confinement. Now I become the primary care giver, but I'm really enjoying

jeni, deedodo, shara, stacy,
Actually i myself not that keen on durians, but if it'll help improve babies' weights later, i might eat a little. Anyhow, now still early in the preg for durian. Maybe later...

hi, ladies

went for detail scan yesterday. well, we r having 2 boys n one gal.
one boy at right lower abd, another at left upper abd, e gal s over my right upper abd. babies r very active during e scan, esp e two upper ones. e scan lady hav to b veri careful with these two as they r so close, their heads r next to each other. e lady measure their sizes of dif parts of body, including their little hands n legs...

however, my little gal was nt so good. she has an abnormal lump over her left chest, it's abt 2-3cm big, big enough to push her tiny heart towards e right chest. Dr said it's very very rare, but just happen to my gal. dun knw e causes n currently, we cant do anything but pray e lump wont grow bigger so she can still survive. Dr gav us 3 possible outcomes: no.1, she may nt able to make it n stop heartbeat when she s still in my tummy; no.2, she may come to this world for short period n go back to heaven; no.3, she survive but wil need a major operation to remove e lump asap, same again, maybe she wont make it for e operation, n there may b possible complications waiting for her....

i think we r having a strong n understanding gal. since last night we came back frm hospital, hubby n i were so sad n we dun knw wat to do, just keep on looking at their photos. e gal kicked me on n off, like trying to tell us tat she still there n wil fight for her own life. even now as i write up this message, she kicks me ever now n then, trying to comfort me n cheer me up.

we r going to hav weekly scan of e babies for close mornitoring of their development. ladies, pls keep my little gal in prayer as except fpr pray, we cant do anything...

WeiWei,
Be STRONG. YOu still have 2 healthy boys in you and therefore you must take good care of your health. Will pray for your girl's health.

dear weiwei,
i have been following your messages and you impress me as a cheerful and strong gal. i believe your baby gal will just be like her mommy, staying strong till the day she sees this world. she could sense your sadness and her kickings are her little gesture of cheering you up. stay strong and happy for her so that no unnecessary stressors will affect her and her brothers... i will jeep you in your prayer...

weiwei,
do be strong and keep a positive mind! talk to all your babies to be strong and positive like mummy. I will pray for you.

Weiwei,
Please be strong. Your baby gal will be in our prayers. Just wondering, is it possible to get a second opinion from someone else who specialises in this area? Also maybe the internet may have similar stories.

stacy, babylow, dodo, chevall, petals, dawn

thanks so much for e encouragement!! me n my gal wil b strong n always hope for e best outcome. i've been talking to e gal almost every 10-15 mins, just to chat with her, telling her tat daddy wil buy big diamond for her(which her mummy only get a tiny one on their wedding), wil dress her with e most beutiful clothes... abt all our plans. hope she dun find mummy too noisy.... also, i told e boys whenever they kick too hard, be gd brothers n gentle with their sister, dun fight inside....

petals

we dun hav a choice but just wait n wait... anything we do to e gal, may affect e boys also. so we cant take e risk of losing all 3 of them to do any invasive procedure now.we just hope tat she wil b a strong gal until she sees e world, then we wil arrange for an operation for her asap once she s born.

weiwei,
prayers are the only things that you and your husband can do now and we will all help you to pray too... I understand how you feel...

Last time during my pregnancy, I have a scare too and drs at KKH arranged for cardiac scan during my 16th and 20th detailed scan to make sure my boy was alright physically then... however, they can't do anything about his mental health...the dr who did the test for me told me that if my boy has the condition that he has a relatively high chance to get, then the pregnancy may terminate on its own or my boy would come to this world and then back to heavenly father shortly after his birth or he may not live pass certain number of years... I was very upset too and my hubby was so upset that he told me not to take anymore similar test should we get pregnant again... So, I prayed and talked to my boy and like your girl, my boy responded and eventually, he is a healthy and I would say, very smart, observant and responsive boy who captures the heart of everyone in the family... except when he wants his milky... so weiwei, pray.... besides, your girl has 2 little guardian angels with her, her 2 brothers... I am sure they would protect her too...

Stacy,
I am very stressed if my boy's eyes are big big at night as during confinement, he woke up at 4am for feed and stayed awake till 8 or 9 in the morning and he refused to let me put him on the bed, or just carried him... he expected me to walk him around in my arms and normally took about at least 2 feeds for him to go back to sleep... then he slept in the daytime!!! I have to go back to work later so I am very stressed that he would continue to be like this if I did not do something about it...Now, however, normally he would sleep at 10 plus if not 11 plus after his feed as he needs to drink something from the bottle before he sleeps, especially at night and he drinks a lot at night. Then, he would wake up at about 3 to 4 am in the morning for his feed follow by 6 plus then 8 plus, every 2 hourly... What I did to overcome the problem of him waking up in the middle of the night and not going back to bed is tried to get someone or myself to play with him from 8pm onwards and not let him sleep till 10 plus... then played lullaby on the cd player and rocked him when he woke up for his feed till it became a habit for him to fall asleep again after he wakes up in the middle of the night for his feed... My boy loves to listen to music so it kinda works for him... Hope this helps...

Hi Weiwei,

Dont worry too much as you have said that there is nothing you can do by worrying. Leave your worries and burden to GOD, have faith and trust in him. I will keep you in my prayer!

Hi Jeni, understand what u went through, cos was also arranged to do the cardiac scan during 16th and 20th week. Will be doing another one next week during my 24th week. Every scan, I always pray that the twins are ok.

It really seems difficult in the first month when the babies dun sleep...hope this period passes soon for u and he will get into routine soon. Dr. Loh says he may put me on bedrest soon, aiyoh, but the exams are not finished yet, so many things to wrap up. I thought usu they give the bed rest leave at 27 week?

dawn,
Is it compulsory for everyone to have the cardiac scan during 16th and 20th weeks? Or is it just the detailed scan that's needed? Will it be done by another random doctor or will Dr Loh do it?

jeni

thanks for sharing! yes, except for praying, we cant do anything for her now. read frm books tat when e baby dun feel well inside, she wil struggle n become restless. hopefully tat's nt e reason she had so much kicks. if she has to go back to God, i rather she go peacefully n not suffering so much. just pray tat she wil survive through without any mental complications but purely physical prob. no matter how complicated or expensive e operation is going to be for her, as long as she has a chance to become a normal child after tat, we r willing to try.

theresa

hi, how r u? after few days of sorrow, hubby n i slowly accept e fact tat we r going to face. so we decided to be strong for e babies, not giving up any hope. anyway, pregnancy is nt easy job for everyone, especially for us, ivf mummies.

theresa, cardiac scan not compulsory. most pple just do detailed scan. only when doc wants to double check due to some readings during certain scans/blood test, then they will order cardiac scan. If you r not asked to do it, then it is fine. It is done by the ADC department, not Dr Loh

Weiwei, u right. It is esp difficult for IVF mummies. Jia you, will pray for u gal.

Dawn, aiyoh...
don't bother about the school!!
When Dr Loh said bedrest for you... GO!!!
Don't worry about the school, the students, blah blah blah... they will still function without you... like my class, I heard my P1 boys are very happening without me around, but... what to do??? My little prince comes first.... sorry to say so....

So, enjoy your bedrest when it comes... Dr Loh will not suggest if he didn't think it is necessary, ok?

wei wei,
I think you should try not to pass your pessimistic thought to your girl... if you think she is struggling, then encourage her to fight and jia you jia you for her. I think if she feels your love for her strongly, she would fight for you and herself....children like that will then have very strong life force later on as they are fighters!! Maybe she is not even struggling but is just trying to tell you through her movements that she is a little strong girl and that she is alright... mommy and daddy need not worry about her too much and neglect her brothers...Thoughts like " I rather she goes peacefully than suffer" should try not to let her feel it in my opinion, but your thoughts have its own merits too so, do what you think is right...

jeni

i m not giving up on e gal. it's just whenever i think of how much she suffer n struggle, my heart wil ache. maybe i m weak, but hoping she s a strong gal tat wil fight on. my mood was up n down these few days, although i tried to keep a positive mind, but sometimes, just feel sorry for my gal. i knw it's nt healthy for my 3 babies n myself, so i tried to talk to hubby, mum n close friends, to release my stress. now i feel better n already ask for HL frm next wk which gyn suggested b4. rest n eat well, do my best for them.

dawn

ya, agree with jeni, ur babies come first, b a good patient n mummy, just take ur bed rest, dun bother abt e school.

weiwei,
I know that you are not giving up on your gal... I am glad that you have planned to rest and eat well and do your best... Yes, the key words are "do your best" and your little ones will know...

3 cheers for you and your gal will be in our prayers!

jia you jia you
1042540.gif

weiwei,
yes, jia you!! just keep a positive mind and have faith in your gal!

dawn ah,
your 2 little ones are most important now... work is secondary! your gynae must have a reason for giving you early bed rest. just follow your gynae's advice and rest well. ;P

All MTBs,
Fyi...Another sister Nano shared that the library is giving out free baby journal+CD for MTBs & new mummies. I went to collect mine yest. Just need to fill in a form, maybe show ur IC. Shld be available at most libraries.

Hello Petals,
Say hi to you here
Hope Rammy, Needle, LB, Joanna and the rest of the MTB will join us here!..somemore can get advice fr alot of seniors here. Ya hope the rest have already collected their free gift.

Hi Nano,
Yah, the sisters here all very experienced...already gone thru our 1st trim stage...

Deedodo,
How r ur babies doing? U'll be the next one due, rite? So cool! Is it compulsory to do a c-sect? Have u packed ur bag?

Piggy,
If i remember correctly, they have 2 types...one for MTB and one for new mummies. I think there is an option for u to tick on the form. You just need to bring yr ic cos they need to verify yr details.

just went for check-up yest...
check my blog for updates!
http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/

ya, petals, its countdown time! just 3 - 4 more weeks to go!! i will be doing a c-sec as one of the babies is in breech position. my hospital bag ah, its abt 90% packed... ;)

I need an advise here. Currently i am abt 8 weeks. i am thinking of going for screening for Chromosomal abnormalities during week 11. because my sisinlaw has a down syndrome child. Do you think i should go for the screening scan or ask more info from my mil.

At the same time i am worried about the scanning.

Nano, LB,
Dr Loh only scheduled a Wk20 screening for me leh...not Wk 16 like you. I'm not sure why. And the girl at the TPS counter told me that it'll be done by sonographers, not the Drs. Is it a detailed scan?

Other sisters,
Did u all have a Wk 16 screening in KKH as well?

piggy09,
Yah, the one I got is for MTBs I think, cos it's a hardcover baby journal with brief pages where you can write and paste pictures from pregnancy to 5YO. Not sure if the one for new mummies is diff.

jeni, dodo

went for appt with gyn this tuesday. we had another detail scan for e little gal. glad to say, e mass remain same size as last wk, it doesnt grow!! i also asked him abt e brain functions n risks for DS, he said e risk s quite low as her brain volume s normal n other parts of e body seem to b normal, too. tat was e greatest new for us in e wk!

my mum also came over n stay with us frm this wk onwards. with her around, i wil b able to rest more n provide more nutritional food to e babies.

e only thing trouble me s my back pain. no matter in wat way i sleep or sit, it still hurt. every night i will wake up 5-6 times due to e pain n had to adjust my position b4 can sleep again...

dodo

wow, ur babies indeed having a very good body weight now!! just 3-4 wks more, u wil b able to see their cute faces... how nice s tat! remember to take care n update us hoh!!

Weiwei,
That's good to hear. Hopefully it will slowly subside with time and become negligible as ur baby gal grows.

Ximi,
Did ur doc advise u to take the DS screening test? If u decide to take, u need to think about the possible outcomes and what you'll do in each case. Some people don't want to know, and some would rather know early...really up to you.

Deedodo,
3 more weeks for u...yay! Better enjoy ur peace and quiet at home now. When ur babes are born, you'll be really busy.

ximi,
I suggest you discuss with your gynae about it, rather than your mil. tell her/him about your family history and see what he recommends.

weiwei,
so happy to hear the good news! ya.. do take good care of yourself and continue to talk to them and keep your spirits up! It will do them good! btw, are you still working or resting till delivery?

regarding your backpain, i did some readings on the internet it seems to be a common problem during pregancy. Some of the remedies are:

1. maintain a good sitting posture at all times. DO NOT slouch!

2. bedrest more so that there's not so much strain on your back.

3. the website also taught some simple exercises to help to relieve the pain.

go to my blog.. I had one recent entry titled "Headaches and Backaches" which contain the link to the website I referred to on back pain. Hope this helps.

Petals,
I just realised tat my scan is in wk 20 also..sorie for giving u wrong info. Ya Dr Loh told me it will be done by sonographers, afterwhich i have an appt to see him after the scan.

Weiwei,
Read abt yr earlier posting, gd to hear tat yr baby girl is growing well. I believe she will be a strong baby.

Ximi,
I will be going for my DS screening today. Like wat the rest said, it is better u discuss wif yr Dr and see whether u wanna proceed to test. In kkh, we r supposed to do the screening ard 11-14wks.

Petals,
How's yr baby's development? How big are they now?

petals

it wil not subside, but e best we can hope s it wil remain same size n does grow as e gal grow. an operation s a must for her when she come to this world. it already happened, now just just pray it wil nt become worse.

dodo

i already started my HL frm tuesday onwards as my babies r more n more heavy, gyn worried if i cont to work, they may nt able to wait til 28 wks. of coz, our aim s at least 32wks, or even longer. so i must start to rest much earlier than others.

thanks for e info on back pain. wil try out e exercises...

Hello to Nano & Petals here, guess we talk abt our 1st tri stuff here and ivf stuff on the other thread, so that we would bored our sisters there.

Ximi,
FTS cost about $300, and Amnio abt $600 +. Dr will usu advise to go for non-invasive one first before attempting amnio.

Weiwei,
After reading yr story, i think u are very strong and brave. Glad to know that yr little gal is doing well. Do take care.

Petals,
Both babies 4cm? wow, so evenly spread

Lucky we hv this thread to talk and share experiences, so many things to worry abt...

Hi LB,
Yah, nano and I think we better move our baby talk here instead. How many wks r u now? R u in ur 13th wk?

Weiwei,
Oic, hope that the lump doesn't grow anymore then. You and your gal r very strong, and will overcome this. Ya, good that u started ur HL, cos u need a lot of rest now. Your babies more impt now.