I need new friends!!!

Glennia,

I've just finished taking my packet of folic acid tablets, nw start to take the iron, calcium and fish oil, same as u! ;) Just the iron tabs in the morn, & calcium & fish oil at night before sleeping.

Wow there's a few preggie mummies here, let's consolidate the names & dates shall we? =) Whoever joins in can add in their details & countdown together!

1. anmaria - EDD 28.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Boy/Girl?)

2. Glennia - EDD 31.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Boy/Girl?)

3. babymustwear - EDD April 2010 - 1st baby (Girl)

4. twinkle - EDD 13.06.2010 - 2nd baby (Boy/Girl?)

5. moon_mommy - EDD 09.07.2010 - 2nd baby (maybe a Girl!)

Glennia,

By the way, I wldn't advise u to purchase your stuff too last min (like only 1 week before your due date) as your baby cld come earlier. My waterbag broke abt 10 days before my EDD during my 1st pregnancy and then by the next morning my son was born! =)

In fact, in your final trimester, u may find yourself pretty tired (again!) and also u may find yourself heavier/bigger so u might not enjoy too much walking or shopping at the malls. Well, unless u know exactly what items u need to get & which brands, so it minimises the back-and-forth shopping trips while u contemplate which ones u wanna get. I wld also advise u that u pack your own bag earlier (which I did so & packed it 1mth before I was due, since officially the baby cld come anytime after 36 weeks). So IF your bb comes before the EDD, u cld grab your bag & off u go to hv your bb delivered! ;)

MoonMummy-Mine is a gal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yar, its jus that my sis is a teacher so since she has a little one already, I look up to her for advise. We will be gng during her hols. which is say 2 weeks before my EDD.. And talking bout packing the bag, I forgot all about it.. Yar, during the CNY hols, I will need to do some packing. Thanks

wah Moon_Mommy..really good advise for first time mum like me also leh. My baby is baby gal. Glen, how abt u? which hospital would u deliver?

i am already startint taking prenatal class from Mt. Alvernia. and Yes, i feel tired and want to sleep a lot, just like first semester.

I even develop a checklist on what baby things i have to prepare, including what should i put on my bag to bring to hospital. Now busy purchasing things for baby lor.

So glad to meet a lot of new mummy here.

Glen, I took retrenchment package from my last company cos i want to work as freelance training consultant. Currently i got some projects, but slowing down a lot..cos i really want to rest before baby come. i might look for infant care for 1 or half day when i have training assignment.

It's nice to start work as freelancer, the money is not much but i can manage my time as my need. I am not so fortunate to have help from parent or parent in law..just need to handle baby myself even when i need 2-3 hours break to do some work.

Anmaria, Mine is a gal as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I will be delivering in Mount Alvernia. I didnt go for any antenatal classes cos initially at around 16 weeks, doc said I had low placenta so if it doesnt move up, it will be a C-Section, so couldnt reallie motivate myself to go for the classes since I wont be learning anything much. Now doc said placenta has moved up. So I am keeping my fingers crossed that it wont move down again.. I will most prob sign up for classes

Glen, the calss in Mt. Alvernia is very full leh. Even on week end one. I signed up Dec, and get slot on January on week end only, cos weekday already occupied. If u sign up now..might have to wait till Feb to start..which i think might be a bit late..

but dun worry, alot of my friends never sign up for class leh..and they are doing absolutely ok too. the class actually teach abt nutrition and physchological changes during pregnancy, then exercise class, labour class, breastfeeding, taking care baby, etc. I paid around $180 plus for week end class.

Pre-natal classes also prepare u mentally for the day of the delivery... but not to worry I guess, probably from reading up from internet (eg. BabyCenter.com) & sharing from all the mummies shd suffice =)

Hey, looks like most of us r expecting baby girls this time! :p

1. anmaria - EDD 28.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Girl)

2. Glennia - EDD 31.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Girl)

3. babymustwear - EDD April 2010 - 1st baby (Girl)

4. twinkle - EDD 13.06.2010 - 2nd baby (Boy/Girl?)

5. moon_mommy - EDD 09.07.2010 - 2nd baby (maybe a Girl!)

just realise we are al having girls! my EDD is 26 april but as i didn't know my LMP at all so doc can only estimate.

i havent decide where to deliver. my gynae can do it at either Mt A or Gleneagles. but i stayed twice in glen e for threatened miscarriage during week 9 and week 13 and it was very expensive! so most likely will go to Mt A.

i also did not sign up for any classes. is it ok not to? i hope to give birth naturally cos i heard it will be easier to lose weight and breastfeed. but i am afraid it will be very painful. i have a fibroid also so gynae may also want me to c-sect.

i am only taking vit c, calcium and fish oil now. actually gynae gave me iron also but each time i take i dun feel well so i stop. but my red blood count is low so i am trying to eat more now. i stop folic acid after 1st trimenster.

glennia, you so power! not kan cheong? im kan cheong queen and like to plan everything in advance. nowadays i also feel more energetic and theres quite a lot of sales so i've been shopping a lot. i already bought also everything including pram, cot, bottles, sterilizer, toys and lots of clothes!

im very lucky cos both mom in law and mom are keen to take care of baby. right now im practically like SAHM cos i work for family biz and since i was hospitalized my parents give me paid leave to rest.

anmaria, i know wat you mean. i had to take a big pay cut when i first started working for my parents. starting was difficult to get used to but soon i realised spending time with family can be more happy then buying things. as long as we are contended, can be very happy also =)

hello mommies!

Wow, this thread does move fast!

puffgal

i noticed it really depends on the maid, like my parents in law they have a maid as well, and she is super independent, she takes care of my MIL who is not well and i must say she does a very good job... even so to scold my MIL when she doesn't behave! so far has been proactive... i think its because she have SG working experience, so attitude is different. not all maids lazy one... but all maids definately needs to monitor and observe! never know what they are up to!

cooking macaroni very easy one.. just throw in boiling water with a little salt to taste (optional). the ABC pasta quite small, so i think should cook quite fast. for me, i think i'd do a small stir-fry with some minced meat and vege. the internet recipe adds cheese which my boy may not really like... so... just aga aga lah.

anmaria

gee, i feel so happy for you for you and ur hubby. you both are so contented with whatever you have in life. may it be less money, but yet both enjoy the simple pleasures in life... must learn from you! : ) i'm just one of those folks who merges with the rush hour crowd, FTWM, struggling with the pressures to perform, being a mum to a wonderful 16 mth boy and the demands of a wife. i survive through my days with a hug and kiss every morning from my kid. I always remind myself thats what i slog for. its amazing how kids can give you the strength you never thought you would have.

babymustwear

just to share, i gave birth naturally too... after a 20-hr labour. yah, quite jialat lah, 1st time mah. after 10 hrs i only 1cm dilated. by then i lost all energy to fight the pain den doc gave epi. i was tired out by then since i din sleep the whole night, den conserve all my energy for the pushing. i was lucky, i pushed for only 45 mins and pop! haha... i recovered fast too, other than being sore down there, i was up and walking about next day...

as for bf-ing, have c-sect also can breastfeed lah. just different positions lor. use the football hold with baby under ur arm, to avoid stress on the wound. its definately feasible. talking abt breastfeeding i got alot of stories ah. got time slowly can share. haha.

hahah...thanks for the advice dore!

thats what ppl tell me..like 1st time will have to suffer many hours then maybe last min doc tell you, "sorry you have to c-sect" then like pain for nothing..

but also got ppl tell me just request for epidural once in hospital then very relax just watch tv and wait.

then also got horror stories about getting torn and very sore down there so at first i decide on epidural c-sect liao.

then after that another fren in the medical field tell me no matter wat, c-sect also considered major operation so if can, should try natural first and c-sect should be last resort.

aiyo so many opinions i also blur...then also got ppl say after c-sect will be on morphine drip so can't breastfeed and after that no more morphine is very pain when baby suck.

then i quite vain also...so i wanna do wrap during confinement and wanna go slimming asap after confinement. if c-sect then cannot. hahaha..me so troublesome hor

Babymustwear, I am like you also vain wanna slim down so need to do natural.. U got ur massuesse already? And for c-sect, I heard its harder to slim down cos the masseuse wont do the abdomen area. Oh well.. My gynae seems to be encouraging me to have a C-Section. Dont know y..

I had a natural birth too, waterbag broke at 1am, administered epidural around 4am, started pushing at around 10.30am.... and bb popped out at close to 12 noon! =) In fact, I only experienced ONE contraction (pain) and that's it -- with epidural administered, I do not feel a single thing after that, haha! But maybe cos epidural numbed the pain, so had a harder time trying to push out the bb...

I do hope this time it wld be an easy (or much easier!) delivery!! Best is just push once or twice and bb come out!

Can I join? I'm currently 29 weeks preggy. Nw bored in d hospital due to contraction & my gynae put me under observation. Hubby bz wif werk & his event.... poor me right hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] lucky got free wi-fi can surf d net...if nt i tink i'll b bored to death man....must tell bb don come out early...

Hi Shahreny!

Congrats on your pregnancy! =) I believe it's your 1st bb? Dun worry, u will be in safe hands & your bb will be good & stay in your tummy till it's the right time! Get your hubby to bring u some magazines or books to read so u won't be too bored ;)

Hi Shahreny

WELCOME... which hospital you in now? Talk to your baby..Ive read about mothers talking to their babies to stay in till full term and it does happen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Babies are smart la.. U must take care of urself and not overexert yourself ok..

Thnks for d warm welcome.

moon_mommy

Actuali dis is my 3rd child n dis is d 1st tym i exp early contraction unlike my prev 2 pregnancy. Yups had asked him to get for me some mags when he come later...

Glennia,

Hi, currently im at Raffles Hospital. Yups even d nurse commented dat my bb is very active. Dey had a hard tym locatin d bb heartbeat when they wan to do d CTG. Thnks Glennia u too...tke care.

Shahreny,

Wow it's your 3rd oredi... the most "senior" among us, haha! =p Expecting a boy or girl this time? Still excited tho it's your 3rd? So u hv helpers at home nw caring for the older 2, or sent to childcare centres? Anyway, pls do take care, rest well & relax at the hospital...

Shahreny, welcome too. wah, enjoy this time by reading lots of books, or chat, etc..

just relax and be happy..you will get a happy baby too. when is your EDD?

Hi moon mommy,

Hehe yeah...dis tym rd expectin a boy, same as my 1st one. My mum & maid is currently tkg cre of d older 2. Tot of putting d elder one in childcare soon so my mum no need to stressed tkg care of d small kiddos hehe...thnks wil try to hv a good rest hehe

Hi Annmaria...

Yeah dis is d tym for me to relax a bit as i'm kind of too tied/stressed up with my werk hehe..my edd is 21Mar09 but looks like its gonna b a kind of earlier dis tym crossing my fingers dat bb will come out aft 35 weeks...hehe

Halo every1,

so happi to see so many new friends 8)

Mi had c section due to bb breech.

this time hope to have v birth.

Saw recommendatin for masseuse from another thread.

have engaged her for to try out pre-natal massage but can oni start after i reach 24 mths.

hi twinkle, nice to know you :)

Thanks for starting this thread.

Btw..just curious question, can we do massage during pregnancy? i though we only do massage after give birth?

anyway..now i even avoid facial. Cos not sure safe or not for baby.

hi everyone!

glennia, i haven decide which masseuse to use yet but there's so many different opinions on different threads also dunno which one to choose. i did contact 1 chinese lady, she say if give birth by c-sect, must after confinment then can massage and can't do tummy also.

hi shahreny, hope all is fine with you now! wah, so good, raffles hospital got wifi. that time i was in gleneagles, no wifi..quite boring. i slept all the time.

i also dun go for facial now cos they say can't let ppl massage shoulders and can't use those electronic stuff also. but i think there are some masseuses who specialise in pre natal massage. twinkle, will pre natal massage help us in delivery?

moon_mommy, if i can have delivery like yours i'll be very happy already! is the epidural jab painful?

Twinkle,

maybe u can try talk to ur bb so dat he'll b in position for nml birth. I'm also lookin for massage lady for my postnatal. I don wan to use d 1st massage lady which i engaged who is the auntie of mt fren's fren. She massaged me til blu black all over my body & no diff seen aft 1 week. My 2nd massage lady is good but she doesn't do postnatal massage anymore as her werk schedule now is not fixed. So i'm trying to source out new massage lady. When i went to d thread always saw d same name being recommended but stil 50/50 whether wan to try or nt skali its a self promote one...I wanna try d prenatal massage but due to my current condition, I don dare to try..so wait til i giv birth then tym to pamper my body for a gd massage.

Hi babymustwear,

Yups contraction is only ard 15-20 unlike yest & just now morning where it rose up to 70. At first i also donno dat Raffles got wifi dat i even aske my sis to lend me her maxmobile. Got to know dat nowadaes most hospital do provide free wifi services. So just prepare ur lappie when u abt to giv birth hehe...

hi shahreny,

good to hear all is well! im not very sure what 15-20 means?

did the doctor say how long you need to be in hospital?

babymustwear, 15-20 is d contraction rate. 15-20 means the contraction is nt dat serious. The lower d fig is d better. They'll strap u to a mchine for abt n hr or so to monitor the intensity. I can b discharged tdy...thnk GOD!!! But i hv to rest at hme and cont to tke medicine for d next 2 weeks. Hopefully d contraction will ease.

Hi Shahreny,

Will you be working when ure discharged or on bedrest?

Babymustwear, Ill pm u my masseusse's name.Let me know if u hear any negative review of her..

Hi Glennia,

I'll b on mc for 2 weeks if my cond improve, my gynae wil allow me to werk if nt hv to extend my mc again.

Btw Glennia, ue masseuse is a malay or chinese? I'm currently also lookin for masseuse for my post natal, (any recommendation?) Just in case i giv birth before my due date...then it wil b very rushin for me...

Hello Shahreny

Mine is a Malay lady. Mashita..I got her number from the forum. Not sure if shes good or not cos my only intention is to get rid of the saggy tummy.. Plus none of my friends seem to have a good massuesse lady to recommend.

I used to go for an Indonesian lady but I dont find her good plus shes very pushy and will call you and stress you to have her come your house to massage. Thank god I changed my phone number so she doesnt call me anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone here got any good post natal slimming lady they highly recommend?

babymustwear,

I dun rem the administering of epidural to be painful. U just need to curl up your body and lay to 1 side, and the anesthetist will inject at an area near your spine. Just need to remain still.

I used to hv this Malay massage lady recommended to me thru an ex-colleague's wife. She was pretty good at massaging my tummy (which my tummy became "smaller" after several days of massage) & she also helped to massage my breast area as there was engorgement at that time. However, on the last few days of her service, she gave several reasons for delaying coming to my place for massage, then she was supposed to pass to me a corset as promised, but in the end she didn't. When I called or smsed her, she refused to pick up her phone or respond. Eventually I gave up. So obviously I am not going to engage her services this time, & I will have to source for new recommendations again.

1. Shahreny - EDD 21.03.2010 - 3rd baby (Boy)

2. anmaria - EDD 28.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Girl)

3. Glennia - EDD 31.03.2010 - Mount Alvernia - 1st baby (Girl)

4. babymustwear - EDD 26.04.2010 - 1st baby (Girl)

5. twinkle - EDD 13.06.2010 - 2nd baby (Boy/Girl?)

6. moon_mommy - EDD 09.07.2010 - 2nd baby (maybe a Girl!)

MoonMummy

Did you pay her lumpsum? If yes, was the unused portion ever refunded back to you? Thats one thing Im worried regarding massuesse.. When u need them they wont be there..and its hard to get a reliable one nowadays..

Anmaria. How many bedded are you taking? Ive decided to go for the 2-bedded for the moment. My sis keeps telling me to choose the one bedder as there is more provacy. But to me, it doesnt matter or does it?

Glennia, I plan to take one bedded. So many people recommend to take one bedded so that your husband can stay there overnight to accompany you. Think alot about it, i thot...ah..giving birth is such a precious experience..I hope to get the best privacy and room..haha..

privacy does matter after we had such a tiring labour, need a good sleep and hubby staying with us.

i decided after read a lot of mummies's advise in the forum.

so many people take massage ah? i didn't know it's important leh...been trying to save money cos so many things to buy. If it's really effective, I will ask around too.

Anmaria, So it does make a difference? Hmmm, I just gynae to book 2 room..Think now I will ask her to make a booking for one room since yes privacy is needed and its our first babies and I will get visitors..

Anmaria, Somehow for massage It is impt provided you get the right one.. Depends on ur contacts and luck... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shahreny,

a good massage can help us to relax thus can sleep better 8)

I oso go for 1 bedder, so that we have privacy thus can rest better.

Even if we have many visitors oso wnt disturb others.

Hee... my relatives n friends were so excited when they visited mi after my first birth.

I dnt get to rest till the nurse advise them to let me rest 8)

But was really happi tat so many pple shared my joy!

do we booked hospital room by ourself or we ask gynae to book for us?

I though i need to go to the hospital and book myself.

twinkle, looks like massage really can help us yah. I need to ask my friend for recommendation then and put some budget on this.

Anmaria, For me, I ask the gynae to book for me.. Just tell her which hospital. MY gynae does only for TMC and Mt A. So I chose Mt A.

twinkle,

I also prefer 1 bedder so u'll hv more privacy. Ur family members can hang ard in d rm for as long as they want hehe..

annmaria,

usually the gynae will book for u. U just inf em which bedder u prefer & they'll do d neccessary things for u. If u are lucky, the room dat u've booked is full, they'll upgrade u to a higher class.

Morning Mummies!

Well, for my massage lady, I paid her once in every 2-3 sessions. I think mine was supposed to be for 5 or 7 sessions in total (sorry, nw can't even quite recall oredi...) Eventually I did managed to have all my 5 (or 7) sessions done, however, it's cos of the trouble having to re-arrange etc. plus the body corsage (innerwear to help "flatten" the tummy) which she promised to give me but didn't. I actually introduced her to another fren who was also pregnant at the same time with me, and my fren gave me negative feedback abt her. So I decided that I shd not engage her again nor intro her to anyone else.

For my 1st pregnancy, I also stayed in a 1-bedder at TMC. It was really great as visitors cld come & visit at anytime and there was enuff room for all to stand & admire my bb, haha! In fact, I even had late-night visitors which it wld hv been rather inconvenient if I was sharing the room with another mummy. Another plus point was my hubby cld stay overnight with me, so at a few intervals in the night when I was supposed to breastfeed my bb and the nurse brought my bb into my room, my hubby & I cld enjoy a time with our newborn in the silence of the night.... such a wonderful & precious experience! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Glennia, one mummy told me to get baby things from here:

cheong choon Blk 34 Up Cross St #03-132

u can get lots of baby stuff there she does wholesale...

but bring only cash as she doesn't accept nets

Glennia,

I am currently still using Phillips Avent milk bottles for my son. In fact, I also bought their breastpump set so the milk bottles which I bought just fits nicely to the pump. I bought the Avent milk bottles and pump set at Robinsons during sale time as they hv a good 20% discount during sales! Not withstanding that if you are also an OCBC Robinsons cardmember as u may be able to earn rebates.

Since Lunar CNY is coming, u may like to look out for any upcoming sales at Robinsons again. Other places to buy Avent bottles wld be KiddyPalace stores. KiddyPalace has 10% discount for members but not applicable for specified items, so u need to check with the salespersons.

Morning Mummies

I just read that if you have a tight balling sensation in your tummy area, it is pre-term labour? But I thought that sensation is the baby pressing against you...

i also got my baby stuff from robinson and isetan sale. i regretted not buying the breast pump duing isetan 20% sale cos at that time i haven decide if i wanted to breast feed. now i'm waiting around to see which other store has sale before i buy.

my fren recommend medela pump..she says its most economical. but is it ok to use medela pump when my bottles are all avent? i bought avent cos it says can prevent colic but some ppl tell me not really useful. and my fren said ended up her baby prefer those cheaper brand than avent cos the teat is softer.

yst i went to mothercare..there is 30% discount on some clothings. very cute but still quite ex even with discount and im not sure if should buy cos maybe baby will grow very fast then maybe wear once or twice can't wear already cos young baby also seldom go out right?

glennia, wats vaser lipo?

i also have some sensation in the tummy..but always tot is baby moving or stretching...once a while i have aches at the pelvic bone there but they say its just the pelvis expanding to prepare for delivery. other than that, so far i have been feeling good since week 18. before that was very sick all the time.

anmaria, the upper cross street shop is it the one near the 'kuan yin' temple at bugis? i know there is a wholesale babywear shop there. i heard its good to buy those 'kimono' tops and tees/ singlets new born babies wear.

any mummies got recommendation for confinement lady? i know its a bit late to look around now..but at first i was thinking of not getting cos my mom-in-law said she'll do for me..but now im wondering if it'll be difficult to 'survive' for 1 whole month alone with mom-in-law so not sure if i should get a confinement lady.

shahreny, hope you are well and out of hospital already!

Hi Glennia,

U've got to monitor the tightness in ur tummy. If it is very freq eg an hr or 2 apart, then its better to just chk wif ur gynae cos dats wat i'm experiencing. It's either due to braxton hicks or its Pre Term Labour. If it's baby pressing againgst u the occurence won't be too frequent. Btw,wat it vaser Lipo?

babymustwear,

Yups i'm out of d hospital & recuperating at hme now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]