Hello Kitty Fans Gathering

MsBrown,
I had mine in Grand Coprthrone Waterfront. I got lots of thumbs up and comments from all my guests. U see if U can get Alvin to serve U. His very 'xi xin'. I consider myself a difficult customer when my wedding was concered, he is very patience to all my requests. Not to mention I even call him on Sundays to make changes here and there. Anything tt suddenly popped up, I just call him. Heheheh...
I have the whole level to myself with a big reception areas.
I think the ballroom U talking abt is the ballroom that I had mine.
My bridal suit is considered big. The bedroom i s separated with the hall by a door. The toilet is super spacious.
When choosing a hotel, dun be ke qi with them. U need to be super thick skin and ask for freebies openly.
I think telling ur co-ordinator tt U guys will be handling the whole banquet bills should helped.

Ms Brown,
My friend had her wedding at Ritz Carlton. Tell you something, the hotel manager shouted at the waiters...damn jelak. Next year is 2008, if you want to reserve, must get a few dates...Saturdays taken up very early.

Hello Kitty.. yours sounded like a nice wedding..
actualli, i agree.. wedding doesnt have to be in posh grand hotels.. if u can book a nice cosy restaurant and invite all ur closr frens and relatives, that would be lovely too...

lili.. poor thing leh u.. and ur fren poor thing also lahz.. keke.. but y he so blur one ah? MEN!! keke.. oops... u need me to help u cx out anything when i'm there? faster tell me... keke.. not much time liao!!! keke...

msbrown.. dun go swissotel at clark quay.. their service sux!!!! and when my sil complained to them, they were nonchalant abt it.. realli disappointing leh!! 5-star somemore... pui.. haha

Acthia/Hello Kitty,
Reali mah. Reali will forgot abt bring extra bras for our changing of gowns meh? Dont scare me leh. Tink I gotta get all of yr advice nearer to my wedding date.

My hubby oso only son & me 1st in my family. But then my parents has agreed to go simple if I so wish lor but my stupid hubby lah. Haiz.... Sianz... whenever I tot of having to go thru all these preparations, I'm getting cold feet but then it can be quite fun lor coz I planned my ROM solemization all by myself so when everything went smoothly & relatives & friends comment on the event, I felt very proud. Wana see some photos? Show u all the link coz juz realised it's not inside my album anymore. keke....

Janet,
thanks for reminding... yes... MC VERY VERY IMPORTANT. MAKES A WHOLE LOT OF DIFFERENCE IN A WEDDING.

And if you need chinese interpretation, pls get one who really can speak good mandarin and NOT stage-fright.. Otherwise, it's very annoying to hear a "eat potato" person speaking in mandarin on stage. ( which was what happened at the wedding yesterday). My DH said "the chinese MC really cannot make it, don't say better." In the end, the english MC doubles up as chinese and english MC.. keke...

Ms Brown,
My brother had 2 MCs - English & for Mandarin. Quite sian leh bcos you hear everything twice but for the sake of older relatives, bo bian.
I planned most of the wedding, so it was rather shiok but tiring. Even the candles and flowers at the entrance and inside the room.

PrincessEmma,
Hope you manage to get extra loots esp rose ones from BKK. This weekend, I must stay at home so as to 'be early bird'...have missed quite a lot of nice loots when the ladies return from their holidays

Janet,
I'm not gog to give any speech lah but then in my heart, I sincerely wan my hubby to do a short speech but I'm not gog to tell him to do so. I'm gog to wait for him to tell me he wana do it. But I doubt very much he knows wat I've expected of him. Coz my hubby is the " ben4 ben4 " dumb dumb one when comes to these things. I'm sure he duno wat to do & will leave everything to me. Haiz... MEN... haha sounds like Emma hor.... keke.... Coz she juz posted abt abt Lili's friend MEN!!!!

Emma,
Noted. Wont go Swissotel.... Nvr thought of that hotel b4 leh. keke.... In my mind, 1st choice is Grand Copthorne but I'll go view the ballroom 1st then decide again lor.

Janet,
Wont consider Ritz Carlton oso coz too expensive liao tough romantic & posh. It's too POSH for me le. keke....

Szu,
Thanks for recommending Alvin, I tink I ever saw his name when he replies to my email enquiry. So I shall look for him if he happens to be still there.

Ms Brown,
Don't say stupid hubby lah...you should be happy hubby wants to have the wedding dinner even though it's sian to organize one. My hubby is 2nd son in his family...his eldest brother held his in Feb 1998 and mine in Mar 1999.

Hi Msbrown,
Have you decided on your bridal studio, photographer, make-up artist? Btw, if you want a back-up photographer, can recommend you my cousin. He's quite professional but young. You just have to give him a red packet and cover the material costs.

I actually took the opportunity during my wedding dinner to thank all my relatives for their help when my mum was sick. Haha! It was Yelly who told me first that my speech was very touching and she wanted to cry.

live_your_dream,
i can't believe that wedding ang bao can be until 4-digits one ah???!!! WOW!!! that's alot leh!

aiyah, but i am not chinese so i don't know these things mah, and i hardly go to chinese wedding dinners also. at most it's to friend's weddings, but hubby and i don't like to give ang bao. we prefer to give gifts, esp if they are our close friends. we feel it is more personalised. so far all the wedding gifts we have given our friends they have called us back personally to thank us, saying that they loved the gift and it was so thoughtful.

for our wedding, since hubby is the only son and also the oldest grandchild in his family (his mom's side) so we did have a chinese wedding dinner. not very big, about 20 tables only, mostly his relatives. all the ang baos we gave to his parents, except the ones that were given by our friends (not many lah).

MsBrown,
He should still be there. I think he got promoted. My hubby friend had his last yr at GCW after attending our wedding(1.5yr ago). However, Alvin was not in town at that time so he is serve by another co-ordinator.

Its tough planning a wedding. I spend abt a yr planning for everything. Too many things to do.
Source for gd, cheap and reliable videographer and photographer. Discussed with florist lah, choose wedding invites, buy all barang barang.
Made wedding gowns and evening gowns. Prepared photoshot lah...blah blah blah...too many liao

I think U can get lots of advice form the forum...

Ms Brown,
You need to get a good MC and PHOTOGRAPHER for the actual wedding day. Hotels and wedding studios do not provide this service. Like what Szu mentioned, you will get lots of impt tips from the forum since we've been through it.

Ms Blur,
Me drooling over the red bottle now, but it's ex at Sanrio

msbrown,
My PIL onli has 2 sons, so dat yr my BIL wana book a plc to hold his wedding dat time, my PIL suggested y nt we hold our wedding together too. So we hav a 'shuang xi ling men' loh. Many of my colleagues & frens were saying so unique hoh to see 2 wedding couples together, but very tiring loh. We held ours at IMM dat time coz' we had abt 54 tables, so many hotels oso cant cater to dat many tables loh.

Li Li,
I know the pink luggage gets dirty easily...how about the red one which Purin got ?? Me tempted too, but don't have travel bug. Emma will be flying off this Wed, you will be doing so end Aug. So excited for both of you.

Lani,
I love that trolley bag you got for Sarah. How much did you pay for it pls ?? I know me kiasu, but I hope to get one for my daughter when she goes to P1. It's so much better than a backpack even though my son had a SPI.

janet,
Huh...u know dat time i dun quite remember wat i've ordered frm annie liao leh, den when i receive the bag of stuff, i was surprised to see the red water bottle inside, so at 1st still wana sell it away. Ah ya too bad u nv post early, i juz started to use it onli.

Who has an extra blue color satin pouch to sell?? I show my colleague the pink color pouch i've won, n she said she oso wan, ask whether anywhere can buy or nt. I told her i will go ask my HK kakis nw! Haha...

Ms Blur,
It's ok. I just happened to see it while surfing Net. Besides, I'm getting ready some stuff for my daughter when she goes nursery next year.

Lani,
I got some socks from Seiyu Bugis for my daughter. 3 for $6.90...you know those white socks which hv blue or grey base ? My mum had to go Malaysia to get for my son then.

msbrown

Can understand...usually first son or first child to get married parents will expect a big wedding dinner, need to let relatives know mah.

My case we got it our way cos my PILs also stingy did not want cos afraid we not enough $ ask from them. My MIL even told us to ask the previous flat owner whether bed, washing machine want or not if not can keep for us so we dun need to buy. I feel so cheapsake! Do I not deserve new furniture? She very stingy on her children but spend on herself kind. Haiz...

acthia/msbrown
Sometimes we will really forget the most basic things in our haste! Msbrown, do get 1 or 2 trustworthy jie3 mei4 to help u get and remember the stuff, such as bras, photo album, light makeup kit etc.

If wedding dinner big also very chaliat for the couple. I went to 1 where most guests invited were the parents...there were 70 tables, by the time phototaking at each table finished, time to stand at the door to thank the guests and say goodbye. Poor couple didn't have time to rest, not to mention fill a bit of tummy...

<font color="ff6000">Msbrown</font>,
Yah.. organising the traditional biggy wedding takes lots of time and effort. But if you plan well at least 1-year ahead and spread out the various tasks, it should be ok yah. For example, settle things like the venue, choosing of invite cards, printing the cards, florist & photographer selection early. This will help ensure that your 1st choice is available. It also gives people a framework to work to. Set out to-do tasks and "out-source" those not so important things to trusted friends or relatives.

In fact, I enjoyed the prepration work for my wedding more then the wedding day itself. heheheeh.. the choosing of gowns, invite cards, finalising details like the flowers (deco for ballroom & car), etc. But one thing!! Make sure your hub is involved in every part of the prep work. It's his wedding too you know. And a wedding means it's a partnership. Dun be like my friend, did everything herself. Her hub only need to sign the cheques, pay the bill and turn up on the day itself. My hub was totally involved lor. So proud and happy with him. Imagine, he can even tell the florist what flowers I like. Somemore can point out things I forgot to prepare. heheeheh...

The main thing is - Enjoy your wedding. It only happens once!! And just be mentally prepared that can go wrong may go wrong. So dun fret over the non-consequential stuffs and let your jie-mei and the entourage to settle.

Hello Kitty,
Better not start on in-laws, or else no end.
Luckily you mentioned getting reliable helpers for the bride.

Ms Brown,
So you need to find 2 reliable HELPERS to help you change and safe-keep the red packets & jewellery, 1 MC, 1 PHOTOGRAPHER.
Yr hubby needs to get a few good buddies to help him 'get through' the main gate b4 he picks you up. My brother's friends had to drink 1 cup of XO with egg, do push-ups, eat chilli b4 the gate was opened...not to forget the RED PACKET.

wah seh... the amount of advise for wedding prep can go on for miles.. but it's quite interesting to read what everyone went thru.
Also quite an eye-opener cos can see so many diff styles and personalities shining thru. heheheheh..

Hi Acthia,
My hubby wanted me to get pink tulips since it's my fav flower for the hand bouquet...but florist advised us not to bcos it doesn't last in hot weather. Both of us went through the whole process and were rather proud we did quite ok. Of course there were some hiccups. Like what you mentioned, just enjoy it and don't expect it to be 100% perfect.

Thanks for all the advices. appreciate it. I oso enjoyed gog thru the preparation of my ROM as a start so that I can be well trained for planning my big day. haha....

My ROM oso got photographer, videography, engaging of florist to do up the place. Now I very anxious wana show u gals my ROM photos but duno y i cant find in my laptop. Maybe I deleted it away liao. keke.....

<font color="ff6000">Janet</font>,
Tulips are nice...
Yah. Most flowers can't last in our scorching heat. Me wanted real flowers & ivy leaves for the wedding car but florist said the flowers sure "habis". So got fake ones + my teddy bears instead.

janet,
oh sorry i didn't reply your question earlier! hee...

the trolley bag was US$19.99, so ard S$30 lor, excluding the shipping cost.

blurqueen,
alamak, i just saw your SMSs this morning! sorry! will reply you asap.

Gate-crashing is the part I enjoy the most. My friends always look for me for gate-crashing ideas. However, I feel my hubby got his easily cos' most of my jie meis no experiences.
When I was jie meis for my cousins, my cousin-in-law had a hard time...we even managed to get the xiong dis to perform a striptease...hahaha

MsBrown,
I agreed...Dun rush. Get one thing settle at a time...enjoy the process...

<font color="ff6000">Szu</font>,
Long time din see you posting leh... beeen busy??
Wah seh.. got free striptease har.... heheheheheh.

Szu,
I tink I wan a great fun filled gate crashing too. keke.... Shud be damn fun but I wonder if my jie meis got any ideas on wat to do a not. haha... I've got 8 or 9 jie meis..... haha....

hello ladies...

msbrown,
yaya...surprised to c u too..i saw ur hubby's face 1st n find him v familiar..another sec, i saw u le keke
I walked ard KL til my hubby came n decided to go for 3 draws n I drew myself a pyjamas, DH drew a tote bag (which i wanted) n DD drew a toothbrush for me...
U shld hv passed ur stuff to me since I m also gg to Grace's shop yesterday

My DH is the one who wanted to get the HK water bottle fm Grace's shop tis time haha
912310.jpg

Lani,
It's ok...we do miss the post with so many everyday. Wow, $30+ excluding shipping ex huh ? But then still cheaper than SPI.

Ms Brown,
Keep to 3 jie meis bcos too many can be a hassle. Make sure they have experience or else you will be as good as not having any help that day. My SIL's helpers were so green and ended up, I was the one who helped the bride except for changing her attire. HaHaHa.

Bubblesangel,
Ya lor. I oso surprised to see u leh. keke.... Tat water bottle nice hor. I already got 3 waterbottles with checked bear liao. haha... The other once is actuali a round one which same as wat she_she has brought back but only got 1 piece only.

Show u. She_She I use yr picture hor.
912326.jpg

Lani,
Sorry abt tt day(think fri or sat) tt I did nt reply ur sms cos my phone is nt anywhere near to me smmore i hv put it into silent mode. Anyway, I ans ur qn in forum tt nite too keke
So did u managed to play LD to get the oven??

msbrown,
oh ya..thx for helping me to reserve ya.
The water bottle is my DD's fav nw...she keep asking me for water tis morn bcos of tis bottle haha

Jus to share, I had my weddin @ Trader's hotel wif a pillarless ballroom. Both DH n me wanted to start n end early so tt everyone can rch hm early to rest And of cos we wan to rest too since we woke up v early to get ready keke. So we started @ 7.45pm n ended @ 10.30pm. The feedback fm relatives n frens tt the food is v nice which i m v happy cos i fl food is v impt when cm to wedding dinner.

Acthia/MsBrown,
Ya...they got engaged videographer and photographer so I told them they must strip slowly, must also move their hips as they take off each pieces of clothing...then got feel. All actions were captured...Hahaha...

MsBrown,
I agreed with Janet not to have too many jie meis cos can get very disorganised...I dun mind providing ideas for gate-crashing if ur jie meis needed help...hehehe

msbrown,
ya...the one u got (same as she_she) is nice lor..too bad it does nt cm wif straw else i wil love to hv tis too keke

Later u gg KK?? Pls look out for me on any nice lunchbox or 'tupperware' kinda of containers...can?? TIA

Bubblesangel,
Sont mention. I oso liked it a lot. Yr gal is shy so u muz tell her, tat water bottle is auntie help to reserve one then see maybe next time we meet up she not so shy. keke....

msblur,
the waterbottle is $11.95 before 10%. It's rather small lah but juz nice if put in our bag to go out coz not so heavy mah.

Szu,
I wanted more jie meis coz more re nao then can be more fun lor during gate crashing lor. But when comes to doing things, will only get 1-2 to help out. OK, when nearer the date, u try to think of some real fun things ok. I oso wana capture in the video. keke....

Bubblesangel,
OK can. Will help u lookout for lunch boxes or containers. How big u want? Something special one ah? I've got too many lunch boxes until I scare liao. haha.... My hubby asked me. U got so many mouths meh? But so many lunchboxes, u can fill them up & eat all meh? *FAINT*... It's true leh... haha, Tink I got 5 sets fo lunchboxes liao. haha.....

Glad yr DD likes it. What else u still looking for? If I come across, will inform u.

Wua ladies, all talking abt wedding preparations now? I also enjoyed my preparation of wedding lor...really missed it...

<u>HKG shopping list for Li Li:</u>
1. Lani - LPB (1. Tianjin red bean w/ NZ honey, or 2. Red bean with chestnut filling w/ NZ honey)
2. Ling Ling - HK electric kettle, HK coasters for pot (2 pcs)
3. HoHo03 - 2xcutlery sets
4. Dior - HK kettle, breadmaker (not toaster)
5. Sharon - HK electric kettle
6. Fei Fei - LPB, HK cooler bag(Budget S$15),1 set of BLUE HK korean cutlery set,coasters for pots (HK & MM)
7. PrincessEmma - LPB
8. Ms Brown - 1 HK & 1 MM Toothpick Holder, 2 HK pot coasters, 2 sets small HK amulets, 1 set big amulets.
9. Janet - Rose wallet budget $30, 5 piece enamel set containers budget $25.
10. Bubblesangel - HK Ice Shaver (tink Dorothy says it's SGD25), Toothpick holder (1st choice HK, 2nd choice MM) budget S$5
11. Hello Kitty - French rose wallet budget $30, coasters for pots (HK & MM), cooler bag (HK/MM)
12. Forgetmenot - small food warmer(same as Ms Brown), 1 set of korean cutlery (pink preferably the 2nd one on the left of purin's pic, else others also can), kids HK rose t-shirt budget $8 (for 1 year old..size 80, 90 or 100))
13. purplepenguin - French rose wallet budget $30, coasters for pots (HK & MM), cooler bag (HK budget $20), 1 set of korean cutlery (pink)
14. Japancraze - coasters for pots x 4 (any designs)
15. Szu - HK cooler bag(Budget S$15), 1 set of pink HK korean cutlery set, 1 set of Korean cutley set(LTS or MM), 4 coasters for pots (HK & MM).
16. Meiji - Bear design cutlery container/chopsticks holder budget total $40 or below.
17. Acthia - HK pot coasters 2x.

<u>For PrincessEmma's BKK trip:</u>
1. Janet - French rose long wallet budget $30, 5 piece enamel container set SGD$25.
2. Blue_Genie - HK face waffle container
3. Purplepenguin - French rose wallet budget $30.
4. Sharon - HK face waffle container.
5. Dior - CK sleeveless Tee (Grey and Pink if have in pink) Size anything prefer M
6. Szu - HK face waffle container x 2
7. Japancraze - CK sleeveless Tee (Grey) & CK Tee (Pink or Black) Size S
8. Hello Kitty - French rose wallet budget $30

<font color="ff6000">feifei</font>,
Wah.. now then see you online. Must be busy har??

hahahaahh.. I also miss preparing for my wedding. Then nowadays see the gowns all so nice one. So I told my hubby, we have 1-more okie?? Know what he said:"Can... for our 10th Anniversary." Then I said:"But I want 1-carat ring this time hor." Then he said:"Oh.. like that make it 20th anniversary." hahahahahah... aiyoh.. that's so many more years to go lor.