Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

Went for my 2nd appt with Dr Tan 2 days ago, no bodyaches after acupuncture this time. I think I was too tense during the 1st appt.
Just curious, how long have u gals been seeing Dr Tan? And how long does it usually take to conceive after seeing him? Dr Tan says that there are more than 10 couples who conceive under him every month.

PGHua,

My BBT was haywire for 2 months liao, according to Dr. Tan BBT needs to stay high after O. But mine goes up and down, ugly graph I have for for months liao. Anyway, just stay happy and relax for your 2ww.

Babybun,
Haha... This is a very good question, which I also wish to know. But I believe there is no fix answer to this, it is all depends on the couples condition. Hope you got it with one cycle.
Don't think and don't compare, will only give you extra stress. I am with Dr. Tan for more than 4 cycles lor.

Thanks for the reply heatherwhite. Our main problem here is sperm count and sperm with head defects. Dr Tan mentioned that it's due to my hubby high body temperature. Need to find ways to reduce his temperature. Cannot sit too long, cannot take hot showers, wear boxers etc... Hopefully with his medicine, we can conceive soon. We want a baby bunny.

Dr Tan predicted that my ovulation will happen earliest this Sunday but I got a positive when I tested opk today evening. When I see him on Tuesday, he said that my follicle is only about 10mm. I wonder whether I'm ovulating early or whether his prediction is off? Can an ovulation happen with a follicle which is not at least 18mm? Also, should I be continuing with his medication or should I wait till I see him the next time to get the medicine for post-ovulation?

Babybun,

Dr. Tan is quite well known for treating guy's problem. But your HB must be able to take the chinese medication prescribe by Dr. Tan and follows his instruction. One of my friend's HB SA result was improved after seeing him for 3 months. But my HB don't feel much different.

You got OPK positive result with the line darker than control? Try to test it again today, sometime I will get 2 days positive OPK result. Normally I will stop his pre-O medication once I got test positive result. And I will monitor my BBT and observe any EWCM, and prepare to BD lor. Work hard and maybe you will get a xmas bb. Good luck ya.

Hi Babybun,

What Dr Tan has previously advised me is that doing an ultrasound is always the best way to determine if u are ovulating.

Honestly, i do agree with that as OPK strips are not always that acurate well,,,,maybe for me coz I got PCOS. Dr Tan told me patients with PCOS or high FSH tends to give false ovulation indication.

Hi phylee, problem, Pghua, annissakoh and all,

Hope you all enjoyed your Xmas celebration. Count down 3 days to 2011! Set your New Year resolutions already? Sad to say, I didn’t fulfill this year goal. But I will continue work hard for my coming year!

Ya, update you all on my latest review. I went back to NUH yesterday for scanning.
My cysts are still there. Luckily, they didn't grow any bigger in size. Prof. PC Wong said no operation is needed for my case. In the scan report mentioned that I have 'multicystic ovary', from Prof. Wong explanation, this is similar to PCOS. Some people who have multicystic might having problem in ovulation. I need go back and do another blood test on my CD 20-22 to evaluate if I can ovulate properly. But I do ask him, if OPK tested positive, does it means I had ovulated on that month? Prof. Wong said yes, if OPK show positive likely I am ovulated. But he also said that OPK is not accurate sometime.
So far, I do get positive test every month using OPK. Pray hard and hope that I have no problem in ovulating.
There is one good thing from the scan yesterday; they didn't see any polyps in my womb anymore! Meaning my polyps are gone! I suspect was due to Dr. Tan's medication.

Prof. Wong is planning to do IUI for me on my next cycle. I need to go on clomid again if the blood test result shows I am not ovulating. In fact it was back to the same treatments I had with my previous gynea a year ago. Back to square one after a year of trying. sigh... I am still wondering should I follow Prof. Wong and give it another round of trying with clomid? From my experience, I am not response very well with clomid. And quite scare of its side effects.

I am skipping this month session with Dr. Tan. His appt are full till Jan.

DearieBB,

Like what you said, those people with high FSH will give false OPK positive result. Sigh... Maybe that's why I always got positive OPK but in actual fact I am not ovulating? How high consider high in FSH? Seriously, I don't think IUI is useful for me. Don't really know how to proceed next now.

BTW, when is your IVF?

<font color="aa00aa">OPK +ve means you're ovulating within the next 12 - 48 hours BUT ovulation may not occur as your body may "back out" at the last minute due to various reasons (please google for it).</font>

HealtherWhite, go with your heart. We are all behind your decision.

I remembered reading for PCOS case, they'll get OPK+ most of the time, you need to use less sensitive OPK.

How is everyone doing?

I'm working
since I just joined them not long. Anyway, nothing much to do in office, just "pretend" busy!!!! kekekeke.

HeatherWhite
New Year Resolutions: Hope all of us have goods news in 2011.
Whatever your decision is, we will all support you. Was told that Clomid cannot take more than 6 cycles.

Hello everyone, hope you gals had a relaxing Xmas.

I'm sending this from Dr Tan's clinic bed!! Haha. Doing acupuncture now.

Heatherwhite, maybe just go for one last try of IUI? Rem to tell Prof Wong what was your dosage of clomid the last round.

What are polyps? I'm so happy that urs are gone! At least one worry less. Usually I console myself that since I have an obvious temp shift after a positive opk, that means I should have an ovulation :p

I finally had the courage to tell my PILs not to pin high hopes on me for a grandkid during Xmas dinner. It's very sad but they just kept asking me everytime we meet. My young SIL is now trying for a baby and she just got married. I think she will give good news to the family soon so I tell myself I must not appear disappointed when it happens..

AnnissaKoh,

Thanks for your support! Yes, acting busy is my strenght too. Hehe...
Now than I know maybe I am getting a false positive result from OPK and may not be ovulating as what I tot. Sigh...

PGHua,
Yes, I also heard clomid cannot take more than 6 cycles, and partly the reason why I stop and switch to see Dr. Tan for TCM.
Since you are with Prof. Wong before, you think I should follow him even though I believe clomid doesn't help me much? I do tell him I was on clomid for 3 cycles before and response no good even at a higher dosage. But he seems like insisting me to start all over again. He has prescribed me a letter for me to purchase clomid from pharmacy, and the dosage he gave me was at the lower dosage than what I use to take. I feel quite reluctant to restart the whole process cos I not sure if we are wasting our time like this or not. But I think all these are standard procedure?

PhyLee,

Wah, enjoying yourself there? hehe... I heard from my HB that that there is a lot of ppl waiting in Dr. Tan's clinic this afternoon. He made a appt at 2.30pm but was not able to wait and went off.

Yes, likely I will try to take clomid on my next cycle. And start fresh to see if miracle happens. Didn't put too much hope on this tho.

PhyLee, I admire your courage for telling your PIL on your condition. I don't have the courage to tell them off. I scare to disappoint them, as we are the only hope for them to have grandkid. I know they been waiting for quite sometime.

Heatherwhite
It wasn't that crowded when I went. I think Dr Tan even saw a couple who walked in.

I have heard of super ovulation IUI. Or can u ask for that instead since low dosage of clomid doesn't work for u?

Hi Phylee,

Sigh, I think the crowd always comes and go together at the same time.

I also heard of SOIUI, but I think Prof. Wong want me to start from the begining at lower dose of ovulation drug. I believe he will suggest me with a better fertility treatment once he knows my condition better. Just that I need to go through the whole cycle with him again. Will see how as it goes.

Another good news from my friend, she got her second one with one try! Wonder how come thing can just happened so easily for others. Really don't understand. Sigh...

HeatherWhite
Think that is the standard procedure. Go and try again, whose know you might strike this time.

Sigh...AF just reported today. Have to start all over again.

I have been try for 2 years. I saw Dr Tan a couple of days ago. Quite strange because he actually gave me 2 big plastic bags of 'An Tai Yao'. Inside each bag there 15 small sachets. Are we suppose to drink the 15 sachets at one time?

Julia, yes, is normal. You need to mix the 15 sachets with half cup of warm water, stand for 5min, stir well and drink. There is part I and part II, part I is with 1/3 of another sachet, part II is 1/4 of another sachet. If AF never strike, go back to buy part II.

Annissa, sorry what is AF? I do not have the part I you mentioned (1/3 of another sachet) I only have part II (1/4 of another sachet). I was told to mix the 15 sachets with some 1/4 of another sachet. I will be having my period in few days time. So do I still to go back to buy part II?

Hi Julia
AF = Auntie Flow/Period. I was also given part 1, ask him during your next visit. Dun have to go back for part 2 if AF reported.

Julia, correct that you are taking the part II. If your period not here yet, continue to take the medicine, stop when period comes.

AF - auntie flow aka period

hiya girls.. so quiet today.. all in holiday mood oredi??

I just came back from Dr Tan and learnt that I might have a tipped uterus. It's funny cuz I remember him telling me during my first visit that my uterus position is normal.. but today he said that my V-bone is quite low so that could mean that I have a tipped uterus.

Do you girls know if a tipped/retroverted uterus could be detected through scans or ultrasounds?

Any tips to conceive with a tipped uterus? Dr Tan had asked me to place a pillow underneath my thighs rather than the hip to allow the sperms to flow backwards.

Phylee, I have got a retroverted uterus too. It was detected by my gynae when I did my ultrasound scan. Dr Tan did comment that too. My gynae says that there's nothing to worry abt since 25% of women are born with retroverted uterus.

Hmm.. Why is it that my two gynaes failed to tell me that if I really have a retroverted uterus.. I'm due for pap smear next Feb. Maybe I'll ask the gynae..

Dr Tan said that my hubby's sperm volume is not enough to flow backwards into my uterus..

My hubby's quantity and quality is no good too. Tried for more than a year and 1 session of failed SO-IUI. Hopefully Dr Tan can help us. I just started seeing him for this cycle. Wonder when we can get good news, whether we'll be in time for a baby bunny.
How long have u been seeing Dr Tan?

PhyLee,

Don't worry too much on this, Dr. Tan only think you 'might' have tipped uterus. Since he didn't notice that during your first visit and your previous two gyneas also nv pick it up, then highly you don't have this? Check it out with your gynea next time when you back for review.

We must enjoy our last few hours of 2010! hehe...

Dr Tan told me that he will retire after his 1000 babies aim. Haha. He said he's just short of a few hundreds. Hope we can contribute to his aim!

I have seen Dr Tan for 3 cycles beginning of 2010 but stopped when I went for clomid and the other medical checks. Now I'm back with him hoping to perserve for another 6 months.

Hee, heng ah... Dr. Tan's quota haven't reached yet! Haha, let's work harder to help him for his earlier retirement plan. Hehe... Jia you gals!

Are anyone of you taking Clomid.I have been taking Clomid for 5 cycles but still not news yet. Wonder if I should still continue taking Clomid or give up and concentrate on TCM treatment?

Hi Julia
I had taken clomid for 3 months last March-May. I had serious bloatedness and I felt really sore at my right ovary so I gave up after the 3 months. I didn't want to over-stimulate my already-enlarged ovaries.

I had read from the Clomid leaflet (that came with the pills) that the effects will lessen each time you take it. That is, the longer you take clomid, the less effective it is.

Any other alternatives your gynae is exploring with you?

Hi Phylee,

My gynae told me there are not much side effects for Clomid. He asked me to continue with Clomid for next cycle. So far he did not do any other tests on me or my hubby, just focus on taking Clomid until I strike. He suggested that I go IVF directly. I am very lost not sure what should I do next. I have also tried IUI, not successful. So not sure if I should give up Western treatment and focus on TCM. I am get tired after each cycle.

Julia, I understand your frustration. All these treatments and pill-popping can be very emotionally draining for all of us.

I always wonder why gynaes here are so eager to prescribe clomid to patients even without checking if we can ovulate on our own. I sometimes see from overseas forums that clomid is only given to patients who do not ovulate every cycle.

Have you done tests like HSG (to check if your tubes are clear) and bloodtests on CD2 etc? How about a semen analysis for your hubby?

To me, TCM is more to tiao our bodies bah.. the effects are more long term so I tell myself must dong for at least 6 months. hehe..

Phylee, I have requested to do HSG but my gynae said no need. Sometime I wonder what if my tubes are really block, so there is no point keeps giving me clomid. He told me to keep on taking clomid until I strike as there are no side effects at all.

Despite my request, he also said no need to do any bloodtests. Do you know what types of bloodtests should I request on CD2?

Hubby has also done SA test, no problem.

I will give myself sometime for TCM to tiao my body before considering IVF.

Julia, I think the bloodtest and HSG are all part of fertility checks. You have been TTC for 2 years yeah? Thought it's good to do these tests.

My first gynae refused to let me do the bloodtest on my CD2 even though I requested for it. He said it's a waste of $$ and he's pretty sure that I ovulate every month on my own though he prescribed me clomid. Duh. I had to go to another gynae to do the bloodtest.

The bloodtest on CD2 is more to check on our hormones, LH etc. The gynae said my bloodtest results were ok but Dr Tan said one of the hormones (forgot which one) is low which contributed to low BBT after ovulation and shorter luteal phase - which is quite right. My luteal phase never passes 14 days.

I support you to seek a 2nd opinion from another gynae!

Heatherwhite, Im 1dpo today! Are you my cycle buddy this time round again? Hehe..

Been a while since I last came in here. Met up with relatives over Christmas and they asked when I was starting a family.... I feel so ashamed and I have no idea how to answer.

Resorted to telling them I plan on moving this year so putting off baby making plans till after. First part true but second part is not...

Phylee, I have been trying for a year plus. Like your gynae, my gynae also believe that I ovulate every month with the clomid he prescribed. I just called him to do a bloodtest to check my hormones level but he said no need again, wants me to continue with clomid.

I am also quite worry the powders prescribed by Dr Tan as they are packed in china. Not sure if they are safe. So far anyone encountered side effects with his medicine?

Hi ProblemG, I always get such questions! My in-laws used to ask me EVERYTIME I see them but now they stopped asking ever since I told them not to pin hopes on us. woahaha.. I can tell how disappointed they are but I also bobian... Sometimes I think those ppl who always ask for the fun of it are so insensitive. Now I will tell myself never to ask a couple when they are going to have kids.

Julia, I have just asked Dr Tan the other day about his medicine. He said HSA comes occasionally to random-pick the powders/syrup etc to check for mercury and steroids. He said his medicine, though packed in China, is safe for consumption. So far I did not have any side effects, only will feel heaty in the past. Just need to drink lotsa water!

How's everyone doing in the new year?

Be positive, we are not always the root of the problem. You need both hands to clap.

JIA YOU, JIA YOU, JIA YOU.

I am back! This thread is rather quiet. How's everyone there?

Hi PhyLee,
Yeah, I guess I am your cycle buddy this month too. OPK +ve on Tuesday. But I never really keep close track this month as I was having my short trip last week. BBT nv rise too much at 36.59C for past few days and today 36.98C. I didn't take any Dr. Tan's medication this cycle. Missed his Pre-O acu and lazy to take ATY now. hehe... Will treat it as a break for myself.
Prof. Wong asked me to do another blood test on my CD20-22 days. He said this will determine if I am ovulating properly or not. I am planning to do the blood test tmr morning at my CD21. If the blood test shows I am not ovulating then I will need to take clomid on my next cycle and go for IUI. Hmn, I not sure if I should take clomid on next cycle leh, cos my next ovulation day will falls somewhere during the CNY. Aiyo... headache...

ProblemG,
Nice hearing from you. How have you been, still going back to Dr. Tan there? Can start your house search soon. My HB also thinking to see see look look for a better house. But I am a bit reluctant to shift as I like the neighbours here and also use to my current house liao. But I really don't like the noisy environment cos of the BKE nearby.

Julia,
Do you feel any side effect when you taking clomid? As for me, I took clomid for 3 cycles. First month, I experienced very bloated stomach and pain on my left ovary during ovulation period. I also experience slightly blur vision at night time. I dunno if I am too sensitive or what. Second month didn't feel anything side effects, guess I am getting use to the drug and I don't have good size eggs on my second month. I was given a higher dose of clomid at my third cycle, but also didn't help to stimulate good folicles. And afterthat I decided to stop and take a break with Dr. Tan.
There is a lots of reported side effects of clomid, you can do a quick search online for this. For example: http://infertility.about.com/od/clomid/tp/clomid_side_effects.htm

You should have also go through the HSG test to make sure your tubes are fine. All these are some standard fertility check. You may want to seek for second opinion with other gynea?

Hi heatherWhite, I do not have any side effects after taking so many rounds of clomid. I was given 150mg for each cycle. I may be seeking 2nd opinion since my current gynae insist that there is no need for me to do HSG and any blood tests.

Hi Julia,

Just follows your heart, if you think your gynea is helping you and you thrust him/her. Then no harm carry on. Cos when you switch to a new gynea, is like going through the whole cycle once again like me. To me, I feel like I am going back to the cycle treatment all over again. My doctor now, is asking me take clomic again on my next cycle. Really don't know what to do sometime. Sigh... Just did a blood test this morning, which cost me $260! I am poor with all these tests and treatments.

I was a little hopeful the last cycle because my temp rose to 37 on CD27 when it supposed to dip, then next few days dipped by 0.1 then AF reported!!! Today CD5. Also good because I dont want to give birth in the lunar 7th.

Very month when nearer to my cycle is a mental torture for me. I pray hard that AF will not report those few days but always disappointed. Each time when AF reported, I will cry. Took so much medicine, spend time for IUIs and so much $ on consultation, but still unable to get pregnant. I even shift house to change fengshui, will get crazy soon...

Hi Julia, I think everyone here feels the same way as u, if not we will not be here. Hang in there k? Hope that Dr Tan will be able to help us conceive a baby bunny