Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

Hi Remedies,
Welcome to this thread.
Your case is quite similar to mine. I have been TTCing for more than 2 years, HB also having poor morphology at around 2%. I am with Dr. Tan for about 5 cycles already. Is your HB also seeing Dr. Tan?
Are you seeing any gynea right now?

Julia,
I am also not expert in plotting BBT, each of us will have their own trend. But generally you will notice below pattern:
1. A drop in your BBT before your AF actually reported. (eg: From 36.9C to 36.6C)

2. It will remain low at certain temperature range, and there is a sudden drop of your BBT near your ovulation day. (eg: CD1-CD13 at around 36.3-36.4C, CD14 at 36.2C (this is the noticeable drop); CD15 at 36.6C) You can predict your ovulation at around CD15.

3. After this drop your temp should continue to rise on next few days. Different before and after O should be around 0.5C. (eg. BBT bf O = 36.4C; and BBT after O should rise to 36.9C)

4. You should have constant high temperature all the way till your next cycle.

I am not very good in explanations. But this is just a generally idea on how your BBT should looks like. I never get the prefect BBT trend, but the pattern is roughly there. And normally you need to plot for few cycles before you can understand your own trend.

Hi PhyLee,

Update my cycle. Today is my CD3, AF only officially reported on last Saturday. What a weekend spoiler. Initially planning to do spring cleaning on weekends, but end up too lazy to do anything.

I always has painful menses cramp during AF, so sian... So blues today...

Hi HeatherWhite,

Yeah, my hubby is seeing Dr Tan together with me as well. But Dr Tan says no problem and chinese medicine is able to help.
Before trying TCM, we were with a gynae in Thomson Medical, prescribe him supplements and antioxidant tablets but no improvement at all after taking religiously for 3 months.
So, we stopped and try TCM instead.

So, you are with Dr Tan for 5 cycles already. Do you think there is any improvement. Did your hubby retake his SA?

babybun,

after reading yr post jan 21 at 424pm..decided to post here...i was here in this thread ,u can refer to earlier thread..tis coming May will be our TWO years seeing Dr Tan.kinda losing confidence liao...i saw him in March 09 and 2nd mth i strike...but lost it....then from then till now..no news....Dr Tan said i can stop seeing him as hub is the one with main problem..but now after seeing him for so long..his SA test has improved but still no news...ald spent abt $3.5k these 1 year 9mth liao..

my bbt was also nice n good...bbt will be high after O...n look good all the way....but still...i have my #1..n ald in K1 now...tinking of trying One IUI ..if stil fail..we will officially give up..

did read some wrote Dr Tan mentioned 10 couples strike every mth but we are just not the ones..also Dr Tan mentioned alot trying #2 all strike.but still not us....not much time to lose....maybe after CNY will try one IUI n tat's it...i did joke with hub why not we stop TCM 2mths then go back as 'new patients' then maybe will strike..:p haha

well...tat all i have to share..been silent reading tis thread. Dr Tan even asked me wrote the thread address for him to read hehe .i read babydun post n had a lot of gan3 chu4'...

Hi Remedies,

I was with a gynea in TMC before seeing Dr. Tan too. The gynea also prescribe my HB some multi-vitamins supplements. Actually according to my previous gynea, she said there is not much western doctor can do to improve their soldier condition. Does your gynea suggest any treatment like taking clomid and IUI for you? Mind sharing more with us here?

Dr. Tan asked my HB to retake his SA when we first see him. He said the SA result only valid for 3 months. As expected, there is not much different between his 1st and 2nd SA test results. But Dr. Tan very optimistic, he said HB not that bad and can improve by taking his medication. Since then, HB has not gone for further SA test. So can't tell if there is any improvement under Dr. Tan or not.

Frankly speaking, HB and I don't feel much different after seeing Dr. Tan. TCM takes longer time to see its effect and different ppls react differently to medication and treatments. Hope you can have noticeable effect with Dr. Tan.

Purplelace,

Nice hearing from you.
Yes, we are just not as lucky to be in the 10 couples who strike every month. I was a bit doubtful who are these 10. Really got 10 couples each month? Hehe... not that I don't believe in Dr. Tan, but maybe he just want us to be more positive. And these are words of encourgement?

Purplelace, I am also going for IUI on my next plan but can only do it in April. Jia you together ok? Don't give up so easily since you have already working so hard for the past 1year and 9 month. TCM can't help then proceed with other treatment. Don't waste your past efforts.

Purplelace,

BTW, can ask Dr. Tan to do a search with his own name, should be able to locate this thread. keke...

Hmn... actually not a bad idea to invite him here to post some comments. haha... 'free advise' for us. hee... ;p

heatherwhite

nice to hear positive words from u

ya i noe how u feel....10couples strike every mth but we r not the ones..actually i had hard time convinced hub to see tcm as he dun trust them...only when i strike 2nd mth after seeing tcm he believed..but now so many mths has passed...he has hinted he wanted to give up tcm liao...cant be so long stil no news rite? maybe we are fated to have just one kid.....

u tinking do IUI in april? if noting goes wrong( if i freak out last min) will do in March...thanks....kinda heartpain to give up..but sometimes $ ,time,hope just let me want to give up....

heatherwhite

Dr Tan told me to give him the link better...so he can just type out n bingo..hehe .tink he not too sure how to do search..save him the time...i also passed the link to Miss Tan...we are 'old patients'liao loh...

Purplelace,

I personally find Dr Tan's treatment more costly compare to western doctor.

I think $3.5k for 1 year 9mth is still quite resonable.

For me, my hubby and I have only seen him for 1 cycle but my bills already around $500 which is equal to the fees of IUI. If I intend to stay with him next 6 months, then I must stand by another $3k which can be very 'siong' for me as we don't earn that much. With added stress from $$, how to conceive asap, really miserable now...

Purplelace,

Haha... you already give the link to Dr. Tan. Wah, luckily I nv say bad things on him here. keke...

Actually, I find lots of guys don't believe in TCM. My HB is one of them, but he is very supportive. I ask him to try and he try. hee...
Time, $, hope are really the factors, and these will deplete with time. Hope I can hang on there till the day I strike.

julia

ya..but cos we are single income..i am sahm.hence 3.5k is alot..n no result..which is very disheartening....n also cos now only hub seeing him....

hence really tinking of trying one IUI....
ya lor..$ siong rite? we even pay extra to get fish maw for hub..plus other supplement wich gynae/web said is good..but still no result...

funny ting is...tat time hub SA test wasnt tat good..i still bfp thrice..but only one healthy pregnancy...but now SA test improve liao..still no strike...maybe we got 'hidden' stress...like tinking so long stil no #2...i really dun wan wait til my boy pri six n i have #2...

heatherwhite

ya lor..i just passed him the link two weeks ago..haha not sure if he got time to come in to see

ya these 3 factors....i will give myself after the IUI...if still no news..will stop tcm n stop ttc liao

i told him 2 weeks ago...i tinking of going IUI in march..he said no no dun try...he said got patients went IUI at glen E,mt E,tmc etc all failed n go bk to him....sigh....

Julia,

I understand the $$$ concern. In fact, I also don't earn a lot. I stop keeping track on how much I spent on TTC long time ago. The more I keep track, the more I feel depressed. Sometime I even feel sad that, why people can use this money to spend on holidays and I spend this money to see doctors.

But on the other hand, we should look at the brighter side. We are consider lucky, beside not fertile, we are all healthy.
Just do whatever we can afford lar. Cheers gals....

Purplelace, I'm one of those who tried iui and failed that's why go to him. We spent $3k+ on SO-IUI at TMC in nov last yr. Failed so decided to try Dr Tan instead. 3k+ goes down the drain within 1 miserable month. We thought why not we see TCM to tiao our bodies first. This is our 2nd month with him, not sure whether there are any improvement. But tcm is really much cheaper than so-iui.

hiya girls. happy to see the thread so active again. purplelace, who knows you will strike again after giving up on TTC totally.
i will be keeping my fingers crossed for all of us here. I have never seen a BFP in my 2 years of TTC. so sad.. actually my bbt last cycle was terrific - looks like triphasic chart but obviously a false alarm.. *sob*

Heatherwhite, today is my CD7. More and more far away from yours liao. haha..

btw gals, i am also reading the TTC 2011 mums thread and one of them shared about making fresh fruit juices for herself and her hubby. She got BFP after four months of fresh juices and she has been TTC for 4 years. No harm trying this out and making some healthy fresh juices if you have the time
but remember to drink more water after the juices. I actually got feverish after a normal glass of apple/oranges/tomato/carrot! My hubby said it's because of the sugar content.

oh, kelly chan also got pregnant with twins after artificial insemination. I wonder if it's IUI. Let that be a motivation for all of us!

Hi Babybun,

Mind share more on your SO-IUI? Have you tried the normal IUI before? In fact, I do hear a lot of comments on the low sucessful rate of IUI. But i think this is a standard protocol for fertility treatments. My previous and current gynea all ask me to try IUI with taking clomid first.
I am also doubtful if it is useful, I have no choice but got to proceed with IUI first. I have even tell myself to prepare for IVF down the road.
Haiz... not sure if I can go that far or not.

Hi PhyLee,

Ya, we are 4 days aways from each other this month. But still can be cycle buddy... hehe... Hope your BBT this month looks terrific like last month and maintance high high all the way. hehe...

Kelly Chan is who? Sound familiar but just can't remember her face. Haha...

Must drink the fruit juice in this combination? For generally health?

Hi Heatherwhite, here's the link to the fruit juice post - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5045096.html?1295593230

heard that tomato is good for men. i think you can mix and match any fruits or veges that you like. I also posted in that thread with this link on the top ten fruits to boost fertility - http://healthmad.com/nutrition/10-fruits-and-vegetables-that-help-promote-fertility/

I might throw in some celery for my hubby too cuz he has mild high blood pressure. Come to think of it, it's also a good way to finish up the fruits in the fridge at one go that we always buy and can't finish.

oh, kelly chan is chen hui lin. can recall?? the hk singer/actress. these days i keep reading about ppl getting pregnant. haha..

oh yeah, babybun.. pls share more on ur SO-IUI. Do you normally get more eggs from SO-IUI? Also, can we claim the cost from our medisave?

So-iui is a very tiring process. Jabs on my tummy everyday, going back to the clinic for scans every other day. I have got 3 eggs after the jabs. Actually I was onli cd11 wen I did my iui. Dr gave me a jab to trigger ovulation coz I will end up with 5 eggs if we wait any longer. Hubby went in to produce his sperm at 8.30am which was prepared by the eymbrologist. I go in at noon to have my iui done. A little painful wen the tubes were inserted. Rest for 30mins before I can leave. I spotted the following day for abt 3 days.

I have not try just iui or iui with clomid. Actually, I never had problem with ovulation. So far, the onli known problem is with my hubby. Poor count and quality.

Usually ppl will not claim for iui, they will keep it juz in case they need ivf eventually, which is a more costly process.

Hi Babybun,

Thanks for sharing. But just out of curious, why your gynea ask you to go into SO-IUI straight away when you don't even have problem ovulating? How long is your cycle normally? CD11 is quite early, do the gynea make any comments on your lining etc?

What is your gynea suggestion for your next step? Mind sharing how is your HB SA?

PhyLee,

You drink the juice in the morning?
Actually I do drink fruit juice quite often during lunch time, but nv with tomato. hehe...
Maybe I should also invest a fruit juice grinder at home. hehe...

Oh, Chen Hui Lin! Yes, I know her! She got pregnant again recently? In fact her customary is about the same time as mine that time, haha... And not long later, her pregnancy news came out. And I still commented "wah, so fast" when I read her pregnancy news. That time I still can joke when hearing ppl's good news, now will only feel stress and sad.

We have been trying for more than a year wen we start seeing him. He tracked my cycle for a month with scans, hormonal tests and my hubby's sperm test. I passed all my tests but hubby's results not as positive. He asked us to go back to try naturally for another 3 months before deciding to proceed further. 3 mths later, no news. So we went back, did my Hsg test, and another test for my hubby before our so-iui.

My cycle is usually 27-29 days. Dr says that my lining is fine and I responded very well to the jabs. He even asked me how old I was wen he found 3 eggs. When he know that I was 29, he says no wonder coz I'm so young. I seriously do not think I'm consider young.

Next step is another so-iui which I intend to postpone and see whether dr tan can do any wonders for us. I think my hubby's morphology is onli 1%. Density and motility also quite bad.

babybun!!!

thanks for sharing !!
u so brave...went thru SO IUI at first time? tot normally pp wil take IUI with clomid..u were so brave..ya i noe wat u meant..to go for scan every 3 days or so....to see if eggs growing etc....

ya i wanted to ask..kelly chen strike with twins using artificial insemination...meaning cld be IUI or IVF?

heather/babybun

ya...even my own gyane dun really support me to take IUI..she mentioned tat for me,i can BFP thrice naturaly..really no need for IUI...cos IUI almost equal chance to normal trying..

but was discussing with hub...will do one IUI loh...n will claim it..since i am very sure not going SO IUI or IVF....

phylee

duno leh...sigh....been trying for so long for #2 till really immune when seeing red mth after mth....we started trying when my boy turned one year old....tis year end he will be 5 year old..sometime i realy wonder how good it would be if i didnt mc in may 09...tat 2nd cycle which i strike when see Dr Tan..well...not fated to be mine....

babydun

did u claim medisave for yr last SO IUI? $3k is alot ...

Not brave, just do not wish to wait any longer. Nope, we din claim, just in case really need ivf. I'm not sure where the sperm washing is done. But the jabs and scans are really ex.

Hi Heatherwhite,

Yeah, my gynae also recommend IUI to us to try. But its really expensive. Sigh.
So, we are holding back and depending on trying naturally.
I have an ex colleague who tried that and it failed too. When she already gave up all hope, she conceived naturally.

So, we must keep reminding ourselves to relax, relax....maybe that helps?

kelly chen is so lucky right? twins somemore.. she can close shop liao. haha..

purplelace, was it a chemical pregnancy the last time?

heatherwhite, i only managed to make fruit juices for myself and my hubby for two nights after work. haha.. i hope the habit can last. im afraid that i will lose interest in juicing after a while so i borrowed a juicer from my mom to try out first.

sometimes i wonder how to give up hope entirely?? i hope i can do so but everytime will wonder if this could be the lucky month..

girls, i think all of us here are very brave, esp for those who went through the jabs, scans etc.. women are the greatest!

Purplelace,

Haha, you are so cute, still go search for Kelly Chan's news. She did IVF. Hmn... quite surprise.

Remedies,

Yes, I keep reminding myself to relax and take things easy. Always easy to say than action. How can we be relax when we are couting on our cycle days, measuring BBT every morning, observing any sign of ovulation, doing OPK test and hearing friends and relative on their good news?! I think I will only be fully relax when I give up the hope. And maybe that's why a lots of couple got it naturally when they give up. A friend of mine is very good example, she tried for many years, and finally give up and hit the jackpot. She now has 2 healthy sons! She keep remind me to stay relax and positive. Haha, but she knows it really very hard to do so.

Come to think of it, I think we should go take some courses like EQ management or something which can relax our mind than those fertility treatment. Maybe we all can strike naturally after we are relax and less stress on TTCing.

Babybun,
If I were you I will think of trying IUI first. I can't imagine to jab myself everyday. How's the jab like? Pen jab or the tradition needle with syringe kind? I can't do it myself! Really admire your braveness to try. So your gynea suggest to try another SO-IUI for you?
Frankly speaking, I really hears a lots of comments on the low successful rate of IUI. Cos the spermie semen is wash, which left less army doing the job. Not very useful for the couple with low sperm count. I also very doubtful if this IUI I am planning to do is just waste of time. But no choice, this is kind of SOP to go through for fertility treatment. Maybe I shall talk to my gynea to see what is his view on this.

Heatherwhite, it's the pen kind, and I got my hubby to jab me every morning. I dun think I have the courage to jab myself too. Ya, he did suggest another so-iui but hubby and I have decided to take a break from this tiring and costly procedure. Pray and hope that dr tan can help us conceive naturally.

phylee

u rem? ya lor..chemcial last pregnancy...

me like u also..tink if wan give up..tink maybe got chance ...still not shi3 xing1 haha...

remedies,

i like yr words

"I have an ex colleague who tried that and it failed too. When she already gave up all hope, she conceived naturally. " i hope i can too....

Purplelace,

I think your case is quite similar to AnnissaKoh, she is also trying for her #2. Also seeing Dr. Tan and had chemical pregnancy few months ago.

AnnissaKoh,
Hmn... it has been quite sometime nv hears from your. How's your job doing? Any updates for us?

hi ALL

Been out of sight for a while as no updates from me as yet. I've missed this mth O as I wasnt tracking that actively and decided to rest for this cycle.

I hate chemical pregancy, I think I go through 2 rounds of that!!!

Purplelace, I remembered you. I've stopped Dr Tan as I dont think the problem is with me.

annissa

thanks for remembering me..

dun give up ok? i also stop tcm with Dr Tan but hub still seeing him..wil give ourselves 3 more mths..if no news..will stop seeing Dr Tan...will be 2 years seeing him n no BFP ...

ya lor...hate chemical pregnancy...my first mc was heartbeat stop...sigh..

ProblemG
I think the purpose of having the sperms washed is to make sure that the best and healthy ones are injected into uterus. The defective ones will not be injected in. That was what my gynae told me.

I just came back from Dr Tan. Back to taking the pre-O medication...

Yeah gals,

It is indeed very depressing when we don't results. Seems that good news always come when we least expected it.
So, let's remind ourselves to relax, take it easy...wait for God's gift to us patiently.
Maybe we should divert our attention such as taking evening strolls with our hubbies after dinner, exercise once a week together.
When its time to BD, just have some fun...then maybe that helps. Must change our thinking and get rid of the negative stress.
That is going to be my new year resolution this yr. Heee

HeatherG> Phy is right. washing of sperms is to remove those impurities and retrieve all the "good soldiers" so that 100% of them is 100% or 99% super mobile. the IUI nurse told me.

hi gals. i've been out of action for a while - buzy with my lousy job and horrible boss. worse my company is having some re-structuring making everyone so concerned.

me too not been faithfully taking dr tan medicine too. its left lying around, partly im down with cough recently. and my HB was down with vertigo few days ago and we rushed to A&E at 4am!! had an injection, and stayed in the observation ward and later discharged. he tells me its probably due to stress at work, and feeling his heart is very tight and cramped, wanted to see a psychiatrist to help and wanted to cancel our Europe trip next week because he did not want to go now. OMG!

today im also very angry with an online user. i contacted her and wanted to get an item from her. we discussed on the price, and when and where to meet - she said she will be around my area in 2 weeks time. i waited and when it was nearly the date, i sms to remind her to bring the item. guess what - she told me she decided to give to a friend not selling anymore well, just my luck. i had waited 2 weeks, else i could have ordered it online and it could have been delivered by now as i intended to bring it for my next week trip. she din even let me know that she passed it to her frn until i sms her today. why are some people so "untrustworthy". of course, i hv no choice lah. what is worse is that i just saw online here that she had a post regarding selling of the same item 4 days after we communicated on the purchase of her item. what is she still trying to do? guess its my unlucky luck. anyway thanks for listening. just wanted to pour it out.i know i shouldn't be affected by this and should just get my item from the pharmacy.

i hope i can recover on time for my trip to europe next week!!

many baby baby dust to all~~~

Ladies, I am giving myself another month with Dr Tan. One of the main reasons is becos I personally find his fees very exp. My hubby and I only with him less than a cycle but our bill already close to $600. There are so many things to pay e.g.Pre-O med, After O med, hubby's med, accupture. His med at $8 per pack is exp. With the bills so high, it's very hard for us to stay relax. I will go back for IUI again. It's seems that none of us have strike yet...

Hihi gals,

Don't get demoralize, I just got a BFP news from another thread friend. She went to Dr. Tan and Dr. Zou's tcm treatment for about a cycle when she was back in Sg last Dec. And she just found herself preggie when back to US now. She is the first BFP news from my TTCing friends in forum. So happy for her. Hope more to come in this thread.

So jia you to all my TTCing friends here! Don't give up and go on together. BFP is waiting for us!

hehe.. heatherwhite, when i took a quick glance at your post, I thought you got a BFP!! Heart skipped a beat just now. hehe.. hope to get news from the usual girls here! it will be a big motivation.

When I spoke to Dr Tan, he said we must tell him if we strike so he can keep track. He said usually when couples get pregnant, they don't tell him, they just disappeared. haha..

Hi PhyLee,

Hehe... How I hope the BFP news is from me. keke...
Hmn, couples disappeared got 2 possibilities, one is the BFP news, and the other is give up... haha...
I swear that I will go down personally to thanks Dr. Tan when I got my BFP under his treatment.

One day to Friday! And few days to lovely bunny's year! Finished your house spring cleaning already? I have not done any at all... hehe...

PhyLee,
How's your progress there? How many times do you normally go back to see Dr. Tan before O? Normally only manage to go back once or twice. Today is my CD6, I am thinking to go Dr. Tan there to take the Pre-O medicine cos I will only be seeing him on Monday which is my CD10 already. This month will work hard on taking Dr. Tan's medicine.

I am still waiting NUH nurse to update me on my blood test result. Sign... no call, wonder should I check with them again. Or just don't care.

Hi HeatherWhite
Spring cleaning is still not complete yet, so tiring. Today is my CD3 and have appt. with Dr. Tan on Tues. Been seeing him for 5 cycles and still no BFP, haiz...
Try and call the nurse to check with them.