Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

Hi mummies - I want to encourage you all to Jia You! I'm 15 weeks pregnant with my second child, I saw Dr Tan for 3 cycles, and stopped cos I went overseas for a long holiday and got preggie there. Don't lose heart, and don't stress yourself. Baby comes when you least expect it, we tried for some time and it was the month that I didn't expect to get pregnant that I did!

I have one cycle's worth of ATY untouched, am willing to give away for free, its not cheap, I know I paid almost $150 for that checkup and I never took the ATY cos I went away. If you are willing to come by my place to collect I'm happy to pass to whoever wants it. PM me!

PhyLee,

Haiz, we both same same again.
Ya, AF is excepted to report sometime on this weekends or following Mon or Tues again.
But where got last chance this year? Haha, our next "O-ing" window should be in Jan liao... hehe...

Hey, really felt tired over ttcing sometime especially when I know AF is reporting soon. Maybe I should call this 'mood swing'. I guess this is a naturally feeling. When you work hard for something, you sure hope to expect something in return.

But yeah, I will think positively for my new cycle to come. New year, New cycle, New hope! Rabbit will be a better year for all of us.

YummyMum,
Thanks for your encouragement. And so happy to hear your good news. I am skipping Dr. Tan's ATY, still have quite a lots of leftover for me to clear too.

Just to share, my HB had noted that I'll have BAD episodes of mood swing 1 week before my AF is due which I've observed for the last 2 cycles and is very accurate. Get your HB to do some simple observation here, you'll know when to stop your ATY if mood swing is "detected", also "shorten" the 2WW. kekeke.

For me is I'll "flare-up" over the slightess matter!!

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Re: BBT Thermometer</u>
Guardian Pharmacy sells the Omron brand Basal Thermometer, Model MC-272L for $19.80.

<u>Re: Encouragement</u>
My friend has been TTC for several years with no avail and he just informed me that his wife had delivered a pair of twins naturally. Perhaps sometimes, we just have to relax to wait for it to happen.

annissasim,
What is dpo?
I agree with you. My HB also noticed that my body will feel warmer at certain time of the month and he was the one who told me that I might be pregnant when we had our 1st child (also 4+ yo now). Similar to you, I had a m/c in May 2009.</font>

Heatherwhite
We still have the last week of dec to BD since the little ones can survive up to 5 days in us

AnnissaKoh, yummymum &amp; bbloh
Thanks for ur encouragement
we just need to remind ourselves to stay positive!

PhyLee,

BD on last week of 2010? Haha, like that also count? hehe... But the little soldiers will only meet the princess next year leh.

ProblemG,
Ya, maybe we should all take a break. Don't do the testings and tracking? Hmn... I am seriously consider to a break myself. Maybe stop for coming cycle? hehe...

AnnissaKoh,
Yes, mood swing is indeed a good method to know AF is reporting. More obvious and easy to observe. haha...

Bbloh,
Sorry for your lost, will keep remind myself to stay positive and relax. It is always easier to say than do. But I will try my best.

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks. Worse thing was my colleague was pregnant almost the same as me then and she had delivered a beautiful girl. Well, I *think* I've gotten over it already.

Ops! I meant, my male friend's wife conceived the twins naturally w/o conception aid (not delivered naturally). Yes, it may be good to take a breather from all these tracking and just relax. There's always sweet surprises when we least expect it.</font>

Give yourself a pat on the shoulder for doing all this charting and testing, feel free to take a break.

HealtherWhite, pregnancy is calculated from the 1st day of your last mense.

This is my 2nd cycle without Dr Tan, I noted that my pre-O temp is higher, 36.5 instead of 36.4. 36.5 acceptable?

Anyone taking "ban feng wan"? I remembered Dr Tan did let me 1 pill for 1 cycle and I've ovulated earlier for that cycle. I've just "attacked" the Yu Ren Shang Gold Label. Read the instruction that we can take 1 every 2-3days for weak body, will it be too heaty?

don't b discouraged.. Jia you.. i went to see Dr Tan and managed to strike at my third cycle. Currently i m 17wks+ pregnant le...

i went thru and understand the sad and disappointment that you gals go thru... i strike at the moment i least expect too.. though ppl say dun think so much, relax, etc, i know its hard.

have faith and trust in Dr Tan. i m thankful to him. i think most importantly is to heed his advise on what not to eat, no cold drinks etc.. the ATY as mentioned is very hearty, do drink more water...and the medicine prescribed to your hubby must also dilligently take as he also tries to make the army better.

Take care gal.. jia you.

Dear Annissa,

Baifongwan also very heaty de.. not many can take 1 every 2-3 days... i reber that at Eu Yan Seng the lady say to take on day 3 and day 10 after menses.

Thanks Melody. It's always nice to hear success stories in this thread.
Congrats on your pregnancy and take care yeah? You will be busy with your little one in about 6 months time!

AnnissaKoh,
I took EYS baifongwan before and when I told Dr Tan during my first visit, he frowned and told me that we cannot anyhow take baifongwan, only at certain time of our cycle. My mom used to prepare for me once a month after my menses.

Thanks for the tips on baifongwan, I've asked my HB to buy for me. I should have go myself then I can ask them on administration.

I tired it, their baifongwan is like super jumbo size!!! double the amount as compared to the one Dr Tan gave me.

Am new here and also a patient under KS Tan. Just wan to find out, are there any sisters out here seeing both western doc and chinese sinseh at the same time ? Esp those sisters who are planning for/ in IVF. Does "zhong xi he pin" really help ?

Thks for the sharing if any

Hi DearieBB,

Welcome to join in for discussion.

I haven't tried seeing both western doc and chinese sinseh at the same time. But I will start seeing both on my coming cycle. I believe in some cases, it is best to work together. As chinese sinseh will tiao our body, and western will tackle the problem directly.

I do know from another forum that there are people seeing both western and chinese together when they are doing IVF. So I do believe that 'zhong xi' can 'he ping'. However, it will not be easy to juggle both. You going for IVF?

PhyLee &amp; ProblemG,

How are you both? Miss you leh. Hehe… ;p
I am waiting for my AF to report. Then will need to arrange for scanning and appt with Prof. Wong. A bit sian when thinking of this.

Yeah, I am taking a short break in coming January with HB to Hong Kong. Finally! A trip with him after a year of busy 2010. Now planning for the itinerary. Anyone went to Hongkong and have good recommendation on the places I should go?

Hi Heatherwhite,

Actually i used to see both chinese sinseh and western doc but recently i stopped seeing chinese sinseh.

Reason being, i heard that some chinese med maynt be tat suitable for all and some ppl aft taking chinese med affect the egg qualities. After hearing all these, i got bit fearful hence i stopped seeking TCM.

This is my 1st time!!! I've a "ruptured" feeling on my lower adominal, ovary area, like something dropped out aka my egg dropped out, is this correct?

Hi DearieBB,

So you not seeing Dr. Tan anymore now? Are you currently seeing any gynea? You mind sharing more on your condition with us here?

Actually I find myself falling sick easily for these few months. I think I am too heaty with Dr. Tan medicaiton. But so far I didn't feel other thing. I think taking chinese medication should be fine if it was prescribe by a certified Chinese physician. So I am comfortable so far.

HeatherWhite, that day supposed to "do" in the afternoon but didnt as we need to run errands. We did it at night, hope can still catch it. I felt it during dinner time.

Hello, I'm new here. Just saw Dr Tan for the 1st time last Saturday. Can I check with u whether any of u have bodyaches after the acupuncture? Both hubby and I have bodyaches. Not sure whether it's normal.

Heatherwhite! Happy to hear from you. My stupid AF refused to come full blast. My bbt dropped to pre-O level since yesterday but only got spotting so far. So sickening!! Anyway I made two appts to see dr tan next week liao. Hee..

I heard HK is very cold now.. All the more u two shd cuddle in bed for warmth! Hee. Just go there, sleep, eat and shop! Awww envy..

AnnissaKoh
You are so cute! I never had that ruptured feeling but only a dull ache at my right ovary ard my ovulating time. I always think that's because my right ovary is enlarged and filled with many immature eggs/cysts so it feels sore. I have read that ovulation pain means a powerful ovulation. *power!*

To the rest
Actually I have always wondered if the powders prescribed by Dr Tan is safe for consumption since they are packed in china??

Hi AnnissaKoh,

If you manage to BD on the same day when you think you are ovulating, than chances are very high. Don't think too much, just stay relax and enjoy your xmas session and last few days of 2010!

Babybun,
I also don't experience body ache cos of the acupunture. Do you think you are too stress up during the poking? My HB was very tensed up when he did his first acupunture, he did experience unwell feeling after the poking. But after that he learnt to relax, and now is getting used to it liao. So remember to relax when you do acupunture.

PhyLee,

I am also waiting for my AF, but i think it will report anytime today cos also got spotting liao. BBT today is 36.59C. I didn't book any appt yet, called Dr. Tan's clinic yesterday to book for HB, seems the appt is very full already. If really can't have good timing appt then likely I will skip this month poking.

Heatherwhite,

Yup, i have stopped seeing Dr Tan for 1 mth liao due to the above things i heard of.

I currently seein Dr Loh. In fact, i have been seeing diff docs during my whole TTC period. Been to those famous docs like Dr LC, Dr Fong but stopped due to their high charges. Been spending close to $10K seeing LC and $2k seeing Fong. As they are both private docs, both hb and i are quite financial exhausted. So lastly, we decided to see govt doc instead.

I am now in a dilemma as i do not know if i shld contd seeing Dr KS Tan. I used to believe zhong xi he pin is good but then aft hearing the abv, i was bit loss. Hence, really dun noe what shld i do.

Have you been told by chinese sinseh to avoid eating dan kui, choco, soya products, spicy foods, melon, cold stuffs etc ? All the listed food here are advised by KS Tan for me to avoid. Ended up, i'm limited to available choices of foods.....

Hi babybun,

Me too. i dun exeperience any bodyaches except that one side effect i have fr the med is actually weight gain. Asked Dr Tan is that the side effects fr his med, he said some of his patients do have such side effects but is depending on ge ren ti zhi.

Babybun
I also dun experience any bodyaches.

DearieBB
Dr. Tan did ask me to avoid those stuffs that u mentioned n limited to 1 day a packet of Milo as well. Currently, I stopped seeing western dr. for 3 months liao. I was told by him if going for IVF is better dun take any chinese med. it might cause some side efect. Are u goning for IVF???

DearieBB,

Yes, Dr. Tan do ask me to avoid Dan kui, Chocolate (my favarite food!), soya products, spicy food and cold stuff. I do follow for the first two months, but back to same old eating habbit after that. Best is to avoid lar, but if really can't then just cut down the intake of those food lor. Hehe =.=

How long have you been seeing Dr. Tan before you stop? I have been with him more than 4months. I really not sure if TCM is helping me or not. HB also don't really feel much different. But I do believe acupunture will help in better blood circulation, hope this can improve the chance of concieving.

As for whether you should continue in TCM or not. Er, actually is really up to you. If you think you not comfortable with the chinese medication then maybe you don't take it and only go for acupunture? Just follow what you heart tells you.

I understand the financially exhausted feeling. Friends tot I should have lots of saving since I don't have kid's burden. But they don't understand how much I spent on every month in ttc.
I used to record how much I spend on each gynea visits, tests cost and so on. Later on I just stopped, cos I am find it stressful and disappointed to know how much I have spent each month. How I hope I can spend this sum money on my my kids and not to all these treatments.

What is your condition? Which gynea you seeing now?

from wat Doc Tan tell me that time..

choco - avoid but i still much a bit..
soya products - guys to avoid as it affect sperms
spicy foods - don't think he say this cannot
melon, cold stuffs etc - too cooling hence not good for womb.
gui ling gao &amp; Aloe vera - cannot eat as it is also too cooling

dont be discouraged gals.. jia you

Thanks Melody for your encouragement. I will do my best to continue and to try harder!

PhyLee,
Today is my CD1 again, BBT rise to 37C this morning, another haywire BBT. I just called to make my appt in NUH, hope will get some advise from Prof. Wong this time.

HeatherWhite
Do you still need to go for your bld test @ CD2 again? I thought BBT was supposed to be low once AF reported. Mine always never touch 37C., the highest is @ 36.57C.

Heatherwhite
Today is my CD3. Did you sleep well last night? If it's just a one-off high bbt, then I think it should be fine? Is it a full blast kind of AF?

Hi girls
It's been a while since I last popped by here. Been sick since Sun. Haiz, so close to Christmas somemore. Anyway, this is likely to throw my cycle even further off course. CD30 for me today and AF has not reported. BBT chart is like crap, only spike was on Mon due to fever and it's down again.
So, here's wishing you all an early Merry Christmas (who doesn't look forward to the holidays?!) and may all our baby wishes come true!!!

Hi PGHua,
Prof. Wong never ask me to do any blood test on CD2, I did mine 2 or 3 months ago with instructed by Dr. Tan already. I did showed Prof. Wong my test result. Seem like there is another blood test to be done on CD28? But so far he nv ask me to do yet.

PhyLee,
Today CD2, today BBT also high at 36.8C. Very stupid right, want it to be high, it give me low temp, and now need to be low and give me high reading? Sign... But I didn't sleep well on last few nights, hope this is the caused. Do you have menses cramp during AF? My can be very bad, so no mood to work.

ProblemG,
Finally hear your vioce. Hope you feeling better and get well very soon. Tmr is Xmas eve, time to enjoy lor. Wishing you an early Merry Christmas too and may your baby wishes come true

Hi PgHua,

Yupz...sad to say my hb and i have decided to go for IVF and tat one of the reason we decided to switch to govt doc.

I currently seeing Dr Loh. He also advised try to avoid chinese med if doing IVF due to unkown effects that the chinese med will have on the body. And this is also the reason y i am so fan abt it. Some frds ard me actually said tat a combination of western and chinese med tends to boost the fertility chances. But all these are again hear say hear say as diiferent people respond differently to diff med.

Btw, u mentioned u have stopped seeing western doc. So u concentrating in seeing chinese sinseh only ? What prompt u to make such decision ? Which gynae r u seeing prev ?

Hee....sorry for the mouthful. Paisay ah

Hi Heatherwhite,

I started seeing Dr Tan in Jun this yr and stopped last month so approx abt 6 mths. My hb told me that perharps we can stop for awhile then aft IVF go back to see him again to strengthen the womb....blah...blah.... I dun noe if that the right way it shld be. Honestly, if u ask me, i would not want to stop but aft the advise fr Dr Loh and my hubby, i bo bian so follow wat they said ah.

My case is that i have PCOS. Been thru clomid and IUI but dun work. So as age is catching up, only last mth, we have decided to go IVF. I have never expected myself to go such resort. Frds around me are like "mu zhu",every year pop one "piglet" out. But looking at myself, haiz.... I ever told my hb that i'm sorry that i not like other normal woman (i would tink myself as abnormal and fail as woman duty). But comforting, he told me dun tink it this way.

Now i am praying hard that GOD can pity us to grant our wish come true.

Hi DearieBB,

I understand fully on how you feel now. I also upset why I just can't be like a normal woman, can get preggie so easily. So envy those couples who are so fertile, can keep having children as and when they planned. I feel guilty sometime towards my PIL, I know they hope for a grandchildren. But they are very understandable, they nv ask or push us for having children at all.

Me and HB are preparing ourselve to go for IVF choice too. And this is part of the reason why we are seeing Prof. Wong too. We need to stay positive and strong! Hope we can have our baby wish come true in 2011. Jia you ah.

HeatherWhite
Thanks. Good enough to be back at work but can still do better :s throat still itchy. Good and bad bah, no Christmas indulgence for me... :p

Hi DearieBB
Will stick to Dr. Tan for a few months first before decide whether shld I go for another round of IVF. Have been thru 2 rounds of IVF, 1st one did not complete the cycle bcos one of the ovary was too high can't retrieve the eggs. Me and HB was so heartbroken, after been thru everyday the injections and this happen. Was wondering why in the 1st pl., I was not informed thru the scanning. 2nd. time was done at this year, I was pregnant based on the bld test but was miscarriage few weeks later. After spending so much S$ and it dun work at all.
Me too also went thru clomid and IUI also dun work. Before going thru IUI, advise by dr. to go for a surgery to remove the cyst. Hope IUI will work.
My gynae is Prof. Wong at NUH.

Yes, age is catching up already. Hope 2011 all our wishes will come true.

PGHua,

You have cyst before? Still remember how big is your cyst size? You did your surgery in NUH under Prof. Wong to remove the cyst? Likely I will need to remove my cyst too. How much it cost? Do you think Prof. Wong is good or not?

I also went thru clomid for 3 months with increasing in dosage. But not able to do IUI at all. None of the months with good follicles sizes. I can feel some side effects after taking clomid, and decided to stop it. And this is how I end up with Dr. Tan for TCM treatment.

HB and my age are also catching up. I have the same New Year resolution for years! Really hope my wish will come true soon!

HeatherWhite
Yes, is a bld cyst. Was told by Prof. only after surgery. I can't really remember the size, is like between 20-50 cents round. Done by Prof. Wong at NUH. Think is up to indivual whether he is good or not. Personally, think he is not bad.
Need to check my bill and let you know.
If remember correctly, I went thru 4-5 months of clomid. IUI was done twice, in the end decided to go for IVF. Dun want to waste more S$ on IUI.

PGHua,

Is your bld cyst at ovary? I will see what Prof. Wong suggest to me after my scan on next Monday. From my previous gynea, my ovarian cyst on my left is about 2+cm in Aug. But from Prof.Wong V-scan last month, he said the size is closed to 4cm! I am quite worry for this actually.

Ya, I also think IUI is not very helpful, especially if HB's SA is low. Sian, sometime don't understand why we need to go through all these.

Heatherwhite
Yes, is also at left ovary. Did he mention to you that you have to remove it??? Closed to 4cm is quite big the size.
Hope after going thru all these and we all have good news in 2011. All the suffers that we have gone thru will worth it.

PGHua,

Prof. Wong nv mentioned much things to me on my last visit. He did a very quick v-scan without explaining to me on what he observed. It is unlike my previous gynea, she will explain to me what is this and that during her scan and print a copy of the scan to me for my reference.
I think it was probably of the timing too, I see Prof. Wong during my Ovulation window. Guess it is hard to see it clearly. Hope can hear more from him this time.

So what is your cycle day now? Seeing Dr. Tan diligently? I am thinking to skip seeing him this month. Haven't book any appt with him yet.

HeatherWhite
CD19 but BBT is only at 36.26C., still too low. Dun know why? BBT never touch 37C.
Yes, still continue to see him. Sometimes was thinking shld I skip seeing him, been with him for abt. 4 cycles already. HB will be seeing him this evening.
Have u mentioned to Prof. u are seeing a chinese sinseh???

PGHua,

Do you use OPK to keep track on your O? Dr. Tan got ask you to take his ATY (Post-O medicine) after you have O? This is supposed to help and raise your BBT too.

I nv mentioned to Prof. Wong that I am seeing TCM. My session with him last time was very quick. Never really talk to him much.

HeatherWhite
I did but had trouble interpreting the two-line system on the dipstick OPK. Sometimes the test line is very faint than the control line and it never get darker, not sure whether am I ovulate. Have to use the ClearBlue with a "Smilely Face" when it detect the LH surge but it was very costly.
Start taking ATY on CD16 but 2day BBT drops.