Dr Han How Chuan from KKH

doublespeak, u r having ur 1st child? Usually 1st child will start to show around 5 or 6th months but depends on your pelvic also. Some of them theirs hide into, some protuded.

babybenmen, me not yet #2...

bitbit, yah it's my first child. think i shd not worry too much since i've been eating well and my baby also growing healthily.

But i just look at my friends & colleagues, some of them 16 weeks already start to show quite abit of belly!

doublespeak, me now at 11 weeks and my tummy is showing a bit already...i think is more of fats...hahaha....cause i eat quite a lot also...
hee...

hi all mummies ans MTB,

long time din come to the forum already. i jus delivered my gal on 10mar..
so happy
i can't tahan the pain, end up i took epidural
but its ok lah, as long as bb is healthy, i m happy enough. now 2 weeks already, the stitches seem like heeling quite well. but now KKH din give any lotion to clean the wound and i felt quite painful a few days after i m home although i did wash the wound with water. my hubby bought the lotion from the pharmarcy, after using it the pain subsided.

Yan,
i also had the same problem with pain in the wound. The nurse advise to soak in warm salt water for about 5-10 mins when there is pain. And i bought the antiseptic lotion to apply.

Hi I have booked an appointment with Dr Han too.
Just realised that I am pregnant and facing some problem with brown discharge.

Luckily my family doc give me medication to last till my gynae's appointment. Hope it is going to be ok.

As Dr Han is my SIL's gynae for her 3 kids, I thought he must be good, but I am not very close to her.

Anyway, may i know how much is his charges like and packages like? I am a bit confuse with KKH's defination of the packages.

Thanks in advance for your advance!

babybenmen
glad to know that your checkup went well!

re tummy showing
i couldn't fit into my pants n skrts lkike from 8 weeks onwards but my tummy wasn't obvious till like 5 months cos quite small

Yan
congrats! KKH very weird right? no lotion to apply...

celia
when is your appt? better let him know abt the discharge. how many weeks r u?

Hi SY,

I am only 6 weeks pregnant. Appt is this Sat (hope it is not crowded) at AMK. Would you know what is the diff with seeing Dr Han at KKH & AMK clinic?

I was prescipted by GP to take the Duphaston for the discharge - She is worried as this is 1st pregnancy. And she also gave me anti biotics for the infection in my varginal. Not sure I should take it but i did.

Worst, I had a very bad toothache last Dec which I may need to pull out or do root canal. In the end, the dentisit gave me painkillers and the pain was gone until recently when I realise i am pregnant. Oh yes, 2 weeks ago I had a dental xtray too at a different dentist clinic (i dun know I was pregnant but I did ask the dentisit if it is ok as I may be pregnant - he say no problem)! Now I worry!!

Then I realise that during this time, your teeth become very sensitive. So now, every night, I have to fight with toothache till i see Dr Han to understand when is good time to pull out my tooth.

sigh...But it is really hard to imagine I am going to be a mummy soon!

May I know what are the normal tests to be conducted during 1st consultation with Dr Han?

Blood test, urine test, scan? Does the result of the blood & urine test come out immediately or wait next appointment?

Many thanks in advance for your advice!

smiley74,
Congrats! Don't sigh, just take it easy as your pregnancy continues.

I have been to both AMK and TPS, so as compared AMK you will have to keep a lookout for your queue numbers, sometimes no seat to wait. There is one toilet so sometimes you will need to queue. But taking your weight and blood pressure is easier, just outside Dr Han's room. I recall doing internal scan on first visit.

TPS will be just waiting for the nurse to call your name. And you will have to go to the reception to wait for your medication and make payments.

smiley,
i was prescirbed duphaston by Dr Han as well. really expensive right? i took it until abt 12 weeks i think.

not sure what's the difference between seeing him at AMK and KKH. dun think there shd be. he's a funny guy.

urine test is standard at every visit to check for protein n sugar in the urine. blood test was done later (think abt 11 weeks ard there) i did mine when i went to do the NT Scan (to check for down syndrome)

He did internal scan (using vaginal probe) for early pregnancy. only used those ultrascan on tummy at later stage.

6 weeks is pretty early. do take care. he will tell u not to do housework and no intercourse.

no eating coconut and pineapple as well.

Hello, SY and small Bell,

Thanks for your advices!

I have changed my sat appt to tomorrow - my 1st appointment! Cos i still have spotting - this time a bit reddish, quite worry cos I have rested 2 days at home on MC.

My duphaston was prescibed by GP who is my family doc and also given me the MC. Cost me 25 bucks at Changi Hospital cos she run out of the medication.

My sis in law warned me that Dr Han appintment usually will need to wait quite a while just to be prepare for the worst and some time the assistants a bit slow. Even bill payment also slow... Did any one of you experience that?

Cross my fingers on the appt then!

hi smiley,

i am a dr han's patient too.. i visit him at the TPS. i am already 5.5mths.. and has been seeing him since i was 6weeks preg. overall the wait to see him and payment is ok.. not like very fast but neither very slow lah.. i heard its better then the clnic b outside.. as i am a super impatient person, if i can tahan the wait.. shld be ok for most :p

smiley74
i saw him at TPS. the wait is long if he has to go attend to patients. i have waited for more than an hour before. but usually not too bad. suggest u see him on weekday and try to get the first few slots. it's usually the payment that is really long. there was once i waited for more than 50 min to pay!

since u have reddish spotting, must let him know. that time i also and he told me to go see him immediately. do rest more.

hello ladies,

Quite some time never post here liao...hee...

Hello SY,

Thanks! I will be going next wed to see Dr Han for my third appointment again! So excited!
I just had my NT scan last thursday, and everything is normal. So happy!

Hello smiley74,

I also had brownish discharge when i was in my 10th weeks. Was so worried that time! I immediately made appointment to see Dr Han at KKH on the same day. Dr Han checked me and let me listen to bb's heartbeat. Luckily, we still heard bb's strong heartbeat...

Also same thing, must avoid coconut, pineapple and abstain from sex...

babybenmen
glad to hear that your NT Scan is ok. quite fun right? cos can see a lot of bb....

seems like Dr Han gives same advice all the time..haha

hihi SY,

haha..yah, its very cute! can see bb better...
btw, does our hubby need to take bloodtest to test for thalassemia? (sorry think its wrong spelling)

Hello, ladies!

I had a pleasant visit to Dr han last wed and we managed to see the bb thru the V scan! The kind of feeling is beyond description! :p The Doctor said I had a healthy bb.

But Last Fri morning, I had a scare in office when I realise i had a shot of fluid when I squat down to take something from my bag. I went to the restroom and saw big patch of red.

So I tried calling KKH to talk to Dr Han and to fix appt same day. Was told to leave phone msg and that Dr Han's appt is full that day with another long meeting planned. Sigh, so I ask the hotline to help confirm an appt. (in the end, I was told the hotline can't get to me as there was problem with my HP. The lady wanted to ask me go down to see Dr Han immediately.)

Worst, I broke down (I dun know why?) in front of my boss when I told him I need time off to see doc in the afternoon. I think b'cos the day before, a friend warned me to be careful of even a small drop of discharge, let alone it is red. So my boss immediately asked me go hospital on cab!

A colleague accompany me to the KKH 24 hr women clinic and I was attended to by the doc on duty. He scaned for the bb thru V scan and assured me that the bb is ok. But he is unable to explain why the bleeding. I was given MC til today. Back to work on Tue.

But I am still bleeding on and off, so worry that I fix another appt wih Dr Han on wed.

Does anyone who is currently taking duphaston, still experiencing on off spotting or bleeding like me? I am so worry...

Although I am only about 7 weeks, i feel like my waist line expanded. I have no appetit and my stomach feel bloated.

Now I have problem with clothings! Do you have any suggestion? I am size M - I guess I have to start buy size L? maternity wear still early?

babybenmen
Dr han will test your blood first. if yours ok he won't take your hb's one. my hb so happy cos some gynaes actually take hb's blood first...

smiley74
i was like u. i had bleeding on and off though i was taking duphaston too. there was once when i was in the office and i saw fresh blood when i went to toilet so i went to see Dr Han immediately. he couldn't see bb in the scan at that time so he told us to be prepared for the worst and i had to do blood test to confirm the pregnancy. then later, the blood test showed good results. but the following mon, when i went to the toilet at night ( i had a bad cough too at that time) after coming back from toilet, i coughed and felt fluid. went to toilet and checked and saw blood. nt a lot but enough to bring us down to the 24 hour clinic. the Dr on duty did a check and showed everything to be fine. in the end got 3 days MC

best to see Dr Han n see what he has to say

as for clothes, suggest u get maternity bottoms first. i started wearing them like 8 weeks cos i couldn't fit into my normal bottoms. tops still ok.

Hi SY,

Thanks for sharing your story with me

I dun want to cause too much alarm to everyone, so since it is on off thing, I hope to be able to tahan till this wed.

Maternity bottoms? I love to get pants (not really a skirt person) but it seen like they are all too big and seen to be in taple shape (quite ugly :p)

Where do you get yours?

smiley74
my fren lent me one from perfect moms that i find good. i got some from marton bell also (they do alterations) and some from bellysima. spring is good also. i like the one from marton bell a lot. what size u wear?

as yours is still early pregnancy best to be careful. dun worry abt causing alarm. Dr Han very funny one. cos i always so kan cheong so he kept teasing me. btw u have his email add? he responds to email like end of each day so sometimes i email him my queries cos he quite hard to get on te phone

Hi SY,
used to be size M now i think size L :p
i tot i put on weight due to pregnancy and bloated stomach. but my hubby say he dun think so, cos i have been snacking alot since CNY!

I will probably look around those maternity wear. but i guess i can only buy size that fits or loose a bit and not the full term one la. ha ha!

As for Dr han email, is it this one [email protected]? Maybe i try write to him and see if he replies lor?

Thanks for the sound advices, SY!

Hello SY,

Thanks! Glad to hear that maybe hubby dun need take blood test...

Hello smiley,

U seeing Dr Han today?
I will also be seeing Dr Han this evening at Ang Mo Kio Clinic.
So excited!

smiley74,
i had a lot of wind in my first trimester and always take antacids cos wasn't feeling good. think that caused my stomach to be bigger...haha...

think for bottoms get those that can last till full term. more worth. for tops, by your last trimster (maybe even 2nd trimester) u will need to get new ones. i really couldn't find much to wear during my last trimester! so in the end still got buy new tops. but bottoms i din buy new ones.

think that is the email. he will reply one.

babybenmen,
your hb must be happy no need to take blood test. mine was very happy...

Hello SY,

Went for my appointment last night.
So far so good...but bb was sleeping when Dr Han scanned him/her....Thought my bb will wake up and wave to me...haha...i forgot to ask how big is my bb liao....

Well, next appointment have to take blood test liao...Dr Han says actually last night he can take for me but i told him i wasnt prepared yet..keke...

Hopefully, everything turns out fine...
Now have to wait another 1 mth before i can see my bb again....haiz...

Hihi smiley,

Were u at the Ang Mo Kio Clinic last night?

smiley74 & babybenmen, so envy u all can go and visit Dr Han, what i mean is you all r pregnant. me until now still no egg...

Hi bitbit,
Dun worry about it.
I am sure things will be fine if you always think on the bright side. And it is true!
Right now, just be sure to have a healthy diet and lifestyle cos you never know ....
Good Luck and take care of yourself. Can always get "1st hand news" here cos some of us sure are inexperience and always asking the 'simplest things (talking about me la). So you see, you can learn! :p Hee Hee

==========
Hi Babybenmen,
Ya, i was there at 8 plus and got to see doc han at 9pm! Quite crowded yesterday!

What time were you there?
==========
Hi SY,
Thanks for the advice. In the end I did not sent the email. Anyway, the email will come to be of good use soon

SY & Baby,
I am still pondering whether I should appoint Dr Han as my gynae cos I do have some reservations after 2 visits. Wait so long and onli get advice within 15 min (rush). As 1st time mum, I tend to be kan cheong but the doc seen "too cool" for me. Very confusing!

BTW, does your hubby come with you for the doc visit?

babybenmen,
yah initially always got to wait so long to see bb, i always very excited on the day to see bb and hope he will move during the scan.

so u taking your blood test next month? no need to be scared one but they did take quite a bit of blood...

bitbit
so u trying for no 2 now?? heehee, hope can hear that u see Dr Han for no 2 soon... how was your appt with him?

smiley,
i also got the same reservations as u abt Dr Han initially. wait so long and only see so fast right...i even worse, see him 5 min each visit. but like what my mum say, see fast means good cos nothing wrong. if really got anything amiss, it will not be just 5 min.

he got his plus points as he is not gan cheong and u feel more relaxed with him. plus he is experienced. like wat a fren told me, if your pregnancy is normal, he is experienced for a gynae. but his specialty is not in O&G (in fact it is urology) so if your case is more complicated, then u may want to reconsider. since i m quite young (26 years old) and no major complications, i din switch gynae in the end. and i was really thankful for his help during the delivery cos i manage to avoid using forceps or vaccuum.

he is popular as a doc i feel...very busy doc.

my hb went with me initially for the visits but towards the middle, i went by myself for some weekday visits. then towards the end, he went with me cos he wants to see bb

Hello Smiley,

oh, i was at the clinic between 7-8pm...guess after i left then u came...keke....It was really very crowded...

Hello SY,

Yup, next month taking blood test liao...haha...cant helped being scare of needles...keke...

Hmmm, my hubby came with me the first appoinment.
For the second and third, he was unable to come wif me as he was posted to Taiwan for one month training. But i did show him the pics taken from scanning. I always tell him that see pic is really different from seeing bb moving in the scanning machine...Hopefully for the next appointment, he will not be tied up by work again...

baby & SY, it's not easy for me to conceive... i am not young like u all. SY, yuan lai u so young, i really envy. But I only married after 30s and even had a m/c, i had so much difficult life, u all duno..

SY, u better dun go the EBM thread there and broacdcast about this ttc thing ok, else i arbish u here.

smiley, i agree with wat SY said. Hear me say..

Dr Han is very expereinced doctor, I hope you think of it before switching gyn juz becos u want more details explanation..Plus this is your 1st child birth, no past expeience and u sure you are going to forgoes the gyn expereince for your detail explanation?

Like my colleague's wife, anyhow take one inexpereince gyn (cheaper), end up almost die during childbirth due to blood loss (took too much time).

Myself, i'd C-sec, I would rather he hurry hurry cut and stitch me. i so scare u noe, my hb cannot come in and I am short-sighted. In front of me everything so blur, i had never met all the nurses and anaestists, the only familiar voice I could hear is Dr Han's (coz I couldn;t see him clearly too), this only familiar voice who accompany me 9 mos thru my preggy-voyage calm me alittle. I hope so much everything would be finish soon.. Luckily he is very experienced and very fast, 15 mins finished everyting, to my relief. i cannot imagine myself lying on the sedate bed for 1 hour just to have my c-sec done...

SY, that time I got some complication in my 2nd trimester. Although I went back for a review after the first one, and the 2nd review (next day) he was not on duty for O&G but a urogologist, he did ask me to go to the urogyn lab to look for him and even wrote me the address. I consider him very helpful. U know this is very important for a worried mum to be.

bitbit
i agree with u. he give priority for his preggy patients. even though he at his urology clinic, he will still see us.

that time after giving birth i had problems urinating. he ask me go see him at clinic B and i was the first one to go though i see other pple waiting outside. i din even have appt...

won't go to EBM thread and say abt ttc thing...

so did u get advice from Dr Han on having 2nd one? he so many kids, best person to get advice from...

babybenmen
dun be too disappointed abt not having hb with u at your appt. hb will never be as excited as us no matter what..

hihi SY,

hee...good question! Intially, i always thought he wanted a bb boy...but we talked on sat and actually he doesnt mind girl or boy...As long as both of us is safe is wat really matters to him...
But he did mentioned that he will prefer a girl first (after more probing)...i was really surpised cause he is the eldest grandson in his family and his grandma hoped that our bb will be a boy first(u know how elder people always prefer boy to girls lor)...

Dr Han's my gynae too. Like him very much. He's very experienced and was esp supportive during the actual delivery. He encouraged me to go for natural delivery and also not to stop at 1. I'll definitely go back to him when im expecting my no 2.

Hi Rachel, looks like you have a very good experience with him, I can rest my mind more then. Will be due in mid or end july.. hopefully my experience will be just as good as u

I've seen Dr Han also. But I've seen his funny side yet. So far, he is still quite soft-spoken and "serious", so i also dare not ask much.

Now I'm in a dilemma, dunno whether to continue see him or switch to private gynae. Last week I felt sick and tired after all the vomitting over the entire week, so i decided to call him and see if i can get an MC. I called twice to KKH mainline, and was told that they had already sent the SMS to doctor and told me to wait for doctor's call. So I waited until late in the evening, gave up and went to a GP instead. Dr Han only get to call me back the following day. As this was my first time with a govt hospital (my prev delivery is with a private doc), I was quite depressed for not being able to speak to him within the same day.

Will there be any difference if i see him in private suite instead? What should I do if I really need to speak to him....he is like forever busy.....and i prefer more attention from my gynae? *sob sob*

Hi all:

Seems like this thread stop for quite a while.

Juz to update that I am preg with #2 and is seeing Dr Han once again. How time flies. Few months ago I see Dr Han for the pap smear test, these time round, I see him for pregnancy.

My gynae is also Dr Han. Like him very much as he is a very caring and concern doctor. He has always replied my email during my pregnancy. I am considered a high risk case as i have been diagnosed as cervic incompetence. Dr Han help me to do a cerclage during my 12 wks pregnancy and under his great care, i have just delivered my bb gal on 21 Sep 06.

Just went back to do a pap smear and when he found out that i have problems taking care of my baby (my bb always wake up at nite and sleep in the day). He share his experience with me on how to take care of babies. Really appreciate his help. He is really a NICE doctor and most of all he is very approachable and make people feel very comfortable and at ease when seeing him.

Hi Chloegal,

Congratulations! He did my C-Sect too. I think, He's the first Chinese person who have 7 children. He's very prof....

Hi May,
Thanks. Any plan to try for a second one. My husband hope to have 3 children. So will be trying for a third one in 2 yrs time.
Hope he will still be in KKH.

Hi chloegal,
He's stuck in tis line for LIFE....!!! Ha Ha Ha.. Don't worry. Actually, I give birth to my son to save mine...His blood cord indirectly saved my life as I've CH leukemia. Don't know if i can go thru another one but the pregnancy journey is the best in my life! Hubby is very supportive and understanding... he's so worried that he followed me in when I tried on my maternity clothes!!! B'cos I've low placenta (muz hv low activity), he make sure to take me out for lunch everyday during his lunch time... Maybe can consider having another one.... Hee hee...

Hi May,
One of my cousin also have low placenta and have to quit her job to stay at home and bed rest. I have bank my daughter bloodcord too.

Sorry to ask, did u know your illness before or after pregnancy? How old is your son now?

You must have enjoyed your pregnancy since you have such a sweet and caring hubby He really pampered u lah... How I envy u.

Good to see this thread moving again.

Hi May,
He has got 7 kids?? no wonder he keep persuading when i said i will just stop at one child.