Cooking Tips & Recipe

For the Indian food lovers....

I tried this place called Spice Junction at Racecourse Road last night:
http://wineanddine.asiaone.com.sg/gdfd/restaurants/20060702_001.html
It's in between Muthu's Curry and Apoollo's Banana Leaf. In fact, it is right next to a big restaurant called Gayatri Restaurant.

Review:
- Chicken nasi bryani is different from local Singaporean style. Chicken is cooked with rice together and they don't use turmeric, so no yellow coloring, and not as strong as local ones. Quite light... not bad.
- Fish pollichadu, which is fish marinated with spices and pan-fried, wrapped in a banana leaf, quite yummy, although I personally find it a bit salty... but remember, I don't use salt in my own cooking, maybe that's why I find it salty
- Stir-fried lady's fingers Keralan style is quite nice, not overcooked.
- Prata (or they call it parota), is very good if you like the crispy non-oily kind. $1.70 per pc, 2 persons can share if there is rice as well. Good when dipped in the dishes with curry sauce... I dipped mine in the lady's fingers gravy.
- Masala tea is not bad; I didn't drink it... hubby drank it, but I could smell the masala from my side of the table.
- Mango kulfi which is supposed to be really good and popular, was out of stock... quite a disappointment for me as I was dying to try it!

Including 2 glasses of lime juice but excluding the mango kulfi, we paid only $30 in total.

Sophie & Choc,
At least my gal & I are alive after ganna torture by the CL from hell..keke...

Choc,
Wah say, a "zhi char" CL! Then her cooking must be very good!!! So end of the day will she clean the kitchen stove?

Sophie,
Hmm.. suddenly I feel like eating Indian food again. Got fish head curry oso??

cat_tail,
I don't remember this place selling Fishhead Curry... for that, I think you must go to Samy's or Apollo's. But I find that Apollo's standards have dropped a lot.

This Spice Junction more well-known for Keralan cuisine, which are mainly seafood, but I think fishhead is something that the Indian immigrants adapted in Singapore long ago, cos a lot of my Indian friends from India don't recall eating fishhead in India... probably only a delicacy in SG!

Cat_tail,
Wa, your CL is really very jia-lat! Somemore a smoker! Did you fire her? I think she is really lazy and irresponsible...how much did she charge you?

Sophie,
This place sounds nice and prices are reasonable. Too bad my hb can't take spicy stuff so I can't go there with him...but will definitely recommend my friend whom married an indian.

Sunsweet,
Fried eggs with onions is also one of my fav dish

Krisjoy,
The last time you were looking for a place which serves weekday high tea? Did you manage to find any? Cos I feel like doing high tea with friends next Monday.

cat_tail,
Wah... Your CL very jialat leh... How come you did not sack her? You still pay her the amount she asked for? Use baby wipes for the floor... **faintz** And smoker some more...

amelia, oh yes... korea show is cheong hei and kuai zhang... sometimes so kuai zhang that make the show so funny to watch.

choc, i did my confinement for almost 40 days but because my CL is quite dirty so I ask her to leave early. Is better to continue tonic soup after confinement. And littlecat is right, if body cannot take it then better don't bu.

cat tail, your CL is horrible. If we know that she smokes, sure banned her from coming to the house. What is MIA?
My CL is ok but not very clean. She didn't wash my brand new double boil cooker cover, so the stain is permanent there, cannot be remove.

sophie, hee.... you also looking at handsome actors in korea show. Thought only me and cat tail interested in looking them.
Thanks for recommendating indian food!Looking at your food review makes me drool ...

annlee,
I think MIA stands for "Missing in Action"... commonly used in army terms too

Yes, I like watching the cute looking actors in Korean dramas *drool* especially the small-eyed boys... hee, I like men with small eyes.

lyn,
Thanks for Marriott recommendation. You're right, they serve weekday high teas.
A search on net showed that they have a promo for DBS/POSB cardmembers too - 1 free buffet for 3 paying adults... but I don't have that many pple.
Same card got promo for Hotel Phoenix too - 1 for 1 weekday buffet high tea.
But Phoenix one prob not as good as Marriott's.

Soph, thanks for the review of this indian makan ! I love indian food too !

cattail, yah.. at the end of the day, she 'll just briefly wipe the stove.. but she said she'll clean my cabinets before she leaves..

Most of my friends' CL also didn't wash their pots and utensils thoroughly aft cooking ! My friend got to also clean the interior of her slow cooker and do a major cleaning up of her kitchen aft her CL left..

Wah marriot good ar ? We were looking for a buffet din in orchard last mth and ended up in Chinoise.. burnt a hole in our pocket tho food was good..

sophie, ok now i know what's MIA. thanks!

yeah... now seems like very popular for small single eyelid on man. look at those korean, most popular one are single eyelid.

choc, ya... my CL also didn't clean properly. After she left, I have to clean the kitchen for about 4 hrs to be done and after that body ache.

Krisjoy & lynn,
I gong gong paid her $1200.... stoopid me rite?

Sophie,
I always relate Indian food with fish head curry..haha.. Oh yah I like Masala tea but some how can't find one n local that has the same taste I drank in Nepal. It's good for removing wind.
Last time Goodwood Park got weekday hi-tea, not too sure whether they still have now. But the food is too bad.

Btw, Hyuun Bin is Zhen Xian, the cute guy..keke

annlee,
MIA = Missing In Action

Choc,
At least yor CL clean the stove! Mine just use a oily cloth & wiped off... tat's it! Later I do the wiping my own when she left. Grrr....

Choc,

I normally don't measure the seasonings...just add the amount I feel is right which is why I must make all over again and document it down hehe! My cabbage rice is plain raw rice fry with garlic, dry shrimp, cabbage, pork belly...sometimes even lup cheong and salted fish...add seasonings(rice wine, dark soy sauce, sesame oil, oyster sauce, pepper..) then transfer to the rice cooker.Add just enough water to cover all ingredients and cook till done.

Krisjoy suggested adding canned stewed pork chops to the rice which I think will work excellent as well.

Cat_tail and all,

How did your MIL hear about her being good.

I am VERY particular about hygiene....I may sack her just for not doing cleaning...Somemore MIA a few hours everyday! I will tell everyone I know about her bad habits..See if she can survive in this line! You can also post her "doings" in this forum..so that mommies can avoid getting a wrong CL.

Sunsweet,

Thanks.I'll take your advice.

Sophie,

3rd dish is not a lot..Hub and I are huge eaters.

Annlee,

True! I will laugh with my hub even though it's a really sad story.

annlee,
Your mention of mee soto yesterday gave me the cravings for mee siam! I am eating it for lunch now...

Amelia,
Are you sure you're a huge eater? You're very slim for someone who eats so much!

Talk about hygiene - I watched the programme on E. Coli in Scotland yesterday, and today became super kiasu... bought my mee siam then brought it home to boil for a few minutes to kill any bacteria in case the aunty's hands are not clean!

sophie, talking about E coli, I read the paper that in US there's a woman eat some raw spinach and died. And they found out that the spinach and lettuce contains lotsa E coli. Is it the same E coli you're talking about? My chemistry damn lousy kekeke..

I'm having mee siam in the previous morning and lontong yesterday. These few days more on malay food for me. Tomorrow I'm going to buy belachan chilli and eat with cabbage rice cos amelia mentioned about it makes me drool for it.

annlee,
Yeah, the recent scare of E. coli in USA is quite scary huh? Don't know how the spinach got contaminated?

I think there are different strains of E. coli, and we generally need them in our intestines for a healthy system. Cannot remember what strain the one in USA is, but the one that happened in 1981 in Scotland (according to the National Geographic documentary) was the 0157 strain. It started out with some contamination in the butchery which contaminated the meat for a church party. The E. Coli wasn't totally killed by the heat cos the gravy wasn't heated up, whereas the E. Coli in the stews and meat were totally killed due to boiling. As a result, about 20 pple died (mostly old people cos the party consist of mainly older folks), and some had kidney failures and had to have dialysis for the rest of their lives. Sad hor?

Sophie,
Yes, I went to Goodwood Park hotel as they serve hi-tea on all days. It is local fare but no durian puffs

Good to know that Marriott also serves hi-tea on weekdays. Maybe next month I'll go there
Btw, Shangri-la also has weekday hi-teas. They serve it at Rose Veranda on the 2nd floor. Also, they have 100 tea selections and the cold ones are really nice! But food wise only so-so. Lots of Jap tai-tais there...

sophie,
Oh yes... hotel Phoenix also has weekday high tea. I think Hotel Phoenix one also not bad.. 1 for 1 for DBS/POSB card? Do you know how much is it?

amelia,
Wah.. Your cabbage rice sounds really delicious.. My tummy start to growl already...

Have you tried Chef Chan's mooncakes? Is it nice? I used to buy the moontarts as gifts every year. But this year, it's $40 per box which I dun think they are worth that much.. ;) So thinking of changing "brand" already...

sophie,
ang mo all very scared of E.Coli. I only read and heard about it when I was in the UK... There are also signs in the toilets reminding people to wash their hands after visiting the toilets... lol...

Choc,
Where is Chinoise?

Krisjoy,
Goodwood also has high tea? Heh, but we'll probably settle for either Marriott or Phoenix, cos Goodwood and Shangri-la not so convenient to get there... it's 2 preggies going for the high tea next week, and both these 2 preggies cannot walk too much according to gynae's instructions

lyn,
Phoenix Garden Cafe buffet high tea is $16.90+++ according to this URL http://www.hotelphoenixsingapore.com/PhoenixCafeDeploy/moreaboutus1.htm
And the DBS card promo details are here http://www.dbs.com/sg/personal/cards/promotions/buffet/
They didn't say if there needs to be any minimum pax for this promo though.

wow... you gals talked about high tea.... I never been to high tea for years, only been to Marriott, Goodwood and Regent Hotel. I remembered Regent serves good English high tea, no mee siam or kway for English type, not sure whether still around.

Sophie,

I cook 2 cupfuls of raw rice for hub and I....we each take one cup..think it's a lot..my hub has been telling people I eat more than him.After each meal, i will munch on biscuits.Heng ah...didn't scare my hub off on our first date.

I heard about E coli a few days ago from channel newsasia. I will make sure my hands and kitchen is clean before I prep food..a bit more effort but it's worth it.

LittleCat,

Maybe you can make appointments with your maid agency and ask your husband to be present...speed things up.

Choc,
The article is from TODAY'S newspaper, FOC,distributed to my door step everyday. I used to cut out the interesting Focus on Family article, until I realised that I can't extract out from the online version of TODAYS.

I've checked with my cousin and niece about the JMC test, they said it's actually not important. They even suggested to me to register my dd for Grade 1 exam straight away.I will need to find out more info about it.

cat_tail,

I don't think I can tahan your CL at all, will definitely sack her within the first week! She doesn't fit to be a CL at all!

I changed my 1st CL after 1 week, luckily the repalcement one was quite alright,except that she didn't really take good care of my kitchen and utensils. I supposed a lot of their generation's aunties are like that, including my MIL.

Imagine my unhappines when my MIL said she wanted to invite her relatives to my previous house and cook at my house. Somemore the tiles that HDB laid for my kitchen was of lousy quality, get dirtied easily,but need super strong detergent to clean it, imagine the oil sand stains that could have left there from her heavy cooking and deep frying.

annlee,
I went to Regent Hotel's English high tea before, I think Hyatt serves better English high tea then Regent.The ambience is also much better.

Amelia,
I thought of cooking pineapple rice today initially, then I saw your post of curry chicken with stir fry vege, and decided to cook curry chicken as well!

Marriot's high tea is really good! Phoenix and Goodwood park is more of local dishes.

annlee,
Yes, Regent serves the best English high-tea!
I love their little sandwiches... so delicate!
They're still around... but I haven't been there for a long time cos so inaccessible - need to walk so far from MRT!

btw, I tried Intercontinental hotel high tea before - I don't like it as sandwiches are so-so, and scones are not good.

lyn,
My tummy not so noticeable yet - only those who knows me can tell I put on a bit of weight and got a little tummy. Sometimes I try to wear the more "preggie" clothes so that people won't bump into me in crowded places.

I think I felt some kicks, but not sure if it's gas or kicks

Won't know gender yet till another 2 more weeks' time... hubby and I still discussing whether to choose not to know gender... but like Krisjoy says, must be able to tahan the suspension!

We should organise a high-tea session when the kiddies are feeling better!

Van,

Haha..I use this packet of curry paste from NTUC..is good leh.I check the brand and get back to you.

I remember you telling me about Marriot...yet to try it.Any other places serving angmo high-tea?

van, didn't know Hyatt serves English high tea... never been to high tea for so long. Have you been to Goodwood park English high tea?

annlee,
The Hyatt high tea is in another lounge, not as noisy as the coffee house,it's very cosy, very tai-tai type.But haven't been there for so long, don't know if they still serve it. If they still serve it, it's probably at the Scott's Lounge. Haven't been to Goodwood park English high tea yet,do they have it?

sophie,
know the gender earlier, easier to choose clothes,must-buy items and decorate room mah!

krisjoy,
saw your name added to Yahoo Group! but didn't see joy747's name yet?!

sophie, oh yes... pass by Intercontinental many times but didn't try their high tea, is English type right? Didn't try it as I find the place is so open up not cosy enough for me to relax and enjoy.

amelia, you might wanna try Hyatt or Regent English high tea.

annlee,
Yep, the Intercontinental one is English type, but the scones not nice... I'm a big scone fan!

I think another good place is Tiffin Room at Raffles Hotel - lovely scones served with real Devonshire cream. But I haven't been there in 2 years... used to have to book 1 to 2 weeks in advance even for a weekday. The reason why I like Regent is also cos they serve Devonshire cream, not sweet whipped cream.

Van,
I got nothing much to buy leh... I went through my list with my sis, and she said can give me a lot of hand-me-downs but will consolidate nearer to my delivery date. I only need to buy a cot + a colorful hanging mobile that's all, that's why thought can keep gender a secret and suspense

I have been to Sheraton Tower's high tea once:

<font color="0000ff">Few experiences can be more delightful than an indulgent afternoon tucking into a sumptuous tea spread. At Sheraton Towers, the ambience is even more relaxing with a stunning view of lush foliage and a cascading waterfall as you dine in air-conditioned comfort.

Start with unlimited helpings of New York style deli sandwiches at the live station where chefs create sandwiches to your liking such as smoked salmon with cream cheese and proscuitto ham with pickled olives. You will also be served finger sandwiches such as smoked turkey breast with comte cheese and spicy chilli tuna with Bombay onions as well as scones with homemade cream and jam.

Fans of Asian fare will not be disappointed with a spread of popular favourites such as laksa, mee siam and carrot cake. Other savoury must-tries include traditional glutinous rice and Pad Thai noodles.

Finally, the dessert spread includes durian pengat, aloe vera jelly with calamansi sorbet, pineapple pecan carrot cake, strawberry shortcake and sticky date pudding with vanilla sauce.

39 Scotts Road.

Every Saturday,
noon to 3pm

Price: $28 (adult),
$15 (child).

Tel: 6839 5621.</font>

521624.jpg

<font color="119911">Goodwood Park Hotel's High Tea:</font>
22 Scotts Road; 65 67377411

*English afternoon tea served daily, 2 to 5pm, in Caf L'Espresso.
*Casual tea and Nonya High Tea served daily in the Coffee Lounge.
*Yum-Cha Tea served Saturday, Sunday, and public holidays only, 3 to 5.15pm, in the Garden Seafood restaurant, located in the annex building.

Van,
This Sheraton one sounds good... OMG, the picture looks good too!

But arghhhhhhhhhh....... they don't do weekday buffets

van, Goodwood also serves English high tea, never try before. Is not at the coffee house.

sophie, I like scone too... will be disappointed if they serve lousy one. Don't think I will try Intercontinental.

I like Regent as I find the place is cosy, pastries is good.

Oh.... must book 1 week in advance for Raffles high tea.. must be popular!

Van, annlee,
The Goodwood English afternoon tea sounds like a good one... cos it's served for a good 3 hrs.
Raffles Tiffin Room is a bit more exp in that sense, cos it's only served for 2 hrs from 3:30pm - 5:30pm... but the scones and cream are to die for
kao_drool.gif

Hmm... all these talk about high tea makes me feel like baking Van's rock buns... will try to get my butt out to buy ground almonds

annlee,
I have been to Sheraton's high tea once, lunch twice, so far find them quite alright.The one high tea that I always tell friends not to waste money is Trader's Hotel!

Sophie,
Club Chinnois is at Orchard Parage hotel. It is part of Tung Lok's group. Went there once to celebrate my hb's birthday. We took the $68+++ set dinner. Nice presentation and ambience...

Van,
Can share your chicken curry recipe? I am a huge curry fan. Just had the Na Na curry last evening at Amara food court. Their curry was super spicy so I only eat it ocassionally..The hi-tea pic looks soooooo tempting!

sorry to sidetrack, ladies...

Sophie,

There's a new brand of cat food at NTUC call "Cats Prefer Chef"...Have you seen it? It claims to be preservative-free and consists of tuna or salmon.Sounds quite high in protein, which is suppose to be good for cats.Do you think it's advisable to get? Sally is currently taking Science Diet Ocean Fish for Adult given by Science Diet during the cat show.She likes it very much and doesn't react negatively to it.

Amelia,
Are you using the chilled chicken curry paste or the those not chilled ones? I used to cook with the chilled type of curry paste from supermarket, where the curry paste and chilli paste is separated.Are u using this one?

Once before Chinese New Year,I couldn't find this curry paste, bought A1's chicken curry paste at Giant instead, and my guests all said it tasted better than the previous one.But it's oilier than the chilled one.

Krisjoy,
As long as you can get hold of good curry paste and good coconut milk, the curry will definitely taste good. I like Ayam Brand's canned coconut milk,they even have thick and more diluted one.

Van,

There's a shop very near Yew Tee MRT station, just below the foodcourt selling Hello Kitty merchandise.They just brought in a lot of supplies.

Amelia,
I've never seen this brand before, maybe cos I never shop the Pet's Food aisle in NTUC - mostly buy my catfood from my usual shop which delivers to my home.

Is this NTUC brand dry food or wet food? Cos if it's wet food, most canned food does not contain preservatives leh, like the Jap brand I feed my cats and the Merrick brand. I think if Sally likes the Science Diet and esp. if she can adapt to it, maybe don't change?

btw, is your Science Diet wet food or dry food? If it's dry food, maybe I can let my cats try it too. They're currently on the Science Diet Hairball Control dry food.

Wow
So much about high tea...make me think of my hey days...used to hang in hyatt for hi tea every saturday...love their cheese cake.....

Van

Just join the gp and membership is pending....

Amelia,
I know about that shop selling HK merchandise.I used to go Yew Tee quite often,now cut down cos parking fee very siong, and the car park attendants there very hard working, already got fine twice!

Let me know the brand of your curry paste when you get home. I would like to try and compare with the other brands.TIA!

Van,
Thanks for informing me that I'm added to Yahoo group...now I can view all the nice pics posted there
Will download some of my pics over the weekends...