Cooking Tips & Recipe

Wah.. all the talk about chicken makes me want to try out Popeye's.. never heard about this before.. thanks for sharing ladies !

Soph, exciting right ? esp guessing the gender! There's an old wife's tale that says that if you thread and tie your ring with a strand of hair.. let it swing round your palm, if it swings to and fro, it's a gal, if it goes round and round, it's a boy.. hehe.. I tried it for fun, and it went round and round for this one .. dunno how true this is ..

ann, how's your boy ?

Amelia, I went to spotlight last month, saw many nice fabrics for skirts .. and I always like to browse the pattern books for ideas only

meow meow, is your boy better now ?

Amelia,
U also get good marks for that?
Do you like sewing now? For me, I only sew when necessary, when buttons come off, hem lines torn, etc...U know, I tried to cross-stitch a puppy picture during my school days and after i've completed it, i realised the puppy has two tails! Means that I've counted the stitch wrongly...guess I am not cut to do such things..hiak hiak..

PPl,

ALl the popeyes "talk" makes me hungry.. keke

Dunno who's coming back from overseas these days.. can go pick up some Popeyes ..kekek

Littlecat, how's your ds? Have you chose your maid?

amelia, yes the lesson is ex but she's an expert for using herbs and knows what good for our body.

Not sure whether the sewing machine is still at my mum's place. About the brand, hee.... I don't remember. But the machine so old... you'll shld be using the latest model or function one right?

annlee,
Yeah, I think $150 per lesson is too expensive! That can buy me 3 months' worth organic veges!

Yep, I'm look forward to baby doing boxing and somersaults in my tummy... think that will make me feel more secure

Amelia, Krisjoy,
Heh, my mum also made my Home Econs project skirt and blouse for me, cos I lost my half-done one somewhere... probably left it in the bus while coming home

Choc,
I tried that hair/ring thing many years ago when friends were doing it... can't remember what the answer at that time was, but I remember feeling freaked out after that... started questioning "how can it be true" and thinking maybe it's the same concept at ouiji board... hehe, don't think i got guts to try it this time!

choc, my son is getting better, thanks!

Heh..... I know the ring tie with a strand of hair thingy..... tried it on myself and hb and for us is accurate

Here's a picture of my dinner last night - Grilled Fish Vietnamese Style

Marinate: Lemongrass, chili (optional), a little garlic, a little shallots, fish or soy sauce, a pinch of turmeric or curry powder, honey, oil.

Method: Blend or pound everything together until fine. Cut slits in fish and marinate fish for at least 1hr before grilling.
520386.jpg

Choc,

I must check out Spotlight soon...I also want to drop by Katong Shopping Centre for fabrics. I have a few pattern books on making fabric stuff for kids...quite cute.I plan to do up my future kid's room...hope my kid is a girl..but if it's a boy I am ok too but he has to live in a girly room:p

Krisjoy,

Heh I can't remember if I got good grades for the skirt..My school didn't focus much on Home Econs..As long as I passed it, I was safe...My teacher would also try her best not to fail anyone.The thing I couldnt do well was baking cakes;disastrous..there goes my dream of making cakes with my future kid *tear*

annlee,
My MIL's machine is also about 10 yrs old. As long as it's an electric one, it should be still very usable. Don't think technology has changed much except maybe now they have more features like different kinds of fancy stitches + embroidery functions.

Krisjoy,
Your puppy got 2 tails?!
But I fully understand... I don't like cross-stitching, count until I go blind.

Amelia,
Don't worry about baking or cooking! I almost set my school kitchen on fire, and I am still cooking now!

Annlee,

10 years is not old..long as it's fully functional, it's fine.If you dont need it, perhaps you can sell it to Van.My mom's machine is older than me..like more than 30 years and still working like a horse.I plan to "steal" it from her.

Yes, mine is one of the new models from Janome.Very happy with my machine..runs smooth and is quiet.

Sophie,

Your fish looks exactly like what they serve at gourmet restaurants!

sophie, your fish must be tasty with the spice that you put. I noticed that you know how to cook a numbers of vietnamese food.

I didn't cook these few days..... and having bee hoon soto for lunch yesterday and is yummy that i added lotsa their chilli. Looking for spicy food again.

hee.... I really know nothing about sewing machine. Will check it out this weekend for the machine.

Sophie,

I can cook and quite well I must add...I just cannot bake cakes..baking cakes give me the chills...all the rising and baking jargon whatnots make me nervous...self-raising flour, plain flour, cake flour, bread flour??!!

annlee,
glad to hear your son is ok now.. aiyoyo one after another?

my son is ok, he will take small meal each time. but the auntie like refuse to accept why he can't take more.. at the end he vomitted twice.
We told her it is ok for him since his is the stomach flu, normally u will take a while to adjust to normal meal portion... sigh...
She is just so worry he is taking less and lost weight.

aiyoh sophie your fish looks so yummy!

have not decided the maid thing yet.
aiyoh no time for the maid thing, work stress have not pass thing to temp yet then at home my hb is like no sense of urgency type.. faint!

Joy,

I call myself an avid cook.

I like making traditional hokkien dishes like "loh bak"(stewed meat), ngoh hiang, bak kut teh, cabbage rice, beehoon, fried eggs with minced pork..I get the know-how from my relatives and tweak it a little.The true chefs are actually my relatives

LittleCat,

Let auntie split up the porridge into small portions...yah older people are like that.

So you decided to be FTWM with maid to help out?

Van, glad to see that your girl is discharged. Always great to be at home.

Ann
looks like many kids are down with virus?? Hope your kids are better now. I better be more careful when I bring my girl out.

Little cat
Must be quite stressed by kids,work and hubby, must take care of yourself ok? Better get a maid early so that you can train her. Else confinment period still need to do training will vomit blood!!

Joy
yeah, there are many good cooks here. Me, only know how and where to eat.

My dd's discharged yesterday.Now resting at home, going for follow-up review tomorrow. Thanks for all the concerns.

Littlecat,
Better let your aunty know it's perfectly alright to take small,frequent meals,don't force him to take more when he said it's enough. Doct advised us to let my dd eat only 70% full now,'just let her eat whatever she can.

Better choose the maid early.A friend had hard time getting her replacement maid, the two maids she chosen didn't pass the medical test, one even tested HIV positive, she got no choice but to hold on to her stuck-up maid since all her chosen maids all heng heng got problems.And usually near their festive seasons, the maids also don't want to come out.

Van,
Good to hear that your dd has discharged...Is her appetite ok? Yes, my sister also told me that since now is Ramadan, the Indo maids can only come out in Nov. She is also hanging on to the chores and need to 'lun' till Nov.

Amelia,
Any tips on making ngoh hiang? Actually, on the contrary, I enjoy baking. That is why I attended a baking class before I was preggie...but usually I only eat a slice of what I am baking and distribute out the rest cos after all the mixing, u really dun hv the appetite

Sophie,
You really like eating fish right? hehehe...it is healthy and good for u and bb

van, good to hear your dd is getting well. Must be hard on you!! Take care of yourself too.

littlecat, I agreed with van. Either you chose to get it now or after confinement. My maid took about a month later to come to sg cos got some passport problem. Now coming to hari raya so not many wants to come out and for filipino when comes to christmas or new year, they also not willing to come. That's what agency told me and my maid. My sister having same situation like you, wanted to get a maid when she's 1 mth away of her delivery date. She chose to get one after confinement, her maid is ok so everything went smoothly for her.

amelia, can share your lor bak recipe??

Van,

Yay she's out!That means she should feel 100% soon.

Krisjoy,

My family's recipe has pig's fat and chestnuts in it.Will measure all the ingredients exactly and include the recipe in Yahoo Group.

Annlee,

Ok I will measure all the seasonings and ingredients and include the recipe in Yahoo Group.

Krisjoy,

Think you have to wait for Annelise to come online...She's not feeling well these days so probably havent checked her email...

Sophie ,

yr fish look good. Must be very nice. yummy yummy. i hv not been cooking much. remember my bah kut teh, after that my hb kena gout too much protein liao.

Can add me to yahoo group? tks

Joy,
Let's wait for Annelise..hope she recovers soon!

Amelia,
Do you steam your ngor hiang first then fry later? I know that some people dip it in egg then fry...not sure if this is Hokkien style..

van/annlee/amelia

i know it is better to get the maid early, but my 'unique' hb just dun believe in this... very ge-sim and sian..

my hb actually ask if i still want to get a maid if i am quitting next year in May time after the bonus.
but i scare also once i quit, can't go back to work liao... then my hb always tell me money not enough
pek-chek... he likes to make me damn worry and he smiling at one side...

Amelia,
My mum cooked stewed meat today. Added chestnuts inside.. very nice and sweet
yum yum... I think you told me about adding chestnuts rite? Thank you.. really nice with chestnuts

Van,
Glad that your dd is recovering and home

littlecat,
If stomach flu, we adults also dun feel like eating leh... I think same for kids as well ba...

annlee,
Wow.. mee soto.. My favourite... but I dare not eat out now... drooling already..

sophie,
Wow... Your fish looks very delicious... I can imagine it smells nice too... really drooling lots already...

Van,
Good to know your dd is now out and recovering at home!
I like the 70% full idea... like taichi, do everything to 70% only

LittleCat,
I agree with the rest - better get a maid early while you can still train her. A friend of mine got her maid quite late too, cos the first one she chose didn't pass the medical test. Luckily her confinement nanny is nice enough to help "train" the maid during her confinement period.

The fear of not being able to get a job after you quit is quite real. I have that fear too, but just have to tell myself to take it one step at a time. Would you still like a live-in maid once you have quit? If you can cope with the 2 kids, maybe can use part-time maid instead?

annlee,
Yeah, I like Vietnamese and Thai food. I think their food is much healthier than typical Chinese which I find a tad too oily. Maybe that's why Thai/Vietnamese girls are all so slim!

Heh, the picture of the fish hasn't "lured" cat_tail out yet? Haven't seen her for a long time....

Joy, twinkle,
Before Annelise can "approve" your application to Yahoo Group, you know you have to go here to join the group first yeah?
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/spmctr/

Krisjoy,
My dd's appetide is ok...if she's given food that she likes, if she doesn't like a particular food, she will still count the rice and noodles one by one.

annlee,Littlecat,
There is advantage of having a maid during confinement, cos the maid can learn how to take care of new born and learn cookig from the confinement lady,that is precisely what happened during my confinement when i got my first maid.

Littlecat,
probably your ang really think there is not necessary to get a maid since you "are going" to quite after your get your bonus? that's why he has been procastinating?

If he still intend to get a maid, then tell him all the stories of not being able to get the maid in time before you start work.Failed medical test,passport problem,change in govt policy,festive seasons.......

Better to start listing out all the fixed expenses vs his monthly take home pay, and see if the balance is enough to cover all the variable expenses.

For my case, even though we "pre-agreed" the amount that hb is going to contribute as household allowance and my pocket money, we still have constant squabbles over money matters,partly also from his job insecurity, and my insecurity being a SAHM, financially dependant on him.

sophie, yeah.... Thai girls are very slim. Once I ask the local what do they eat to have that slender body and they eat papaya pok pok for lunch or dinner, only that. No wonder so slim... all salad and is sour which make them slim.

van, got almost the same situation as you regarding about money matters, my hb job is also insecurity and financially is all from him..... sometimes I wish that my mum or MIL can take care of my kids so I can go back to work. But im really bu se de to leave them or feel not secure to let nanny to take care of them.

annlee,
That's all the Thai girls ate for lunch? I cannot lah... sure get gastric pains!

Van, annlee,
I am still feeling the same way about being financially dependent on my hubby too, but just try not to think about it now... take one step at a time.

sophie, yes that's all they eat. Think will end up gastric pain if never try before. But no problem for them as they used to it. Imagine eat those raw papaya with some greens plus their sauce... so sour.. sure slim down. And what they eat is those from the roadside store,authetic one.

i also feel the same and wanted to be SAHM but real real struggle on such debate. Therefore i put my son in infantcare at least there are professional as compared to a nanny fm hell which i engaged few mths back.

i intend to work a few more years then maybe stay home or work part time.

Krisjoy,

No steaming and no dipping in egg before frying.Not even carrots or cabbage.Egg mixture is included in the meat marinate.
I think different families have different ways of making it..My husband likes my relatives' version.I will continue using this recipe as it suits us.Our Ngoh Hiang is definitely way beyond unhealthy..but it's delicious.

Lyn,

I don't think I've suggested chestnuts to you(?), although it's a superb idea.

You can try adding one big white onion to your stewed meat.The caramelised onion sweetens the dish very nicely without any added sugar.

LittleCat,

Your husband also has a point lah..Probably he thinks you're going to resign after bonus so you need not get a maid.Until you can give him a definite answer..you may not see much action from him.Men are such...My husband also super like to drag things one
I prefer planning things in advance whereas he loves waiting to the last minute.

Van, annlee, Sophie,
I guess money will always be the 'challenging' issue between couples whether or not both are working...cos we hv different expectations and spending patterns. Even though both my hb and myself are working, we still hv to constantly manage our income as both of us hv our own family commitments as well. With the bb coming along, we have to be more prudent....

Amelia,
Looking forward to your recipe neh

Sophie,
Haha.. U succeeded in luring me out with yor delicious fish!! YUm Yum...I luv fish.
I have been browsing the thread but din have much time to contribute.

Van,
Glad tat your dd is out of the hospital.

LittleCat,
U lookin for a maid? When u due ah? Like the rest of the mummies said, it's time to look for one now. At least during the confinement, if anything wrong with the CL, u still got maid to back up. Tat's something I really regret I din do it right in the 1st place especially when I got such a sickening CL.

cat tail, you're finally out.... any nice korean show to recommend?

sophie, 'goong' is showing on Channel U, 9 oct, 7pm.

littlecat, you're right about my son getting sick after one another..... my younger one having fever now haiz.....

Sophie,

The fish you used was red snapper? I am making curry chicken with potatoes and stir fry veg tonight.Still thinking if I should have a 3rd dish...any ideas?

Cat_tail,

What happened to your CL?

Annlee,

I like "My Lovely Samsoon" very much.I watched a bit of "Jewel In the Palace" then gave up..Can't believe anyone can be so jinxed in real life..and there's so much crying ugh!

There's a VCD/DVD rental shop near my home and I'm quite familiar with the auntie that owns it.She loaned me "Stairway to Heaven" for cheap but I never made it pass 3 episodes.Too cheong hei and all that love until " si qu huo lai"
kao_dizzy.gif

Hey Amelia, what cabbage rice recipe you have? Sounds interesting !

Eh soph, aiyoh, the hair and ring thingy got something to do with ouijia board? Scarry man !
I think its got something to do with the "magnetic field" that preggy women have.. read in one pri 6 comprehension passage about some old wives' tales.. I asked my female student to try it, hers didn't move.. haha .. really don't know what logic is that !

Eh.. your fish managed to lure so many cats out.. must be very yummy.. what fish did you use ? Snapper ?

van, thanks for sharing the article in focus on the family ! Very informative! Where did you get the articles ?

annlee, take care hor !

Hey ladies, after your confinement, did you all still take take the "bu" soups or observe any confinement diet? I know of some ladies who observe for 40 days or even 100 days !

amelia, my hb is the same!!! :'( everything also drag.. then i m the opposite, want things plan nicely hate hiccups and he is fully aware of that.
but still try to test my patience
*angry*!

cat_tail, yeah i plan to get the maid in early so the CL can train. The previous maid i had also CL train her how to cook. and she got talent too, can cook quite well. but also got "character" lah, later dun want to work liao.

annlee, sorry to hear that.. aiyoh.. it really make the mom so busy leh.. but got two sibling sure pass the germ to & flo.. sigh..

van, how is your dd now? is her appetite better?
aiyoh can't imagine sure lost lots of weight?
must plan how to 'bu' back later liao...

lyn, yeah lor to us is like common sense after stomach flu or other related stomach problem, u will lost your appetite, so u will tend to eat less. but for the auntie is like, must eat alot lor since he is recovered liao..

frankly we have not come to a final decision whether to quit or not to quit. so i told him the plan is to stay on first.
When come to a point when i think i need to quit, then send the maid back & i become sahm.if the other way round, no maid, just CL for a month, the next two month me have to take care of house and baby.. too much to handle.
also think of it, only when i work then i can have the luxury to get a maid, let's 'enjoy' while we can still affoard ...

where is starz ? busy fighting with the "competitor", cos JL got sales this weekend...

KrisJoy & Amelia,
Haiz... long story.. I dun think any mommy here can be as suay as me! I will just list a few things on what she did tat will drive anyone crazy. Btw, she's a daytime CL from Sg "highly" recommended by my MIL.

1) My house was never in such a mess ever since she's with us. She's lazy to do housework, not even the basic cleaning of my kitchen after cooking. It was only after I told her several times then she do it. Starting she used only water to mop the floor which is of cos not enough to remove the oil lah!! I have to tell her add detergent to clean. Common sense thing oso need me to say....
3) OK, she's a smoker! She huff & puff when I am not looking. Worst of all, she throwed her cigar into my sink & my toilet bowl....
4) Ask her to mop the whole house everyday, she said tat's not her job. After I tell her off, she eventually used the BABY WIPES & mop the floor with my magic clean mop which made the place even worst! Somemore she was damn proud of herself to think of this idea. *peng sanz
5) Wash my baby clothings with SOFTERNER only & bluffed me she used the detergent! Think I am idiot cos the whole detergent bottle was still intact except my SOFTERENER was drying fast.
6) This is worst. She was supposed to look after my baby during the daytime, but she can MIA for hours every day! That means she only worked from 8:30am to 1pm & 4pm to 6pm.

hey choc, u r right cat luv fish mah

i heard as long as u can take the heatyness u can continue till 40days.
but if u still to feel heaty, then better dun continue.
eh, where is the photo huh?

annlee,
I am eyeing on Millionair cast by Hyuun Bin, the handsome actor in Kim Sam Soon. Heehee..maybe get my Ah Lao to buy the VCDs.

LittleCat,
Ya man, very hard to get a good maid! U looking at Indo?

Amelia,
Yep, fish is a red snapper from NTUC, very fresh.
Eh, your 2 dishes sounds very yummy already... won't a 3rd dish be too much?
Too much food means you have to eat leftovers the next day.

annlee, cat_tail,
Yep, I'm waiting for Goong! Now nothing on TV to watch... so bored! I find the 6pm show quite badly dubbed + no good-looking actors!
Is Hyuu Bin the Korean handsome actor (Zhenxian) or the Eurasian one (Henry)? I like the Korean one... his dimple is very cute!

cat_tail,
Your CL sounds like a nightmare! Smoker somemore? Your poor baby... have to breathe in her tobacco smell!

Choc,
Heh, the red snapper really lured all the cats out... I actually fed the leftovers to my cats too, and they love it!

Eh, I think you are right about the magnetic field thing. I remembered trying this ring/hair thing on my palm with some friends... to find out what age we'll get married etc. I think quite accurate, but still no guts to try it again

Wah cat tail, I would peng san also if my CL like that.. still dare to smoke in your house !

My current CL works in a zhi char stall in Malaysia before..she says she wants to see my girls put on weight before she leaves !
tho she is not meticulous about the cleanliness of the floor, I guessed it's their culture.. after frying fish, they don't clean the stove and cabinet right away.. just mop the kitchen floor very fast.
I sim tia my new cabinets, but close one eye.. but she mops my floor every now and then and she bathes very often before handling my bb.. overall, I would say I am quite pleased with her(better that MIL doing my conf and bb's diapers worn the wrong way.. hahaha)

Eh cat, I managed to capture his pics liao.. waiting for my ang to teach me how to download into the comp.. sua koo hor !

Amelia,

My suggesion for dish 3..

Fried Scramble eggs with Long Beans/ onions.

Keke my fav to go with Curry when I order from the Econ Rice Stall