Cooking Tips & Recipe

choc, you need to steam it cos added alittle rice wine. If no wine added, I think also need to steam it.

Soh hup pills is to get rid of the wind in the body. Can get from chinese medical store. Think your confinement nanny shld know.

The chicken essence very 'bu' hor....

Yes I have Ikea new catalogue, didn't have the item that I want.

The lactobacillus powder for my son also can get from Guardian. I've seen them at centrepoint branch.

joy/annlee/krisjoy/choc
Thanks for the concerns, he is much better now after taken the medicine from doc. it suppose to help him pass out the virus/germs etc... that's why now he keep going to toilet.
yeah heard the yakult, but scare got phelgm leh.. aiyoyo..
The 100-plus is good to replenish the salt etc..

the symptom for him this round, he claim stomach pain and the fever just up and down.
Normally when he had fever i will check if he is coughing, running nose. if dun have that could be other thing liao.
last year end he had stomach flu, but more serious cos he vomitted and refuse to eat/drink, cos he scare will vomit more. also refuse to eat medicine. so at the end dehydrated, got to go hospital for drips.

krisjoy, u r right, go other place better.
or the website i posted earlier, heard from my SIL at least 40-50 dollars cheaper.

Now i decided to get the cot from Beauty world center, they are selling at $189, with mattress and 3 pcs bedding set. And can use till 3 years old.

Joy, he is 4 years old.

choc, eh u dun know soh hup pills ? cos i know cantonese take a lot, can ask from chinese medical hall. heard very good for wind leh..

littlecat,
oh no,ur ds also stomach flu?! did the doct advise against taking dairy product?better not gv him anything with milk.if gv milo,dun add milk,just add sugar. even after recovered,dun gv milk pdts,incl yakult,yogurt, for 3 to 5 days after tat.

did u bring him to c PD.?Urine test(result knw almost immediately) n blood test can tell the infection.my dd hs white blood cell count of 35K, compare to 8k,4 days after operation.
hope ur ds recover soon! i've just gone thru this,understand hw hard on you.Take care!

LittleCat,
Thanks for checking out the two hyperstores at Kaki Bukit. Guess I won't be getting my stuff from there.

Van,
Hope your dd's pain is not due to infection... take care.

So many children all falling sick?
To all mummies whose kids are not feeling well, take care of yourselves too!

Littlecat
Bet he is a strong boy.When my gal was having stomach flu when much younger, I suspect was due to she loves to put her hand in the mouth and that maybe the reason how she got stomach flu. As she was a milk queen then, I dilute her milk and give biscuit or energy bar and porridge...No milo as I thought it would he heaty for her. No yakult as littlecat said more phelgm and also will trigger cough....

Sophie,

I am surprised to read this too
There must be some kind of virus going around, making our mommies' dear kids ill.

All moms please take care!

Ok I have to go sleep.When I don't get enough rest, will have weird brownish discharges.

See you mommies tomorrow!

Amelia,
Yap... holiday must be comfortable and relaxed
. I will not backpack again... kekeke... I prefer hotels and good food in restaurants now :p.
Ben & Jerry is not bad... My parents, when they went to Europe, both of them must have ice-cream everyday... lol... then can come back and tell me where and where got what flavour of ice-cream... So far, the gelato in Florence is the best... I used to love Haagan Dazz... but after indulging in the ice-cream around Europe, I dun crave for Haagan Daz any more... :p

Joy,
"tuina" for babies can increase immunity ah? I also dun like to feed my boy too much medications and injections... :p

Littlecat,
I also find the shops in kaki bukit not cheap for many things... sometimes I can get certain things cheaper at John Little or Robinsons when they have the 20% off... Some more in Robinsons, I get free delivery for purchase over $100
Think kaki bukit shop, if buy cot, need to pay delivery charges...

Littlecat,
Hope your ds will pass out all the toxic and recover soon... I think drinking coconut water will help...

Van,
Hope your dd can go home soon... Then you no need to worry too much...

Lyn,

I keep bumping into gelatos but havent tried them.The consistency is gooey and not typical of ice-cream.Is it rich? I like my ice-cream and cakes very rich and creamy.Haagan is slow in coming up with new flavours.They have a particular flavour called Belgium Chocolate which I quite like but I don't see it around anymore.

Sophie,

Haven't seen much of you lately.
I have decided to go ahead with Lim Gim Foon's dress-making elementary course when she opens up a class.If she's good, I will sign up for her intermediate and advanced after the elementary.

Eh Amelia, gelato is YUMMY and smooth! We like it with waffle.. there's one in Causeway pt, 2nd or 3rd floor, called Gelare, the pistachio flavoured gelato is nice..

annlee and cat, haha.. I just asked my CL about soh hup pills, really didn't know about that ! She going to buy one pkt for me later..

counting down to freedom liao.. one more wk to be released from confinement camp !

Didn't really trust chinese med last time cos my previous CL asked me to take "hong hua" (red flower), to get rid of blood clots.. The only hong hua I know is from the TV shows that when women want to abort , they take hong hua.. BTW, is it saffron ?

Hey van, is Ber out yet ?

My no 2 has been coughing on and off too.. now on Eu Yan Sen med.. Ventolin and Serretide puffs don't seem to work on her.. sigh ! Trying to be consistent in giving cod liver oil to build her immunity !
Nowadays, the germs are really potent ! Did you all read about the RI bo who died from viral fever aft 3 days ? Scarry man !

Choc,

Really ah! Ok lah, I will drag my hubby to Causeway Point this weekend.What other gelatos brands are there in S'pore besides Gelare?

I am also wondering if Hong Hua is Saffron.Saffron is used extensively in indian cooking and is supposedly very expensive.So when I saw Hong Hua selling cheaply at the medical shop, I got confused.

little cat, annlee,
hope yr ds are getting better. u all take care too!

van,
happy to hear yr dd is coming home today.

re: ice-cream
it's my greatest weakness! I love Haagen Daaz macademia nut, Ben & Jerry Chunky Monkey kekeke...

Amelia,
I tried the gelato selling at I Utama shopping centre (new wing), it's rich yet not too heavy, I think u may like it. that time I let my hh try it, he licked the spoon, frowned (maybe too cold), then licked again, then frowned again, then still want to lick, hahaha...

sp,

Yeah I love ice-cream too! I always have ice-cream in my fridge. Ben&Jerry's ice-cream have very interesting flavours.

Then I must really try gelato this weekend!

Have been waiting to ask you what are the good eats in Johore Bahru...I've been going to the Zhi Char restaurants at Pelangi..Hope to get more suggestions from you.

Amelia,
Yeah, I haven't been coming in too much lately cos have been going out since hubby came back from China
I find the gelato in Italy rich too, but without too much of that "dairy" taste... very yummy. Have not tried the ones in SG yet. Think I saw Gelare at Suntec too... my fav Haagen Daaz flavour is Brandied Cherry!

Ms. Lim Gin Foon is very patient - you will like her! Also saw you got Mac! Cool....

Choc, Amelia,
Honghua is safflower, not real saffron. Saffron will be too expensive for TCMs to put so much into their formulas (saffron is the most expensive herb in the world, orginating from Spain). More info on honghua here:
http://alternativehealing.org/hong_hua.htm

I remembered my TCM saying that after my m/c that time, if I had gone to see him immediately, he'd prescribe me honghua to purge out the leftover blood stasis in my womb. But because I went to see him only 2 mths after, he said honghua will not work and gave me something else.

sp, thanks for your concern!

Just brought my ds1 to kkh, he got viral infection and got high fever ard 39.6. Doc says the viral infection might get from the school. He's getting ulcer look alike or rashes in his throat and is the family of hand food mouth disease. Now only can eat soft food as he keep complaining the pain on the throat and cried badly.

choc, gotta take the soh hup pills quick.... suppose to be taken for first 3 weeks but now also can lah..

My ds1 cough very often and the western medi don't help at all until I brought him to see chinese doc and only 1 dosage of medi cure his cough by 80 percent. The doc also did some tuina and kwa cha for him.

littlecat, how's your ds?

van, your dd discharge today right?

littlecat, good that your ds is getting better!

You know how to speak Malay right? Then indon maid shld not be a problem but still depends on luck lor...

annlee,
Update on the Pore Clarifying Essence - it's pretty good, clears up some of my "bumps" on my forehead. I think those are not millia, but oil clots, cos I remember my beautician used to squeeze them out for me last time. The white colored head of zits came out within a day so it dries up faster!

BUT I've had a bad experience with the Vitasence customer service.
- They do not automatically give a timeframe (e.g. 2-4pm) on the item delivery, just that items will be delivered "tomorrow". I had to make the initiative to ask them to give me a 2-hr reasonable timeframe so I don't have to sit at home just to wait for them. After I asked them about this, they said the "note" area during ordering was for customers to make their time preference... but eh, they didn't write it there, so how do customers expect to know what "Notes" is?
- They missed out my makeup remover last Fri, and I waited 5 hrs at home for it to be delivered yesterday and it did not arrive because of bad weather (which I understand)
- When I got my makeup remover today, it has leaked through the box, meaning only less than a bottle is left inside.
- After the delivery guy called them and told them it leaked, and said he'll bring it back, I did not receive any apology call from Vitasence itself till I wrote a "complaint" email to them

*sigh* Products are good, but really need to work on their customer service...

I can still order for you online with my 20% discount if you want any items, but we'll decide on your delivery time preference first and I'll give them your contact number to call you for those deliveries.

Choc,
I also like gelato ice-cream. Some of the fruit flavours come with low-fat choices! hehehe, can indulge without the guilt.

Sophie,
U like Haagen Daz? They recently closed down their orchard branch. I like the one at Esplanade.

Starz,
I went for my check-up today. I am now 31 weeks and 4 days. Have put on total of 10kg and baby is now about 2.1kg. Gynae said bb maybe around 3.3kg upon delivery. Water retention has subsided but I developed a bad rash near my tummy and waist area. He said this is called pregnancy rash and will subside after delivery. Next appt must do vaginal swap to see if there is an infection. Have you done yours?

Littlecat,
Heard that filippino maids are very smart so if u plan to get one, must lay down the rules for them and be very strict...

annlee,
take care of your ds and yourself!

Van,
your dd discharging today? she must be happy to be home

Sophie,
I had the same encounter with their delivery service. I waited whole day for them to send my cleansing mousse and in the end the delivery guy called to say they can only deliver the following day. So the next day again I waited for whole day and they only delivered at 8pm! Wasted my time just waiting for them. But I did not lodge any complaints..See if they buck-up afer your email..hehehe..

Thanks Joy for the contact !

Hey annlee, sounds like your ds1 got hand foot mouth .. try little jelly to soothe his throat.. My friend's dd got it and the only thing she could swallow is jelly plus the sugar in it will give her energy.. praying for you ..

Just bought a box of soh hup pills, CL also said more effective if taken aft birth.. I scared next time got "tow hong"(head wind), better take some now.. hehe..

Eh cat, yah.. some indo maid really blur blur.. best to ask them to repeat your instructions..but some can cook real well.. you having anybody to jagar them ?
How's your ds ?

Eh Kris, black sesame gelato is nice too

aiyo sophie..... I hate all these nonsense waiting and wait... the make up remover leaked some more, luckily you checked it and wait again for your makeup remover. Worst of all no apology for them....what kind of customer service is this!! Maybe their products too good so they ya ya papaya.... hee joking!

I will let my hb knows about the pore essence, if he wants it, I will let you know and upon delivery if their service lousy or ridiculars waiting time, I will definitely make a complain.

Do you have any breakout after apply the pore essence? How much is it after disc? Thanks!

Oh yes about the wok, I used it yesterday. Not sure whether is it good or not cos is my first time using anodised wok. Is lighter and smaller than my previous teflon wok as it was so big and difficult to wash on the basin. But I think the wok shld be good enough for me as it shld be healthier wok not like teflon wok.

annlee,
Your ds also got viral infection? Take care of yourself too... cos you've just recovered from chickenpox!

Krisjoy,
I also like the Haagen Daaz outlet at Tangs corner, very convenient. The one at Esplanade is also very cosy, but I hardly go there cos too far. I mostly go to the ones near my home at Junction 8 or Thomson Plaza.

Yeah, Vitasence service is not so good, but I believe they can fine-tune on it to make it better. I also want them to succeed... it's not often that I find a really good local product that works! Plus the makeup remover is for my friend cos I recommended her to try this brand... so very paiseh if I pass her half a bottle! I don't normally like to lodge complaints lah, but this time wasted my 2 days, and I still have to wait again for re-delivery again tomorrow. If they continue like that, how to compete with other brands where pple can just walk to counters, use testers, get free samples and buy what they want immediately?

So happy that your baby is growing well at 2.1kg!
3.3kg is a good weight at delivery. 10kg is also a very healthy weight to put on for 31 weeks!

annlee,
I didn't get any breakouts after using the pore clarifying essence - just that those hard little bumps either has a white-colored head ripening (so you can choose to squeeze it out), or they dried up by themselves, so now forehead smoother. It costs $66.50, and after my member discount, it's $53.20. Delivery is free.

Hehe, They are not so "yaya papaya". They called me back immediately after I emailed the complaint to them, and they're trying to make it up to me. But I just want them to know that they need to improve their operations in order to compete. A good product without good marketing or customer service will still not sell and fail in the end, esp. in a mature and competitive market like skincare.

Regarding the wok, did you really use lesser oil with this wok? I know you already use very little oil
. but with so little oil, it didn't stick a lot yeah?

choc, yes... doc says his throat rashes/ulcer is also the same family of hand foot mouth disease only that he don't get rashes from leg, hand or mouth but inside his throat, worst!! Oh... jelly is good... ok i will let him have some, he's favourite some more. Thanks!

yes sophie, my ds got viral infection, quite bad.
Don't worry about me, I quite a strong person, xena No2 hee..... thanks for your concern! Only that can't fight with chicken pox virus, very contagious and no choice gotta stay close with my ds and get infected.

krisjoy, for 31 weeks only put on 10kg is very good! I put on 20kg on 34 weeks. And is good that your bb put on the weigh not you.

Sophie,

Is 8 lessons per stage little? Is she able to cover the entire "syllabus"?

Mac is cool...I just have to spend time transferring software and uncracking trial software to full version(just managed to uncrack one).

gtg now...I'll come in later.

hee.....sophie, vitascience might wanna employ you as their marketing advisor.

About the wok, so far it doesn't stick alot or maybe I add some water to the food so didn't stick. The promoter says must apply oil to the wok and heat it then leave it for overnight which help to prevent food sticking on the wok and is better to repeat it for few days.

I think anodised wok shld be the same right? But I noticed u-like wok there's a layer of shining coat on the wok but not others. I also find some line and scratch on the wok, so I ask the promoter why there's scratch and it suppose to be scratch proof but she can't answer me and keep on saying that's nothing and doesn't scratch??? So I give u-like a minus point for it. No offence to ladies here that using this brand

Sophie,
How many weeks are you now? When is your next check-up? Btw, do let us know what your friend think of the Vitasence make-up remover...I am currently using Fancyl one. May switch to Vitasence if good...

annlee,
thanks...hope i dun put on too much weight later
cos now my backache is already quite bad, can't imagine the extra weight when the full term comes...probably can't walk too much then..I saw Tangs selling the anodised wok for about $170+. It can even be used to bake cake and is wide enough to use as a steamer..I am still considering if it is worth buying..

annlee aka Xena No. 2
My mum's U-like wok does not look shiny leh. Yeah, I heard about the oil before... it's called "seasoning" the wok. I did that for my cast-iron pan last time too. I think U-like is beyond my budget + I don't need the Xue Di Zhi, so will prob get one at the $50-60 range from Taka during year-end when I am doing more baby stuff shopping.

Other than jelly, can also make flavoured popsicles for your ds to ensure he gets his fluid intake. I always see "popsicles" in angmoh magazines, but not sure how to make it...

Amelia,
8 lessons should be enough to cover the basics of a skirt and blouse. But remember, it's only the basics i.e. we only get to sew a few pieces. But if the class is outspoken like mine and ask her a lot of questions, she will actually teach us how to draw the different patterns for all kinds of skirts e.g. hidden pleats, box pleats, knife pleats, layered peasant skirt etc. Pattern-drawing is the most fundamental for dressmaking - as long as your pattern is correct and "smooth", then the sewing is really a matter of practice of skills and on your sewing machine. If pattern is not right, then you'll find that your clothes won't "flow" and fit nicely.

Krisjoy,
I am around 17 weeks now. Yesterday had a bout of dry cough, and after coughing, I felt a churning on my lower abdomen with something inside pushing at my shorts! No gas came out after that... heh, I wonder if that is the baby moving!
Next checkup is 5th Oct detailed scan. My hubby and I are thinking that maybe we want to keep the gender of the baby as a surprise on delivery day... my dad sure say I'm crazy, cos he's been asking me if baby is a boy or girl!

Ok, will let you know if the Vitasence makeup remover is good. This friend uses quite "thick" makeup with foundation etc, so she'll be a good "reviewer" of this product.

Sophie,
U shld be able to feel the baby's flutter at this time..it feels like gas
U will enjoy the detailed scan cos u get to see the internal organs of bb and and it is fun! I happen to see my baby yawn during the scan
U sure u can 'tahan' not knowing the sex of bb? hehehe...cos for me, i am those who cannot stand suspension :D

annlee,
Forgot to tell you I tried Popeye's fried chicken at the airport last weekend. Chicken is very good... even the mild was slightly spicy... skin is very crispy! Mashed potato is very smooth + gravy is nice with cajun seasoning. Biscuits not so nice, taste like a salty rock bun

sophie, thanks for recommending popsicle but my ds is banned from taking cold stuff. Just 3-4tsp of ice cream will make him cough badly. Btw, the doctor prescribe some electrolyte liquid for him in case he's not eating and drinking well.

you ladies really know how to sew... me only know how to sew button and sew some tiny holes.

sophie, actually my 2nd preggie i wanted to keep the gender of my baby as a surprise too but my hb don't want it saying how to buy clothes for baby if don't know is a boy or girl etc....

About the u-like wok, my hb noticed it so ask me why the wok is smooth and shining compare to other anodised wok leh.... you might wanna check it out if you're looking for the wok. Maybe the shining smooth part is no big deal or no harm hee...

sophie, told you what the mashed potato is good hee..... the flavour of the chicken can compare to kfc? If is good, I might want to try it.

annlee,
Me and hubby find Popeye's chicken nicer than KFC cos it's got spicier Cajun seasoning. Both of us are not big fans of KFC... in fact, I haven't eaten KFC in SG for years, but will always go back to Popeye's again. Yes, I remember you said mashed potato is good, so I told hubby MUST have the mashed potato as a side

The electrolyte thingy comes in small sachets to be diluted with water right? I have some of those stocked in my First-Aid drawer for those diarrhoea days & for travelling. Can get those in plain or orange flavour from Unity pharmacy... abt 15 cents per sachet only.

I'll probably be getting hand-me-downs from my sis cos by then her baby will be 6 mths old, so I won't need to buy much clothes yet. Plus a lot of her baby clothes are white or beige in color. Will probably just need a few sets for baby's full-month celebration, which I will "sneak" out during later part of confinement to buy

Hmm... maybe I have not seen other brands of anodised woks before, but I kind of compared it to teflon ones which are shinier than U-like. Will check with my mum if anything is being scraped out cos she cooks typical Chinese food which requires a lot of "scraping" with her metal spatula.

Krisjoy,
Yeah, the feeling is like gas, but more churning yesterday!

I was also wondering if I can tahan the suspense... then cannot just ring up gynae to ask him boy or girl right? Cos 2nd tri checkups are once every 4 weeks I think. So I told hubby maybe we get gynae to write down in a card then seal up envelope... see who cannot tahan first will open envelope!

yes sophie, the solution comes in long sachet and mine is for kids. Doc afraid he might get dehydration so prescribe some for him.

sophie, you're now 17 weeks so by next week can know your baby gender right? So you prefer boy or girl or either one?

yeah I think anodises wok can only use metal spatula or wooden type and the promoter told me don't tong tong so hard on the wok.

krisjoy, the anodised wok I bought can bake souffle cake. The promoter show me how to make it but she says oven still better if want to make delicious cake.

annlee,
Where did u get the anodised wok from and how much u pay for it?

Sophie,
That's a good idea!
Btw, is the Popeye chicken only available in aiport? T1 or T2? I am so hungry just by reading the thread..hehehe...Gonna go downstairs to buy Ya-Kun bread liao..

annlee,
Hubby and I have no preference - we'd be happy as long as pregnancy is smooth and baby is healthy. That's why he didn't want to know the gender at this moment yet
Yep, actually by next week can know gender, but because my appt is not till 20th week on 5th Oct, we wouldn't know till then.

Krisjoy,
Unfortunately Popeyes' chicken is only available at Airport T1, Level 3 foodcourt area. It's fastfood style.

Sophie,

I wanted to ask you about pattern making next
Wow your class is so motivated, hope mine will be too! Didnt know there're many kinds of pleats...thought there's only one

What other questions did your course mates ask? I want to make sure I don't miss out anything.

Sophie,

Forgot to add...
Is she willing to stay a little later if we need help?

You finally tried Popeye's

Annlee,

I like picking up new skills...don't know something can always learn mah

krisjoy, I got the wok from taka,$59 for 36cm.

sophie, is good idea to get the wok during the end of the year cos year end sales or maybe giving away some gift.

amelia, aiyo... no time to learn lah.... so busy with the kids, wanted to go with my sis to learn healthy organic cooking lesson also no time but is good that can sew something for your kid in future

Annlee,

That's why I am so eager to learn everything now and hope to complete the course asap...Scared have kids no time..

How's your maid situation?When your new maid is more "zai"...you can also pick up something that interests you.

Hello gals...
Wow.. all the talk about ice-creams... kekeke... drooling liao... When I went to Spain, I had ice-cream every single day... lol... I think Haagan Daz cannot compete with their fresh ice-cream...

Sophie,
You can be marketing consultant to Vitascience..

Krisjoy,
Wah.. you use Fancyl skin care ah? Fancyl very good, cos no preservatives used... only thing is short shelf-life...

ok.. gotta go..

Amelia,
Yep, I finally tried Popeyes'!

Eh, I am no expert in pattern-drawing. But what I learnt from my mum is that a good pattern is the basis for a good flow and fit - she used to do tailoring, but men's suits. She couldn't teach me anything about dressmaking as pattern-drawing for women's clothes are very different from men's.

Ms. Lim is OK with staying late - in fact, I normally leave before her (I leave on the dot). I joined during 2nd session (I missed first session), and by 3rd session, I already made most of my first A-line skirt... only hemming not done yet.

Other questions we asked were:
- What fabric is good for what kind of skirts?
- If you don't like traditional waistbands, can ask her to teach the modern "interface" kind of waistband (means you don't use that hard stiff white waistband for inside).
- What skirts are nice for what kind of body shapes e.g. she told us that for those with small waist and wide hips, circular skirts look nice and retro.

I think that's about all... cos I only attended 2 lessons, then had to do bedrest and couldn't go for class anymore.

annlee,
Organic cooking lesson sounds interesting!

annlee,
how's yr son, hope he's fine already.

sophie,
wow, so exciting to feel yr bb move!!!

sophie, amelia,
really admire you both, got the patience to learn sewing!

Sophie,

I have taken note the questions and will ask her during class.Hope she opens up her elementary class soon.Can't wait to start learning! I want to be able to sew well! Do you intend to resume classes?

sp,

Learning new skills is exciting,,,don't know about the patience part.

sophie, yeah... the cooking lesson is interesting. This doctor is having cooking lesson using organic food and herbs for health. Another reason not attending is that the fee is not cheap, think one lesson about $150 or lesser, can't rememeber.

amelia, my maid is the same lor... when don't look at what she's doing, I'm ok (of course lah). When look at how she do things, can faint lor... that's why some working employer don't really knows what the maid doing in the house and no problem with maid. Now whatever what she has done wrong or attitute problem, I'm just going to ignore her. Btw, we're waiting for our new maid.

sp, my son is recovering... throat is painful but still good appetite. Thanks!

amelia, I remembered about 10 yrs ago I crazy about fashion and like those dresses from foreign magazine so I can't find those dresses from sg and I'm crazy enough to buy one sewing machine about $400 to make dresses. End up don't know how to use the machine.

sophie, now you can feel your baby move.... by few months later, baby can do boxing in your tummy kekeke..

lyn,
actually i use more of Vitasence products. I only use the cleansing oil from Fancyl cos Vitasence does not have that last time...but fancyl one is quite good actually..it removes makeup efficiently without drying out your skin..

annlee and Sophie,
Sewing is a skill and glad that u both enjoyed it. My mom used to sew for people and I remember we were forced to do hemming and sewing the hooks, buttons, etc for her. Maybe bcos of that i hated sewing...hehehe...my mom even sew for my home economics project so the teacher thot i am very good at it and gave me good marks..hahaha..i cheat!

Annlee,

150$ per lesson is too expensive.I am sure there're plenty of cookbooks on organic cooking.Our local library has practically every book under the sun.Do a search on NLB catalogue.If you can't find what you want at the library, you can get it from Borders.

As for maid, think it's because they're brought up in a different country so their state of cleanliness etc may not be what we're used to.If we insist too much on our "way", maids may think Sg'reans are too picky or something, hence the bad attitude.What's your new maid's nationality?

When my turn comes, doubt i'll get a maid...too many issues to handle loh.I may get a part-time maid to do housekeeping and get my mil to babysit occasionally.

What's the brand of your machine?You can pass your machine to Van! She's looking for a second hand one.It's not difficult to know how to use the machine.You have to digest the guidebook that comes with it and "play" around until you get it.I took 2 or 3 hours per day for a few days to completely master mine.

Krisjoy,

Was your post directed to me?

One of my aunties did my home econs project!
Oh dear, you're THAT traumatised huh?