Cooking Tips & Recipe

amelia,
You usually cook 2 cupfulls of rice ah? Quite a lot, I think... :p I also eat more than my hubby... hahaha...

Van,
How to get Today's newspaper to be delivered to doorstep?
How's your dd? Appetite back to normal?

Sophie,
The first time when I feel the kicks, I thought I am having contractions.. lol... very "mountain tortoise"...

Van,
Wah... the high tea at Sheraton looks good...

annlee, sophie,
Have you tried scones at "Fosters" at Holland Village? They served freshly baked scones on Sunday tea time only... Very nice scones. I usually go there for scones

Krisjoy,
Club Chinois' set dinner at $68+++ is for 2?

I think raja brand curry powder is very nice...

Lynn

Bingo, we share similar taste huh?Hubby is a very choosy person in food esp spicy food so I have to be very careful when come to spices.....

Nice buffet?It depends on what kind of spread you are going for....I personally loves Olive tree in inter con hotel that they served very good mediterian seafood....For italian, I will go pit place at hyatt basement.....

Van,
You can get Baba's brand from NTUC..

Joy,
Thanks for the feedback. My colleague told me if using Baba's brand, need to add extra lemongrass and chilli powder to boost the taste..

lyn,
$68 is for one pax. That is why I only go there on special occasion...hehehe..They also have the more expensive set dinner at $88+++. It is actually Chinese food but served in a very artistic and fusion way...Can get Raja brand from NTUC?

Twinkle,
I like the buffet at Ritz Carlton...Food is very fresh. Enjoy your romantic outing with hb

joy747, that italian restaurant must be pete's place. Have tried their raw mince beef and is good!

Twinkle, my sis told me The Line is good but is ex.

Talking about FOUR LEAVES, can consider their bread is a healthy choice, no preservative.

sophie, FOUR LEAVES sells wheatgerm bread.

Krisjoy
Do not think you can find raja brand in ntuc, maybe you try some of the small shop....For spices, I always make a point to add in fresh ingredients or it will be quite blent....

Annlee, I am a great fan of four leaves bread...butter roll bread is my favourite...I will buy four pkt at one goal and I eat it since few years back .....

Yap, pete's place is an italian restaurant...they served pretty good sunday brunch as well....full set of salad and served different breads and pasta...yummy......

wow so many nice places to go. i love pete'splace but hb dun like italian so i seldom dine.

tks for many suggestion. later i ask him

twinkle starry

If you prefer lots of variety, you may try one of the buffer restaurant at taka where they served lobster, jap food etc....I think its called hu bi lia, right...must make advance booking....

Van,

I tried A1brand curry paste(recommended by wet market auntie) and Baba curry powder(recommended by my mother).

The one I am using now is Hai's curry paste.It's 2plus dollars.Is there a brand for your chilled one?Oily and fattening food always taste good mah hehe

You know the lucky coffeeshop I was telling you the other time?They have an indian stall selling good and non-spicey food.I tried their curry chicken and murtabak last weekend and it's nice.

Sophie,

Think the "Cats Prefer Chef" is not made by NTUC...NTUC imported them
It has both wet and dry food..Both types claim to be preservative-free.My hub is quite paranoid about the brand of her food, cat litter and bath products leh.

My Science Diet Ocean Fish is dry food.Thanks, I will stick to this till she gets bored of it.How many packs of food do you order from the shop to get free delivery?I usually buy one packet per month at Pet Lovers Center.

lyn,
You eat more than your hubby probably cos you are breastfeeding right? I heard bf mums need more food intake.

Yep, I tried Fosters at Holland V. once, but I personally find the scones too hard, not fluffy enough, so never went back there. Plus I like the traditional English finger sandwiches, esp. cucumber sandwiches, which Fosters don't serve.

annlee,
Yep, I also like Four Leaves bread

Amelia,
My MIL also likes Hai's curry paste. She uses fresh milk to cook her curry with Hai's paste, still taste good!

I normally buy 1 or 2 packs of food, and together with the silica kitty litter, the shop delivers free when it's more than $50. Sometimes I buy a LARGE pack fo dry food, and get the shop to split them up into 4 smaller packs and vacuum pack for me.

Amelia and Sophie,
I used to feed my dog with Science Diet until my groomer told me it contains by-products. I've since switched to another brand since. Thot you may want to take note...Also, I bought my dog from Pet Lovers Centre so this is the brand they always recommend to customers.

Sophie,
Have you tried tea at Ah Teng bakery at Raffles Hotel? Not sure if they sell scones but it seem like a popular place when I went there a few months back. I only ate the cakes so not sure about the scone though...

Joy,
Can I get Raja brand from those small shops selling dried stuff in the market? I'll recee my market this weekend...

Re: Hi-Tea
Wow...Van, the spread on Sheraton's hi-tea made me drooling like mad!!I missed my hi-tea badly! Gosh, ever since I have a baby, this has becomes a luxury to me.

Re: Chicken Curry
I tried the Prima Deli pack, and surprisingly it taste quite good.

Amelia,
My MIL din do anything cos that CL is her friend... quite sianz with them now. Oh well, I din really like to post her 'doings', but if anyone interested to know who is she, just PM me.

Van,
I dun have anyone to approach.. how did u manage to get a replacement? Izzit thru agent? My kitchen utensils are oso badly damaged. So after she left, I straight away changed another new wok.

Amelia & Sophie,
I am feeding my cats with Science Diet too. Would highly recommend Dermatrix if u r thinking of hairball control.

cat_tail,
Really feel sorry for you to have such a CL! And also recommended by MIL so it puts you in a difficult position...How many kids do you have and how old are they? Can they get along with your cat?

krisjoy

You may need to try your luck in the wetmarket...for me, I went thr the whole stalls in marine parade market but failed...If cannot find, you still can use baba brand but just add some more fresh staff...

I tried hai brand once to cook veg curry, not bad...

Joy,
err... where is Four Leaves? Is it the bakery? I think I came across before, but forgot where already... Can remind me please? kekeke.. then I will go and look out for their scones.

For buffet, I do not eat the seafood anymore.. Not even sashimi
I usually just eat the vegetables... and a little of pork or beef, and lots of desserts. kekeke...

Krisjoy,
Oh I see... I heard from many people that Club Chinois is very expensive, so I dare not go.. :p
I get the Raja brand curry powder from JB. I did not notice it in NTUC though.

annlee,
Wah.. raw mince beef ah... **gulp** When I went to Japan, they serve raw meat at the sushi bar, I dare not eat also...

sophie,
kekeke... paiseh to say... I eat more than my hubby since courtship... :p I was shocked how come guy eat less than me... During courtship, my weight is almost the same as my hubby... kekeke... but now my weight is in check after detox

Oh, you like sandwiches ah... kekeke... We are opposite :p Ever since I came back from UK, I dun like sandwiches already.. cos in the UK, every functions I go, sure have sandwiches...

KrisJoy,
Thanks & with such experience, I will try to be smarter next time if I ever have a 2nd confinement. Will also try not to take any advice from MIL cos she oso recommend a nanny for my baby & it never turns out well too. Haiz..
Btw, my gal is 13 mths now & she always terrors the cats.

Hi Cat tail

Its hard to have two women in the kitchen...Your incident reminds me very much of my mil. She immediately set a nanny for my gal after I gave birth...The nanny is staying downstair of her house....She is so mad when I quit my job to take care of my gal cos there goes her plan....I will never take any recommendations from her....

Heard from my friend that Petals(by Shatec) is quite nice and reasonable for lunch and dinner, dunno if they serve high tea.. but it's ala carte.. Anybody been there before ?

I find that Goodwood is also good for their English high tea.. nice ang moh ambience too !

Soph, Club Chinoise is at Orchard parade hotel, It's fine dining and good for hub and u.. we made a mistake by bringing dds there.. the clanging of the knives and forks spoilt the ambience !

Where are you buying your mobile fo the bb cot ? Thought of getting one too.. Threw the old one away liao !

Lyn's right , the price is 68+++ for one at chinoise, find that their cooking is a mixture of east and west..they have foie gras soup, which is goose liver? thought foie gras is eaten on its own..

my ang said he rather go to East Coast Big Splash for seafood, the one that you choose your own seafood and they'll cook it according to your style..

Van, how's Ber now ? My ang is going to check out the significance of JMC exams with the tr tomorrow.. got quite a few exam pieces to practise plus solfege singing and any songs..

NTUC and Sheng Siong sell Baba's curry powder..my sis adds some lemon grass to fry the paste to make the curry more fragrant.

Amelia, thanks for the cabbage rice recipe.. didn't know must fry the raw rice before hand, saw my CL doing that too before cooking the rice.. it definitely tastes better !
Normally, I just dump all the liao inside the rice cooker .. so no need to do cleaning up ;)

cat_tail,
yes, if u doing your 2nd confinement, need to be smarter this time round
Wow, so your gal is oredi 13MO. I enjoy watching kids playing with pets cos they look so innocent and fanscinated at the same time. Hopefully next time my dog and bb can get along well..hahaha..my hb said my dog is jie-jie and bb is mei-mei cos we believe pets shld always be part of the family

Joy,
I do agree with you... It's indeed very difficult to have two women in the kitchen. I think not only in the kitchen, in the house.. lol... When I was preggie, my mum came and stay with me. She's not used to the things I use to clean the house, the way things are arranged.. and complained... hahaha... Now, I close one eye... Let her do whatever she likes, and when she goes back, I put back to the way I like it. She bought a broom for my house too, and I keep in the storeroom when she goes home.. hahaha... But in the beginning really not easy... Now, I "kan kai" to live in a more messy and not so clean house.. hahaha.. cos I have no time for too much housework. I used to wipe and mop floor daily.. not anymore for now till I graduate...

hmm... about MIL... She started to nag at me after my son is born... hahaha... And she nags at my hubby too... I close both ears... "ah ah ah" then forgets... else sure boil and not good to heart.. She always think my hubby dunno how to carry baby, so will nag lor... now my hubby just pass my boy to me to carry when my MIL around, cos he "buay tahan"... wahahaha...

Choc,
What is JMC? What exams are you gals talking about?

Sigh ! All MILs are the same ! After giving birth to this little boy, I got more soups to drink from FIL ! Thanks to bb !

My MIL wants to quit to come and stay with us so that I can have more time to myself.. Scared lah ! like what lyn says, they all sure nag, nag none stop! And for my MIL, she'll boo-hoo when told !

lyn, JMC is Junior Music Course by Yamaha.. it's 2 yrs course and for kids age 4 to 6.. they conduct an exam aft the whole course.. playing selected pieces, singing a song and solfege singing

amelia, I'm cooking your cabbage rice tonight, thanks for sharing it. Check wif you, must i fry the rice first or the meat and cabbage? Or throw all and stir fry together.

Krisjoy,
I used to feed my cats the organic brands like Solid Gold or Nutro, but they seem to shed quite a bit of fur eating that, that's why I switched to Science Diet. I'll take note of the "by-products" in Science Diet and take note.
I had breakfast at Ah Teng before, but only had their danish cos I didn't see any scones. They sell scones there?

cat_tail,
I also like Prima Curry pack! It's my favourite curry pack for travelling cos it even contains coconut powder inside.
I've never seen Dermatrix before... will check it out at the store next time!

Choc,
Yeah, I heard from the girls Chinois is a bit expensive....
As for the mobile, I don't know where to buy yet. Actually I have not even looked around yet!
It's good you're getting a mobile for your baby; the documentary says babies are attracted and distracted by brightly-colored moving things, and it also helps to develop their spatial awareness.

choc,
Last time my MIL got retrenched and waiting at home to look after grandchildren.. lol... But too bad, DIL not working also.. so she got another job
Not that my MIL is not good, but it's really not easy to get along for two women... Different ways of bringing up kids and different ideas... and I dare not tell her what to do and what not to do... jialat...

Oh I see... Last time when I learn piano, I just go straight to Grade 1 exams with ABRSM

Sophie,
Wah.. your cats also eat organic food... Very healthy...
Can look out for mobiles by Tiny Love... Not bad... I wanted to buy a hanging mobile a few weeks ago, but shelved the idea already... My friend told me her son get so frustrated and cried, cos he cannot reach the mobile... lol.. very cute... but the last thing I want is trying to soothe a crying baby.. very cham one... so I changed my mind...

Sophie,
I am currently feeding my dog with Nutro and she seems to like it..I also did not notice any significant shedding leh...Eh, not sure if Ah Teng sells scones cos i assumed they did

Choc,
Is it the Shatec at Killiney Road? Have not been there before but dun mind trying if it is reasonably priced...

Van,
How's your gal?

Joy747 & all poor DIL,
Tok abt MIL, I siannz half. How come all MILs like to do ther own deicision. Majan we are invisible. Grrgggh...

Choc06,
East Coast is very exp too leh! I rem 4 person eating there coughs us almost $400+..

KrisJoy,
Times flies!

I am sure your dog will get along with your baby. If u take a look, ther are some different between baby that grows up with pet at home & those without.

Sophie,
The Prima curry is very easy to cook! Very good for dummy like me..keke..

Hi Kris, haven't been there before..hehe.. sorry.. My friend gave me their number, here it is 63382798, think must call to book..

lyn,for my MIL , it depends on her mood.. if she gila gila.. she'll not be easy.. 2 women in a house is definitely not a good idea, even my ang can't take it.. I also dare not tell her off, my ang will do it.. Our standard of hygiene also different.. Not easy huh !

Where to get tiny love products ?

Wonder how is Annelise..

Krisjoy

If wanna talk about mil, there are lots to talk about. I guess we shall not spoil our mood here, agreed?The best that we can do is that do not be like them when we become a mil ourselves....cheers.....

Choc,
Thanks for the number

Cat_tail,
U do notice the difference? Can share? My sis and her hb are quite particular though. They will not come to my house when her bb was still young cos they say bb will get asthma from my dog's fur...not sure if this is true?

Joy,
Eh, I din tok about MIL leh..wrong person?? hehehe..

lyn,
Yep, my cats are quite healthy... heh, one of them likes to eat wheatgrass & attack my plants all the time, and the other likes cooked black beans!
Can we get Tiny Love mobiles from dept stores? Maybe I go check out at Robinsons this Monday.

cat_tail,
Me also dummy... that's why I rely on Prima alot... I also like their Mee Siam

Krisjoy,
Nutro is recommended by a lot of vets - my mum's dogs eat them till one of them became a vegetarian and now eats Solid Gold Zen Vegetarian.
The vet says if animals got skin problems, the lamb one is better than chicken cos lamb don't give so much skin problems.

choc, the price $68+++ at chinois is it set dinner? Thinking of bringing my hb there for his birthday.

Or can anyone recommend places that make delicious lamb? Not many ppl like to eat lamb but is my hb favourite. TIA!!

hi ann,

set dinner at chinoise.. can't rememeber how many course.. think 7-8, portions are small but are all quality food,, the dessert we had was " pao shen dun xue li"
yah.. lamb must be done right, if not got "bah wu"(smell).. I like it in kebabs

Having said all these, what are you all cooking, ladies ?

choc, thanks for recommending!
you're right lamb not done well, very smelly. Lamb kebabs at esmiralda is good but now wanna change places.

I'm cooking cabbage rice for dinner from amelia recipe...

Amelia,
Hey,the curry paste I used yesterday is also Hai's,cost about $1.65 in NTUC,it's sold chilled in supermarket, isn't it? Though I did notice in wet market the aunties just left it on display without chilling. Or is there any packaing for Hai's curry paste?

Wah,you can have curry chicke+vege+3rd dish.I didn't cook 3rd dish,but already can't finish the curry chicken.It's going to be my lunch today, with "Jiam Tau Loti".

cat_tail,
I got my CL through agent,that's why can get replacement easily,but even the agent can't tahan the aunties and quit liao! I met the wife of the hb-and-wife team,and she told me they quit this agent business,cos the aunties are very difficult to "control".

Choc,Krisjoy,
My dd is doing fine,still on soft,light diet.My top pirority now is to help her to recover completely and gain back all the weight.Hb already started nagging about her skinny wrist, her lost weight,so I am under lots of pressure, but she still can't eat a lot of stuff, so it's rather hard at the moment.

Went for review yesterday, PD said to let her go back to school after another week's rest, so that she won't catch any other infection in school.

Choc,
I supposed the exam is "important"as long as they continue their music course with Yamaha,but once they started taking graded piano exams, all these become insignifant,But for us, as parents, we just have to encourage them to do their best and coach them to practise.

Have you decided whether to let your gal continue with JXC?

Dinner tonight is Mee Siam,cos I notice I have all the ingredients needed for Mee Siam,but I used the lazy-cook's ready made Mee Siam paste.Have been cooking more of 1-dish meal lately,very busy since coming back from hospital.DD used to take lunch and sometimes breakfast in school,but now I got to prepare all her three meals.

Carole,
Thanks,Marriot mooncake nice? Is it very sweet?Do you have discount for Crown Prince Yam Paste mooncake as well? That's my every year's must-buy.

How's Clarisse's fever now? Is it due to teething?

Joy747,
Nowadays I just close both my eyes & ears whenever I see my MIL. Heehee.. world peace for me & definitely my hubby is happier.

KrisJoy,
So far my gal is quite healthy & I dun see any respiratory problem. Somemore it did help to build up her guts. I remember there was once when she was together with other kids in a frd's house. When the dog barks at them, the rest of the children are either running or hiding away. But my gal who is the youngest one, cheekily laughing at the dog & trying to pat him. The dog kind of like her & stick to her whole day! Amazing rite?

U can assure yor sis that u diligently clean the house & bath the dog.

Sophie,
Wow, your cats are vegeterian! How u train them ah?

Van,
Hmm.. I really hate these 'aunties'. They always think they ate more salt than us. Really remind me of tat Nanny who almost starve my gal.

cat_tail,
My 2nd CL not too bad,most of time she didn't give me the "I ate salt more than you eat rice" kind of attitude,at least she didn't give me the kind of stress that my mum and MIL gave me.When she saw me frowing after she moved my things around,she told me,never mind huh, when I go back then you shift back to their original way hor? After she left, I also bought new wok and sauce pan.

van: fever up n down like roller coaster... very tiring to look after her as she keeps crying.

crown prince no lehz... u forgotten me marriott card holder, got disc more.

carole. my ds2 is down with fever too... yesterday night temp went up to 39.1 and only went to normal in the morning. Can tell that he suffered alot, keep making noise from his pain and waking up many times in the night. Given him nurofen for his fever as paracetemol doesn't helps.

van, crown prince moon cake is it crispy yam moon cake? Think they're not having any moon cake this year.