Cooking Tips & Recipe

Ha! Today it's fine now!

Choc,
My DD1 and your DD2 same age, both in P2. I'm having big headache with her MT, simply cannot make it. Now thinking if I should send her for tuition. Did you send yours?

Huskie,
Thanks for trying out the recipe and I'm glad to know your dd likes it. My kids love jellies, regardless of what flavour. I have another recipe, Ribena with Wheatgrass but no time to post yet. That one is a hit too.

hiya

Its been a while since I last logged in as there seems to be problem and didnt managed to see any new posting...finally now its up

Have been pretty busy with work...attending meetings after meetings....arrrgghhh

I have yet to encounter the stress that mummies are facing when their child is in pri sch....but will soon need to handle that since the elder one is going to P1 next year...just abt 2 mths plus to go....

havent been cooking for the past wks as well as the weather is so hot...so have been hiding in shopping mall most evening...dinner also settle out....

post again...gonna rest now...had a tired day at work....nitez all

Been busy also, haiz.. coaching dds on their exams.

Hee.. Reena, my dd1 has MT problems too! Dd2 not so much of a problem.. yet. So i sent dd1 to Berries, then dd2 insisted she wants to go, so now they attend their chinese lessons. They find it fun, and I'm glad they enjoy the lessons there. Not much worksheets to do tho, their approach is to make them interested in chinese.
But my dds' sch teachers tell me that my dds' speak mandarin with an ang mo accent. Now the oral weightage has increased to 30% and I roughly know what marks they'll get..

That day I made the sour plum konnyaku jelly using redman's premix, and don't know why the jellies were not chewy. The premix hasn't expired yet, and sometimes I encounter this problem, the texture of the jelly is like agar agar

Going to make ribena jelly with nata decoco after what husk mentioned.. slurpz.. cooling for this hot weather..

Husk, ya, it's nice to enjoy your time with your little ones first..running around and discovering things;) Prim sch is a bit of headache.. Is your hb back? hang in there..;) Give yourself a GOOD treat after he's back

Wah ivena, you've been busy too, take care ya!

Tonight making huai san soup, fry asparagus with prawns and hairy marrow with eggs, what are you all cooking?

Choc,
I only have HAN and Tien Hsia Language school near my place. My gf highly recommended Confucius Institute by NTU but it's in the west, too far for me.

I just cooked huai shan soup for today too :)

Hello ladies...

Im making tomatoes chicken stew recipe from ellena guan and fried bittergourd with egg tonight. Running out of ideas on what to cook. Wanted to make soup but too late to get the ingreds now.

Joy,
no more honeymoon...my son done his eng oral 2 days ago. Everyday giving him revision papers to do. He is bad in Chinese but find his Chinese teacher Feng lao shi quite good.
Why sian when school shifting to Tampines? Thought will be nearer to your home?

Annlee
Why no honeymoon?As long as no streaming, no psle, its honeymoon...

Tampines is so far away from my place.Currently its less than one km away.

Joy,
oh oh i see..hee...tot honeymoon meaning relaxing no test/exam unlike P1. How's your dd coping? I can feel your stress, Im getting it soon...

Annlee
More stress cos wanting to maintain the standard.Added to it , kids at this pri five age has own mind set, can be rebellious and tends to mood swing alot.Some time really cannot take her nonsence.

hello ladies,
I survived the 2 weeks alone without dh and with 2 kids!
Tough, but thank God my MIL helps out on some days and my mum and sis help by going out with me on weekends... otherwise it gets pretty lonely just facing the 2 kids everyday!

annlee,
I am trying out the chicken tomato stew tonight or tomorrow

Wanted to do it tonight, but the haze is killing me and hubby's throats, so not sure if chicken will make it worse?

The haze is really bad! My throat is scratchy and I'm coughing in the night too.
Yesterday I made reena's stir fried egg and tomato yesterday. Dh loves it, and like some of the blogs say, it's fantastic over hot rice. So apparently it's a common homecooked dish in china. I didn't use dried shrimps but just garlic, spring onions and abit of sugar.

Not cooking tonight. Too tired to wash up.
What are you ladies cooking?

Hello Huskie,
Me not cooking too as yesterday has done so.Also busy managing the two kids and also older one is having marathon exams next week.

Sometime, I dont mind cooking but just cleaning up dampen my mood to cook.

Hello ALL,
Joy, hehe.. I am also busy doing marathon revision this week with my girls.. Let's give one another a big hug and pat on our backs.. It'll be over next week.. phew!

Husk, great that your beloved has returned.. Hope he has bought tons of lovely gifts for you ;) Eh, brew some liang cha or chrysanthemum, good for your throat

Annlee, I tried making the claypot chicken and dh loves it alot.. Kept asking me to make again
Tks for the recipe! So easy and yummy!

hey girls,
I thought exams are over. Hmm... maybe different schools have different schedules? My friend told me her kid's exams were over last week, so I thought everyone's the same.

Anyway, I want to share this website with you girls... made the 3 cups chicken from here tonight and got thumbs up from hubby and dd.
Modifed it a fair bit cos I don't have shaoxing wine so substituted with huatiao (are they the same?)... no basil, so substituted with spring onions... added a bit of water too, cos I like some gravy. Overall, still yummy!
http://rasamalaysia.com/three-cups-chicken-recipe/

Gonna make some chrysanthemum drink now!

Husk, hehe.. this week then my dds start their exams. Sec sch students should be finished with their exams last week..

Thanks for the link.. Just nice, I got drumsticks, will try the recipe this wk. The pix looks very good.. slurps..

I use huatiao also, dunno what's the diff leh.. Tonight roasting chicken, eat with mash potatoes and salads. As usual, not much cleaning required ;)

hi all!
Glad the haze is gone!
This week is THE WEEK! next week will be OUR honeymoon!

Reena, is Confucius Institute at Jurong point? or only in NTU?

btw do u guys know any good childcare center at Jurong?

Huskie, u will join the fun later, cos currently most p1 & p2 dun need to test, haha...
heng ah, my ds2 born in 2006 can scape that... cos i can't imagine if got to coach him like the ds1.
choc, coaching the ds2 is not only vomitting blood... it is vomitting out the lung :p

what's cooking tonight?

I bgt a live sea bass, will steam it, then lotus root soup with black bean and peanut, stir fry one heng chye.

Just found out from my mum that shaoxing is mostly a term used by the Chinese in China. She says it's the same as huatiao.

Choc,
My friend's kids are in Pri Sch leh. Maybe their school is just earlier.

Littlecat,
Why are you looking at childcare?
You're not thinking of going back to work, are you?

Creative O at Creative Tech Bldg at IBP is good.
I went there to view it and am very impressed by it. I feel that they teach the kids independence and how to think for themselves... not just the usual focus on academic and being spoonfed to do things.
Reena answered some questions of mine regarding Creative O in the earlier posts, so you can also refer to her answers.

dd will be joining them next Jan, as hubby feels her current school molly coddles the kids too much.

hee, I am hoping not to join in such fun! Kept asking my hubby if he is open to the idea of migrating to other countries cos I find the education system there less stressful, but deep inside, we both know that a rigorous system like our pri sch is actually good for the kids' future.

No time to cook much today as we had to accompany dd on a field trip, so we just ate some leftover 3cups chicken, steamed vege and a sharksfin melon soup.

huskie
no, not going back to work, try to findd a new center for him as i find the current one no good.

pai seh, i didn't know the previous renee's reply was on create-o... okok got it.
So you dd will join next jan?
How much is the school fee ?

i just read thru renee's message above (Thanks Renee !
), it seems that their approach is different frm others local childcare.
I know my ds2 always kena scolded.. now he every morning tell me, "i dun want to go school, i am scare".
I have to find many excuse to drag him up, get dress.. and sometime he refuse to put on inform, cos he know that means going school

The teachers have been telling me he is not paying attention, sometime shout or roll on the floor. Refuse to follow the rest to attend class and have to be one-to-one then he will do it etc...

They asked me to bring to see specialist, but when i ask them for a letter from center they refused to do it.

I am quite sick of hearing all the negative comment from the teacher every time i pick him. even his classmate will tell me 'XX mommy, XX is naughty today', then another day 'XX mommy' XX is good boy today'... of cos such statement very rare.
But u can see like EVERYONE know my DS2 got 'behavior' problem ever his classmate.

i was quite disappointed on how they handle such thing, those old staff like to 'siam' question, some new teacher seems to want to help, but once the question reach the senior staff, it is always 'tai-ji' back...

<font color="ff0000">Warning: this is not a post on cooking!</font>
LittleCat,
It's not very good if teachers are negative about a kid? His classmates probably can see and sense it and joins in in telling you how naughty ds is... I think that is not a very healthy environment.

Your ds2 is going K1 next year?
K1 fees is $780/mth... before any subsidies. We SAHMs are entitled to $150 subsidy.
Only full-day programme for K1 and K2.
I asked them why and they said it's cos they work on a project approach, so it needs a bit more time than the usual classroom method. Also, kids tire by around lunch time, so they take a short nap and when they wake up, they continue with the project work or, on certain days, there are wushu and Chinese speech and drama which is taught by some TCS actor/actress.

Eh, re the paying attention part: do they really expect a 4yo kid to have full concentration? Maybe some kids find the teachers not engaging enough and therefore don't concentrate?
I remember reading a Montessori book that says that at a young age, there is no such thing as concentration. If a child does not concentrate, that means the activity does not engage him. We should get kids to do activities which engage them so that they can develop concentration.... Sorry, I'm not very good at explaining, but it's something along this line....

And are you sure ds really has such a big problem that he has to see a specialist now? I always think kids are very smart... if we take them to see a specialist, it reinforces into them that there is something wrong with them. Of course if there really is, we can explain to them and problem can be corrected. But if the problem is not genuine, then the kid may feel like some outcast and ostracised and loses his self-esteem yeah?

My dd also has a bit of speech problem - she cannot pronouce "s" properly. She puts her tongue between her top and bottom rows of teeth and so it comes out as "th". I've asked her teachers before, and her English teacher was quick to point out and even added other problems which to me are not real problems. Her Chinese teacher, on the other hand, is a mother to 2 herself and seems more experienced, and told me that I should give her some time . Try correcting her but do not dwell on it too long or she may feel self conscious. Actually I wanted to bring her to a speech therapist, but decided against it after speaking with her Chinese teacher... will give her more time.

Anyway, just to share with you what I like about Creative-O:
1. Project approach: like Reena says, kids do not learn ABCs per se, but learn it through projects that they do... similar for science and other activities. So learning becmes fun. A friend who is a pri sch teacher said this is a good method and that they tried to replicate it for certain CCAs in her school but it sort of died a natural death due to lack of support.

2. Independence: I see that the kids there are all very independent, which is good. Cos I think only when a kid is empowered to do things and become independent then they will feel happy and less frustrated and gain confidence.

3. P1 preparation: kids are all very well-prepared for P1, according to one of hubby's colleagues who has a kid there in k2.

4. Kid have no homework: Not sure if this is ok with you :p but they learn whatever they learn in school and do not bring homework home.

5. Happy Kids: All the kids were really happy when I visited them. A smallish girl (K1) was even carrying a pail of water! Like the kind we use to mop the floor. Asked her where she is going and she said she is going to do some painting. The pail seems a bit heavy for her, but she was still determined to carry it to the destination! I think in any other school, the teacher might have stopped this in case the water spills and the kids fall and make a mess? But to me, it's ok to make a mess as long as they learn how to fix the problem i.e. clean up. Teacher says a lot of their kids are good leaders and end up as monitors in Pri Sch.

6. Camping at St John island: This is my favourite! It's their graduation project at K2, an annual affair. Unaccompanied by parents too! I feel this is good for the kid to learn independence plus teamwork. haha, and whatever survival skills is needed

Last of all, I cannot find any negative reviews/comments about it online... if you do, let me know!

Woah, very cheong hei post :p sorry girls!

ok back to cooking:
Yesterday I attempted Palak Panner from this link http://wendyinkk.blogspot.com/2010/06/palak-tofu-or-tofu-in-spinach-gravy.html , but I used real paneer instead of tofu. I kind of like it, but hubby diplomatically told me to stick with Taiwanese dishes like 3 cups chicken! When I asked further, he said the chlorophyll taste was just too much for him! :p

I am thinking of making ice cream from Reena's blog... will update you ladies on how successful it is

Thanks Huskie for sharing the info.

Yes i totally agreed with you on the first point!
Once you 'associate' with name like 'naughty', some might find it 'funny' and try to 'keep up' with it.
And seriously childcare shouldn't be the one who started such thing.
Hey i also think the same leh, if they can't concentrade partly could be those thing they teach too bored for him.

hehe no home work is the best for me lah! haha..
actually current one also no home work, but afer hearing what the teacher comments, i so scare start to train hime tracing etc...

Btw i have made appoitment to visit Creative-O. Last week i called them, they are very friendly and patience to answer my question.
Not like some center, when u call them they like can't wait to end the call.

But they told me left 1 vacancy.. wish me luck!

hello girls,
How were your weekends?

Over the weekend, I made ice cream, but found it too creamy for my liking... maybe it's the Millac whipped cream?

Also made annlee's one pot chicken with cabbage... thumbs up!

Today making pork belly with tomatoes

http://www.houseofannie.com/braised-pork-belly-tomatoes-soy-sauce/

LittleCat,
So glad you went to Creative O and found them friendly!
Hope you enrol ds2 there... haha, maybe next time after dropping off kids, we can go lim kopi!

Hello all!
Finally my exams are over;) The madness of preparing for exams! Studying=Student+dying... lol

Husk, I made the 3 cups chicken from your recommended recipe, also thumbs up! My kids love them. Got to make them again soon. Tks!

Going to try Reena's chicken with miso paste too, looks good!

cat, so you changed your ds' childcare centre already? Think keep on encouraging him, so that he'll be reinforced to do the right thing. Sometimes, i can be quite negative too, and always must tame my tongue

Tonight not cooking dinner, going to airport to send my parents and bro to Europe for their hols( so good hor!)
Lunch will be old cucumber soup, steam leather jacket fish, and a stirfry veg. Today got to vacuum and mop floor.

Eh Joy, you more relax now?

Choc,
Glad you like the 3 cups chicken!
Let me know how the chicken with miso paste goes... I want to make it too!

Yesterday's braised pork belly with tomatoes from House of Annie blog was pretty good. dh likes it and says it tastes almost like babi pongteh, albeit a more sour version thanks to the tomatoes

Now making a batch of amaretti cookies with leftover egg whites from making ice cream. If good, may pack some and give to MIL for her birthday this weekend!

ds coughing and got some viral fever... so it's gonna be a long night tonight! Some ducts somewhere (forgot eye or nose!) are stuck, so the green good, instead of coming out of his nose, is coming out from his eyes! Poor baby!
Will cook the sea coconut soup tomorrow.

choc06,

Am back...

Relax?Not exactly, am very tired after the preparation for exam, anticipation of results, post moterm for the results...tired tired...

Before I can go on tired, got to start preparing for my girl 11 year old birthday party this sunday...Got to dish out min six course....

Help help, mummies chief, pls help to contribute some dishes that i can do...OMO....Thanks

finally have long wkend....can have a good rest!!!

hmmm...dishes for the party...how abt aglio olio/udon/bee hoon, fried chicken wings/wantons/prawns, pizza, sandwiches, salad, jelly or agar agar, curry, stir fried veg with mushroom, sweet n sour pork ...

Huskie,
Being a sahm, I know exactly what you mean. I have no off days nor medical leave. And to go packet dinner on weekends WITHOUT the kids is a good break for me. I need my sanity!

Choc,
I suppose you don't have a helper too? And you are staying alone (ie no inlaws/parents) in a landed house? How did you ever cope??? I go crazy everyday, esp during mealtimes as they always squabble.

School exams
I'm one guilty mother. I wonder how you mommies handle, cooking + washing and coaching kids with studies. I have neglected DD1, totally no time to sit down with her for sch work. Just today, as I was packing her bookshelf, I just realised her 2B Math textbook is sitting on the shelf, brand new. Not exactly her fault, partially mine too as I didn't monitor :-(

Little Cat,
I tried the chicken with apple cider vinegar, taste abit like pig trotters vinegar. My kids and I like but DH doesn't as he can't stand vinegar.

Huskie,
Just to share, I think in general, shaoxing, huatiao generally refers to chinese cooking wine. I don't have these so I always replace with homemade rice wine.

Rgdg Creative-O, I'm glad you like the place. I'm also very impressed with the teachers there. When I moved DD1 out of C-O and moved her to a PCF centre, I had a "culture shock". It is so different but am now slowing getting used to it. I heart C-O.

My son (5yo) can't pronounce the letter L. I think they will outgrow it one day.

Have you tried making ice cream already?

LittleCat,
Confucius Institute by NTU is near Buona Vista MRT station, just behind MOE. I have just registered DD1 there for next year, hopefully will see some improvement as I don't know how to teach.

Choc,
I just cooked chicken with miso and added carrots too. It made the sauce sweeter, nice. Do give it a try if you have time.

Hello All

Good morning.

Reena
To coach the child is academic, and do hsework and esp with two child and above is never an easy task.One will definately neglect one.I am experiencing it too.Too many things at one goal.I hope to do a better job in balancing the chore,just like how working mum balance between work and family.

How was weekend, everyone?

Hey Joy, your dd s birthday is on 7th Nov? My dd1 s birthday also falls on 7th Nov
. She turned 10 yesterday. yes, you are right, after preparing the exams, then comes the results and then the post mortem.. haha..
There were some ridiculous, hypothetical questions in the Science paper that my ang got to write in to ask the teacher and HOD. Somemore, there's no parent teacher meeting to clarify anything! The meeting is only after SA1..

We drove up to Desaru on thurs, came back on friday. Went for the firefly tour and caught some with our hands, so interesting! Ate ostrich meat and ostrich egg omelette. Then the kids went wild in the quiet hotel pool.

Hee.. reena, We don't stay in landed property, we are just HDB dwellers ;)... No, we don't stay with my out-laws, cos my MIL is very domineering. I just take things easy, night time then will fold clothes, sometimes, the clothes stay half a day in the washing machine before they see daylight.. haha..
When my kids squabble, I ask them to go inside the room, close the door, settle it, make up and don't bring it up again. Else when the policewoman intervenes, they get the ROD! Not easy tho, bringing up little ones requires lots of hard work, but I just pray that they'll have teachable hearts.. Sometimes I get so burned out, and just go down to the kopitiam alone for a breather..

Husk, Saw lots of sea coconut in the market recently, going to cook it with corn and pork ribs tonight. Hope your baby is ok now.. The weather is turning cold.

Cooking mee sua with sliced batang and fishballs for lunch.

Huskie, hope you feeling better now.

Joy, after collected the paper already done the post mortem.. but see how he answer those question, really make me vomitt blood!
I ask dh, not sure if is a right move to quit and stay at home to coach him.
He asked me to be patient.. maybe i expect too much

Pai seh miss your post last week, hope you guys had a good party.

Reena, oic.. hehe i find man don't really like vineger leh.
Try putting lesser of the apple cider and cook with pork, i still find with pork it taste better

Thanks for the info on creative O, i so scare no more seat left, initially thinking of going down to register on Thursday as DH will be on leave, can go together.
But later can't tahan, i woke up in mid night go toilet then start to think if can't get it how? so on wednesday i go register liao. Haha.. so silly me hor?

Now got to give the current child care center one month notice. Still thinking when to break the news.
The teacher is not that bad, but maybe is the system... anyway i just hope ds2 can adapt to create O.

my ds2 is really depend on his 'wind', sometime he seems dun know alot of thing, but that day he was drawing on the white board and start to write A, B, C etc...
Not all of them, but he was able to write, at first i see he can only trace the letter.
But he still can't read from A to Z clearly.
Maybe i worry too much

btw i just got the call from Poly clinic they have schedule the appointment for my ds2 to see the speciliast 10 Jan 2011. Wah piang like seeing King like that got to wait so long.

Oh,so Confucius Institute is near Buona Vista MRT station, just behind MOE, hehe my previous office at Fusionopolis nearby too.
let me know how is it, cos i just stop my ds1 from nafa, since he is not that keen after one year.
thinking of using the same time slot for chinese enrichment for him.

so what happen to the 2B math? did u get a new one thot i was missing?

i think that happen to all working mom, always feel guilty.

choc, your trip sounded fun, can touch firefly... but how my two ds scare of flies, mosquitoes, dun know if they see the firefly will scream and struggle and drop to the water...
u guys go by boat right?

Was sharing this joke with some of them about my ds drawing.

The two boys were drawing on the white board.
DS1 look at ds2 drawing and say 'oh didi draw a monster, i also want to draw'.

Then i look at ds2's drawing, obviously not something you can figure out, so i ask him waht is that ?

Shouldn't have ask, cos he answer me " i draw mommy."
faintzzzz

choc06
Tomolo is my girl actual birthday.She celebrated in advance but that was her chinese birthday actually.

Littlecat
I think there are many factors when a child taking exam.External and internal.I learnt it this YEAR.No matter how well we prepared a kid, there sure to be some little surprised here and there.Just like this year, my girl surprised me with both math and science.One up and one down.So, to me, as long as exam, the surprised is not a big one, just move on.

Yesterday, during the party, my sil, who is not very educated, commented that why, so many kiasu parents, every kid here is going to be a director or somebody is it?Next, point to me, look at you, you also ended up as stay at home mum.I kept quiet, I guess she is stress, cos lately, sold her five room flat and upgrade to a mansion flat and ended up overestimated the cash out....so now, holidays trip also need to pay later.That is go first, come back then pay.

Eh cat, the firefly tour is by boat. Very interesting, won't drop into water.. LOL.. my 2 yr old even wore a life jacket and looked like a penguin! The guide caught the fireflies and gently put them into the kids' hands. I was so afraid they would crash the flies. End up, dd2 wanted to ta pow the flies back. Had to tell her to let them go. Then in the ostrich farm, we saw one ostrich laying egg, it was a rare chance, one of the workers got to sit on its back, talk to it and asked it to "give a big push", haha..

cat, my ds3 also doesn't know how to write from A to Z.. Right now, I just concentrate on reading storybooks and speak more Mandarin to him. Don't be discouraged to stay at home k, give them and yourself some more time and I'm sure your kids will appreciate you being around them when they need you. My dd is rather quiet, until one day, she told me,"Ma, thank you for staying at home, I can talk to you when I'm home!", Was surprised, but the sweet feeling can't be described. It took her 10 years later to say that..

Eh joy, I always get those unkind comments(like your sil) from friends and relatives too
, haiz.. don't bother a them k. As long as we know what we are doing, our angs are supportive of us, that's enough. Tell them ya lor, who knows they are the next president, or director.. haha.. I heard from my friend about a couple of doctors who are SAHM, ferrying their kids to and fro from top schools and enrichment classes.. Was surprised when my friend shared this with me. Yes, agree with you, at home they can do their revision well or not, and doing the exams in schools, will be a different story.. Told them I don't want to have heart attack if they 'surprise' me too much

Reena, hehe.. you are not alone, I found K2 books still sitting on the bookshelf of my dd2 who is p2.. Told them if they forget to bring textbooks to school, they have to answer to their teachers, and if teachers call me,hmm...

Just sharing a tip:
Don't know if you like to try this. I have a h/w diary for both my dds. Those little diaries from insurance agents. I write down their daily revision they have to complete, then award a sticker for work completed. Also award for neatness, handwriting, clean tables, being helpful to sibs, etc.. And be generous with the stickers. For bad behaviour, I'll remove a sticker. Then after 10 stickers, they get a little treat like bubble tea, french fries, nice ice cream etc.. So far, it worked.. haha.. but dunno how long this will last.

For work, if they are not sure, I'll sit down beside them in the kitchen(while I prepare and cook) for a while,sometimes, they just need some guidance and re-assurance.
My hb and I can't agree with Alan Yip's way of teaching, haha.. cos his methods don't work for my kids. After listening to his talks on radio, my ang says he gets more confused!

Husk, I froze the sea coconuts and found that they taste just as fresh and good when cooked;)

I am all well now, just left with a bit of itchy cough. This virus is really evil - my whole throat feels like it's on fire all the time and I didn't eat proper food for the whole weekend. Just fruits and water and medicine.

Reena,
Thanks for info on Chinese wine.
I made my ice cream - strawberry cookies flavour. It's too creamy for my liking, but dh finds it OK, and dd loves it probabaly cos it's just ice cream!
How long can we keep the ice cream?

I hope dd will be ok with Creative-O. She's really attached to her current teacher, and I am already working on trying to prepare her that next year she is going to a big girl school with big girl teacher.

Choc,
Isn't it monsoon season in Desaru now?

Eh, my hubby says Tampines is like the "seahub" of SG where you can find the sea coconuts huh?
I tried Ghim Moh market, Clementi market... all don't have. Finally one uncle told hubby that Thailand got flood so no sea coconuts. How does Tampines get its supply?!

If I next see them, I'm gonna buy 3 packs and freeze them!

LittleCat,
Let's try and meet up during the school hols, then your ds1 and my dd can go to school together next year!

HELLO! Where's everyboday? Very quiet zzzing ?
hehehe..

Husk, I bought the sea coco from sheng shiong. And also bought the dried ones in packet from a dried goods stall in bedok. Boiled the sea coconut with corn and it was very tasty.

It's not monsoon season in Desaru now leh.. We drove up and reached there in 2 hrs. It's so ex to travel by ferry!

I made the steamed moist choc, it's not really like awfully choc, more dense compared to awfully's. It's a good recipe if you thinking of covering it with fondant. Ya, it's a little like sara lee's pound cake.. I also added a bit of instant coffee powder to enhance the chocky taste
You can half the portion and make it into cupcakes too;)

Anyone has a contact for handyman to repair fridge? I don't want to find fm yellow pages, don't know if they are trustworthy not. My fridge just konked out.

huskie,
the steamed moist choc cake is soft and moist but nothing like awfully chocolate, it's abit heavy/dense.

Reena,

Sometime its more worthwhile to get a new fridge, dep on how old is your fridge.My sil repaired the fridge and ended up spoilt again, so get a brand new one.

Lately, while hand over my condo, I actually leave my medium size fridge behind cos no one wants it.

Choc ,reena,
Thanks for review on choc cake. May try it as cupcake one of these days.

Reena,
Sorry I don't have fridge repairman contact. But if you do find a reliable one, do share with us so I can standby the contact.

Choc,
I went to sheng siong but cannot find sea coconut. Found a dried hoods store at Chong pang today that sells it but it costs $16 for 1 liang! Too steep so I didn't buy.

Joy,
You moved recently? Is it to somewhere near your dd's school too?,

Huh husk?! 16 for a liang? I bought mine for 5 leh.. maybe mine is the land coconut instead of sea coconut..

That day went to bugis st where they sell dried goods and herbs, saw them selling pre packed zhi ke tang with dried sea coconut strips inside.. think less than 10 bucks nia.. You may want to go there to take a look?

Reena, so sorry too, don't have the contact for fridge repair, ya, agree with joy, maybe more worthwhile if get a new one? I think my 2 door LG fridge also going to die soon from me stuffing it. This fridge I bought for around 900 or less since 2006.

My ang s in Vietnam this week and I m on OMO mode.. did lots of steaming and soupy stuff..

Choc,
Yeah, price of sea coconut is crazy yeah? It was put in those glass jar together on the same shelf as bird's nest, so definitely not cheap!

Will check out Bugis if I go there.

Eh, 2-door fridge so cheap? I always thought they are $2k+. I'm a cheapskate... bought my Bosch for only $860 in 2003, and already grumbling :p

hey Ladies,
What have you all been cooking?

Few days ago, I made this Pork Riblets Braised with Fermented Red Bean Curd (http://www.houseofannie.com/pork-riblets-braised-fermented-red-bean-curd/)
Taste yummy, but dh says too salty and heaty (??)
Anyway, it's quite a fair bit of work so today I just marinated pork ribs with the doufu ru + sesame oil + pepper and grilled it.
DH says it's super yummy.

Doufu ru is also great as a marinate for chicken wings then grilled in oven... read from Little Teochew's blog and tried it. DH likes it too.

Today also made gobo soup, drumstick leaves, pork trotter vinegar and strawberry heart jelly

Reena,
I went for a parent dialogue session for N2 at C-O yesterday. Was very impressed and am quite excited about dd starting school there.
Love the fact that it's a very Chinese school - hope dd can cuild a strong foundation in her Chinese language there.

Thanks for recommendation!

Can I ask if you cane/beat your kids?
I know the new age child-rearing techniques do not beat kids... I actually feel bad when I do (which is not often though, probably about two or three times since dd was born till now 3+yo).

Can share some of your disciplinary techniques? esp. when kids throw tantrums for no reason?

Hehe Husk, i do cane my kids, after which i'll tell them the reason for caning, and the action that they have done is not acceptable. I usually give 2 warnings unless it's something very mean they have done. Like once, ds purposely grabbed dd2's things and threw it far far away! Then he got the rod from me immediately. Sometimes, i do a "time-out", like snatching toys, not sharing etc.. Then they go stand at a corner for 10 mins. Many times after disciplining them, I'll ask them the reason for the punishment, and that they'll have to say "sorry" to the 'offended party'.

dd3(2 yrs old) has thrown tantrums for no reasons and also got the time out by sitting on the bed, crying until she stops, then I'll carry her. If she keeps coming down from the bed, I'll tell her she can go sleep and no more playing.

Just sharing my 2 cents worth, and I'm still learning along with these kids;)

Have a great day!

Also forgot to add, praise EVERY effort for good thing they have done, like finish meals on time, keeping toys etc.. It acts as a positive re-inforcement for good behaviour;)

Today's dinner: fenge soup, steam(ang sai1) fish, fry silverfish and ladies finger, baked beans and tomatoes.. quite boring tho..

Hi choc,
Thanks for sharing disciplinary action! Now I don't feel so bad beating her with ruler :p. I do wish I don't have to resort to that, but no choice, sometimes she is tired and throws unreasonable tantrums till she lies flat on the floor!

Ds at 13 months has a worse temper. He will pull jie jie's hair if he is not happy about something. Sometimes I dread to think what he'll grow up to be like if this behavior continues.

Tonight making a stir fried chicken for kids, hong zao chicken for myself, stir fried spinach with willow mushrooms and a fenge, corn and chi Xiao dou soup.

Has anyone of you tried the cordyceps chicken? Saw it the other day at ntuc going at promo price of 13.80, normal 16plus. Bought one and made soup with the enclosed soup pack. Pretty good! The chicken in it can be a meal gor the family.