Child Adoption

hi everyone n a big hello 2 the new frens who hv joined us! So nice 2 hv more mummies 2 learn from n journey with.

Re; local adoption. Itz difficult cos of a long waitlist but it happened quickly 4 my HB's colleague. He got in touch with MCYS 2 update his HSR then while in the process, the officer managed 2 match him with a newborn bb girl. So it does happen. So Dimpyteddy, No harm putting yr name with all the shelters in S'pore n with MCYS as well.

Rossie, so tactless lah yr massues. She probably noes u very well thatz why so frank is it? But itz grt 2 hear u hv adopted another boy! Wonderful! how old is #1?

Rehdeer, I teared when I first read that book! Definitely a gd book 2 buy.

My dd is finally all better! Praise God! She n we had a crummy 1st xmas cos she had loose stools n very bad diaper rash. PD said she had a yummy virus. Her loose stools was acidic so burned her buttock area. altho we took care 2 change diapers frequently, applied Desitin it got worse n became a fungal infection. got another cream fr pd n that has helped n she isn't in pain anymore. Praying she stays well.

Here's wishing everyone n their families a fantastic 2010 blessed with health n provisions.

Happy New Yr to all mummies and mummies to-be.

Iwantitvmuch, babylove80, Blesswbaby, dkirsten
Thank you so much for your support and encouragement. Couldn't reply earlier as the my second baby was down with bronchlitis and has to warded in the hospital. I've given a great thought. I'll continue with my masseur service as she is always spot on at detecting anything amiss with my tummy. For example, she could detect my colleague having a cyst which the doctor could not locate at first. There are many other instances with me and a check with doctor is also spot on. I guess I agree that she is looking at it from the older generation angle. I am going to take it as a strong point that will shape my way of educating and moulding the children such that 'what was commented by her' will not come true. I am having a wonderful time bonding with my second son who is very alert although he's only two months and ten days old.

Hi dimpyteddy,
Both of mine were throught local adoption. First was after a home study by MCYS. The second one was unplanned. There's no harm in placing your name with the family service centre. Ultimately, if it meant to be yours, it will be. Good luck.

Hi Yuli,
My first one is 5 years old. Toggling with the idea for quite sometime but decided to have a boy so that my first one will have a friend. My sis has three girls. So another girl will mean no friend for my son.

Rossie,
oh my, I hope ur lil one is feeling better. How long more will he be in hospital? It's good that you are thinking objectively. If she is a good masseur, and knows how to massage you then you should continue. I think most of us, did not like the advice she was giving you. That's all
. THe future is ours to create, and how we do have control on how we bring up our kids. I do get worried about my lil boy, but I just keep praying for guidance and I have friends who give me good advice. I believe in the masseur's skill, but I think there should be limits to conversations you have with her for the sake of your wellbeing.

Btw Ladies,
Did I mention that I will be going to MCYS on the 6th to get my bb's dependents pass. I am so happy!!!

Rossie,
HOpe your boy getting better. I also agreed with the ladies, just ignore what your masseur point of view. My friend also disagreed with my adoption plan, keep pestering me for answer why I want to adopt....

Babylove,
Congrats! I'll also be going to get bb's dependents pass on Monday....

Yuli, did PD mentioned wat causes the Yummy virus?
Hope your dd recover soon.

Happy new year to all. Have been busy these few days with my mum & aunty birthday celebration. And also just bring my girl for her vaccination. Whew....very tired. Lucky this vaccination her fever only last a day. She's back to herself again sticking to me. Haha

Rossie,
How's your son? Prayed that he had recovered.

Yuli,
Glad to know yr dd is well & her smiling self again.

sorry I have not been able to log in over the week end as I was in Malaysia. Thanks for all the wishes and thanks for being there for me last year. Don't know how I would have survived without all of you! Especially yuli and blesswbb when I was waiting for my little boy! I am really happy that we have found each other and shared our journey together.

Elle,
I know how you feel! But the wait is definitely worth it! Just hang in there!

Otherwise, dr suggested that I changed to soya based milk for my boy as he may be allergic to cow milk as he has lots of rashes/eczema. It is still to early to tell whether the soya based milk is better for him for his skin but he was constipated for almost 2 days. He was crying in pain. We had to buy glycerin to help him pass motion. I hope it will get better. Wondering whether I should change to another soy based milk.

It is great that our group is growing!

Dream, hang in that w the soy milk. My baby had constipation for no reason the other day. So, my MIL told me to feed her 1 teaspoon of gripe water and 1 teaspoon of hot water. I fed her with the bottle on empty stomach. Once at night and once in the morning and she poo one hr later! Try it nx time.

dream,
soya based milk will cause constipation. Hang in there till he is 4mth plus...then u can give him fruit juice or puree to help in his constipation.

iwantitvmuch,
direct feeding of gripewater? Gripewater is abit hot...i add it in lukewarm water and give my girl every morning...and yes it helps her poo...especially since she started taking semi solid food.

I have to rush this! Just returned from KL on the 2nd.It has been a mad rush eversince. My computer and internet is not up yet so I'm at my mum's place using my brother's computer. And he is waiting to use it right about now! So I'll be brief!

My interview went well. The SW, Wei Lei had no issues with us. It was more of a sharing session and I learnt so much from her. As I had expected, I embarassed myself by crying when she probed about the the ivfs and miscarraiges. I think my home visit will be in 2 weeks time.

My house is still not ready yet. There are some touch ups and some unpacking. A big Hello to the newcomers. I breezed through your posts.

My brother is badgering me. I will drop by again when i visit my mum or when my computer is up, whichever is earlier. Take care all of you and good luck.

Iwantitvmuch and blesswbb,
thanks for advice. Did not know that gripe water could work as I thought it is only for colic. Would try it next time. Otherwise it may be good to keep some glycerin suppository in the fridge as you never really know when it is needed.

Janella,
great to hear from you. Getting closer! You must be so excited!

BlesswBB, the gripewater is mixed with hot water. but in that bottle, it will be lukewarm. not hot anymore.

Today, my MCYS interview went from 430pm to 745pm!! The SW was sharing abt her experiences of other adoptive child(who are older) and many stories. While I appreciated her stories, I feel that she side track TOO MUCH! Hubby and I were so exhausted. She had to find supportive reasons for me choosing my hubby's older sister as guardian as she's single. I chose her over my brothers and their wives because they all have children and as my brothers will ultimately not be the caregiver but their wives, I don't think they will have time for my child as they have their own beloved children. LIke Harry Porter wasn't well taken care by his uncle. i know example is abit funny. But my hubby's sister really love baby and she used to help me MIL babysit a few children at a time. And she has a good job and is financially sound and can retire too.

Anyway, I feel that this final interview is very taxing, much more than Touch's. I never heard BlesswBB and Yuli complained but I really find it very redundant and tired me out so much. I'll share it more w u when we gather. Lucily, baby was very good the entire 4 hours! It's like she knows someone is 'interviewing' daddy and mommy and was on her best behaviour. I held her the first half an hour and hubby held her the 2nd half hour b'cos we just fed her and don't want her to lie down. Thereafter, she played by herself for 1.5 hr w/o the maid. NOt sure she fell asleep but after that 1.5 hr, she was awake and playing by herself for another hour b4 I pick her up. Picking her up was my way to tell the SW that she shld end her interview!
SW was so impressed with baby. Thank God!

I feel so unfair that we have to prove so much just b'cos we are adopting while there are so many lousy parents out there! I just hv to console myself that this is easier than carrying the baby for 9 months and the labour pain.

iwantitvmuch,
wow...yr interview sound like u went thru a marathon haha...mine only took us abt 2hrs. The SW din not pressurise us much. He just went thru our report and confirmed certain things. That is y i did not complain it.

We so happy...this Friday our girl will be legally ours...we collecting her BC...yeah!!!

Hi Iwantitvmuch,
It's really very long interview. I tot that after Touch interviews, the next hme interview by MCYS will be shorter and much more relax... Phew,at least your interview when out smoothly, you're next steps to your dd's BC...

Blesswbb,

Janella, All the best for your coming home interview!

iwantitvmuch, I think we might have had the same MCYS officer for our home interview! Mine was even longer, from 4pm to 8pm! We were all tired and hungry when it was finally over. She was very thorough and asked many questions. Had the same feelings as you that we had to go through such a tough time and so much work when we're so ready to be parents, when others had it the easy way out, especially when we had to gather documents again and again - the latest document slips, the latest employment letter, the latest everything. But at the end of the day, when you hold the baby, it's all so worth it. Hang in there!

BlesswBB, congrats! It's one big milestone, getting the birth cert. When we collected our son's birth cert at ICA in October, the ICA officer told us he was the 300th adoptive child to be issued with birth cert this year, oops I mean last year (2009)!

Rehdeer, I PS u the name of the officer. 4 hrs??!! Wow, u win. Yes, we were so tired after that. 300th?? Wah, a lot of babies hor.
Ladies, are u all joining Touch TAFNET??

hi ladies, can i check with you if the interview with MCYS is done at your residence or at MCYS office... 4 hours is really a long time! My goodness, we already have to go through the HSR and finally after we have gotten the child, they still subject us to such scrutiny.

Hi, just dropping into this thread. I was actually really encouraged to read all your adoption stories and so excited for each new family.

We have had two IVF cycles and both have ended with miscarriages, one only very recent. We are taking some time off to rest and pray about what to do next, but are seriously considering adopting as well.

The only problem is I will be 35 only this year and my HB is 2 years younger than me. Furthermore, we've only been married 2 years as of Dec 09. With my current fertility issues, even the doctor recommended adoption yesterday during the visit. I wonder if we would qualify as all the requirements seem to be for couples married 3 years and above, or would we have to wait? Greatly appreciate any help or advice

strawberrysusu, welcome to the thread. Sorry about your IVF cycles. At least you conceived through the IVF cycles. i didn't even have a positive sign!
Just want to tell you that you are very young at 35 and has a young marriage too. Don't give up trying yet, if you can still afford the time and money for IVF. Continue trying naturally too.
After going through the long interview in my final interview with the MInistry(hence, so jaded), I just want to warn you that if you are still young in your marriage, they might still think that you haven't waited or try long enough. But as long as you can justify and say that you have no issues with adoption and will treat the baby the same as your own(if you conceive eventually), it should be fine.
warning too, if you adopt so quickly, friends and relatives might be surprise more than supportive because they might think that you only married for 2 years only. So, you have to say something which also shut them up too. Maybe say that you had enough of 'invasive treatments'.

Strawberrysusu,
Welcome to the thread and congrats on your decision to adopt. I know how you feel as I have only been married for 2 years too. This was initially brought up by our assessor during our office interview. To be honest, I did not know that there was a criteria for how long a coupke should be married for. But we had our reasons for going through with adoption. Our chances of conceiving was too low, therefore we decided to not wait any longer and 'waste' money and emotions. I got a letter from my gynae listing the probs we were both having, and she fully supported our decsion to adopt. I am sure you can get your gynae to write you a letter too. Don't worry about age. I am 29, and my hubby is 38. You are never too young to adopt if your heart is at the right place.

We are just so happy that we have a bb now. We are so blessed. Why not just start, because the time you will take to gather the documents plus the waiting time after submitting, will be in total 3-6 months. You might just have a little one in your arms for your next anniversay.

And, yes there were a lot of surprised reactions. Friends and relatives felt that it was their jobs to pry, and some felt they should 'advise' us. But, in the end they get it. I have some friends/family, who do not have children, and have been trying for years. I don't want to be like them in the end. I know I wanted to have a baby, and that being a mother is only a natural thing to me. But you know, in the end, everyone is supportive. It will take time for you and hubby to adjust to the questions, but practice makes perfect, and it's important to screen what you say to them.

I hope this will help you in your decision. Do keep in touch with us.

Blesswbb,

Ops, I forgot to congratulate you. Congrats!!! I am so happy for you. What a great start to the year!

I collected my dependents pass yesterday. I was just sooo happy. Now it's the tedious process of filing the adoption petition. One hurdle after another.

Iwantitverymuch,
I got nervous as I read your thread. I understand your emotions, and agree that we are put through so many tests as adoptive parents. I really pray that in 5-10 years time, adoptive parents don't have to go through what we go through, and that they will be given almost the same benefits as natural parents.

Back in my mum's house typing this. My computer is still not set up yet.As usual I have to rush.

My home visit will be on 11th January! I'm having goose pimples already knowing that it's getting closer.Our house is not fully furnished yet but we'll have to make do.

Only after I get the report, will I notify Alice as we still have to prepare our house.

Elle

I'll be joining you in this waiting game soon. Hope you'll get a call soon from Alice and before you know it, your bundle of joy will be in your arms soon.

Iwantitvmuch

So happy to hear about your baby bonding with you so well. I just can't wait for my turn .

I have just joined TOUCH TAFNET. Are you planning to join as well?.I have also requested to be in their Small Home Groups.

Can't believe your interview took so long! I can understand how tired you all were. And I totally agree with you. So many lousy parents out there and they have it so easy!

Rossie, Rehdeer and Strawberrysusu, let me shout a big welcome to you.

Strawberrysusu, I truly understand your pain. But I also agree with Ivantitvmuch's and Babylove's views. Keep an open mind and be prepared for the onslaught of nosy questions and unwanted advice from people. Adoption is a journey and there are so many challenges ahead of us. We will find ourselves 'growing' as we go along.

Babylove

I didn't know you were so young! I feel like a granny already. You know, I've been so inspired by you and the advice you give!

Wah, babylove, u super young leh. I pushing 40 already!
Congrats on the DP! Yah lah, more documents to collate....

Welcome Strawberrysusu! I also went thru IVF, 3 cycles n 1 miscarriage. I was just catching up on the posts and looking at my dd at the same time and realise that if not for the failed IVFs, I wouldn't have her now.......I'm not glad I couldn't conceive but I'm glad my infertility journey led me to my dd

Blesswbb, congrats!!! Won't yr dd be exactly 6 mths this Friday?! how cool! Her 6th mth bday present is her BC
I got my dd's BC exactly on her 5th mth and was hoping she'll get her citizenship on her 6th mth but haven't heard a squeek from ICA yet up till now

Iwantitvmuch - marathon session huh? Mine was also quite long but not as long.

re: documents collation - just want to add to what iwantitvmuch said abt having to collate documents again. Ladies in the process, please keep all your documents together after your HSR is completed (ie, don't file them back, if you normally file them in separate files, eg: IRAS forms, CPF forms etc.) cos you will need to produce those documents again and again.....esp documents like yrs and hb's BC, marriage cert and they are always asking for the latest payslip......

Janella, what are small home groups?

I was also thinking of joining TAFNET initially but after I found this forum and our group, I am now in two minds abt whether to join or not.

Poop question - sorry ah, I'm always asking these questions! My dd had a bad bout of loose stools that lasted abt 1.5weeks. That cleared and she's all ok. BUT now, her stools are hard! like they come out in a solid tube (sorry) instead of a paste........does this mean she's constipated. The only change in her diet is I have transitted her to Stage 2 formula milk (1scoop stage1 and 1scoop stage2) for the last 4 days. I am trying to give her more water (plain as well as mixed with gripewater). Does anyone know if I can give her prune juice? or if I should give her prune juice or just wait out a few days. Today is the first time she's giving me these solid tubes and she's 6mths next Mon. help?

Hi, ignore my poop qn cos 2hrs after that solid tube like poop, she gave me A LOT of pasty poop! The solid poop was kinda like a plug I think! I will still up her water intake, just in case the Stage 2 formula is too heaty.

Re: Swimming. For mummies who have brought bbies for a swim, what do we put the girls in? Swimming costume and a swim diaper? or just swimming costume can already? I wanna bring her to a pool but haven't bot any swim wear yet! Wonderin if a baby wet suit is better so it's not so cold? but those are expensive right? and they outgrow stuff so fast!

Thank you all for your wonderful support and encouragement. We know we are only at the start and right now just being open to all the possibilities. Will need to do more reading and pray if this is where God wants us to go, we believe He will open the doors for us.

In many senses, I can identify with babylove - we just know we want to start a family and to have children to love, which is why I went ahead so early with fertility treatment as we knew we'd have issues. I know I need to take time to grieve our recent loss and also am more concerned about how the adopted children will feel esp when they grow older, issues about their identity, etc, which we have to help them answer.

Could I ask if all of you used Lotus agency? We will prob be attending the TOUCH pre-adoption workshop in Feb.

Strawberry, I used Lo tus, thanks to the good feedback by Yuli and BlesswBB and Dream. I don't want to advertise for Lo Tus. To be fair to other agents, do look around and speak to the rest. See who you are comfortable with.
Don't be discourage by the difficulties to be parents. God will bless us in other wayssss. I''m proud of you that you are so strong and continue to trust God.

Yuli, good question on swim suit!! I just bought one yesterday! at the wet market at marine parade, there's a stall selling baby and toddler clothings. only for $15, for a gambouree brand, I think. It has a 'proofing' for poo. I didn't buy diaper which I saw at mothercare. I don't think she will poo in the pool lah. I saw some suit with foams attached and some suit but I think very 'kua zhang'. LIke you say, v expensive and they out grown. I spent so much since baby arrive, so I won't buy. I'm on a look out for floats. DOn't know go where and buy. My hubby was very jealous and told me cannot bring baby to the pool without him cos he wants to see her play for the first time. hee hee

Just got home from work, and saw a letter from ICA. Yay! My baby got his citizenship, finally! This probably completes the long adoption process. Next we'll get his passport and apply for baby bonus. And now we can start to enjoy infant care and FDW levy subsidies!

Strawberry, other than Lotus, there is also this Joyful adoption agency.

For swimming, I used a Konfidence wetsuit on my boy. http://www.konfidence.com.sg/

Hi Rehdeer,
Congratulations on the Citizenship!

Thanks for suggesting the wetsuit brand. We must all think alike, as I am figuring which school to send my bb for swimming lessons. He did not like the one at Baby spa, and cried most of the time, so I think something more freestyle would be more enjoyable for him.

Strawberrysusu,
Mine was Amman Adoption Services. The agent has mainly indian and malay babies, and I think also Chinese babies.

Janella,
So good to hear from you. It must be a really busy time for you. Good luck with the Home interview.

seems a lot of things happening this week!

Blesswbb, you must be excited to collect her birth certificate tomorrow. I am dreaming of this day!

Babylove, youpie! Dependent pass! That was fast.

Iwanitvmuch, glad that your home interview is over and you are in the final lap!

Janella, lots of packing and unpacking! New house=new start. I am so excited. Seems like everything goes as per your planning!

Rehdeer, congrats on this milestone!

Strawberrysusu, welcome to the thread. The journey is not easy but definitely worth it. Can't imagine my life without my little prince.

Yuli, what a relief that your girl s poo is back to normal. I also really get very worried when his stool changes. I think it is normal that her stool changed since the nutrition is different in stage 2. Otherwise, seems like babylove is our young but matured mummy!

Elle, hope you receive good news from alice soon.

I hope I have not forgotten anybody! I really miss this forum during the day! My girl is now in morning school and I am exhausted! She is taking her bus at 6:30!

thx for the link babylove. saw that too. we saw one at kiddy hypermart - cybex. still thinking abt it.

sweetcl05, iwantitvmuch, dream, janella - thanks for comforting me. I tell myself alice is trying her best. Anyway for now, I go shopping and feeling like ATM buying all the bb stuffs. haha

iwantivmuch - thx dear. no lah. it is the holidays seasons - xmas n ny so mayb taking longer. I like your desc on the wait. haha.
wah, reading ur mcys interview. it must be mentally exhausting. same same as rehdeer. 3-4 hours !!! Good to know and I know what to expect on the duration. On the bright side, the interview is completed and you will get your BC! Looking fwd to your good news !

yuli - glad that bb is ok now. Looks like the poo is really impt to understand how's bb is doing.

rossie - agree with babylove. i am sure she meant well but sometimes not many people are sensitive and understd how and what we are going through. How's ur no. 2 ? I hope he has recovered.

congrats - babylove and sweetcl on the dependent pass. next step is the interview !

blesswbb - congrats. girl girl is yours
haha, sticky to u. remind me of koalabear

janella - good to know the interview went well. all the best to the home interview ya.

hehe, i join you lah janella - granny club. babylove is young !
It is good to start the family while young and energetic. I was at my friend's house and after 1 hr of playing catch with their 2 kids (2 yrs and 5 yrs) I am already tired liao while they are still so full of energy and want MORE !

strawberrysusu - welcome welcome. It is a good start to attend the pre-adoption talk from Touch to understand and help you. I attended the pre-adoption talk but I decided on adoption 1 year later when I am ready. Like wat iwantivmuch suggested, call the rest of the agents to see who you are comfortable with. Me lazy only called 2 agents - Lotus and Joy. I decided on Lotus as friends here used Alice and I am more comfortable with Alice. Plus I stay near Alice.

congrats rehdeer ! this is a great milestone ! i hope to get there soon too but must wait for bb to come home

iwantitvmuch, is the swimsuit you got a wet suit or a swimming costume? If it's a wet suit, would it be possible to help me get it and I pick it up from you on Sun? That's if you are going to be at the marine parade wet market again - if not, then nevermind.

rehdeer, yay! The process is finally finally complete! How long did it take to get the citizenship, after you got his BC?

Strawberrysusu, absolutely, definitely pray about it. I know and trust that God will open the doors and guide you through. I called Joyful and Lotus and finally settled on Lotus.

yuli, got his birth cert on 23 October, applied for citizenship on the same day, and finally got his citizenship on 7 Jan.

Was told the process would take about 3-4 months. We wrote in to appeal that they expedite his application, but because of year-end holiday period, end up still took so long as I guess most officers were on leave.

Ellebaby, hope you hear from Alice soon. Isn't it exciting time doing those shopping! :D I just bought some CNY clothes for my boy from the bulk purchase section here.

ellebaby,
Alice came to my place last week and i have asked Alice on your behalf regarding your bb...Alice said she will call u next week as she just recovered from her sprain. She has not travelled to Malaysia for sometime due to the sprain. Don worry your bb on her way.

Yuli,
Did u try callin ICA? i believed u are given a few no to call and check with them on your dd citizenship statue. If u don have i can give u the nos. to call. ICA officer said if u need the citizenship urgently for some reason u can also call them.

iwantitvmuch,
i still put on the swim diaper for my dd as my girl can poo anytime anywhere. She don hv a specify time to poo.

congrats rehdeer for your dd.

Strawberrysusu, welcome to this thread. We'll encourage each other in this thread, I'm so happy our group is expanding.

My dd got slight fever after her vaccination. she took the 6in1 and rotavirus... her fever went up and down for 2 days, yest we gave her medicine prescribe by PD when her temp reach 37.6 and she's much better now.
Yest when I fed my dd medicine, the medicine was too thick and she got choke and vomited some milk and some milk came out of her nose, she look so uncomfortable and I was so lost and panic. (I almost wanted to cry out) It was a relief that she's much better today.
These few days I got flu and cough, so afraid that I might spread to her.

sweetcl05, so young, no tips leh. if it doesn't get better and she has nasal congestion, then have to see doc. You have to monitor the next few days. My baby was having nasal congestion at week 6. She was given the inhaler for a week plus. The congestion and phlegm took a while but cleared eventually.
Think at one month, 6-in-1 might be too strong for her. But don't worry, it's quite normal.

Elle, I also spoke to Alice. She was so busy with personal matters and didn't go to Malaysia but will get to it soon. You will probably get a baby born at the beginning of the year.

Today, I brought baby for swimming. Yuli, mine is not a wet suit. I only got a swimming costume. BlesswBB, yours is a costume too right? I decided to use normal swimming costume and hope that she get use to the cold so that she will not be afraid of cold in future. After the swimming, I held her tight and run her through a shower b'cos i was at a friend's condo. Then, I quickly changed her in the open! The sun was shinning and was a hot day, that's why i did that. I figure out that ang moh also do such things and their kids always seem more sturdy. BUt half the time, I was telling myself, I'm such a bad mother(for not keeping her warm).

SWEETCL05,
aiyo...so dangerous...did the clinic provide you with the springe? Is easier to use the springe to feed her.
As for phlegm, i cant help u much cos my girl did not give me this prob. Did u give yr girl drink water in between her milk? Try giving her water to dilute the phlegm.

iwantitvmuch,
is fun bringing yr girl for swim right? U should have covered her with towel as their lungs are not strong enough yet. Did u feed her with hot milk after that? Ya i use the normal swimming costume too.

blesswbb, iwantitvmuch, thank you so much for enquiring for me with Alice. Alice must be stressed by now with me, and you both asking her. hehe I also called her last week and she mentioned will call me when bb comes.

i decided to not think abt it. Now go work, shopping, watch movie. May go for a short holiday before bb comes.

sweetcl05, maybe can check with pd on how to get rid of dd's phlegm. Hope she get wells soon.

mummies, i want to buy the bb nail scissor but notice there are those will longer blade with round tips (combi) and shorter blade with rounded tips (pigeon). Any difference on the blades length ?

hI gErs ...

I have been given the news that my DH has no sperm due to a genetic defect of his Y chromosome.

Hence our options have now narrowed down to either donor sperm / adoption.

Any advice on where to start & how the process is like ?
Do we select the babies / its on a queue basis ??
How young can the babies be ?

Thank you for your advice. I'm midway in my HSR journey for local adoption. Can I check if its 3 referees for each husband and wife or combined? Who's vetting the doc and interviewing potential parents? My hubby worried that we wont pass the HSR. Is that possible? If so that lots of $ down the drain.

Hi Ladies!!!

Sweetclo,
It's all part of the learning process. Next time when you give bb medicine, give with syringe. Also, dispense the med along the side of the bb's cheeks. That way the med will flow to the back of bb's mouth. And give bit, by bit.

Iwantitverymuch,
How exciting!!! bb's first swim. Not to worry, I oso feel the same way. I feel that if the ang mohs can do it, definitely our bb's shoud be tough. But bb has v overprotective grandparents. I think if I told them, I will be in trouble.

Blesswbb/Dream,
How are you?

JJ,
Welcome to our thread. If you read through our previous posts, I think the most recent one is blesswbb's reply to strawberry susu http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=5&post=10030888#POST10030888. You will find most answers there.

Sweetbaby,
I am so happy for you. I think for your query, you will need to ask the Family Service centre. For TOUCH, theirs was 3 per couple, 1 of which knew both the couple.

Ellebaby,
I can understand your emotions. It's almost the same as when I was waiting to have my bb in my arms again. It's good to see that you are preparing. It's as if you are nesting
. Regarding bb scissors, I bought the one with the rounded tip. But I think for the first 3 mths, no need to cut nail, as bb's nails are soft and would come off themselves. Also, if u use mittens, that will protect your bb's hands. I feel their hands are just too tiny and too closed to cut nails.

Oh yes, and ladies last weekend, hubby and I took bb back to M'sia to visit the nanny. It was painfully nostalgic for me, as the memories of the past 4 mths came flooding back to me. I remembered how each weekend was a struggle for me, and how exhausted I was by the time Mon drew. I hope that time will heal the scars of the past 4 mths. Can't wait for bb to get his birthcert.

Hi JJ,
Welcome to the thread. U can go to MCYS website on adoption to find out more on the requirement. U need to start of by submitting your HSR report. HSR report are done by some adoption service centre eg TOUCH, Fei Yue and etc (MCYS website will tell u more)
As for 2nd qn, most of us here din really select...the baby chose us...or should i say is GOD decide the baby parents. For queue basis will depend on which agent or whether u looking for foreign/local babies. Most of our babies here are brought home when they are less than a month. My girl is in my arms when she is 9days old.

sweetbaby,
Which service centre are u applying HSR from? What do u mean by vetting the doc? U mean the baby's doc?
MCYS normally don fail those who are keen to adopt. U need to get yr HSR approved before adoption can be done so how can $ be down in the drain....unless u referring to the fees paid to the service centre. I understand they will only collect their service charge during your home interview. Once you are given with a date for home interview u will be almost there.

ellebaby,
cant help u with the nail scissor as i only used nail clipper on my girl. But i will advise u to buy the shorter blade as baby tend to move abt when u cut their nails.

babylove,
I'm fine. My dad condition is stable and is in the general ward now.

Do u have any problem bringing your son to Malaysia? Is he holding the Malaysia passport? Cos i understand from ICA officer we need to bring along out adoption court order with us if she ever travel to Malaysia.

babylove, if I tell my friend abt swimming experience, they will also scold me.
Blesswbb, yes, i did cover her with towel when we came our of the pool immediately. I think I will cut/copy your answers to JJ b'cos the questions are more or less the same. maybe we should have a FAQ.

Sweetbaby, how come you need 3 referees?? For touch, it's 2 each for husband and wife or 2 referees for both husband and wife.

Ellebaby, on the nail scissor, buy one which can cut the nail at one go. don't think it matters, long or short. Actually, i didn't buy combi or pigeon. I use one which I use to cut my cuticles. It's sharp and pointed. I usually push baby's finger tip back to reveal the nails and trim it quickly. It's very quick. I feel that scissor is better than nail clipper. You might clip the skin with the clipper. so anxious with your baby too. Hope Alice will fetch YOUR baby soon. Beside Dream, you are another one who waited so long. I'm so glad I didn't have to wait at all, else, sure 'buan tahan'!

Janella and Yuli, I'm thinking of joining TAFNET so that I can help others. Parents in TAFNET should have more experiences on disclosure. I'm going to submit my application. We have forum here but it's just a few of us. With TAFNET, we can meet more people and make use of their facilities to connect and organise play groups. u both want??