Child Adoption

HI everyone!

Blesswbb, sorry to hear yr dd had a slight knock. My dd has been arching her back, backwards very often as well and that has been scary. Lemme know how the swim goes! I got no pool here so my fren's bringing her bb boy over and we r gonna put my dd and her boy into the bathtub to play! heh heh.

Sweetclo- hope yr bb's diaper rash has cleared!

My dd hasn't been well. She started having some loose stools since late Wed evening and her butt had a slight rash. By Thurs morning, she had an angry red sore on one side of her butt, near the anus. I have been applying Desitin and she is much btr now. Still slightly red rash but at least not red and angry looking. She still has some loose stools - more like wet farts, do u know what I mean? She hasn't pooped the same amt of poop. She just poops very very little whenever she farts and each time it just stains the diaper. This has been going on since ytd about every 4hrs of so. I called the PD this morning but he said to observe for a few days til Mon cos it's only a littel and she's still active and no fever. She has a slight runny nose now. So i am going to bring her in to see the PD tomorrow morning. Thankfully, she isn't crankier than usual. Dunno what's causing this. Am just praying she will get well quickly. Sigh.

blesswbb,
So I have been using the wrong cream! May be that s why his rashes are still there! I am afraid it is too much of trouble for you to pass the cream but wondering whether you could take a picture of the tube once u have it. So, at least I know what it looks like. Now wondering whether I should stop using the cream as the pharmacist was not sure it could be applied on bb. But when I told her that it was recommended by pd, then she said it should be ok. Wondering what is the difference between the 2 creams!

Yuli
sorry to hear about your girl but as she is behaving normally, it is a good sign. Drs usually get worried when kid's are lethargic and feeling unwell. Keep us posted.

dream,
The cream that i recommended is to help protect skin from free radicals, regenerates skin protection barrier,help relieve redness in dry and sensitive skin. Wherelse the other one which is the yellow label is not (i believed you bgt the yellow label) Mine is the red label and it cost much more than the one pharmacy is selling (is abt 30plus).
I try to take a pic of it and post it in FB.

Yuli,
Have you started solid food? Or even the puree? I wanted to tell u the other day when we met...i tried giving my dd frozen vege and fruit puree..both giving my dd loose stools. I don't know whether yr dd will also be sensitive to those. My dd can only take fresh fruit and vege.
Running nose could be caused by bad weather. Try applying children Vicks on her chest. Hope she get well soon. If she still have running nose better not put her in the bathtub to play. It will get worst.
Regarding the neck float, i think will give up buying it. Both my hubby and friend discourage me from buying. Hubby said don feel safe and my friend said looks very cruel. Sigh...think will just use the normal float. Ok...if tmr weather look fine will bring her to pool. Let u know how it goes.
Looks like if my turns come, ladies can bring their babies to my place for a swim. I have a very big pool here.

Yuli,
I just remembered that when my dd is teething she also tend to loose stools and also many times. She now has a little small tooth in the lower gum. Very cute..hehe

Blesswbb, how cute! Can post pic? I wanna see! When did she teeth? I didn't see it the other day. I have a few questions re: teething, hope you don't mind answering:

When she was teething, did she
1)fuss more then usual,
2)run a temperature?,
3)what were the loose stools like? (mustard colour, very little each time?)
4)did you realise she was teething? or she was her usual self?
5)did you notice whitish stuff on her gum (before her tooth pushed through)
6) how many days of loose stool before her tooth pushed through?

Sorry ah, so many questions!

Yuli,
I wanted to take some pics of her tooth but she too how lian keep using her tongue to cover it.
I just realised she's teething on Thursday when i was cleaning her mouth and gum.
Regarding your questions:
1) She get frustrated and cry easily. Last week she cried very badly in the middle of the night twice which we don even know what happened to her.
2) Nope. Based on my mum's many experienced on kids she said babies who take GripeWater normally don run a temperature. (Hope u still continue giving her Gripwater)
3) ya..like mustard color...tend to poo more times than usual (normally she poos 2-3x a day but during teething she poos 4-5x)
4 & 5) I did realise some whitish thing on the gum last week but when i feel it, it was like just her normal gum so i tot not so fast. I didn't know until i feel a sharp feeling on her gum this week. She tend to bite anything that comes near even my hand.
6) If i'm not wrong is abt 3-4days of loose stools. Once a while she still have. Like today, she poo once of her loose stool.

I brought my girl to the pool today...haha...she cried a few times due to water to cold. After many tries she finally enjoying it.

I'm back from my holidays and caught up with your postings! Glad everyone is sill here! After a week, my baby seems bigger again. Hubby and I were so engrossed with taking care of her today after not seeing her for a week. We were on a 12 hour flight but still want to look after her today. She's still a good baby and not angry that we weren't around but she has more temper now.

Yuli, hope your dd is doing fine. maybe she's also teething soon!
Sweetcl, hope baby's bum bum is better soon. Heard u all mentioned about diapers. I still think Huggies is the best. It's thicker but I don't smell the urine. For pampers, I do smell a bit.

My baby is not starting on solid food yet. But u all seems to have a variety of recipes. I need recipes next time.

Good morning ladies ! Wishing u all an early xmas greetings !

Janella - This week is the office interview ? All the best !

Sweetcl - How's bb rashes ? Hope they have disappear and she is feeling better. Btw, is there a helper to help you take care of the bb ?

Yuli - yes, i am planning on a girl. Thx for the offer too. Tat's would be great. How's ur girl ? Mayb she is also teething.

Iwantitvmuch - welcome back !

BlessBB - How's the final hearing last friday ?

I've just moved house and am busy unpacking.

My interview is on this wednesday. Am feeling very nervous about it.

I'll be off to KL on Thursday and will be there for about a week.

So I wish to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I'll catch up with you all after I return.

iwantitvmuch, welcome back!

Elle, iwantitvmuch,
baby's rashes slightly better but still abit reddish.

Elle,
Did u call ALice again? Any baby for viewing?

iwantitvmuch,
Yr girl must have missed you both alot that's y trying to be in her best behaviour. Hehe...
Ya i think Huggies is the best too. Did u join as Huggies members? U get to enjoy their promotions and free Huggies sample.

Ellebaby,
We won't know the outcome of the hearing till we receive letters from our lawyer. We hoping to get her BC by next mth.

HI everyone,

welcome back iwantivmuch! Which Huggies do you think is the best? I have only tried Ultra comfort, haven't tried the other types. My dd on Mamypoko now and it seems pretty good too.

My dd also hasn't started on semi-solids yet - I will also be asking for recipes later

My dd has loose stools less often now - praise God BUT still has a diaper rash. PD says she has gastroenteritis (basicaly a virus in her intestines). He tapped her abdomen and said it sounds ok - not too distended (not bloated and not much wind). He said her stools can be very acidic and as such can cause diaper rash to be worse - am gonna try and air her butt more today and tomorrow (ie diaperless!) and see if the rash goes away faster. She's still very active and happy but seeing the red angry rash makes me feel heart pain for her

blesswbb, thanks for answering my qns patiently! She sounds like all that you described but I don't see any whitish stuff on her gum. I spoke to a few friends and their bbies also went thru what she's going thru without any whitish stuff on their gums then the tooth just pushed through. The PD didn't chk her gums. I don't know if she's teething or not - i just hope the loose stools stop so that her diaper rash can clear!

Ellebaby - the clothes are waiting for your bb girl

Janella - new home! how nice! Happy unpacking and happy holidays. All the best for the interview too.

Just thought I might stop by to say hi. Just finished feeding bb an hr ago and could not sleep. It has been a challenging 2-3 weeks for both bb and me. Our cot finally arrived last Fri, so I have started putting him there to sleep. Training him to sleep on his own right now. As he uses the pacifier to sleep, he wakes up crying for it, as he spits it out while he's sleeping. I did try putting 2-3 in the cot, so that he can 'pick' it, but he just cries when he wakes and does not attempt locate the pacifier. I guess it's all new to him, but I do struggle to soothe him, and put him back to sleep. He also wakes up for his 2pm feed at the moment. Trying to tweak his feeding schedule so that he can last throughout the night. I am tempted to add that pinch of baby cereal to the bottle of milk, but I keep stopping myself. Sighz...my eyes are very close to panda eyes at the moment.

Janella,
Good luck for the interview. Sounds like a very packed week for you, with the unpacking and the office interview. I am so happy for you, really. Before you know it, you will be a mum.

Sweetclo,
How is ur lil one? Glad to hear that the rashes are slowly clearing up. Welcome to the world of Baby Poop. Yellow wet paste is normal. Here are some readings.
http://www.whattoexpect.com/first-year/ask-heidi/newborn-poop.aspx
http://www.whattoexpect.com/first-year/week-9/poop.aspx

Yuli & Blesswbb,
Talking about diapers, I am thinking of switching bb to another brand. I might try huggies.

Yuli,
I hope ur lil girl's feeling better. Did the PD manage to identify the cause of her diarrhoea? Must be uncomfortable for her.

Dream,
How are you?

Sorry have not written it for a while but been reading the thread. Busy taking care of my boy and shopping for X Mas!

Yesterday, my bb really amazed me. He is getting stronger. He could hold his head while on his tummy for almost 5 minutes! but then today, it is back to the 5-10 seconds. Wondering why but I guess there are days when he is stronger and more motivated.

Janella,
It will be a busy week for you! Good luck for your interview and you are really a step closer to your dream come true.

Sweet CL,
Yep, yellow stool is normal. Hope your girl rashes clear up very fast.

Yuli,
Hope your girl recovers quickly.

Blesswbb,
Have you managed to find the cream?

Babylove,
That's what I did for my elder girl...put a few pacifier on her bed. It worked..give hiim some time and he will manage to find them.

iwantitvmuch,
How are you?

dream,
I have confirmed with the pharmacist...she said physiogel (AI cream) is only available at hospital. I'm thinking since my girl next jab is on 2nd Jan we might as well wait til then to get it from the PD.

babylove,
Think yr boy is like my girl. When the pacifier drop out they will just cry and they don even open their eyes to look around. So when u put it back into their mouth they will just go back to sleep.
Regarding diaper, u can get a sample from Huggies. I also find it better as it can last longer.

Yuli,
How's yr girl? Hope is getting better.

happy happy birthday iwantitvmuch !

sweetcl, called alice again. She mentioned she is going for 1 wk holidays with her family next week. She will give me a call when she is back. Looking forward to hear good news from her then

blessbb, BB will be officially your soon.

babylove, thx for putting the links here. it helpful info for me too.

Yuli - Good to hear she is still active. Hope ur bb recover.

Went to mothercare and saw the different milk bottle, teats, car seats, playpen (i know the list goes on) and wondering which one to get when the bb comes. I am getting a little stress out with all the different brands of bb stuffs. Any advice ?

2 more days to xmas ! Happy holidays to all of you ladies !

iwantitvmuch,
happy belated birthday! Feel the same as you for x'mas. My boy is the best present! Just need to put a ruban on him!

Blesswbb
went to unity pharmacy and the pharmacist recommended another cream with zinc content. She even said could put desitin diaper rash on his face.

Ellebaby
I am sure the wait must be very hard on you but just remember that your fated baby is finding her way. She may take a while but the wait is definitely worth it! About shopping, agree that it can be very confusing and I guess you feel like buying everything. I guess their stuffs are good quality but expensive. But now it is the sale time so it should be more reasonable. Otherwise, I think it is better if you don't mind the big items but definitely you can start to buy bottles, clothes, bed sheet, diapers. All these need to be washed before hand so you can't buy them at the last minute. There are special baby soap for bottles and clothes. Enjoy the window shopping!

Janella
how did your interview go? Thanks for the wishes and enjoy your trip to Malaysia. Should definitely buy baby clothes from there!

Babylove
are you still on leave?

Yuli
Hope your dd has recovered.

Sweetcl
is your girl sleeping longer hours?

Merry Christmas to all!
Today, I have a Christmas lunch and dinner to go to and everyone is looking forward to see my baby. I'm so excited too.
It's been a month since i went to the legal office and nothing has happened yet. Not sure what I'm waiting for now. If the adoption doesn't complete before baby turns 6 months old. I might not be able to get reimbursement from the government for my 1 month leave! And i will hv to take a no pay leave instead. If they the process takes so long, I don't understand why we only have 6 months 'grace' period only. Now that I have time, I'm going to write to the authority.

Merry X Mas to you all as well!

Iwantitvmuch,
Legal/administrative is really a hassle. Hope you can have everything formalised before bb is 6 months old. But it seems like it should be ok looking at Yuli and Blesswbb's progress.

I spoke too fast. I've just received the letter from MCYS. They are visiting on the 4th of Jan. I have to get ready alot of documents again. Very xian.

At least you have not written your lettet and wasted your time on it! But it really does not make sense that bb must be less than 6 months old. I am sure parents adopting older kids need as much leave as us and we are only talking about ONE month of adoption leave. Sigh!

Anyway, glad to hear that you are moving to the next step.

Merry Xmas to everyone.

Iwantitvmuch,
Wow yours is fast. After 4th Jan u just need to wait for another 1.5 to 2mths to have her BC.

Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and Happy Holidays with your family.

It's been a busy week, and I am finally making progress on my bb's weaning/feeding schedule. Blesswbb, I tried the brown rice cereal that you are giving ur daughter, and I can understand why it's better to feed using a bottle. It's very liquid. So that is now my solution for my night feeds. I give it to him at 12mn, which keeps him full till 6 am. So far he likes the flavour of the milk. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leavewise, as I am covering the major project at the moment, I have been taking most of the week off. I should be clear to take a longer stretch of leave after Jan.

Iwantitverymuch, I am so thrilled that MCYS is coming to visit you in 2 weeks. Good luck with all the prep, least you can get the legal side finalised asap.

Janella,
I guess you must be in KL right now. I hope the interview went well. Enjoy ur hol, and we will see u back here with good news re your interview.

Ellebaby,
With so many products in the market, I can understand your confusion. Let me share some of what I use, it might help.

baby bottle - I use Nuk, as the teat is similar to a nipple, and the tip of the teat will reach the roof of bb's mouth encouraging suckling.

re prams/car seats/baby cribs etc: might be better to go to baby hyperstore, as the prices are lot better. I know Robinsons can be cheap too esp during their sales. I regret not getting the baby seat which can be used from birth till bb is 2-3 years old. Also the pram is a citi stroller. I think it's impt to have a bigger comfy pram, so that bb can sleep or rest comfortably.

sweetclo,
How is motherhood coming along?

Dear ladies,
Merry X'mas and Happy New Year 2010!!!

babylove,dream
We've celebrated dd's full month! Times passed very fast, she's being with us for 2 weeks.
She's been drinking 3 ounces milk till yest she like not full, so we increased to 4 ounce but she sometimes takes 3 ounces, so we're abit confused... She wakes up 3hrs interval, she's very punctual! haha, quite tiring but when we see her grow day by day, we felt happy.

Janella,
Hope your interview went on smoothly, looking forward to your good news soon.

Elle,
Enjoy your shopping... And also enjoy your sleep now when baby come you'll have less sleep. YOu planning for any helper to take care of bb?

Iwantitvmuch,
All the best for your home visit...

Blesswbaby, Yuli,
For the home visit by MCYS, will they interview us again as what touch did? Till now I still haven't rec'd any news regards my dd DP pass, think cos of the festive seasons that causes the delay.

Babylove,
Glad your boy likes the brown rice. I'm also trying to feed my girl during her nite feed (at abt 8pm). She can sleep thru till 5am. Recently found a blog that intro nice bb food. Tried out today and the food taste fantastic (added broccoli, carrot and meat into the porridge with ikan billis as the stock). Thought of introducing it to you...since your boy is also eating solid food.

SWEETCL05,
Merry X'mas to you!
Wow...yr girl has been growing well. Continue to feed at 4oz if you can cos bb tend to change their appetite whenever they like.
As for the interview from MCYS, they will base on your HSR report to confirm your declaration.

I am new to this thread. Would seek on your advice how long it takes for overseas and local adoption. And what is the differences between the two?

Many thanks in advance

hi dimpyteddy
welcome to the thread! Most of us are going thru overseas adoption and using agency. Main difference between local and overseas adoption is that there is no requirement for a home study report for local adoption.

thread is very quiet! I guess all of you enjoyed the holidays! I wont be able post during the day as my office blocked this site!

sweetcl
really impressed that your daughter is already taking 3 ounces. My boy is 4 mths and can barely finish his 3 ounces but he drinks milk quite frequently. Lots of celebration for you this month! Enjoy!

Dimpyteddy,
Welcome to the thread. It's all depend on the agency u engage. Like what dream said overseas adoption hv to go thru Home study report.

Sweetcl, so young already taking 3 ounces? That's good. Once 1 month, can take 4 ounces liao, like my baby. From 1 month to 3 months, we have kept it constant at 4 ounces. Now at 3.2 weeks, we are increasing to 1 feed of 5 ounces during the day(sometimes) or let her drink more frequently when we feed that she's hungry. Most of the time, I will feel her tummy to check if she's still full.

Dimpyteddy, You must attend the pre-adoption workshop conducted by the service centre, eg Touch. It gives a good introduction and also back track this thread. Do check out 'Sanctuary House'. Apparently, they do have local babies leh. If i knew, I would have checked it out first. Read this: http://www.nvpc.org.sg/Library/Documents/Grants/Sanctuary%20House.pdf

Yesterday, my bb had her vaccinations at 3.5 mths. No fever but a bit cranky. yesterday, I had 2 accidents with the baby. So angry with myself. First, at the clinic when her head gently knock the door frame when she turned. She cried for a while but luckily, she seems alright the whole of yesterday. But I'm still abit worried.
The 2nd incident was when wiping her down, she accidentally lick the powder lotion from my hand. Sigh! I'm so careless and feel so lousy. Do you all have accidents with your babies??

I'm new. I have just adopted a baby boy and it's my second one. The first is a boy too. I'm feeling a little depressed now as my masseur, an experienced lady chided me for taking another son. Both sons are from unwed mothers. She was saying that the boys' background is sort of 'dirty' something like a stain in the generation and it might continue. As much as I believe in proper upbringing will bear good, luscious and juicy fruits (good children) I am affected by her comments. I'm worried that my boys will grow up waywards. She commented that my first is showing symptoms of it. He is active by nature but very sharp and smart at giving reasons for his actions. I am very confused. Anybody has experience in this matter ?

Rossie, if you start to believe in that masseur, then it will be self fulfilling prophecy. I think you should stop using the masseur and encourage her to be a fortune teller. hahaha.
I would have told her that I know of friends who are lawyers and bankers and they are unwed mothers. Unwed mothers are not bad people. At least, they didn't abort the baby but give them up for adoption so that their child can be cared for in a better family.
You must be strong person as your heart is so big to adopt. Don't be affected by your MASSEUR. I would have walked out on her when she gave such comments on my children.
If you feel that you are easily affected by people, don't tell everyone about the adoption as you might not be able to handle them. Sometimes, it's just not worth it to waste time on these people. Only share with people are might seems more open and 'smarter'.
welcome to this thread.

I'm glad to see this topic really active. When I was considering adoption early this year, I came to this thread but it was inactive. Anyway hubby and I went ahead with the adoption, going through a whole year of tedious and time-consuming but necessary tasks, and now we're proud parents of a 11 month old boy. We collected his birth cert in October, and have applied for his citizenship which is taking a long time!

I've read this thread all the way back from when it started to become active again, and could appreciate the joy and pain that most of you went through to become parents.

I'd like to be part of this group so that my child has other adoptive children as friends. Please include me in your gatherings and events! Thanks!

iwantitvmuch,
I understand how u feel. I also have such incidents. Think when my girl is only 2mth plus. When i carried her she tend to put 1 of her hand hanging out...so when i was walking to the door i was very near the corner and hit her hand..she cried too. From then on i try to be careful with her hand when i carrying her. As for the lotion, yours not so bad lah..mine my girl lick on her diaper cream...haha... try to clean your hand with tissues after u done with it. My girl is still so strong so don worry.

Rossie,
I do think what iwantitvmuch said is right! If your masseur really can predict what is your son future she can might as well be a fortunate teller. Don't have to share with pple on your child background. I believe this is confidential. We don even ask each other here what our child background.

rehdeer,
Welcome to the thread. Think u have to be active in this thread to join us as our member. Hope to hear from u more often.

Yesterday nite is a tiring nite for me....went to my hubby's company dinner with my girl. End up she cried whenever someone tried to carry her. The funny part is even my hubby carry she also cry. I end up carrying her to whole nite. Shag men!

Yesterday I took bb for his vaccinations. Pneummoccocal and Hep booster and rotavirus drops. He has been having fever the whole day. The panadol has been helping to keep it at bay. Hope it breaks by tomorrow. I get so worried, esp since I had to go into work today. sighzzz

Hi Rehdeer/Rosie/Dimpeyteddy,
Welcome to this thread. It's great to have newcomers to join in the conversation. And it will be good to see our group grow, so that we can inspire other couples to adopt too.

Looks my son is no longer the khor khor. Rehdeer, your son is almost a year right, which means you must be planning for his first birthday. How exciting!

Rossie,
I agree with Iwantitverymuch. I would have just left the masseur, or just not discuss it with her again. Is this masseuse someone you have known for sometime? Cos it seems that you both have a friendship, that's why you are affected by her comments. As adoptive parents, we will face our own set of challenges, but we need to practise to slowly filter out the negatives.

Dimpeyteddy,
For local adoption, the wait might be longer. However, you will not need to go through the homestudy report. As for the forein adoption, you will need to go through the homestudy. As you can see most of us have completed this part,and have our lil bubs with us.

Rehdeer, please stay on the thread and help us encourage others. We just started gathering and might gather at each other homes, we r a bit protective.
) most of us have been chatting EVERDAY for half a year. We r looking forward to knowing u more. In the meantime, I hope u r enjoying itself w it child on his first Christmas and New Year celebrations!

BlesswBB, ur bb is recongnising u and wouldn't let others carry. U must be feeling v proud of yourself! Hee hee. Last night, I was out with bb and domestic helper. While I was driving, she creied non stop n it got so loud. Even my helper who always carry her can't pacify her. I had to stop the car and the moment I carry her, she stopped crying! I was plesantly surprised!! So glad she wants mommy!! ;))

Hi Iwantitverymuch, Dream, Yuli, Blesswbb, Sweetclo, ellebaby, Janella...

Happy New Year! May the year of 2010 bring us much more joy after all the challenges we faced this year. Thank you all for your kind words, encouragement and support. It really pulled me along, whenever times were tough, and I never thought I would see the light.

Have a wonderful day with your MIRACLES. I wish you all only the best!!!

love Babylove

Hi all, happy new year, and thanks for the welcome.

Babylove, yes my son is turning 1 next month, and we're planning a small party for family and a few close friends at Fidgets (Turf City). A good friend of mine will be doing face painting for the kids, I'm looking forward to the party!

Babylove, I read your adoption journey, and mine was quite similar to yours. We also identified the child before HSR, but unlike you, we only traveled to visit once a month. It was also an emotional roller coaster ride as to when he could come over. How old is your boy now?

BlesswBB and Iwantitvmuch, I know how you feel when the baby wants only you. Don't we feel great! It's amazing babies wants only mummies, even adoptive ones who never carry them for 9 months.

I remember someone asking about books on adoption for children. I recently purchased a few from Amazon, and I really like the book "A mother for Choco".
http://www.amazon.com/Mother-Choco-Paperstar-Keiko-Kasza/dp/0698113640/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262230481&sr=8-1

And I also recall someone saying we have to apply for baby bonus before the child turns 1? Is that true? Can we do so without citizenship? My son is turning 1 but we haven't got his citizenship yet.

Hi ladies, dropping in to wish you all beautiful mummy and mummy-to-be - a wonderful, memorable and joyful happy new year 2010. Can't wait for us to meet along with our Miracles !
Big hugs babylove, dream, sweetcl, iwantitvmuch, yuli, blesswbb, janella !

Thanks dream, babylove for the advise. I did some research on bb bottles and teats and we decided we will buy Nuk too. Will next look at pram and baby car seat.

Sweetcl - No helper yet cos will prob. be me and mil to help first. I am even considering attending bb care course. So scare to bath bb and worried cannot hold her properly.
Yup, will try to catch sleep but lately have not been sleeping well. I tink it's the waiting anxiety for Alice to call as well as bb shopping that is taking some stress on me.

I called Alice again today and she mentioned she will call me next week due to holidays now. I think Alice will prob. be scared of my call liao. haha !
I keep telling myself to calm down and that the right bb will come to us. The wait and phone call is sooooo lonnggg.

blesswbb & iwantivmuch - Wah, ur bb is smart, she knows what and who she wants lah. Mummy ! Aiyo, sure heartmelt for me one. Will probably spoilt her hehe

iwantivmuch - all the best for your home visit by MCYS. so excited you will next be getting the BB BC with official yours.

Janella - enjoy yourself in KL and hope to hear from you soon.

babylove - how's bb fever ? i hope he is ok today..

welcome dimpyteddy, rossie and rehdeer. Do stay and share with us.

Hi everyone, have a great yr ahead. Believe that our lives are never the same when we have our little ones. I shared with my colleagues abt my plans for 2nd one n they were very encouraging.
However, when I shared with a personal fren, her response was lukewarm. Guess there's nothing much to talk to her then. Felt lousy cos she couldn't understand we adoptive parents hv n also our bonds with our children.

Hi rossie, juz to share my thots. I won't bother with the masseur. At the end of the day, you are the boys' moms n you will bring them up with your values. Mayb she lives in the old generation. Btw, wat's wrong with your first son being smart n gd at giving reasons? Shouldn't it be tis way? Or does she wants you to hv a slow child?

Happy New Year and may year 2010 be a great year for all.

Iwantitvmuch & ellebaby
It really feel great that our girls only want us. This shows that the bond btw bb & us is strong. But it can b very tiring when she stick only to us.

Babylove, Yuli, dream, iwantitvmuch, sweetcl05, ellebaby & janella
Thank you all for giving me the encouragement & support

Hi Mummies & Mum-to-be, Happy New Year 2010!!

Blesswbb & Iwantitvmuch,
Your babies are really clever, they know mummies is the greatest, haha.... great to have bond with your dd... I worried my dd bond to MIL cos she's the one taking her in the day times and when I came back frm work, she always sleeping. And when I tried to chat to her, she always keep looking at MIL side... I'm so worried dd will not have much bond with me...

Elle,
Your bb will be coming soon... I can understand the long waiting feeling cos I've encountered it before... I've also keep calling Alice cos she always said she'll call but never, haha...

welcome dimpyteddy, rossie and rehdeer. Our group is expanding.. I'm so happy

Yuli, how's ur dd?

Babylove, How's ur boy? My dd also going for her vaccination soon. I'm also worried fever...

My dd have very sensitive nose, she always sneeze...

Elle, let me know if u want me to check with Alice. I can update her abt baby and pretend to ask but now holidays zseason, maybe there's a wait. Sure got baby arriving, don't worry. The wait is required so that u will be excited when u see her. Ha ha

sweetcl05, I'm also afraid baby can't recognize me cos I work too but now on adoption leave. Hopefully, baby will start to recognize before I go back to work. But I must say that baby will most of the time attach to Mommy. Don't worry cos baby can feel mother's love.

Wishing everyone a blessed healthy 2010.

Actually I am considering local adoption. But from what i undertsand it is going to be long wait.

Dimpyteddy, I've had a short chat with the MC YS officer over the phone. She said that it is very rare to have local adoption. But I'm not sure if she's referring to 'abandon' baby cos that is very rare. H/w, my agent has handled local adoption. I heard that some orphanages do have new born babies sometimes. But Singaporeans usually want to give up their child for adoption to foreigners! That's what I heard too.
I will ask the officer when I have my home interview and let you know.
Maybe you should speak to an agent and ask them to keep a lookout for local baby for you. There's not many Chinese babies but there may be Malay babies. My girlfriend was going to adopt a Malay girl but there was a toddler which she wished for initially .