Calling ALL Thomas TRain FANS!

i went to Toysrus at Vivocity last saturday, there are lots of Thomas toys, bags,...etc...but the price also quite high even those on sale...for those keen to buy Thomas VCD, no need to buy from those video shop, they are much more expensive.
i just bought 5 pcs from my friend, really good price and it's original, same as what i bought from Popular 2 mths ago. should know her earlier lah...

glad that i ponder onto this thread! My elder boy who is 4 years old are huge thomas and friends fan too. Hubby said he going bankrupt soon if my boy dun stop buying thomas stuffs.

Mashy, I think I bought those blank GD cards from you.. that was when your baby was still small enough to be slinged

Wah train couplings I really don't know 'cos mine are the Takealong and wooden series ones.

So, yes TRU is expensive.. but when their takealong sets go on sale, they are cheaper than Robinsons/Taka.

Jer, welcome.. we're all broke mummies here

co11ectionz, where's Fidgets? I usually go Globetrotters but their playroom a bit lousy already. Food improved though, no service charge, no GST

Catz

yah yah. That's right. Hahah, my GD cards are still sitting at home 'doing nothing'. My boy only enjoyed the Maths dots that i made for him.

Mine are all those with blue tracks. The wooden series are too ex for us already. My hb was so tempted to buy this huge train table where the trains can be secured and there's drawers to store the trains. Think it's under the imaginarium brand at toys r us.

co11ectionz, wah never go Turf City ever since my son stopped his Marsden swim classes. There's also a Playground cafe there, not bad. Sol, I think, near the entrance side. But when the big kids swarm the playground, then the little ones have no choice but to evacuate.

mash, my GD cards dunno where already. Only got past 10..haha.

Wooden series is crazily expensive... and my coupling magnets are all rusty :p But my friend says they are heirloom pieces. Dunno where to store lei..

this afternoon i went to KK hospital as my eldest need to go for her heart screening( she born with heart prob), notived motehrcare there also selling Thomas items leh..and the shop right beside Mothercare selling quite a lot of Thomas item as well, really cant resist....

Hi, Catz and Co11ectionz

my girl born with extra vein, but the aorta that pumping the blood to the heart had route the other way round before pump the blood, so, it caused her heart beat is much slower than others, she also has a small hole on her heart when she born, but according to doctor, it's healed. due to her, we had spent all our saving, hospital bill for her & me when i gave birth her is nearly 14K!!! killing!!

hm...i bought fork & spoon at $3.95, cap at $14.95, it's expensive i think, but my boy like it..my pity boy always been neglected, so, it's a compensation to him lor....

Co11ectionz

I've been to fidgets. The food they serve are just finger food like sandwiches and cakes, don't expect main meals. The playarea is much much bigger than Globetrotters.

Teng, I finally saw those machines u were telling me abt and i put in $2 coins w/o checking if there were anymore capusules and turned the dial. Later I realised no more capsules inside! aiyoh so pai seh! :p

Tell u all a funny incident....
I was at Toys r us with my boy today when i overheard a daddy and son conversation that went like this:

Son: Thomas! (Pointing to Thomas toys)
Dad: Who is that?
Son: (Points to box with Thomas toys)
Dad: It's not Thomas lah, It's TOMY (referring to the brand)
Son: Thomas!
Dad: T-O-M-Y (pointing to the letters). It's TOMY not Thomas. Say TOMY......TOMY.....
SOn: (Walks away)

LOL....i was trying hard to contain my giggles...kekekeke :p

Hi So (mumof3kids), good to hear tt yr girl's heart is ok. being parents, what matters is that our kids are healthy and happy. must be tough to go through making sure your girl is alright. *pat on yr back*

when u say yr boy is neglected, its because of his jie jie's condition?

Lin, thats really funny. That boy must have given up convincing his dad that he just walked away. Ha ha ha

For the capsules, it happened to me too! If you call the tel # on the machine and tell them, they will refund to u, via cheque.

Lin - The boy's reaction is funny...but kinda of sound sad too..I do know of some fathers who werent as engaged...

Saw this thomas humidifier cum night light at drugstore, thought of buying it.. but read the bad comments and I stopped myself from buying.

I have not seen the capsule before.. where can i find them?

Lin, sometimes hubbies can be so blur

PM, so true.. think a lot of dads are very disengaged from their kids. you see them at paediatrician's waiting rm, reading newspaper, ignoring their kids. dun care their kids running, climbing, acting like monkeys :p

So, actually I find my #2 is also neglected but it must be tougher for your boy 'cos your girl's condition prob needs a lot of follow-up attention.

hi, thanks for concern on my eldest condition, yup..her condition need more attention, and we always worrying as she is really too weak, she having minor asthma and easily get lung infection, admitted twice due to pneumonia and bronchitis...every month, must keep some money for her to see specialist...recently, she seems a bit better, maybe, i am not working...

my boy always been neglected due to elder sister's health condition, also, as he cant speak well, cant express himself, always running, jumping,screaming...etc..do all the things that ppl dun like...so, i m the only one who care of him..i do my very best to convince my hubby that he is actually a good boy, but just too playful, after all, he is a boy, boys are like that, now, hubby treat him better, else always get beaten..pity boy..
hubby's family also nvr buy him anything, but as for eldest, always go shopping with them, buy expensive toys, like Baby Alive,Barbie dolls,..expensive clothing....etc..but, when come to my boy, they always say, kids easily grow up, no need to buy good one!!! unfair...

then baby girl, baby wah..sure gets more attention lor..moreover she is still on breastfeeding..

my pity boy lah..sometimes even myself..dare to beat him when he missed behave, but just don;t dare to beat my eldest, as she really too weak lah..

i dunno how to educate her leh...anyone can help??she is really bad attitute lor...

So, your boy sounds like my boy in terms of behaviour and Unfair treatment from grandparents. But at least yr ger is still yr child, so still can console yrself that they are still good grandparents. Hahaha.

How old is yr boy. I tend to agree, boys are boys, their behaviour in general is always more rowdy than girls. My boy also jump and jump run and run, cannot be controlled as a result got lots of scars and stiches on his head. I also lay my hands on my boy when I cant stand his rowdy behaviour, more often than not is those stares from others that makes me feel pressured.

Who is bad attitudE?

Poor Mummy,
my boy is 29 mths old already, he is really too playful, but he is more attach to me, eldest (girl) is more attach to grandpa, as he always fight for her, even that she is wrong...thus, she had become very mischiveous, whenever we are out, she must fing something to buy, esle, she will cry and throw tantrum, i insist not to buy, as i don't want my girl think that she can get her way once she angry and cry, but FIL always buy for her...when she and brother fighting, FIL always say brother is the one who start to fight, so, she is the angel, the boy is the evil...but, what i noticed is the boy will not have plot to hurt his sister, will not tell lie...but my girl will think the way to beat her brother back if the brother beat her, and she will protect herself by saying brother is the one who start, exactly learn from FIL and SIL. SIL always brought her out, only 2 of them, then SIL always give her prohibited food,eg. lots of sweets, frech fries,oily and deep fried items, then SIL will tell my girl not to tell me, really too much, teach my girl to cheat me leh...luckily, my girl still too young to cheat me, so, i must monitor her before she been poluted by them, but I really dunno how....this girl also very lazy, nvr want to study, going to school is like going to prison,everything she wants to be the first, else, she will cry and get angry...everytime, the whole family have to give her way to be first,...i dun think it's healthy, but just out of idea on how to educate her, she is 4.5 yrs old, should be able to understand what is good and what is not...she also don't want to do her own thing, eg. put on her dress,socks ,shoes,....don't want to eat herself( someone must hold her food and feed her)as FIL always wanted to do for her, then if he is busy or doing other thing, he must get me to do, i say must let her learn, he will complaint to SIL that I nvr take care my girl..faintz!!!
then when my girl angry to him or SIL, then they start to blame me for not teach my girl properly, crazy!! they are the one who spoilted her, and give me headache!!

So, wa not easy when your girl has heart problem... but I think you're right - you gotta discipline. If not hitting, then try putting her on the naughty stool for time-out if she misbehaves? Only take her off when she calms down and is ready to say sorry... at least you don't hit her lor. FIL so soft-hearted hey? :p

So, yes it's hard. when I first started sleeptraining my son using the cold turkey method, my mother was so angry with me. But nothing to say when she saw the results for herself. But still, when I discipline the kids in front of my parents, wah biang, they not happy but they know better than to interfere.PILs different la... not your own parents, how to explain?

I am looking for the Take Along Thomas & Friends - Travel Case. Seems to have disappeared from the toy stores!!

Anyone seen it around lately?
1822388.jpg

co11ectionz,
i saw this at OG Albert Park, think shd be last mth or early of this mth, maybe u can try to pay a trip there, at toy's dept.

Catz,
i am really tired and sometimes, thinking of give up and hide myself away from all these, i don't want this type of life!! too stressful and helpless!!!

THomas toothbrush - I saw the electric version at KinderHomme at United Square.

Mashy, I went to Daiso yesterday. They dont have train couplings. Sorry... Hope you've not made a trip down yet.

So, can imagine.. sorry you are SAHM or FTWM? If SAHM, living in your own house (like me) then not so bad.. can just do your own things.

co11ectionz, wah must be expensive if it's electric!

i cant recall the price.

Tomorrow I go take a look again.

I was at Toys r Us yesterday... the Thomas take along sets all very expensive and seems quite filmsy. I wanted to buy the Tidmouth shed and the doors were all hald hanging around. Hmmm... anyone has experience on the take along sets to share before I spend my $ on them? ha ha ha

My boy is asking for ROcky... and its so expensive too! *GOSH*

co11ectionz, I have Takealong set - Rescue station, Great race and the mining one.. everything OK leh.. still intact

What's Rocky?

wow, you all have sooo many collections...those all thomas toys? im also thinking what to buy for my boy this christmas, he will be 16M by then...im thinking of thomas toys and clothings...but then i was thinking that most of the toys are die cast, and afraid that it may hurt him.

Rocky is the one who comes along to pull the trains back on track. (similar to harvey, but longer)

Here's the actual description:
Rocky is a very strong crane who can pick up other engines, but is also a gentle giant who wants to be everyone's best friend. He can do all the big jobs that Harvey can't… like lifting derailed engines back onto the tracks. Rocky has no engine and relies on other engines to pull him to where he is needed.

http://www.myfavoritetoys.com/character_detail.php?who=rocky

catz, I am SAHM, the house is not belongs to me, but under my hubby & in law's name, this house is here for abt 10yrs liao, so, they treat me like outsider, and i dun like this house as well, as no space for me, i just like a tenant who have a small room( not master bed room), with 3 kids thing, 3 kids....etc..in law alone in master bed room, brother in law who own a condo, left all his old belongings here...MIl who passed away left all her thing here, SIl who married 9 yrs ago left all her things here....FIL dun allow me to touch ( MIL's thing), and nvr ask them ( SIL and BIL)to take their thing to their own house, so, can u guys amagine how my life is?? how tough to keep my house tidy and clean?? impossible!!!

co11ection - The take along set is useful when u need to go to friend's/relative's place. During CNY I just bring along and that kept my boy entertained. Of coz..lots of fighting abt cousins too. Sigh. The diecast wont hurt the boys, but will hurt yr furniture. My son always likes to play crashing with them. Faintz. It is also easier to pack,unliek those blue tracks, need to find storage location for the tracks. Take along just put the tracks inside and close up. I have the knaford station, the doors closed up well and wont hang.

I saw the tote in ToyRus sometimes back. U can try to buy online too. Retail selling $29.90, but i heard if u buy online after shipping coz less than that.

co11ectionz

It's ok, i went to Daiso already. Going HK in Dec, hopefully can find. We tried contacting Sheng Tai but no reply from them.

I think i saw the travel case at Toys R us Vivocity a few weeks back. Remembered talking to my hb abt it and how the one in Japan included the trains.

So - wah like that not easy. Actually I could be in your situation, had my PIL not fallen out with my hubby.. 'cos they were in the Q for SK flat. Same block as my BIL/SIL and my SIL's family too. Luckily never happened :p Not easy for you unless your hb helps you to do all the 'thick skin' things like asking everyone to remove their junk!

mashy, wah the tote with the trains must cost a bomb!

Catz

Can't remember how much it cost but it was alright lah. But that time my boy was still young and not really appreciative of the trains yet, so we didn't buy. Now really regret. They've lots of THomas & Tomy trains which aren't available here.

Next time go there going to buy lots and buy all the spare parts.

So- Hahah, i was also nearly in that situation. Except that hse was under my dad & my name. SO when I got married, I sold the place and bought a new one with my hb and my dad stayed with us. My bro also left all his things in the hse after he got married. It was only coz we shifted that he took whatever he wanted and we threw whatever that was left. Your ILs all very 'bu zi dong', should at least let u have the master bedroom. And with 3 kids, it's so squeezy. Maybe your hb should consider selling it and buying a new one. Then your IL come and stay with you. And u can do just what i did. Give the ultimatum to the siblings.

Mummies, any of you have Thomas train napkins and paper plates to sell or spare me first?

My items from the spree is not here yet and I m having a party tomorrow and over the weekend.

Am willing to buy or exchange, if need be. Anyone? My items will arrive next week

co11ectionz, sorry leh, I don't have any Thomas party stuff now as I will only be buying in Dec.
How about Toys R Us? I remember I bought some a loooong time ago for my son's first birthday.

Has anyone seen the Imaginarium Train Table lately? I've seen it before in Toys R Us but it's gone already.

It's a huge table that comes with wooden tracks and trains.

mashy, think you're stuck with vpost unless the merchant ships internationally via EMS like Jshoppers.

Imaginarium train table - nahhh, they used to be at all ELCs but then 2 years back, ELC stopped bringing in the wooden sets. You wanna buy?!

co11ectionz, have decided to go for a Little Einsteins theme party.. then no need to headache over 2 weird themes clashing...hehe.. I'm sure you'll find some takers for your plates and napkins here. How come the spree stuff was so late?

Think it didn't sell very well. I remember there was one at Paragon which my son loved for the longest time.. it was about $1K? Then it went on sale for $700 and somebody bought it. Sad day for my son...heh.

Catz

The Imaginarium one at toys r us was selling for $200+ i think. Comes with tracks and trains. Didn't get it then coz my boy was too young to play with it. Now really regret coz they've discontinued it. I wonder if HK will sell... Hmmm.... TOys R Us US is still selling it though.

Catz, I ordered 1 month back... until today still in mid air. Sigh....

I joined tknotts's partyzone spree. It took partyzone nearly 3 weeks to ship out. And Vpost takes 5-7 days! *Gasp* V post so expensive and takes so long. BDL takes only 3 days to arrive SGP. Anyway, no choice la... sigh... bad move.