BEDOK mommies club

Hi Yawn / Jun

How do your kids destress especially during exam period, do they swim, play piano or etc ?

Hmmm ... I am keen to sign up my girl for keyboard lessons at Yamaha at Tampines Mall. Have your children attended any of the lessons there? Or any recommendation for keyboard lessons elsewhere?

Hmmm ... I want my girl to pick up some skills first so that next time when she has more homework, or during exam period or when she is feeling stress, she can find something to do to destress ;p

Leetai,
During exam period, my hubby doesn't allow them to swim in case they catch a cold. I don't feel they are stress. But if they are not studying, then they watch tv, go to the playground with friends or 'nua' around to destress ; )

But they do play piano/violin. My kids had Yamaha keyboard lessons at CC before. Keyboard lessons are more for preschool children. 7 yo and above, you can go for Electone class i.e. Organ at Yamaha or at CC. Only certain CC has such classes. Alternatively, can consider Violin class. How about in school? Usually there will be Chinese orchestra / band / guzheng where they can pick up some music skills.

winniebear

Actually I don't find music de-stressing leh. Probably is a source of stress instead. Must practice everyday or at least very often otherwise no progress. If exam period, so busy liao, still must continue with instrument practice.

My dd1 is learning string instrument but she de-stresses by reading storybooks.My dd2 attended Seimpi, Nafa then now with private piano teacher.

yawn yawn,
Agree. If the kids go for exam, then have to keep practicing. Unless they really like that instrument or talented, then they don't find it to be a chore. Everyday I've to nagged at the kids to practice. But it is for their good. They feel a sense of achievements from progressing. Where is your dd learning string instrument? Why did you pull dd2 out of Nafa? I thought they are supposed to be v good.

Iwg26

Nafa is too demanding in terms of time commitment leh. Every week has a few new pieces to practice. And must perfect the songs before next lesson. My dd2 used to spend 3 hours on piano everyday. I don't mind since she was in preschool then.

However, she started p1 this year. I doubt she has so much 'spare' time to dedicate to practising piano. Better concentrate on studies. If got time to spare, I rather she memorises her multiplication table. Very realistic mommy hor, haha!

winniebear

Lowrey music school conducting piano lessons at various CCs. Convenient if no need to travel too far. You can use keyword search at PA website.

I've not tried their classes though.

Hello everyone.. i mia for a long long time!! :p

Lee Tai, i agree w yawn and jun leh.. Learning music don't help to de-stress at this stage.. Learning mean need to practice! Don't practice, will kanna scolding. Haha.. More stress than ever!

By the time they could play well, mummy will say, drop music and concentrate on your books cos by then secondary school liao..

By the time grown up, where got time even to touch the piano? even got skill and paper also becomes no use.. Unless the child becomes a music teacher? But music teacher = long hours and low pay.. :p

Yawn, i also v realistic!! lol

SNG,
Hi, long time no see. Has Grace also started learning piano?

Yawn,
Everyday I nag at them to practice, especially near their piano/violin exam period. Being a mother is a good training for patience...

Hi Mommies

Hubby said we should send our daughter to singing classes instead as she loves to sing.

Hmmm ... hence I am still thinking which to choose ...

Lee tai,
I was in choir before. To do well in singing, need to have music knowledge too as they need to read the scores. I know for some choirs the entry requirements is at least Grade 5 ABRSM theory. Usually schools will have choir. Why don't you send her for music class outside and choir in school as CCA?

winniebear
Vocal lessons even very expensive than piano lessons. Piano includes aural (singing notes) so I put off sending my dd2 for singing lessons. She is actually more into dancing. Learned samba, bollywood dance and ballet when in preschool. Now taking chinese dance as CCA. At home she dances free style, haha!

Iwg26
yeah lor, must nag nag nag, how I wish can be auto pilot. My dd2 practices 5x a week. dd1 only 3x a week. I guess string instrument slightly easier than piano

SNG
wave wave. hey, do pop in here more often leh, long time no 'see'.
How's your boy in GEP? Adapting well?

Yawn,
String instrument also not easy. It's a different set of "difficulties" - rhythm and tune. My boy taking exam soon and he takes a long long time of practice to get the tune right.

Iwg26

your ds at which grade now?
my dd1 only beginner so maybe teacher does not have very high expectation yet
She should be moving to grade 1 pretty soon

Hi mummies, I m asking behalf for my Sis. She had completed ACCA and No wrking exprience Bt currently wrking as temp acct asst.. She is looking job in audit firm or bank pls let me knw if u all Gt any lobang

Ds is taking grade 2 violin this year. He took grade 1 piano last year and is doing grade 3 piano now but will skip exam this year. Every year preparing them for exam - school plus music already makes me v stress.

Is your dd1 taking violin too?

Lee Tai

My gal has been learning keyboard at tamp east CC, its also under Yamaha...but fees r much cheaper...so far so good..but sometimes its also depends on the teacher u meet...

Yah I agree learning music can b quite stressful,cos if lack of practice..thn b lagging behind others...I always nag at my gal to practice her keyboard

Hi Taurus

You can ask your sister to write in to any of the Big Four firms to apply for audit assistant/associate. The Big Four firms seldom/hardly advertise on the papers on job vacancies.

Dance is fun as well. Maybe you can check this out.
Music if your child really likes than its ok. but they usually have exams and in the end it becomes another stress for child.

Whereas for dance, its release energy and fun. They even have belly dancing for children

Its the time of the year where parents fret and children gets stress.
Its the exam period.However all work and no play make Jack a dull boy.
For just 1 hour every Sun, your child can relax and do something FUN
Benefits of dancing

1. Dance can refine coordination and motor skills in the physique of children who show no outward interest toward participating in team

2. Many children respond better to creativity than competitive activities, making dance a great alternative when it comes to exercise and learning body awareness

3. Sequencing, memorising of steps help to stimulate brain cells

4. Social and Emotional Development: They make new friends and talk about their school, helps them release stress. A very important thing to take note currently.

5. FUN- Just 1 hr to let them enjoy on a Sunday will not affect your child's performance in studies but will definitely build up their motivation to do better.

6. Parents get some time off to build closer relationships

I went to listen to the rally yesterday. The candidates are good speakers. Qt impressive. Anyone from aljunied grc? It would be a hugely contested Grc.

Hi Tee

Thanks for your suggestion. My daughter did mention before she likes dancing. Any recommended dance schools in the east area?

Iwg26

east coast grc could possibly be hotly contested too. read that it is the next grc to watch out for after aljunied.

been looking forward to attend rally. never been to one before. but rally timing coincides with my religious gathering last night so bo pian have to miss rally. hope there would be another one soon
did you manage to go inside stadium or go nearby hdb block for top down view?

wondering whether can watch on youtube...

Hi Bedok Mummies,

Wow so many Bedok mummies in this thread and I just know it today ;)

Do you have difficulty to enroll your kid in Bedok Childcare center? There are a lot but most full ready.
I have put waiting list for my 3yes old girl from last year March at BLK133 Sp.tot till now still waiting list….seem like totally no chance to go in. And there is new Sp.tot open at BLK13 this year Feb, I went there on March, also full ready so have to put under waiting list.. I wonder why so fast as they just open less than 2 month already full??

I don’t like YWCA since the Indian principle took over.

hello! i live in sengkang but am leaving my kids with my parents who live in bedok. any good recommendations for playschools/playplaces/playgroups/kids activities in bedok?

Lee Tai

Hi Denise,sorry for this late reply...my gal has been learning electone ther for 1+ yrs... yah. She quite like e teacher over ther...have u sign up ur gal for any music lesson yet?

Hi ladies...
sch holidays is here soon! Do u have any interesting & affordable holiday courses to recommend nearby? I ve check out the CCs nearby my hse, wanted to register my gal for sambal dance holiday class...went dwn, thn e ppl in charge told me nobody sign up yet! N e class might b cancel... wat a disappointment.... any mummies interested to send their kids to e sambal dance? Haha

carrie

How old is your dd?

My dd took samba class during Dec school holiday. She didn't like it, bored because the pace was too slow.

Didn't sign up any CC classes this time round. Plan to bring them to library activies.

Hi yawn yawn....

My gal turning 6YO in NOv...any nice holiday program to recommend ? Ur gal attended e sambal lesson at CC also? My gal loves dancing..but never attend any dance class before..so I guess slow pace shld b fine bah. Haha.

U mean NLB has fun activities ah? Which branches u gg?

Hi carrie

The electone is organ class right?

We went for trial lesson last weekend, my girl enjoyed it but we have decided not to sign up for it. Reason being don't think we will invest in the instrument for her. We just want her to learn music for leisure and not for going thru the examination. I will continue to search for those leisure courses, found 1 but can only start when she is 8.

Hi Taurus

The leisure course I found recently is electronic keyboard which has no exam, but can only start at 8 yr old which I wonder why. That is the only one I found recently.

Hi Mommies

anyone considering the 2 day program suggested by papillion? I thou it is not bad, but dates clash with my other activites, hence I won't be signing up.

Long time no see. How's everyone?

Leetai,
Why don't you try string instruments like violin or ballet at CC? Can choose not to go through exam as it's optional.

Hi Taurus

The link is as follow:-

www.BelieverMusic.com

They had replied me that Believer Kids Keyboard Program is tailored for students ages 8-12 years old only. Means I can only sign up for my girl next year.

But take note that it is a christian based course, so not sure you are comfortable with it.

Hi Jun

Don't think my daughter is suitable for ballet class as she is quite clumsy ;p Furthermore recently we find out one of her leg bone structure a bit abnormal, so will be seeing a specialist on it soon. Hope is nothing serious.

Volin has never cross our mind and she never mention about it too. We only knows she loves singing most ;p

winniebear, taurus

I think quite a number of music schools conduct keyboard classes? or you can engage a private teacher to teach at home if you've a keyboard

hi mummies, long time no come in here.

recently i also thinking of sending my 18mth old to some music or singing class.

considering between kindermusik and statacco. SEMPI has the MIM prog but e reviews not so good. are there any other programme? i want one that has more content not just exposure. :p

coz it's so cute to see him try to reach notes when we try out the guitar tuner on our imac. hee hee.

Hi mummies, i'm staying at bedok and offering individual piano lessons. If anybody is interested in engaging my services do pm me. Thanks in advance.

Long time no see. How's everyone? Finally school reopens. Beginning of mad rush again. Homework, tuition, enrichments, exams, tests etc etc....

Xin,
18 months can go for music class? That's young. I thought Seimpi is quite good. There's another music school in United Square. Mandeville if I'm not wrong.