BEDOK mommies club

Times passes so fast ... 1st term of the school is over.

I concluded that my gal is absent minded, she always forget to bring back her files or books ... faint. Each day when we check her bag, it will be so messy ... faint again ...

Anyone has any suggestions how can I teach my gal to be more responsible?

Leetai,
It's quite normal. My dd also the same. A few times, we went to her school very early in the morning to retrieve her home work so that she can do it in the morning (she was in Pm session then). Once, we went there at 8pm and has to persuade the guard to let us into the school.

My mum said I was very forgetful when young too, so maybe it's "hereditary"? LOL...

How's your gal coping with school? Will there be SA1 exam? My kids are quite rest & relax as the school has only SA1 and SA2 this year. No more CA. Phew...

Hi Hi winniebear

Mine too leh. She lost 4 erasers & 1 ruler in term 1, forgot to bring the entire homework file home, left her cardigan in school, misplaced her water bottles thrice, lost her purse twice. I told her everyday is an adventure.

Then jie jie had to go to her class early in the morning to retrieve items she left behind the day before, or go general office to help her check lost & found counter.

And I can totally relate to the messy bag. I packed nicely & neatly for her before school. By the time she's home, the inside of her bag is like a war zone. She even rip off the entire magazine cover accidentally because cover page was stuck in between textbooks

Our kids can 结拜金兰, haha!

Iwg26

My dd2 definitely inherited her forgetfulness from her daddy. He's also very blur, can lost golf cap, golf club. I don't understand how can anyone misplace a golf club?

Anyway, I told both of them they have to learn to take responsiblity of their belongings. And I forbid hubby to buy another club to replace the one he lost. Too bad lor, teach him a lesson, haha!

Yawn,
How's your dd1 coping with P3 work? So far, dd seems v relaxed as besides her daily homework, there is no sup class. Even the class tests seem relatively easy compared to the CA or common tests set by other schools (top 10 schools). I hope I don't get a shock (of her grades) when she have her SA1 at end term 2. Are you preparing your dd for exam already? Any SA1 for P1 this year?

Iwg26

I don't usually prepare her for exam. The whole of P2 she didn't do a single set of top schools exam papers. Steady hor? haha!

P3 is pretty much the same as P2, in fact seems like lesser homework than last year!

But I noticed her Chinese results started slipping compared to last year. Her recent compo only 9/20 ! I guess teacher was more forgiving when they were in lower primary. Now start to feel the heat from higher Chinese.

Your dd having tuition for all subjects?

I started mine at nearby RC recently. Maths.
I coach the rest of the subjects.

My dd1 is the 'nua' type. Cannot push too hard. She will blow up and become angry. So I let her be lor. Fortunately her memory is quite good, so whatever teachers teach in class, can absorb, no need to revise. Problem is teachers don't teach a lot nowsaday. Seem insufficient to cover the depth of exam. So I ask her read up assessment books as supplement. Again must coax, cannot force her. Not typo hor - She only reads assessment, she does not do assessment books

Whereas my dd2 is entirely different from her jie jie. She's very hardworking, siao on type, will ask for more homework, dig out assessment books to do. But she also very blur. Learn spelling, can spell at home, go to school get 7/10. Huh ??!!

How about your ds and dd learning style?

Hi jun & yawn

Yes I think is "hereditary".
Mum commented I was a neat girl and a check with my hubby and he confirmed he was the messy one ;p

My girl is not having any CAs or SAs at all this year.

Her term 1 very relaxing. Almost no homework except for 1 time when she brought back Maths worksheets. Other than that really no other work.
I assume all done in school already.

Hi yawn
Does your dd2 has alot of homework? A check with my friends with Pri 1 kids, more or less have some homework. Compared to mine which basically don't have homework.

Leetai,
My mum said I always lost my water bottle and lunchbox in school. And I’ve “spider” hands always touching things and breaking them. So I really cannot scold them for being forgetful and mischievous since they got the “genes” from me. Haha…

Yawn Yawn

You are so patient to ‘coax’ her. I am not so kind. I will be angry once they give me the black face.

Dd will do assessments, albeit unwillingly. Dd has tuition for Science and both of them goes to Berries for Chinese. English – I let her DIY first. Her weakest subject is Maths and I’m tutoring her personally as I cannot entrust her to do Maths on her own. Half the time, she will claim that it’s too difficult or don’t understand then leave it blank. For those that she attempted, she will add or subtract wrongly and lose the marks. Sigh… I used to be quite good in Maths in school, not sure why she didn’t get some of the genes. Like most girls, her languages are ok although I feel her grammar, punctuation and sentence construction needs to be improved. Any clue how to improve grammar? Recently, her English compo got 12/20, and we got a shock. She used to get 12/15 in P2. She can tell me many people get same marks as her so we no need to worry. She requested to resume her English tuition as she gets to practice a compo every week. Spelling / tingxie – it’s the same for her. Can get full marks at home and go to school, many words forget liao.

DS is more diligent. He will automatically does his own school homework and assessments without me reminding. I tutor his Maths too but no need to spend too much time on him as he gets the concept very fast. Only thing is he is very active (cannot sit still) in school so he has to sit right under the nose of his form teacher so that she can monitor whether he’s behaving himself.

Why did you send dd1 to RC for Maths? I thought RC usually is for Eng/Sci/Math (all subjects). Have you stopped Chinese at RC?

Chinese is my hubby’s “department”. I told him I handle Maths, Science, English X 2 kids already not easy. Science is new to me and everything is now testing on application (of facts) and despite outsourcing to tutor, still need to monitor and go through with her before exam. For Maths, from P3 and P4 onwards, it will be getting tougher. I bought the MOE book on modeling. The sections on Fraction and Ratio are really not easy.

Iwg26

That RC goes by subject. My dd is pretty strong in Maths. This is one subject I leave entirely to her to 搞定. So I only coach 3 subjects in reality. But I did do filing for her Maths worksheets, haha!
My hubby will do Maths with her sometimes but not very regularly. So I guess sending her to RC once a week is more consistent. Otherwise like completely no stimulation also not too good, in case become rusty. Other than that, she does not even touch any Maths assessment books.

I withdrawn her from Chinese liao. She complained too difficult. Every week she couldn't finish essay in class. Write only 1st paragraph. I feel that there's no point continuing if she can't catch up. She wouldn't benefit anyway. I wanted to look for another center for her but she refused. Her pattern is like that so I must wait till she's agreeable. Meantime, my plan is to dig out those old essay she wrote previously to revise

winniebear

My dd2 has homework but not daily kind. Probably thrice a week. And not a lot. Like a page or two only

Your dd attending any enrichments?

Hi mummies, my son oso lost his eraser, ruler pencil .. I been buying it.. he will 4get to bring book n waterbottle hm.

Hi Yawn2

Currently my gal is not attending any enrichments, we only let her do some assessments over the weekend.

I have seen her chinese & english files. Still satisfed with her work. She left her Maths file in the school so we don't know how well she did for Maths.

So at the moment we will not send her for any enrichment yet, will monitor her performance.

Yawn yawn,
What do they do in RC for Maths? Dd doesn't like Maths but if I loosen my grip, the grades will drop. I spend much less time with ds as he is qt auto pilot. Will you be going Popular Fair this weekend? My friend recommended me a 600+ Besta translator. Not sure if I should invest in it. But cannot bring into exam hall only use at home.

Iwg26

Good question! I didn't even bother to look. She attended a few lessons so far. I just checked her file. Some arithmetic practice questions and some problem sums. Difference between P2 & P3 is the numbers get larger.

wow, Besta so expensive! I feel that there's no need to buy if cannot bring to exam. My dd uses dictionary at home. She's quite familar with checking dictionary. Problem is she knows the pinyin but can't recognise the chinese characters so I need to point out to her the word she is looking for, funny right?

I will wait for school to inform us which model that is allowed to bring into exam hall, buy that one, hopefully not too ex

Most likely going to popular fair. Need to top up stationery since my dd2 has been losing stationery, haha!

winniebear

I think P1 still quite free, honeymoon period. Maybe let her read more at home since school not so stressful yet

My dd2 loves reading simple magazines like national geographic, spiders and young scientists. Quite interesting.

You can either subscribe or borrow these magazines from library

Taurus

I have 3 water bottles at home just for dd2.
In case she misplaced, I don't have to rush out to buy another

Hubby asked me why I kept buying water bottles, haha!

@ lee tai, still not much hmwrk.. Teacher say term 2 then start Gt hmwrk.

@ yawn yawn, I let him use mineral water wen he nvr bring bk fr Sch..

Yawn Yawn,
I check SEAB website, there are 4 models approved for use in exam - Besta and Creative. Creative model is valid till 2015 for PSLE. Besta is until 2014. See if I've time to go Popular fair to check it out. The feedback I got from friends are that e-dictionary can find the word faster since time is of the essence during exam and they will give example of usage (sentence). Nowadays she always use my HP to check chinese characters cos claim that cannot find in dictionary (i.e. lazy to check).

leetai,
I strong recommend Young Scientist. My kids read and re-read until the magazine become kiam cai.

winnerbear

Yes, my dd2 has been reading young scientists since k2. I subscribed for dd1 through school. dd2 started reading too
I didn't subscribe to storybox, not many copies in library. They only read storybox when I managed to find one in library.

Iwg26

besta and creative, wonder which is better. I will check it out at popular

yawn,
No I've withdrawn them after 1 term. Cos too many homeworks.Too stressful (for us both). I've to yelled at them to do the work. Sometimes, my boy even wake up early at 7-8am to complete his Maths homework (he is PM session). I prefer him to sleep more.... ; )

For Maths, I teach myself since still manageable. Otherwise, I prefer enrichments that have minimal homework like Berries. My friend told me Learning Lab's English program is good but the fee is exorbitant.

Popular sale at Expo

Went before lunch time. Assessment books 20-25% off.
But super crowded leh, probably due to school holiday. Huge squeeze at assessment section. Queue also ridiculously long. I managed to buy a few Chinese readers at 1.50 each

Yawn,
re: Learn L. As fee is so high, I won't send unless absolutely necessary and unless people I personally know recommend it. For now, it's still manageable, so no point throwing $ down the drain.

Did you manage to check out the Besta e-dictionary? I went to Popular branch and they were trying to sell me the $698 newest model and throw in the E-dictionary (approved for PSLE) free. I ask hubby to do some research before committing. But I guess if my 2 kids share, should be quite fully utilized. Just like IPad, all 5 of us take turns to use so I'd say it's one of our best investment.

Iwg26

Attended parents-teachers meeting. Both languages teachers said my dd1 needs to step up on creative writing.

Stressed....

Hmmm ... how to improve creative writing? Read more story books ??
I wonder is there any guide book for parents to read to help the kids on creative writing

Re: comp
I guess not only read more but also widely. I have stopped English tuition for my dd this year and monitor how she is doing. Instead I encouraged her to read newspaper. During the parent teacher meeting, teacher commented she didn't do well in first comp but improved a lot in her second compo. Shall keep finger crossed.

Yawn,
Which aspects did the teachers comment that she should improve? Grammar, storyline or?

Now their chinese compo must do in the class and cannot check dictionary. I wonder how the kids who are weak in Chinese cope. I myself can't remember how to write many characters.

She is getting her dose of practice from Berries. I also bought the Besta e dictionary to encourage self learning.

winniebear, Iwg26

My dd is already reading plenty of storybook, too many in fact. She can read until forget to do homework. I have to restrict her reading time!

I also bought some model compo for her to read. Ask her to memorise phrases is like fighting a war. And all the nagging, I didn't see her applying any of those phrases in her compo. Waste my energy nagging

Teachers said her writing is inconsistent. Depends on her mood. Faint!

Yawn,
In future all the reading will enlighten her. Currently we parents more kancheong than them. What is your gal's average marks for English compo? During PT meeting, the teacher say aim for 18/20 to be good.

I bot besta because buy the more exp model will get the exam model free. So far so good. It's qt basic. We mainly use the non exam model to check English. Really convenient as they give examples of usage.

Learning Lab:
Funny is: I heard the child has to be good in order to get in. And is not CHEAP.

My son is struggling with both his English and Chinese languages.... Haiz...

juz me

Hey, didn't 'see' you here for quite a while. Come in more often to chit chat lah

My dd1 went for their placement test last year but we decided not to put her in learning lab after all. She said test is super easy. So maybe their standard not really that high leh

Your ds still with that center in tampines? If no noticeable result after so long, maybe should switch center

Yawan - Yar! long time no "see"....
Busy.... Will try to come more often =)

DS - still with the centre in Tampines for Chinese only. Well... so far, quite okay.... at this moment, not thinking of changing because ds is pretty comfortable with his friends there. In addition, my younger one - Pri 1 is also going there for Chinese (same slot) - different teachers....

No longer attending English there. Not much result. In addition, he has supplementary class on that day, hence, it will be super long day for him. Reaching home is almost 10pm. If there is unfinish homework, he will have to continue doing...

Learning lab - your girl must be very smart leh... heard only good ones can go in....

Science - how is your girl coping?
Mine - bordeline pass for his Topical test... guess - he got to put in more effort.... Haiz...

juz me

Did you see my earlier comments? Aiyo, during parents-teachers meeting, both languages teachers said my dd1 needs to step up on her creative writing. Stressed leh. I intend to sign her up for English creative writing class at nearby CC or RC, at least more consistent practice. Chinese I teach

Science too soon to comment. My dd said teacher still at chapter 1 leh

Hi yawn2

Yesterday we receive a memo from the school on various assessments that my girl will be having from next week till May. Almost every week also have. I wonder how I am going to guide her especially on those performance task.

This morning she happily told me the hanyu pinyin ting xie will be the last one next week.
However she didn't know that thereafter will be the chi yu or the han zi will be coming up next.

Recently she told me her favourite subjects are Chinese & Mathematics. I wonder is it because the English teacher looks more fierce hence she don't like English ;p

Good to hear everyone is good. I've been 'hardworking' in studying ('i' study not the kids loh). In order to teach them, mummy has to be on and in line with syllabus.

Yawn yawn
How did your gal find the school's topical tests? Recent Chinese test was mostly Mcq. The others seem not especially tough to me as compared to the CA or SA exam From other schools. I hope the school is not relying on parents to coach the difficult parts. Yday my gal came back with Math worksheet on division. She say too tough and teacher said to go home ask parents for help and explain. It may be the beginning of parents playing a more active role in teaching (instead of school teaching)

Iwg26

Wow, you're very hardworking! I didn't study in advance. Usually I just shove to dd what I want her to read. If she's stuck then I jump in to see if I can help

My guess school only show true colour during SA. I think topical test generally is 送分 kind, to help most kids passed. But my dd still didn't get full marks leh. I saw her English test paper yesterday. Compre lost marks in every question! Aiya, so wasted!

I didn't look at her maths worksheets though. I'm hands off with Maths so far. Overwhelmed already, no time to check so many things

My dd quite 'hong sim' leh. Keep asking me to bring her to karoke or movies. This week she said she wants to watch diary of wimpy kids

winnerbear

My dd2 said English is her poorest subject. I think she's a bit demoralised by her spelling results. She has spelling 障碍, haha!

Your dd has show n tell?

I prefer the good old days, with CA and SA. Only need to gear up thrice a year, no need to study throughout the year!

Yawn,
No lah, I didn't study in advance. When her school teach Multiplication, I will read up on multiplication. And now it's division. She lost some marks on her English compre too. Since she has no more tuition for English, she has been quite motivated to work hard on her own.

Yawn2: Paiseh - didn't read much earlier threads.

25 April will be ds oral exams.
There will be topical test this week - last min notice. Didn't have time to go through with him....