Advice on Myanmar Maid

@autumnkumiko

I have been interacting with Rebecca in JLK Employment for sometime now. So far so good. Have confirmed a maid from them. She is expected to reach here by 1st week july. Hope everything goes well in my way
so nervous
hope my luck is good and the helper is kind and good

Hi RashmiJK,

Hope we both have luck to have good maids this time.

Hi Sandra,

U r right. What I encounter from the bio-data r mostly christian. I checked with agencies and they either said the place they get r mostly christian or the christian ones r more mature and less stubborn. Not sure what they said r true...

Hi glad,

Heard the norm now is S$450 for indonesian and S$400 for the rest. No off day except Phil is getting one off day a mth.

Cant imagine that maid is getting every week off...weekday no work and only weekend need her to help out then off day...goodness...

Do consider carefully if you intend to hire a new myanmar maid, first of all, they do not understand basic English, not even with simple words like bath, rain, wash ... you have to show her in hand language. Their English is worse than new indon maids.

Maybe, they are not use to our culture. They like to cry out loudly here & then and when you asked her what happened, she only can tell you, Yes mdm yes mdm and then back to their normal self. Another shocking moment, after their bath, she just came out from the toilet naked.. I almost faint when I see her like that and told her to out on the proper clothing when you came out from the toilet.

They are also very very bad in hygiene, never wash their after going to toilet. Once, I caught my maid sneezing out her mucus from her nose and throw it onto the floor then wipe her hand back on her shirt. It's really disgusting and I can't imagine her taking care of my young kids after that. She was sent off to agent on the very day when I saw that, enough of all these nonsenses from them and no more myanmar maids for me from now on. Not sure about ex-sin is it better than new ones..

Their salary now is $400 without off days. It's really waste of time & money of getting them for a short while.

I just got my myanmar maid in for $400 no off day. She's like from another planet. Shower alternate day?!?!?! then I realized that she did not want to wear her own clothes to work. I showed her some old clothes in her drawer that she could use, they are all clean. On the 5th day, she finally agreed to wear them and I went out to buy new bermudas for her.

So tired now, I'll update more when I have time, I just want to say that my first experience with a myanmar maid is quite a shock!

stshaw,

Shower alternate day is nothing special to them.I made her shower twice daily & made sure she washes her hand after visiting the toilet & changing the newspapers for my dog. it takes time for them to adapt to our culture here.

All mummmies,
I've decided to forgive my maid after her calling me for forgiveness. she wants to come back bt now facing another issue. how can i bring her back without going thru agency? she did not pay tax the last time she left.

Feeling confused; some people advised me to get Myanmar maids who are educated from high school to degree as they are better but some say Indon maids better.

From what I see, all my relatives' Indon maids are OK after training and can understand some English whereas the language issue seems more difficult with Myanmar maids.

can any mummy advise with their own experience? Tks!

Hi mummybaby2008

I could not even make my mynmar maid shower daily, today is her 12th day with me. How did you manage to make her shower twice a day?

I came home today from work and I always wash my feet and hands first, i went to the common toilet and could smell something bad. Looked into the toilet bowl, there was blood like our period blood clots. I don't know how long it has been there, but if it smell that bad, must have been there for sometime.

She has been quiet and expressionless all this while I had her. She's been eating so much, I had to confirm if it was period blood or she's sick because she's been eating so much.

She left all the buckets in the toilet wet with pools of water, I told her about Dengue thingy and that she has to remove them when she washed the toilet. She does not seem to care. I had to call the agency and asked them to talk to her about it. Asked her to wash the toilet, she just picked up the toilet bowl brush and stuck it into the bowl with the clots of blood. So the brush stained with bloody water she put on the floor next to the toilet bowl, so now she has to clean the whole toilet.

My Indo maids were more expressive, they made attempts to communicate, even if they can't speak English, they speak in Bahasa.

All my other 5 indo maids shower everyday as is the norm, they all want to look clean and neat without me asking from day 1.

This is my 1st mynmar maid, i discovered later that she did not want to wear her own clothes to work. I showed her some old clothes to wear for work the moment i brought her home. 2 days later I went out to buy bermudas for her and passed her some more old clean clothes. The day before yesterday, she also refuse to shower. She looks quite pretty actually......

Hi stshaw,

I think your maid is probably one of those who just want to get out of their country to look-see look-see.
My 1st maid from Myanmar told me that there are those who altho' want to work as maid (for the money) but at home probably never even help out at all, especially those who are only child or the youngest and live in the city area - does not have the right attitude.
As for the clothes, probably she expects to wear some kind of uniforms - like maid uniform thing that we see in those rich people's house. Maybe she disappointed that her employer is not one of those who stay in landed property? No offence ok?
Somemore your maid has so bad personal hygience, if I am you, I would want to change her after 1 week if not immediately!

Hi Allison

None taken. I know what you mean, I used to see sometimes those very wealthy Indo family with maids wearing uniform, 1 each for each child and sometimes with old folks in wheelchair.

I'm so shocked how much she can eat. On Sunday, I told her to cook 5 cups rice (raw), I was expecting for lunch and dinner and some left over for cooking porraige for Monday. My husband and ate 2 bowls for lunch, I went out for lunch when I returned home, my husband ate 1 bowl and I asked him to scoop 2 tb spoon as I had dinner already.

At night, I checked the rice cooker, there was only 1/2 bowl rice left. I imagine 5 cups raw rice would yield at least 10 bowls of cooked rice. I wonder if she really ate so much or threw my rice away?!?!?!?

Hi stshaw (stshaw),

I don think ur maid throw them away....It's well known that Myanmar maids eat lots of rice haha...my maid ate one high heap of rice too. The bowl we use is not those normal rice bowl, it's those u know ppl use for "fish ball noodle"...it's huge bowl lor...i think equivalent to at least 3 bowl of our normal rice bowl
AND it's just for 1 meal (dinner)...her lunch also same...and morning i wake up also saw her eat rice...all same bowl haha...

Our dinner itself cook 4 cups of raw rice and for only 5 adults and 2 small kids (think they eat only abt half a rice bowl only) haha....

But the hygiene thing har...better stress and give her a serious look. Tell her if bad hygiene, will have bacterial and cause ppl to fall sick and end up got more work to do hahah...haiz....i'm also very surprise that u din change her...u can loon....i read liao wanna faint le....

I also tell my maid to shower twice-morning n night...cos i say she need to carry baby and "baby MUST clean..no clean i don like and i will angry".... den she know...

My new maid also din bath the day she reach my home...den i pull out a time table with pics and words to ask her to shower in morning n night...and luckily she listen.

Hi MommyBaby

I don't mind she eat so much, it's like 3 bowls of rice every meal. Just scared she get sick, indigestion etc.

Now just loon to get another replacement.

When I picked her up at the agency, I brought along a 8 page document of expectations, conduct and chore schedule etc to ask the agency's mynmar staff(councelor) to translate to make her understand. Spent about 2 hours there to do this and asked her to sign that she understand, I also took 3 days off to hands on show and train her on the chores.

I asked her to take notes since I brought her back, she refused to. She will look at the file and read the chore schedule, then she forgets the details.

Yesterday, the sink stopper from the toilet was missing, I asked her what happened to it, she answered 'throw it away'. My husband was so angry and said she must have thought if it's missing, she wouldn't have to clean it.

Today, when I came home from work, the stopper appeared in the sink.

Long time nvr catch up with you guys. Busy with work and kids falling sick one after another.
About my Myanmar Maid...she was all good for the past 7months which and the 8th month she get a full salary..started a lot of hanky panky things...Recently brought her to clinic twice due to reflux/ heartburn eat too much of spicy food and oily stuffs...i remember when she came here I did asked her can she take spicy all she do is nod the head and claims she take spicy even in her country. Yst the doc told me to control her diet and cost me almost SGD100bucks to see the doctor and take her medicines. The very first time I brought her to see doc already cost me $40plus and she recovered den last Friday she ate curry even I told her not to eat. Sat her pain started and she complained so much but overall she can look after my boi housework all cannot be done as my boy now starting to crawl and walk so she have to look after him carefully. After he sleep she does afew of the daily housework..sometime I even think im paying her salary so much yet the work done so little..haizz sian to the max. And when my hubby last time told her about the medical cost she raise her voice to me you cut my pay take all my pay....wah damn pissed off almost lost my control..but to prevent anything bad happen I scolded her off and left the house to cool down myself...so confused to keep her or change her...only worried my boi cannot get along with my the new maid and I hv to start teaching all over the things...can mummies please advise me? I can rate my maid 6 out of 10.

Both my elderly aunties (living alone, children visit few times a week) switched to myanmar maids about 1 yr ago. They told me that their maids still can't manage simple cooking, it's like they can't learn, even daily housework also can forget this and forget that, even now.

Simple greeting like 'Mam eat', 'Mam anything else?' 'Mam good night' so hard to learn meh? So reluctant to greet, they just appear rude. Don't they greet their family at home?
I'm saying this, not because I think I'm so big or high and mighty, just so that I know she's eating, so I will not plan things to do or disturb her meal, to inform her about tomorrow's meal plan, in the morning to prepare vege, meat etc, so when I wake up, everything is ready for me to start cooking.

I wonder if they they have any concept of working as domestic help.

Indon maids on the other hand, seem to adjust better and know the concept. I've had 5 indon maids, even the bad ones have some basic concept of greeting and will write down instructions and make attempts to communicate even if they can't speak english, they speak in bahasa. Even they come from kampung, they shower everyday.

If these myanmar girls can't follow instructions to do their work, how do they work in their country whatever job they do?

I oso cannot tahan my Myanmar maid anymore.... Super forgetful & no common sense till I dun even dare to let her pick up my kids just across the road.
She's already with me for 6 mths & I am still nagging at her everyday on her daily simple household chores. I had maids from Indo & Fillipino but Myanmar is the worst. Just eg: it took her 3 mths to rembr to put the mats & rugs back to same place after mopping. Can imagine how much blood I had vomitted out.

Anyway, I gave up on Myanmar & waiting for my new filipino maid to come b4 I send her back to agent.

I've also sent away 2 Myanmar maids. D 1st one was wif me for 6 weeks. Super 4getful, argumentative n most of d time juz staring out d window not doing anything. 2nd one was wif me for 4 weeks. Always look at mirror n not doing anything. Calculative cos she only wash our clothes n refuse to wash for my dad n niece as they r not staying wif me. Smtg common btw d 2 r their English vry poor, dun know dun ask, big eater n d 2nd one actually put on alot of weigh cos she only eat n not doing anything. Aft I send her bk, she complain tat I make her wk in 3 hse. Juz bcos I'm staying wif dad as my hse was renovating n she consider washing 4 my dad n niece another hse? Pls lah, only nid to throw d clothing into d washing machine n how much can they wear. I gv up on Myanmar maid. Now rather not hv any maid.

hi cheryl,
mine oso argumentative and a bit stubborn, as i told you before she is a year with us liao. we still decide to keep her till contract ends due to she can cook for whole family (esp when we fall sick one after another due to flu virus). she can still do housework and take care of bb (though still requires a bit of supervision) and can sing & teach my bb in sufficient english.

mine was sick due to gastric pain and flu when she arrives (prob due to enviromental adjustment). we told her we had enuf of her sickness being pretentious or genuine. We told her the next time she is sick, we will just buy her medicine from pharmacy and no more doc's (cos we spent a bomb on her minor treatment too). we also told her no more spicy food for her at all and we give her a big tumbler to ask her to fill up with water to drink and drink everyday. since then, she has not been sick already, cos she knows that she will have to learn to take care of her own health.

as for hygiene, we oso tell her must take bath everyday. otherwise, she has to catch and kill bed bugs everyday if it manifest from her perspiration, body odour into mattress, etc. we told her she must pay for any damage cost if need to call professional to kill bedbugs. so far, she will bathe daily. then, when we happen to smell her hair or her mouth, we will also tell her to wash hair and buy her oral gargle to rinse and drink more water. we will also do ad-hoc check on her finger and toe nails and insist she cut it weekly.
Having experienced worst indon maid, we are fearful to change as the current myammar maid still "ok" despite some minor attitudes that we have to tell ourselves to close one eye.

Hi Onsansg,

Im going thru the same as you she can look after my bb during the nights as my boi is 10mths he still cannot sleep well at nights. And she no prob in taking care of him. Always I will ask her any prob taking are of my son she will say no he is not those cranky type..but needs a lot of attention. So my worry now is I change her my boi might get affected, housework aside I still can cope after work. She is with me for 10mths sometimes I ever think is she pretend to be sick or really sick haizzz...after see doc twice take regular medicine still nvr recover and yst nite I asked her yr tummy pain what you want us to do becos I went back home her face black so my hubby say don’t ask her anything wait she will start her story but u know after work stress go bk see yr helper black face sian lei...si I asked her and she started to complain...pain her and there don’t know what to do..

Can you advise me abit how you let your maid eat without spicy what kind of food can she take..since yr maid also had gastric pain doc medication cannot work den wht else can we do..becos of this her work is poor forgetfully..but at times she will pretend to be forgetfully I can feel it.... really lost;(((

My maid from labour express arrived airport on sat but agent said they cannot get her, she was missing .
Agent suspect she might be taken away by other agent by mistake or someone came to pick her up?
This is the third day and still no news, I am thinking should I still employ her if she is found ? Even not fault of hers?
Really bad luck!

labour express provide myanmar maid? the last time I called they said dont do myanmar.
Strange that she could go missing, as long as it wont cause you any penalty.

anybody maid has relative or friends want to come here work? I was thinking of bringing in myself instead. since all these agent also no guarantee anything. my maid is quiting on me. I need to find a new one. dont feel like going to agents again. Pls pm me. thanks.

Do any of your myanmar maids take notes?
I asked my maid to take notes in her own language, she refused to take notes, then she forgets her work. I'm sure she like to write, I saw her writing her diary.

Hi mommybaby
Can you share what do you mean by time table with pic and words? Photos of eg mop and words like eg 1/2 cap Kleen floor with 1/2 bucket water?

I'm really so annoyed with my maid, she's lying about her cleaning and when I show her the dust, she just stands there like a lump, I have to ask her to clean again.

She's suppose to mop the floor every morning and every evening. She just lie. Only mop in the evening and the floors don't feel clean. So sian, have to watch her clean, then she clean.

Hi stshaw,
Facing same situation.. bot a notebook for my "小姐“ but she still refuse to take notes on the spot. Yet, she can write a lot of letters to her frds. Btw, she's a lawyer grad but super forgetful. Wonder is her degree real...

Hi cat tail

Really.......... law grad and work as maid here?!?!!?!?! Is Myanmar's economy so bad?

I sent mine back to the agent last week after having her for 3 weeks. All these types are attitude problem. Not interested in learning to improving their work. So arrogant, thinking that they can remember everything to do their chores. Then it turns out that they forget and do a sloppy job and then still ya ya, still don't want to take notes.

How long has your maid been with you?

Hi stshaw,
She's been wif me for 6 mths leh. I had been tolerating her forgetfulness cos I find her personality not bad. But after so long, I am mentally drained of repeating my instructions that I had to let her go & get a Fillipino maid replacement.

I have a myanmar maid with me 1 year now..she's from some very kampong part of Myanmar..at first I thought her personality is good but she steal a bowl of raw rice. When I found out, she say it's her village custom to keep rice..anyone who has myanmar maid able to advise me whether there's any of this custom? Or she's lying?

Hi Star haahoos,
I know they eat a lot of rice. Anyway, why would she want raw rice? Not to be offensive, but do you restrict her rice intake? If you do, I suggest just let her eat as much as she wants and see if the same thing happens.

I have this myanmar maid from labour express and very disappointed with their quality of maid!
This maid simply cannot speak english and understand very little English ! Need to use dictionary to talk to her!
I feel she has not much training and we have to teach her tasks and communication is real headache.
She has been with us for 3 weeks and keeping her as she willing to work !

Hi Star haahoos,

I did checked with my myanmar maid she say no such thing as keep the raw rice. I really cannot figure out why yr maid did that. Like what (Tinklestar) says they really eat alot of rice and my maid also problem overeating and fall sick for 1mth later she admit she eat alot and in her country she took medicines for every meal she takes in. So we suggest her to get thoes medicines and my Hubby's worker is also a Myanmar guy so he helped us get thoes tablets. So far my maid is better now and she does eat breakfast bread den lunch after lunch around 1hr later she even eats biscuits and holicks etc...but all this biscuits and holicks bought by her own $ becos we only can afford to feed her 3meals as per MOM rules other den this she has to buy her own.. really bo pian bah she is alone looking after my son at home so we also hvae to give in this things. As long as work is done my baby is safe we just dont retrict her loh
(

i heard an indonesian maid in m'sia also eat raw rice..i once caught my ex-indon maid also bite raw rice, perhaps as snack or they feel like wanting to munch on something..i din't ask her but after i allowed her to use her own money to buy snacks, sweets, melon seed - then no more biting on raw rice liao..

Hi all..thanks for the advise..my maid is always a small eater since she came to my house..we did provide a tin of biscuits for her snack in-between meals but over a year, she only finish 1 tin, the 2nd one is still half full..she say she dun take breakfast at her home..only take 2 meals..we still provide her full 3 meals as she has house chores to do here..I don't want her to faint at my house..I'll continue to monitor her..if there's still any weird behavior, I'll want to install a camera..I really worry as she's the one taking care of my child too..

That's kind of weird, her eating only 2 meals. Is her portion of food very big for the 2 meals? My maid eats a lot and she has 3 meals. She's from Myanmar too.

If you don't feel easy, just install camera, shouldn't wait.

Tinklestar, this is wat my maid told me. She say at her hometown in Myanmar, she only takes 2 meals..I think her family must be very poor..but with me, I insist that she has to take 3 meals..compare to my previous Indonesian maids, this Myanmar maid eat lesser and she's my 1st Myanmar maid so I dun really understand their culture yet..
I'm not familiar with which type of camera to install..any recommendation? wanna install a good one and install it once for all as I cannot do without a maid yet..

Which state or race is she from? Mine is a Kachin.

The one in my house for the living room can rotate up, down,left, right. Its good because on the internet, you can control it so it rotates the view. But we use this only because our living room comprised of a bedroom, dining and living and has weird angles.

I would suggest you go down to sim lim towers / square (not the one people say is tourist trap) and talk to the people there. Find out your room size (length width) and ask them to recommend. Also how clear do u wan images to be, want to be able to view through Internet and select locations. If you want to see all angles, get one that can rotate almost 360 degree.

For the other rooms, we used computer cameras, I forgot what it's called, the type where one used for having a conversation on via the computer..just get a clear one. Hubby mentioned cheaper..so u can compare cost with a CCTV camera. However we don't do recording since hubby has no time to arrange.

It's all done by hubby so Not too sure of brands etc. I also don't dare to recommend in case it's expensive. There are times when he says it's cheap but I think it's expensive. He says cheap becoz of the functions...also it all depends on your criteria like what I stated above and price will differ. I suggest you get a few quotes. U can ask shops if they provide installation and programming if you intend to view through Internet.If you are interested, I might be able to provide a contact for installation only but need to check with them.

raw rice hw 2 eat? strange, aft reading all tis, i oso supect my maid eat raw rice, otherwise y my rice finish so fast? i cook 2 n half cups each day, aftnoon onli noodles wo rice, y my 10kg rice can finish less than a mth? strange rite! y i nv suspect she eat raw rice, hw 2 find out har? since she always stay inside e kitchen n wake up very early but do nothing, she oledi with us 4 3 mths liao, working attitude is quite ok, onli recently act very strange, like 2 throw temper, shows unhappy face, rised her voice when i pass remarks on her working style, she is quite slow. yest said her muz b fast, 2day she start 2 throw temper liao, hw 2 hander her har? she likes dont understand what i said but dont ask leh...

Sandra,

When I was in confinement, my maid finish a 10kg rice in less than a month.she has a big bowl of rice for lunch and dinner, like the mee hoon kuay bowl or bigger. On top of that, she has a egg, half a plate of veggie and then meat or fish. You might want to let her cook the Amt of rice she wants and see what happens. Else lock up the cupboard though it might be a bit drastic.

My maid was like that too after 3-4 months. Attitude became worst, though not that fantastic in 1st place. And we don't I'll-treat her becoz my sisters all commented that she was so much plumper and that was only 2 months plus into the job.

I suspected she realize I was pregnant, stomach quite big by then. So think I can't do without her to the extent that one day I was telling her off for letting my eldest hug my leg 3 times in 15 min while I was deep-frying, she could shake her legs and smile. I got pissed off and told her if she's not interested to work, just let me know and I will send her home or to the agency since I can survive without her as eldest in ccc. And after I gave birth, her attitude was much better.

So the trick is not to let them know u don't have to depend on them. Also, don't bother to be too nice or chatty to them. This is what I realise after 2 maids, they start having attitudes and thinking you owe them and they should have this and that. Just make sure they have enough rest and food.

Otherwise it could well be she's homesick. For mine, I doubt she was homesick becoz when I told her to keep her old suitcase in the store, she said she wants to throw away. The 1st thought I had was "don't you want to go back" and after that " what if I cannot tolerate anymore and want you to leave"

And my hubby said exactly the same thing. She doesn't want to go home.

Sorry I mean the trick is to never let them think u can not do without them. And I find they are generally more scared of sir.

My maid of one month is not improving much. She still cannot fully understand English and her standard is low. We are considering changing her , been a tough time to train and communicate with her.
Agent should not accept maid that cannot speak and understand English and they still dare to take money from us.
I am utterly disappointed with LABOUR EXPRESS ( people park)!
any advice whether we shd keep or change a new maid?
We dare not take from the same agency .

What do u mean by standard is low?

Btw, they can read English pretty well. At least mine can. She can read our newspapers but cannot speak. Just write down. What I did was personally do the housework once for her to see and she could follow. Oh yea she stayed at agent for a week.
I would retain if she does meet my basic criteria and doesn't give me major problems coz I have heard of friends cases where maid steals or put detergent into baby's milk etc. Anyway, mine took half a year or more before she actualy improve. But I draw the line at giving attitude to employer despite repeated warnings as it means the person is out of ones control and one will not know what she might do.
If you want to change, suggest u find a agent whose really fierce to them as they are more scared of them than of us. I got mine from greatlink bukit timah. She's not fantastic but my house is generally clean though she's slacking off..

there won't be immediate improvement with just a month. myammar maids takes longer to learn like 6months, especially if they are fresh and inexperienced. seems like the girls who is single in their country seldom do housework and quite pampered. that's why, those who are willing to come are either decided to earn their own money or "look-see-look-see" for better life with employers (hence, they don't mind to keep changing boss and risk their penalties).

but, i'm like tinklestar will still keep if her performance, though slacking off but still within acceptable limits. very important is the maid doesn't steal and lie..

btw, tinklestar - which country maids you heard of who steals or put detergent into bb's milk, etc.

hi tinklestar,
precisely that is my fear on this two nationalities too..as for myammar, no matter how stubborn, may be calculative or not alert - we still feel safe having their help (knowing they will not harm us, even if we sometimes have to scold them a bit for repetitive mistakes or stubborness)..

Personally, I think it's character rather than nationalities and sometimes religion. So far, my maids are either catholic (not counting Filipinos as they are usually Catholics) or Christian. Plus easier to provide food, don't have to consider what they can eat.