Advice on Myanmar Maid

Hi mummy_baby2008,

Alamak!! Are you serious!! The hygiene level is that bad??!!

Wah I think luckily i keep stressing to my maid that she's taking care of baby, everything must be clean...and mine did keep washing hands.. cos initially i also saw that her hands are not wet after visiting toilet and i ask her to wash. and also after touching the table cloth and she want to carry my baby..i demand her to go wash hands before touching my baby...lolz.. i thought only for mine cos she comes from village...din know most of them are like that!!

But the poor memory thing is true...mine is also like that....I tell her do this way, initially she will follow, but slowly 2-3 days later, the procedure slowly degrade and few more days later, it's back to her style....i got to re-instruct her again and she will reset and do it my style for few more days or week but will degrade slowly... and the thing goes on again and again haha..needs to do it many times to drill it into her head haha...but she will only do it about 70-80% right and i will just close 1 eye haha...better den nothing

Hi MommyBaby,

Yes, serious their hygiene level is so bad, same like u, i keep reminding her to wash her hand. U know there was once i saw her using table cloth to "shun bian" wipe her mouth after eating!! Every single thing got to remind her several times.Treat her like a small kid, but after those "drilling" and scolding, my hard effort paid off. She's overall ok now and doesn't needs constant reminder.

Hi mummy_baby2008 and MommyBaby,

For those with poor hygiene level, maybe can paste a poster on hands hygiene in the bathroom and sink area as reminder, like what is done in the schools toilet and some public toilets.

I came across this lessons on hand hygiene, http://www.positivelygoodproductions.com/washinghands.htm, interesting.. maybe can use this to educate them. Hahaha, like hospital hand hygiene std leh.

I am blessed that my current maid is rather smart, learn things fast and can rememeber after 2 reminders, has initiatives too. So I don't have to spend a lot of time training her. Praying the new one will be good too. Asking too much..?hahaha.

Hi mummy_baby2008,

Wah kao...table cloth to clean her mouth!!!! don tell me they use dish washing liquid to bath haha...no la, joke...

Wah wanna puke cos I'm eating now haha....ermmm....lucky your maid learnt now... lolz...I hope just the minority are like that hee....

Hi Allison (mom_of_2_princes),

Eh, the english too chim liao lor...lucky got colorful pics haha...must color print out to paste there....can show kids also haha....thanks..

chers

Hi MommyBaby,
You are welcome.

Once my ex-colleague shared that her indo maid used only one cloth for cleaning...wiping table, wipe furniturs, wipe the floor, wipe the sink etc. Dunno got wipe her mouth or not. Faintz...lol.
They come from villages and poor families, don't have luxury of so many cloths, washing gel etc, very simple life.
We are like have so many... shampoo, shower gel, hand gel, baby bottles washing detergent, dish washing detergent, laundry detergent, floor cleaner, bahtroom/sink cleaner, mirror cleaner, furniture cleaner etc.. so much more complicated and can get confusing (if not overwhelming) for them lah.
My no. 1 DS once asked me: "Mommy, why do you have to buy shampoo wash for me? Why can't I use the shower gel for washing my hair too? Saves me time in bathing leh, otherwise you complain I spent so much time bathing and wasting water?".
@@
~~~

haha...lolz...so cute... actually we really have too many things to use....

den u should answer that shampoo contains conditional to soften the hair n make it soft n smooth... body wash just wash away the dirt only, if use body wash to wash hair, the hair will be stiff stiff...very hard to comb cos all tangle up den comb too hard will drop off haha...

my house quite simple la, detergent n dentol. i use detergent to wash toilet also...floor, toilet bowl, toilet mirror, toilet wall, all use detergent (powder). I also use the same detergent to wash clothes...cheap n easy haha...

so my maid not so confuse hee...only few things to remember:

toilet - detergent
clothes - detergent + dentol
Glass - glass cleaner
Dishes - dish washing liquid

bo liao...all different color...wont mix up that easy hee..

but the 1 cloth "闯天下" is scary... all use 1 cloth haha.....zzzzzzzz

mummybaby
I agree! But once they know or master the skill, they can b quite yaya, from cannot speak well to argue n voice getting louder!

Hi Allison (mom_of_2_princes)!

It was rather traumatizing considering the fact that it's our first time.. and hopefully not the last in the long run..

I think it's really horrible to under-report the maid's age. We sincere employers pay that kinda money to employ help! Not take in another kid! The more i think of it, the more I'll boil... haha.

We'll be putting it off for now.. Have got a 2 year old toddler and baby on hand... Hope I'll survive. :p

mummy_baby2008.. that's what I did too... so it's normal huh. haha. I made her wash her feet whenever she comes into the house.. and I'll check that she does that.

But I made a mistake. I didn't stop her much when she goes to bed without bathing.

Singapore weather so hot, whenever we go out, sure perspire.. or even at home doing housework in the evening, sure become sticky in the night.. but she never seem to bathe before going to bed.. hais.

Still feel very sayang that I let her go as I like her willingness to learn.. just my luck I guess..

Hi Fiona (fionaaarenang),

I agree it's terrible to under-report the age. Can't imagine the Indo maid who pushed the 12yr gal over the flat was only 15 years old...such a tragedy.

Well, all the best in your efforts of raising 2 children, without a maid. Since you are SAHM, all the time and love you spend with your children will definitely be worthwile. Housechores...can get part-timer to help out if needed.

Luck is one of the factor, I think right matching and timing also play a part. It just like employees finding the right/matching job/company to work in or employers finding the suitable candidate to fulfil the role of the job vacancies. The only thing is we don't have face-to-face interview for selecting maid, so not easy to find the good match ...

so much to read abt myanmar maid, my new one arrived end of feb. initially she seems very 'new', cos she didnt even know how to take the lift. but soon I found her rather smart, cos I showed her how to take bus and walk a few blocks to fetch and send my son to school, she remembered on the very 1st time.
When she came I asked if she had hp with her and how she going to call home if no hp, she said write letter, but I went to check her bag when she isnt around and found hp charger. I am disappointed as I quite please with her. should I accept the fact that maids sure have and will have hp. cant change anymore maid, as the salary now quite high, this is the last $300/mth maid.

I want to intsall hiiden camera, any recommendation?

i am abit confused abt the passport renewal cost. I went to the myanmar embassy to check and it was indicated that it costs $600 to renew the pp. My maid's passport is expiring in may11. was wondering if i shd renew. also, do they need any kind of document if she wants to go back for home leave (in the event i keep her)?

Hi Allison,

thanks for the advice. hiazz tried calling the embassy to check about whether maid needs to pay income tax before she goes for home leave just now. the person who picked up the call said dun know... asked me to call her officer after 2pm.

do u know if they need to pay income tax before they go back? according to one of the mummy, the reply is yes. but maid kept arguing with me saying her cousin only paid income tax upon renewal of passport (or reissuance of new passport) so she dun want to pay now since her pp only expires feb2012. she was very unhappy abt the tax paymt so pulled a long face since morning til now.

Hi MommyBaby (mommybaby),

My maid wants to go back in april for home leave. her pp only expires next yr. do u know she needs to pay income tax before she leaves spore?

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

There seems to be some miscommunication here. I thought you said her passport expiry in May 2011? It is true that income tax has to be paid when they want to renew or get new passport.

If her passport expires in Feb 2012, there is no need for renewal now, hence no need for income tax payment now.

However if she goes back for home leave and wants to leave her home country to re-enter Singapore for employment, her country govt may still require her to pay some income tax 1st before she is "allowed" to exit her country. She will have to be prepared to do that if she wants to come back to S'pore to work.

They all will be unhappy (heart pain) about having to pay so much $$(tax) to their govt. 10% flat rate is quite a lot leh. I also "heart-ache" I have to pay this flat 10% without any other tax allowances leh... I think my helper also quite upset the first 2 days after she paid for the tax, stayed mostly in her room during that time (must be like calculating how much money is left after the payment)...

Hi Allison,

Sorry for the confusion. Initially i thought her pp expires in may2011 but i checked again and realised it is feb2012. There was a post earlier saying that if she pay the tax in her country, it might take weeks for their side to process. Anyway the embassy is totally useless. I called again to check and they say dun know, officer not free. I think i will just send my maid to the embassy and let her ask the embassy herself.

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

Actually I think the maid only needs to pay the tax upon renewal. It don really make sense to me if you were to pay your tax before you have work. For us, we also paid our tax only for the year we work for last year and not the year before we start working.

When is your maid going home? Anyway, if your maid refuse to pay, you can't do anything unless you wan to pay for her. But we also don ask our boss to pay our tax isn't it???

When is her contract ending? Next year feb right? And when are u going to let her go home? If you scare that she went home and din pay her tax, I think that's the problem on her part. The embassy will make them pay the tax if she wanna come to singapore to work again if I remember correctly.

My last maid actually came here (singapore) to work for 2 years before. And she got to show a receipt of the tax that she paid for the previous 2 years to proof that she had paid. Else she got to pay for 4 years if she can't produce the receipt.

She show black face u also bo bian. It's their government that they are "feeding" and it's rightful for them to pay their tax. You are not responsible to pay for her cos u are not even a citizen of Myanmar isn't it....zzzz.... I told my maid that the PP belong to her n the tax she pay is to her government...so no reason for me to pay for her.... For your considerations....

Oh and does the renewal fee raised to $600 in just 2 months time?? So ex arh....my maid only pay $150 when she renew on Jan 2011....

The link is here for the instructions:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/5131010.html?1296117305
tks Allison (mom_of_2_princes), so paiseh cos ppl going to refer to my posts haha...cos all the posts sounds like "complaints" n with all broken english hahahha....

that's right Allison (mom_of_2_princes), ya, no nid pay now...

oh ya Piggo75 (piggo75), you will get more exp if u were to visit the embassy personally...zzzzz

hi mommybaby,

my maid has worked 2 yrs for me already. WP expiring end of mar so i am going to renew for her before she goes back to myanmar in apr. her pp expires next yr. so that means she dun need to pay the tax before she goes home but rather she pays only when she is renewing the passport issit? my maid said her friend also did not pay and went home leave and also managed to come back to spore.

my worry is that if she is required to pay in spore but she did not and ended up she cant come back to spore to work for me.i will be a super dead duck man cos no one to take care of my kids.

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

In your case, your risk is that your maid may not come back (or not be allowed) to S'pore after her home leave if she did not pay the income tax to her govt (if she is being asked to), then you will have to cancel her work permit and get another maid. Your maid going on home leave in April, when is her contract or work permit expiring? Let her go only towards ending of contract/work permit lah. Else, be prepared for just in case...
No need to get your maid to go Embassy lah, she may end up not getting the right info and waste time there waiting only.

MommyBaby (mommybaby),
what do you mean more "exp" ... as in experience or express service..? hahaha...count out the express service...

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

Have you renew ur WP? I think mom only allow u to renew the WP with PP in validity for another 2 yrs..unless u are telling me you are going to renew (extend) ur maid WP for only 1yr??

wah Allison (mom_of_2_princes), express services is "du"....i think must first upgrade the internal first... lolz...

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

Actually, my maid pay her 1st round of tax (the previous 2 years before working with me) in Myanmar leh...tat's y she say she bring the receipt with her when she come here...

I think har...if she were to go back without paying the tax, either she will be ask to pay it when she's renewing her PP next yr or will have to prep to pay at the gov there before she's allow to leave...i think the 1st one is more possible...

Cos no matter wad, if she's going to work another 2 yrs with u, she will definitely have to pay the tax with her PP renewal at the embassy.

1) First, is her WP renewed? if yes, I really curious to know how u do it?? cos MOM really need to see the PP expiry date

2) If WP renewed, den shouldn't be a problem with the SG government to allow her to come in. It's her Myanmar gov there, will they release her out of her country.

3) Does that mean the Ins is also renewed? cos WP can only renewed with valid Ins coverage.

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

No need to pay tax at Singapore side, only thing is when she is getting out of her country to come to S'pore, her govt may want her to pay tax (then she will be the one to decide to pay or not..no pay, no out of country). If not, there should be no problem. Whatever the case, there's alway the risk, she may change her mind coming back to work...Just pray hard lor..Else you may just want to get another maid.

1) Insurance renewal can be bought up to 26 months coverage, so WP renewal will not be a problem.
2) The WP if renewed will be up to (2 months before passport expiry date) or max 2 years. In Piggo75's maid case, WP is renewed will be up to Dec 2011 (passport expiry in Feb 2012).
3) Upon passport renewal, have to "replace/renew" the work permit with new passport number and information, then WP will be "extended" up to 2 months before insurance expiry date (ie the 24th month of the insurance period).

That's my experience with my current helper. It's quite a hassle leh. I did my 1st WP and insurance renewal via maid agent. The passport renewal, income tax payment and 2nd WP "renewal/replacement" done by ourselves (maid and I).

Oh....i see..for a moment, i tot u were a spokeswoman from MOM hahaha

I see i see...thanks for the info...

ya, i think it's quite troublesome if the renewal date is not in 2 years range together with the wp, PP n Ins. For my ex maid, it happen that her PP expired almost the same time with her WP n ins, thus it's quite easy for me...but too bad, she left. She just called me 2 weeks later after she's back in Myanmar, cos I ask her to call me after she reach n confirm that she's not coming back... sad... Nowadays, Myanmar maid are quite ex. Exp one range from $400-450. New ones from Promaids says abgt $360 and need off days in 3 months...zzzzz so sian.

I'm now still surviving with her for 3 weeks already...it's tiring but I can have my house all to myself hahaha... But may give up n get a new one cos really very tired..lolz..

MOM's spokeswoman??? hahaha. I am mom, not MOM and so are you too..lol ;p

Singaporeans what..so better go by the law lor...always refer to the govt rules and regulations. If what's on govt website not clear, also can call to clarify. Our govt definitely better telephone service...else you ask Piggo75 about her phone enquiry with the other M... kekeke.

I dun mind paying more if the quality is there (not pay more for lower standard) lah. All employers sure want to pay their employees value for money what. Our employer also pay us and expect "1 cent for 1 good", have to be fair lor.

You are doing fine ...3 weeks already without a helper.. What about the part time cleaner thing?

My new helper hopefully can come in successfully by end of next week. She just received her pp. My current one going home to get married in April, going to buy her tickets this weekend. Praying my new one works out alright.

hi mommybaby and allison, thanks so much for all your input. i got my maid agency to help with the renewal of WP, they did not say anything abt being unable to renew so like wat allison has said, it can be done but up to 2 mths before the expiry of the pp.

If that means, i can just buy ticket n send her back right? of course, must warn her that she might need to pay at her myanmar side in the event she is being checked and if she cannot pay, she cannot come back right?

Lol...ya, we are all mom hahahahhaha.....

wah eh we din get part time cleaner leh... we wanna see if we can survive with all ourselves haha...one thing is no time to search n also dunno wanna ask her do wad, cos everywhere need to clean haha... but my hb says he may die early with such 2 shift workload haha...

At least ur new helper got the PP liao... should be able to arrive real soon. mostly 1-2 weeks can start work after clearing all those tests... no worries...

Yesterday I just call UC to ask to refund back my money...already 2 months...no news of the maid i choose in early Jan.

But ur current helper really very geng (good)..overseas still can find bf to get married arh...or it's the existing one waiting for her hee... Well u can tell her ur ang bao is the air tickets hee...

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

That's right...better warn her.... n prep urself too
Nvm la, actually all helpers will leave one day...it's just how soon nia hee.. Definitely will have interruption to our daily life..but everything will be fine... Moreover, it's our own family hee...jiayou..

hi mommybaby,

thanks. hiazz yes will leave one of these days but really wrong timing lor. i am in the midst of looking for a job and if she does not come back, that means i cannot go back to work liao. i have not worked for 2.5yrs n thought time to go back to work cos money depleting fast =(

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75),

Oh ... but come to think of that, it's lucky that she's going home at this time. If u were in a new job, it's even tougher to take leave to find maid n train her if ur current one really fang fei ji...let's keep our finger cross..anyway home leave wont take everything home rite...let's hope she's going to come back to get her barang barang haha

For me, i just started in a new job also, thus I cant take long leave n that's also part of the reason that I cant take in new maid as no one is there to help me see her n train her at the beginning...

Hope ur maid will be back n u can get a good family pro job
Good luck!!

Hi Piggo75 (piggo75) amd MommyBaby (mommybaby),

yeah..for our families and loved ones...jia you! Take things one step at a time, in our strides..things will eventually work out. =)

My current helper already has her boyfriend before she comes to work in Spore, her mom and boyfriend initially didn't want her to go out of the country to work as maid and wanted her to get married. As she's the eldest, she kinda promised them that she will work for only 2 years to earn more money for her famil and siblings (2 of them still schooling), then she will go back to get married. Her dad was in poor health and shortly after she came to S'pore (4 or 5 months), her dad passed away (liver problem due to too much drinking). So poor gal, she requested for extra 2 months loans from me to send home money for the funeral and estate fees. Thank God she has been sensible and responsible, she also agreed to stay for another year with me when I renew her, although she already told me her mom insist her to go back in April for marriage and help her look after her younger siblings.

She said she and her hb to be will probably set up a tuition cum student hostel thing (according to her, the male is supposed to provide the land and house when they get married) near the town area where students from out of town will go to attend schools. She's the smart sensible type one.

Grads there also can't get jobs or not good pay jobs. I think most of them will prob have to be enterprising in order to make a better living. My maid is a grad. Imagine...the one month salary they earn here can be 4-8 times what they get as housemaid in Myanmar...

Anyway, for us who need helpers ...they help us and we help them lor .. 2-way thing. If they can't help us, we also can't help them much.

Hi mommybaby & allison,

Thanks so much for yr advice and encouragement ya. will just pray hard and hope for the best =)

I found this interesting article on Myanmar people and their ethnic groups quite informative for our better understanding of our helper(s)
http://www.allmyanmar.com/Myanmar-People.html. Hope you enjoy. ;p

My current helper is Kayah and my new helper (arriving tomorrow yeh!) is Kachin. I hope my new helper can adjust well soon to the Singapore hot and humid climate since she comes from very cold part of her country. My current helper adjusted well because she had stayed in Mandalay (central/south) of the country - much warmer for quite a while. She shared that some of her friends who came to Singapore initally due to their body adjustment to the climate change, their period became irregular. I must remember to share this with my new helper so if it happens, she won't panic/worry.

Appreciate your advice on whether there is any complications if I allow my burmese maid who has just completed five months of working with us?

She has just fully cleared her loan (five months). Immediately, she requested us to allow her to work for another two months so that she could save enough to buy air ticket home.

Many thanks.

Forget to include one more question whether there is any rule that I need to abide with if I am to send her home since she request or should I return to agent better?

Hi autumnkumiko (autumnkumiko),

According to MOM's rules, employer is to bear the cost of sending maid's home. See below extracts from MOM's website.

Question is: are you going to get a replacement maid from the agent? If yes, you should check with the agent and your contract if you have to return maid to agent in order for you to get "free replacement"and if free replacement within 1 year or 6 months? If 6 months only, you should request replacement after immediately after 5 months.

Termination of services, repatriation and security bond

Termination of Services

When you no longer require the services of your FDW, you should ensure that all issues arising from her employment (e.g. outstanding wages, compensation claims) have been settled before cancelling the Work Permit.

Repatriation and security bond

You should give your FDW reasonable notice of her repatriation to her home country and bear the full cost of her repatriation. To ensure that employers bear full responsibility, a security bond must be executed with MOM’s Work Pass Division. Under the bond, employers are required to post a security deposit of $5,000 per FDW in the form of an insurance or banker's guarantee. This deposit may be forfeited if you breach any of the security bond conditions, including failing to repatriate your FDW upon cancellation of her Work Permit.

Hi Allison,

Thanks for your advice. How's ur new maid? Kachin, rite? Is she ok?

My maid said wanna to stay instead of going back after my hubby sat down with her to confirm her decision of wanna to go back hometown. She keeps changing her mind.

But I think nowadays my maid is getting more bold after her loan has finished. She started to talk back to me more. She has a high pride so she doesnt want others to highlight her mistakes by raising our voices. Has to talk to her nicely. My mother said the maid also show her black face when she told her not to do this or that way. Refused to listen and do what she wants. I CANT REALLY TAKE IT ANYMORE!

We have been giving her many many chances. Sat down with her many many times and tried to take sense to her when we wanna to do things this n that way. The logic behind of doing things. But after 5 mths, we both think she will not change. Initially, thinking i can close one eye and just accept the job with slight slack in the result. Also, my bb girl likes her becos this maid is like a small child, can act cute to make funny faces towards my girl ONLY. She can't get along with my boy who will talk her back.

But when I see her hygiene standard and way of handling things. I really really cannot take it! My mum initially quite like her as she likes to chat with my mum. And she likes my mum becos my mum does everything herself. She just take care my daughter at my mum house! No need to lift her hands even her own meals. My mum prepared for her. Somemore, my mum let her take nap every afternoon when my girl who normally will sleep 3 hours straight in her afternoon nap. My maid also has her nap too.

Below are her performance:

- Teach her to cook one dish, Sesame Oil Chicken, after 5 times (cooked in different occasion, spread throughout different weekend of the first 3 months) still couldn't cook well. Not acceptable.

- Since she is so forgetful, I gave her a book to write down the steps. But in the end when I demand what she wrote. Saw only one line and told me she can't write! And most exciting part, she REFUSED to write whatever new things I taught her and said she will use her "brain" to remember. Then I ask her since she is so forgetful and refuse to write, how can she does a good job without me standing next to her in future. She told me SHE DOESNT KNOW HOW TO IMPROVE! (simply refuse to learn).

- Refuse to ask when she is not sure on how to do one thing. Her mouth is so PRECIOUS!

- Like to touch the "Rag" then touch baby milk bottles teat to prepare milk without washing hair. Caught few times and told her off, then will cry and show black face. But will not change. haiz.

- Safety rules dont want to obey i.e. lock the kitchen window grilles after finish hanging laundry clothes, dont carry my daughter to lock the window grilles (she is not those steady type and has no experience in taking care of bb at all. Most of impt she doesnt like to look after bb and children. I kenna cheated by my agent).

- Night time, she can't settle my bb to sleep. I have to prepare bb to sleep. She will sleep first. This part I am ok as I am the mother of the bb but middle of the night also can't help.

- Middle of night, she cant handle my 8th mths old bb and my bb will keep crying. Then i have to wake up or she will call me to wake up. Sometimes, I have to wake up few times when my bb very cranky so next day, i will have double panda eyes when report to work (other days only 'one' pair of panda eyes).

- Due to the lack of sleep the prevous night, the next day morning, she told my mum when she reached my mum house that she wanna to sleep that morning. My mum was so angry becos if she sleep, then who is going to take care my girl? Then how could my mum prepare my boy to go to sch if my girl doesnt sleep?

- Weekday she no need to cook, wash, cleaning as she will be at my mum's hse. only night time then we bring them (my boy, my bb girl and the maid) back. My mum will cook, wash, clean up the house and settle my 7 yr old boy. My maid will just only take care my bb girl. Hence, my maid only cook, clean, wash in weekend. But still dont feel like cooking during weekend.

- Choosy on food. Dislikes porridge and noodles. Only wanna rice as their cultures normally eat rice (this part i understand). But initially didn't tell us in advance, then when we cook porridge or noodles, all have to pour away the extra.

- Specify that she will only eat certain type of fish, meat etc. No fish like batang, no meat like luncheon meat.

- Cook instant noodles, she will throw away the packet of ingredient. I really find funny this part. Becos she said in her hometown, they love to take lot of oil, msg and salt. Y throw away since this packed ingredient is so nice?

- Morning breakfast must have at least 3 slices of bread (small size but appetite good).

- Complained that we seldom go out i.e. Singapore Flyer, Changi Airport etc. Those small outings like shopping is no good.

- Spread of meals dishes r not enough for her i.e. normally we will keep at least chicken, veg, soup with two pcs of pork ribs in it for her. Fish like threadfin, we will finish as it is only small pc for my son. She is not happy to see me doing that.

Still have lot of encounters which I can't say anymore as my mind is very chaos and my heart is feeling so upset till I feel pain sometimes.

I just dont understand y she behave like this? Patiently teach her yet refuse or no heart to learn. Forgetful yet doesnt want to find ways to remember and learn. Said she feels like staying in a cage as she cannot go out (I compensate her day OFF) so I let her call or write back to her family EVERY MONTH. And when she told me wanna to call using TWO international calling cards instead of one as the talktime is too short. I also agreed. Still not satisfied. I really cant do much liao! I am giving up.

Last week, my mum told me that my maid told her that her passport will be expired by next May which is 4 or 5 mths before she finish her two-years contract (finish in end Oct). And she will not pay for it. Then we realised why her passport expire so early before her completion of two years contract? Why she made her passport so early (in Year 2009) before her arrival to my family in Oct 2010?

I just realised that the renewal of her passport is not cheap and also I have to renew her work permit at the same time in order to reflect new passport number according to MOM rules.

My goodness!

Sorry for my long-winded writing. I really really need to speak out somewhere...

Hi, autumnkimko, sorry to hear about your maid. it's gd to pour ur grievances out. i think she already knows her passport expiring earlier than the contract, (which agent did you get her from, you should scold your agent for not disclosing this to you and ask them for free replacement). anyway, mayb she wants go go back to agent becoz the recent pay hike? now v v ex....

Hi autumnkumiko,

I had been through the same incident as you with our 1st maid. She was a fresh Indon Maid thus we knew we had to be patient with her. But after 1 1/2 year later she was still behaving like a QUEEN. Out of goodwill, we spoke to her heart to heart and even had the intention to renew her contract but she still 死性不改 thus we bought her ticket and send her home. Surprisingly, she still got to cheek to call me and request to come back to work.

After the a/m incident, I had learned not to give in to the maid else they will take you for granted.

Hi autumnkumiko (autumnkumiko),

Yes, it's better you pour out your frustration here in the forum, rather than keep it inside you and later vent out on your maid (become maid abuse case)yah?

If your maid giving you headaches too much to bear, better to change and get another one. Dun wanna end up with maid abuse when one day you cannot take it and have sudden burst of emotions. Not worth it.

I must remember it is only a employer-employee relationship, hence I have use some of the advices by some employers to set out and write down clearly own house rules/regulations expected of the maid (eg. must eat every meal that is served, eat what we eat (unless there's certain food she's allergic to)) and also the state housechores and childcare guidelines/manual for her to follow. I am prepared to give my new maid 3 months to learn and adjust. After 3 months review, if there's big gaps, I would likely change maid. If there's small gaps, I will probably make some necessary adjustments and "extend" another 2 months probation for review. I believe if both sides make the efforts to make the employer-employee relationship work, it will work out fine.

So far my new maid has been with me for 3 weeks only, so far so good, cheerful, quite hardworking and obedient...still have to observe some more. Both of us have to work more on our communications. Her spoken english is not so good, she is not very darling to express herself in english too much. While I have to repeat or re-phrase my instructions sometimes.

As for cooking, I can't comment b'cos I don't know how to cook nor have the interest. I think simple cooking for my maid is ok. My in-laws showed her and let her try now and then, else my in-law will do most of the cooking, she helps in the preparation.

I'm back here, juz to share with u my maid was supposed to go back for her homeleave in June,however last Sunday I got a phone call my her sis's employer who's also in Singapore saying her dad passed away. I immediately booked her air tix for the following day flight. She called me upon reaching Myanmar.
Due to emergency, I passed her SGD500 for her to bring back with her and SGD200(from us as a token) total SGD700
She has a balance of $1500 in Singapore.
(I was so happy because I know dat she will definitely come back for the $)

However today(2nd day) after she reach Myanmar, she called me and told me she needed more $$, asking me to send $1000. So I told her she needs to set aside some $ for the renewal of contract. She told me dat I can offset from her salary when she's back.

I'm feeling abit uncomfortable about this and I'm thinking if I should send her the $1000 as the $ is hers anyway. But I'm abit worried dat she will call and ask for another 500 and there she goes all her $$ dat I kept for her is gone with her.

Will she still come back after taking her $$?? This is 1thing I very worried about.

What should I do? Should I send her $500 1st and tell her I need to keep the balance $1000 for her renewal??
What's the best excuse to give her and wun make her feel uncomfortable??

She promised dat she will come back for sure. How much can I trust her??

Hi mummy_baby2008 (mummy_baby2008),

As you have said the money is hers, if she needs the $$ by right you should give to her. If we put ourselves in her shoes, we would definitely want our employers to give us the salary due to us, especially if we are in a situation in need of money.

Unless she asks you for advance or loans, then it will be your right to decide to give her or not.

As to whether you trust her to come back to Singapore for her contract renewal, I guess you have no choice (since she's already in her home country now) but to take her word for it and pray hard she will do come back to Singapore as promised. If you have reservations to her promise, then I suggest you start looking around to get another maid in the meantime, just in case. At least, it may shorten the time you may have to do without a maid in case she does not deliver on her promise.

By the way, I'm sure she did not pack all her stuff (as in her luggage) back with her this time right? She is going back to attend to her father's funeral, right? If that the case, she will very likely be coming back to Singapore.

Trust also your own instinct (gut feel) about this matter. Good luck.

Hi Allison,

Thanks for your advice, i have discussed with my hubby and we decided to send the $700 to her today, and will tell her that the balance $300 will send it to her family on the day when she is back(next friday)

i'm still thinking of a good way to tell her this
that wun make her uncomcomfortable.

It's juz a way to protect ourselves too, i'm overall quite pleased with her performance this 2 years.

Hi mummy_baby2008,

I understand your worries.
"If we are to remit the balance monies ($1000) to her. What if she never return ? The monies she left with us are not enough to cover the Agency Fee and Maid Loan"
"What if she call up and demand for the balance $500 and never return ?"

Moreover there are lot of cases whereby the maid went on Home Leave but never return. I learned from one of the mummies that her helper left $800.00 with them but never return from home leave.

Usually the main worry for employer when maid went for home leave, "Will they come back?"
It's not that we need or rely on them but if they did not come back, the consequences we have to face is
1) Waited 2 weeks but they are not back. Apply for new maid required 2-3 weeks to join us. Our employer will definitely make a big fuss if we are to take 1 month A/L or unpaid leave.
2) Engage a transfer maid.
a) Good - If they can meet your criteria and able to fit into your family fast.
b) Bad - If they create problem for you. Show bad attitude.
3) Maid Agency Fee and Maid Loan especially after the April'11 Pay Hike. All charges are tremendously high.
etc....

According to our Maid Agency, they told us that usually they will advise Employer to make the Maid pay for the airfare when they went for home leave. Due to the Pay Hike, employer has no choice but to retain 1 mth maid salary. Although it doesn't make a high difference but at least minimize our losses.

If I were you, I will remit the $1000.00 to her but we must come to an agreement that the balance $500.00 has to be retained by the Employer in case she didn't return and also for our own assurance. You may also inform her that the Maid Agency had increased to $1000.00++ which her $500.00 are not even enough to cover.

From the info which I had gathered from other mummies, they will immediately cancel the Maid WP if they did not return on the intended date.

Just my 2cts worth. Wish you good luck !