Advice on Myanmar Maid

Emama, if you are looking for Myanmar maid, I suggest you don't get transfer. If you are getting transfer, get one that has worked at least 3 years.

Reason: my fresh maid who has been with me for 10 months requested to transfer becoz we refuse her hp after she tried negotiating hp terms with us after we agreed.agent told us they stop bringing them in as myanmarese are getting too expensive And can be as problematic as Filipinos and slower than Indonesians. And FYI, we would have kept this Myanmar maid for 2 years just to save the hassle of training even though she totally cannot look after children even for occasionally 15 min. She can't even get them to finish food. Agent also kind of agreed with me that most myanmarese do not like children.

Tks tinklestar,I tought can interview them and feedback from employers,all my previous maids are indo,so want to try myanmar maid.Transfer maid have no loan so I don't need to fork out big amount of money for them.I'll take note tks alot.Have interview afew already but unsuccessful.Maid finish 2 yrs contact,choose employer,no hand washed clothing,want h/p,off day,can tell u working hours,high pay etc.1 maid say can't carry things otherwise can't work next day cos back pain,sian liao loh..........

eh....sorry to interrupt...cannot stand keeping quiet haha...

hi chalkey (onsansg), wah eh she so jialat u still keep her arh...I think u really can...

I tell u, if my maid ever told me to cook my own food n she cook hers...I wont bargain or answer her, i will call the agent up and send her back to agent....lolz..

comeon, she's here to help isn't it. Let me tell you, if all she can do is simple housechores, den every new maid can do and even do a better job den her...cos they still new n scare do wrong....

So attitude still keep her....haiz.... really thumbs up for u all haha...

Well, I must say not all Myanmar maids dislike kids but I would normally get those around 24yrs onwards and also try to get eldest in the family with siblings where they are more independent and mature also...

but still all in all, I seriously think it's all luck also....before this current one, I have 2 more Myanmar maids. 1st stay for 2yrs, like kids, 24yrs, eldest. 2nd one is jialat...stay for 2 weeks, also eldest n 24 but she keep crying when she see the baby crys....she say she's scare....so also difficult to say de...

But if the maid really got attitude problem, i think better don keep her. she's not here to work one. come in, instead of helping u, she's giving more trouble and become another kid for u to look after. and 三天两头 keep saying want this n that...where got so much time to entertain her...if not, u better ask her seriously, does she want to work??

I'm also against the idea of maids holding HPs. I try not to let them have it. I told the agent at the beginning that no hps, no off days....but this hp thing is really hard to control. Must die die during work time, no hp is allowed.....

Transferred maid not all really not good. 1st must see the reason for terminating the earlier one, den must see the look. although there's a saying that we can't judge a book by it's cover, but there is also another saying: 像由心生 (hope it's correct)....I still believe that a person look will show if she's serious in work or type of attitude....at least about 90% correct.... so getting transferred maid is still okay la. My sis also got her current maid from transferred. with her for 2months+ liao...so far still ok la (cross finger)....her previous employer hit her...so she still seems ok for now...

come to the end, it's still that sentence: Depending on luck one....heng heng get good ones... But really, if got problem and is prolonged problem, please try to find better alternatives. you won't be so unlucky all the times.... end up having maid u still have to cook for her to eat.....hmmm...something wrong rite... think u try talk to your maid, ask her if she wanna work n tell her ur requirements. you need her to do this n that.....thou a bit late to do that now but still better den don say....else u going to put up for another 1yr......i cannot take it if me hahaha....

Oh ya, actually my maids are all Buddhism cos some time ago, my sis's ex maid told me that there is a village in Myanmar where the ppl there are more chu lu, fierce and some will beat ppl one and they are all non buddhism, so that time when I'm choosing maids, she told my sis to tell me to get those buddhism ones are safer, at least lower chance of getting fierce ppl....

SO....no matter how true, for me, I still try to get those buddhism just in case.....I don't have so much $ to keep changing maids haha....so got ppl say, I just try to listen haha....just for info, mean no harm or any evil intention!!

She already requested to go to agent becoz no hp. So I sent her to agent. Maybe she will be able to find someone who can fit her. I gave her only a week to find a new employer as I'm not willing to pay any more levy for her. She got a big shock knowing she has to pay 2 more months of loan if she finds a new employer when the agent told her. I think agent don't want to take her too.

I was quite tired of her, as her attitude wasn't that good in the first place. Plus, we were quite good to her, even my sisters cannot tahan me, say I treat maid too well.

Also, she kind of bullied me while I was pregnant and broke a few of my stuff.

Like you, I kept her only because she could do housework and don't steal. And yes, she skives too. Always in the toilet even with afternoon breaks.

And I thought she was getting better, trying to help with kids. Turn out it was only a scheme to be allow to buy hp and keep it the whole day. Actually I did suspect it was a scheme. haha.

Yea, I agree on the charity thing.

I suspect she will request to change employer just like mine if she don't get what she wants.

I think you should send her home or transfer her out. She thinks she's indispensable. She's behaving like a queen. I believe your maid was like mine, do housework and cooking only. Occassionally for short period, watch your gal. Thus, if she can tell you to cook your own lunch and she cook her own, then she's no use as a maid as she will practically have no work.

I would remove her from my house. Our Singaporean cleaners earned only $800, have to work the whole day, and pay for their own food, lodgings, groceries and utilities.

Otherwise, you might want to try prep talk. But personally, I wouldn't bother becoz every few months, will need prep talk. A friend once said to me "you are paying money to employ her, if you don't like her, just change. Why make yourself unhappy." I didn't agree becoz kind of think they are poor gals from backward country. Now, I know better and I totally agree with my friend.

Hi tinklestar (tinklestar),

Ya, maid requesting for transferred would have to pay transferred fee... some is thousand+...so your maid consider lucky liao lor...only 2 months haha..... also a lesson for her to wake up her idea... think happy happy den ask for transferred...their 1 month salary here is almost 8 months salary in her country...so they would definitely feel the pinch...

And agency charge transferred fee is also to prevent maids from transferring here n there just bcos they unhappy with little bit of things.....btw, i'm not the spokewoman of agencies hahaha......

TGIF!!! Have a GREAT weekends to all!!

cheers!!

I agree with luck thing. I thought I was first time lucky with 1st maid. She claimed she was hit by employer. She was quite gd for 1st month but subsequently, started having attitude.

Funny thing was, she herself said we are good employers. In fact, I suspected we were the best of her employers from what she described of her previous employers. She could bathe twice a day and still have more than sufficient rest.

Anyway, we have decided if the next one doesn't work out, we might not want one anymore. Pay money to make ourselves upset.

Hi tinklestar (tinklestar),

Ya, actually if can afford den is best without maid, no nid worry here n there but sometimes is really no choice....really 还钱找罪受...

Nvm, try again bah...cos if both u n ur hb is working and not living with parents, sometimes need ppl to help u do housework n look after kids....I put mine in cc still even got maid...cos i also don trust them :p haha...

but when kids back from school n i'm back from work, at least still some ppl to help me feed my younger ones, shower also n prep the school bags for me cos childcare need many things daily n must be clean....so for me, my job need me to work late daily so it's helpful for me to have maid.... If you all can manage, den best to go without one....no worries

My myanmar maid works for me for also 5 months, so far no problem also (except damage afew piece of my hubby clothing). She only sleep with my son occasionally cos my IL wanted grandson to sleep with her instead. Actually not all mynamar maid are bad lah, if you heng enough they can be quite kwai one. My maid can speak mandarin and we got no communcation problem with her. So far she has'nt request for any mobile phone. Every month I'll allow her to use my mobile phone to call back to her home town. Previously, I had a filipinos but cannot communcate with my IL and has alot of problem.

Hi dragonbaby,

Has your maid finish your loan? I thought mine was not too bad, but after the loan was finished, requested for hp again. And this was 2nd time requesting, 1st time she changed mind after I explain to her how expensive it is.

Any case, she has left and is now at agent. Still insisting on hp, until agent not too happy with her, told us just send her back once deadline up.

I agreed not all maids, regardless of nationality are not good. But can you imagine, this maid of mine got to call back to her home, write letters all at my expense every month and she can just because of hP choose to go back to agent. And after reading some forums, I realise the descriptions fit my maid exactly and she is on the more obedient scale already.

So I have given up on Myanmar maids. Their salary is pretty high now, on top of that, comparing to Indonesians or Filipinos, they might just be as troublesome, slower and bad in communication.

Update: my maid has found a new employer. I kind of pity the employer. They are first time hiring. Knowing my maid's character, she might not be a help to them. Hopefully, the family does not have children for her to take care, else they will suffer.

And, she gave up requesting for hp due to our deadline.so ironical as we actually agree to let her have but with conditions. So employers out there, if you can, pls do not allow the maid to just sit at agency. It's a way to discipline them giving them short periods to find a employer if they want to transfer ( I gave 7 days because contract states so, she doesnt follow contract - request to go back next day, I will follow) so they learn not to bully employers. Employers, pls band up so our living conditions become better. Letting her transfer is human rights, sticking to contract is employers rights.

Haiz, nowadays really hard to find a good helper. Sometimes i think back why are we paying money to make ourself so angry. Instead of helping us they make us so angry!

Hi is it true that Myanmar maids don't like to take care of baby/kids.I interview 2 maids yesterday,employer says their maids don't like kids,housework can,working pace is super slow.

Hi elephantmum, ya it's true....but it's really no choice de... for singapore average families, both sure need to work, else very tough for the sole breadwinner. It's sad that the working time is so long in singapore. Think we should united n suggest to mcys or mom out whatever authorities that woman with children should enjoy shorted working time so that got more time for housework n kids but same pay as those full time haha...

Hi nannysands, actually slow is like trademark haha....think 1 out of 10 is faster. I guess it's bcos most of them come from village n the life there is not like develop city, so they got whole lot of time to complete their task. not for ppl like us in singapore. everything is rush rush rush.... time is money...so tired sometimes... housework they really ok. take care childern really depends liao... think all country same de...singapore girls also some like children, some don like...so it all depends....just heng sway nia...

Everything, every step in life is a gamble....just when the stress is getting too much den just have to tell someone....complaint a bit nia hee....else may end up taking it out on the maid or ppl ard or ki siao haha....

Hi tinklestar, nvm la...let her go....better one coming ur way...myanmar maids quite stubborn one. if they decide don wan work for u, no matter how hard u try also no use de. I tried before liao. spend weeks trying to talk my previous maids round, many late night talks, analyze situations n benefits to her, even tears cos can't bear to let her go bcos of her family pressure n not her problem, all WON'T WORK. Their mind set means very jue qing one. Nvm, old one don go, new one can't come haha... very chin na

Good luck for your search...

Emama, that's how I would describe the Myanmar maid who just left my place.

If u want someone to watch your kids, try not to get Myanmar. My ex-maid could not get my kids to feed, even just watch for 15 min actually allow a stranger to feed my son, with the food she's eating.

Emama, that's how I would describe the Myanmar maid who just left my place.

If u want someone to watch your kids, try not to get Myanmar. My ex-maid could not get my kids to feed, even just watch for 15 min actually allow a stranger to feed my son, with the food she's eating.

Tks Tinklestar,I'll take note.My friend told me they are big eater,she need to buy x-tra 10kgs of rice since her maid came.Now indo maid also very keng,high salary,off day,have h/p,work afew days or so can tell u want to go back agent,don't mind tumb ba loan,seign...All maids are the same...

My current maid is also from myanmar. My previous maids were either frm phil or indo n I swear I wont get myanmar maids ever again!
My current maid is v rude, stubborn, unhygenic n got attitude problem. Even my hubby who's usually bochup abt maid matters also cant stand her.
She's rude, dun greet us n when we talk to her, she dun ans or acknowledged us. Then when we reprimand her when she make mistakes, she will give a black face n worse, crack her knuckles when she turn away! Like a gangster wan to fight like tat... Always like to argue even when she's in the wrong. Total attitude problem!
She's wz us for abt 5mths n so far, she's spoilt my washing machine, vacuum cleaner, kettle, fans, toyogo drawer.
When she feed my 2.5yr old son who's a slow eater, she keep on making 'tsk' sound, showing tat she's impatient. None of my previous maids will do this even though I know my son eats v slow n I was so pissed when I heard her doing tat!
Hsework wise also barely passable. Told her things tat must do daily, she also nvr do. When ask her, she can give 101 excuses. Once, i caught her scratching her crotch when handling food n another time, caught her using her t-shirt to wipe her mucus!! To think tat she always carry my 10mths old baby...!
I find myanmar maids far far worse than phil/indo maids. Most phil maids at least r smart n clean even though they can also hv attitude problems. Indo maid may be slower, cant speak english n not as hygenic but they can work. My myanmar maid is cannot do work well n got super bad attitude problem. Agree tat they dun suit taking care of children.
Really got many many things to complain abt her n I'm looking for a new maid now. Cant wait to get rid of her!

My next is a Filipino. I think what the agent says is true. She will rather take maids when conditions abt hp and day off are already agreed upon, rather than those who agreed to no hp and no day off then suddenly just start negotiating terms on these.

Onsansg, why not just change? Is your child attached to your maid. Mine wasn't but funny enough, he actually missed her. If still very young less than 18 months, I realise children don't remember people in their life. If your child is not attached to the maid, maybe you should just change if you can. No point wasting your time. One day she suddenly decide not to work, you will be in worse state. I will rather it's me deciding not to keep her since I can plan. I treat my maid exactly like yours in terms of food. I would say my maids workload is really light and she has more than sufficient rest. Still, when she decides to go, she just go. I could have negotiate for her to stay a while more so I can find a new helper but I doubt she will be willing and I feel once a person decides not to work for you, keeping her in my house is asking for troubles and headaches.

Yurieve above has summed up all about myammar maid (exactly as mine too)..hair also smelly, below there also smelly (like never clean or never change shorts)..noticed the great smell one night, when my child runs to her mattress...wah, i quickly picked up my child..can't even tell her directly, cos very personal leh if I have to comment on her private part's hygiene!!!

I try to take over as much as I can on childcare nowadays (so that I'm used to the volume of work and time), when she's gone..we got no choice but to tahan her cos, very expensive to change and hire maid now..also, need to do more research which country or province maids' are better cultured..

Chalkey, it's not that I wan to discriminate but my maid really champion in pissing us off.
I hv CCTV camera at hm n it is not hidden but it does not deter her from doing the wrong things. A few times, I caught her lying by chking on the CCTV n warned her alrdy that she can't hide anything from me cos I can chk. But still, she's v defiant n daring, totally dun care if I find out the truth or not.
I'm actually her 3rd employer alrdy ( agent told me I'm the 2nd but it's a lie) n I'm actually thinking of sending her back to myanmar instead of to the agent when I get my new maid... But I'm worried abt the drama tat will happen when we tell her to pack up n send her to airport. Knowing her gangster character, she'll sure make a big hooha... My hubby says just save the trouble n send her back to agent but I rather send her back to Myanmar. Dun wan any other victim to kena her nonsense n I feel she's really not suitable to be a maid. Now dilemma...
Btw mine will hv strong B.O when she sweat... But urs win lah cos cant even keep her own 'down under' clean... Omg...

Chalkey, does your maid has sanitary pads? Agent last time say don't need to buy for them, turn out my maid don't have and she was using toilet paper and I was wondering why my toilet paper was disappearing so fast. Sometime, I remember the 1st time she came and I look through her belongings, she didn't have any.. So that could be a reason. Btw, my ex-maid also has BO. Only when the soap disappears really fast then there isn't. But I suspect is her diet.

Dragonbaby, I hope your maid stays gd even after the loan is over. It's always gd to hear of good helpers, give me hope that my next will be a help. I am starting to be very cynical. Feels like no matter how well one treats the helper or how gd the helper is initially, eventually something will happen.
Yurieve, if you want to send her back, you can pay the agent to do so. The last time I checked, just pay s$100 and buy a air ticket for her. But different agency different price.Personally, from the way you describe her I would send her back too and I thought my mind was attitude. Crackling her knuckles is really too much.

tinklestar, every month I allow her to call back to to myammar using my mobile phone. As usual, we did the same thing yesterday night. Half way through she ask me for my mobile number as her teacher in myanmar poping by Singapore for visiting. Not sure if she will ask me for any time off or off day as she is no entitle for any in her contract. Any ideas?

I brought her calling card, sanitary pads, shower cream, facial foam and shampoo too. Do you all think I over pamper her? Just feel that she might not be able to purchase, she only drawing $10 per month now. Should I tell her direct that once she got her salary in full she has to buy her own stuff?

Wow, I think you are really gd to ur helper. If she works well and appreciates you, it is alright.

As employers, i am always worried abt the truth of their words coz anything happens, she's my responsibility.Since she has no off day as per contract, you can refuse to let her go out. IMO, since she can ask for your hp no,she fully intends to get her teacher to call her once she is in Singapore. And the next step will be to arrange to meet up. If you feel sorry for her (I think lots of employers feel sorry for their helpers then end up getting bullied by them), you can give her 1 hour off to meet near your place. Otherwise, get the teacher to come to your home.

I paid for helper's shampoo and soap. Towels and clothes also, but not the very expensive kind. Personally, I think you don't have to buy facial foam for her. After my helpers loan was over, I told her I will still pay for shampoo, soap, sanitary pad but she can't choose brand because she asked me. If she wants to choose, she has to use her money. All along I paid for helper to call back Myanmar and letters to Myanmar and her friends in Singapore.

hi, we made it clear to them that we will only buy their toiletries, sanitary pads until their loan is fully paid up, then they have to pay for themselves.

she has to pay for her own hello card and we will help dial to myammar so that she will not abuse the freedom by using phones to call anywhere locally, etc when we are not at home. after finish calling, we will keep back the hello card. we learnt our lesson hard enough, cos previous indon maid had the flexibility and she dialled happily to indonesia and to agent's when we were asleep late at night or not at home..thereafter, many univited phone calls came to look for the indon maid too!!

Actually I ever ask the agent upon collecting my 3rd maid from the agent what are the things we need to buy for them. She told me 4 things only and rest it's on her own:

1) Shampoo
2) Soap for body
3) Toothbrush
4) Toothpaste

But I still buy pads, deodorant roll on, powder, shower gel, of cos clothes, 2-3 phone cards (thereafter they need to pay on their own), stamps and on n off some things lor...

True enough, I believed phone cards must be kept and strictly no handphones...but when they finish their loan or near to the end of their contract, they will find all means to own one...zzzz...my previous maid even told me that another maid she met at the embassy sold her her handphone bcos she short of $50 to collect her passport, SO, OUT OF GOOD WILL, she bought from her n inside it comes with credit...cos one of those days, i suddenly heard those midi tones ringing many times a day, den i realise it's handphone tone rather than my kids' toy...lolz...

AND i actually believed her....but after she got her passport, she told me she want to terminate her contract n go home to take care of grandma who is sick and nobody wan to take care of her....I even paid for her air ticket even thou I don't need to cos she broke her contract....n on top of that, I give her extra hundreds...cos I feel sorry that she need to go home after renewing her PP....so I sort of compensate her a little bit...and also to thanked her for her help these 2 years...

BUT....few months back, I heard she came back Singapore...cos she contacted my sister's maid... Really felt cheated n betrayed.... It's very hurtful that despite all the trust and pity I had on her, she actually cheated on me.

I really don't understand how can they do such things. We don mistreat them but yet all these are the returns we got back...

And now, government wanna to set rules for mandatory off days for maids....I think they should really do some research or polls to find out how employer feel or maybe search the forums...

If we are able to go without a maid, definitely I won't want to have one and cause so much problem n worries.

The thing is, Singapore life is not suitable for sole bread winner and our workforce don't really pamper mothers with kids....we have to work same hours and produce same output in order to get a full pay and subsidies for our kids in childcare.....imagine the amount of stress we have in work and go home still need to face the maid and their siao siao things....haiyo...how....maid go off days will create more trouble I believe.

I am not those who kept their maid at home only, we also bring her out when we go out n she get to shop too...my maid ever go around on her own leaving my kids alone when we enter daiso n end up I got to search for her...have dinner outside with us also, even go zoo and other places of interest I also buy her tickets, swimming pool also buy her tickets cos I don wan her to stay home......still say employer treat maid not good....cannot understand...

Mommybaby,

I'm like u except I don't buy shower gel and deodorant. I find some things disappear really fast. A bar of soap per month. shampoo, mine last me for 3 months and it's smaller bottle than hers, hers finished in 2 months.

I brought her out, celebrated her birthday etc. Anyway I think employers are generally kind to their helpers.see straits times poll. But obviously, the helpers don't reciprocrate or are generally bad at their work, else why would employers satisafaction with helpers be lower than helpers satisfaction with employers.

I really feel employers of Fdw should work together.

Right now, I dont have a helper and it's tough.children really young, alternatives not so good. But I am still coping, housework do a bit less, get hubby to help, ask mil to help though a bit tough coz she's not so healthy. Put oldest childcare for longer hours. Order tingkat.

Personally, I think my Hse is cleaner and tidier than with a not gd helper ard.

Btw, if anyone is looking for a maid, don't go to greatlink. When I brought my maid back since she requested for transfer, the agent was giving me attitude.

2nd maid from them who gives me attitude problem but still I thought agency good coz don't side with maids. Now I feel differently after the experience.

1st maid was good initially but after few months, started slacking and became worst. Can actually break a plastic cup. 2nd maid generally not good at all but we just closed 1 eye , only was better after I gave birth and wanted me to allow her hp. Both maids pass me heavy things to carry when I was pregnant or carrying a 10kg baby.

an ex-colleague has sri lanka maids for more than two decades..since gave birth..some will keep renew contract while some will work until full term. she is happy with sri lankan cos she says they are more docile. but, the agency fees is very, very expensive. you can find such agency in little india/tekka area who supply sri lankan.

Hi, my new maid is coming soon.

I tried doing almost all the work myself except dinner cooking and so far I can complete all the tasks I used to assign to my maid in the Amt time they used. But I'm concerned if I have given too much work to my maids as all my ex-maids always look tired. They have breaks abt an hour or more in the afternoon (not doing anything) and normally will end by 9.30.

So, will like to when you are looking after children yourself, what are their tasks and what are the daily tasks assigned if you have someone else looking after your kids and the maid just do housework when you are working?

my myammar maid ask me for email access today...already allowed her to telephone and write letter home..give an inch, want a foot lor..

Chalkey, did you agree? You have a right to disagree since it's your house and you are paying the bills.

Btw, need to let you know. When they call back to Myanmar, it may not be their family they are calling. It could be their agent there. I just found out Abt this not too long ago.
I hope you didn't agree to it. It feels like your maid is taking advantage of you thinking you can't do without her. That's is the reason why I sent my maid back to agent when she requested, knowing full well it's a stunt to get her hp with her conditions.

I don't think my employer will agree to me demanding for non job related stuff and you are her employer isn't it.

I'm thinking I shouldn't treat my new maid so well. They will only take advantage of those employers who treat them well and who allows them to negotiate their terms and demands

yes, tinklestar. i totally agreed to what you have said. my silly hubby was so crazy to tell her we may allow grace to let her have email towards end of contract. luckily, i stop and against it heavily...i told my hubby, she or the other parties can use the email as weapon to delete, edit, fabricate contents to put us in a trap (if she's not happy on anything) next time.

the myammar maid even dare to tell my hubby, since she's not allowed to email, she will then provide details and ask my hubby to type and send for her...fat hope. so, i objected and now the myammar maid showed us deep black face!!

yes, i'm quite sure she calls her agents too and not all the time to her family..even letter also may wrote to agent in myammar.

find that she is scheming, plan everything silently type..not open and don't trust us employer(very hard to develop relationship with employer no matter how nice we treats and help her open up)..

hi chalkey (onsansg),

Actually I also agreed and I think ur maid is a bit too much. She's here to work, she think what. Wanna chit chat ask her go home....Everything we are paying and still ask this n that. Please don't agreed to her request.

Why in the hell she wan to use emails n DON'T go n type n send for her....she think we all so free izit... since she can write down the details, tell her the most u help her send conventional letters.....lolz...first time i heard maids asking for email!!

Do you wan to talk to your agent instead? haiz.....things is never ending....slowly n slowly she is going to demand this n that... why don u send her back to the agent n let them settle her.....let her seng monk (wake up) n know not here to enjoy life....transfer also nid pay lor...many maids dunno....type email n send for her.....next time she's going ask for a pc, hps, off days n calls...haiyo... don la, they think what, come here work, not stay in hotel, can request this n that okay...zzzzzzzzz..........

eh, n since u say she's like scheming, plan everything in silent, isn't it a bit dangerous to keep her at home???? you never know when she plan to harm u n ur family?? who knows they may gang up with ppl outside n open door to let them in when u were not at home? how come like tat?? I tot they are mostly from village n quite "pure" in their hearts n simple life.....dangerous la....don keep her le bah....u also secretly go find new one n send this back when the new one here lor....actually I'm not trying to create trouble, just worried that she may harm u all or what.... cos to them, they think they have nothing to loose here since they are alone and if anything, they think just send them back to their countries.....

Better think about it...

Chalkey, can I suggest you take a photo of what you feed her? And if she make mistakes, write down and get her to sign. If she's scheming type and you want to keep her, better have records too...

My ex-maid also like that, until I start writing down her mistakes and paste it where she sleep. Let her know she's bad at her work and why you are not happy then she will buck up. It's like our appraisal.

Btw, my ex-maid parents were farmers but she's not that innocent too. Just looking at some of the flowery flare skirts she brought, I already had initially misgivings. My ex-maid was here for holiday and probably looking for singaporean boyfriend too. I concluded abt the boyfriend part coz found out abt one of her friends willingness to know a male stranger. Btw, my ex-maid also indicated she didn't want to go back, maybe more freedom and safer here.

Chalkey, can "threaten" your maid to send back if still bad attitude and work? I think your husband and you are too nice to her so she's behaving like this

ya, actually also good idea to keep track n also to protect urself. Maybe can write in somewhere where there are time n date stamp....maybe keep a personal blog or what

I had 2 Myanmar maid before.

1st Maid - Her name is LayLay - a liar, steal money, got boyfriend in Singapore.
Be careful with her, heard from agent that they sent her back to Myanmar next day but she got bf in Sin to help her come back Sin after a week. She even callled the agent to tell them she is back Sin.
She always meet her bf on her day off and bought hp secretly to contact him.

2nd one - Ei (University Graduates) Hypocrite, think highly of herself, wanna have same status level as Employer, ego problem. She will choose only good food to eat. Borrow money from Grandparent without telling Employer

If u need more info, pls pm me

After reading the forum about myanmar maid n interview a few of them,I have decided to stick to indo maids although salary is S$420 without off days.The maid I've interview,S$450,1off day,no hand washed clothes,wash clothes only every two days,must rest in between,sleep at 9pm,cannot this cannot that,siegn.Myanmuar maid is like princess,how to work,they have attitude problem,eat alot.

I agree. Indonesian may not be as clean in housework, but attitude is better generally if you don't treat them too well, ESP the older ones. Even if they have attitude problem, slight correction will result in them working harder. At least it was like that with my indo maid. I send her back only because I hated correcting people, esp someone older than me.

While Myanmar maids, good luck to you if you hired one. It will take months to train, even after ten months communication still a problem then all the bad things after correcting start coming out again and they think they can negotiate this and that with you even before loan is over if it seems like you can be taken advantage of and that is fresh inexperienced maids.

While Filipinos, at least from the beginning they will state what they want.

Hi my bro is looking for a reliable maid to help them household chores and taking care of our kids. Please PM me her details if you have any to refer. Thanks.

I declare I will never go for Filipino maids again.

My new Filipino maid,who had been smsing her filipino agent that we were good employers, after being with us for 6 days, declared that she must go back to agency and must go back on the day she informed knowing well that it is a weekday when I told her we will send her back but maybe not on same day. Then when I informed her that agency was not opened, she herself said at first that she doesn't know what time the agency opens, she lied that the agency opens at 9am. My hubby waited from 9.30 am to almost 12pm before the agency opened.

Her reason for going back:
Must cook and clean. If I am at work, she must go to mil house to cook and clean while kids are there and for that day, other than sweeping and mopping the living room and putting children's clothes into washing machine to wash and hang up, she does not need to do other housework at my place. I think this is basic understanding, why should my mil cook, clean, look after kids and cook for her while she does nothing at mil house. To be fair, she did help out but she never said a word when I asked her why she wants to go back to agency. She went to mil house for a day only and she did not even do full load of work as I helped her before we left the house and MIL helped her at MIL house. There were even times when I or MIL told her not to do certain things but she insist.

At agency, she said she wants to complain to MOM that we made her work 2 houses. MOM regulations state that as long as maid does not do full load of housework at both places when kids are at the relatives house, it is acceptable. She refuse to listen because she said that during their course with MOM, it is stated that maid must only work in employers house.

Goodness, so I pay her to sit and do nothing at mil house? She is prasctically a stranger to me and she expects me to leave my very young kids who cannot speak properly to her care.

From now onwards, I will stick to Myanmar and indonesian maids. At least my house was reasonably clean, and they did not complain about going to mil house. At least, compared to a Filipino, they are less lazy, less attitude problem, they can stand correction and does not like to keep "explaining", was not a little "deaf" and the Filipino english wasn't really good either compared to ex-sg indonesian.

Without a maid for 6 weeks, my house was still reasonably clean. With a Filipino maid for only 6 days, the ants in my house are having a field day making tracks all over the floor which has never happened before. I got rashes and there is even a mosquitoe in my house.

This filipino maid, can tell me her working conditions in saudi arabia was much much harsher.