A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Good afternoon everybody.
i jus joined yesterday, have been looking at all your conversations.

moonriver, thanks for the detailed info abt what IUI is. i tried to search the Dr. Miriam Stoppard book i bot not long ago, but it din have that term.

Everybody seems to be talking abt Dr Fong. dun mind me asking... What is his full name? Where is he practising? N is his charges expensive?
i tot since i'm not reacting to 150mg of clomid, i should get a new gynae. I have booked an appt with Dr Adrian Woodworth...dunno if he's ok with seeing such problems...?

To the new juju(juju),
could u kindly elaborate how to prepare the 'black chicken herbal soup' recipe for us to share share... thanks.

hui,

think it's coincidental that some of the gals here are seeing the same gyane, and of course the good feedback means more pple will be seeing Dr Fong Yang.

he practice at 2 places - tiong bahru and paragon. i dun have the tiong bahru details, the paragon one is as follows: paragon centre #15-09 tel:63336636

Jasmine,
I can't pm u, think u haven't activated it. I don't know how to activate it, so u can email to me at [email protected]. Thank you so much

Jaslyn,
I knew as an endometriotic cyst rupture my left ovary and I underwent an operation to stitch it up. It was then diagnosed as endometriosis. Actually I had bad menses cramp, sometimes need to take injection to stop the pain. It wasn't those normal cramp, I was very weak and felt fainting, no energy and very cold. I thought it was normal as whenever I went to see doctors, they would say it was normal menstrual cramp until one day the cyst ruptured. I didn't even know I had cyst that time. May be the doctors think I was too young to have endometriosis as it usually occurs to women of reproductive age or older. However, recent studies show that more and more young women are also diagnose with it. It could be due to stress, lack of exercise, environmental factors or in some cases, it's hereditary. PCOS is different from endometriosis. I'm not very sure about it, you may learn more from the below website. If u are unsure of ur pain, it's better to consult a gynae

http://www.womens-health.co.uk/index.asp

babymaking, thanks for Dr Fong's number. since i'm quite new to this thread, do u know how's the success rate for TTC members? heehee....dun think i want to test u, but i jus like to find out how many got pregnant under his/her treatment. oh, i still dunno is he or she huh? n how's his fee? sorry if u find me such a nuisance...asking so many questions.. ;p

Daisy, thks for the info.

Hui, Tiong Bahru details: Blk 18 Jln Membina #02-02 (opp. Tiong Bahru MRT) Tel: 6276 7727

Hi Babymaking, I think you went to Paragon branch. Mine at Tiong Bahru. I have to wait for my AF to come then go back to him on CD 10. Think around early Sept. What abt you?

hi jaslyn

i started to have spotting on CD12 and CD13...hmm, its a thin strip of blood mixed with CM but i never have this problem before except this month, dunno what went wrong?
303576.gif

no, i did not go back to see Dr Fong coz his appt all fully booked so i just wait for my AF to come then im going to do HSG test

hi piggymum,

thanks for sharing the info

By the way i have seen the JE sinseh before but if u reali want to go and see her, u have to be there very early, around 5.30am~6am on weekends coz she onli see 100 patients per day and her queue is very long

jaslyn, thanks for ur info. babymaking not answering my question....maybe she's offline already...are u free to answer my question. Dr Fong a he or she? N what's his charges like?

hui, think Dr Adrian is not specialised on that. U might want to re-consider. Ling has bad experience with him and goes same to my friend too.

apple, could u tell me what bad experience they had? i'm sooo worried now, i've booked an appt tmr! could u enlighten me please....?

cat,
i'm using clearplan too. at first started testing in afternoon. later saw can test any time of the day so using fmu but no positive results. guess cannot use fmu. waste my opk. m also worried that i'm not ovulating this cycle.

Hui, Dr Fong Yang is a "he". Very nice & friendly man think around 40-50. His charges :-
Consultation - S$70 (first consultation after that think abt S$45)
Scanning - S$50 onwards
Pap Smear - S$20
My first visit cost me S$127.

jcml, my spotting is around day 14. From brown discharge to light bleeding. Will ask him again and keep each other update. Actually i intend to do HSG test oso. Do you know abt the charges like? When is your appt. Think will make another appt. with him again cos very very worried and futhermore, not young anymore.

hui, my friend lost her bb while she was at wks9. She told me first visit Dr Adrian's nurse never take her weight and height..strange. Then when she was in pain at wks7+ and slight bleeding, Dr Adrian was not there to take immediate action. He is at another clinic. Eventually when she returns for check up on wks 9, bb already lost his heartbeat..so D&C needed.

hui,

i think jaslyn has answered all your questions. eh for his success rate, i got no idea but i personally find him very professional (as compared to my previosu gynae). furthermore, Dr FY specialise in fertilty cases - so he's more experienced in dealing with the myriads of issues relating to fertility.

jaslyn,
yeah i saw him over at paragon, i think it's easier to book him at paragon cause when i made my appt, the gal ask me which slot i want and she listed a lot of slots available for that tuesday :p

i will be seeing him early next mth for ovulation monitoring. he gave me medicine to induce AF as well as the max dose of clomid for the next cycle.

first visit cost me $166.50 - not sure of what is the breakdown but the gal told me that prices is the same whether one see him at paragon or tiong bahru.

After D&C, she went back for check up, but Dr never told her there is blood clog inside..
2 months ago, she went to see another gynae for some fertility issue, gynae was shock to see the blood patch there..she spent $$ again on clearing up. very sad to hear about this, so for those I know, I will tell ppl re-consider him if wanted him to be gynae. He may be good, but might be too busy to handle emergency cases.

hi jaslyn,

i have made an appt to see Dr Fong on 29 Aug to do HSG test, that is, if my AF arrive on time this month, hee hee

i dunno hw much is his HSG test but should be below $200 bah

did Dr Fong say what's ur problem? me is a PCOS patient and can reali see that my left side ovary did not grow big follicles at all, see alrdy also sian...at least right side can managed to see 1 big one but chances of conceiving quite slim lor

if u want to make appt with Dr Fong you gotta book in advance. I find his appts like quite packed leh

babymaking, at last you're back! tot u zzzz liao.

apple, thank u for sharing what happen to your friend, feel sad for her...i also did a D&C last august. also becos of bb no heartbeat....i can understand how she feels... even now i feel like crying ....

jaslyn & babymaking, thanks for the breakdown or fees charges....think i better try to cancel Dr adrian and see Dr Fong instead.

hi jcml,

Me too... PCOS patient. But i forgot to ask him which side of my ovary got problem. He dun really explain to me what is PCOS. Just tell me tat "dun worry just a small matter is not serious." No need ops cos still very small. Can you briefly explain to me what is PCOS.

Pertaining HSG test, Dr Fong ask you to test or you want to test? Can we test any time we like?

I have not make any appt. yet He told me to go back on my day 10. He said will try to squeeze a slot for me if really fully book.

Can i ask one stupid question... will your hubby accompany you when see Dr Fong? (^^)

apple,thanks for the enlightenment! i've jus called and book an appt with dr fong next week. i also checked with the staff, dr fong's only at paragon on tue/thu/sat... i'm looking at it long-term...in case next time there is any emergency, would he still be easy to reach?

babymaking,jaslyn and those who are seeing dr fong, anyone has any experience he wasn't available during emergency?

hui, yes, u shd consider that too. Emergency is very crucial in time and the handling must be immediately. When I decided on gynae, this is on of the priority in consideration and decision.

Wow, this thread is so active.

Cat,
Thanks for your well wishes. I am keeping my fingers crossed too as it's still the 1st trimester. Hope baby dust gets to all of you.

Lyn,
I tried to change my username too but couldn't. But it's okay as I can only pop in occasionally.

Hui,
I don't have recipe to black herbal chicken soup as I always buy it from foodcourt (i.e. kopitiam). More convenient. You can enquire about the ingredients with the stall lady. She should know.

hi bbmaking,

i think Dr Fong does the HSG at his clinic bah, i also not very sure leh, think have to ask hopeful

hi jaslyn,

ok,basically for PCOS patients they dun ovulate every month even though AF still reports every month. When doing scanning on CD12~16, instead of seeing some big follicles what Dr see are only small cysts (so called unmatured eggs) and thus are unable to be released from the ovary. Besides that PCOS patients are more insulin-resistance and tend to be diabetic also. Besides that PCOS patients are more prone to m/c during their pregnancy and hence it is very impt to go gynae immediately after u know u are pregnant to take some hormone test and blood test...something like that

i ask Dr Fong can i do HSG then Dr Fong said yes, better to do, so i book an appt to do lor
oh yes, my hb accompany me for my gynae visits coz he kaypoh mah, everything also want to know, kekeke

juju(juju)...haha...i type your name until i started to stutter already... ya, i'll look out for the soup next time i visit kopitiam.
if i remember correctly, u said u pregnant now right? do u remember what food u take during the time of ovulation? i heard cannot drink those liang teh kind....i even refrain from drinking chrysanthemum tea and jus drink milo every morning.... so uninteresting everyday....

babymaking, me also in office, but i busy checking new postings...that's why not so sleepy...but i'm counting down to knock off time too..... few holidays ahead, yeah!!!

<font color="ff6000">hello all,</font>

Received my test report and my hb's SA result on Mon at KKH. My hb's result is not good...Doc recommended IVF cos IUI would not work for us. He also prescribed multi-vit for my hb but he said that don't expect vast improvements.

Going to see an andro specialist on 22/8 and see what he/she says... likely will also tell us that the only option we hv is IVF...haiz...

Now hvg mixed feelings, on one hand I'm prepared to do IVF but on the other hand, i'm very worried and scared of all the medications and injections that's required... worst of all is that, the success rate for 1st cycle of IVF is only slightly more than 30% and will decline thereafer... I hate to think that if I failed the first cycle, what can I do next.

current status for ordering OPK from baby wishes.
Cost is 40.80 USD (Including shipping) for 100 strips:

1. Jasmine Lau (20 strips)
2. erin00 (20 strips)
3. Daisy (20 strips)
4. Jaslyn (20 strips)
5. ____ (20 strips)

Hi hui,

I have some information to exchange about Dr. Adrian WoodWorth, TMC.

Initially, i thought he would be a good doc, seeing his reasonable rates and good comments on this website.

Then, i went to consult my aunt, who recently just resigned from TMC.. Her feedbck was:" Oh my god! He's one of the most inexperienced and "ga-bra" doctors we have there! Who reccommend him hah? You should see how he behave in the operating theatre.."

Just a comment, reserve your opinions hor.. anyway, i did get scared off..

blue rabbit,

i'm sorry to hear that. dun think so much first, IVF is not the last hope, there's always TCM to consider also. anyways, one step at a time.

the other thing you may want to consider is to go to pte gynae for another sperm sample analysis, because different labs have different standards to interpret the results.

hui,
yes, looking forward to the weekend already.

jasmine,
thanks for your kind advise. i've already cancelled his appt after getting comments from bbmaking, jaslyn, apple etc.. heehee...me so fickle-minded....

i really want to thank all of you for sharing all your comments here....everyday i find here there are so many things i've yet know...n you gals are far more 'advanced' in terms of knowledge than me. thanks sooo much!

bbmaking,

I'll quote what my hb said..."we only hv 2 choices, 1 is to go ahead with IVF, 2 is to leave it as it is.
My hb is as stubborn as an ox, he'll not go for 2nd opinion or TCM... to him it's a waste of time and $$$.
I'm vexed bcos I never expect I'll hv to go thr IVF to hv a bb.

jcml, bbmaking,
I'm not sure about Dr Fong's HSG as I didn't do it with him. Sorry can't help here.

blue_rabbit,
normally gynae will ask hubby to perform 2 SA to be conclusive. It's only one SA that your hubby went thru right? Isn't it a bit too harsh to suggestion IVF straight away? That's my opinion lah, if it's me, I'll seek second opinion from private gynae. Cos IVF is really the last resort as it's quite taxing to go thru it, both emotionally and physically. Anyway, all the best to you!

blue_rabbit,
another thing is that one of the gals here, choo, her hubby's SA quality is only 1%, but she still manage to concieve naturally after going thru HSG. You want to consider doing HSG also?

hopeful,

KKH alr schedule 2nd SA test in Oct.
The doc also suggested HSG but I didn't give him an answer and he didn't pursue.

dear rabbit,

the gyane i saw at KKh also suggested that we go straight to ICSI and IVF as my hubby's Sa quality is about 1% as well.

the pte gyane that i was seeing said that it's still possible to concieve with 1% quality.

perhaps it's better to do another SA first, typically, at least 3 SA are required to confirm sperm count.

IVF/ICSI is not a easy decision to decide upon, even if you guys decide to go ahead, you still need to attend counselling sessions at KKH IVF, you can still make yr deicsion after the counselling session.

wish you all the best.

dear rabbit,

ask your hubby to take mega men (from GNC) and Vit E. it's supposed to help increase the quality of the sperm sample.

also, may i know which gyane u seeing in KKH?

bbmaking,
Thanks! My hb is taking multi-vit from KKH , dong cong cao, Vit E n folic acid...hopefully will help.
I'm a subsidised patient at KKH so no fixed gynae.

Blue_rabbit,
just how bad is your hubby's results? 1%?? Like wat hopeful told u, Choo's hubby also 1% and she striked the next cycle right after HSG! Let's not get depressed first, we dunno if KKH is indeed right in saying IUI would not work for u! U wanna get a 2nd opinion?? I think u shd! cos IVF is costly, not just financially, but emotionally draining too... u wanna tell us more abt your hubby's results?? My hubby's is also not very good, 3% only, then he always "ga-bra" everytime he collect his semen, this time the lab staff said he didn't collect enough semen, so the amt of good sperms used in my IUI was lower than the amt they normally used lor... But nonetheless we still went ahead with the IUI, aiya, ting1 tian1 you2 ming4 ba!

Just a thot, if your hubby's spermies are really that bad until cannot do IUI, then why would his spermies work under IVF??? Can they somehow do "repair" work for spermies under IVF???
303686.gif
I always thot only ladies with ovulation problems or with blocked tubes, need to do IVF, but u are fine right? Hmm... strange leh! Do try to talk your hubby into getting another opinion, how can he just rush head-on into IVF without finding out more?! So much $$ involved leh... or could it be he's also upset with his results so he is unwilling to do more tests on himself to avoid further possibly disappointing results??? Then u will have a lot of coaxing to do eh! Never mind, there's always a way out, chin up okie!!
303687.gif

Anyway, i want to thank all who showed me so much concern for my IUI, hee... whether i make it or not, i will surely share with u all at the first instance!
And just to prepare myself, i've told myself that IUI isn't that bad at all, so even if i have to do it again, i wouldn't mind!
Actually these few days had been really touching for me, so many people come and wish me good luck, u my dear frens, the hospital staff, the doctor, well well, it just makes me feel that it doesn't matter wat the outcome is, i'm happy as it is with so much concern showered on me!
303688.gif

So Hopeful, u also must remember that a lot of people are rooting for us, but wat really matters is not the outcome, is not whether we disappoint others or not, but in order to do justice to all the concern we've had, we must strive to be happy!! Aren't we so lucky to have so many dear frens?

Daisy,
i hope u will strike b4 u have to do your lapro, but if really must do lapro, be brave okie! I'll be cheering jia you for u, heehee! Btw, can u sms me with your name pls? Now i have to slowly collect back all my fren's contacts! And i think some have been lost forever liao, sigh...

Hi there!

This is the first time i visit this forum and i find the discussions very informative. i have been diagnosed with PCOS and ttc for quite some time, and recently just switched to Dr L C Foong at Gleneagles. When i was with my previous dr, i was already put on 150mg clomid for 6 unsuccessful IUIs. Did a blood test on the first visit (Day 2) at Gleneagles and discovered that my FSH is slightly lower than LH. Understand from dr foong that this is a typical behaviour of PCOS. He puts me on 50mg of clomid and 500mg daily(to increase to 1500mg gradually). Going to combine with 3 FSH jabs also. Has anyone gone thru anything similar and could share about the experience? Any feedback on Dr Foong? Is he good? 8) Btw, also learned from Dr Foong that clomid taken in the long run will thin the womb lining and cause cervical mucus to be unfriendly to the sperms...

oops, typed too fast, forgot to mention metformin. Dr Foong puts me on 50mg of clomid and 500mg of metformin daily(to increase to 1500mg gradually). Anyone with similar experience to share?

Elmo,
sorry i took so long to get back to ya, its such a headache to lose my phone contacts... can u imagine if i mistook a wrong sms sender to be a fren and then i start telling him/her abt my iui and my hubby's sperms etc?! Oh gosh, heeheehee!
Thanks dearie for keeping me in your thoughts!

Have a great weekend, everybody! U know i couldn't sleep last night? Dunno is it too excited or too nervous... anyway i'm glad this is over liao! And i can have a good night's sleep liao, heehee!

hi naturally, good to hear that your IUI went ok. Don't worry about your hubby SA, you just need 1 sperm to do the work!

I think for very low SA results, some gynae recommend IVF straight away and not IUI cos they can select the "good" sperms and fertilize the eggs outside, once they got the embroy then put back inside. Blue_rabbit, maybe go for 2nd opinion? cos IVF costs about 6K to 8K....but at least can claim from our medisave lah.

Welcome Chloe!
I also have PCOS...but gynae oni put me on 1500mg metformin...no clomid yet...