A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

CY
wow.. u've put in alot of thots... basically i send cay to sch so tat he can drive others crazy for a few hrs
and peter and jane? aiyo after i google then i know... gez im so ignorant...

hahaa yah i think cay wld love tat! prolly wake me up every morning to bring him to sch!

Cay
hmm this bugger is really getting outta hand... v bad-tempered, rude, rough.. in short super naughty!
esp recently... really dunno how to handle him

pam
my, that is drastic! hv to go to doc somemore? ya, maybe he has his own timing...forcing him when he's not willing or ready may backfire & stress everyone too.

cy
can't believe that those preschs u visited so far r so unkind etc...u must hv been so unlucky...what do they expect our kids to know at 3 years? so unreasonable.

N's cc is not particularly strong in curriculum (no special syllabus etc to boast abt) but the teachers r caring & pretty nurturing...many of the kids from the 2006 & 2007 batch dun talk or know much either. Dun seem to b a concern wif the teachers at all hahah

dun give up in ur search just yet..i'm sure there's a good place out there for CY

CY
Take into consideration that cos teachers are accustomed to the average spore parent who is result-oriented, they might be giving you the sales pitch they think you want to hear. Not that they are actually that academic focused.

Perhaps the schools you've visited are ones which feel the need to maintain a high standard academically.

Looks and sounds impressive to the parents who are academically inclined but not to others like yoursef, perhaps? When I was doing my very brief visiting of CCs, not that my decision was based on anything but proximity to home, I told the persons attending to me that I was not interested in academics if not I would've slapped away the next workbook they tried to show me or at the mouth reciting their syllabus.

Mebbe easier to be like Lin and myself. Don't research so hard, convenient can liao. Ha. We're both happy with kids' schools right? ;-p

Toilet
D poos in the loo but will sometimes try his luck at insisting on pooing in a diaper. Try to put it on himself when we refuse to help him. Ha. We praised him to high heavens (you would think he'd won the nobel prize and oscar that night) when he first did it and that worked well enough. ;-)

Li'l skoolhouse
I was amused at the disciplined manner the rows of children could walk past the play zone on the way to their classrooms. Was speculating how long it took for them to overcome this instinct to rush to the play zone. Longer than it took Pavlov to condition the dogs? Ha... Till I saw a teacher pry a boy off the gate leading to the playzone a few minutes later. ;-p

CY
yah lor.. im really gonna get a cane... im serious this time

Zoe
hehe the look on D's face must be priceless!
hahahaa tats funny... yah if cay attends tat sch then tat boy prolly is him

zoe
saw u and dylan on sunday....where? hehe....zoo!!! with ur mum n dad...actually my hb was the one spotted dylan!!

dsii
Aiya, didn't say Hi. Wanna see how your boys have grown. We were there Sat too, and met a few members of this thread. ;-) Brought my friends Sat, then brought my parents Sun.

Lin
no lah. im not against ladybird lah, some kiddoes like it... it's just maybe my background in ling..arghh..i cannot bring myself to do it...even if he doesnt learn to read by 7..i still cannot bring myself to do it...okok maybe if he still doesnt read by 7 and i have to send him to the school by murray, i will do peter and jane with him...

heee...sorry being extremely bias here lah...peter and jane is fine is fine is fine, wouldnt survive till today if it isnt... many proficient readers grew up with this series. :p

zoe
oooo, you dunno me im very avademically oriented...it's just that im more academic process oriented at this stage. i see no need for certain pedantry at this stage lo, i mean cy isnt going to oxford college of math at age 10...so dun need to rush lah...just make sure when it's time for him to make moral decisions in life, he choose wisely...

cheri
eh think most preschools are like this leh, think there are very few preschools which are not academic oriented...

lin
yes, she's now playing wif the Big Blocks as a dresser. u still hv not managed to persuade ur hb ah? hahhaha

cy
yes, most preschs hv to be acad oriented to some extent cos we r in Singapore..any presch which does not prepare the kids well enuff for pri sch is probably not worth their salt. But the more 'acad focused' years r from N2 to K2..definitely not now when they r only 3 plus or less.

Lin
oei, you hardly online nowadays ah?? wanted to ask you about cay's nosebleeds...is he still having it? did you bring him to see pd/doc?what did they say? when did he have his first episode? how often subsequently? how serious and prolong each episode? anythign that triggers it?

ch had her first episode of nose bleeds a couple of days back. scare me man...was just happily bounching with korkor on the bed then drip drip drip...for a bit nia, but still!!!

CY
Good luck with your search. I'm not as harworking and don't have high expectations of local preschool education. I change my expectations to change my happiness level. Ha.

Had a friend visit from overseas mah... Burnt out or sunburnt? We go in the morning and leave by lunch time so sun is not a big issue. D's highlight is the tram and the water park. Sitting on tram and eating/relaxing while he's playing water is cool by me, 2 days. We don't watch performances. I love animals and can stare at those I love for hours. So burnt out is no issue. ;-)

Zoe
woaw 2 days zoo in a row... i was alr melting at home -_-"

Cheri
hahaa yah lor... wait for my sofa to come first then see whether really got space or not

CY
oh dear... hope its jus a one time off thingy
yah cay still hving it.... actually pd got give referral letter to see specialist at alexandra hosp
but cos his bleeding though quite frequent, not exactly the non-stop flowing kind so we tot jus wait and see
eh think usually pd will say thin nose lining.. tat some will outgrow some nvr...
frequency ah... sometimes can be few days in a row then few wks dun hv... sometimes like once a week or once a mth ... intermittent kind
each episode maybe a min kind...

oh u mean msn? no lah im always online cos comp on 24hrs one.. jus tat invisible... like tat more mysterious

Lin
o which ent specialist is that? AH? AH not known for ent leh...and it's pediatric ent leh...

get me his name can? maybe i get hb to ask him to look at ch wo documenting...heeee

i really hope it's one off thing. i cant live with a dripper...thought i had the last of it when hb went for his procedure, now...ahhhhh...

zoe
burnt as in sun burnt, burnt out, chao tah...

we only did the fragile forest and that was enough liaoz...

CY
ok manage to dig out the letter.. sorri i prolly rem wrongly the hosp
its att to:
Dr Lynn Lim
ENT
NUH (shld be nuh though it looks more like NUN)
doc's handwriting har...

zoe
i wanted to say hi ..but u all walked so fast...cos when hb told me, u all already ahead of me...cos i blur mah...was looking..which kid....then saw dylan's side view..heheh..he is very tall.

oh,,we reached slightly before 10am...went back at 4plus pm...tired manz...

dsii
Wah whole day at the zoo. I wouldn't be able to do it. So hot. When D is willing to walk fast, must make full use of it.

Cheri,

There is sale on disney store and outlet and I saw that there is swimwear rashguard and board short.The design is for boy but I still find it quite neutral though.

zoe
haha our zoo timings r quite similar (we head out at noon too cos way too hot & not enjoyable anymore cos N would be tired too after the few hours). That explains why i've met u a few times at zoo ;) The family membership is a great idea cos it doesn't make u feel pressured to make the most of a trip & spend whole day, tiring everyone out. Then no more zoo for ages :p

lin
N's nose bleeds' frequency seem slightly more than Cay's. Does cay hv sensitive nose? N has so i guess that compounds the problem too. So u din bring him to that NUH ent afterall? We were almost going to bring her to the KK one but just as we were abt to make an appt, there was an article featured in Mind Your Body that week. N's symptoms were like what they described for normal thin nose lining issues so we din go in the end :p

cy
keep us updated on what the ENT says k? hope that CH's nose bleed is just due to the super hot weather these days.

garfield
how much is it on disney? was thinking of buying in Oz later...nt so sure how they really make a diff yet haha

cheri
okok..

btw can i ask you mummies what is the teacher student ratio in playgroups normally like? the ones ive been seem quite high. the montessori im thinking of visiting tmr morning has enrolment of around 28-30...with two teachers...the rest are all hovering around 1:14. the only one which has 1:8 was an iffy choice coz lessons is form 1100-1400 (cy's nap time)...

of course i can change his naptime. but if i do, he ends up sleeping later at night (at like 10plus, 11)...anyway, if we are sending him at all, might jsut go ahead with heritage learning centre, though it isnt registered with MOE as preschool...might just see how much he is affected wo his nap...

CG
thats for next year...so the max is 1:14 i was told...they are all running at max dunno why...maybe there is population explosion in yishun...hmmm...

Cheri
oh i tot N's nose bleed epi getting lesser...
oh we din bring him in the end cos like u said his freq isnt exactly tat high
yah i read tat article too... and some nvr outgrow it

CY
which montessori is tat?

Cheri
oh i tot N's nose bleed epi getting lesser...
oh we din bring him in the end cos like u said his freq isnt exactly tat high
yah i read tat article too... and some nvr outgrow it

CY
which montessori is tat?
we're contemplating finding a new sch for cay cos his current sch still doesnt hv proper chinese lesson
called up little skool house at safra jurong this morning...
wah 40-50 on waiting list and wait is prolly 1 yr.. din know the sch so popular

Lin
oooo i bet cay would love it, so near his 'playground'!! yes the waitlist is quite long, but you trying afternoon session? the little skool house at occ has that long a wait lsit in the morning too, afternoon is ok but but...cy's nap time lah...

CY
haha but too bad for him no vacancy..
anyway lil skool house tat gd ah? seems like all branches hv such long waitlist
hehe we're the other way round... looking for afternoon session
this fellow is definitely not a morning person

Lin
hmmm..not sure the quality leh, i spoke to the teacher and ok lah, they can get quite academic centred.not sure if their sports centredness if authentic (it;s called schoolhouse by the green and the focus is supposedly sports)...

there is this very nice 'treehouse cum playhouse' inside the classroom. but the teacher told me the library inside. along with toys. im not sure, i just thought library should be separated...a bit distracting rto read when everyone around you is yelling away and playing house... but the teacher apparently remarked that the children who's parents read to them at home will actually read and not play...i just went..o like that ah...my cy will defintely play than read lo

it;s by NUTC and the price is quite reasonable i guess, only 379 a month, as oppsed to others which are dearer...maybe that's why it's popular.

CY
hehe actually i like wat u descr leh... treehouse cum playhouse... sounds fun
haha no way will cay choose reading over playing!!
oh funny... the one at jurong is $540 per mth.. maybe diff centres diff rates

thomson? not exactly near ur pl issit? then transport how? u fetch?

Lin
with that price, unless the curriculum is superb, you can go for any montessori programme liaoz...maybe coz the playground at safra is bigger..kakakakaka..tmw you going to K's party, you'll see the place...going early to play at the playground?

wanna meet earlier?

cat! cat!
going earlier?

Lena
o i forgot, hb wont be there so it'll just be us...lonely mummy and two kiddoes

CY
hahaa maybe the sch fees incl entrance fees to kidz amaze :p
yep gg to k's party... tot free play at 11am right?
u mean u wanna go even earlier?
hehe think abit difficult for us cos both kiddos not early birds plus long journey ;)

YY
Oh is it? Next yr, her sch (pre-nursery and nursery class) remains the same 1:6

And for next year, she have to bring textbooks (phonics and maths) to sch. Now awaiting for booklist.

lin
safra jurong? shouldn't u b looking for a sch near Clementi instead?

lena
we might b a lil late as the buyers r coming over to view the house a 2nd time. Managed to get them to come earlier at 10 am. Hope it will not take too long...

liz
thanks for the links.

Cheri
hehe like tat then got excuse to move back mah ;)

oh u're selling ur hse? tot u guys will be keeping the hse and jus rent it out?

Cheri
If 2nd time visit, then higher chance to close the deal.
For us, the seller was so shocked, that the moment we entered the present flat, we closed the deal immediately.
Both agents were so happy!

Lin/Aishite

Lin
I already have a girl monster all this while... haha!