A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Zoe,
I think I am going to have tough luck getting in to another school at this point of time as most ppl have already registered for N2.
Haiz...the thought of it gives me headache.

Regarding food, for Crystal's school, on Monday, all the children get is a couple of those traditional animal biscuits and barley water. It looks just too pathetic to me. I think bread and butter is even better off.

Haha..u are funnie zoe. You are right! I really feel like punching the admin lady. I was just telling my hubby that I cannot imagine having to see her for six years... (Crystal and Claris)

Actually, it is very important to have patient teachers. So you are very blessed.
Is D's school at punngol end? Which one is it?

Loppily
yah his teacher will usually sms to remind us of holiday the next day, festive party, etc
oh but i sms her more than she me cos hor cay is sick quite often so will sms to let them know he's not gg to sch tat day or tat he'll be super late etc

he's in tumbletots
but hor like wat Zoe said.. sometimes gotta close one eye
for example... cay has been without a proper chinese teacher for close to half a yr and he's the only chinese there
i think some parents will freak out if they know the sch took so long to find a chn teacher
but me and hb both super chin chye and cay seems happy there so...

btw think u'll freak out if u know wat snacks i prepare for cay to bring to sch everyday...
butter cookies, coco crunch, doughnut, etc
cos this bugger doesnt like to eat one.. and even w all these supposedly goodie most of the time his snacks will come back untouched -_-"

Zoe
hahahaa i like that!! yah i oso screw up too!

Loppily,
I do not have her teacher hp no as did not ask for it but then I know for sure is that the whole sch parent does have the principal hp no as whenever their a outbreak of HFMD *touchwood* the principal will sms to inform all parent.

As for morning breakfast.
Last time I used to do ham and cheese sandwich for K to bring to sch and eat but then teacher feedback was K afterwhich refuse eat plain bread so eventually I stop cos afraid she will be picky and totally dun eat plain bread.

Ya every mth I do receive her works and ytd while sorting out I realise she does have tons of artwork since she was 18mths I place her there and even found 2 items which she did for me during mother's day.

To be honest the principal reply is learn many songs and teacher can't type it out I find it abit crappy cos normally sch will only teach a few songs and keep repeating the same few song for the whole mth and since the dun even bother to handout some newsletter I rather u find another sch.As for sitting in I guess it ur right so to noe ur gal can adapt in and noe what the sch teaching and to not allow peeping what the hell is that?

Loppy
D's with Q-dees Punggol, not the Punggol end one but Punggol 195C. Punggol end has so many centres but too inconvenient for lazy me. You should check out Cat's one at Punggol end. Can bring own food.

Can you feed C breakfast before she goes to school? That's what I do for D, cos he doesn't really eat when he's in school.

Anyone looking for part-time work?
Teaching in North of S'pore
Retail experience or from service industry.
A degree
Pls PM me.

zoe
haha u r darn funny when u mentioned 'Can bring own food'!
Not can bring own food. It's just that the sch doesn't provide snack. MUST bring own food.
Full day kids will have lunch provided.
Some centres do not allow packed snack cos the other kids might look and feel envious etc.

Loppily
Kai is at Bridges Montessori.
I spoke to the P and she says that she will highly recommend that you let C try out for a week b4 signing her up.
Think the 1st 3 days can stay to watch them.
I stayed 1st day.
2nd day I left after an hour.
3rd day also left earlier.
Let me know if you are keen.

N's cc doesn't allow them to bring own food. Think they r oso wary abt food poisoning incidents since they provide lunch & snacks. What if parents blame them for unclean food preparation when the culprit could be their own food that they brot from home? Or even when some kids hv food allergies etc. Sometimes, kids may share food without teachers' knowledge etc.

yes, if u r really concerned, can try out Kai's sch. But from what i know, many church kindys r like that esp when kids r there only for a few hours each day. I always feel they tend to be more acad oriented too. Childcare centres tend to be more service oriented generally.

cheri

kai is 3 hourly too la.
but they are not too acad focused.
esp the p made it quite clear that kids at 3 shld be having fun.
their emphasis is on discipline and social n physical devt. which is what i like!

Cat
I know it sounds funny. It is a big concern for Loppy mah.

I totally understand why schools don't allow own food too. Like what Cheri said. Food poisoning, allergies and halal issues from sharing, and fairness. Everyone eats the same school food, everyone can complain about or enjoy the same stuff.

hi Loppily,

I am not a SAHM but would like to contribute some of my thoughts. I read thru your concerns and dislike abt your girl's school and I find that if the principal or the staff of the school be it the teacher or the admin staff did not even know how to respect or at least show some concern to a parents then pls change school for your girl. I would hv done the same thing.

I have a 3 yr old son. I sent him to the childcare since he is 1 yr old (due to maid problem thus no choice hv to enrol him to childcare). I feel really heartpain to send him to school at such a young age but now after 2 yrs I can say we made the right choice. Both my husband and I are happy with the school and my son loves to go to school too.

This is what I like:

1) the school provides good and health food (fish/pork/chicken etc but vegetables and soup is complusory for lunch and dinner). Since I dont hv the time to cook as I am working mum. I order the dinner from the school too (extra $60 per mth) and the portion is big and food and soup is delicious (ever since he goes to school, he likes to drink soup and I like it. Can you imagine some of us adults dont even like to drink soup but the school has train the kids to drink good soup. Of coz once in a while they do eat biscults and cornflakes which I think is ok for BF and snack too. There is menu on the notice board for parents to know what food their kids are eating from Monday to Friday (BF/lunch/snack) and the time table is also pasted on the notice board.

2) Teachers and asst teachers are friendly. If you have any problem which you need to feedback to any of them, you can just ask for the teacher and they will attend to you right away. If the form teacher is not around, I can talk to the princial or vice princial and I can get the information I need the very next day. Not bad.

3) For every special occassions like mother or father's day, the teachers will let the child do something for the parents like : heart shape card for mummy and a tie and a surprise sandwhich (bf) for daddy this year etc..

4) Every 3 mths, there will be a parents meet teacher session. A time for the teacher to let the parents know how the kids perform in school and what she has taught them and also inform the parents what she intend to teach for the coming lessons/new term. Form teacher will compile a portfolio showing what our son has learn and most of his homeworks and painting are there. She also enclosed some of the song lyrics which our son has learn in school coz she feedback that most parents wants to know what their kids are singing to them at home and she likes the idea that we as parents can sing along with our kids at home if we also know the lyrics.

5) Teachers are very patient. It took my son abt half a year to be off diaper. Everytime when I fetch my son from school, teachers will update me with his toilet training. For so long, my son keep wetting his pants and school t-shirts but teachers never lost their patient. They just ask me to remember to bring extra 2 sets of clothings and also ask me to be patient with him at hm. Teachers keep assuring me "dont worry this takes time and we will not scold him for wetting his pants". So by now, he is already off diaper but we still let him wear diaper only when he goes to bed.

6) From time to time, school will arrange outings for the kids. At first, I was a bit hesitant to let him go but hubby advised me to let go so that our son can enjoy himself with his friends. So far so good, all the kids including my son enjoyed all the outings.

7)I like most of the parents there. I can talk to them abt their kids and my son. We also exchange views on what our kids has learn in school and others etc...

By next year I will be shifting to a new house which is a bit far from the school and I ask my son if he is willing to change school but he said no he wants to stay in the sam school and play with his friends. From what he tells me, I can conclude that he likes the school /teachers/friends very much.

Hope the above info will help you in selecting another good school for your girl. Good luck !!

pls pardon my spellings as I am very sleepy now cant really concentrate...time to go to zzzzz.

Hi Cat,
The principal is really sweet and thoughtful. I am very keen to give it a try but have some questions.

1. Which session has the vacancy?

2. How big is the teacher-student ratio?

3. Is it a mixed age group classroom context. Eg: 3 years and 6 years old children.

4. Is it a long walk from the bus-stop?

Really appreciate your help, Cat. Thanks so very much!

Haha...Zoe, you are right. Food is one of my biggest concerns. At the moment, cos Crystal has to leave early. There is only time for a mere glass of milk. Sometimes. when she wakes up earlier, she will have time for a slice of bread and cheese. But not all the time. So a wholesome breakfast in school is very important.

Where exactly is Q-dees?
What's the nearest LRT station?

Garfield,
I agree with you totally. That's why I am so pissed with the her email. The content is a bunch of crap.

Lin,
Cay's teacher is hard to come by as I think most teachers will not give their hp numbers. You are very lucky.
I think this itself a big big plus point cos communication between teacher n parents is really important.

cat
i would say kai's sch is more a privately run childcare centre too since they do hv full day prog (though they end earlier than others)..the kindys i'm referring to r like Ning's where they r just 2-3 hour sessions kind. Many places where they r more acad focused adopts the 'learn thru play' philosophy too :p who doesn't these days??? hehe

loppily
food wise, from a positive angle, u can look at it as you still hv much of the day left to feed her wif more nutritious food or u can compensate during weekends. Honestly, in the early hours of a day, how many schools will hv time to prepare really nutritious & balanced breakfasts for the kids? or unless u can opt for a later session then C can still hv bf at home? but again, i'm sure food is only one consideration. Like you hv mentioned, it's probably the staff's lack of sincerity & care that u r more concerned abt. Those would b v good reasons to consider a change of sch to me.

luvflower
great that ur son's sch has such caring teachers & most importantly, he enjoys sch so much! there's so much more for teachers to look into for the kids when they r in a childcare centre. Longer hours oso means everything is not as rushed & teachers hv more time to get kids to do stuff. Naptime, bathtime, milk time...these r all instances where we can see how much value the sch places on child welfare.

cheri
Actually, Kai's school is not a cc la.
They 'full day' is only for K1 and K2.
Just like Ning's sch... the older kids have various enrichment.
Think to cut down on logistics the sch make it full day for those who would like to have Chinese Speech n Drama and Gym, etc etc...
Ning is going to sch ealer/staying back after sch for her enrichment.
So essentially Kai's sch is very much a kindergarten la...
Full day prog means no showering, napping, etc...

Learn through play... we are also doing a lot of those... But how effective or in name only??

Loppily
we all have our pet peeves la...
I an understand if C is a tiny eater...
But like Cheri mentioned, there are many other aspects that we wanna consider too.
Kai went to a cc for about a week and the sch gives them good food... But sucks at discipline and the teacher/P is short tongued and she was taking Kai... and she pronounced "cupboard" as CUP-BOARD... So... THAT'S IT!!!
She even said Doong know why? Doong do that, children...
So better Doong Play Play with such sch la...

luvflower
You son seems to like his sch a lot!
And it's so sweet of the sch to cater your dinner as well!

Loppy,
Perhaps if you found a school nearer, C will have time to have b'fast at home, then it won't matter what food the schol serves, then that won't be a concern, and you will have many more school choices.
Cove station.

Cheri,
yup, food is definitely not the only reason la...

But frankly speaking, breakfast is the most important meal of the day and some food are best eaten in the morning. So I am more particular when it comes to breakfast, esp when Crystal does not have the time to have a proper breakfast at home. I find it hard to compensate as when we return from school, it is already lunch time, at one plus. Then it will be snack time which will be fruit and yogurt and milk at three. Hard to squeeze in more stuffs as dinner will be at five. And weekends is definitely harder as we usually dine out....

But come to think of it, a nutritious breakfast can be as simple as wholemeal bread with cheese and egg. I think this is easier to prepare than a bowl of porridge. (in school, it is porridge with fish cake! I think porridge with pork or chicken is even better leh....why give fish cake for breakfast?? I wonder.....

I remember when Crystal was having her enrichment lesson at Little Skoolhouse, I often see them bringing lots of bananas and eggs. At least, these are considered good food...not expensive too.

My dear Crystal was a tiny baby, so tiny that her skin was all wrinkled when she was born. Her weight was only 2.42. I told myself I have to take good care of her to make her strong and healthy. So even now, I am still very particular about her diet. She knows I meant well and she will always say, 'Mummy loves me and mummy put alot of love inside my food.' haha...she will even laugh and say, 'I am eating mummy's love.'

Loppily

Kai was small too.
In fact, he was not putting on much.
Even now, at 2.5yrs... he's not even 12kg.
Ning was alrdy 12kg at 9mth old!
But I always tell myself... Slowly but surely, he'll get there.
He was not talking till way past his 2nd birthday.
Some friends asked me to send him for assessment.
I didnt fret too much.
Ning started when she was barely 1.
She could utter single words. Phrases. Sentences.
AND I know after that... there's really no stopping there.
Kai is talking sooo much now! Hahaha
When I 1st sent him to sch, his teacher commented he cld speak so well, with complete sentences and he is one of the youngest kids there!
Told them he had only started speaking then, and none of them believed me!

Definitely, Crystal is eating better than Kai.
Kai has milk b4 sch.
Snack in sch.
Lunch at 1230pm.
Nap.
Milk.
Dinner and fruit.
Milk.

I also believe that it all balance up.
If he takes his snack, then he will slack on his dinner.
So I use a general gauge on his TOTAL Daily food intake.

loppily
heheh pork & chicken is definitely more ex than fish cakes! Crystal was such a small baby? was she born b4 36 weeks? she's so sweet & sensible.

Harlow mummies!!

Im back! It was great great fun!! the jet lag wasnt much fun but the rest was

we managed to drive around the English countryside a lot and visited the farms, picked apples, raspberry, black berries, and even sweet corn and such :p..wanted to dig carrots too but was too tired..kakakak...it's hard work wor, both kiddoes love the fruits in the countryside and well, the food there...

o yes went to see a real thomas steam engine! :p cy didnt like it much then/ coz 'thomas was too noisy'...but yes it was loud, very loud and way too much smoke and steam...guess it is like this with real steam engines :p

am too lerthagic to post photos now... but ch loves hyde park and the ..well, pigeons there...took off her bloomers and started dancing around in hyde park , well guess it wouldnt go any worse than that...

by and large a great trip and the long plane journey was worth it totally. not that the kids will rem much of it, but they had great fun then...so mummies who wouldnt want to venture far with kids, it's worth it!!

cat
wow, kai is speaking very very well now!!! way better than cy, he is still pretty much baby talking...though he answers back a lot these days...

when we were there, of course during trips they get to eat a lot of junk. so there he was choosing between yogurt and yakult. and i told him he can only have one. and he told me 'but they are different what!' (okok the 'what' part was gasp..learnt from my mom!!!)...arghh...that's how when you have elderlies living with you..

but cy is speaking mandarin with better fluency now. can express and argue in mandarin too
hokkien..still in the process :p

cy
welcome back! good to hear from you..the trip & yes, the valuable experience & memories r so precious to us, parents, nvm whether the kids rem. At least, we rem heheh...

the steam engines sound so real...so is CY more into trains now after that? keke did u take clips of CH dancing? would love to see that

N has started all her lah, lor, etc. So now everyone in the family is Police...we try to catch anyone saying all these Singlish (yes, we r guilty of it too at times)..she finds it so fun to catch us using these words...shouted out loud in Daiso that morning to her Dad "Daddy, cannot say lor...it's bad English!" wahahahah

CY
hey welcome back!!

true they prolly wont rem much of it but still its definitely a gd family bonding experience

btw i finally shifted hse wahahaa...
but now whole pl is like a junkyard -_-"

Cheri
hahahaa N is so cute!

seems like cay is slow in everything... even singlish keke...

Lin
haha, was thinking you must be busy moving house coz havent heard form you!the kiddoes like the new place? missing your bubble tea fix already?

dun worry i lived in junk yard for nearly a week...took long long time to settle down man...wow your housemoving sounds sooooo organised and settled!sure better than mine...

cheri
N is sooo funny. So what was J's reaction? did he look around quickly to see if anyone heard?:p

CY
hehe kids being kids think they anywhere oso can as long as got toys ;)
hahaa ok lah... cos when go out for dinner still can get to buy my bubble tea :p

so ur pl is all nice and organised le? oei tot u be posting pics of kiddos rm?
my pl v incomplete ah... bed and sofa only coming earliest mid next mth -_-"

Lin
thought you wanted everything to be in before you move? so you are like me man, half the house incomplete when we moved in. heee...havent taken the photo of the kiddy rooms leh...aiyah should have asked you to go up for a look the other time when you were around for ch's bday!now a real mess coz more things after we returned :p

is cay excited over the pool? now he can swim daily!!

CY
yah lor tot can take our own sweet time..
but sil check w geomancer and got for us an auspicious date so bo bian gotta shift in last sunday

no worries lah tat day u busy w guests i oso wldnt wan to impose ;)

hehe eh hvnt let him swim cos im not a pool person... unless got shelter w aircon :p

CG
hahaa im still using double words w kate!

cg & lin
my mum is v afraid to talk to N now...she's afraid N will embarrass her in public cos she uses lots of lahs, lehs & double words herself wahahha

Good morning! It's good to see some 'life' back on the forum again :p

CY
Welcome back! Your trip sure sounded fun! Make me gian to go for holiday too

Cheri
N is so cute!
Whenever S herself said the lah li lo, she will give us the funny look :p As she knows that we are going to 'lecture' her. She is also catching whoever using the wrong english .

CG
S now likes to play the game...pretend to talk like a baby *faintz! Told her must talk correctly otherwise didi will be talking like that later

<font size="+1">Event: Kieran's First Birthday!
Place: Orchid Country Club, Little O'zone cum Lunch
Date: 24/10/2009 (Saturday)
Time: 11am-12pm *Little O'zone
12pm-1pm *Lunch </font>

==================================
1.elmo &amp; family

<font color="ff0000">* Please kindly RSVP by 10th October 2009

thanks lena for the invite!

Event: Kieran's First Birthday!
12pm-1pm *Lunch

1.elmo &amp; family
2. cheri &amp; family

* Please kindly RSVP by 10th October 2009

12pm-1pm *Lunch

1. elmo &amp; family
2. cheri &amp; family
3. lin &amp; family

12pm-1pm *Lunch

. elmo &amp; family
. cheri &amp; family
. lin &amp; family
. cat and family

we had a wonderful time at Octoburst!
Ning took part in her 1st ever Art Competition and came in 3rd!
Kai was being very cranky and disturbed Ning non stop when she was drawing.
Then he had his accomplice in CY and created havoc at the restaurant!
Before the prize presentation, he wanted a prize too when he knew che che was getting one.
But fell asleep b4 Ning went on stage, hahaha.
The Ukelele performance was very engaging, with the kids dancing around.
It was great for the kids to meet up and Ning met up with her classmates and neighbour there!

elmo
hihi will be there...me and my family, but mummies who knows how to add smiley face add me witht eh smiley faces...kakakaka

cat
phew...yes the lunch...i was so afraid cy would throw himself on the conveyor belt and i ahve to pay for damaages...

12pm-1pm *Lunch

elmo &amp; family
cheri &amp; family
lin &amp; family
cat and family
cy &amp; family

Mummies attending Kieran's birthday party
I'm not booking the function room at the Little O'zone. You may come around 11am to have a free play in the playgym. The lunch will be at the restaurant. Now still yet to decide the chinese restaurant or the open terrace.

Something Funny

M: Kai, 1 foot, 2?
K: ..feet!
M: 1 goose...
K: 2 gooses
N: 2 geese
M: 1 house
K: 2 houses
M: 1 mummy
K: 1 daddy! 1 cheche! 1 yeye! 1 nainai!
M: LOL!

12pm-1pm *Lunch

elmo &amp; family
cheri &amp; family
lin &amp; family
cat and family
cy &amp; family
garfield &amp; kenise
cg &amp; family

cat
heeee..kai is smart!!! think cy has to go LSP next time liaoz...oops or speech therapy first :p....sob sob my boy will not make it as gepper or to einstein land liaoz.:p

sometimes even daddy cannot understand him!! at this age!!! i hope the 'curse' of the speech therapy will not follow us!!!!

Lin
arghhh...the big block is making me regret moving!!!! the old palce is mroe spacious and would defintely hold hte big blocks!!! now it's impossible

Lin
Very very tempting...but like what you said, take up so much space...when want to keep also headache

Thanks for the 'temp'...I meant the 'link'...hee!

Wahahahhahaha just showed D the bp of the big block n he said:"Get one lah!"....and believe or not, he said he is thinking of getting the 2-storey playset @@