Can I ask a silly qn. If bb engaged already, does it mean that it won't move ard again? I c-sect for #1 so don't knw abt all these...

From the asianparent website:
  1. Documents such as your doctor’s admission orders, prenatal record book, health insurance papers and others that you need to take care of financial concerns.
  2. A copy of your birth plan should be prepared ahead of time to inform your health care providers about your preferences in childbirth.
  3. Relaxation items that will help you relax while you are on labour such as a radio, CD player, mp3 player or iPod to play relaxing music.
  4. Camera or Video Camera, charger or extra batteries to capture those moments especially during and after childbirth.
  5. Socks and sweater to keep you warm in case you feel cold while in the labour room.
  6. Snacks to give you energy while on labour and after childbirth when you need to regain your strength. You may wish to prepare your own as food in the hospital cafeteria may be expensive or they do not have what you wish to eat.
Here’s a list of things you need in your postpartum bag:

For you and your husband:
  1. Mobile phone and charger to enable you to call important people and let them know that the baby has arrived.
  2. Favorite pillow from home so you can sleep comfortably.
  3. Lip balm to soothe dry and chapped lips.
  4. Nursing bra and breast pads if you plan to breastfeed your baby right after birth or whenever necessary.
  5. Bathrobe that you can slip into when you take a shower or just wanted to get out of your room.
  6. Night dress in case you don’t like the robe the hospital provides.
  7. Underwear to keep you feeling fresh (if you have a C-section); the hospital generally supplies the maternity underwear if you gave birth the natural way.
  8. Sanitary napkins or maternity pads for the blood discharge after childbirth.
  9. Slippers to use when you want to walk around or outside your room.
  10. Toiletries such as soap, shampoo, toothpaste, cleanser, etc for daily hygiene
  11. Towel to use after shower.
  12. Hairbrush, Toothbrush and other accessories
  13. Going-home attire to use when you are ready to be discharged from the hospital.
  14. Cosmetics such as powder and lipstick and other stuff to make you look good when meeting friends who visit you and the baby or when you go home.
  15. Change of clothes for your husband
  16. Laptop which you can use to download pictures if you can’t wait to update friends of your childbirth but this can be optional.
For baby
  1. Receiving blankets to wrap around your baby to keep him or her warm.
  2. Baby clothes such as shirts, pajamas, mittens, bib, cap, socks or booties. Make sure you bring enough for the number of days of your stay in the hospital.
  3. Diapers for your newborn.
  4. Baby wipes to clean your baby.
  5. Baby bath or baby wash for your baby’s first bath by the hospital nurse.
  6. Baby’s towel to be used right after his or her first bath.
  7. Feeding bottles and formula milk can be used whenever your breast milk won’t come out yet but this is optional.
  8. Baby Book or Journal to record your baby’s information.
  9. Car seat which you need to bring your baby home.

1. Documents such as your doctor’s admission orders, prenatal record book, health insurance papers and others that you need to take care of financial concerns.
  2. A copy of your birth plan should be prepared ahead of time to inform your health care providers about your preferences in childbirth.
  3. Relaxation items that will help you relax while you are on labour such as a radio, CD player, mp3 player or iPod to play relaxing music.
  4. Camera or Video Camera, charger or extra batteries to capture those moments especially during and after childbirth.
  5. Socks and sweater to keep you warm in case you feel cold while in the labour room.
  6. Snacks to give you energy while on labour and after childbirth when you need to regain your strength. You may wish to prepare your own as food in the hospital cafeteria may be expensive or they do not have what you wish to eat.

1. Mobile phone and charger to enable you to call important people and let them know that the baby has arrived.
  4. Nursing bra and breast pads if you plan to breastfeed your baby right after birth or whenever necessary.
  5. Bathrobe that you can slip into when you take a shower or just wanted to get out of your room.
  7. Underwear to keep you feeling fresh (if you have a C-section); the hospital generally supplies the maternity underwear if you gave birth the natural way.
  10. Toiletries such as soap, shampoo, toothpaste, cleanser, etc for daily hygiene
  13. Going-home attire to use when you are ready to be discharged from the hospital.
  14. Cosmetics such as powder and lipstick and other stuff to make you look good when meeting friends who visit you and the baby or when you go home.
  16. Laptop which you can use to download pictures if you can’t wait to update friends of your childbirth but this can be optional.
For baby
  2. Baby clothes such as shirts, pajamas, mittens, bib, cap, socks or booties. Make sure you bring enough for the number of days of your stay in the hospital.
  7. Feeding bottles and formula milk can be used whenever your breast milk won’t come out yet but this is optional.
Wahh...sounds like so many things..... *sweat*

For baby
Whahahah too detailed ... Too much things to bring .. Think the most I will only bring iPad along .. Post in fb can Liao Wahhaha ...

Whahahah I even thinking to use the sq socks and toothbrush

Slipper ? Take the hotel one and use and throw .. Lol ... Natural only 2 days or 3 days stay Kekeke ..

I'm very easy and dun like to bring so much things along .. lol

Yah ur baby is growing and eating well inside.. mine only abt 1.7kg at 32 wks :( drank avocado milk shake with gula melaka yesterday. Super shiok..
Oh so mine consider small size liao. COs at wk 28 nw abt 1.3kg.

No la I think both yours considered average, not small. Think my boy got his daddy's genes, so the measurements r abit ahead. His head is consistently 2 wks ahead. My hubby was born 4kg at 38 wks with a VERY big head. Luckily his mum is a veteran at childbirth by then (he was her 4th large bb), so no problem popping him out. We asked the Gynae does it mean technically he won't be as premature if he comes early, since he's measuring ahead. Unfortunately, Gynae says the lungs which are the last to mature, follow the gestational age, not the size. Oh well.

Whahahah too detailed ... Too much things to bring .. Think the most I will only bring iPad along .. Post in fb can Liao Wahhaha ...

Whahahah I even thinking to use the sq socks and toothbrush

Slipper ? Take the hotel one and use and throw .. Lol ... Natural only 2 days or 3 days stay Kekeke ..

I'm very easy and dun like to bring so much things along .. lol

Haha ya I see such a long list I also stress!

No la I think both yours considered average, not small. Think my boy got his daddy's genes, so the measurements r abit ahead. His head is consistently 2 wks ahead. My hubby was born 4kg at 38 wks with a VERY big head. Luckily his mum is a veteran at childbirth by then (he was her 4th large bb), so no problem popping him out. We asked the Gynae does it mean technically he won't be as premature if he comes early, since he's measuring ahead. Unfortunately, Gynae says the lungs which are the last to mature, follow the gestational age, not the size. Oh well.
Oh ok..nvm you try aim for 37 weeks shd be safe..and ur beanie shd be quite a good size by then!

Yes .. My Gynae say my bb already 3kg (estimation ) better dun give birth so fast cos lung not fully develop yet .. Ask me eat lesser Lo ..

32 weeks at the weight of 2.2kg , 3rd trimester will grow fast ..

but your BB weight is very good ... at 29wks almost 1.8kg ..
i just saw gynae on sat at almost 31wks then reach 1.8kg leh lolz
Oh so mine consider small size liao. COs at wk 28 nw abt 1.3kg.
Actually for my doctor, 1.3kg at 28 weeks is considered on the slightly bigger side already.

Every doctor has his own definition of what is considered small average big, so don't worry so much about bb weight and size, as long as doc says he is growing well.

Haha ya I see such a long list I also stress!
No need all the things la.. Too much Liao ... Lol

Unless you taking photoshoot in hospital .. Otherwise I dun think need to bring bb clothes along . After all , after discharge , straight away go home right ? Unless you are not lol ..

If I show my Hb the list think he will say move house or go overseas for holiday ar ? Lol

Actually this to my doctor, 1.3kg at 28 weeks is considered on the slightly bigger side already.

Every doctor has their own definition of what is considered small average big, so don't worry so much about bb weight and size, as long as doc says he is growing well.

Ya .. Dun worry so fast .. Just stay happy and eat healthily for the last few weeks :)

For baby

Wah very comprehensive, thanks a lot!

btw i tink no need to bring breast pads if u r staying for 2 days cos it's unlikely ur breasts will overflow then...experienced mums may wanna shed more light on this tho

going home attire - can wear back home what u wore to the hospital :D

btw i tink no need to bring breast pads if u r staying for 2 days cos it's unlikely ur breasts will overflow then...experienced mums may wanna shed more light on this tho

That's what I did .. Cos before admit hospital will change a new set of clothes .. Upon admission change to their hospital gown Liao .. No need to wash so many sets of clothes also cos year end is rainy season ... Dun want to take the risk lol

Must bring pump? Or can use hospital one?

when is the best time for LO to engage? how come the way i read it seems like its not good to engage too early?
my understanding of engaged mean bb is getting to come out liao ...

this is when sample breast pad come handy cos just bring those sample to hospital no need to open the whole box lolz

when is the best time for LO to engage? how come the way i read it seems like its not good to engage too early?
Engaged shd mean u will be going into labour soon so I guess not good to engage too early? Going by this logic best time to engage shd be after 37 weeks when baby is considered full term?

my understanding of engaged mean bb is getting to come out liao ...

this is when sample breast pad come handy cos just bring those sample to hospital no need to open the whole box lolz
Breast pad also can get sample? Haha..The only sample I've gotten is nestle milk powder which is in one corner now cos I can't take the taste..

That's what I did .. Cos before admit hospital will change a new set of clothes .. Upon admission change to their hospital gown Liao .. No need to wash so many sets of clothes also cos year end is rainy season ... Dun want to take the risk lol
and anyway, go home mebbe...30 mins? even if it is lightly soiled also can la.. no need to pack so many things. i like traveling light :p

btw if your gynae clinic is at TMC you all may want to visit the cordlife booth...
2 wks ago they are going out thermo flask !! ( as per clinic assistant) but last week they give out milk powder container ... no fish prawn also not bad
get the cordlife coupon from your clinic and you can exchange for the freebie even though you may decide not to sign up with cordlife

I always get Spring Maternity breast pad sample in the hospital tour gift pack...
I think hospital got pump for use in hospital not to bring home...

which hospital tour ? tmc one dun think have that ... i remember Gleneagle one not bad ... document holder good size to put all baby related stuff
i have not seen hospital pump before :p

which hospital tour ? tmc one dun think have that ... i remember Gleneagle one not bad ... document holder good size to put all baby related stuff
i have not seen hospital pump before :p

TMC one got... I had 3 samples already, one from signing up for FBI card, one from hospital tour, then I had a 3rd sample from attending Mount A's antenatal class.

For baby

I was trying to pack my hospital bag. I think must bring suitcase already............................if not, hubby alone how to carry so many things?? LOL

wow hospital tour also got freebies? Ok I go sign up soon
Wah - so much stuff - i brought my regular gym bag...

my hubby also stay overnight there mah ..so combined ..but inside quite empty lah...jsut that it is easy to pull the trolley bag than carry a bag mah :p
wah really got so much things to bring? we don't need bring our pump right?
for my #1 i dunno i got supply bo mah..so i din bring pump..this round i also think supply wont come so fast so also thinking dun bring :p

my hubby also stay overnight there mah ..so combined ..but inside quite empty lah...jsut that it is easy to pull the trolley bag than carry a bag mah :p

for my #1 i dunno i got supply bo mah..so i din bring pump..this round i also think supply wont come so fast so also thinking dun bring :p

My hubby also stayed with me... but he went home everyday in the afternoon...
2nd one - milk will come sooner...

is your hubby going to stay with you this round? Your elder one leh?

I wanted to bring cabin bag but hub refuse say to kua zhang so brought gym bag.... On the day of discharge took 2-3trip down to put things loh! So many barang barang.... All those chicken essences fro friends n relatives n stuff fro hospital