No i didnt need during my 1st pregnancy. I did a surgery to my cervix last yr thats y need a elective cerclage now.

My gyane says his charges is 3 to 4k then the rest is hospital charges and anaethetist charge. Plus room and others.

I already choose 2 bedded.

Haiz... i am still fan till now. Cos i know if anything happen be it whether i do or dun do, i will blame myself.

It is probably one of the toughest decision i hv to make.

Tmr i see another gynae i will check if charges ard same.
follow wat u think is right... difficult decision... good luck!!

Abit gan Cheong to See my gynae tmr, will know my harmony test result n gender too.. clinic nvr call me even it's more than 2 weeks ago test n I didn't bother to call n ask. Just guai guai wait for my monthly review appt tmr. Vy scared now, scared Dr said I weight gain but not bb... stress

Dolly no calls is good. They always say only urgent they will call u. See kkh call me not gd cause. I'm ready to go bed. Full..actually I also don't know how babies growth. The gynae never mention anything during detail review also never say whether correct weight as of that day anot..I also no ask cause too occupied with the white spot thing.

Gd night ladies!

I hope so too cos for Oscar result they didn't call me either until I call n ask. Then tell me low risk but borderline, Dr wants See me asap.. aso makes me stress lor... after tmr will b the next hurdle, detail scan!!!

By the way I also asked Dr Tan how one knows if she has cervix incompetence. He replied usually you will not know and there's no way to check unless you have a history of that then gynae will try to stitch you up before anything goes wrong. He also said unless you are very suay because cervix incompetence is quite rare. Some tell tale signs can be observed during week 16/17 if one has cervix incompetence, according to Dr Tan.

Actually i claim for my insurance before. It really does help and i believe in insurance alot.

I am the AIA plan. Highest plan. Dunno what it call. But my agent helped me claim with ease.

My dh also AIA Platinum i think. His lagi best.. as long as admit, everything claim. Even consult and thereafter. His premium much higher 2k plus a yr. But he did a gallbladder surgery last yr at mt e novena. Bill was 15k or 20k. All claim in full. No qn asked. Very good.

Me too believe in insurance, me & hubby both claim before. Me for liver infection, hospital almost 2 weeks stay. Hubby for his recent ligament surgery, surgery alone 14k, every follow up $600-700, all claimable. We buy Prudential de. Mschar, if your elective cerlage is considered medically necessary (ie a medical condition) then things might be different. You can ask your gynae or speak to an independent FP about it.

By the way I also asked Dr Tan how one knows if she has cervix incompetence. He replied usually you will not know and there's no way to check unless you have a history of that then gynae will try to stitch you up before anything goes wrong. He also said unless you are very suay because cervix incompetence is quite rare. Some tell tale signs can be observed during week 16/17 if one has cervix incompetence.

What are the tell tale signs? :x

Good morning, I am still laying on bed can slowly see if can sleep back. Although I am on HL, will go back office for a while to do some works. Just taking my time to be awake since on HL.
What is for breakfast ladies? I am still thinking. . Hmm...

Faithfullyyours, actually depends on the experience of the dr to know of cervix incompetence. Can't say suay n tell tales... dr shld know if cervix weakening or dilating by preforming chks of cervix during early 2nd tri consistently till 3rd tri...
It has not been easy for us ttc. IMHO I rather take prevention early n request for checks then to minimise the chance of any risks
If u are interested to know the experience of what the ladies went through, can read the following thread ..
http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/index.php?threads/4460/
Btw kk scan form has cervix length chk (preterm labour risk). Fyi the cervix length must be above 3.5cm. Only through digital examine (using finger to chk on cervix) then the dr will know if cervix soften or weaken or dilated by how much. That's wat US gynaes do.

I learnt alot from the "Deliver Me" program from home n health channel. The drs are very experienced. Yesterday episode was abt cervix incompetence n the mums had did LEEP on their cervix due to cancer.

Don't know why my kkh gynae didn schedule me that check since only an extra add on during detail scan. Will check again next week. But don't know they will check anot cause now concentrating on the white spot thing. Please let tdy pass fast tomorrow going nuh see prof. Mschar hope all goes well for u later. Able let u more clear on the decision to make.

Lynncandy your HL till when? Don't so Cheong ar relax relax. But same la me and u I guess even if I'm given HL I will on off on off make my way office clear stuffs and go off. Rather than pile up all.

I'm having Beehoon noodles for bf with veg and luncheon meat and egg. Quite heavy. Haha wonder will finish all anot.

Morning ladies! These 2 days tummy feeling a little weird. Not sure what kind of feeling. Possibly feeling like there is pressure down there. Hope it is just beanie growing bigger so feeling the weight. I am trying to giap more to assure myself and make myself feel better. Hanging in until my detailed scan next tues. 1 more week!

circle what time your detail scan next tue i might just see u there since i going adc also hehehe.

these nights when i sleep especially lying on left side i can feel bb move more. i thought i can even feel their heartbeating...sometimes when you place your hands on your tummy i really thought i can feel their heartbeat. do you girls have this feel as well or i am imagining things.

I did feel something like heartbeat once when I was lying side way hugging my bolster. About 2 or 3 sec. Not quite sure is beanie moving or his heart beats. I m not sure too..

I think the heartbeat at tummy is our own pulse. Hahaha!

I don't get flutters or bubbles popping. Mine always feel painful. Then I will try to sit more and not walk or stand.

But I got plump tummy. Poss won't be able to feel it so soon.

Now I just hoping that week 24 come soon cos that is viability week!

Iwantahealthybaby, my scan is in the afternoon! 230 pm!

dolly congrats can rest yr mind at ease. theme pink, u can start shopping.

ya circle i also got think might be my own heartbeat hehe. mine adc at 8am. probably the 1st slot. gd also get it done fast.

Thanks ladies, now counting down to detail scan on 16 july. Today bb weigh 322g but I dun know how to See from report wat is her length leh...

• 1404276420868.jpg
    1404276420868.jpg
    31.6 KB · Views: 161
Very chim dolly the report....I think I should ask about my bb weight too the nect visit. No one tell me about their weight actually. But gd thing is healthy positive results is most important.

Yah... my colleagues also asking me what is the weight, how fast is the heartbeat then I say dunno. My only reply is 10cm cos that is all I know. Hahaha!

Anyway yummy lunch again. Beanie really gets better food at work. Lunch is packed ikea salmon and Alexandra village avocado smoothie!
a6e4e8yv.jpg

Whao shiok circle! So u work near ikea Alexandra area :) can go eat the Claypot laksa at Alexandra village. Yummy!

Ya kkh doesn't tell us anything about the weight of baby hor. I don't even know the weight I gain so far Isit going to my beanies or all me..

Mine opp... didn't tell me the length of bb n heartbeat today.. only weight n the measurements of the head n etc...
Actually every time start scanning I dare not look at screen, I scared got bad news... always get dh to See more n I just listen

Dolly, fyi acronym on the report...

AC - Abdominal circumference. This is the measurement where the ring went around the fetal belly, like where a belt would go
HC - Head circumference is a measurement with the rings going around the fetal head, kind of where a brim of a hat would sit.
OFD - Occipital frontal diameter is the diameter of the fetal head from the external occipital protuberance to the most prominent point of the frontal bone in the midline. Occipital is the back of the head or skull
FL - fetal length. This is the length of the thigh bone from the knee joint to the hip joint.
BPD - bi-parietal diameter. This is the measurement of a line drawn from ear to ear, through the brain.
EFW - estimated fetal weight.
FHR - fetal heart rate.

Haiz... my visit with kkh is always too fast too furious. Half the time dunno what is happening.

The only time I like is Dr June Tan doing my oscar scan. I really felt involved and close to my beanie. The feeling almost magical.

Glad that I am supplementing with private visits so that I will have more magical moments.

But colleague was so cute yesterday. He asked why I am with kkh. I said that they have the best neo natal care. His answer to me was 'but they don't have the best gynae'. I just couldn't answer leh. Cos I am also not 100% convinced that kkh is very meticulous and careful. Then again, who can be really really trust then? Hahaha!

Learn my lesson if I do have no.2. Won't go for Oscar test, go straight for harmony test more accurate n know gender earlier as well. For the past 1 mth really didn't rest/slp well bcos of the oscar borderline result.
My gynae today asked me got gathering w the other gals or not, referring to my other gfs who aso did ivf under him. I say ya we chat thru watsapp n once awhile gather, he said good at least got frds to chat on common understanding, then I said all know from ur clinic on smh..

Haiz... my visit with kkh is always too fast too furious. Half the time dunno what is happening.

The only time I like is Dr June Tan doing my oscar scan. I really felt involved and close to my beanie. The feeling almost magical.

Glad that I am supplementing with private visits so that I will have more magical moments.

But colleague was so cute yesterday. He asked why I am with kkh. I said that they have the best neo natal care. His answer to me was 'but they don't have the best gynae'. I just couldn't answer leh. Cos I am also not 100% convinced that kkh is very meticulous and careful. Then again, who can be really really trust then? Hahaha!
Circlecircle, actually i disagree w ur colleague. IMHO The best gynae depends on the area of expertise of the dr requires for the pregnancy n if u can click with the dr to trust him to handle ur case.
Kkh has many departments that specialise in different areas, I feel they need improvement in e communication across departments.
If not, private gynaes wld not have referred complicated cases to kkh to handle.
For a normal & smooth pregnancy, a normal gynae will be able to do a good job.
For high risk pregnancy, it requires the dr of the specify expertise to be the best gynae for the case.
Eg. The best dr who specialise in ivf may not be the most suitable dr to handle high risk case in multiples or cervix incompetence or preclampsia..
The right dr at the right place to exercise his expertise then will be the best gynae for the case.

I dun know how detailed scan shd b.. he did measurement head, abdominal n etc but no print pic for me today leh.. only a report n graphs of the measurements. N said everything looks good. I did ask him abt the cervix, he said unless got complications if not usually won't measure the length of it...
He did say placenta abit low so I dun know is there any concern but he didn't further say anymore

Circlecircle, actually i disagree w ur colleague. IMHO The best gynae depends on the area of expertise of the dr requires for the pregnancy n if u can click with the dr to trust him to handle ur case.
Kkh has many departments that specialise in different areas, I feel they need improvement in e communication across departments.
If not, private gynaes wld not have referred complicated cases to kkh to handle.
For a normal & smooth pregnancy, a normal gynae will be able to do a good job.
For high risk pregnancy, it requires the dr of the specify expertise to be the best gynae for the case.
Eg. The best dr who specialise in ivf may not be the most suitable dr to handle high risk case in multiples or cervix incompetence or preclampsia..
The right dr at the right place to exercise his expertise then will be the best gynae for the case.
Actually I guess the crux is whether u get referred to the correct department. Sometimes during emergencies, our first point of contact may be junior doctors and miss out on important observations.

Surely I feel safer with dr tan, but we only see him during our appts or after 1-2 days of being warded. Not having the direct contact feels a bit like swimming without a float for beginner swimmers.

And my next question is whether we are considered normal and smooth pregnancy. I still dunno. Maybe cos all the tests show nothing wrong with hubby. So I am more worried that the problem lies with me or my egg quality. Plus i gushed blood twice. But I also know if there is really gonna be a miscarriage, there is nothing we can do to prevent it. Just keep open mind la.

End of the day, I am still with kkh despite my lack of faith. Cos they are indeed THE baby hospital. Everything else, I can only pray. Until now, i go toilet and see liner. I just feel so so so thankful that it is clear :)

Cheerywalnuts u seriously good in bb terms and knowledges haha. Thumbs up! A lot research done on your own :)

I think kkh is confirm a good hospital with good nicu facilities for newborns and most importantly pocket friendly. As for gynae in kkh I would say they have the best and also the average. Every doc will have their goods in some skills. So really depend which gynae we go to. Sometimes we feel kkh like not competence I guess is cause it's their systems unlike private more flexible maybe kkh gynae got to follow kkh sets of rules and regulations which we never know. And because of it's govt structure anything happens touch wood we would not be able to first hand get hold of our doc in charge 1st. It's just the company system I guess.

Mschar how is your 3rd opinion today? Decided on what to do?

Lynncandy how is your day today? Bed rest sleep and sleep?

My early dinner

ImageUploadedByForum1404297337.248597.jpg

Hello everybody, see la on HL go back office busy like mad then can got time to read all the posting. I only came back not long ago and had my dinner. Wow Dolly the report so chim. Cheery is really good in a lot of terms.
Iwantahealthybaby, your dinner looks good haha. Ever since I bfp don't know why I love cheese fries. Tomorrow your scan with prof?

Hello everybody, see la on HL go back office busy like mad then can got time to read all the posting. I only came back not long ago and had my dinner. Wow Dolly the report so chim. Cheery is really good in a lot of terms.
Iwantahealthybaby, your dinner looks good haha. Ever since I bfp don't know why I love cheese fries. Tomorrow your scan with prof?
Me too! I ate this a few days ago!
8ezegu3u.jpg

I did 3rd and 4th opinion today..

Actually due to nature of my job, i know quite a no of doctor or gynaes to be exact. (I market drugs and vaccines to doctors)

So i choose a gynae that i dunno for my own pregancny cos in case got anything i wanna question dr'opinion (like now) it wont affect my relationship with them at work.

Today i went to seek 2 more opinions. 1 with a doc with alot of obstetric experience and the other with more gynae related experience. Both sing same song. I shouldnt do it now as there are risk involved. So i cancelled my surgery tomorrow.

I will just hv to monitor closely and take anti contraction medicine now. One of them say if i can make to 34w is very good aldy. Anything more is a bonus...

Actually I guess the crux is whether u get referred to the correct department. Sometimes during emergencies, our first point of contact may be junior doctors and miss out on important observations.

Surely I feel safer with dr tan, but we only see him during our appts or after 1-2 days of being warded. Not having the direct contact feels a bit like swimming without a float for beginner swimmers.

And my next question is whether we are considered normal and smooth pregnancy. I still dunno. Maybe cos all the tests show nothing wrong with hubby. So I am more worried that the problem lies with me or my egg quality. Plus i gushed blood twice. But I also know if there is really gonna be a miscarriage, there is nothing we can do to prevent it. Just keep open mind la.

End of the day, I am still with kkh despite my lack of faith. Cos they are indeed THE baby hospital. Everything else, I can only pray. Until now, i go toilet and see liner. I just feel so so so thankful that it is clear :)

Yap true but Junior drs will still consult senior dr for complicated cases tt they hv no experience in. There will always be one senior dr on duty together with the jr in ER.

Usually if the test n diagnostic shows nothing wrong they will consider as a normal pregnancy. B4 I was xfered to clinic C, I did ask dr why I can't stay in clinic D. He replied because clinic D is treatment for infertility. If u successfully conceived, ur case is closed under infertility so can no longer continue consultation there. Unless u are under private then different case, u will continue to stay with them as u chose them at the first consultation. But of cos u can change dr for ur pregnancy if u find them unsuitable.

Once u are pregnant, drs will not be considering abt ur egg quality during ivf cos u successfully conceived. They will only review according to ur progress to pass the milestone at each stage till u deliver.

Iwantahealthybaby, no lah hehe. .. happy to share as i spend most of my time reading n bed resting. Yap I agreed cos kkh too many protocols tt they have to follow.

Lynncandy, I switch to magnolia lo fat hi cal milk today. No need to drink so many glasses to get the calcium :D 500mg

Mschar, that's good with 2 other drs affirming the risks. Did they advise u to strict bed rest from now onwards?
Just to share, I learnt abt a lady who did LEEP due her cervix cancer n her cervix is only 1-2 cm. Her gynae din do celcage for her n commented that she is almost without a cervix. She was ordered strict bed rest.. meaning lying flat on bed as not to pressure her cervix for pretem labour. Only get off bed to toilet n dr consultation. At wk 32 her gynae told her if worse case she needs to delivery early, dr will inject steroid to the bb to stimulate the bb lungs to grow faster. She survived to wk 36 n delivered naturally. So its possible n Be positive! Monitor closely with ur dr. ;)

Since u got 3 drs suggesting no no then it will be wise to follow suit if not no pt looking for so many opinions but still go ahead against them. At least today two drs same choice as dr ananda. I heard about all this contractions medications I think I might need it too. I remember my gynae at Thomson say will give me some medications to prevent pre mature. So shall see if I see him again he will start give me anot.

I did 3rd and 4th opinion today..

Actually due to nature of my job, i know quite a no of doctor or gynaes to be exact. (I market drugs and vaccines to doctors)

So i choose a gynae that i dunno for my own pregancny cos in case got anything i wanna question dr'opinion (like now) it wont affect my relationship with them at work.

Today i went to seek 2 more opinions. 1 with a doc with alot of obstetric experience and the other with more gynae related experience. Both sing same song. I shouldnt do it now as there are risk involved. So i cancelled my surgery tomorrow.

I will just hv to monitor closely and take anti contraction medicine now. One of them say if i can make to 34w is very good aldy. Anything more is a bonus...

Good to hear you have reached a decision after consulting 2 more docs. If I'm in your shoes I know I'll feel very lost, and definitely kiasi to the max & monitor super closely & bed rest till I pop.

Cheery, I can't take my eyes off focusing on meiji milk. Then my magnolia always left there don't drink. Haha. Ok I shall switch back soon to get more calcium with the dha.
Iwantahealthybaby, so tomorrow you taking leave? My hl is until end of this week. But I am going back to work everyday. Too much cannot don't do especially when my project is going to T.O.P.
Circle, think you beanie must be really happy daily to have yummy food. I want rosti....
Sumiko is back to work already right? sch started?
Glad mschar got more advice.
Dolly, recently any shopping?
So sad the asos dress I ordered for wedding sold out. Then they refund me the money.